Help us grow
Survey of London: volume 4: Chelsea, pt II
Walter H. Godfrey
'Cottages in Glebe Place', Survey of London: volume 4: Chelsea, pt II (1913), pp. 76. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=74644 Date accessed: 19 September 2014.
(Min 3 characters)
CXX.—OLD COTTAGES, GLEBE PLACE.
General description and date of structure.
In the Council's ms. collection are:—
It is freely stated that the little cottage of whitewashed brickwork,
with its mansard roof of pantiles, at the south-east corner of Glebe Place,
is of considerable antiquity, and it has been mentioned as having been an
entrance lodge to Shrewsbury House. It is not impossible that in the 17th
century, the owners of Shrewsbury House might have obtained permission to
make a way across the glebe, but there is no evidence of this, and it seems
probable that there was neither building nor way on this part of the glebe,
until its occupation by Francis Cook at the beginning of the 18th century.
The cottage stands on the east side of the piers of a gateway into the grounds
of Cheyne House, and on the west is a dilapidated building dating from
about the same period. Cheyne House was built in 1715, and it seems
most probable that these buildings were erected at this or a later date, when
Cook was in possession of the land and could grant a right of way to the
King's Road. The buildings have no architectural features of importance,
but the cottage is a picturesque object amid its gloomy surroundings.
Three views of the cottage (photographs).
(fn. 1) Copy of a photograph in the possession of Mr. Philip Norman.
Double-click menu [ Cancel ]
- Contact us -
Version 4.0 | November 2013
© 2014 University of London & History of Parliament Trust
Design - Crave Ltd