Fulham

Sponsor

Centre for Metropolitan History

Publication

Author

Daniel Lysons

Year published

1795

Pages

344-424

Citation Show another format:

'Fulham', The Environs of London: volume 2: County of Middlesex (1795), pp. 344-424. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=45415 Date accessed: 28 August 2014.


Highlight

(Min 3 characters)

FULHAM.

Name, and etymology.

The name of this place was anciently written Fullenham, or Fullonham, which, says Norden, "as Master Camden taketh it, signifieth volucrum domus, the habitacle of birdes, or the place of fowles. Fullon and Fuglas, in the Saxon toong, doe signifie fowles, and ham, or hame, as much as home in our toong. So that Fullonham, or Fuglas-hame, is as much to saie, as the home, house, or habitacle of fowle. It may be also taken for volucrum amnis, or the river of fowle; for ham also, in many places, signifieth amnis, a river. But it is most probable it should be of lande fowle, which usually haunt groves and clusters of trees, whereof in this place, it seemeth, hath beene plenty (fn. 1) ." Somner, in his Saxon Dictionary, proposes a very different etymology: "Fullanham, or Fulham, says he, quasi Foul-ham, from the dirtiness of the place (fn. 2) ." The same derivation is given in Manning's edition of Lye's Dictionary: "Fullanham—cænosa habitatio."

Situation, boundaries, extent, foil, &c.

The village of Fulham is situated on the banks of the Thames, at the distance of four miles from Hyde-park-corner; it lies within the hundred of Ossulston; and the parish is bounded by Chelsea, Kensington, Wilsdon, Action, and Chiswick, and by the river Thames. This parish (including the Hammersmith district) contains about two thousand nine hundred acres of land, of which about one thousand and eighty are on the Fulham side. Of these, about one half is occupied by market-gardeners; the other half is divided, in nearly an equal proportion, between grass and corn; but the cornland is frequently sown with garden vegetables, of which, upon an average, the greater part may be said, perhaps, to bear one crop in a year.

Land-tax

The Fulham district of the parish pays the sum of 1117l. 10s. 1d. to the land-tax, which, in the year 1793, was at the rate of about 1s. 7d. in the pound.

Danish army at Fulham.

In the year 879, the Danish army having removed from Chippenham and Cirencester, came and encamped at Fulham, where they were joined by another army, which had been defeated and driven out of Flanders by Charles II. King of France. After passing the winter at Fulham, they all went to make a fresh attack upon Flanders in the Spring (fn. 4) .

Parliamentary army

While the parliamentary army was stationed near London, in the year 1647, Fairsax's head-quarters were at Putney, where the councils of war were generally held in the parish-church; they were sometimes held at Fulham (fn. 5) , where the following officers were quartered: Colonel Hammond, at Mr. Terrie's; Sir Hardress Waller, at Mr. Hill's; Colonel Rainsborough, at Major Rainsborough's; Colonel Scrope and Colonel Tomlinson, at Mr. Herbert's; Colonel Twesleday and Colonel Okey, at Mr. John Wolverston's; Colonel Potter, at Mr. Seare's; and the Adjutant General of foot at Mr. Snowe's (fn. 6) .

It was reported to the House of Commons, in the month of March 1648, that a doctor, one of his Majesty's chaplains, had several times preached about Parson's-green, once in the great brick-house, another time in the high white house, where was a great resort of people, and many of them disaffected to the parliament. The doctor was sent for, and after examination, committed to custody (fn. 7) .

Manor.

The manor of Fulham belonged to the see of London a considerable time before the Conquest. It is said to have been given to Bishop Erkenwald and his successors, about the year 691, by Tyrhtilus, a bishop, with the consent of Sigehard King of the East Saxons, and Coenred King of the Mercians (fn. 8) . Tyrhtilus, Bishop of Hereford, whom, I suppose, to have been the person here meant, was contemporary with Erkenwald. The manor has been in the uninterrupted possession of the Bishops of London, except during the interregnum in the last century, when it was sold, anno 1647, to Colonel Edmund Harvey, with the leasehold lands thereto belonging, for the sum of 7617l. 8s. 10d. (fn. 9)

Doomsday survey.

The manor of Fuleham is said, in Doomsday-book, to contain forty hides, which were sufficient to employ forty ploughs; thirteen hides were in demesne, on which the lord of the manor had four ploughs. Among the freemen and villeins there were twenty-six ploughs, and ten more might be used; there were five villeins holding an hide each; thirteen who held a virgate each; thirty-four who held half a virgate; twenty-two cottars, who held half a hide jointly; and eight more, who had gardens only. Certain foreigners and burgesses of London had twenty-three hides of land, held in villeinage. The villeins and bordars, who occupied these lands, were thirty-one in number. The meadow was sufficient for forty plough-lands. There was pasture for the cattle of the town; ten shillings issuing out of the moiety of a stream; pannage for one thousand hogs; and seventeen-pence rents. The whole value of the manor was 40l. per annum; in the reign of Edward the Confessor, 50l. This manor, says the record, was and is parcel of the bishopric.

The fisheries were leased, in the last century, to Sir Abraham Dawes, Sir Nicholas Crispe, and others, for the annual rent of three salmons (fn. 10) .

Fulham palace, or Manor-house

The hall.

Chapel.


Fulham Palace

Figure 10: Fulham Palace

The manor-house, or palace of Fulham, has been, from a very early period, the principal summer residence of the Bishops of London. The present structure is of brick, and no part of it of a very ancient date (fn. 11) . The large quadrangle was built by Bishop Fitzjames in the reign of Henry VII. as appears by his arms (fn. 12) , carved in stone, and fixed in one of the walls. They occur also over the gateway of the kitchen-garden. The hall, which is 50 feet 6 inches by 27 feet, was sitted up by Bishop Fletcher in the year 1595 (fn. 13) , and was again repaired by Bishop Sherlock, whose arms (fn. 14) are over the chimney (fn. 15) . In the windows of the hall are the arms of several of the Bishops of London, and the cognizance of a garb, and a pair of wings con joined in lure, frequently repeated. The chapel was removed to its present situation, and sitted up by Bishop Terrick. The wainscot was brought from the chapel at London-house in Aldersgate-street, where it had been placed by Bishop Juxon. The greater part of the painted glass, some of which is very fine, was removed from the same place. It consists principally of the arms of the Bishops of London, as may be seen more particularly described in the note (fn. 16) .

Library. Portraits of Bishops of London.

Dining-room.

In the library, which is 48 feet in length, are several portraits of the Bishops of London, collected by the present Bishop, who has formed the very laudable design of collecting (as far as may be practicable,) the portraits of his predecessors. He has already so far succeeded in his intention, as to procure the following: Bishop Tunstall, copied from Holbein, by Taylor; Bishop Grindall; Laud, copied from Vandyke, by old Stone; original pictures of Abbot and Vaughan, supposed to be Cornelius Janssen's; a fine original of Bishop King; Compton, a copy from Kneller; Gibson, by Vanderbank; Osbaldeston, by Hudson; Sherlock, a copy by Stewart; Hayter; Terrick, a copy by Stewart from Dance; and Bishop Lowth, by Pine. There is a portrait also of Crew Bishop of Durham, by Sir Peter Lely. The great dining-room, which is extremely well proportioned, (viz. 36 feet by 24, and 18 feet in height,) was built by Bishop Sherlock.

Repairs and alterations of the palace.

Bishop Sheldon laid out large sums of money upon the palace at Fulham (fn. 17) . Bishop Robinson, in the year 1715, presented a petition to the Archbishop of Canterbury, stating, that the manor-house or palace of Fulham was grown very old and ruinous; that it was much too large for the revenues of the bishopric; and that a great part of the building was become useless (fn. 18) . In consequence of this petition, certain commissioners (among whom were Sir John Vanburgh and Sir Christopher Wren,) were appointed to examine the premises (fn. 19) . The purport of their report was, that after taking down the bake-house and pastry-house, which adjoined to the kitchen, and all the buildings to the northward of the great dining-room, there would be left between fifty and sixty rooms, besides the chapel, hall, and kitchen. These being judged sufficient for the use of the Bishop and his successors, a licence (bearing date July 21, 1715,) was granted to pull down the other buildings (fn. 20) . The palace, including all the offices, consists now of nearly the same number of rooms as were left by Bishop Robinson. Bishop Osbaldeston, who died anno 1764, left the sum of 1000l. towards the repairs of Fulhampalace (fn. 21) .

Gardens celebrated in Bishop Grindall's time.

Bishop Comton, an eminent botanist.

Trees of his planting remaining anno 1751.

Account of such as were found there in 1795.

The gardens at Fulham first became remarkable in the time of Bishop Grindall, who was one of the earliest encouragers of botany, and the first person who imported the tamarisk-tree into this country, about the year 1560 (fn. 22) . His grapes, at Fulham, were esteemed of that value, and a fruit the Queen stood so well affected to, and so early ripe, that the Bishop used every year to send her Majesty a present of them (fn. 23) ." Bishop Compton, who was himself a very eminent botanist, and a great promoter of the science, made the Fulham-gardens still more celebrated by the introduction of a great number of new plants and forest trees, particularly from North America (fn. 24) . The late Sir William Watson made a visit to Fulham in the year 1751, for the purpose of ascertaining what trees, of Bishop Compton's planting, were then to be found. The result of his visit was published in the Philosophical Transactions (fn. 25) , with a list of the trees then existing, which were thirty-one in number. Upon a careful survey of the state of the garden, in the month of October 1793, the following trees were found to be still remaining (fn. 26) , and they will, no doubt, be regarded with some degree of veneration by the botanist, as the parent stocks of their respective races in this kingdom. The girths, which were accurately taken at three feet from the ground, are here given, with their computed height:

Girth. Computed height.
F. I. Feet.
Acer Negundo, or Ash-leaved maple (fn. 27) , planted anno 1688 6 4 45
Cupressus Sempervivens—upright cypress (fn. 28) 2 3 30
Funiperus Virginiana—Virginian red cedar 2 5 20
Fuglans Nigra—black walnut-tree 11 2 70
Pinus Pinaster—cluster pine 10 0 80
Quercus Alba—white oak 7 11 70
Quercus Suber—cork tree 10 10 45
Acer Rubrum—scarlet-flowered maple 4 3 40
Quercus Ilex—ever-green oak (fn. 29) 8 0 50
Gleditsia Triacanthos—three-thorned acacia (on the lawn) (fn. 30) 8 3
—another near the porter's-lodge 8 11

There are also, the Cytisus Laburnum, and the Pinus Cedrus, or Cedar of Libanus, mentioned by Sir William Watson; but it is much to be doubted, whether either of them was of Bishop Compton's planting, though the Laburnum has the appearance of being a very ancient tree, and is three feet in girth. The Cedar of Libanus was first planted at Fulham in 1683 (fn. 32) ; the largest, of two now to be seen there, measures only 7 feet 9 inches in girth.

Near the porter's lodge is a row of limes, of great age, one of which measures 13 feet 3 inches in girth. It is most probable, that they were planted by Bishop Compton about the year of the Revolution, when the fashion of planting avenues of limes was introduced into this country from Holland, where they ornamented the Prince of Orange's palaces.

Mr. Ord's garden near Walham-green.

While I am speaking upon this subject, it would be unpardonable to omit the mention of a very curious garden near Walham-green in this parish, planted since the year 1756, by its present possessor, John Ord, Esq. Master in Chancery. It is not a little extraordinary, that this garden should, within the space of forty years, (such have been the effects of good management, and a fertile soil,) have produced trees which are now the finest of their respective kinds in the kingdom. As a proof of this, may be mentioned the Sophora Japonica, planted anno 1756, then about two feet high; now eight feet in girth, and about forty in height; a standard Gingko tree, planted about the year 1767, two feet three inches in girth, and an Illinois walnut, two feet two inches in girth, growing where it was sown, about the year 1760. Among other trees, very remarkable also for their growth, though not to be spoken of as the largest of their kind, are a black walnut-tree, (sown anno 1757,) about forty feet high, and five feet four inches in girth; a cedar of Libanus, (planted in 1756,) eight feet eight inches in girth; a willow-leaved oak, (sown anno 1757) four feet in girth; the Rhus Vernix, or varnish sumach, four feet in girth; and a stone pine, of very singular growth; its girth, at one foot from the ground, is six feet four inches; at that height, it immediately begins to branch out and spreads, at least, twenty-one feet on each side, forming a large bush of about fourteen yards in diameter.

Extent of the demesne lands at Fulham.

Moat.

Improvements.

To return to the account of the palace. The house, gardens, and a large grass-field called the Warren, containing, in the whole, about thirty-seven acres, are surrounded by a moat (fn. 33) , over which are two bridges. There belong also to the demesnes, about seventeen acres of meadow by the waterside, the western part of which, being a singularly beautiful spot, has been much improved by the present bishop, who has made secure embankments towards the river, and ornamented it with a shrubbery and plantations.

Residence of the Bishops of London at Fulham.

Robert de Sigillo taken prisoner.

Bishops Gravesend and Baldock.

Bishop Bonner.

John Byrde

Bishop Alymer.

Queen Elizabeth's visit to Fullham.

King James.

Charles 1. and his Queen.

Bishop Juxon

Colonel Harvey's entertainment of Oliver well.

Though Fulham has been, for the two last centuries, the principal residence of the Bishops of London, yet, when they had other country seats, it seems to have been almost deserted by some, while others appear to have been much attached to the place. In the year 1141, during the war between King Stephen and the Empress Maud, Geoffry de Mandeville, the King's general, came to Fulham, and seized Robert de Sigillo, Bishop of London, being then "lodging in his "own manor-place (fn. 34) ." The bishop was forced to purchase his liberty with a great ransom (fn. 35) . Richard de Gravesend resided much at Fulham, and died at his palace there anno 1303 (fn. 36) . His successor, Bishop Baldock, who was lord chancellor of England, dates most of his public acts thence (fn. 37) . Bishop Braybroke, who enjoyed the same high office, and presided over the see of London near twenty years, seems to have been very little at this place, but to have spent his time, for the most part, at Stepney (fn. 38) . Of Bishop Bonner's residence at Fulham, and of his cruelties, some facts are recorded in history (fn. 39) , and many traditions are yet current. A large wooden chair, in which he is said to have sat to pass sentence upon heretics, was placed, a few years ago, in a shrubbery near the palace, which gave occasion to an elegant poem, written by Miss Hannah More, who was then on a visit at the bishop's (fn. 40) . One deprived bishop of the reformed church, John Byrde, (who was the last provincial of the Carmelites, and afterwards became Bishop of Chester,) seems to have found an asylum with Bonner, and was living with him at Fulham anno 1555: "Upon his coming, says Wood, he brought his present with him, a dish of apples and a bottle of wine (fn. 41) ." Bishop Aylmer, or Elmer, a worthy and learned prelate, was principally resident at Fulham, and died there anno 1594 (fn. 42) . The zeal with which he supported the interests of the established church, exposed him to the resentment of the puritans, who, among other methods which they took to injure the bishop, attempted to prejudice the Queen against him, alleging, that he had committed great waste at Fulham, by cutting down the elms; and, punning upon his name, they gave him the appellation of Bishop Mar-elm; "but, it was a shameful untruth, says Strype, and how false it was all the court knew, and the Queen herself could witnes, for she had lately lodged at the palace, where she misliked nothing, but that her lodgings were kept from all good prospect by the thickness of the trees, as she told her vice-chamberlain, and he reported so to the bishop (fn. 43) ." Bancroft was honoured with a visit from Queen Elizabeth in 1600, and another in 1602 (fn. 44) . King James visited him previously to his coronation (fn. 45) . In the year 1627, Charles I. and his Queen dined with Bishop Mountaigne (fn. 46) . During the civil war, Bishop Juxon was suffered to remain, for the most part, undisturbed at Fulham, where he was visited, and respected by persons of both parties, "though he walked steadily in his old paths (fn. 47) ." In the year 1647, Fulham-palace was sold to Colonel Edmund Harvey, who made it his residence, and gave a very magnificent entertainment there, to Oliver Cromwell (fn. 48) . Bishop Compton died at Fulham-palace anno 1713 (fn. 49) ; Bishop Robinson, anno 1723 (fn. 50) ; and Bishop Lowth in 1787.

Henry III. Walter de Grey.

Norden says, that Henry III. often lay at Fulham-palace (fn. 51) . Walter de Grey, Archbishop of York, who had been lord chancellor, died there in the year 1255 (fn. 52) .

Manor of Wormholt Barns.

A part of the demesnes of the manor of Fulham, called the manor of Wormholt Barns, and containing four hundred and twenty-three acres, was leased by Bishop Bonner, anno 1549, on the very eve of his first deprivation, to Edward Duke of Somerset, for two hundred years (fn. 53) . This lease having been vested in the crown, in consequence of the Duke's attainder, was granted by Queen Elizabeth, anno 1599, to Simon Willis (fn. 54) , who assigned one moiety of his interest in it to Thomas Fisher, and the other to Sir Thomas Penruddock. The whole became afterwards the property of George Penruddock, the son of Sir Thomas, and passed from him to John Needler. (fn. 55) . A short time before the expiration of Bonner's term, a fresh lease was granted, according to the usual tenor of church leases, to Henry Laremore. This estate is now divided into two parts; the one called the manor of Wormholt, now on lease to Thomas Bramly, Esq. the other, Wormholt and Eynham's lands, leased to Samuel Marryatt, Esq. The latter was sold, during the civil war, anno 1648, for the sum of 1232l. 8s. to Robert Blayney, in trust for Maximilian Bard, Esq. (fn. 54)

Wormholt Scrubs.

The piece of waste, called Wormholt-common, or Scrubs, was formerly a wood, and contained above two hundred acres, about sixty of which have been inclosed.

Subordinate manors.

The record of Doomsday-book mentions a subordinate manor in the parish of Fulham, held under the Bishop of London. This manor, when the survey was taken, belonged to Fulchered; it contained five hides; the land was of four carucates; one plough was employed in the demesne lands; one by the villeins; and employment might have been found for a third. Within this manor were six villeins, who held half a hide, four cottars holding eight acres, and three other cottars; meadow equal to one ox-gang; pasture for the cattle of the town; pannage for thirty hogs; in the whole valued at sixty shillings; in the time of Edward the Confessor, at one hundred shillings. This land was formerly held of the Bishop of London, by two sokemen, who could neither grant or alien it, without the Bishop's leave.

Manor of Pallenswick.

Alice Perrers.

Sir Richard Gurney.

Ravens court

Portrait of Bishop Gipson

There are now three subordinate manors, 01 manor farms, in the parish of Fulham, held under the Bishop; the most ancient is that of Pallenswick, now, corruptly, called Paddingswick, situated near Paddingswick, or Stanbrook-green, and extending to the western road. In the year 1373, William Gresle, clerk, and others, granted the manor of Pallynswyck, which had formerly belonged to John Northwych, goldsmith of London, to John Bernes and others (fn. 55) , as trustees, perhaps, for the celebrated Alice Perrers, or Pierce, a lady of much note in the court of Edward III. (fn. 56) , whose property it appears to have been at the time of her banishment, anno 1378, when it was seized by the crown. The survey of the manor, taken at that time, describes it as containing forty acres of arable land, sixty of pasture, and one and an half of meadow (fn. 57) . The manor-house, which was, probably, Alice Perrers's country seat, is described as well built, and in good repair, and containing a large hall, chapel, &c. Alice Perrers, having afterwards procured a reversion of her sentence, returned to England, being then wife of William Lord Wyndesor, to whom King Richard, anno 1380, granted the manor of Pallynswyck (fn. 58) . I find no further mention of it till the year 1752, when John Payne, Esq. died seised of it, leaving William his son and heir (fn. 59) . In the year 1631, the manor, or capital messuage of Pallingswyck, with its appurtenances, was sold by John Payne, Esq. for the sum of 2600l. to Sir Richard Gurney (fn. 60) , the brave and loyal lord mayor of London, who died a prisoner in the Tower anno 1647 (fn. 61) . His widow, three years afterwards, sold it to Maximilian Bard, Esq (fn. 62) . It continued in that family till the year 1747, when it was aliened by Henry Laremore, trustee under the will of the Right Hon. Lady Persiana Bard (fn. 63) , to Thomas Corbett, Esq. Thomas Powell, Esq. devisee in trust for Thomas Corbett, aliened it anno 1754 to Arthur Weaver, Esq. who sold it again, in 1759, to Henry Dagge, Esq. (author of "Considerations on the Criminal Laws,") who leased it to Lord Chancellor Northington. It was purchased of Mr. Dagge, anno 1765, by the present proprietor, John Dorville, Esq. The manor-house, (called of late Ravenscourt,) is surrounded with a moat filled with water. The present building is not very ancient. In the drawing-room is a portrait of Bishop Gibson, who was grandfather to the late Mrs. Dorville.

Manor of Wendon.

Nicholas Philpot and William Huntley, anno 1449, aliened all their lands called Wendson, Rosamunds, and Lanes, in the parish of Fulham, to Sir Thomas Hasely, deputy marshal of England, and clerk of the crown (fn. 64) . Two years afterwards, Agnes Hasely being then the relict of Sir Thomas, demised her manor of Wendon to Henry Weaver for thirty years, and soon after granted it to him in fee (fn. 65) . William Essex, Esq. died seised of this manor anno 1481 (fn. 66) , and it continued in his family till the reign of Queen Elizabeth, when it appears to have been aliened to John Tamworth, Esq. one of her privy counsellors, who, in the year 1565, settled the manor of Wandowne upon his wife Christiana (fn. 67) . In the year 1574, Thomas Sidney being in possession of this manor, sold it to Sir Thomas Knolles (fn. 68) ; the latter aliened it, anno 1603, to Noadiah Rawlin and William Danson (fn. 69) . I have not been able to trace the history of this estate any lower, or to discover who is the present proprietor.

Walham green

Walham-green takes its name from this manor; it was formerly called Wendon-green, and was afterwards varied to Wandon, Wansdon, Wandham, and at last Walham-green (fn. 70) .

Manor of Rosamunds.

The manor of Rosamunds appears also to have been aliened by Agnes Hasely to Henry Weaver, or Waver, for, I find, that Christian, relict of Sir Henry Waver, Knt. died anno 1480, being seised of the manor of Rosamunds in Fulham, valued at ten marks per annum, and a tenement called Lane's-place, valued at 4l. (both held of the Bishop of London,) the next heir to which estates was Christian, the daughter of her son Henry (fn. 71) . I have not found any later records relative to this manor; but, I suppose, it to be an estate near Parson's-green, which was for many years the property of the Whartons (fn. 72) , and after the death of Sir Michael Wharton, about 1725 (fn. 73) , was divided between his coheirs, of whom, or their representatives, it was purchased by the late John Powell, Esq. and is now the property of William Roberts, Esq. The site of the mansion belonging to this estate, now rented by a gardener, is said, by tradition, to have been a palace of Fair Rosamund.

Thrnoton's manor.

Henry Marshe, who died anno 1643, was seised of three acres of land in Thornton's-manor, held of the manor of Fulham (fn. 74) . Of this estate, I find no other mention.

Manor of Sandford.

Henry Earl of Northumberland, in the year 1403, gave a small manor in the parishes of Fulham and Chelsea, (consisting of some rents of assize, a messuage, a toft, two cottages, sixty acres of arable, and four of meadow,) to the dean and chapter of St. Martin le Grand, in exchange for a house in Aldersgate-street (fn. 75) . King Henry VII. granted the collegiate church of St. Martin, with all its endowments, to the monastery of St. Peter, Westminster. When that city was made a bishopric, the church of St. Martin's, at first constituted a part of its revenues, but afterwards, in the year 1544, was settled upon the dean and chapter (fn. 76) . The manor above-mentioned, being thus vested in the dean and chapter of Westminster, was, by them, granted to the King, anno 1549, in exchange for other lands (fn. 77) . It was sold by Queen Mary, anno 1558, to William Maynard, citizen of London (fn. 78) , at thirty years purchase, being valued at sixty shillings per annum, and held of the crown in socage as of the manor of East-Greenwich. The manor is described, in the grant to Maynard, as in the parish of Fulham only, and containing forty-five acres. Sir William Maynard, (who settled at Curriglas near Tallow in Ireland (fn. 79) ,) died seised of this estate, (by the name of the manor of Sandford,) anno 1630 (fn. 80) , and it continued in the same family till the death of Robert Maynard, Esq. (anno 1756,) in whom the male branch became extinct. Leaving no issue, the inheritance of his estates was vested in his four aunts, or their representatives. In the year 1778, the Hon. William Moore, (uncle to the present Earl of Mountcashel,) who married Anne, daughter of Digby Foulke, Esq. and great grand-daughter of Angel Maynard, one of the four ladies above-mentioned, purchased the other shares of this estate (fn. 81) , and in the year 1788, sold the manor-house, and site of this manor, to Mr. William Howard of Walham-green. The house is now a pottery, in the tenure of Mr. James Rewell.

William Le Yungeman, by his deed, (without date,) confirmed a grant of Ralph de Ivinghoe to the chancellor of St. Paul's Cathedral, of a house, garden, and three acres of land in Fulham (fn. 82) . A survey of this house, and premises, was given in to the commissioners for the sale of dean and chapter lands, July 25, 1649 (fn. 78) . It was then valued at 2l. 0s. 8d. per annum, exclusive of the reserved rent, and was sold the same year to Thomas Matthew, for the sum of 1561. 6s. 11d. on behalf of Sir Nicholas Crispe, Knt. who was the lessee (fn. 79) .

Lord Lisle's place.

Richard Earl of Warwick.

Warren de Insula, or De Lisle, who died anno 1383, was seised of a house in the parish of Fulham, (held of John Saunford,) and left an only daughter, Margaret, married to Sir Thomas Berkley (fn. 80) . This house, by the name of Lord Lisle's Place, was afterwards the property of the victorious Earl of Warwick, Regent of France, who held it in right of his wife, Elizabeth Lady Lisle, daughter and coheir of Thomas Lord Berkley. (fn. 81) .

John Campden, and others, anno 1390, sold the reversion of lands and tenements in Fulham, (after the death of Margaret, relict of Sir William Walworth, Knt.) to William of Wickham, Bishop of Winchester, and others (fn. 82)

Thomas Earl of Kent.

Thomas de Holland, Earl of Kent, who died anno 1397, was seised of a house and fifty acres of land in Fulham, held under the Bishop of London (fn. 83) .

Stourton-house, now Mr. Sharp's.

In the year 1449, John Shirbourn, and others, sold a house and garden at Fulham, then valued at 3s. 4d. per annum, to John Lord Stourton (fn. 84) . It was, for several generations, the property and residence of his descendants (fn. 85) , and now of William Sharp, Esq. who has made considerable improvements upon the premises, and built a beautiful cottage near the water-side.

Brightwells; Rightwells; or, Villa-.

Carey; now Peterbo-rough-house.

Sir Thomas Smith.

Sir Edward Herbert

Lord Mor-daunt.

Charles Earl of Peterbo-rough.

Anastasia Robinson.

Tulip-tree.

Peterborough-house, at Parson's-green, described in ancient records as a capital messuage, called Rightwells, or Brightwells, was the pro- perty of John Tamworth, Esq. (fn. 86) privy counsellor to Queen Elizabeth, who died there in the year 1569, and was buried at Fulham (fn. 87) . It afterwards belonged to Sir Thomas Knolles, who, in the year 1603, sold it, together with twenty-four acres of land adjoining, within a pale, for the sum of 530l. to Thomas Smith, Esq. afterwards Sir Thomas (fn. 88) , clerk of the council and master of the requests to James I. After his death, it was for some time in the possession of his widow, and her second husband, Thomas Earl of Exeter. Margaret, daughter and sole heir of Sir Thomas Smith (fn. 89) , married Thomas Carey, second son of Robert Earl of Monmouth, who, it is probable, rebuilt the house at Parson's-green, which, from that time, was known by the name of Villa-Carey (fn. 90) . It is certain, that Francis Cleyne, who came over to England in the reign of Charles I. was employed to decorate the rooms (fn. 91) . Margaret Carey married, to her second husband, Sir Edward Herbert, (attorney-general to Charles I. and lord keeper to Charles II. during his exile,) by whom she had issue Arthur Herbert, created Earl of Torrington, Sir Edward Herbert, lord chief justice of the King's Bench, &c. (fn. 92) Sir Edward Herbert, the father, appears to have been resident at Parson's-green, anno 1643 (fn. 93) , and his name is to be found, (described as of that place,) among the loyalists whose estates were ordered to be sold, anno 1653 (fn. 94) . Mr. Carey's daughter and coheir, Elizabeth, married John Mordaunt, a younger son of John, the first Earl of Peterborough, who was created Viscount Mordaunt by Charles II. for his active services during the interregnum. His eldest son Charles, who succeeded his uncle in the Earldom of Peterborough, and distinguished himself as a general officer in Spain, resided much at Parson's-green, where he enjoyed the society of learned men, being visited by Locke (fn. 95) , Swift, and other distinguished characters. The Earl's second lady was the accomplished Anastasia Robinson (fn. 96) , to whom he had been, for some years privately married, before he could prevail upon himself to acknowledge her, an event which did not take place till a short time before his death (anno 1735). She resided in a house which the Earl took for herself and her mother, near Fulham, but never lived under the same roof with him, till she was prevailed on to attend him in a journey, which he took a few months before his death, on account of his declining health (fn. 97) . Hawkins, however, says, that she came to live at Peterborough-house in 1723, and established a musical academy there, at which Bononcini, Martini, and all the most eminent musicians of that time assisted; and he adds, that it was attended by all the fashionable world (fn. 98) . After the death of the late Earl of Peterborough, this house was sold to Richard Heaviside, Esq. It is at present unoccupied. A great part of the old building has been pulled down, and there are now scarce any traces of its former state. Bowack, who wrote an account of Fulham in 1706, describes the gardens as containing twenty acres of ground, and speaks of a tuliptree seventy-six feet in height, and five feet nine inches in girth (fn. 99) . The greater part of this ground is now let to a market-gardener.

Grove-house.

Grove-house, near the extremity of this parish, towards Chelsea, was, for a considerable time, the property of the Elwes family (fn. 100) . After the death of Sir John Elwes, anno 1702, it was sold to the Bridges family (fn. 101) , and was aliened, anno 1767, by Sir Brook Bridges, Bart. to Mr. Deliverance Smith (fn. 102) . The house has been long since pulled down, and there is now only a small tenement upon the site.

The ancient house at the corner of Parson's-green, now the property of Thomas Northmore, Esq. of Cleave, in the county of Devon, and in the occupation of Mr. Dawson, belonged formerly to Sir Edmund Saunders, Lord Chief Justice of the King's Bench, anno 1682 (fn. 103) .

Samuel Richardson.

In the present century it has been celebrated as the residence of Samuel Richardson, a very amiable man, as well as a popular writer. It was his custom to spend as much time as he could spare, from his avocations in London, at this villa, where he composed some of his works, particularly, as I have been informed from good authority, the novel of Clarissa Harlowe. Previously to his taking this house, Richardson had a country retirement at Northend. Thomas Edwards, author of the Canons of Criticism, being on a visit to him at Parson's-green, died there January 3, 1757 (fn. 100) . Richardson's widow died there in 1773 (fn. 101) . In Dodsley's collection (fn. 102) are some verses on an alcove at Parson's-green, by Mrs. Bennet, sister of Edward Bridgen, Esq. who married Richardson's daughter.

Sir Francis Child.

Admiral Wager.

The house on the east side of the Green, now the residence of Sir John Hales, Bart. was built by Sir Francis Child, lord mayor of London, was for many years the property of his family (fn. 103) , and for some time the residence of Admiral Sir Charles Wager. It was modernized by the late John Powell, Esq.

Sir Thomas Bodley.

Rowland White.

Lord Chan-cellor Bacon.

Lord Chief Justice Vaughan.

Sir Thomas Bodley, founder of the library at Oxford, which bears his name, lived at Parson's-green from 1605 to 1609 (fn. 104) . Rowland White, Lord Strafford's entertaining and communicative correspondent, was his contemporary there (fn. 105) . When the great Lord Chancellor Bacon fell into disgrace, and was restrained from coming within the verge of the court, he procured a licence (dated September 13, 1621,) to retire for six weeks to the house of his friend Lord Chief Justice Vaughan (fn. 106) , at Parson's-green. The king refused to renew the licence at the expiration of the term.

Munster-house.

Mustow, (commonly called Munster-house,) on the north side of the road to London, between Fulham and Purse's-cross (fn. 107) was, during the greater part of the last century, the property of the Powells (fn. 108) , from whom it came to Sir John Williams of Pengethly, Monmouthshire, Bart. (fn. 109) It is now the property of Arthur Annesley Powell, Esq. and is occupied as a school.

Goodriche's.

Sir Thomas Rawlinson, Knt. anno 1708, was admitted to a copyhold house in Fulham, (called Goodriche's alias Symond's,) on the surrender of William Thomas, clerk (fn. 110) . This house, having descended to Dr. Rawlinson, was left by him, anno 1754, to augment the salary of the principal of Hertford-college in Oxford (fn. 111) . Having been for some time unoccupied, it was pulled down in March 1794, and the site let on a building lease.

Browne's house at Northend, now Lady Heathcote's.

In the year 1718, Hicks Borough surrendered a messuage near Northend, called Browne's-house, which had been formerly Lord Griffin's, to Sir John Stanley, Bart. from whom it passed, anno 1735, to William Monk, Esq. (fn. 112) It was afterwards the property of Francis Earl Brooke, who aliened it to the late Marquis of Downshire, then Earl of Hilsborough. It was afterwards the property of the late Sir Gilbert, and now of the Dowager Lady Heathcote.

Claybrooke-house.

Claybrooke-house, in Fulham, took its name from the family of Claybrooke, who had considerable property in this parish in the reign of Queen Elizabeth (fn. 113) . Sir Edward Frewen inherited this house on the death of his father, anno 1702 (fn. 114) . It afterwards became the property of Robert Limpany, Esq. and is now a boarding-school for young ladies, in the occupation of Mrs. Mayers and Chant.

Holcrofts.

Sir Martin Wright.

A house, called Holcrofts, was sold by Robert Limpany to Sir William Withers, in the year 1708, being then newly built, and having a long avenue of elms in front (fn. 115) . It was afterwards the property and residence of Sir Martin Wright, one of the justices of the King's Bench, who died there anno 1767. It now belongs to his only surviving daughter, Mrs. Elizabeth Wright.

Villas near the river.

Adjoining to the river, on the east side of the bridge, are several villas, very pleasantly situated, belonging to Dr. Milman, Elborowe Woodcock, Esq. H. Legge, Esq. Dr. Cadogan, Mrs. Chauncy, and Philip Stephens, Esq. secretary to the Admiralty. The latter has very extensive pleasure-grounds.

John Norden.

John Florio.

Bishop Hick-man, &c. &c.

Samuel Foote.

Among the eminent inhabitants, not elsewhere mentioned, may be enumerated, John Norden, author of the Survey of Middlesex and Hertfordshire (fn. 113) ; John Florio, an Italian, (clerk of the closet to James I.) who translated Montaigne's Essays into English, and published an Italian Dictionary, and other works (fn. 114) ; George Cartwright, the actor (fn. 115) ; Charles Hickman, bishop of Londonderry (fn. 116) ; Jacob Tonson and Bernard Lintot, two eminent booksellers (fn. 117) , successively publishers of Pope's works; Catesby, the celebrated naturalist (fn. 118) ; and Samuel Foote, the comedian and dramatic writer, who resided some years at Northend.

Parish church.

Stone stall.

Ancient mo-numents.

Lady Legh.

The parish church, which is dedicated to All Saints, stands at a small distance from the water-side. It is an ancient stone building, and consists of a nave, chancel, and two aisles. At the west end is a handsome Gothic tower, built, if we may judge from the architecture, some time in or near the fourteenth century. In the chancel window are the arms of the see of London impaling Compton; in the south wall is a single stone stall, with a handsome Gothic canopy, ornamented with quatrefoils. Near it is an altar-tomb, with a figure in brafs, of a man in armour; the arms and inscription are gone. On the north wall, is a rich Gothic monument (fn. 119) , with an obtuse arch, ornamented with oak-leaves and other foliage, under which are the vestiges of brass figures and escutcheons. Against the same wall is the monument of Margaret, daughter of Sir Gilbert Gerard, master of the rolls, and wife of Sir Peter Legh, Knt. (fn. 120) , of Lime in the county of Chester, who died anno 1603: under an arch, supported by Corinthian columns, is her effigies, as large as the life, in a sitting posture, with an infant in her arms; she is habited in a ruff and veil; her hair is dressed in a great number of small curls. On the fouth wall is the monument of Anthony Nourse, Gent. (fn. 121) who died in 1704; and those of Sir William Butts, and Sir Thomas Smith (fn. 122) , with the following inscriptions:

Sir William Butts, and Sir Thomas Smith.

"Epitaphium D. Gulielmi Buttii equitis aurati et medici regis Henrici Octavi Qui obiit, A° Dni. 1545, 17° Novemb.

"Quid medicina valet, quid honos, quid gratia regum, Quid popularis amor, mors ubi sœva venit?

Sola valet pietas quæ structa est auspice Christo; Sola in morte valet, cætera cuncta fluunt.

"Ergo mihi in vitâ fuerit quando omnia Christus; Mors mihi nunc lucrum, vitaque Christus erit.

"Epitaphium hoc primitus inscriptum pariete, et situ jam pene exœsum sic demum restituit Leonardus Butts, Armiger Norfolciensis, Oct. 30, 1627, Amoris G."

"D. O. M.

"Thomæ Smith, Equiti Aurato Regiæ Mati a supplicum libellis, et ab epistolis Latinis; Viro doctrinâ prudentiâque singulari. Francisca, Guil. Baronis Chandos Filia, Opt. Marito Conjux mœstiff. plorans posuit. Obiit 28 die Nov. MDCIX."

Sir William Butts was one of the founders of the College of Physicians. He was esteemed a man of great learning, skill, and experience (fn. 123) , and was trusted by Henry VIII. in many important affairs (fn. 124) . Shakspeare introduces him discovering to the King the malice of Gardiner, and others of the council, against Cranmer. A portrait of Butts is introduced in Holbein's picture of Henry VIII. granting the charter to the Surgeons' Company.

Sir Thomas Smith.

Sir Thomas Smith was appointed secretary of the Latin tongue in the year 1603, with a salary of forty marks (fn. 125) . He was made also clerk of the council, and of the high court of parliament, and master of the requests, and was on the road to higher preferment. He was a native of Abingdon, and a member of the University of Oxford, to the library of which place, founded by his friend and neighbour, Sir Thomas Bodley, he left a considerable sum of money (fn. 126) .

Various tombs.

Within the rails of the communion-table, are the tombs of Capt. John Saris (fn. 127) (1643); and William Rumbold, Esq. (fn. 128) clerk comp roller of the great wardrobe, and surveyor-general of the customs (1667). On the floor of the chancel, is a mutilated figure in brass, of a priest; and the tombs of Barbara Loke (1647); Thomas Carlos, son of Colonel William Carlos (fn. 129) (1665); Robert Hickes, Esq. (1669); Hester Nourse, mother of the maids of honour to Queen Katherine (1705); Jeffrey Ekins, D. D. dean of Carlisle (1791); and Elizabeth, daughter of Simon Horner of Hull (1793).

Bishop Gibson.

On the north wall of the nave, near the chancel, is the monument of Bishop Gibson (fn. 130) ; and on the floor, the tombs of Robert Blanchard, goldsmith of London (1681); John Burnett, Gent. (1689); Ursula, wife of the Rev. Lewis Thomas, rector of Upton, Wilts, and daughter of Sir Thomas Woodcock (1716); John Elliot, Gent. (1722); and Alexander Mackrabie (1777).

Against the east wall of the north aisle, is placed a brass plate, in the form of a lozenge, which was found in digging for the foundation of a column, when the church was repaired, anno 1770. Underneath the portrait of the deceased, is the following inscription: Hic jacet Domicella Margareta Svanders (fn. 131) , nata Gandavii Flandrie quæ ex magistro Gerardo Hornebolt peperit domicellam Susannam uxorem Magistri Johannis Parker archarii regis (fn. 132) . Quæ obiit "Anno Dni. M° CCCCCXXIX°, 36 Novemb. Orate pro animâ."

On the north wall is a tablet, surrounded with a broad frame of wood richly carved, to the memory of an infant daughter of Robert Limpany (fn. 133) , who died in 1694. On the floor of this aisle, are the tombs of Katherine, wife of William Gee, Gent. (1683); and Mary, wife of William Miller, Esq. (1739).

John Viscount Mordaunt.

In the east window of the south aisle, are the royal arms, the arms and quarterings of Cecil (fn. 134) , and those of Sir William Billesby, Knt. (fn. 135) . It is probable, that he and the Earl of Exeter, who married Sir Thomas Smith's widow, contributed toward the repairs of that aisle, which seems to have been considerably raised with brick about the beginning of the last century. The principal monument, on the south wall, is that of John Viscount Mordaunt of Avalon (fn. 136) . On a large slab of black polished marble, supported by pedestals about four feet high, stands a fine marble statue of the deceased, in a Roman habit, and with a baton in his hand. On each side the statue is an oval tablet of white marble, containing a concise pedigree of the Mordaunt family, and a Latin inscription. This monument was the work of Bushnell, the celebrated English artist, assisted by Bird. The statue alone is said to have cost 250l. (fn. 137) On the same wall are the monuments of Katherine, wife of John Hart, Gent. and daughter of Edmund Powell of Fulham (fn. 138) (1605); Jane, wife of William Payne, Esq. of Pallenswick (fn. 139) (1610); Sir Thomas Kinsey, Knt. (fn. 140) and Alderman of London (1696); and Dorothy Lady Clarke (fn. 141) , (daughter of Thomas Hylliard, Esq. and wife, first, of Sir George Clarke, Knt. (secretary at war to Charles II.) and, secondly, to Samuel Barrow, M. D.) physician to Charles II. and judge advocate,) who died anno 1695. This monument was the work of the celebrated Grinling Gibbons, and is said to have cost 300l. On a slab, at the foot, (inclosed within iron rails,) is the following inscription, to the memory of Dr. Barrow, who wrote the Latin verses prefixed to Milton's Paradise Lost.

Dr. Barrow.

"P. M. S. Samuelis Barrow, M. D. ex vetustâ in agro Norfolk. prosapiâ, Carolo II. medici ordinarii, advocati generalis et judicis martialis per annos, plus minus, viginti; quæ munera jussu regio suscepit quod Albemarlium secutus optatum Caroli reditum suis maturavit consiliis. Uxorem duxit unicam, Relictam Gul. Clarke, Eq. aurat. cujus felicissimi paris (cum sexdecim annos rarum amoris conjugalis exemplum exhibuisset) quæ sola potuit, mors fregit consortium 12 Kal. Aprilis, A. D. 1682, infracto adhuc manente superstitis amore. Ob. æt. 57."

At the west end of the south aisle is the monument of William Earsby, Esq. of Northend, who died in 1664; and on the north wall, those of Edmund, son of John Gresham, Esq. of Mayfield (fn. 142) (1593); William Plumbe, Esq. (fn. 143) (1593), and his wife Elizabeth (fn. 144) , relict of John Gresham, and daughter and heir of Edward Dormer, Esq.; Thomas Bonde (fn. 145) (1600); and Thomas Winter, Esq. (fn. 146) (1681).

The two last have the following inscriptions:

Thomas Bonde.

"At Earth, in Cornwall, was my first beginninge, "From Bondes and Corringtons as it may apere; Now to Earthe in Fulham God disposed my endinge, In March the thousand and six hundred yere Of Christ; in whom my body sure doth reste, Till, both in body and soule, I shall be bleste.

"Thomas Bonde, obiit ætat. suæ 68."

Thomas Winter.

"H. S. J. Thomas Winter Armiger inclyti illius Winteri pronepos qui Hispanorum classem (quæ vinci non potuit) fudit. Bello dein paci obstetricante, hic pacis filius in Indos mercator navigat, ubi Messalapatamiæ præsecturam gessit et adornavit; vigesimo plus minus anno elapso Patri cognatisque (ob sidelitatem optimo Regum a piis sæderatoribus ad inopiam redactis) velis et rebus secundis plané alter Joseph Deo mittente rediit. Omnibus tandem boni viri functis officiis, postquam triginta quatuor annos mirâ patientiâ acri laboraverat morbo, in Domino moriens a laboribus requievit. Obiit. Jan. 15 {Salutis 1681, Æt. 66.} Mæstissima conjux hoc qualecunque [Mymosynon] amoris ergo posuit."—Anne his wife, daughter of P. Swinglehurst, married, afterwards, Charles Orby of the county of Lincoln, and died anno 1689. Thomas Winter was, as his epitaph informs us, great-grandson of the celebrated admiral of that name, and brother of Sir Edward Winter, whose epitaph is given in the first volume of this work (fn. 147) .

On the floor of the south aisle are the tombs of Elizabeth, wife of—Tipping (fn. 148) , and daughter of Edward Cosyn by his wife Frances, (daughter of William Trye, Esq. of Hardwick-court, who was descended from one of the coheirs of Charles Brandon, Duke of Suffolk (fn. 149) (1686); John Earsby, Esq. (1687); Isaac Cook, groom of the Chapel Royal (1697); Martha, wife of Edward Billingsley, Gent. (1698); Thomas Doughtie, Gent. (1706); William Stevenage, captain in the Coldstream regiment of foot guards (1709), and his wife Lucy, daughter of Henry Beaufoy, Esq. of Guy's-cliff near Warwick; Samuel Heather, apothecary (1714); Elizabeth, wife of the Hon. George Mordaunt, and daughter of Sir John D'oyley, Bart. (1718); Carey Eleanor Hamilton, spinster (1725); Elizabeth, widow of George London (1732); Matthew Frecker, Esq. (1738); Susanna, relict of the Hon. Colonel Duncombe (1748); Samuel Ashurst, Esq. (1753); Thomas Gilbert, Esq. (1759); Mrs. Harriot, and Mrs. Sarah Ashurst (1782); Daniel Leckie, Esq. (1783); and the Rev. Philip Laurents, M. A. (1787).

Bishop Henchman.

When Bowack wrote his account of Fulham, there was, in the south aisle, an inscription to the memory of Bishop Henchman, who died in 1675, and in the north aisle, the tomb of Abraham Downing, Esq. sergeant skinner to Charles II. who died anno 1676 (fn. 150) .

Ancient tombs, now destroyed.

Stow mentions the tomb of Sir William Billesby, Knt. who died in 1607 (fn. 151) ; and Weever, those of the following persons, viz. John Sherbourne, archdeacon of Essex (1431); John Thorley, Esq. (1445); John Fisher, treasurer to Cardinal Sancte Balbine, &c. (1463); William Harvey, rector of Fulham (1471); Lora, daughter of Sir John Blount, Lord Montjoy (1480); John Long, Gent. (1503); Sir Sampson Norton, Knt. master of the ordnance to King Henry VIII. (1517); George Chauncy, Esq. receiver-general to Bishop Fitzjames (1520); and Anne, daughter of John Lord Stourton (1533). A manuscript in the Harleian collection, mentions also the tomb of Thomas Claybrooke, Esq. who died in 1587.

Tablets on the outside of the church.

Upon the east wall of the vestry (on the outside,) is the monument of John Hewetson, who died anno 1672. On the north wall, those of Charles Lisle, Gent. (1665); and Philip Daniel Castiglione Maurelli, of an ancient family in Naples, a convert from the Roman Catholic religion, who left his country for conscience-sake. He was entertained in the families of Bishop Robinson and Bishop Gibson, and died anno 1738. On the east wall of the chancel is the monument of Thomas Cornwallis, Esq. (son of Sir Francis Cornwallis, by his wife Elizabeth, daughter and sole heir of Sir Henry Jones of Abermarles, in the county of Carmarthen, Bart. (1703); he married Emma, daughter of Sir Job Charlton, Bart. On the east wall of the south aisle, that of the widow of the Rev. Mr. Rothery (1782); and on the south wall, that of Mr. John Lambart (1746).

Monuments of the Bishops of London.

Various tombs in the church-yard.

In the church-yard are the monuments of Bishop Compton, Bishop Robinson (fn. 152) , Bishop Gibson, Bishop Sherlock, Bishop Hayter, Bishop Terrick, and Bishop Lowth. The epitaphs will be given elsewhere. There are the tombs also of the following persons, viz. Benjamin Wyche, apothecary (1686); Sir Francis Child, Knt. (fn. 153) and alderman of London (1713); Sir Francis Compton, (fifth son of Spencer Earl of Northampton,) (1716); Dame Sarah Compton (1747), and Mary, their daughter (1764); Capt. Charles Pratten (1718); George Curtis, Esq. gentleman of the wardrobe to Queen Anne and George I. (1719); Sir William Withers, Knt. and alderman of London (1720); his grandson, William Withers, Esq. (1768); William Skelton, Gent. (1720); Mr. Thomas Soulsby, (1721); John Powell, Gent. (1722); Robert Apreece, Esq. of Washingley in the county of Huntingdon (1723); his daughter Susanna, relict of Admiral Sir John Balchen (1752); Robert Powlett, Gent. of Clement's-inn (1723); Joanna, wife of Thomas Moore, Gent. of New-inn (1725); Bartholomew Shorthose, apothecary (1727); Mary Cotton, widow (1727); Philip Dwight, S. T. P. vicar (1729); William Wylde, Gent. (1731); Lewis Vaslet, a school-master (1731); George Lane, Esq. of the band of gentlemen pensioners (1732); Mrs. Anne Villars (1745); Margaret, wife of Capt. Thomas Mogg (1751); Charles Keightley, Esq. (1751); Gabriel Johntson, Gent. of New-inn (1752); James Croft, Esq. (1753); George Putland, Esq. (1756); William Brydges, Esq. (1762); Mr. Thomas Hinchliff (1762); Francis Gashry, Esq. treasurer and paymaster of the ordnance (1762); John Duer, Esq. (1764); Rev. John Eddowes (1765); Edward Pratten, Esq. (1769); Noah Tittner, merchant (1771); Robert Price, surgeon (1773); Capt. John Emmeness (1776); Abraham Dupuis, Esq. (1777); Frederick Nussen, Esq. one of his Majesty's musicians (1779); Nathathaniel Rench (fn. 154) (1783); Jacob Fletcher, Esq. (1783); William Scott, Esq. (1785); Mr. Henry Holland (1785); Mr. Thomas Claridge (1786); Mrs. Mary Kime (1788); Lady Henrietta, daughter of Alexander Duke of Gordon (aged eighty-one) (1789); Stephen Bourget, Esq. (1790); Mary, wife of Mr. John Rawling (1790); Beata, daughter of John Wyllyams, Esq. of Plaistow-house in Essex, and niece of Sir John Dineley, Bart. (1791); Mr. Francis Woodhouse (1791); and Mrs. Anne Walker (aged ninety-one,) (1792).

Rectory.

Lessees of the great tithes.

The rectory of Fulham, the advowson of which had been always connected with the manor, was appropriated by Bishop Giffard, anno 1420, to the priory of Sheen. For this appropriation, the consent of the dean and chapter of St. Paul's was obtained, and it was confirmed by the King's patent (fn. 155) ; but it does not appear, that the convent ever presented to the benefice, which has been invariably (except during the protectorate of Cromwell, and the suspension of Bishop Compton,) in the patronage of the Bishops of London. In the year 1327, the rectory was valued at thirty marks per annum, exclusive of a pension of 61. per annum payable to the chancellor of St. Paul's cathedral (fn. 156) . The rectorial tithes have been held on a lease for lives, from time immemorial, the lessee paying a reserved rent of 40l. per annum to the rector, whose benefice is a finecure. The glebe and tithes, which were valued, anno 1610, at 340l. per annum (fn. 157) , had belonged (under a lease granted by Henry King, rector of Fulham, and bearing date 1641,) to the family of Nourse, of Woodeaton in Oxfordshire, who sold them to Edmund Harvey, Esq. who had purchased the manor during the interregnum. On his attainder, they became vested in the crown, and were granted by Charles II. anno 1664, to Anthony Eyre, Esq. in consideration of his services to the King his father (fn. 158) . They afterwards belonged to Sir John Elwes, proprietor of Grove-house, and were purchased with that, and other premises in Fulham, by Sir Brook Bridges, Bart, about the year 1700 (fn. 159) . The present lessee is Samuel Knight, Esq. of Milton in the county of Cambridge.

The sum of 4l. 15s. per annum, deducted out of the 40l. abovementioned, is now paid by the rector of Fulham to the chancellor of St. Paul's, in lieu (as I suppose) of the tithes of the demesne lands at Fulham, granted to that officer by Richard de Belmeis and Richard Fitzneal, Bishops of London (fn. 160) .

Parsonagehouse on Parson's, or Parsonagegreen.

The parsonage-house stands upon the west side of Parson's, or Parsonage-green, to which it gave name. It is now divided into two tenements. In the year 1598 it was in the tenure of Sir Francis Walsingham's widow (fn. 161) . Bowack, who wrote in 1705, says, "the house in which the rectors of Fulham used to reside, is now very old, and much decayed. There is, adjoining to it, an old stonebuilding, which seems to be of about three hundred or four hundered years standing, and designed for religious use; in all probability, a chapel for the rectors and their domestics. Before the said house is a large common, which, within the memory of several ancient inhabitants now living, was used for a bowling-green (fn. 162) ." The building, of which Bowack speaks, was pulled down about the year 1740.

Rectors. William Shirebourne.

William Shirebourne, who was rector of Fulham anno 1366, is said to have been excellently well versed, not only in philosophy, but also in theology; and, in both kinds, to have written with great commendation (fn. 163) .

Bishop Hill.

Richard Hill, who was collated to the rectory of Fulham in 1488, became afterwards Bishop of London (fn. 164) .

King, Bishop of Chichster.

Bishop Howell.

Henry King, son of the Bishop of London, was promoted from this rectory to the see of Chichester, anno 1642 (fn. 165) . His successor, Thomas Howell, brother of the celebrated James Howell, was made Bishop of Bristol in the year 1644 (fn. 166) .

Michael Lort.

The late Dr. Michael Lort, who was collated to the rectory of Fulham in the month of April 1789, was a man very generally esteemed and beloved among the circle of his acquaintance. Though he published little (fn. 167) himself, yet, by his friendly assistance and judicious corrections, he contributed much to the service of literature. His library, which contained a great number of books rarely to be met with elsewhere, was always open to his friends. After his death, which happened in the month of November 1790, it was sold by auction, and, though remarkably destitute of exterior ornaments, produced the sum of 1269l. The sale, which was conducted by Messrs. Leigh and Sotheby, lasted twenty-five days (fn. 168) . Dr. Lort was succeeded in the rectory of Fulham by the Rev. Graham Jepson, B.D.

Vicarage.

The vicarage of this place is in the gift of the rector; the vicarial tithes, with the vicarage-house, &c. were valued at 52l. per ann. (fn. 169) In the King's books, the vicarage is rated at 10l.

Vicars.

Thomas Walkington.

Richard Clewet.

Adoniram Byfield.

Thomas Walkington, presented to the vicarage of Fulham anno 1615 (fn. 170) , was author of "Rabboni," "Mary Magdalen's Tears of "Sorrow, and Solace," and another single sermon (fn. 171) He was succeeded by Richard Clewet, who was ejected by the Puritans (fn. 172) ; his place being supplied by Adoniram Byfield, whose name has been handed down in Hudibrastic rhime:

"Their dispensations had been stifled

"But for our Adoniram Byfield (fn. 173) ."

He was scribe to the Assembly of Divines, and one of the Committee of Reformation for the Universities (fn. 174) . In the report of the commissioners anno 1650, he is called an able, honest, and constant preacher of the gospel (fn. 175) . Byfield was succeeded, both in the vicarage and rectory of Fulham, (to the latter of which he had been presented by Edmund Harvey, who had purchased the manor (fn. 176) ,) by Isaac Knight, minister of Hammersmith (fn. 177) .

William Nicholas Blomberg.

William Nicholas Blomberg, who was presented to the vicarage of Fulham in 1733, and became rector in 1734, was son of Baron Blomberg, a nobleman of Courland. He published a life of Dr. Edmund Dickenson, an eminent physician, who was his grandfather by the mother's side (fn. 178) .

Denison Cumberland. Bishop of Kilmore.

Denison Cumberland, presented to this vicarage in 1757, vacated it upon being promoted to the bishopric of Clonsert in Ireland, from which he was afterwards translated to Kilmore. He was son of the celebrated Dr. Richard Cumberland, bishop of Peterborough, and father of Richard Cumberland, Esq. the dramatic writer. The Bishop of Kilmore married a daughter of Dr. Bentley, who was the Ph´be of Dr. Byrom's well-known ballad of "My time, O! ye Muses," &c. &c.

The present vicar of Fulham is the Rev. Graham Jepson, who succeeded Dr. Hamilton anno 1776, and is now rector also.

St.Peter's brotherhood.

At the dissolution of monasteries and chantries, there was a brotherhood in the church of Fulham, dedicated to St. Peter, of which Edward Lathar, and three others, were wardens. In the inventory of goods belonging to the church, in the reign of Edward VI. (fn. 179) mention is made of "two rotchetts, and 20 pecys of owld paynted "clothes that did kever the images."

Parish register.

Comparative State of population.

The earliest register of this parish, now extant, begins in the year 1675. During the first five years, the baptisms, burials, &c. at Fulham and Hammersmith, were entered promiscuously; the average number of baptisms, during that period, was 137; that of burials, 123: Since that time, the entries relating to each division of the parish have been kept separately.

Fulham Side.

The averages on the Fulham side have been as follows:

Average of baptisms. Average of burials.
1680–1689 67 1/10 88 1/5
1730–1739 86 7/10 140 4/5
1780–1784 99 3/5 105 2/5
1784–1789 115 1/5 120 3/5
1790 131 122
1791 122 139
1792 122 112
1793 136 120

The present number of houses is seven hundred and two.

Extracts from the Register.

Fulham Side.

John Viscount Mordaunt.

"The Right Honorable John Ld Viscount Mordaunt departed this mortall life the 5th day of June, and was interred in a new vault in the south isle, the 14 day the same month of June 1675." Lord Mordaunt was the second son of John Earl of Peterborough. He distinguished himself, during the protectorate of Cromwell, by his active endeavours to promote the restoration of Charles II. by which he exposed himself to the most imminent danger. On the first of May 1658, he was committed to the Tower (fn. 180) ; and on the first of June was brought before the high court of justice (fn. 181) , but had the singular good fortune to be acquitted, being, as it is said, almost the only person who escaped from that siery tribunal (fn. 182) . He was up in arms again for the King the next year, and was declared a traitor by the Rump Parliament. On the 29th of July, Lady Mary Howard, daughter of the Earl of Berkshire, was committed to the Tower, for being concerned with Mr. Mordaunt in treasonable practices (fn. 183) . He himself remained at liberty, and affairs taking a different turn, had the satisfaction soon afterwards of going to the King with the welcome tender of General Monk's services, at which time he was created Viscount Mordaunt of Avalon. He died of a fever in the 48th year of his age, as appears by the following inscription upon his monument in Fulham church:

" H. S. I.

"Nobilissimus Heros Johannes Mordaunt Johannis Comitis Petroburgensis Filius Natu Minor, ex Mordauntiorum stemmate quod ante sex, centos annos Normanniâ traductum serie perpetuâ, deinceps hîc in Angliâ floruit; qui acceptum a parentibus decus rebus gestis auxit et illustravit; opera egregiâ positâ in restituendo principe ab avitis regnis pulso, mille aditis periculis et Cromwelli rabie sæpius provocatâ sæpe etiam devictâ, a Carolo Secundo feliciter reduce in laborum mercedem & benevolentiæ tesseram Vicecomes de Aviland est renuntiatus, Castri etiam Windesoriæ at militiæ Surriensis præfecturæ admotus. Ex nuptiis cum lectissimâ heroinâ Elizabethâ Carey comitum Monumethæ stirpe oriundâ auspicatissime initis succeptâ prole numerosâ, filiis septem, siliabus quatuor, medio ætatis flore, annorum 48, febre correptus, Vir immortalitate dignus animam Deo reddidit V die Junii, annoque Domini MDCLXXV."

Mordaunt family.

George, the posthumous son of John Viscount Mordaunt, was baptized at Fulham Dec. 6, 1675. He entered into holy orders; and died anno 1728. Elizabeth Viscountess Mordaunt was buried May 1, 1679. Henry, son of Charles Viscount Mordaunt, (afterwards Earl of Peterborough,) and Sarah his lady, was baptized April 28, 1683. He died unmarried, anno 1710. Thomas, an infant son of the said Earl, was buried in 1684; and George, Sept. 19, 1685. Alexander, infant son of Alexander Duke of Gordon by Lady Henrietta Mordaunt, was buried at Fulham Jan. 7, 1710–1. The Lady Carey Mordaunt, an unmarried daughter of John Viscount Mordaunt, was buried Jan. 8, 1714–5; Elizabeth, wife of the Hon. George Mordaunt, and daughter of Sir John D'Oyley, Bart. Mar. 24, 1718–9. Thomas Mordaunt, Esq. son of Harry Mordaunt, Esq. treasurer of the ordnance, and grandson of John Viscount Mordaunt, was buried Oct. 12, 1721; Henry Mordaunt, Esq. brother of Thomas, May 6, 1724. Sir Wilfred Lawson, Bart. groom of the bedchamber to George I. was married in Fulham church to Elizabeth Lucy, daughter of Harry Mordaunt, Esq. March 14, 1723–4. Elizabeth Lucy, being then relict of Sir Wilfred, was buried there Nov. 29, 1765. Their two sons, Wilfred and Mordaunt, who successively inherited the title, died in their minority, and were buried May 4, 1739, and August 13, 1743. Carey Eleanor Hamilton, daughter of James Hamilton, Esq. of Bangor in Ireland, by Sophia, daughter of John Lord Mordaunt, was buried March 31, 1725; the Hon. Mrs. Sophia Hamilton, May 10, 1748. Mary Countess of Peterborough, daughter of Thomas Cox, citizen of London, was buried Nov. 24, 1755; Charles Mordaunt, Esq. May 3, 1762; the Hon. Colonel John Mordaunt, brother of Charles, the late Earl of Peterborough, July 5, 1767; the Right Hon. Charles Earl of Peterborough and Monmouth, August 7, 1779; Margaret Mordaunt was buried Dec. 29, 1788.

Bishop Henchman.

"Humphrey Henchman, Lord Bishop of London, departed this life at his house in Aldersgate-street, London, on the seventh day of October, and lies buried in the south isle of Fulham church, under a black marble stone, 13 ejusdem 1675." Bishop Henchman, when prebendary of Salisbury, was very instrumental in effecting the escape of Charles II. after the battle of Worcester, when that monarch was travelling disguised in Wiltshire (fn. 184) . At the restoration he was made Bishop of Salisbury, and translated to London in 1663. He was buried in the south aisle of Fulham church, where the following inscription (now concealed by pews) was formerly to be seen, on his tomb: "P. M. S. Sub certâ spe resurgendi repositæ his jacent reliquiæ Humphredi Henchman, Londinensis episcopi, et gravitate et pastorali clementiâ (quæ vel in vultu elucebant) et vitæ etiam sanctitate venerabilis, spectatâ in ecclesiam afflictam constantiâ, singulari in Regem periclitantem side, quo seliciter restituto cum Sarisburiensi Diæcesi duos annos, Londinensi duodecim præfuisset, Regietiam ab Eleemosynis et fanctioribus consiliis, plenus annis et cupiens dissolvi obdormivit in Domino, Octob. 7, anno Dom. 1675, ætat. 83. Redemptor meus vivit."

"The Lady Elizabeth Herbert, buried Feb. 27, 1677–8."

Families of Williams.

"Fludd, son of Sir John Guillims, Knt. buried June 2, 1678.

"Mary, daughter of Sir John Williams, Knt. baptized May 17, 1679." Sir John Williams, Bart. of Pengethly in the county of Monmouth, died at Fulham in 1723.

Martin, and

"Thomas, son of Sir Roger Martin, Knt. buried Nov. 19, 1680." Mary, daughter of Sir Thomas Martin, was buried in 1690.

Chamber layne.

"William Henry, son of Sir James Chamberlayne, buried March 28, 1689." Sir James Chamberlayne was son of Sir Thomas, who was created a baronet in 1642.

"The Lady Frazier, buried Dec. 22, 1695." Mother, perhaps, of Sarah Countess of Peterborough, whose father was Sir Alexander Frazier.

Lady Seymour.

"The Lady Catherine Seymour, Baroness, buried March 5, 1700-1." Daughter of Sir Robert Lee of Billesley in the county of Warwick, and second wife of Sir Francis Seymour, created Baron Seymour anno 1640. He was grandfather of Francis Duke of Somerset.

"Martha, wife of Anthony Collins, Gent. buried April 19, 1703." Wife of Collins the deistical writer, and daughter of Sir Francis Child, Knt. of Parson's-green.

"Sir John Elwes, Knt. buried March 6, 1701–2."

"The Lady Anne Forbes, wife of Sir Robert Forbes, Knt. buried Feb. 19, 1710–1."

"The Lord Thomas Leuin and Margaret Hamilton, married July 6, 1713."

Bishop Compton.

"Henry Compton Lord Bishop of London, departed this life at Fulham-house the 7th day of July, and was interred in a vault in the church-yard, at the chancel-end—1713." Bishop Compton was the youngest son of Spencer Earl of Northampton, who was slain at Hopton-heath, sighting for King Charles. He was made Bishop of Oxford in 1674, and translated to the see of London the next year. His zeal for the Protestant religion exposed him to the resentment of King James, by whom he was suspended from his episcopal functions. During his suspension he led a retired life at Fulham, and amused himself with the culture of his garden (fn. 185) . The Bishop had, soon afterwards, the satisfaction of placing the crown on the Prince of Orange's head (fn. 186) , having some years before performed the marriage ceremony between him and his illustrious confort, whose sister (afterwards Queen Anne,) he united also to Prince George of Denmark (fn. 187) . The Bishop's death was hastened by a fall at his house at Fulham (fn. 188) . Over his grave is placed a tomb, on which are the arms of the see of London impaling Compton, and the following short inscription:

"H. London.

"EI MH EN T[O] [STAURO].

"MDCCXIII."

Sir Francis Compton.

"Sir Francis Compton, Knt. buried Oct. 9, 1716." A brother of the Bishop, and fifth son of Spencer Earl of Northampton. Sir Francis died at the age of eighty-seven, being the oldest officer in the service. He fought in the civil war, and was engaged in the action against the Duke of Monmouth (fn. 188) . His daughter Mary Compton, was buried at Fulham in 1764.

Sir Francis Child.

"Sir Francis Child, buried Oct. 9, 1713." Alderman, and some time lord mayor of London. He represented that city in the first parliament of Queen Anne, and was ancestor of the late Robert Child, Esq. of Osterley. Elizabeth Lady Child was buried Feb. 27, 1719–20; Sir Robert Child, Oct. 11, 1721; Sir Francis Child, (alderman of London, and lord mayor, anno 1732,) April 28, 1740.

"Catherine, the daughter of the Lord Richard Fitzwilliams, buried Sept. 24, 1715."

"Mr. Charles Tryon and the Honble Mary Shirley were married in the bishop's chapel, by licence, July 3, 1722." Mary Shirley was daughter of Robert, the first Earl of Ferrers.

"Bowater Vernon, Esq. and Jane Cornwallis, married in the bishop's chapel, Dec. 11, 1722."

Bishop Robinson.

Colonel Beverly Robinson.

"Dr. John Robinson Lord Bishop of London, buried April 19, 1723." Bishop Robinson distinguished himself both as a statesman and a divine. He was ambassador to the court of Sweden from the year 1683 to 1708. In the year 1710, he was made bishop of Bristol; the next year lord privy seal. In 1712, he was the first plenipotentiary at the treaty of Utrecht; and, soon after his return, was translated to the see of London. The Bishop wrote "An Account of Sweden, as it was in the year 1688; together with an Extract of the History of that Kingdom:" this work is always printed with Lord Molesworth's Account of Denmark. In some manuscript characters of living statesmen, written in the year 1715, Bishop Robinson's person and character are thus described: "He is a little brown man, of a grave and venerable countenance, very charitable, and good-humoured; strictly religious himself, and takes what care he can to make others so; is very careful in whatever he undertakes. Divinity and policy have pretty equally divided his time; and as few, if any, have made a better progress in either of them, so he cannot but be always an ornament as well as an advantage to his country (fn. 189) ." The Bishop was twice married; his first wife was daughter of William Langton, Esq. His second wife Emma, whose family name I do not know, survived him, and was buried at Fulham Jan. 26, 1747–8. The Bishop left no issue, but many collateral descendants. His nephew, Beverley (fn. 190) Robinson, a man of distinguished probity and honour, settled in the province of New York, where he raised, at his own expence, the regiment of Loyal Americans, of which he was colonel. His large estates in that province were confiscated in consequence of the unhappy war between this country and its colonies. Colonel Robinson died at Bath in the month of March 1792, and left a numerous family. Another nephew of the Bishop was living in Virginia anno 1791, at a very advanced age. Bishop Robinson lies buried in the church-yard at Fulham, where, on a tomb of freestone, inclosed within iron rails, is the following inscription: "Hic situs est Johannes Robinson, S. T. P. Natus apud Cleasby in Agro Eboracensi, A. D. 1650, 7° Novris ubi scholam extruxit et dotavit; Collegii Orielensis Oxon. Socius, cujus ædificia ampliavit et scholarium numerum auxit; Legati Regii vices obiit Stockholmiæ ab anno 1683, usque 1708; anno 1692 causam Protestantium strenué asseruit, labantem Regis Suecici animam confirmavit, et ne consiliis Gallicis de nono Electoratu emergeret, effecit: anno 1700 Regem Suecicum in itinere periculoso comitatus, conjunctionem classium potestatum fæderatorum feliciter expedivit; navigationem Maris Borealis liberam suis et Europæis conservavit: 1711 Privati Sigilli custodiam ei commisit Anna piæ memoriæ nuper Regina a quâ Legatus et Plenipotentiarius Regius constitutus, Ultrajecti pacem inter Europæos omnes diu optatam ipsam quâ hodie fruimur et de quâ etiamnum gloriamur, stabilivit."

"The Lady Mohun, buried May 21, 1725." Widow, it is probable, of Lord Mohun, who was killed in a duel with the Duke of Hamilton.

"Col. John Mohun, buried April 5, 1731."

Dr. Fiddes.

"The Rev. Richard Fiddes, D. D. buried July 11, 1725." Author of the Life of Cardinal Wolsey; the Body of Divinity; several practical discourses, &c. He was born in the county of York about the year 1670, and lies buried in Fulham church-yard near the tomb of his patron Bishop Compton (fn. 191) . There is no memorial to him.

Robert Limpany.

"Mr. Robert Limpany, buried April 15, 1735." A gentleman of very considerable property in Fulham. He died at the age of 94. All the parishioners were by his will invited to his funeral (fn. 192) .

Bishop Gibson.

"The Right Rev. Father in God Edmund Lord Bishop of London, buried September 17, 1748." This eminent and worthy prelate was born at Bampton in Westmorland, anno 1669, and had his education at Queen's College, Oxford. He began to distinguish himself in the literary world at an early age, and had published several learned treatises and commentaries before he entered into deacon's orders, about which time he brought out his edition of Camden's Britannia. In 1713 appeared his great work, entitled the Codex; or a Body of Statutes and Constitutions of the Church of England, with a commentary, historical and juridical, a work of no less utility to the divine than his former publications had been to the antiquary and historian. In the latter part of his life he principally dedicated his time to the composition of charges and directions to his clergy, pastoral letters and small tracts against the prevailing vices of the age, by which he rendered great service to the cause of morality and religion in general, and contributed much to the welfare of that church of which he was so bright an ornament. The bishop's talents and virtues found early encouragement; he was first patronised by Archbishop Tenison, whose notice laid the foundation of his future honours. He was promoted to the see of Lincoln in 1715, and translated to London in 1723. Bishop Gibson died at Bath (fn. 193) , whence his remains were removed to Fulham, and interred in the church-yard at that place. Over his vault is a handsome tomb, on which is inscribed, "Edmundus Gibson, Londinensis Episcopus, obiit 6° Sept. anno dom. 1748 ætat. 79." The following inscription, descriptive of his character and virtues, is to be seen upon a handsome marble monument on the north wall of the church: "To the memory of that excellent prelate Dr. Edmund Gibson, dean of his Majesty's chapels royal, and one of the lords of his Majesty's most honourable privy council; in him this church and nation lost an able and real friend; and christianity a wise, strenuous, and sincere advocate. His lordship's peculiar care and concern for the constitution, and discipline of the church of England were eminently distinguished, not only by his invaluable collection of her laws, but by his prudent and steady opposition to every attack made upon them. His affection for the state, and loyalty to his prince, were founded on the best principles, and therefore were, upon all occasions, fixed and uniform; and his zeal to establish the truth, and spread the influence of the christian religion, displayed in that most instructive defence of it, his pastoral letters, will ever remain as the strongest testimony of the conviction of his own mind, and of his affectionate attention to the most important interests of mankind. Thus lived and died this good bishop, a great and candid churchman, a dutiful and loyal subject, an orthodox and exemplary christian. Obiit Sept. 6, 1748, ætat. 79."

The Rev. Dr. Edmund Gibson (son of the bishop) was buried at Fulham, April 21, 1771; George Gibson, Esq. his grandson, in 1782; several others of his family are also there interred.

"Charles Francis, son of the Rt Honble Francis Earl of Brooke, and Elizabeth his lady, born 12 May; baptized June 8, 1749." The Hon. Charles F. Greville, F.R.A.S. brother of the present Earl of Warwick.

Bishop Sherlock.

"The Right Rev. Father in God Dr. Thomas Sherlock, Lord Bishop of London, buried July 25, 1761." Bishop Sherlock was son of Dr. William Sherlock, the celebrated author of several devotional and theological works. The bishop was born in London anno 1678, and became a member of Catherine-hall, in Cambridge. He succeeded his father as master of the temple, where he distinguished himself as a preacher, both by the intrinsic merit of his discourses, and the eloquence with which they were delivered. He was promoted to the see of Bangor in 1727, translated to Salisbury in 1738, and to London in 1748. The Bishop published a set of discourses on the use and intent of prophecy, and four volumes on miscellaneous subjects. He was author also of some controversial tracts, particularly some pamphlets on the subject of the Test Act. Bishop Sherlock was buried in a vault in the church-yard at Fulham, where is a monument to his memory, with the following inscription, drawn up by Dr. Nicholls, his successor at the Temple: "In this vault is deposited the body of the Right Reverend Father in God Dr. Thomas Sherlock, late bishop of this diocese, formerly master of the Temple, dean of Chichester, and bishop of Bangor and of "Salisbury, whose beneficent and worthy conduct in the several high stations which he filled, entitled him to the gratitude of multitudes, and to the veneration of all. His superior genius, his extensive and well applied learning, his admirable faculty and unequalled power of reasoning, as exerted in the explanation of scripture, in exhortations to that piety and virtue of which he was himself a great example, and in defence, especially, of revealed religion, need no encomium here; they do honour to the age wherein he lived, and will be known to posterity without the help of this perishable monument of stone. He died the 18th day of July, in the year of our Lord 1761, and the 84th of his age, the powers of his mind continuing unimpaired through a tedious course of bodily infirmities, which he sustained to the last with a most chearful and edifying resignation to the will of God." A very short time before his death, Bishop Sherlock addressed a congratulatory letter to his present Majesty, upon his accession to the throne.

Bishop Hayter.

"The Rt Revd Father in God Dr. Thomas Hayter, Lord Bishop of London, buried Jan. 16, 1762." Bishop Hayter published several single sermons. He lies buried in the church-yard, where is the following inscription, written by his relation Dr. Sandford, rector of Hatherop in Glocestershire: "In this vault lie the remains of Thomas Hayter, D. D. Lord Bishop of London, whose amiable character and conspicuous abilities raised him to the see of Norwich, in the year 1749. After having filled that see with dignity and reputation twelve years, he was, in October 1761, translated to London, where the expectations of him were general and great; but such was the will of God, they were soon disappointed, for he died universally lamented, January 9, 1762, aged 59."

"Ponsonby, son of Capt. Elphinstone, buried March 27, 1763."

Bishop Terrick.

"The Right Rev. Father in God Richard Terrick, Lord Bishop of London, buried April 8, 1777." Bishop Terrick published several sermons, preached upon public occasions. He was buried in the church-yard, where the following inscription was placed upon his tomb: "Here lie the remains of Richard Terrick, late Bishop of London, dean of the Chapels Royal, and one of the King's most honourable privy council. He was consecrated Bishop of Peterborough in July 1757, and translated to the see of London in June 1764. Having discharged the sacred duties of his function, as became a virtuous and able prelate, during a period of twenty years, his great experience and found judgment, his candour, moderation, and benevolence would have raised him to a rank still more exalted; but, though happy in such a testimony of his fovereign's approbation, he suffered no inducement to tempt him, at so late an hour, to change his sphere of public action, well satisfied with the consciousness of having so spent his day, as to have secured to himself, and to his memory, that highest and most lasting of all earthly rewards, the esteem of good men. He died March 31st, 1777, aged 66."

Bishop Lowth.

"The Right Rev. Father in God Robert Lowth Lord Bishop of London, buried Nov. 12, 1787." This excellent prelate was son of William Lowth, an eminent divine. He was born in the year 1710, and received his education at Winchester, whence he removed to New-college, of which he was elected a fellow in 1734 (fn. 194) . Even at school he gave frequent instances of that classical taste and brilliancy of talents which contributed to make him one of the most distinguished ornaments of our church and nation. In the year 1742, he was elected professor of poetry at Oxford; and at the expiration of that office (fn. 195) , gave the most ample proof of his eminent qualifications for the appointment, by publishing his Lectures upon Sacred Poesy, a work of uncommon learning and elegance, and held in the highest estimation both at home and abroad. Through the patronage of the Duke of Devonshire, he obtained a prebendal stall in the cathedral of Durham, anno 1755. He was promoted to the bishopric of St. David's anno 1766; translated to Oxford the same year; and to London in 1777. The next year he brought out his celebrated Translation of Isaiah. In the earlier part of his life, the Bishop wrote several elegant poems, both in Latin and English, which are printed in various collections. He published a Life of William of Wickham, several occasional sermons, an Introduction to English Grammar, a work of general use and estimation; and some well-known controversial tracts. After a long and severe illness, occasioned by a complication of disorders, the Bishop died in consequence of a paralytic stroke, at his palace at Fulham. He was privately interred in the church-yard, where a marble tomb has been erected to his memory. On the north side is the following short inscription : "Robert Lowth, D. D. Lord Bishop of London, died "Nov. the 3d, 1787, in the 77th year of his age." An inscription on the other side commemorates the Bishop's son, the Rev. Thomas Henry Lowth, fellow of New-college, who died in 1778; Frances, his daughter, who died in 1783; and some younger children. The well-known and beautiful epitaph, written by Bishop Lowth upon his daughter Maria, may not improperly be introduced here, although she was buried at Cuddesdon:

"Cara vale, ingenio præastans, pietate, pudore Et plusquam natæ a nomine, cara, vale; Cara Maria, vale: at veniet felicius æavum, Quando iterum tecum, simmodo dignus, ero. Cara redi, læatâ tum dicam voce, paternos Eja age in amplexus, cara Maria, redi."

"The Rev. Jeffrey Ekins, D. D. Dean of Carlisle, buried Nov. 25, 1791." Dr. Ekins was educated at King's-college Cambridge, and was tutor to the present Earl of Carlisle. He published a translation of the Loves of Medea and Jason from Apollonius Rhodius, which is thought to have great merit. Dr. Ekins died at Parson's-green, in the house which formerly belonged to Sir Francis Child.

"The Rt Reverend Christopher Wilson Lord Bishop of Bristol, buried April 26, 1792." For an account of this worthy and venerable prelate, see Vol. I. p. 543. He was interred in the vault of Bishop Gibson, whose daughter he married.

Sir Arthut Aston.

Sir Arthur Aston, a distinguished military character in the reign of Charles I. was son of Sir Arthur Aston of Fulham. He sought in the King's army at the battle of Edghill, in which, as well as upon other occasions, he displayed singular valour. After the King's death, he was employed in the service of Charles II. in Ireland, and being governor of Drogheda when that place was taken by Cromwell, he was put to death with circumstances of great barbarity (fn. 196) .

Sir Thomas Morgan.

Sir Thomas Morgan, governor of Pembroke-castle (fn. 197) , died at Fulham anno 1595, and was " worshipfully buried in the parish church "there (fn. 198) ."

Dr. Zouch.

Dr. Richard Zouch, regius professor of civil law, principal of Alban-hall in Oxford, and judge of the admiralty during the reign of Charles I. and the interregnum, was buried in Fulham church anno 1660, near the grave of his daughter, who was wife of William Powell alias Hinson, Esq. Dr. Zouch was author of a poem called the Dove, and several treatises on the civil law, in which he was esteemed the greatest proficient of that time (fn. 199) .

Queen Elizabeth's visists to Mr. Lacy at Putney. Extracts from the church-wardens' accounts.

s d.
"1578. Paid for the discharge of the parish for weringe of hats contrary to the statute (fn. 200) 5 2
— Paid for the Queen's Majestie's being at Put ney for vyttels for the ringers 2 8."

It appears, by several subsequent entries, that the Queen's visits to Putney were to Mr. Lacy, of whom I have not been able to find any farther account, than that he was a citizen of London, and of the cloth-workers' company. Her Majesty, no doubt, derived either convenience or amusement from his acquaintance, for she seems to have honoured him with her company more frequently than any other of her subjects, and sometimes staid at Putney for two or three nights (fn. 201) . Mr. Lacy lived near the water-side; his house, which was rebuilt in 1598, is still standing, being the property and residence of Mrs. Mary and Henrietta D'aranda. The cloth-workers' arms are on the cieling of one of the rooms. A survey of Putney, anno 1617, mentions the circumstance of King James having been in this house. It appears, by an entry in the church-wardens' books at Fulham, that both he and his Queen went from Putney to Whitehall, July 22, 1603, previously to their coronation.

Parish armour.

"Anno 1583. Note of the armore for the parish of Fulham, viz. Fulham side only. First, a corslec with a pyke, sworde, and daiger, furnished in all points, a gyrdle only excepted. Item, two "hargobushes, with flaskes and towchboxes to the same; two morryons; two swords, and two daigers, and two hanglesses unto the two swords, which are all for Fulham-syde only; all which armore are, and do remayne in the possession and appointment of John Pulton of Northend, being constable of Fulham-syde the yere above wrytten. N. B. All sett owte into Flanders anno 1585, by Rowland Fysher, except one hargobusse with flaske and towchboxe; one murryon with sword and dagger remaynyng in his handes."

s. d.
"Paid to my Lord's Pareter for bryngyng to we inquisicions, whereon was to inquire for those that absent themselves from the churche; and the other to inquire of those that be over the see for religion 0 8
1584. Spent at our dinner 0 16
1588. To the ringers at the Queen's return from Barnelms, (Sir Francis Walsingham's,) 0 6
1592. When the Queen went from Chelsey 0 14
1597. When the Queen went to Lord Burleigh's house at Wimbledon 0 14
— When the Queen went from Richmond to the Lord Admiral's, and so back again 2 8
July 28, 1602. At the remove of the Queen from Greenwich to Chiswick 0 12
1635. For mending the curate's room 5 6
1636. To the King's footmen for not ringing (fn. 202) 10 0."

Church meadow.

Two acres of meadow were given to the parish of Fulham, by a benefactor now unknown, previously to the Reformation. In the reign of Edward VI. they were valued at 13s. 4d. per annum. It has been long the practice to let them, by auction, to the best advantage. In 1576, they produced 2l. 16s. 8d. ; in 1590, 3l. 12s. 4d.; in 1635, 5l. 13s. 4d.; in 1637, 7l.; and in 1650, 5l. only. They were let at the same sum in 1793; and, some years, do not produce so much.

Benefactions.

Charity-school

Captain Edward Owen having left the sum of 1000l. to charitable uses, Philip Dwight, vicar of Fulham, who married the daughter of his grandson John Owen, procured a decree of the court of Chancery, whereby 300l. being a part of the above sum, was appropriated to the educating poor children of the parish of Fulham; this money was lent out upon government security anno 1710. Mr. Henry Hooke, anno 1787, left 18l. per ann. to the charity-schools; and Mr. Deliverance Smith, in 1772, the sum of 51l. 13s. 3d. which, with a small addition, purchased 100l. South-sea annuities. The present stock is 250l. Old South-sea annuities, which, with a subscription from the inhabitants, the collections at two annual sermons, and the benefactions above-mentioned, is sufficient to clothe and educate eighteen boys, and the same number of girls.

Apprenticing children.

Dorothy Lady Clarke, who died in 1695, left the sum of 5l. per annum to repair her monument; and when not wanted, to be employed in apprenticing a child. Dr. Turner, by his will, proved anno 1714, left the sum of 5l. per annum to apprentice a child.

Alms-houses.

Sir William Powell, by his will dated 1680, founded an alms-house for twelve poor widows; and gave certain tenements, now producing a rent of 51l. per ann. for their support. Sir John Williams, Bart. who died in 1723, gave a piece of land called Fan-mead, now let at 14l. per annum, towards the maintenance of the poor in these houses. They were rebuilt in the year 1793.

Coals.

Bishop Aylmer, who died in 1594, gave the sum of 20l. to the poor of Fulham. His son, having detained this money in his hands for twenty years, was obliged, by a decree of Lord Chancellor Egerton, to pay 40l. which was appropriated to the purpose of buying coals for the poor.

Bread.

Mr. Simon Willimot of Parson's-green, in the year 1639, gave the the sum of 20l. to the poor of Fulham, which he directed to be lent out to young men, on good security, at 6 per cent.(somewhat lower than the current interest of money at that time); the interest was to be thus distributed: twenty shillings in bread for the poor; and four shillings to the vicar and church-wardens for their trouble. Mr. Robert Blanchard, who died in 1681, gave 1l. per annum, to be distributed in bread on the Sunday after the 10th of June.

Clothes.

William Earsby, Esq. in 1664, charged five acres of land in the parish of Fulham, with the purchase of thirty yards of Hampshire kersey, of four shillings per yard, to be made into "petticoats and waistcoats, with good bindings and clasps, for 6 poor widows."

Money.

Thomas Bond, Esq. in 1600, gave to the poor, twenty shillings per ann. issuing out of two acres and a rood of land in Austin's-field. On default of payment, the whole land was to be forfeited. Mr. Jasper Yeardlye, anno 1639, gave the sum of 40l. to be lent gratis to eight poor house-keepers of Fulham and Hammersmith. William Payne, Esq. anno 1626, gave the Twig Ayte at Brentford, to this parish, out of the profits of which 3l. per annum was allotted to Hammersmith, and the remainder, now 15l. per annum, to Fulham. Dr. Edwards, Chancellor to the Bishop of London, anno 1618, gave the sum of 100l. to the poor of Fulham; and Bishop King, anno 1620, the sum of 20l.; with this money lands were purchased, which, in 1622, were let at 6l. per annum, and now produce 79l. 6s. John Powell, Esq. about the year 1620, gave to the poor of Fulham, twenty shillings per annum, issuing out of a house in King-street Westminster. Mr. William Edwards, in 1624, gave ten shillings per annum, issuing out of lands in Hammersmith. Nathaniel Dauncer, Esq. anno 1656, gave 1l. 10s. per annum, to be distributed to the poor on New-year's-day. Thomas Winter, Esq. anno 1679, left 10l. per annum, to be distributed on St. Thomas's-day. Henry Elwes, Esq. in 1678, left the sum of 200l. to be laid out in the purchase of land, or otherwise, for the benefit of poor housekeepers. William Withers, Esq. anno 1724, left 5l. per annum to repair his monument; when not wanted for that purpose, to be given to the poor. Mr. Robert Limpany, anno 1735, left 5l. 10s. per annum to the poor; 1l. to the organist; ten shillings to repair his monument; and ten shillings to the church-wardens and overseers. Mr. Henry Hooke, anno 1787, left 18l. per annum to the poor. George Gibson, Esq. (grandson of the Bishop of London,) anno 1782, bequeathed the sum of 1600l. Bank annuities to the poor of Fulham. There was a suit in Chancery relating to this legacy, at the termination of which the principal had accumulated to 1723l. 6s. 3d. the interest of which, amounting to 51l. 13s. 10d. was first distributed on New-year's-day 1794, in sums of one guinea each among fortynine poor house-keepers.

The late John Powell, Esq. gave the sum of 100l. to this parish, as a compensation for a trespass on the waste; this is equally divided between Fulham and Hammersmith.

During the interregnum, the parish of Fulham enjoyed a temporary benefit from the good understanding which subsisted between Colonel Harvey, who had purchased the Bishop's palace, &c. and the persons then in power. The Navy Committee, anno 1652, voted the sum of 100l. out of the new impost on coals in the port of London, to be distributed among the poor of Fulham, at the discretion of Colonel Harvey and Isaac Knight the vicar. The sum of 40l. was voted in the same manner the ensuing year (fn. 203) .

Manufacturers.

Stone ware, &c.

In the year 1684, Mr. John Dwight, an Oxfordshire gentleman (fn. 204) , who had been secretary to Brian Walton, Henry Ferne and George Hall, successively Bishops of Chester, invented, and established at Fulham a manufacture of "earthen-wares, known by the name of white gorges, marbled porcelain vessels, statues and figures, and "fine stone gorges and vessels, never before made in England or elsewhere; also transparent porcelain, and opacous, red and darkcoloured porcelain, or China and Persian wares, and the Cologne, or stone wares." For these manufactures, a patent was obtained in the year above-mentioned, and they are still carried on at Fulham by Mr. White, a descendant, in the female line, of the first proprietor. Mr. White's father, who married one of the Dwight family, (a niece of Dr. Dwight, vicar of Fulham,) obtained a premium anno 1761, from the Society for the encouragement of Arts, &c. for making crucibles of British materials (fn. 205) .

Carpets, and tapestry.

About the year 1753, Peter Parisot established a manufacture of carpets and tapestry at Fulham, where both the work of the Gobelines, and the art of dying scarlet and black, as then practised at Chaillot and Sedan, were carried on. Parisot had engaged some workmen from Chaillot, whom at first he employed at Paddington, but afterwards removed to Fulham, where the Gobeline manufacture had been already established, and where he had conveniences for a great number of artists of both sexes, and for such young persons as might be sent to learn the arts of drawing, weaving, dying, and other branches of the work (fn. 206) . Parisot's manufacture was particularly patronized by the Duke of Cumberland (fn. 207) , and countenanced by other branches of the royal family; but his goods were too expensive for general use, and the manufacture soon declined. An account of it was published in 1753.

The bridge.

To the account already given (Vol. I. p. 425,) of the bridge which connects the village of Fulham, with that of Putney on the opposite side of the Thames, may be added, that it was constructed by Mr. Philips, carpenter to George II. (fn. 208)

Hammersmith.

The Hammersmith division, or side, as it is termed, of Fulham parish, contains the hamlet so called, (which is situated on the great western road, and extends thence to the river-side,) Brook-green, Pallenswick, or Stanbrook-green, and Shepherd's Bush. It is rather more populous than the Fulham side. During the interregnum in the last century, it was proposed to make the hamlet of Hammersmith parochial; and to add to it, Sir Nicholas Crispe's house, and a part of Northend, extending from the common highway to London, unto the end of Gibbs's-green (fn. 209) . This hamlet has a separate churchwarden and overseer.

In the Hammersmith division are about 1540 acres of land, exclusive of waste; of these about 740 are arable, about 550 under grass, and about 250 occupied by market gardeners. Kennedy and Lee, who are noted for their successful culture of rare exotics, and for introducing many new and beautiful plants, have a nurseryground in this hamlet, on the London road.

Land-tax.

The quota paid to the land-tax is 8931. 19s. 9d. which, in the year 1793, was at the rate of 1s. 3d. in the pound.

Parliamentary army at Hammersmith.

On the 25th of November 1642, the Earl of Essex's army lay at Hammersmith (fn. 210) . Fairfax's army was quartered there August 5, 1647 (fn. 211) ; when they were stationed afterwards, for some months, at Putney and Fulham, debating the propositions between the King and Parliament; the agitators resided at this place (fn. 212) .

Intended assassination of Cromwell.

Hammersmith was the spot which Sindercourt had fixed on for the assassination of Cromwell. He hired a house by the side of the road where it was very narrow and rough, so that carriages were obliged to go slowly, a circumstance favourable to his intention of shooting the Protector in his coach as he passed from Hampton-court to Whitehall (fn. 213) .

Sir Nicholas Crispe's mansion.

Margaret Hughes.

Lannoys.

Lord Melcombe.

Brandenburgh house.

Sir Nicholas Crispe, who is said to have been the first inventor of the art of making bricks as now practised (fn. 213) , about the beginning of Charles the First's reign, built a most magnificent mansion of those materials by the water-side at Hammersmith (fn. 214) , the expence of which is said to have amounted to near 23,000l. (fn. 215) This house was plundered during the early part of the civil war (fn. 216) ; when the army was stationed at Hammersmith in the beginning of August 1647, Fairfax took up his quarters there (fn. 217) . Sir Nicholas Crispe was then in France. A newspaper of Sept.10, (the army being then at Putney,) mentions an odd circumstance of a cook being in custody for using Lady Crispe's name to invite the general to dine with her (fn. 218) . Sir Nicholas lived to enjoy his villa once more in peace; his nephew sold it anno 1683, to Prince Rupert, who gave it to his beautiful mistress, Margaret Hughes, a much admired actress in the reign of Charles II. (fn. 219) It continued to be her property near ten years, after which she sold it, with other premises, to Timothy Lannoy and George Treadway (fn. 220) . In the year 1709, Anne, relict of George Treadway, in consideration of the sum of 6900l. quitted claim to all the premises purchased jointly as above-mentioned (fn. 221) . Sir Timothy Lannoy died anno 1718, and his son James in 1723. Jane Lannoy, widow of James, and daughter of Thomas Frederick, Esq. married to her second husband James Murray Duke of Athol. In the year 1748, Leonora, only daughter of James Lannoy, Esq. sold the house at Hammersmith, then in the tenure of the Duke and Duchess of Athol, to George Dodington, Esq. afterwards Lord Melcombe (fn. 222) , who repaired and modernized the house (fn. 223) , giving it the name of La Trappe, and built a magnificent gallery for statues and antiques ; the floor was inlaid with various marbles, and the door-case supported by two columns, richly ornamented with lapis lazuli. After Lord Melcombe's death, this place descended, under his will, to Thomas Wyndham, Esq. It has since been the property of Mrs. Sturt; and was purchased in the year 1792 by his Serene Highness Christian Frederick Charles Alexander, Margrave of Brandenburgh-Anspach, and Bayreuth, who now resides there, with the Margravine (sister of the Earl of Berkley, and relict of William Lord Craven). Her Highness's well-known taste has been shewn in the improvements and decorations of the house, which are both elegant and magnificent. The state drawing-room, which is 38 feet by 23, and 30 feet in height, is sitted up with white sattin, and has a broad border of Prussian blue in a gilt frame. At the upper end is a chair of state, over which is placed a picture of the illustrious Frederick of Prussia, the Margrave's uncle; the whole covered with a canopy, which is decorated with a very elegant and rich cornice. The cieling of this room was painted for Lord Melcombe, by whom also the very costly chimney-piece, representing (in white marble) the marriage of the Thames and Isis, was put up. The ante-chamber contains several good pictures, and some very beautiful specimens of needle-work, being copies of paintings by the old masters, wrought in worsteds by the Margravine herself, in which the spirit and character of the originals are admirably preserved. Under the cornice of this room hangs a deep border of point lace, with which the curtains also are decorated. The gallery, which is 30 feet high, 20 in width, and 82 in length, remains in the same state as left by Lord Melcombe, except that the marble pavement is removed, and the door-case where the columns of lapis lazuli stood, in the room of the latter, is now a chimney-piece. The cieling of the gallery is of mosaic work, ornamented with roses. Two new stair-cases of stone have been built, and a chapel has been made on the site of the old stair-case, the walls of which were painted with subjects from scripture. In the hall, on the ground-floor, are the following verses, written by Lord Melcombe; they are placed under a bust of Comus:

"While rosy wreaths the goblet deck, Thus Comus spoke, or seem'd to speak:—This place for social hours design'd, May care and business never find. Come every muse without restraint; Let genius prompt, and fancy paint; Let wit and mirth, with friendly strise, Chase the dull gloom that saddens life: True wit, that firm to virtue's cause, Respects religion and the laws ; True mirth, that cheerfulness supplies To modest ears and decent eyes ; Let these indulge their liveliest sallies, Both scorn the canker'd help of malice; True to their country and their friend, Both scorn to slatter, or offend."

Adjoining to the hall is a library, which opens into the conservatory ; and on the opposite side, a writing-closet, where are some good cabinet pictures, particularly a fine head, by Fragonard.

Near the water-side is a small theatre, where her Highness the Margravine occasionally entertains her friends with dramatic exhibitions, and sometimes gratifies them by exerting her talents, both as a writer and performer, for their amusement. It is intended to connect the theatre with the dwelling-house, by a conservatory of one hundred and fifty feet in length, which is already begun. It is of a curvilinear form, and will occupy the site of a colonnade.

Butterwick-house.

Fine cedar.


Brandenburgh House

Figure 11: Brandenburgh House

Near the chapel stands an ancient mansion, which was formerly, as I presume, the residence of Edmund Sheffield, Earl of Mulgrave and Baron of Butterwick, (who died at Hammersmith anno 1646,) for, I find, that in the year 1666, William Chalkhill conveyed this house and premises, by the name of the manor-house and farm of Butterwick, to Robert Moyle, Esq. (fn. 224) Walter, son and heir of Robert Moyle, in the year 1677, conveyed it to trustees for the use of Anne Cleeve, who, in 1700, aliened it to Henry Ferne, Esq. (fn. 225) receiver-general of the customs. Mr. Ferne modernized the house, and added some apartments towards the north, which have been much admired for their architecture (fn. 226) . They were intended, as it is said, for the residence of Mrs. Oldfield, the celebrated actress, to whom Mr. Ferne was at that time much attached ; but the connection was broke off before the building was completed. This house was afterwards the property of Edmund Turnor, Esq. of Stoke Rochford in the county of Lincoln, (who married one of Mr. Ferne's daughters and coheirs,) and was sold by him anno 1736 to Elijah Impey, Esq. whose son Michael (brother of Sir Elijah Impey, late lord chief justice of the supreme court of judicature in Bengal) is the present proprietor. In the garden belonging to this house is a fine cedar of Libanus, the girth of which, at three feet from the ground, is ten feet seven inches.

Sir Charles Frederick's.

The late Sir Charles Frederick, K. B. a man of distinguished taste in the polite arts, who died at Hammersmith Dec. 18, 1785 (fn. 227) , was nephew of Jane Duchess of Athol before-mentioned. The house which he occupied was a part of the Crispe estate. After his death it was purchased by Sir Archibald Macdonald, the present lord chief baron of the Exchequer, who resided there a few years, and has lately sold it to the Margrave of Brandenburgh. It is now occupied by Mr. Le Texier, (well known for his excellent readings of French plays,) who has a principal department in his Serene Highness's household.

The principal inhabitants of Hammersmith, anno 1614, were Lord Dudley, Lord Eure, Sir Edward Stanley, and Sir William Smyth (fn. 225) .

Mikepher Alphery.

The history of the Rev. Mikepher Alphery, who died at his son's house in Hammersmith soon after the Restoration, is very singular. He was born in Russia, and descended from the Imperial line. A powerful saction in that country rendering his stay there unsafe, he (with two brothers, who died of the small-pox at Oxford) was sent over to England. It is said, that he was more than once invited back to Russia to take upon him the government of that country, but preferring a retired life to the cares of state, he entered into holy orders, and had the living of Woolley in Huntingdonshire, of which he was dispossessed by the puritans, who turned him out of doors, and exposed both him and his family to much immediate distress. He afterwards removed to the house of his eldest son at Hammersmith (fn. 226) .

Sir Leoline Jenkins.

Sir Leoline Jenkins, secretary of state to Charles I. when he retired from public business, went to reside at Hammersmith, where he died the next year. His body was removed to Oxford, and having lain in state in the Divinity-school, a funeral oration was pronounced over it by the public orator, previously to its interment in Jesus-college chapel (fn. 227) .

Queen Katherine.

Sir John Munden.

Dr.Radcliffe.

Queen Katherine, the dowager of Charles II. resided for some years, during the summer season, at a house by the water-side, which is now an academy, in the occupation of Mr. Jones (fn. 228) . Admiral Sir John Munden was admitted to a house in Hammersmith anno 1705 (fn. 229) . Dr. Radcliffe, the celebrated physician, anno 1710 (fn. 230) , purchased a house by the water-side, where he resided several years. It was his intention to found an hospital upon these premises, and the building was actually in great forwardness, but was left unfinished at his death. Dr. Radcliffe's house was lately in the tenure of Sir Clifton Wintringham, Bart. physician to his Majesty, and physician-general to the army, who died there Jan. 10, 1794.

Catalpatrees.

In the garden belonging to a house near the water-side, (formerly Dr. Michael Hutchinson's, now Mrs. Cotton's,) are two remarkably fine catalpa trees, being each of them 5 feet in girth.

Hammersmith chapel.

The chapel at Hammersmith was built in the reign of Charles I. principally by a subscription of the inhabitants of that hamlet and its neighbourhood, who had long wished for a more convenient place of public worship than Fulham church, which was so far distant. The building was begun in 1629 (fn. 231) , and the chapel consecrated by Archbishop Laud in 1631, being dedicated to St. Paul. It is said to have cost about 2000l. (fn. 232) . Sir Nicholas Crispe gave the bricks (fn. 233) . Previously to the consecration, a written agreement was drawn up, and signed by the vicar of Fulham and the principal inhabitants of Hammersmith, by which the rights of the mother-church were most strictly preserved. The tithes, oblations, fees, and all other emoluments which had hitherto belonged to the vicar of Fulham, were secured to him and his successors, and an account of all baptisms and burials at Hammersmith was to be regularly transmitted, weekly, for insertion in the parish register. The inhabitants of Hammersmith were to find a curate, and to keep the chapel in repair at their own cost, from which burdens the vicar and inhabitants of Fulham were to be exempt. All the inhabitants of Hammersmith were to repair to their parish church every year, on Easter-day, to receive the holy communion. On this day the chapel is shut up. The particulars of the above agreement, of which the principal heads are here given, may be seen more at large in Newcourt's Repertorium (fn. 234) .

The chapel is a brick building, consisting of a nave, chancel, and two aisles. At the west end is a square tower, with a turret.

In the north window of the chancel are the royal arms, and those of the Earls of Mulgrave (fn. 235) and Bedford (fn. 236) ; and in the south window, those of the fee of London impaling Laud; the city of London; and Crispe (fn. 237) impaling Hayes (fn. 238) .

Monument of Edmund, Earl of Mulgrave.

On the south wall is the monument of Edmund Earl of Mulgrave (fn. 239) , with the following inscription: "To the lasting memory of Edmond Lord Sheffield, Earl of Mulgrave, Baron of Butterwick, and Knight of the most noble order of the garter; which honour of the garter was conferred on him by Queene Elizabeth, for his valiant service in 88 against the Spaniard, he being then Captaine of the ship called the Beare, and comaunder of a squadron of ships; after that, he served her Majy. in the Irish warres, where God so blessed him, that he gayned much honour. By King James, he was made President of the North, where he governed many yeares with such integritie, that injustice was never laid to his charge. He was a good patron to his country, endevoringe to advance the church and common weale. He was truly "pious, open-handed to feed the poore, and cloath the naked. As he lived the life, so he died the death of the righteous, in Octoher 1646, in the 83d year of his age, and lieth here-under interred. The virtuous, pious, and truly noble Lady, Mariana Countesse of Mulgrave, his dearly beloved wife, surviving him, in expression of her conjugal love, erected this monument."

D. S. P. F. E.

"The Lady Sheffield repaired this monument anno Domini 1682."

The principal circumstances of this noble Earl's life are recorded in his epitaph. His domestic losses were severe; four of his sons were drowned ; and the fifth, Sir John Sheffield, (father of the Duke of Buckingham,) was killed by a fall from his horse in his own riding-house.

Bronze bust of Charles I.

Against the north wall of the chancel (fn. 240) stands a fine bronze bust of Charles I. placed in the chapel to his memory by Sir Nicholas Crispe, with the following inscription : "This effigies was erected by the special appointment of Sir Nicholas Crispe, Knight and Baronet, as a grateful commemoration of that glorious Martyr King Charles I. of blessed memory."

Monument of Sir Nicholas Crispe.

Underneath is a pedestal of black marble, on which stands an urn inclosing the heart of Sir Nicholas Crispe. On the pedestal is this inscription. " Within this urne is entomb'd the heart of Sir Nicholas Crispe, Knight and Baronet, a loyal sharer in the sufferings of his late and present majesty. He first settled the trade of gold from Guigny, and there built the castell of Cormantine. Died the 26th of February 1665, aged 67."

Anecdotes of Sir Nicholas Crispe.


Sir Nicholas Crispe

Figure 12: Sir Nicholas Crispe

This loyal subject was one of the farmers of the customs, and a rich merchant; trading principally to the Coast of Guinea. He entered into business with a larger fortune than most people retire with, and pursued it with unusual success. With the utmost alacrity he advanced very large sums to supply the necessities of Charles I. for whose person and character he appears to have had the highest veneration. Lloyd gives us a very high idea of his activity and enterprize, as well as of the signal services which he rendered the king: One while, says he, you would meet him with thousands of gold; another while, in his way to Oxford, riding in a pair of panniers, like a butterwoman going to market, at other times he was a porter carrying on his majesty's interest in London; he was a fisherman in one place, and a merchant in another. All the succours which the king had from beyond sea, came through his hands, and most of the relief he had at home was managed by "his conveyance (fn. 241) ." As a farther proof of zeal in his Majesty's cause, he raised, at his own expence, a regiment of horse, and putting himself at the head, behaved with distinguished gallantry. When the King's affairs grew desperate, he retired to France. The losses which his fortune sustained from the resentment of the parliament may be supposed, when it is mentioned, that three-fourths of a pension of 80001. per annum, granted to the Elector Palatine, were ordered to be paid out of his and Lord Colepeper's estates. Sir Nicholas Crispe returned afterwards to England, and submitting to a composition, embarked again in trade with his usual spirit, and his usual success (fn. 242) . He lived to see his master's son restored to the possession of his kingdoms; and, after all his losses, left a very large fortune to his relations. The King created him a baronet the year before his death.

Various monuments.

On the south wall of the chancel, are the monuments of Sir Timothy Lannoy, Knt. (fn. 243) (1718); Michael Hutchinson, S. T. P. (fn. 244) thirty-two years curate (1740); and Elizabeth, wife of Dr. Anthony Askew, and daughter of Robert Holford, Esq. (1773). On the north wall are the monuments of Francis Wolley, Esq. (fn. 245) of the Middle Temple (1659) ; John Smith, Esq. alderman of London (fn. 246) (1667); his wife Sarah, only daughter of Robert Cotton, merchant (1680); Mary, wife of John Green, merchant (1657) (fn. 247) ; Sir Edward Nevill, justice of the court of Common Pleas (fn. 248) (1705); and Frances his lady (1714). On the floor are the tombs of Martin Dallison (1658) ; Sir Ralph Box, Knt. (1693); the Marquis de Heucort, a French refugee (1703); and Peter Brushell, Esq. (1769). In the nave are the tombs of William Brochett, Esq. (1766) ; and Mr. Timothy Walker (1788).

In the windows of the north aisle, are the arms of Cave (fn. 249) and Prescot (fn. 250) . At the west end of this aisle is a monument to the memory of James Impey, A. M. of Christ-church college Oxford (1750); Elijah Impey, Esq. (1756); Michael Impey, Esq. (fn. 251) (1765); and others of that family. On the floor are the tombs of William Gouge, Gent. (1738) ; Thomas Bowden, apothecary (1761); and William Roffey, Esq. (1785).

In the windows of the south aisle are the arms of Zouch (fn. 252) , and Crispe ; the latter impales Prescot. On the south wall is the monument of Worlidge, the painter, who died anno 1766 ; and on the floor, the tomb of Rebecca, wife of Thomas Best, Esq. (1792).

Hammersmith-chapel suffered considerable damage from the storm which happened in October 1780.

Tombs in the church-yard.

In the adjoining cemetery are the tombs of William, son of Ralph Crathorne, Esq. (date worn); Daniel Malthus (1717); Sydenham Malthus (1757); John Elrington, Gent. (1724) ; Edward, son of Roger Trevor, Esq. of Bodynvot in the county of Monmouth (1746); Mrs. Mary Poole, widow (1749); Mrs. Anne Wallinger (1755); John Thornhill, Esq. son of Sir James Thornhill, Knt. (1757); John Thornhill,jun. Esq. (1779); Tho.Coleman, Gent. (1757); Samuel Bever, Esq. (1762); Sarah, wife of Thomas Cowper, Esq. (1763) ; John Hammet, Esq. Bencher of Lincoln's-inn (1765); Mrs. Mary Wheatland (1767); Mrs. Catherine Green (1768) ; John Nicholas, Esq. (1770); Isaac Dupuy, Esq. late of St. Christopher's (1771) ; Elizabeth, wife of Zephaniah Holwell, Esq. (1771) ; Mr. John Edwards, school-master (1772); Elizabeth Gennevieve, widow of James Duparc, surgeon (1773); Mr. James Travers (1774) ; John Davis, Esq. of Llangattock Vibon-Avil in the county of Monmouth (1775); John Harris, Esq. (1778) ; Anna Maria Elizabeth Rose Du Parce La Francesina (1778) ; Henry Record, Gent. (1778); William Lewis, merchant (1780) ; Mr. Thomas Rowley (1781); Francis Degen, Esq. (1783); the Rev. Joseph Bolton (1783); Mr. David De Charms (1783); Thomas Cowper, Esq. clerk of the rules in the King's Bench (1784); and Elizabeth, daughter of Lewis Weltje (1790).

Curacy.

The curacy of Hammersmith is in the patronage of the Bishop of London (fn. 253) . The trustees of the chapel, who receive the rents of the pews, are obliged to allow the curate a salary of 30l. per annum. He receives a fee (in addition to that paid to the vicar of Fulham) for all occasional duty done at the chapel, and is entitled to the prosits of a gallery, built by Dr. Hutchinson, a former curate. Isaac Knight, who was curate of Hammersmith during the Interregnum, was allowed the small tithes within that hamlet, valued then at 120l. per annum ; as a compensation for which, the sum of 100l. per annum was granted to Adoniram Byfield, then vicar of Fulham, out of the impropriated benefice of Ashwell in Hertfordshire (fn. 254) . The present curate of Hammersmith is the Rev. Thomas Stephen Atwood, M. A. appointed in 1788.

Comparative state of population at Hammersmith.

The comparative state of population, during the last century, within the Hammersmith district, has been as follows :

Average of baptisms. Average of burials.
1680–1689 72 2/5 87 4/5
1730–1739 89 4/5 102 2/5
1780–1784 86 3/5 112 3/5
1784–1789 112 3/5 124
1790 126 117
1791 125 126
1792 140 129
1793 122 171

The principal increase appears to have been since the year 1784. The present number of houses is about seven hundred and ninety.

Extracts from the Parish Register at Fulbam.

Hammersmith Side.

"Nicholas, son of Sir Nicholas Crispe, Baronet, and Judith his lady, baptized Oct. 8, 1676."

Family of Sheffield.

"Edward Sheffield, Esq. buried Mar. 13, 1675–6. Edmund, son of Robert Sheffield, Esq. buried Feb. 11, 1678–9. The Lady Jane Sheffield, buried Sept. 22, 1683." Daughter of Sir William Cockayne, and wife of James Sheffield, brother of Edmund Earl of Mulgrave. "William Sheffield, buried Mar. 7, 1686–7. Jane, daughter of Robert and Mary Sheffield, buried Feb. 20, 1695–6." Mary, their daughter, was buried Sept. 13, 1704.

Christian, son of Sir Robert Legard, and Mirabella his wife, baptized May 28, 1685."

Sir Samuel Morland.

"Sir Samuel Morland, Knt. and Bart. buried Jan. 6, 1695–6." Some mention of Sir Samuel Morland has been made already in the account of Faukeshall, or Vauxhall-house (fn. 256) , of which he had a grant for twenty-one years, anno 1677 (fn. 257) . About the year 1684, he purchased a house at Hammersmith, near the water-side (fn. 258) . He was created a baronet anno 1661, for his signal services to Charles II. during his exile ; and in the year 1679, a pension of 4001. was settled on him and his lady for their lives (fn. 259) . It has been already mentioned, that he was a great mechanic. He invented the drum capstands for weighing heavy anchors, the speaking trumpet, and an engine for raising water. He obtained a patent for the latter invention anno 1675 (fn. 260) ; and in the year 1681, was made master of mechanics to the King (fn. 261) . There is no memorial for Sir Samuel Morland at Hammersmith. In Westminster-abbey is a monument to the memory of his first and second wife. He was thrice married.

"Sir George Warburton and Diana Alington, married June 18, 1700." Sir George Warburton was the third baronet of that family ; his wife was daughter of the Right Hon. William Lord Allington.

"Flora, the daughter of Edward Hyde, Lord Viscount Cornbury, buried Feb. 6, 1700–1." Edward Hyde was afterwards the third Earl of Clarendon.

Sir Edward Nevill.

"Sir Edward Nevill, buried August 11, 1705." Sir Edward Nevill, who was one of the justices of the court of Common Pleas, came to reside at Hammersmith in 1703, having purchased the house which was Sir Samuel Morland's.

William Lloyd Bishop of Norwich.

"Anne, the wife of the Rt Reverend William Lloyd, buried June 19, 1708. The Rt Revd Doctor William Floyd, buried Jan. 5, 1709–10." William Lloyd, was made Bishop of Landass anno 1675, translated to Peterborough in 1679, and to Norwich anno 1685. He was deprived of his bishopric at the Revolution, for refusing to take the oaths of allegiance. Dr. Lloyd was esteemed a man of great piety and learning, and a most excellent preacher (fn. 262) . He resided at Hammersmith for some years before his death, where he experienced the friendship and benevolence of his neighbour Dr. Radcliffe, who, at one time, made him a present of 500l. (fn. 263)

William Sheridan Bishop of Kilmore.

"Dr. William Sheridan, buried Oct. 3, 1711." Dr. Sheridan was brother of Patrick Sheridan, Bishop of Cloyne. He himself was made Bishop of Killaloe anno 1669, having been chaplain to Sir Maurice Eustace Lord Chancellor of Ireland, and to James Duke of Ormond. In 1681 he was promoted to the fee of Kilmore ; but was deprived, anno 1690, for not taking the oaths (fn. 264) . The Bishop published three volumes of discourses, and several single sermons (fn. 265) .

Sir Philip Medows.

Longevity of the Medows family.

"Sir Philip Meadows, buried Sept. 18, 1718." Grandfather to the late Sir Sidney Medows. Sir Philip was employed by Oliver Cromwell, anno 1657, as envoy to Denmark, where he negotiated a reconciliation between that court and Sweden, for his success in which the King made him Knight of the order of the Elephant. (fn. 265) . He was made an English Knight by Charles II. anno 1662. In the reigns of William and Mary, and Queen Anne, he was one of the commissioners of trade and plantations, and knight marshal; which last office was enjoyed by his son and grandson. Sir Philip died at the age of ninety-four; his son was eighty-seven ; his grandson ninety-three. Sir Philip published a narrative of the principal actions in the wars between Sweden and Denmark (fn. 266) , and wrote a small tract on the right of transferring allegiance, which is amongst Smith's MSS. in the Bodleian Library.

"Dame Elizabeth, wife of Sir Edward Chisenhall, buried April 25, 1720.

"Lady Annabella Howard, buried Sept. 7, 1728."

"Lady Frances Hull, buried Dec. 26, 1736."

"Lady Lucy Wharton, buried Feb. 11, 1738–9."Daughter of**

Lady Lucy Wharton, buried Feb. 11, 1738–9. Daughter of Thomas Marquis of Wharton, sister of the Duke of Wharton, and divorced wife of Sir William Morice, Bart.

"Hon. Elizabeth Browne, buried Oct. 23, 1740."

"George Frederick Maximilian, son of Just. Henry Alt, the Hessian minister, and Janetta his wife, baptized Oct. 23, 1743." Lucretia, their daughter, was baptized Dec. 23, 1746.

"Dame Ruth, wife of Sir Charles Peyton, buried March 4, 1748–9."

Fielding family.

"Mrs. Catherine Fielding, buried July 9, 1750." Mrs. Beatrice Fielding, buried Feb. 24, 1750–1. Louisa, daughter of Henry Fielding, Esq. buried May 10, 1753."

Sir Christopher and Lady Hales.

"Sr John Straughan, buried March 18, 1760."

"Harrison, wife of Sir Christopher Hales, buried June 3, 1762."

"Sir Christopher Hales, Bart. buried May 15, 1776." Sir Christopher was descended from Sir John Hales of Coventry, who was created a baronet anno 1660. Harison Lady Hales was daughter of Sir Cecil Wray.

Lord Melcombe.

"The Rt Honourable George Doddington, Baron of Melcombe Regis, buried August 3, 1762." Lord Melcombe was the son of an apothecary in Dorsetshire, where he was born in the year 1691. His family-name was Bubb, which he changed for Dodington out of compliment to his uncle George Dodington, Esq. some time lord of the admiralty, whose large fortune he afterwards inherited. Lord Melcombe was initiated into the science of politics at an early age, and was appointed envoy to Spain in 1715, where he afterwards continued, for a short time, in character of plenipotentiary. His subsequent history exhibits all the vicissitudes which can befall a man devoted to a court life. At one time he was closely connected with Sir Robert Walpole, and published, anno 1726, a poetical epistle addressed to that minister. The insincerity of his political attachments, and his anxious desire to be a sharer of court favour, subjected him to much ridicule, which the publication of his Diary proves him to have well deserved. During a great part of Sir Robert Walpole's administration, he filled the post of a lord of the treasury, and in the late reign was twice appointed treasurer of the navy. His quitting the King's service, anno 1749, for that of the Prince of Wales, who was then in opposition to the court, occasioned his Majesty to conceive so violent a prejudice against him, that not all his repeated servilities and compliances could avail to restore him to his favour. Upon the accession of his present majesty, he once more enjoyed the confidence of ministers, and though he was in no oftensible situation, was consulted upon all public measures. In the year 1761, he was created a peer ; and died in the month of July, the year following. (fn. 268) Lord Melcombe was a man of considerable genius, was much esteemed in private life, and remarkable for the brilliancy of his conversation talents. He patronized literary men, whom he frequently entertained both at Hammersmith, and at his feat in Dorsetshire. Thomson has inscribed one of his Seasons, and Young addresses one of his Satires to him. Lord Melcombe himself published some political pamphlets, and a few poems, and is said to have left many behind him in MS. The following inscription to his memory, in which the panegyric seems to be, in some respects, overcharged, was placed on a column at Hammersmith by his relation and heir, Thomas Wyndham, Esq. "To the memory of the Right "Hon. George Dodington, Lord Melcombe. In his early years he was sent by K. George I. envoy extraordinary to K. Philip V. of Spain, 1715; afterwards appointed, in commission with others, one of the lords of the treasury: twice treasurer of the navy to K. George II. and privy counsellor: in 1761, created a peer, and of the cabinet to K. George III. He was raised to these honours (himself an honour to them) rather by his eminent merit and great abilities, after experience both in the senate and in the council, than either by birth or fortune: and, if wit and true humour can delight; if eloquence can affect the heart, or literature improve the mind; if universal benevolence hath its charms; no wonder he lived admired and beloved by all that knew him, and died by all lamented, in the year 1762, aged 71. Thomas Wyndham, Esq. his heir, ordered this inscription, in grateful remembrance of his friend and relation."

Thomas Worlidge.

"James Worlidge, buried Sept. 27, 1766." Thomas Worlidge, the celebrated artist, is here meant, who died at Hammersmith on the 23d of September that year, and was there buried. During the greater part of his life he painted portraits in miniature, but is most celebrated for his etchings in imitation of Rembrandt, by which he got both money and reputation (fn. 269) . His last work was a book of gems, after the antique. In the latter part of his life he resided principally at Bath. On the south wall of the chapel at Hammersmith is a tablet to his memory, with the following inscription:

"Here lies the body of Thomas Worlidge, painter, who died the 23d of September 1766, aged 66 years.

"He who had art so near to nature brought, As ev'n to give to shadows life and thought, Had yet, alas! no art, or power to save His own corporeal substance from the grave: Yet tho' his mortal part inactive lies, Still Worlidge lives—for genius never dies."

Sir Robert Barker.

"Sir Robert Barker, buried Sept. 28, 1789." He was son of Robert Barker, M. D. (who was buried at Hammersmith anno 1745,) and descended from an ancient family in Derbyshire. Sir Robert was some time commander in chief of the East India Company's forces in Bengal. He was knighted, anno 1764, for his bravery at the Manillas, and created a baronet in 1781. He married Anne, daughter and only child of Brabazon Hallowes Esq. of Dethick in the county of Derby, by whom, leaving no issue, the title became extinct at his death. Sir Robert Barker communicated several ingenious papers to the Royal Society, which are published in the Philosophical Transactions (fn. 270) .

James Talbot, Bishop of Centuriæ.

"Honble and Revd James Talbot, buried Feb. 1, 1790, aged 64." He was fourth son of George Earl of Shrewsbury, who died anno 1733. Being of the Roman Catholic persuasion, he entered into holy orders, and, about the year 1781, was chosen Bishop of Centuriæ, and vicar apostolic of the district of London.

Instances of longevity.

The following instances of longevity occur in the register: Jane Boyon, aged 93, buried Oct. 9, 1754; Susanna Parrott, aged 91 (April 17, 1774); Sarah Seekins, aged 104 (Sept. 1, 1776); Jane Blackston, aged 99 (July 26, 1778); Anne Scott, aged 93 (April 11, 1779); Martha Cove, aged 105 (Dec. 19, 1779); James Archer, from the work-house, aged 99 (May 13, 1781); Mary Jones, from the work-house, aged 98 (June 1, 1781); Elizabeth Maple, aged 92 (June 3, 1781); Mary Anne Gabriel, aged 90 (April 12, 1785); John Gabriel, aged 90 (Feb. 18, 1788); Judith Thesher, from the work-house, aged 104 (June 11, 1788); Winifred Burbidge, aged 90 (July 10, 1788); Jane Wilson, aged 92 (Dec. 3, 1790); Susanna Lewis, aged 95 (Nov. 22, 1790); Peter Smith, aged 91 (Dec. 20, 1790); Elizabeth Speers, aged 96 (Feb. 9, 1792); Mary Anne Cherry, aged 93 (Oct. 11, 1792); and Elizabeth Ellard, aged 97 (Jan. 23, 1793).

Nunnery.

The Nunnery at Hammersmith, (which, according to tradition, existed before the Reformation, and escaped the general destruction of religious houses from its want of endowment,) was first established, as I have been informed upon the most respectable authority, in the reign of Charles II. and took its rise from the following circumstance: In the year 1669, Mrs. Bedingfield, a relation of the first baronet of that family, in conjunction with another lady, set up a boardingschool at Hammersmith for young ladies of the Roman Catholic persuasion. Soon after its institution, the governesses and teachers having voluntarily obliged themselves to the observance of monastic rules, it obtained the name of a nunnery: the famous Titus Oates had a commission to search it in the year 1680, and he then reported, that he found many children of the nobility who were bringing up there in the Roman Catholic religion. (fn. 272) . Its celebrity as a school for young ladies of that persuasion has continued during the present century, and most of the fashionable females, among the Roman Catholics, have received their education there. It has kept up its claim also to the title of a nunnery, many devotees having, from time to time, taken the veil, and doomed themselves to voluntary seclusion at this place. At present there are only three in the house. I am told, they are not of any order, which all uniformly embrace; but each chooses that to which she is prompted by her own inclination or devotion.

Roman Catholic chapels.

There is a chapel at the nunnery, and another at Brook-green, where is also a charity-school for children of Roman Catholics. It appears, by an entry in the parish register at Fulham, that a marriage was celebrated in the French chapel at Hammersmith anno 1718, by virtue of a licence from the Archbishop of Canterbury.

Meeting houses.

The Presbyterian Dissenters have an old established meeting-house in this hamlet. There is a meeting-house also for the Quakers, another for the Anabaptists, and a chapel called the Ebenezer (fn. 273) chapel, belonging to the Methodists.

Ancient hospital.

In Norden's time there was an hospital at Hammersmith, of which not a trace now remains. It stood, as appears by his survey, by the side of the western road near Stanford-brook. Among the Cartæ Antiquæ, at the British Museum, is a bond of John Payne, proctor of the hospital at Hammersmith, dated 1578, to account for alms which he had a licence to collect in the counties of Buckingham and Northampton (fn. 274) . The Spitleman at Hammersmith is mentioned in the church-wardens' accounts, anno 1591.

Sir Samuel Morland's well.

Sir Samuel Morland gave a pump and well, adjoining to his house by the Thames side, for the use of the public, which benefaction was thus recorded upon a tablet fixed in the wall: "Sir Samuel Morland's well, the use of which he freely gives to all persons; hoping that none who shall come after him, will adventure to incur God's displeasure by denying A CUP OF COLD WATER (provided at another's cost, and not their own) to either neighbour, stranger, passenger, or poor thirty beggar. July 8th, 1695." This pump has been removed; the stone tablet is preserved in the garden belonging to the house.

Charity school.

Edward Latymer, Esq. (the same who sounded a school at Edmonton,) bequeathed, by his will dated 1624, thirty-five acres of land in Hammersmith, the profits of which were to be appropriated to clothing six poor men (fn. 275) , clothing and educating eight boys, and distributing ten shillings in money. These lands, in the year 1679, were let at 681. 15s. per annum, in the year 1793 at 211l. 16s. In consequence of the increased income, the number of boys has been augmented to 30, and the poor men to 10. Thomas Gouge, Esq. (1712) left the sum of 50l. to be expended in the purchase of lands, of the value of 3l. per annum, for the benefit of the charity-school. Mr. Goodwin left 20l. to Latymer's school. Mr. George Lewis, a distiller, who had been brought up at the school, gave a very laudable instance of grateful remembrance, anno 1784, by leaving a legacy of 100l. in the 4 per cents.

Lady Capel, anno 1719, left the twelfth part of a farm, now producing 11l. per annum, to the charity-school at Hammersmith.

Girls school.

There is a charity-school for girls also, to which 50l. was left by Mr. Goodwin. This school, in which twenty children are clothed and educated, is supported principally by voluntary contributions, and the collections at two charity sermons. A Sunday-school was instituted in the year 1787, and a house for that purpose built near the church-yard. There are at present about an hundred and sixty children in this school.

Alms-house.

An alms-house, for four poor women, was founded in the last century, by Thomas Iles, Gent. The present income of these almshouses is about 27l. 10s. per annum; but how it arises, I have not been able to find, except that Mr. Plukenett left ten shillings per annum each to the poor women, to be expended in bread.

There were formerly some alms-houses at Hammersmith, founded by Sir John Elwes, and Thomas Gouge, Gent.; which stood on the site of the Sunday school-house. Four alms-houses are now building in the Back-lane, with money arising from the profits of lands, purchased with Dr. Edwards's and Bishop King's legacies (fn. 276) .

Benefactions.

Bread.

Nathaniel Dauncer, Esq. anno 1656, bequeathed to the poor of Hammersmith, thirty shillings per annum; twenty shillings of which was to be distributed in bread on the 5th of January. Mr. Collop gave an annuity of Il. 6s. issuing out of the George at Hammersmith, for bread. Mr. Henry Webb, anno 1793, gave the interest of 50l. in the 4 per cents. for the same purpose.

Money.

William Payne, Esq. of Pallenswick, anno 1626, gave the sum of 3l. per annum to the hamlet of Hammersmith, to be appropriated alternately to two purposes, viz. to apprentice a boy, and to be divided in sums of five shillings each among twelve poor house-keepers. Colonel Edmund Harvey and Maximilian Bard, Esq. gave the sum of 100l. about the year 1650. Sir Nicholas Crispe, anno 1665, gave the sum of 100l. which purchased two cottages and half an acre of land (fn. 277) . Mr. Ralph Gregg, anno 1679, gave the sum of 50l. producing 2l. 10s. per annum. Mr. Isaac Le Gooch, anno 1685, gave 15l. per annum to the poor, out of the moiety of a house and garden. — Edwards, Esq. left 12s. 6d. each to twelve poor widows, being a rent-charge upon a house and garden (fn. 278) . John Allen, Esq. anno 1666, gave 10l. per annum, being a rent-charge on houses. Frances Lady Nevill, anno 1714, gave the sum of 100l. now producing 8l. per annum. Peter Brushell, Esq. anno 1769, gave the sum of 100l. in the 3 per cents. Mr. Goodwin gave the sum of 100l. towards building a work-house. This hamlet has an interest in such of the legacies to the parish of Fulham as were left before the building of the chapel.

Imposture of Susanna Fowles.

In the year 1698 was published, "A Relation of the Imposture of Susanna Fowles of Hammersmith, who was tried at the Old Baily for pretending to be possessed with the Devil, and sentenced to stand in the Pillory."

Footnotes

1 Speculum Brit. p. 20.
2 The Saxon word ful, is translated foul; fuhl, a fowl; full and fullan, are full, as full mona, the full moon.
4 See Chron. Sax. p. 85, 86. Joh. Bromton, inter Dec. Scrip. Col. 811. & Sim. Dunelm, ibid. Col. 129. Hen. Huntingdon inter scrip. post Bedam, p. 350. and Chron. Mailros inter Gale's Scrip. vol. 1. p. 144, 145.
5 Clarendon's Hist. of the Rebellion, 8vo. vol. iii. p. 67.
6. Perfect Occurrences, August 27, 1647.
7 Perfect Occurrences, March 31, 1648.
8 "Huic (Erkenwald.) latisundia in loco qui dicitur Fulanham sc. terram 50 manentium cum consensu Sigehardi Regis East Saxonum, et Coenredi Regis Merciorum Tyrhtilus Episcopus dedisse dicitur in vetusto "eccles. Paulin. rotulo inter Th. Jamesii Collect. MSS." Wharton de Epise. Lond. p. 18.
9 The original conveyance is in the possession of the Bishop of London at Fulham.
10 Parliamentary Surveys, Lambeth MS. Library.
11 A door-way, leading from the hall to the great dining-room, seems to be of the fifteenth century. On one of the spandrils are the arms of the see of London; and on the other, the paternal coat of the Bishop by whom it was erected; but having been originally very rudely carved, and rendered more obscure by frequent white-washings, it would, perhaps, be impossible now to ascertain to whom it belonged.
12 See them blazoned in the account of the chapel windows.
13 As appears by that date in the windows, and the initials R.F. with the word secit.
14 See p. 349, in the note.
15 In the east window, Argent a pale fusilly Sab. for Savage; this coat was adopted by a family of that name who had married an heir of Daniers. Bishop Savage was promoted to the see of London anno 1496. In the windows on the west side, are the following coats: Arg. a cross engrailed Sab. in the first quarter an eagle displayed Gules; this coat was quartered by Bishop Fitzjames, and appears, by an ancient pedigree of that family in the Heralds'-college, to be the arms of Basket. Sable 3 combs Argent for Tunstall; the motto—Deus adjutor Noster. 3. Arg. a cross between 4 sea aylets Sab. legs and beaks gules for Aylmer. 4. Or a chevron between 3 bugle-horns stringed Sab. on a chief Gules, 3 lions ramp. Or for Henchman; this coat is impaled with the arms of the fees of Salisbury and London; the others with London only. In the window, near the door which leads to the great dining-room, 1. Sab. a lion pass, guard. Or between 3 helmets Argent for Compton. 2. Sable, a cross patonce Arg. voided plain between 4 escallop-shells of the second for Fletcher. 3. Barry lozengy Or and Az. on a chief Gules, 3 cross crosslets of the first for Mountaigne.
16 In the first window, towards the west: 1. Or, three bendlets Az. within a border engrailed Gules impaling Az. a dolphin naiant embowed Or for Fitzjames. 2. Gules, 3 garbs Or within a border engrailed of the second for Kemp. Bishop Kemp was promoted to the see of London anno 1421. 3. Quarterly Or and Az. a cross quarterly erm. and of the first between 4 doves, the first and fourth Az. the second and third Argent for Grindall, impaled with London. 4. Tunstall impaled with London. 5. Compton impaled with the see of London. 6. Savage. 7. Fletcher impaled with the see of Worcester. 8. Gules, two swords in Saltier Or—Arms of the see of London. 9. Coat of Basket, a quartering of Fitzjames, as before described. 10. Fitzjames. 11. Gules a chevron between 3 pears Or, for Abbot impaled with the see of London. In the second window, 1. Sab. on a chevron between 3 etoils Or three crosses pateé fitcheée Gules for Laud impaled with the see of London. 2. Fletcher impaled with the see of London. 3. Tunstall. 4. Az. 3 storks rising Arg. for Gibson impaled with the see of London. 4. Laud impaled with Bath and Wells. 5. Az. a book Or between two mullets in chief and a saltier in base Arg. for Porteus impaled with the see of London (1788). 6. See of London. 7. Laud impaled with Az. on a sesse Or 3 crosses pateée fitcheée of the first; on a quarter of the second, the sun appearing in chief environed with a demicircle wavy Gules, on each side of the quarter a demi fl. de lis of the first conjoined to the side—arms of the deanery of Gloucester. 8. Fletcher impaled with the see of Bristol. 9. Quarterly Gul. and Sab. a cross moline quarterly erm. and Or, on a chief of the third a rose of the first between two pelicans respecting each other, and vulning themselves, for Bonner. 10. Gibson impaled with the see of Lincoln. In the third window, is a representation of the Lord's Supper; the arms of Henry VIII. impaling those of Katherine Howard, viz. Quarterly, 1. Az. 3 fl. de lis in pale Or between two flaunches erm. each charged with a rose Gules; an augmentation granted to Katherine Howard on her marriage. 2. Brotherton. 3. Howard. 4. Az. 2 lions pass. guard Or, the verge of the escutcheon charged with 4 half fl. de lis of the second; another augmentation of Katherine Howard's; the arms of Edward VI. when Prince of Wales; the arms of the two metropolitan sees, with those of all the bishoprics within the two provinces, and those of Terrick (Gules 3 lapwings Or) impaled with London. In the fourth window, is a representation of St. John baptizing Christ; the arms of Laud impaled with the fees of London and St. David's, and those of St. John's-college in Oxford, of which he was president, viz. Gules on a border Sab. 8 etoils Or, on a canton erm. a lion ramp. Sab. an annulet for difference; and the following coats, 1. Or on a chevron Vert, between 3 bucks trippant proper, as many cinquefoils of the field for Robinson impaled with the fee of London. 2. Compton impaled with the fee of London. 3. Az. 3 bulls heads couped Or for Hayter impaled with London. 4. Savage. 5. See of London. 6. Fitzjames impaled with the fee of London. 7. Robinson impaled with Bristol. 8. Compton impaled with Oxford. 8. Hayter impaled with Norwich. In the fifth window are the royal arms; a rose parti Gules and Arg. the cognizance of Henry VII. a rose with the red and white mixed, the cognizance, it is probable, of Henry VIII. and the following coats: 1. See of London. 2. Arg. a cross between 4 martlets Sab. (intended for Aylets) the coat of Aylmer impaled with London. 3. Arg. a mascle Sab. between 3 ogresses, for Ofbaldeston impaled with London. 5. Tunftall impaled with London. 6. Fletcher impaled with London. 7. Per pale Arg. and Az. 3 fl. de lis counterchanged for Sherlock impaled with London. 8. Savage. 9. Sab. a wolf ramp. Or for Lowth, impaled with London. 10. Kemp. 11. Or a cross Gules between 4 negroes heads couped proper for Juxon impaled with London. 12. Ofbaldeston impaled with the fee of Carlisle.
17 Biograph. Brit.
18 Regist. Lamb. Tennison, pt. 2. f. 324. b.
19 Ibid. f. 325. a, b.
20 Ibid.
21 Mentioned under his coat of arms in the chapel window.
22 Fuller's Worthies, Middlesex.
23 Strype's Life of Grindall, p. 146.
24 See Aiton's Hortus Kewensis, where frequent mention is made of plants and trees introduced by Bishop Compton.
25 Vol. XLVII. p. 241.
26 Of the following trees, noticed by Sir William Watson, none are now remaining, at least, not any that could be supposed to have been planted by Bishop Compton, viz. "Pinus Abies; Pinus Picea; Pinus Pinea; Acer Plantanoides; Arbutus Unedo; Laurus Benzoin; Celtis Australis; Fraxinus Ornus; Fraxinus Rotundifolia; Diospyrus Virginiana; Pinus Larix; Syringa Perfica Laciniata; Viburnum Prunifolium; Æsculus Paria; Rhus Typhinum; Robinia Pseudacacia; Ruscus Racemosus; Cercis Siliquastrum; Pistacia Terebinthus."
27 This tree begins to decay.
28 Beginning to decay.
29 A beautiful tree, with pensile branches forming a natural canopy.
30 These trees bear the marks of great age, and are so much decayed that their height cannot now be ascertained.
32 Ray's Letters, p. 171, 172.
33 Dr. Edwards, Chancellor to the Bishop of London, anno 1618, gave the sum of 10l. towards erecting a sluice to let in the Thames water, "to preserve the moat from noisomness.''
34 Holinshed's Chron. vol. ii. 377.
35 Godwin de Præsul.
36 Ibid.
37 Regist. Lond.
38 Ibid.
39 See Fox's Martyrs, vol. iii. p. 740, where there is a print of Bishop Bonner scourging John Willes in his orchard at Fulham.
40 This poem, called "Bishop Bonner's Ghost," was printed at the Earl of Orford's private press at Strawberry-hill.
41 Athen. Oxon. vol. i.
42 Funeral Certificate, Heralds'-college.
43 Strype's Life of Aylmer, p. 103.
44 Church-wardens' books.
45 Ibid.
46 Church-wardens' books.
47 Biograph. Brit.
48 Mysteries of the good old Cause, p. 24.
49 Godwin de Præsul.
50 Ibid.
51 Spec. Brit. p. 20.
52 Mat. Paris Hist. p. 778.
53 Parliamentary Surveys, Lamb. MS. Lib.
54 Pat. 42 Eliz. pt. 24. Nov. 6.
55 Parliamentary Surveys.
54 The conveyance is among the Bishop of London's papers at Fulham.
55 Cl. 47 Edw. iii. m. 38 dors.
56 "Madam Alice Perrers being a person of extraordinary beauty, was therefore made Lady of the Sun, and rode from the Tower of London through Cheapside, accompanied with many lords, knights, and ladies, every lady leading a lord or a knight by his horse's bridle, till they came to West Smithfield, where presently began a solemn just, which held for seven days together."—Barnes's Reign of Edw. III. p. 872. Alice Perrers is supposed, by some, to have been Edward III's mistress; but Barnes thinks it improbable, both from the character and age of the king, and because she afterwards married the Lord Windsor, a person of great property and consequence. It is certain, that this lady had great influence with the old monarch, and made use of it in promoting causes in his court, which was made a matter of accusation against her, and was the cause of her banishment. See Barnes, p. 873, &c.
57 Esch. I Ric. II. No. 30.
58 Pat. 3 Ric. II. pt. 3. m. 6.
59 Cole's Escheats, Harl. MSS. Brit. Mus. No. 757.
60 Cl. 7 Car. pt. 30. No. 24. At the time of the purchase, he wrote his name Gurnard, and was called, in the indenture, Richard Gurnard, citizen and cloth-worker of London. He was created a baronet anno 1641, being then lord mayor of London, and was described as Sir Richard Gurnard, alias Gurney, Knt.
61 Smith's Obituary, N°. 866. Sloane's MSS. Brit. Mus.
62 Title-deeds, obligingly communicated by Mr. Dorville.
63 Daughter of Henry Bard, Earl of Belmont in Ireland. She married Nathaniel Bard, Esq. by whom she left an only daughter, Frances, married to Henry Harcourt, Esq.
64 Cl. 27 Hen. VI. m. 6.
65 Cl. 29 Hen. VI. m. 7. dors.
66 Esch. 20 Edw. IV. No. 80.
67 Court-rolls of the manor of Honylands in Enfield.
68 Title-deeds in the possession of Samuel Whitbread, Esq. who has some lands at Fulham, which were aliened by the same parties, and at the same time.
69 Ibid.
70 It was first so called in the court-rolls of Fulham-manor, anno 1693, but is still, in writings, occasionally called Wansdon green.
71 Esch. 19 Edw. IV. No. 65.
72 Sir Michael Wharton was living at Parson's-green anno 1654. Parish books.
73 Court-rolls of Fulham manor.
74 Cole's Abstract of Escheats, Harl. MSS. Brit. Mus. No. 411.
75 Pat. 4 Hen. IV. pt. 1. m. 13.
76 Newcourt's Repertorium, vol. i. p.425.
77 Records in the Augmentation-office.
78 Harl. MSS. Brit. Mus. No. 608. f. 5.
79 Harl. MSS. No. 1551.
80 Cole's Abstract of Escheats, No. 757. Harl. MSS Brit. Mus.
81 From the information of Thomas Lane, Esq. of Goldsmiths'-hall.
82 Cart. Ant. pen. Dec. & Cap. St. Paul.
78 Perfect Diurnal.
79 Parliamentary Surveys, Lamb. MS. Lib.
80 Esch. 6 Ric. II. No. 47.
81 Esch. 17 Hen. VI. No. 54.
82 Cl. 13 Ric. II. pt. 1. m. 11.
83 Esch. 20 Ric. II. No. 30.
84 See Esch. 2 Edw. IV. No. 18.
85 Sir William Stourton, Lord Stourton, died seised of it anno 1478. See Esch. 17 Edw. IV. No. 55. Anne, daughter of John Lord Stourton, was buried at Fulham anno 1533.
86 Court-rolls of the manor of Honylands in Enfield anno 1565.
87 Funeral certificate, Heralds'-college.
88 Title-deeds in the possession of Samuel Whitbread, Esq. who has some lands at Fulham, aliened by the same parties, and at the same time.
89 His only son, Richard, died in his minority. See Harl. MSS. No. 1551.
90 It is described by that name in Sellers's map of Middlesex, anno 1730.
91 Anecdotes of Painting, vol. ii. p. 128.
92 Collins's Peer. ed. 1779, vol. v. p. 183.
93 Parish books.
94 Perfect Passages, July 11, 1651.
95 See Locke's Life, 8vo. 1713, p. 30.
96 She had been first singer at the Operahouse.
97 Burney's History of Music, vol. iii. p. 248.
98 Hawkins's Hist. of Music, vol. v. p. 305.
99 Antiquities of Middlesex, p. 37.
100 Court-rolls.
101 Antiquities of Middlesex, p. 37.
102 Court-rolls.
103 Title-deeds, obligingly communicated by the present proprietor.
100 Biograph. Brit. new edition, article Edwards.
101 Gent. Mag.
102 Vol. V. See Gent. Mag. April 1783.
103 Court-rolls of the manor of Fulham.
104 Parish books, and Cabala, p. 65.
105 Parish books.
106 A very eminent lawyer, and ancestor to the present Earl of Lisburne.
107 The name of this place was thus spelt, a century ago, in the parish register, where entries relating to the family of Purse often occur. I do not recollect having seen it mentioned in any record of a more ancient date.
108 Title-deeds, obligingly communicated by Mr. Deere of the Auditor's-office. There is a deed of Sir Edward Powell's, dated 1640. Sir William Powell's will bears date 1680.
109 Title-deeds as above.
110 Court-rolls of the manor.
111 Dr. Rawlinson had originally left this house to the Society of Antiquaries; but, in consequence of some disgust, revoked the devise.
112 Court-rolls of the manor of Fulham.
113 Harl. MSS. No. 1711.
114 Court Rolls.
115 Ibid.
113 See the Pres. to his Speculum Britanniæ.
114 He died of the plague anno 1625, and was buried at Fulham. See Ant. Wood's Athen. Oxon. vol. i.
115 Biograph. Dram.
116 He died there anno 1713. Le Neve's Monument. Anglican. vol. iv. p. 271.
117 Tonson lived at Northend, and Lintot at a place called the Broome-houses, by the waterside.
118 Pult. Anec. of Botany, vol. ii. p. 229.
119 Perhaps, that of Sir Sampson Norton, master of the ordnance to Henry VIII. who was buried at Fulham.
120 Arms—1. Sable, replenished with mullets Arg. therein a man's arm bowed, holding in his hand a standard silver; an augmentation granted by Norroy king at arms, anno 1575, to Sir Piers Legh, in memory of the valiant services of his ancestor and namesake at the battle of Cressy, where he bore the standard of the Black Prince. 2. Gules, a cross engrailed Argent for Legh. 3. Or, three lozenges Az. for Baguley. 4. Az. a chevron Arg. between 3 crowns Or, for De Corona. 5. Arg. a pale lozengy Sab. for Daniers. 6. Arg. a cross Sab. in the first quarter a fl. de lis of the second for Haydock. 7. Vert, a chevron between 3 cross crosslets Or, for Wrightington. 8. Arg. a mullet pierced for Aston. 9. Lozengy Sab. and Arg. for Croft impaling Gerard of Bryn with its quarterings, viz. 1. Arg. a Saltier Gul. for Gerard. 2. Az. a lion ramp. Arg. crowned Or for Bryn. 3. Az. a lion ramp. Arg. for Windle. 4. Arg. 3 torteauxes between two bendlets Gules for Ince. 5. Arg. a bend engrailed Sab. in chief an escallop-shell Gules for Radcliffe. 6. Az. a cross patonce between 4 martlets Arg. for Plessington. 7. Arg. a lion ramp. purpure for Balderston. 8. Arg. a cross raguly Gules for Lawrence. 9. Arg. 2 bars Gules in chief 3 mullets of the second for Washington. 10. Az. a chevron between 3 fishes haurient Or, a quartering of Washington.
121 Arms—Gules a sesse between 2 chevrons Arg. impaling Sab. on a bend engrailed Or 3 human hearts Gules.
122 Arms—Az. a lion ramp. Or, on a chief Arg. 3 torteauxes impaling 1 Arg. on a cross Sab. a leopard's face Or for Bridges; 2. Or, a pale Gules for Chandos; 3. Arg. a sesse between 3 martlets Sable for Berkley.
123 Wood's Athen. Oxon. vol. i.
124 Lodge's Illustrations of English History, vol. i. p. 32.
125 Rymer's Fœdera, vol. xvi. p. 513.
126 Wood's Athen. Oxon. vol. i.
127 Arms—A chevron between 3 Saracens' heads impaling a chevron between 3 mascles, on a chief a greyhound current for Megges.
128 On a chevron engrailed 3 cinquefoils, on a canton a leopard's face, (it should be a cinquefoil as in the arms granted to this William Rumbold) impaling a chevron between 3 crosses formeè for Barkley.
129 Arms—An oak, on a sesse 3 regal crowns. These arms were granted to Colonel Careless for his services in concealing King Charles in the oak, with permission to change his name to Carlos.
130 Arms—The see of London impaling Gibson, as in p. 348. The inscription is given elsewhere.
131 Arms—A chevron between 3 martlets impaling a winnowing van (the coat, I suppose, of Svanders; 3 winnowing vans were borne by Septvan, a Kentish family,) quartering a chevron between 3 men's heads in profile. Upon the coat first mentioned is an escutcheon with a cross moline between four crescents.
132 The King's Bowyer.—In a deed, dated 1528, (20 Hen. VIII.) John Parker is styled Valettus Robarum, or groom of the wardrobe to the king. Cart. Antiq. Brit. Mus. 75. D. 67.
133 Arms—per pale Gul. & Sab. a mountain cat between 3 roses Arg. impaling Sab. a chevron embattled between 3 roses Argent; the arms of Cornish.
134 Cecil quartering Carleon. See vol. i. p. 530.
135 1. Arg. a chevron between 3 demi-lozenges Sab.—Billesby. 2. Gone. 3. Arg. 2 bars engrailed Sab. for Steynes. 4. Gules, an eagle displayed Or for Kevremond.
136 Arms—Arg. a chevron between 3 etoils Sable.
137 The whole monument is said to have cost 400l. Bowack, p. 32.
138 Arms—Arg. 3 lozenges Sab. charged with as many escallops Or for Hart impaling Per sesse Vert and Or, three escallops Argent for Powell of Fulham.
139 Arms—Arg. on a sesse engrailed Gul. between 3 birds Sab. as many cinquefoils of the first quartering Or, 3 hurts; on a chief embattled Az. 3 bezants, and impaling Gules, gutty Or, a sesse nebuleé Arg.
140 Arms—Arg. a chevron between 3 squirrels seiant Gul. cracking nuts Or, stalked and leaved Vert.
141 Arms—Arg. on a bend Gules between 3 pellets, as many swans proper; on a canton Az. a leopard's jamb Or for Clarke;—Sable two swords in saltier Arg. hilts and pommels Or between 4 fl. de lis of the last for Barrow, and Az. a chevron between 3 mullets Or for Hilliard.
142 Arms—Arg. a chevron ermines between 3 mullets pierced Sab. for Gresham quartering Az. ten billets 4, 3, 2, 1 Or; on a chief of the second a demi lion issuant Sable for Dormer. Gules on a chevron Arg. between 3 fishes Or, as many martlets Sab. on a chief indented of the second 3 escallop shells of the first for Done, als. Clobbs. 3. Arg. 3 fl. de lis Az. for Coulrich, als. Cailridge.
143 The arms on this monument are those of Dormer impaled with Gresham; those of Plumbe are gone.
144 His first wife was Margaret, daughter of Sir Thomas Nevil, and relict of Sir Robert Southwell.
145 Arms—Arg. on a chevron Sab. 3 bezants quartering, 1. Arg. 3 flags' heads couped sable, collar'd of the field. 2. Arg. a chevron Az. between 3 sinister hands couped and erected Gules for Maynard. 3. Arg. a saltier Sab. for Coriton.
146 Arms—Sab. a fesse ermine.
147 P. 33, 34.
148 Arms—On a bend engrailed 3 pheons for Tipping impaling a chevron between 3 hinds' heads erased.
149 John Trye, Esq. of Hardwick-court, who died anno 1579, married Elizabeth, daughter and coheir of Sir John Gournay, and niece and eventually coheir of Charles Brandon.
150 Antiquities of Middlesex, p. 35.
151 Circuit Walk. p. 72.
152 Arms—Robinson impaling on the dexter side 3 chevrons for Langton, and on the sinister side a lion rampant.
153 Arms—Gules a chevron engrailed erm. between 3 eagles close Arg. on an efcutcheon of pretence, a chevron between 3 leopards' heads for Wheeler. Sir Francis Child married Elizabeth, daughter and heir of William Wheeler, goldsmith, of London.
154 Mr. Rench was a market-gardener. In the inscription on his tomb it is said that he was one hundred and one years of age; but upon consulting the parish register it appears, that he was only 82, having been born in the month of August 1701. The account of his death in the obituary of the Gentleman's Magazine, says, that he died in the same house in which he was born; and that he had thirty-two children by two wives.
155 Pat. 9 Hen. 5. pt. 1. m. 1.
156 Harl. MSS. Brit. Mus. No. 60.
157 Parliament. Surveys, Lamb. MSS. Lib.
158 Pat. 15 Car. II. pt. 2. No. 19.
159 Bowack's Antiquities of Middlesex,p. 35.
160 Newcourt, vol.i. p. 109, and 607.
161 Parish Books.
162 Antiquities of Middlesex, p. 58.
163 Newcourt's Repertorium, vol. i. p. 608.
164 Ibid.
165 Ibid. Bishop King published a volume of sermons on the Lord's Prayer, and some single discourses.
166 Ibid.
167 Dr. Lort published a commentary on the Lord's Prayer; some single sermons and several papers in the Archæologia.
168 His prints sold for the sum of 401l. Is. 6d.
169 Parliamentary Surveys, Lambeth MS. Lib.
170 Newcourt.
171 Ant. Wood's Athen. Oxon. vol. i.
172 Walker's Sufferings of the Clergy, p. 49.
173 Part III. Canto II. 1. 639. Nash's edition.
174 Proceedings of the Committees, Lamb. MS. Lib. vol. iv. p. 96, and 178.
175 Parliamentary Surveys.
176 Parliamentary Surveys.
177 He was presented to the rectory anno 1654 by Edmund Harvey, and to the vicarage anno 1657 by Cromwell. Committee Books, vol.xxxiii. Dormer, b. 3. p. 47. and vol. xxxiv. p. 24.
178 Baronetage edit. 1741, vol. iv. p. 95.
179 In the Augmentation-office.
180 Public Intelligencer, April 26–May 3.
181 Merc. Polit. May 27June 3.
182 Collins's Peerage, edit. 1768, vol. iii. p. 202.
183 Public Intelligencer, July 25—Aug. 1.
184 Lives of Eminent Cambridge Men, Harl. MSS. Brit. Mus. No.7176, p. 207.
185 Biograph. Brit.
186 Collins's Peerage, vol. iii. p. 149. edit. 1768.
187 Collins's Peerage, vol. iii. p. 151.
188 Ibid. p. 150.
188 Collin's Peerage, vol. ii. p. 150.
189 Gent. Mag. August 1784.
190 He had this name from his maternal grandfather Robert Beverley, author of "the present State of Virginia."
191 Biograph. Brit.
192 Gent. Mag.
193 This, and the above circumstances relating to Bishop Gibson, are taken from the Biographia Britannica.
194 Europ. Mag. Nov. 1787, whence the following facts and dates were obtained.
195 The office of poetry professor at Oxford, is never held for a longer time than ten years.
196 Biograph Brit.
197 Sidney Papers, vol. i. p. 356.
198 Funeral certificate, Heralds' College.
199 Ant. Wood's Athen. Oxon. vol. ii. and Biograph. Brit.
200 By an act of parliament passed 13 Eliz. every person above the age of seven years, and under a certain rank, was obliged to wear on Sundays and holidays a woollen cap, made in England, and finished by some of the trade of cappers, under the penalty of paying 3s. 4d. for every day's omission. The act was repealed 39 Eliz.
201 Her visits were repeated twice in 1579; was there again in 1580; in 1582 she staid two nights there, July 10 and 11; in 1584 one night; in 1585 two nights, July 27 and 28; she was there July 29, 1588; again in 1589. She dined there three times in 1596, and staid three days in March 1596–7. She was at Putney again one night in 1597; two nights in 1601, and dined there the 21st of January, 1602–3, about two months before her death.
202 This appears to have been a fine for neglecting to notice the King's passing by.
203 Parish records.
204 An erroneous tradition has prevailed that this manufacture was set up by a younger brother of the unfortunate Dutch minister, Dewit, who escaped the massacre of his family and fled to England anno 1672, with his mother. The tradition describes circumstantially the character of the old lady, who is said to have maintained a kind of sullen dignity in her missortunes, and to have been inaccessible except to the King, who sometimes visited her at Fulham, and to persons of the highest rank. The fallacy of the whole story, however is evident, not only by a letter of Mrs. White, grand-daughter of John Dwight, (wherein she mentions, that he was the son of a gentleman in Oxfordshire, who gave him a liberal education at the University, and that he afterwards became chaplain to three Bishops of Chester;) but also by a common-place book, (which, as well as the letter, is now in the possession of Mr. White, who obligingly favoured me with the use of them;) drawn up by Mr. Dwight, wherein he has inserted precedents of all the forms of business which came before the bishop's court, both in his own time, and that of his predecessor's. By this book it appears, that John Dwight was, (in conjunction with two others,) appointed "register and "scribe," by Bishop Walton, June 29, 1661. One of the precedents which Dwight has inserted is so curious, that I cannot resist the temptation of inserting it for the entertainment of my readers. Articles of reconciliation between a man and his wife, October 9, 1629. It was agreed between Joseph Caron and Margery his wife, in manner and forme following: I, Joseph Caron, doe willingly promise to my wife Margery, that, upon condition that she will not hereafter make further enquiry into any thing that hath in time past occasioned jealousy on her part, I from this time forward will forbeare the private company of any woman or maid whom she may suspect to be dishonestly inclined; and in particular, because of her former suspicions, how unjust soever, I doe promise to estrange myselfe from Mrs. Large and Mrs. Colmer, and whomsoever else she hath formerly suspected: and that I will forbeare striking her, and provoking speeches, and be as often with her at meales as I can conveniently, and in all things carry myself as a loving husband ought to doe to his wife: in witness whereof I have subscribed my name the day and yeare above-mentioned. "Joseph Caron." "I, Margery Caron doe willingly promise to my foresaid husband Joseph Caron, that, upon condition that he performe faithfully what he hath promised, I will from this day forward forbeare to enquire into any thing that hath in time past occasioned jealousy in me towards my husband; and in particular doe acquit Mrs. Colmer by these presents from any guilt of dishonesty with my husband, being now persuaded of her innocency therein, whatsoever I have formerly said to the contrary; and doe promise for the time to come, the premises being duly performed on my husband's part, to carry myself towards him in all things as becometh a loving and a faythful wife. In witnefs whereof I doe subscribe my name the day and yeare above written. "Margery Caron."
205 Gent. Mag.
206 Ibid. August 1754.
207 Doddington's Diary, p. 149.
208 Gent. Mag. August 1736.
209 Parliamentary Surveys, Lamb. MS. Lib.
210 Perfect Diurnal, Nov. 1642.
211 Ibid. Aug. 2.
212 Perfect Occurrences, Aug. 27, 1647.
213 Merc. Polit. Jan. 15, and Feb. 5,1657.
213 Lloyd's Memoirs, p. 628.
214 This house, though it adjoins to, and is generally esteemed as a part of Hammersmith, is actually within the limits of the Fulham division.
215 Bowack's Antiquities of Middlesex, p. 37.
216 Merc. Aulic. Jan. 22, 1643.
217 Perfect Diurnal.
218 Perfect Occurrences, Sept. 10, 1647.
219 The purchase was made in her name. Court-rolls of the manor of Fulham.
220 Ibid.
221 Ibid.
222 Court-rolls of the manor of Fulham.
223 In the 4th volume of the Vitruvius Britannicus are three plates of this house as altered by Lord Melcombe, consisting of the elevation towards the Thames; the ground plan; and section of the gallery. A stone obelisk was erected in the gardens by Lord Melcombe in memory of his lady. It was removed by Mr. Wyndham, and stands now in the Earl of Aylesbury's park at Tottenham, in Wiltshire, where it now commemorates his Majesty's recovery.
224 Title deeds obligingly communicated through the favour of Sir Elijah Impey.
225 Ibid.
226 This part of the house is now a boarding-school for young ladies.
227 Gent. Mag.
225 Parish books at Fulham.
226 Walker's Sufferings of the Clergy, p. 183.
227 Wood's Athen. Oxon. vol. ii.
228 When Bowack wrote his account of Fulham it belonged to Mr. Nash.
229 Court-rolls of Fulham-manor.
230 Ibid.
231 In Archbishop Laud's summary of Devotions, edit. 1667. p. 278, is a prayer at laying the first stone of the chapel at Hammersmith, March 11, 1629.
232 Bowack's Antiquities of Middlesex, p. 38.
233 Papers relating to Hammersmith chapel in the possession of the bishop of London. By the subscription-roll for the building the chapel presented to the bishop, it appears, that the sum of 242l. 7s. 4d. had been collected for that purpose, exclusive of the brick and sand, given by Sir N. Crispe, and some other materials by other persons. An annual subscription of 281. 13s. 4d. for the minister was promised by the inhabitants, besides his lodging and diet to be given by Lord Mulgrave, as long as he resided in the parish.
234 Vol. i. p. 610.
235 Arg. a chevron between 3 garbs Gules. 236
236 Arg. a lion ramp. Gules, on a chief Sab. 3 escallop shells of the first.
237 Arg. on a chevron Sab. 5 horse-shoes Or.
238 Erminois 3 lions' heads erased Sable.
239 Arms—Sheffield impaling three holly leaves for Irwin.
240 It was removed some time ago from the south aisle.
241 Memoirs, p. 627.
242 Biograph. Brit.
243 Arms— Az. a chevron between 2 swans in chief and a pair of sheers in base Argent. impaling Arg. a fesse Azure. John de Lannoy ancestor to the Lannoys of Hammersmith, was mercer to Queen Elizabeth. His son was a silk-dyer, which business was carried on for several generations by his descendants. James Lannoy (son of Sir Timothy) who died anno 1724, was an eminent Turkey merchant. He lay in state at his house at Hammersmith, and was buried in the chapel there in a very sumptuous manner, the procession being lighted by two hundred wax tapers. British Journal, Jan. 25, 1724.
244 Arms—Per Pale Gul. and Az. a lion ramp. Arg. between 6 cross crosslets Or, impaling Lannoy.
245 Arms—Arg. on a chevron Sab. an eagle displayed of the field.
246 Arms—Az. a lion ramp. Or, on a chief Arg. a mullet Gules between two torteaux.
247 The arms of Green are obliterated, the impalement is Arg. a cross formée flurty Gules for Trussell. Mary Green was daughter of Edward Trussell, Esq.
248 Arms—Gules a saltier Argent, a mullet for difference. The female arms are worn; they seem to have been paly Or and Azure.
249 Azure fretty Arg. quartering, 1. Erm. on a bend Sab. 3 congers' heads Arg. 2. Arg. on a bend Gules 3 swans. 3. Erm. on a bend 2 chevrons. 4. Arg. on a fesse between 3 birds Sab. as many cinquesoils of the field. The motto—"Gardez."
250 Sab. a chevron between 3 owls Arg. 251 Arms—Gules on a chevron between 3 leopards' faces Or, as many cinquesoils of the field impaling quarterly 1 and 4 Arg. 3 ducal crowns Gules, 2 and 3. Az. 3 cinquesoils Arg.
252 Or, 10 torteaux 4, 3, 2, 1, for Zouch of Harringworth quartering, 1. a chevron between tween 3 garbs. 2. quarterly 1 and 4 ermine, 2 and 3 checky Or & Az. 3. quarterly Or & Gules within a border Sable, bezanty. 4. Gules on a bend gobony Arg. & Az. 3 leopards' faces Or, a border gobony of the second and third. These coats seem to have been displaced, not being the quarterings of Zouch. The windows received considerable damage in the civil war.
253 The bishop's right of patronage was confirmed anno 1711 by a decree of Lord Chancellor Harcourt, the parish having set up a claims of election.
254 Parliamentary Surveys, Lambeth MS. Library.
256 Vol. i. p. 322, 323.
257 Pat. z8 Car. II. pt. 5. No. 6.
258 Now an academy in the tenure of Mess. Aiken and Bathie, and known by the name of Walbrough house.
259 Pat. 30 Car. II. pt. 7. No. 4.
260 Pat. z6 Car. II. pt. 4. No. 19.
261 See anecdotes of painting, vol. iii. p. 84, in the notes.
262 Biograph. Brit.
263 Life of Dr. Radcliffe, 8vo. 1715, p 52.
264 Ware's Hist. of Ireland, vol. i. p. 243,244.
265 Ibid. vol. ii. p. 270.
265 Historical Register.
266 London 8vo. 1677.
268 The above account of Lord Melcombe is taken from a life of him in the European Magazine 1784, and from his own Diary.
269 Anecdotes of Painting, vol. iv. p. 66.
270 A paper on the process of making ice in the East Indies; observations on the thermometer; an account of the Bramins' observatory at Benares, &c.
272 Domestic Intelligencer, Jan. 13.
273 From a Hebrew word, signifying the stone of help.
274 86. B. 11.
275 The clothes of the poor men are directed by the will to be coats or cassocks of cloth or frieze, to reach below their knees-those of the boys doublets and breeches: all of them to wear a cross of red cloth on their sleeves called, Latymer's cross.
276 See the account of benefactions at Fulham.
277 I understood from the church-warden, that the produce of these premises is included in the endowment of Isles's alms houses
278 This benefaction, I am told, is lost.


<--Previous:
Finchley