History of Parliament Trust



H. C. Maxwell Lyte (editor)

Year published




Citation Show another format:

'Preface', A Descriptive Catalogue of Ancient Deeds: Volume 3 (1900), pp. V. URL: Date accessed: 26 November 2014.


(Min 3 characters)



The present volume is the third instalment of a Catalogue of all the Ancient Deeds preserved in the Public Record Office. It deals with—

Nos. 3837–6122 of the A Series, consisting of deeds of the Treasury of the Receipt of the Exchequer, formerly preserved in the Chapter House at Westminster.

Nos. 3871–4232 of the B Series, consisting of deeds formerly preserved in the Court of Augmentations.

Nos. 2916–3764 of the C Series, consisting of deeds of the Court of Chancery, formerly preserved in the Tower of London and the Rolls Chapel.

Nos. 1–1330 of the D Series, consisting of deeds of the Queen's Remembrancer's Department of the Exchequer.

Different portions of the work have been prepared by Mr. J. M. Thompson, an Assistant Record Keeper, Mr. E. Salisbury, Mr. A. Hughes, Mr. A. Maskelyne, Mr. R. C. Fowler, Mr. J. V. Lyle, and Mr. A. E. Stamp of this Department.

The Indexes have been prepared by Mr. C. H. Woodruff, with assistance from Mr. A. Maskelyne.

Public Record Office, May 1900.