House of Lords Journal Volume 14: 4 March 1689

Pages 137-138

Journal of the House of Lords: Volume 14, 1685-1691. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1767-1830.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

Page 137
Page 138

In this section

DIE Lunæ, 4 die Martii.

Domini tam Spirituales quam Temporales præsentes fuerunt:

Arch. of Yorke.
Epus. London.
Epus. Winton.
Epus. Lyncoln.
Epus. Landaff.
Epus. St. Asaph.
Epus. Rochester.
Epus. Bristol.
Marq. de Halyfax, Custos Privati Sigilli.
Dux Somerset.
Dux of South'ton.
Marq. of Winton.
L. Great Chamberlain.
E. of Devon, L. Steward.
Comes Oxon.
Comes Bedford.
Comes Pembrooke.
Comes Suffolke.
Comes Bridgewater.
Comes Leycester.
Comes North'ton.
Comes Bristol.
Comes Clare.
Comes Manchester.
Comes Mulgrave.
Comes Rivers.
Comes Stamford.
Comes Winchilsea.
Comes Kingston.
Comes Carnarvon.
Comes Chesterfeild.
Comes Thannet.
Comes Bath.
Comes Craven.
Comes Sussex.
Comes Feversham.
Comes Maclesfeld.
Comes Radnor.
Comes Nottingham.
Comes Abingdon.
Vicecomes Fauconberg.
Vicecomes Newport.
Vicecomes Weymouth.
Vicecomes Hatton.
Ds. Delawarr.
Ds. Morley.
Ds. Grey de Ruthin.
Ds. Eure.
Ds. Wharton.
Ds. Pagett.
Ds. North & Grey.
Ds. Grey de Wark.
Ds. Maynard.
Ds. Howard de Esc.
Ds. Herbert.
Ds. Jermyn.
Ds. Biron.
Ds. Vaughan.
Ds. Ward.
Ds. Colepeper.
Ds. Astley.
Ds. Lucas.
Ds. Lexington.
Ds. Cornwallis.
Ds. Delamer.
Ds. Crewe.
Ds. Lumley.
Ds. Ossulston.
Ds. Godolphin.


Marq. de Halyfax Speaker pro Tempore.

Lords take the Oaths.

These Lords following took the Oaths of Fealty, appointed to be taken in the House of Peers, by the Act made in the First Year of Their Majesties Reign, King William and Queen Mary, intituled, "An Act for removing and preventing all Questions and Disputes concerning the assembling and sitting of this present Parliament;" and made and subscribed the Declaration, in Pursuance of the Act for the more effectual preserving the King's Person and Government, by disabling Papists from sitting in either House of Parliament:

Thomas Archbishop of Yorke.

Charles Duke of Somerset.

Charles Duke of South'ton.

Phillip Earl of Leycester.

Louis Earl of Feversham.

James Earl of Abingdon.

Thomas Vicecomes Fauconberg.

Phillip Lord Wharton.

William Lord Howard of Esc.

Thomas Lord Coventry.

Peter Lord Bishop of Winton.

William Lord Bishop of Landaff.

William Lord Bishop of St. Asaph.

Thomas Lord Bishop of Rochester.

E. of Bolingbroke excused.

The House excused the Earl of Bolingbrook for his Absence this Day, in regard of his ill Health; but within few Days he hopes to attend this House, and take the Oaths.

Trial of Peers, Bill.

The Earl of Pembrook reported from the Committee the Bill for better regulating the Trial of Peers; wherein the Committee have made some Alterations and Amendments, which are offered to the Consideration of the House.

Which Amendments were read Twice, and committed to the Committee of the whole House.

And accordingly the House was put into a Committee.

The House being resumed;

The Earl of Pembrook reported, "That the Committee of the whole House have made some Amendments in the said Bill."

Which Amendments were read; and then the Paragraphs, with the Amendments, were read.

And, after some Debate, a Question was propounded, "Whether the Clause concerning the Trial of Peers, as it was brought in by the Committee, shall stand?"

Then the Question being put, "Whether this Question shall be now put?"

It was Resolved in the Negative.


Marquis de Halyfax, Orator Procerum pro Tempore, declaravit præsens Parliamentum continuandum esse usque in diem Martis, videlicet, 5um diem instantis Martii, 1688, hora decima Aurora, Dominis sic decernentibus.