House of Lords Journal Volume 3: 22 June 1625

Pages 438-440

Journal of the House of Lords: Volume 3, 1620-1628. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1767-1830.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

Page 438
Page 439
Page 440

In this section

DIE Mercurii, videlicet, 22 die Junii,

Domini tam Spirituales quam Temporales, quorum nomina subscribuntur, præsentes fuerunt:

p. Archiepus. Cant.
Archiepus. Eborum.
p. Epus. London.
Epus. Dunelm.
p. Epus. Winton.
Epus. Petriburg.
Epus. Hereforden.
Epus. Wigorn.
p. Epus. Norwicen.
p. Epus. Roffen.
p. Epus. Co. et Lich.
p. Epus. Bath. et W.
p. Epus. Bangor.
p. Epus. Elien.
Epus. Cicestren.
Epus. Oxon.
Epus. Cestren.
p. Epus. Landaven.
p. Epus. Sarum.
p. Epus. Exon.
p. Epus. Meneven.
p. Epus. Bristol.
Epus. Asaphen.
p. Epus. Carlien.
p. Epus. Gloucestren.
p. Epus. Lincoln, Ds. Cust. Mag. Sigilli Angliæ.
p. Ds. Ley, Mag. Thesaur. Angliæ.
p. Vicecomes Maundevill, Præsidens Concilii Domini Regis.
p. Comes Wigorn, Ds. Custos Privati Sigilli.
Dux Buckingham, Mag, Admirallus Angliæ.
Marchio Winton.
Comes Oxon, Mag. Camerar. Angliæ.
Comes Arundell et Surr. Comes Marescall. Angliæ.
Comes Pembroc, Senes. Hospitii et Camerar. Hospitii.
Comes Northumbriæ.
Comes Salop.
p. Comes Kancii.
Comes Derbiæ.
p. Comes Rutland.
Comes Cumbriæ.
p. Comes Sussex.
Comes Huntingdon.
Comes Bath.
Comes Bedford.
Comes Hertford.
Comes Essex.
p. Comes Lincoln.
p. Comes Nottingham.
Comes Suffolciæ.
p. Comes Dorsett.
p. Comes Sarum.
Comes Exon.
Comes Mountgomery.
Comes Bridgwater.
p. Comes Leicestriæ.
p. Comes North'ton.
p. Comes Warwiciæ.
Comes Devon.
Comes Cantabr.
Comes Holdernesse.
Comes Carlisle.
Comes Denbigh.
Comes Bristol.
Comes Angles.
Comes Holland.
p. Comes Clare.
p. Comes Bolingbrooke.
p. Comes Westmerland.
Vicecomes Mountague.
Vicecomes Wallingford.
Vicecomes Purbeck.
Vicecomes Mansfeild.
Vicecomes Colchester.
p. Vicecomes Rochford.
p. Vicecomes Andever.
Vicecomes Tunbridge.
p. Vicecomes Say et Seale.
Ds. Conway, Prin. Sec.
Ds. Abergavenny.
Ds. Audley.
Ds. Zouch.
Ds. Willoughby.
Ds. Delawarr.
p. Ds. Berkley.
Ds. Morley et M.
Ds. Dacres de H.
Ds. Stafford.
Ds. Scroope.
Ds. Duddeley.
p. Ds. Stourton.
Ds. Herbert de Sh.
Ds. Darcy et M.
Ds. Vaux.
Ds. Windsore.
p. Ds. Wentworth.
Ds. Mordant.
Ds. St. John de Bas.
Ds. Cromwell.
Ds. Evre.
p. Ds. Sheffeild.
p. Ds. Pagett.
Ds. North.
p. Ds. Howard de W.
Ds. Wootton.
p. Ds. Russell.
Ds. Grey de Groby.
Ds. Petre.
Ds. Danvers.
p. Ds. Spencer.
Ds. Denny.
p. Ds. Stanhope de H.
Ds. Carewe.
Ds. Arundell de W.
Ds. Teynham.
Ds. Stanhope de Sh.
Ds. Noel.
Ds. Brooke.
Ds. Mountague.
p. Ds. Cary of Lopp.
p. Ds. Grey of W.
p. Ds. Deyncourt.
p. Ds. Roberts of Truro.

Call of the House put off.

FOR that divers Lords do this Day attend the King's Majesty, the Calling of the House is deferred, upon the Lord Keeper's Motion.

Lords introduced.

Memorandum, That these Lords underwritten were this Day brought into the House, in their Parliament Robes, in Manner following: videlicet,

E. of Clare.

John Earl of Clare, between the Earl of Sarum and the Earl of North'ton; Edward Earl of Dorsett supplying the Earl Marshal's Place; all in their Parliament Robes; Garter King of Arms, in his Herald's Coat, going before the Earl of Dorsett. Garter carried the Patent of the Earl of Clare's Creation, and delivered it to the Lord Keeper, and his Lordship to the Clerk; then the Earls of Sarum and North'ton presented the Earl of Clare unto his Lordship, and afterwards conducted him to his due Place.

E. of Bolingbroke.

Oliver Earl of Bullingbrocke, and Francis Earl of Westmerland, were brought in, in the like Manner.

E. of Westmlaud.

L. Viscount Say and Seale.

William Lord Viscount Say et Seale was brought in, in like Manner, between the Lord Viscount Rocheford and the Lord Russell.

L. Ley.

So were James Lord Ley (Lord High Treasurer of England), between the Lord Sheffeild and the Lord Walden, and placed on the Baron's Bench, next the Lord Grey of Werke.

L. Deyncourt.

Francis Lord Deyncourt, between the Lord Wentworth and the Lord Pagett, and placed next the Lord Ley.

L. Roberts.

And Richard Lord Roberts of Truro between the Lord Pagett and the Lord Russell; and placed next the Lord Deyncourte.

The Lord Keeper signified His Majesty's Pleasure, That such Lords as have not taken the Oath of Allegiance in this House do now take the same.

Lords to take Oath of Allegiance.

And Agreed, That all the Lords of this House do take the Oath of Allegiance, as well those Lords who have heretofore taken that Oath in the House as those who have not; and that the Order is, for the same Oath to be taken always after the Adjournment of the House.

Standing Orders read.

Memorandum, That the Roll of Remembrances for Order and Decency, to be kept in the Upper House of Parliament, etc. was this Day read; and one Clause therein, videlicet, That Bishops are only Lords of Parliament, but not Peers, is referred to be considered of by the Lords Committees of the Privileges, etc.

Absent Lords to pay.

Their Lordships renewed their former Order for Absence from Prayers: videlicet, each Earl to pay Two Shillings, and each Bishop and Baron One Shilling, that came after Prayers.


Dominus Custos Magni Sigilli declaravit præsens Parliamentum continuandum esse usque in diem crastinum, videlicet, vicesimum tertium diem, Junii, hora 9a, Dominis sic decernentibus.

The Names of the Lords who took the Oath of Allegiance this Day, after the Adjournment of the House.

Lords take the Oath of Allegiance.

Imprimis, the Lord Keeper took the said Oath alone by himself, kneeling at his Wool-sack.

Then, in the same Place, these Lords following took the said Oath: videlicet,

The Lord Archbishop of Cant.
The Lord Ley, Lord Treasurer.
Viscount Maundevill, Lord President of the King's Council.
The Earl of Worcester, Lord Privy Seal.
The Earl of Kent.
The Earl of Sussex.
The Earl of Lincoln.
The Earl of Nottingham.
The Earl of Dorsett.
The Earl of Sarum.
The Earl of Leicestre.
The Earl of North'ton.
The Earl of Clare.
The Earl of Bolingbrooke.
The Earl of Westmerland.
The Lord Viscount Rocheford.
The Lord Viscount Say et Seale.
The Lord Bishop of London.
The Lord Bishop of Winchester.
The Lord Bishop of Norwich.
The Lord Bishop of Rochester.
The Lord Bishop of Bath and Wells.
The Lord Bishop of Bangor.
The Lord Bishop of Ely.
The Lord Bishop of Landaffe.
The Lord Bishop of Sarum.
The Lord Bishop of Excetre.
The Lord Bishop of St. David's.
The Lord Bishop of Bristoll.
The Lord Bishop of Carlile.
The Lord Bishop of Gloucestre.
The Lord Wentworth.
The Lord Sheffeild.
The Lord Walden.
The Lord Russell.
The Lord Spencer.
The Lord Cary of Lepp.
The Lord Roberts of Truro.