Wiltshire VCH committee


Victoria County History



R. B. Pugh and Elizabeth Crittall (editors), H. F. Chettle, W. R. Powell, P. A. Spalding, P. M. Tillott

Year published


Supporting documents




Comment on this article
Double click anywhere on the text to add an annotation in-line

Citation Show another format:

'Wiltshire VCH committee', A History of the County of Wiltshire: Volume 7 (1953), pp. XV. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=115452 Date accessed: 25 November 2014.


(Min 3 characters)


Where not otherwise stated members have served on the Committee from 1947 until the present time.

Alderman W. R. Robins, O.B.E., ChairmanRepresenting the Wiltshire County Council
Mr. J. A. Arnold-Forster, O.B.E. (resigned 1952)
Colonel R. W. Awdry, C.B.E. (died 1949)
Alderman J. L. Calderwood
Mr. E. C. Elwell (died 1948)
The Marchioness of Northampton (resigned 1950)
Alderman W. E. Stevens
Dr. T. R. Thomson
Councillor A. M. BennettRepresenting the Swindon Borough Council
Alderman H. Diment
Alderman W. H. Gardner (resigned 1952)
Councillor R. G. GordonRepresenting the Salisbury City Council
Councillor H. E. Randall
Mr. H. C. BrentnallRepresenting the Wiltshire Archaeological and Natural History Society
Dr. G. M. Young, C.B.
Mr. R. B. PughRepresenting the Records Branch of the Wiltshire Archaeological and Natural History Society, and after 1949 also the Central Committee of the Victoria County History
Canon W. J. BartonRepresenting the Bishop of Salisbury
Canon C. F. HarmanRepresenting the Bishop of Bristol
Mr. A. Taylor Milne (resigned 1949)Representing the Central Committee of the Victoria County History

Co-opted Members

Professor T. S. Ashton
Professor D. C. Douglas, F.B.A.
Mr. G. E. Fussell
Professor H. J. Habakkuk (co-opted 1950)
Professor C. F. C. Hawkes, F.B.A.
Dr. W. G. Hoskins (co-opted 1952)

Mr. R. V- Lennard
Mr. J. H. P. Pafford
Professor S. Piggott
Dr. G. D. Ramsay
Professor R. B. Wernham (co-opted 1950)

Mr. D. Murray John, O.B.E., Hon. Secretary
Mr. M. G. Rathbone, Deputy Hon. Secretary
Mr. E. Eckersley, Hon. Treasurer