House of Commons Journal Volume 9: 13 May 1679

Page 621

Journal of the House of Commons: Volume 9, 1667-1687. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1802.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

Page 621

In this section

Martis, 13 die Maii, 1679.


Hearthmoney Tax.

A BILL for the more easy Collecting the Duty of Hearth-money, was read the Second time.

Resolved, That the Bill be committed to Mr. Palmes, Sir John Knight, Sir Hugh Bethell, Sir Robert Peyton, Sir John Hotham, Sir Henry Calverly, Sir Robert Markham, Mr. Thyn, Sir William Bastard, Mr. Hildiard, Mr. White, Mr. Pilkington, Sir Richard Head, Sir Vyell Vyvyan, Sir James Long, Mr. Wright, Mr. Foley, Sir Gervas Elwes, Sir Samuel Bernardiston, Sir John Hewley, Mr. Thompson, Sir Thomas Clerges, Lord Fairfex, Sir Francis Drake, Mr. Kelland, Sir Robert Carr, Sir Wm. Franklyn, Sir James Oxenden, Mr. Paston, Mr. Trenchard: And all that come are to have Voices: And they are to meet To-morrow at Three of the Clock in the Afternoon, in the Speaker's Chamber: And are impowered to send for Persons, Papers, and Records.

Address for Defence of the King, &c.

Sir Robert Markham reports from the Committee appointed to draw up an Address to be presented to his Majesty, relating to the Vote of this House passed on Sunday last, That, in Defence of the King's Person, and the Protestant Religion, this House doth declare, That they will stand by his Majesty with their Lives and Fortunes; and that, if his Majesty shall come to any violent Death (which God forbid!) that they will revenge it to the utmost upon the Papists; an Address agreed upon by the Committee: Which he read in his Place; and afterwards delivered the same in at the Clerk's Table: Where the same was twice read.

A Motion being made, That the Address be re-committed;

Ordered, That the Address be re-committed to the former Committee: And that Sir Francis Drake, Mr. Trenchard, Mr. Beake, Sir Richard Cust, Mr. Pitt, Mr. Love, Mr. Thyn, Mr. Harbord, Mr. Boscawen, Mr. White, Mr. Whorwood, Mr. Powle, be added to the said Committee. And they are to meet this Afternoon at Three of the Clock, in the Speaker's Chamber; and to report the same to the House To-morrow Morning, the First Business.

Sloop Hunter, and Ship Catharine.

A Petition of Samuel Lemott, and divers other Merchants; complaining, That in the Year 1674, the Ship Catharine, which was freighted by the Merchants, was taken by one Swan, Commander of the Ship Hunter, and endeavoured to be made a Prize; and praying Relief therein; was read.

Ordered, That the said Petition, and Case thereupon, be referred to the Consideration of the Committee to whom the Miscarriages relating to the Sloop Hunter, and the Ship Catharine, stands referred; to examine the Matter; and report the same to the House: And the said Committee are impowered to send for and hear the said Merchants, and all other Persons concerned.

Exporting Leather.

Ordered, That the Report of the Bill for Exporting of Leather, be made To-morrow Morning.

Irish Cattle, &c.

A Bill for Continuance of the Act for prohibiting the Importation of Cattle from Ireland, and other Parts beyond the Seas; and Fish taken by Foreigners; was read the Second time.

The Question being put, That the Bill be committed;

The House divide.

The Yeas go forth.

Tellers, Mr. Booth, for the Yeas, 183.
Mr. Leveson Gowre,
Tellers, Sir Robert Peyton, for the Noes, 151.
Sir Gervas Elwes,

And so it was resolved in the Affirmative.

Resolved, That the Bill be committed to Mr. Vaughan, Sir Francis Drake, Sir John Knight, Mr. Palmes, Mr. Swinfen, Mr. Williams, Sir Gilbert Gerrard, Mr. Vernon, Sir Francis Russell, Sir Thomas Lee, Mr. Thyn, Sir John Cloberry, Mr. Trenchard, Sir Eliab Harvey, Sir John Hewley, Mr. Whitehead, Sir Hugh Owen, Mr. Woogan, Mr. Pilkington, Lord Scudamore, Mr. Gowre, Mr. Freake, Sir Wm. Frankland, Sir Henry Calverly, Sir Wm. Portman, Mr. Morgan, Sir Robert Carr, Mr. Seymour, Colonel Titus, Mr. Stockdale, Sir Wm. Coventry, Serjeant Rigby, Sir John Hotham, Sir Philip Egerton, Sir John Wynn, Sir Richard Corbett, Sir Thomas Middleton, Sir Hugh Bethell; Lord Fairfex, Sir Edward Nevile, Sir Edward Harley, Mr. Love, Mr. Booth, Sir Robert Dillington, Mr. Colt, Mr. Papillon, Mr. St. John, Mr. Bockland, Mr. Thompson, Sir Edmund Jennings, Mr. Bulkely, Mr. Jefferyes, Sir William Farmer, Sir Watkinson Payler, Mr. Paston, Sir Richard Graham.

The Question being put, That all that come to this Committee shall have Voices;

The House divide.

The Yeas go forth.

Tellers, Sir John Guyes, for the Yeas, 149.
Mr. Goodwyn,
Tellers, Sir Richard Corbett, for the Noes, 172.
Mr. Colt,

And so it passed in the Negative.

Ordered, That no more Members be added to this Committee: And they are to meet at Three of the Clock this Afternoon, in the Speaker's Chamber.

And then the House adjourned till To-morrow Morning, Eight of the Clock.