House of Lords Journal Volume 18: 23 October 1707

Pages 330-331

Journal of the House of Lords: Volume 18, 1705-1709. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1767-1830.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

Page 330
Page 331

In this section

Anno 6° Annæ Reginæ

DIE Jovis, Vicesimo Tertio Die Octobris, 1707, Annoque Regni Serenissimæ Dominæ Annæ, Dei Gratia, Magnæ Britanniæ, Franciæ, et Hib'niæ Reginæ, Fidei Defensoris, &c. Sexto, in Superiori Domo Parliamenti Magnæ Britanniæ, apud Westmonaster. convenere Domini tam Spirituales quam Temporales, quorum Nomina subscribuntur, et præsentes fuerunt:


Arch. Cantuar.
Arch. Ebor.
Epus. London.
Epus. Roffen.
Epus. Sarum.
Epus. Eliens.
Epus. Petriburg.
Epus. Cicestr.
Epus. Bangor.
Dux Cumberland.
Gulielmus Ds. Cowper,
Comes Godolphin, Thesaurarius.
Dux Devonshire, Senescallus.
Dux Somerset.
Dux Richmond.
Dux Grafton.
Dux Ormonde.
Dux Northumberland.
Dux Bolton.
Dux Sconburg.
Dux Leeds.
Dux de Com. Buckingham & Normanby.
Dux Montross.
Dux Roxburghe.
March. Lindsey, Magnus Camerarius.
March. Tweeddale.
March. Lothian.
Comes Leicester.
Comes Peterborow.
Comes Stamford.
Comes Sunderland.
Comes Scarsdale.
Comes Feversham.
Comes Berkeley.
Comes Nottingham.
Comes Scarbrough.
Comes Bradford.
Comes Grantham.
Comes Greenwich.
Comes Poulett.
Comes Bindon.
Comes Crafurd.
Comes Sutherland.
Comes Mar.
Comes Loudoun.
Comes Wemyss.
Comes. Leven.
Comes Seafield.
Comes Glasgow.
Comes Play.
Viscount Say & Seale.
Ds. Lawarr.
Ds. Willughby de Broke.
Ds. Chandos.
Ds. Howard Esc.
Ds. Mohun.
Ds. Rockingham.
Ds. Berkeley Str.
Ds. Cornwallis.
Ds. Lempster.
Ds. Weston.
Ds. Herbert.
Ds. Sommers.
Ds. Bernard.
Ds. Halifax.
Ds. Gernsey.

Queen present:

Her Majesty, being arrayed in Her Regal Robes and Crown, attended with Her Officers of State, ascended Her Royal Throne (the Peers being also in their Robes), commanded the Deputy Gentleman Usher of the Black Rod to signify to the Commons, "That it is Her Majesty's Pleasure, they attend Her presently, in the House of Peers."

Who being come;

The Lord Chancellor, by Her Majesty's Command, said,

Commons directed to choose a Speaker.

"My Lords, and Gentlemen,

"Her Majesty has commanded me to let you know, She is not pleased to declare Her Reasons for calling and appointing this Parliament, till there be a Speaker of the House of Commons: And therefore it is Her Majesty's Pleasure, that you, Gentlemen of the House of Commons, repair to the Place where the Commons usually sit, and there chuse a fit Person to be your Speaker; and that you present him whom you shall so chuse to Her Majesty, here, for Her Royal Approbation, on Thursday next, at Eleven a Clock."

Then Her Majesty was pleased to withdraw; and the Commons went to their House.


Sixteen Scots Peers, Certificate of the Names of.

The Right Honourable William Lord Cowper, Lord High Chancellor of Great Britain, delivered into this House a Certificate of the Names of the Sixteen Peers, who, according to the late Acts, are summoned, and certified into the Chancery, to be Members of the House of Lords, on the Behalf of that Part of Great Britain called Scotland, in the First Parliament of Great Britain, and signed by the Clerk of the Crown, who likewise attended at the Table, with the original Return.

And the same being compared with the said Certificate, it was found to agree with the said original Return; and is as followeth:

"May it please your Lordships,

"These are the Names of the Sixteen Peers, who, according to the late Act in that Case made and provided, are chosen, summoned, and certified, to be Members of the House of Lords, for and on the Behalf of that Part of Great Britain called Scotland, in the First Parliament of Great Britain, which is to meet the Twentythird Day of October Instant.

James Duke of Queensberry.
James Duke of Montrose.
John Duke of Roxburgh.
John Marquis of Tweeddale.
William Marquis of Lothian.
John Earl of Crafoord.
John Earl of Sutherland.
John Earl of Marr.
Hugh Earl of Loudoun.
David Earl of Weymss.
David Earl of Leven.
James Earl of Seafield.
John Earl of Stair.
Archibald Earl of Roseberry.
David Earl of Glasgow.
Archibald Earl of Play.

"Witness my Hand, this Twenty-second Day of October, Anno Domini 1707.

"Geo. Wrighte, Cler. Coron."

D. Devonshire takes his Seat.

This Day William Duke of Devonshire Lord Steward of Her Majesty's Household sat first in Parliament, upon the Death of his Father William Duke of Devonshire.

Lords take the Oaths.

Then, the Lord Chancellor, singly, in the First Place, at the Table, took the Oaths of Allegiance and Supremacy, and the Oath of Abjuration, and made and subscribed the Declaration, pursuant to the Statutes.

The Lords following also took the Oaths; (videlicet,)

Sidney Earl of Godolphin, Lord High Treasurer of Great
William Duke of Devonshire, Lord Steward of the
Charles Duke of Richmond.
James Duke of Ormonde.
George Duke of Northumberland.
Charles Duke of Bolton.
James Duke of Montrosse.
John Duke of Roxburgh.
Robert Marquis of Lindsey, Lord Great Chamberlain
of England.
William Marquis of Lothian.
Charles Earl of Peterborow and Monmouth.
Charles Earl of Sunderland.
Robert Earl of Scarsdale.
Daniel Earl of Nottingham.
Richard Earl of Scarbrough.
Francis Earl of Bradford.
Henry Earl of Grantham.
John Earl Poulett.
Henry Earl of Bindon.
John Earl of Crafurd.
John Earl of Mar.
Hugh Earl of Loudoun.
David Earl of Wemyss.
David Earl of Leven.
James Earl of Seafield.
David Earl of Glasgow.
Archibald Earl of Play.
Nathaniel Viscount Say & Seale.
Thomas Lord Archbishop of Canterbury.
Thomas Lord Bishop of Rochester.
John Lord Bishop of Ely.
John Lord Bishop of Chichester.
Richard Lord Bishop of Peterborough.
Richard Lord Willoughby Broke.
Charles Lord Howard of Escrick.
Lewis Lord Rockingham.
William Lord Berkeley of Stratton.
Charles Lord Cornwallis.
Henry Lord Herbert.
John Lord Sommers.
Christopher Lord Barnard.
Charles Lord Halifax.
Heneage Lord Gernsey.


Dominus Cancellarius Magnæ Britanniæ declaravit præsens Parliamentum continuandum esse usque ad et in diem Jovis, tricesimum diem instantis Octobris, hora decima Auroræ, Dominis sic decernentibus.