House of Lords Journal Volume 20: 1 August 1714

Pages 3-4

Journal of the House of Lords: Volume 20, 1714-1717. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1767-1830.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

Page 3
Page 4

In this section


At the Parliament met at Westminster, on Occasion of the Demise of Her late Majesty Queen Anne (of Blessed Memory), in Pursuance of the Act of the Sixth Year of Her said late Majesty's Reign, intituled, "An Act for the Security of Her Majesty's Person and Government, and of the Succession to the Crown of Great Britain in the Protestant Line;"

Being the Second Session of the Fourth Parliament of Great Britain.

DIE Dominico, Primo Augusti, 1714 Annoque Regni Serenissimi Domini Georgii, Dei Gratia, Mag. Britanniæ, Franciæ, et Hib'niæ Regis, Fidei Desensoris, &c. Primo, in Superiori Parliamenti Domo apud Westmonaster. convenere, Domini tam Spirituales quam Temporales, quorum Nomina subscribuntur, præsentes fuerunt:

Epus. London.
Epus. Roffen.
Ds. Harcourt, Cancellarius.
Dux Somerset.
Dux Grafton.
Dux St. Albans.
Dux Montagu.
Dux Kent.
Comes Poulet, Senescallus.
Comes Lincoln.
Comes Dorset & Midd'x.
Comes Bridgewater.
Comes Manchester.
Comes Sunderland.
Comes Scarsdale.
Comes Cardigan.
Comes Radnor.
Comes Berkeley.
Comes Rochester.
Comes Abingdon.
Comes Portland.
Comes Rochford.
Comes Grantham.
Comes Greenwich.
Comes Godolphin.
Comes Mar.
Comes Loudoun.
Comes Findlater.
Comes Dundonald.
Comes Dunmore.
Comes Portmore.
Viscount Kilsyth.
Viscount Bolingbroke.
Ds. Delawar.
Ds. Willughby Br.
Ds. Paget.
Ds. Hunsdon.
Ds. Howard Escr.
Ds. Rockingham.
Ds. Berkeley.
Ds. Ossulstone.
Ds. Guilford.
Ds. Weston.
Ds. Halifax.
Ds. Hervey.
Ds. Cowper.
Ds. Pelham.
Ds. Hay.
Ds. Lansdowne.


Lords take the Oaths.

The Lord Chancellor singly at the Table took the Oaths, and made and subscribed the Declaration, and also took and subscribed the Oath of Abjuration, pursuant to the Statutes.

The Lords following likewise took the Oaths, and made and subscribed the Declaration, and took and subscribed the Oath of Abjuration, pursuant to the Statutes:

Charles Duke of Somerset.
Charles Duke of Grafton.
Charles Duke of St. Albans.
John Duke of Montagu.
Henry Duke of Kent.
John Earl of Poulet Lord Steward.
Henry Earl of Lincoln.
Lionel Earl of Dorset & Midd'x.
Scroop Earl of Bridgewater.
Charles Earl of Manchester.
Charles Earl of Sunderland.
Nicholas Earl of Scarsdale.
George Earl of Cardigan.
Charles Earl of Radnor.
James Earl of Berkeley.
Henry Earl of Rochester.
Montagu Earl of Abingdon.
Henry Earl of Portland.
Frederick Earl of Rochford.
Henry Earl of Grantham.
John Earl of Greenwich.
Francis Earl of Godolphin.
John Earl of Mar.
Hugh Earl of Loudoun.
James Earl of Findlater.
John Earl of Dundonald.
John Earl of Dunmore.
David Earl of Portmore.
William Viscount Kilsyth.
Henry Viscount Bolingbroke.
John Lord Bishop of London.
Francis Lord Bishop of Rochester.
John Lord Delawar.
George Lord Willughby de Broke.
Henry Lord Paget.
William Lord Hunsdon.
Charles Lord Howard of Escrick.
Lewis Lord Rockingham.
William Lord Berkeley of Stratton.
Charles Lord Ossulstone.
Francis Lord Guilford.
Charles Lord Weston.
Charles Lord Halifax.
John Lord Hervey.
William Lord Cowper.
Thomas Lord Pelham.
George Lord Hay.
George Lord Lansdowne.

L. Pelham takes his Seat.

This Day Thomas Lord Pelham sat first in Parliament, after the Death of his Father Thomas Lord Pelham.


Dominus Cancellarius declaravit præsens Parliamentum continuandum esse usque ad et in diem Lunæ, secundum diem instantis Augusti, hora duodecima, Dominis sic decernentibus.