House of Lords Journal Volume 3: 21 April 1624

Pages 313-315

Journal of the House of Lords: Volume 3, 1620-1628. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1767-1830.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

Page 313
Page 314
Page 315

In this section

DIE Mercurii, videlicet, 21 die Aprilis,

Domini tam Spirituales quam Temporales, quorum nomina subscribuntur, præsentes fuerunt:

p. Carolus Princeps Walliæ, etc.

p. Archiepus. Cant.
Archiepus. Ebor.
p. Epus. London.
Epus. Dunelm.
p. Epus. Winten.
Epus. Petriburg.
Epus. Hereforden.
Epus. Wigorn.
Epus. Norwicen.
p. Epus. Roffen.
Epus. Glocestren.
Epus. Carlien.
p. Epus. Co. et Lich.
p. Epus. Bath. et W.
p. Epus. Bangor.
Epus. Elien.
p. Epus. Cicestren.
p. Epus. Oxon.
p. Epus. Cestren.
Epus. Landaven.
p. Epus. Sarum.
p. Epus. Exon.
p. Epus. Meneven.
p. Epus. Bristol.
p. Epus. Asaphen.
p. Epus. Lincoln, Ds. Cust. Mag. Sigilli.
Comes Midd. Magnus Thesaurar. Angliæ.
p. Vicecomes Maundevill, Præs. Conc. Domini Regis.
Comes Wigorn, Ds. Cust. Privati Sigilli.
Dux Buck. Magnus Admirall. Angliæ.
Marchio Winton.
p. Comes Oxon. Magnus Camer. Angliæ.
p. Comes Arundell, et Surr. Comes Mares. Angliæ.
Comes Cantab. Senescall. Hospitii.
p. Comes Pembroc, Camerar. Hospitii.
Comes Northumbriæ.
Comes Nottingham.
Comes Salop.
p. Comes Kanciæ.
Comes Derbiæ.
p. Comes Rutland.
Comes Cumbriæ.
Comes Sussex.
Comes Huntingdon.
Comes Bathon.
p. Comes South'ton.
Comes Bedford.
Comes Hertford.
p. Comes Essex.
p. Comes Lincoln.
Comes Suffolciæ.
Comes Dorsett.
p. Comes Sarum.
p. Comes Exon.
p. Comes Mountgomery.
p. Comes Bridgwater.
p. Comes Leicestriæ.
p. Comes North'ton.
p. Comes Warwic.
Comes Devon.
Comes March.
Comes Holdernesse.
Comes Carlile.
p. Comes Denbigh.
Comes Bristol.
p. Comes Anglisey.
Vicecomes Mountague.
p. Vicecomes Wallingford.
Vicecomes Purbecke.
Vicecomes Maunsfeild.
Vicecomes Colchester.
p. Vicecomes Rochford.
p. Vicecomes Andever.
Vicecomes Tunbridge.
Ds. Abergavenny.
Ds. Audley.
Ds. Zouch.
p. Ds. Willoughby de E.
p. Ds. Delawarr.
p. Ds. Berkley.
Ds. Morley et M.
Ds. Dacres de H.
Ds. Stafford.
p. Ds. Scroope.
p. Ds. Duddeley.
p. Ds. Stourtun.
Ds. Herbert de Sh.
Ds. Darcy de M.
Ds. Vaux.
Ds. Windsore.
p. Ds. Wentworth.
p. Ds. Mordant.
p. Ds. St. John de Bas.
p. Ds. Cromewell.
Ds. Evre.
p. Ds. Sheffeild.
p. Ds. Pagett.
p. Ds. North.
p. Ds. St. John de Bl.
p. Ds. Howard de W.
Ds. Wootton.
p. Ds. Russell.
p. Ds. Grey de Gro.
Ds. Petre.
p. Ds. Danvers.
p. Ds. Spencer.
p. Ds. Say et Seale.
p. Ds. Denny.
Ds. Stanhope de H.
p. Ds. Carew.
Ds. Arundell de W.
p. Ds. Haughton.
Ds. Teynham.
Ds. Stanhope de Sh.
Ds. Noel.
Ds. Brooke.
p. Ds. Mountague.
p. Ds. Cary de Lep.
Ds. Kensington.
p. Ds. Grey de W.

Murrays qualify for Naturalization.

JANE MURREY and William Murrey, Esquire, (who have exhibited their Bill to be Naturalized) did this Day take the Oaths of Supremacy and Allegiance, according to the Statute; and the Lord Keeper certified the House, That they had received the Communion accordingly.

Witnesses in Ld. Treasurer's Cause.

Jurati in causa Domini Thesaurarii:

Richard Bishopp.
John Prowse.
John Guye.
John Barker.
Thomas Geere.
John Chappell.
Captain Lee.
Henry Lee.
John Sherington.
William Clobury.
George Langhorn.
Richard Leigh.
James Man.
Thomas Jenings.
Richard Ferrers.
Richard Archdale,
Chr. Brooke, Esquire.

Their Oath.

To answer the Truth, the whole Truth, and nothing but the Truth, to all such Questions as shall be demanded by the House, or any Committee appointed by the House.

Murray's Naturalization.

Hodie 2a vice lecta est Billa, An Act for the Naturalizing of Jane Murrey, Widow, and William Murrey, Esquire; and Ordered to be ingrossed.

Sir Horace Palavicine's Bill.

Hodie 1a vice lecta est Billa nova, An Act concerning certain of the Lands of Sir Horatio Palavicine, Knight, deceased.

E. of Northampton's Privilege. Hawkins arrested.

The House being advertised, That one Cesar Hawkines, a menial Servant of the Right Honourable the Earl of North'ton, was arrested, at the Suit of one John Flemynge, of Kyderminster, by the Bailiff of the said Town; it is Ordered, That the Serjeant at Arms do cause the said John Flemyng and the Bailiff of the said Town, to be brought before their Lordships, on the Day of, at Nine of the Clock in the Morning, to answer their Contempt for Breach of the Privilege of this High Court.

The Earl of Sussex and the Lord Darcy have Leave to be absent.

Message from the Commons, touching Conference for the Bill of Grace for Wales.

Message from the House of Commons, by Sir Edward Cooke and others: That whereas the Committees of both Houses for the Bill of Grace for Wales desired, at their last Conference, a Sub-committee to be appointed, for accommodating the Proviso of the said Bill, according to the Motion of the Prince his Highness; the House of Commons do humbly desire to know the Number of the Lords Sub-committees, and what Time and Place they are pleased to appoint for the same.

The Messengers being withdrawn, and the Names of the Committee for that Bill read, and the Lord Chief Baron added to the Attendants; they were called in again, and answered:


That the Lords have appointed their former Committee to meet To-morrow, at Eight, in the Painted Chamber, to confer with the Committee of the Commons.

Ld. Stafford's Privilege. Thomas's Arrest.

Upon the humble Petition of Edward Chadwell, of Chippingnorton, Gentleman, it is this Day Ordered, That the Matter for Breach of the Privileges of this High Court, for the Arrest of Walter Thomas, Town Clerk of Chippingnorton, and Servant to the Lord Stafford, shall be referred to the Lord Denny and the Lord Haughton; and also, That the Order made the 13th of this April, That the Serjeant at Arms shall bring before their Lordships the said Edward Chadwell and Thomas Daunce, and Two Servants of the said Edward Chadwell, to answer their Contempt and Breach of the said Privileges, shall be suspended; and yet the said Edward Chadwell is to attend, and not to depart without Licence of the Court.


Dominus Custos Magni Sigilli declaravit præsens Parliamentum continuandum esse usque in diem crastinum, videlicet, 22m diem instantis Aprilis, hora 9a, Dominis sic decernentibus.