Alien houses
The priory of Minster Lovell


Victoria County History



William Page (editor)

Year published





Comment on this article
Double click anywhere on the text to add an annotation in-line

Citation Show another format:

'Alien houses: The priory of Minster Lovell', A History of the County of Oxford: Volume 2 (1907), pp. 162-163. URL: Date accessed: 25 November 2014.


(Min 3 characters)


The priory of Minster Lovell, attached to the abbey of Ivry in Normandy, was founded by Maud, widow of William Luvell, with the consent of William her son. She gave to the abbey of Ivry the church of Minster Lovell, and William, bishop of Lincoln (1203-6), confirmed the gift and instituted a vicarage there; the abbey was to appoint the vicar, and they were to share equally the burdens and emoluments. (fn. 1) The priory therefore dated from 1200-6. In 1291 (fn. 2) and 1294 (fn. 3) it received £4 13s. 4d. from the church of Minster, and in the latter year about £4 from land. It is not easy to understand how a priory could be maintained on such a small income; but probably it received rents from some of the possessions in England that belonged to the abbey of Ivry, such as the church of Asthall.

Its history is a blank; we do not even know the name of the patron saint. With the other alien houses it was repeatedly seized by the king, and finally in 1415. Eton College obtained it in 1441, but, contrary to the statement of Tanner, has no deeds relating to it.

Priors of Minster Lovell (fn. 4)

Robert, appointed 1226 (fn. 5)

Geoffrey, appointed 1247 (fn. 6)

Simon de Paris, resigned 1260 (fn. 7)

Gacius appointed 1260, (fn. 8) resigned 1264

Jacobus, appointed 1264, (fn. 9) resigned 1266

Gacius, appointed 1266, (fn. 10) resigned 1270

John, appointed 1270, (fn. 11) died 1291

Stephen de Habitu, appointed 1291, (fn. 12) resigned 1293

Ralph de Montfort, (fn. 13) appointed 1293, resigned 1299

John de Monte Calneto, (fn. 14) appointed 1299, died 1305

Robert de Hodenco, appointed 1305, (fn. 15) resigned 1307

Geoffrey de Ruffeto, (fn. 16) appointed 1307, resigned 1309

Bertrand de Manderville, (fn. 17) appointed 1309

William de Rouge, appointed 1341 (fn. 18)

Peter Curry, appointed 1352, (fn. 19) resigned 1361

Mathew de Nova Villa, (fn. 20) appointed 1361, died 1368

Vincent de Coueour, 1368 (fn. 21)


1 Abbrev. Placit. (Rec. Com.), 53b.
2 Taxatio (Rec. Com.), 44.
3 Add. MS. 6164, fol. 14.
4 The priors were nominated by the abbot of Ivry.
5 Linc. Epis. Reg. Rolls of Bishop Hugh.
6 Ibid. Rolls of Bishop Grosteste.
7 Ibid. Rolls of Bishop Gravesend.
8 Ibid.
9 Ibid.
10 Ibid.
11 Ibid.
12 Ibid. Sutton, Inst. fol. 126.
13 Ibid. 132.
14 Ibid. 140.
15 Ibid. Dalderby, Inst. fol. 147.
16 Ibid. 152.
17 Ibid. 155.
18 Ibid. Burghersh, Inst. 288. A monk of Ivry, appointed by the bishop, the abbot having failed to make any appointment during six months.
19 Ibid. Gynwell, Inst. 205.
20 Ibid. 228.
21 Ibid. Buckingham, Inst. 344.