House of Commons Journal Volume 9: 7 February 1673

Pages 249-250

Journal of the House of Commons: Volume 9, 1667-1687. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1802.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.


Page 249
Page 250

In this section

Veneris, 7 die Februarii, 1672.


Footmen not to be on Stairs and in Passage.

ORDERED, That the Serjeant at Arms do take care to keep the Stairs and Passage to the House free from the Disturbance of Lacquies and Footmen; and that no Footman or Lacquey stand or remain upon the Stairs: Wherein, if any of them shall transgress, that then the Serjeant take them into Custody: And the Officers belonging to the Knight Marshal are to assist him herein.

Committee of Privileges.

Ordered, That a Committee of Elections and Privileges be appointed of these Members following; viz. Mr. Milward, Sir Solomon Swale, Mr. Berty, Mr. Seymour, Mr. George Mountague, Mr. Garraway, Lord St. Johns, Sir Allen Apsely, Sir James Smith, Mr. Rigby, Sir Charles Harbord, Mr. Hide, Mr. Morgan, Sir John Lowther, Mr. Westphaling, Sir John Rolles, Mr. Grey, Sir Thomas Meres, Lord Cornbury, Sir Ralph Bankes, Sir John Norton, Sir Francis Goodricke, Sir Anthony Irby, Sir Geo. Reeves, Sir Robert Howard, Sir Will. Lowther, Sir Francis Leeke, Sir Thomas Dolman, Mr. Vaughan, Sir Edward Mansell, Sir Edward Phillipps, Mr. Churchill, Sir Robert Barneham, Mr. Strangwaies, Sir Thomas Lee, Mr. Peirpoint, Mr. Pleydall, Mr. William Harbord, Lord Allington, Sir Wm. Lewis, Mr. Tregonwell, Sir Robert Carr, Mr. Newport, Col. Williams, Sir Richard Ford, Mr. Daniell, Sir Heneage Finch, Sir Roger Bradsheigh, Sir Edw. Harlow, Sir Richard Powle, Col. Progers, Col. Strode, Mr. Chetwin, Mr. Oakely, Lord Richardson, Mr. Russell, Mr. John Brampston, Col. Phillipps, Serjeant Maynard, Lord Castleton, Sir Rowland Berkley, Sir John Holland, Sir Wm. Hickman, Mr. Secretary Coventry, Sir John Duncombe, Mr. Dowdswell, Sir Thomas Osborne, Sir Thomas Littleton, Sir Gilbert Gerrard, Sir William Portman, Sir William Killigrew, Col. Grey, Mr. Powle, Sir George Downing, Mr. Cornwallis, Sir John Robinson, Sir Thomas Strickland, Captain Dyott, Sir Jonath. Trelawney, Mr. Culliford Mr. May, Sir John Pettus, Sir William Fleetwood, Major Cornwall, Sir Francis Clarke, Mr. Wendy, Mr. Trelawny, Lord Fitzharding, Sir John Bennett, Sir Walter St. John, Doctor Arras, Sir Gilbert Talbot, Mr. Neale, Mr. Nicholas Morris, Sir Copleston Bamfeild, Mr. Palmes, Mr. King, Mr. Greenvile, Sir Edmond Windham, Mr. Phillipps, Sir John Moreton, Sir Philip Warwicke, Sir Edw. Hungerford, Sir Robert Dillington, Sir John Pelham, Sir John Heath, Sir Philip Musgrave, Sir Thomas Chichley, Sir George Courthopp, Sir Edmond Bower, Lord Fanshaw, Sir Joseph Williamson, Sir John Talbot, Mr. Buller, Mr. Harris, Sir John Hanmer, Sir James Smith, Sir John Mallet, Mr. Sherrard, Mr. Hobby, Sir William Terringham, Mr. Roberts, Mr. Winne, Sir Thomas Allen, Captain Herbert, Sir Thomas Higgons, Sir Richard Francklyn, Mr. Head, Mr. Swinfen, Mr. Jolliffe, Mr. Crouch, Sir Edward Masters, Mr. Chalmondley, Sir Nicholas Carew, Sir Henry Capell, Mr. Wright, Mr. Collingwood, Lord Clifford, Mr. Sacheverell, Sir Henry Puckering, Lord Aungier, Mr. Bridgeman, Mr. Edw. Buscowen, Mr. Bold, Mr. Steward, Mr. Mallett, Sir Henry Herbert, Col. Gilby, Sir Lancelott Lake, Sir Edward Massey, Sir John Birkenhead, Mr. Marvell, Sir Richard Ingolsby, Alderman Love, Col. Birch, Mr. Conyers Darcy, Sir Winston Churchill, Sir John Cotton, Sir Charles Cotterell, Sir Anthony Cope, Sir Thomas Clergis, Mr. Guy, Serjeant Jones, Sir John Bernaby, Mr. Thomas, Mr. Lucy, Sir Thomas Slingsby, Mr. Price, Doctor Burwell, Sir Allen Broderick, Mr. Noseworthy, Sir William Thomas, Sir Richard Maleverer, Sir Philip Munckton, Sir Metcalfe Robin on, Sir Richard Temple, Mr. Tanner, Mr. Whorwood, Mr. Hampden, Mr. Hopkins, Sir Justinian Isham, Mr. Graham, Mr. St. John, Mr. Richard Crooke, Sir John Fagg, Sir Francis Compton, Sir Francis Lawley, Mr. Maynard, Mr. Dunster, Mr. Otway, Lord Ancram, Lord Ashley, Sir John Mounson, Sir Robert Paston, Mr. Manwairing, Sir Richard Everard, Mr. Seymour, Col. Titus, Mr. Tulse, Sir Trevor Williams, Sir Eliab Harvey, Sir William Drake, Lord Roos, Sir Edward Bish, Sir Tho. Spencer, Mr. Cheney, Sir Foulke Lucy, Sir Edw. Deering, Sir John Hotham, Mr. Attorney Mountague, Col. Faunt, Mr. Godolphin, Lord Gorges, Sir Edward Hales, Mr. Giles Hungerford, Sir Frederick Hide, Sir William Haward, Sir Robert Worsley, Mr. Low, Mr. Weld, Sir Vere Fane, Sir Will. Godolphin, Mr. Herbert, Sir Thom. Proby, Sir Henry Peckham, Serjeant Hardresse, Mr. Tufton, Mr. Geo. Johnson, Mr. Dennis: That this Committee do meet every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday, in the Exchequer Chamber, at Two of the Clock in the Afternoon; and take into Consideration all such Matters as shall come into Question touching Returns, Elections, and Privileges; and to proceed upon Double Returns, in the first Place; and report their Proceedings to the House: And all Persons that will question double Returns already made, are to do it in Fourteen Days next, and so in Fourteen Days after any new Return shall be brought in: And the Committee hath Power to receive Petitions; and to send for Persons, Papers, and Records, for their Information; and to make Report of any Matters aforesaid, which may concern Breach of Privilege: And all Members that are returned for Two or more Places, are to make their Elections by this Day Three Weeks, for which of the Places they will serve; provided there be no Question upon the Return for that Place. And if any thing shall come in Question, touching the Return, or Matter of Privilege, of any Member of this Committee, such Member is to withdraw from the Committee during the Time the Matter which concerns himself is in Debate.

Grand Committees.

Ordered, That the Grand Committee for Religion do sit every Monday, Two of the Clock in the Afternoon, in the House.

Ordered, That the Grand Committee for Grievances do sit every Wednesday, at Two of the Clock in the Afternoon, in the House.

Ordered, That the Grand Committee for Trade do sit every Friday, at Two of the Clock in the Afternoon, in the House.

Ordered, That the Grand Committee for Courts of Justice do sit every Saturday in the Afternoon, at Two of the Clock, in the House.


A Motion being made for his Majesty's Supply;

Resolved, &c. That the House do forthwith resolve into a Committee of the whole House, to consider of the Motion of the King's Supply.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair
Mr. Seymour took the Chair of the Committee.
Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair.

Mr. Seymour reports from the Committee of the whole House, That they had unanimously resolved of this Vote, that a Supply be given to his Majesty of Eighteen Months Assessment, according to the Proportion of the last Royal Aid, not exceeding Seventy thousand Pound a Month.

Which Vote being taken into Consideration;

Resolved, &c. That a Supply be given to his Majesty of Eighteen Months Assessment, according to the Proportion of the last Royal Aid, not exceeding Seventy thousand Pound a Month.

Ordered, That the Attorney General do forthwith prepare and bring in a Bill, pursuant to this Vote.

And then the House adjourned till Nine of the Clock, To-morrow Morning.