University Memorial Hall


English Heritage



J. R. Howard Roberts and Walter H. Godfrey (editors)

Year published


Supporting documents



Addenda / corrigenda

Any material between chevrons <> has come to light since publication. Anyone interested in the sources for this new material should contact the Survey of London

Citation Show another format:

'University Memorial Hall', Survey of London: volume 21: The parish of St Pancras part 3: Tottenham Court Road & neighbourhood (1949), pp. 101-102. URL: Date accessed: 27 November 2014.


(Min 3 characters)


(formerly All Saints Church)

All Saints Church, Consecrated on 19th December, 1842, was designed by Thomas Leverton Donaldson, Professor of Architecture at University College. It was closed in 1909 and was converted into a memorial hall in connection with the same college by Professor A. E. Richardson, R.A. in 1928.

The building was a plain parallelogram with galleries and its eastern elevation to Gordon Street was of brick, designed in a pseudo-Greek manner. The front was crowned by a pediment and entablature with four brick pilasters with stone capitals. A subsidiary frieze was introduced between the capitals. The central two-light window was framed between the middle pair of pilasters and there were two entrance doorways with semicircular carved overdoors. A brick cupola surmounted the pediment. The accompanying drawing gives the elevation as modified by Professor Richardson to meet conditions imposed by ecclesiastical authority.

University Memorial Hall—Elevation of Street Front

Figure 28: University Memorial Hall—Elevation of Street Front

While the general lines of the original church determined the scope of the remodelling, spacious galleries were introduced, the walls were panelled and external staircases were added. The dominant feature of the interior was the coffered cedar wood ceiling. The building was totally destroyed by a high explosive bomb in 1940.

The list of incumbents of All Saints Church is as follows—

1842Henry Hughes
1852William Gleed Armstrong
1854Robert William Burton
1855Theophilus Bennett
1857Annesley Paul Hughes
1860Henry Thomas Rees
1862Arthur Richard Godson
1905John Arthur Garton (to 1909)

Gordon Street inhabitants

<No. 11 (later No. 3 and now destroyed). c.1853-1859, Mark Lemon (1809-1870), co-founder of Punch.>>