Page v

Office-Holders in Modern Britain: Volume 10, Officials of Royal Commissions of Inquiry 1870-1939. Originally published by University of London, London, 1995.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.



I am indebted to a great many people for help in the compilation of this book: the archivists and staff of the Public Record Office, House of Lords Record Office, British Library (in particular Mr Richard Cheffins who drew my attention to the 1887 RC on Malta), Oriental and India Office Library, University of London Library, British Library of Political and Economic Science, and a number of Government Departments. Mr Lloyd of the Records Division of the Home Office elucidated various procedural matters; Ms Karen George of MAFF, Mr Ian Hill of the Scottish Record Office, and especially Mr Richard Ponman of the Historical and Records Section of the Cabinet Office gave me much useful information. Ms Mithu Alur helped me to index the names of Indian Commissioners. I am grateful to Mrs Joyce Horn, Professor Jane Lewis, and Sir John Sainty for their advice and encouragement. Any errors of fact or interpretation are mine.