AN ACCOUNT OF THE DEANS, VICARS-GENERAL, OR CHANCELLORS,
ARCHDEACONS, COMMISSARIES, OFFICIALS, AND PREBENDS.
Deans of Norwich.
1. William Castleton, the last prior here, was made the first
dean, (fn. 1) by the foundation charter of King Henry VIII. Ao. 1538, but
he resigned it the next year, having a pension during life settled on
him. He lived till about 1548, for in that year 40l. of his gift was
paid to the court to clothe poor people with; and John Reve, his
executor, promised to deliver a hundred quarters of wheat to the use
of the city poor, to be kept and sold to them at six shillings a comb,
whenever wheat exceeded that price.
2. John Salisbury, descended from an ancient family of that
name in Denbighshire, was first a monk of the monastery of Bury, (fn. 2)
and having studied some time in both Universities, entered into holy
orders, and was soon after chosen prior of the monastery of St. Faith,
at Horsham in Norfolk, about 1534; and after his surrender of that
priory, was nominated by Bishop Nix, to the King, who appointed
him suffragan Bishop of Thetford, and he was consecrated accordingly by Archbishop Cranmer, March 19, 1536.
Dec. 20, 1537, he was collated to the archdeaconry of Anglesey;
and the next year, May the 2d, to the prebend of Yarmouth in the
church of Norwich. (fn. 3)
In 1539, he was installed dean of Norwich, and in 1541, resigned
his rectory of Creke, in Norfolk to a son of Sir Roger Townsend's, for
whom he held that rectory, reserving a pension to himself for life,
out of it; and immediately after, Sir Roger, and Anne his wife, presented him to Cleydon rectory in Suffolk.
In 1546, he was instituted to Lopham; (fn. 4) and in 1554, was deprived
of his deanery and livings by Queen Mary; but was immediately
presented again to Lopham, by Thomas Duke of Norfolk, and instituted again; that nobleman having a great value for him, procured
him the rectory or Diss, to which he was instituted the same day, at
the presentation of Henry Earl of Sussex, and held them by union.
About nine months after he was installed chancellor of the church
In 1560, he was restored by Queen Elizabeth to this deanery; (fn. 5)
and in 1571, was created Bishop of the Isle of Man, and confirmed
in it April 7, when he obtained license to hold the deanery in commendam with it, together with his rectories of Diss, and Thorp on the
Hill, in Lincoln diocese; and having lived here till Sept. 1573, he
died in a good old age.
3. John Christopherson, D. D. a Lancaster man, bred in St.
John's college; was first fellow of Pembrook-hall, after that, of his
own college, being confessor to Queen Mary, was made master of
Trinity college, and dean here in the room of Salisbury; he was
installed April 18, 1554, and voided the deanery, at his promotion
to the bishoprick of Chichester, in 1557.
He is acknowledged by all, to have been a very learned man; and
among other works published by him in the Greek and Latin tongues,
he translated several of the works of Eusebius and Philo Judæus out
of the Greek into Latin; but being a strict Papist, he was deprived
of his bishoprick and mastership by Queen Elizabeth; and Will. Bill,
whom Queen Mary had deprived to introduce him, was restored to his
mastership; and it is no wonder to find this man ejected, for we are
assured, that during the Marian persecution, he came the nearest to
bloody Bonner, (fn. 6) burning no less than ten, in one fire at Lewes, and
seventeen others at sundry times, in divers places.
4. John Boxhall, or Boxall, was born at Bramshoot in Hampshire, and had his grammar learning in W. of Wykeham's school by
Winchester, was thence admitted perpetual fellow of New-college in
Oxford, in 1542; took his degrees in arts, and was esteemed one of
the most subtile disputants in the whole University. Afterwards he
entered into holy orders, but did not preach in the reign of Edw. VI.
but when Queen Mary came to the crown, he was made archdeacon
of Ely, secretary of state, prebendary of Winchester, and warden of
Winchester college in 1554: about which time he was appointed one
of the preachers at Paul's-cross, (fn. 7) in order to revive the Romish religion,
which had suffered so great an eclipse in King Edward's days; and in
his sermons there demeaned himself with so much zeal and eloquence,
that the Queen heaped preferments upon him.
In July 1557, she made him dean of Peterburgh, and on the 20th
of Dec. following, dean of Norwich, and about the same time, dean
of Windsor; and after his installation, he was sworn registrary of the
most noble Order of the Garter, Feb. 6, 1557; and the year following,
was actually created doctor of divinity, and installed into the prebend
of Newington, (fn. 8) in the church of St. Paul at London, and also into two
other prebends, one in the church of York, and the other in the church
Some months before Queen Mary's death, he resigned this deanery,
and on Queen Elizabeth's accession to the crown, continuing a stiff
Papist, was not only deprived of all his preferments, but for his zeal,
was committed to free custody in the Archbishop's palace at Lambhithe, where he received exceeding kindnesses from that prelate, (fn. 9) who
always declared he loved him, because he was no man for blood, for
always, even in the hottest of Queen Mary's persecution, he declared
against shedding of blood on religion's account.
On his falling ill of a violent fever, the Archbishop procured him a
license, to settle in a near relation's house in London, where, after his
recovery, he lived a retired life in ease, till 1570; for on the 28th of
March, 1571, Edmund and Richard Boxall, his brothers, had letters
of administration granted them on his death. He was a man of great
modesty and learning, though he hath only a Latin sermon preached
at London, extant.
5. John Harpsfield, a grand zealot, for the Roman Catholick
religion, was born in the parish of St. Mary Magdalen in Old Fishstreet, London, was educated at Wikeham's school near Winchester,
thence admitted perpetual fellow of New college in Oxford in 1534,
and having taken his degrees in arts, entered into holy orders, was
made chaplain to Bonner Bishop of London, whose cruelty he much
followed; it being observed, that as Bonner was the most severe of all
bishops against hereticks, (as they were then called,) so was his chaplain, of all archdeacons, which was the reason he deservedly fared the
worse for it at the restoration of the Protestant religion by Queen
About 1551, he quitted his fellowship, having then taken his degree of bachelor of divinity, as he did that of doctor, April 20, 1554,
in which year his patron Bonner collated him to the archdeaconry of
London; (fn. 10) and on the 4th of May following, to the church of Ludgate; and the 26th of the same month, to the prebend of Holbourn
in the church of St. Paul.
In 1558, May 16, he was nominated by Philip and Mary dean of
Norwich; (fn. 11) and about the same time, resigning his church of St. Martin
Ludgate, was collated to the rectory of Laingdon, with Basilden chapel
in Essex; and on the 10th of Dec. following, to the prebend of Mapesbury, in the said church of St. Paul; of all which preferments, he
was deprived by Queen Elizabeth, and was committed prisoner to the
Fleet, where he laid above a year, and was then released upon security
given, that he should not act, speak, or write, against the doctrine of
the church of England, which engagement he strictly kept; upon
this, retiring to the house of a near relation of his, that dwelt in St.
Sepulcre's parish, in the suburbs of London, he spent the remainder of
his days, in great retiredness and devotion, and dying there in 1558,
was buried in that parish church.
He hath divers works extant, as,
A Sermon ad Clerum, in St. Paul's London, 16 Oct. 1553, from
20 Acts, 28th verse.
Homilies, to be read in Churches in the Diocese of London, printed
at the end of Bonner's Cathechism, Ao. 1555.
Several Disputations, printed in Fox's Acts and Monuments, vol. iii.
p. 71, 86, 258.
6. John Salisbury before mentioned, was restored to his deanery
upon Harpsfield's deprivation, and held it to the day of his death, in
7. George Gardiner, D. D. on the death of Salisbury, was promoted to this deanery; he was born at Berwick in Northumberland,
being son of George Gardiner of that place, Gent. descended from
the Gardiners of Lancashire, as the grant of arms made to George,
the dean's father, by Sir Gilbert Dethick, Garter King at Arms,
April 24, 19 Elizabeth, testifies; by which the following arms and
crest were granted to him, and his heirs, viz.
Gardiner, sab. a chevron erm. between three bugle horns arg.
garnished, or. Crest, a man's cap sable. (fn. 12)
He was of the University of Cambridge; 27 years minor canon here,
minister of St. Andrew's, and on Oct. 21, 1565, was installed into the
fifth prebend in this church; and in 1571, was instituted into the rectory of St. Martin Outwich, London; in 1573, was collated to the
archdeaconry of Norfolk; and the 28th Nov. the same year, being
then D. D. was made dean here, (fn. 13) and chaplain in ordinary to Queen
Elizabeth. He was successively instituted to the several livings of
Swaffham, Hellesden, West-Stow, Blofield, Forncet, and Ashill, all in this
diocese, and having continued dean 16 years, died in winter, 1589,
and was buried in the south isle of the cathedral, for whom there
remains a tomb, under an arch against the south wall, (fn. 14) with this
Georgius Gardiner Barbici natus, Cantabrigiæ educatus,
Hic birit per 27 annos primo minor Canonicus,
Secundo Prebendarius, tertio Archioiaconus Nordobici;
Demum biz. 28 die nobembris, anno 1573.
Factus est sacellanus serenissimæ Dom. Reginæ,
Et Deranus huius Ecclesiæ; in quo loco per 16 annos
Rerit hanc Ecclesiam, t tandem anima eius
Feliciter migrabit ad superos.
Omnem crede diem tibi dilurisse supremum,
Grata superbeniet quæ non sperabitur hora.
Hæc requies mea in Seculum Seculi
Hic habitabo quoniam elegi eam
Sibe bigilo, sibe dormio,
Semper ea bor Clamat in aure mea:
Surgite mortui, benite ad Judicium.
8. Thomas Dove, D. D. succeeded; he was one of the first
scholars of Jesus college in Oxford; but being disappointed of preferment there, removed to Pembrook hall in Cambridge: he was
made chaplain to Queen Elizabeth, who so much admired his oratory
in preaching, that she used to say, unless her silver winged dove had
been inspired, by that spirit, which heretofore appeared as a dove,
he could never speak so sweetly. (fn. 15)
Her Majesty first preferred him to the vicarage of Walden, in 1580,
he being then master of arts; and in 1586, to the rectory of Haydon
in Essex, which he resigned in 1588. And the next year she nominated him dean here, and he was installed accordingly, June 16, and
having continued dean till the year 1600, he was then promoted to the
see of Peterburgh, and so voided the deanery, though he held Walden
in commendam till 1607, and then resigned it.
He sal in his see of Peterburgh to his death, which happened Aug.
30, 1630, being then 75 years of age.
He was buried in the north isle of his own cathedral, and had a
monument erected to his memory, which was levelled to the ground
by the rebels in the troublesome times, being hated by them, for his
strict asserting ecclesiastical discipline; (fn. 16) but though in his lifetime
they condemned him for coveteousness, they have since justly praised
his hospitality; for he was a constant good house-keeper in his diocese, and great reliever of the poor; and though he had but a mean
bishoprick, yet left a plentiful estate, having raised his family to
knightly degree, to show (says our author) that it is not the moisture
of the place, but the long lying of the stone, which gathereth the great
mosse thereon. (fn. 17) In short he was of an unblameable life and conversation, except in one respect, and that was, in conferring orders upon
such as applied for them, without properly examining into their
morality; by which, he could not avoid doing great damage to the
9. John Jeggon, D. D. who was Bishop here, for whom see p.
10. George Montgomery, a Scotchman, was preferred by King
James I. to this deanery, and was installed June 6, 1603. He obtained a confirmation from Cambden, Clarencieux King at Arms of
the following coat, viz.
Az, a sword and spear in saltier, between four de-lises or. Crest,
a hand cooped at the wrist proper, holding a de-lis or.
Before 1607, he was preferred to the bishoprick of Derry, Raffo,
alias Rabo, and Clogher, in Ireland; for by that title, as dean here,
he jointly with his chapter, granted to the noble Henry Howard Earl
of Notingham, the office of high-steward of the demeans, manors,
lands, &c. belonging to the church, for life, with the annual salary of
6l. 13s. 4d. belonging to that office.
In 1614, being translated to the bishoprick of Meath in Ireland, he
voided this deanery, which was given to
11. Edmund Suckling, D. D. who was installed into the precentor's or third prebend of this church March 1, 1586, and was afterwards
rector of Blofield and Hellesden, and on the 30th of Sept. 1614, was
installed dean here, and so continued to his death, in 1628; in
which year he was interred in the cathedral, on the north side of
prebend Spendlove, but the brass inscription is reaved off his stone.
12. John Hassal, student in divinity, was first bachelor of law,
and fellow of New-college in Oxford, and had afterwards leave given
him to be created doctor of divinity, whenever he pleased, which was
He had commendatory letters to the chancellor of the University
from William Earl of Pembrook, in which he assured him he had been
a diligent and faithful preacher of the word of God, in the Low
Countries, and had got a singular good reputation with the English in
those parts, having been particularly favoured and cherished by the
Count Palatine, and the Lady Elizabeth, his royal spouse, and that he
knew him to be a hopeful scholar, and of good note in college, when
he was with him at the same time, and of the same house; (fn. 18) and Sir
Horatio Vere assured the University by his letter, that he had not
only gained a singular good report for his abilities, but for his pious
conversation among his soldiers and volunteers in the Low Countries,
where Sir Horatio was commander of a regiment, sent to join with the
united Princes in Germany.
He was domestick chaplain to the Lord Paget Baron of Beaudesert,
and in 1604, August 15, was preferred to the prebend of Eccleshall
in the church of Litchfield, and soon after became canon residentiary
of that church.
In 1608, he was presented to the rectory of Bircham St. Mary or
Great Bircham in Norfolk, being then minister also of the church of
Brancaster; at his first entrance upon Bircham (as the Register of
that parish informs me, under his own hand,) he found upon the
parsonage nothing but a bare plat, open to the high-way and churchyard, without any building upon it, the whole being burnt down
about two months before, in the time of Alexander Rawlyns, his pre
decessor, all which he walled round, and expended 500l. in building
the parsonage-house. (fn. 19)
In 1615, Dec. 20, he was installed into the third prebend in Norwich
cathedral, having resigned that of Litchfield, some time before; he
was afterwards chaplain to the Queen of Bohemia, (King James First's
only daughter,) and rector of North-Creke in Norfolk; and was installed dean here, July 15, 1628, the Queen having procured it for
him, and so continued till bishops, deans, and all the hierarchy were
outed their livings and dignities, by the usurping powers. (fn. 20)
After his deprivation, he lived at Creke, in great want and poverty,
being plundered of all he had, and dying during the Usurpation, left
his family so extreme poor, that one of his own daughters was
maintained by the parish.
13. John Crofts, D. D. though at 17 years distance, was his
successour, being appointed dean by King Charles II. at the Restoration, being son of Sir Hen. Crofts of Tatingston in Suffolk, (fn. 21) brother
to William Lord Crofts.
He was first a commoner of Lincoln college, afterwards fellow of
All-Souls, where he commenced master of arts, and entering into
orders, was beneficed in the church, but suffering for his Majesty's
cause, (with whom he was a great favourite,) he retired to Oxford, to
him, and was there created D. D. June 17, 1646, from Wadham
college, in which he had then entered himself.
Soon after he was admitted to the consolidated rectory of Barnham
St. Martin, and St. Gregory, and held West-Stow in Suffolk, united to
it; (fn. 22) and it seems, as if he had then either quitted, or been deprived of
the living of Newton in the isle of Ely, where he was some time
He was made dean here at the request of the Lord Crofts, who
had great interest with his Majesty, on account of his faithful services during his exile, and was installed August 7, 1660, and continuing
dean till 1670, died on the 27th of July, in that year, and was interred
under a black marble in the anti-choir, at the back of the dean's stall,
with this inscription.
Reverendi admodum viri Johannis Crofts,
Ex amplissimâ in Agro Suffolciensi Familiâ oriundi,
Sacræ Theologiæ Professoris, et Regibus Carolo Martyri,
Et Filio, Patris veré Hæredi, a Sacris, & Religione
Cum Principe & Patria è Postliminio reduce,
In hujusce Ecclesiæ Decanatum evecti:
Nec minus coluit piissimus Filius, cum inter
Utriusque Fortunæ vicissitudines non minus strenuè
Quâm Modestè se gessisset; Morbo gravi & Diuturno
Conflictatus (Rarum Christianæ Patientiæ & Pietatis
Exemplum) Sexagenario paulò Minor,
Victus succubuit. 27 Julij 1670. (fn. 23)
14. Herbert Astley, son of Herbert Astley of Plimouth in
Devonshire, was a great lover and constant attendant of King Charles I.
after whose martyrdom, he travelled into France, Italy, and Turkey,
whence he returned soon after the Restoration, and on Jan. 22, 1662,
was installed into the 3d prebend in this church, as a reward for his
former loyalty; which accident happened well for him, for Sir Jacob
and Sir Isaac Astley, acknowledged him to be their kinsman, preferred
him to the rectory of Folsham in Norfolk, and procured him that of
Thimblethorp also; afterwards marrying Barbara, daughter and heiress of John Hobart of Waybread in Suffolk, Esq. only son of Sir
John Hobart of Hales, he was by the Hobarts interest, promoted to
this deanery, being installed Sept. 2, 1670.
It appears, that at the Restoration, he had the King's letter to the
University of Oxford, dated Sept. 20, 1670, and read in a full congregation in Oct. following, to be D. D. when he pleased; but he
never completed that degree; being created doctor of laws of the
University of Cambridge soon after. (fn. 24)
He continued here to his death, in June 1681, and was then buried
in the nave of the cathedral, by the south side of the tomb of Sir James
Hobart attorney general, and by him was his wife interred; (fn. 25) the inscription on the black marble which laid over his grave, gives him his
deserved character, for he was a generous, publick-minded, and most
Reliquiæ Herberti Astley, Legum Doctoris,
Obsequentissimi, dum vixit Ecclesiæ Filij
Fidelissimi Regis Caroli Subditi;
Quem inter arma & infelices belli strepitus
Ad Aras usque secutus,
Sanguineæ licet natalis suæ terræ pertæsus
Parricidium & Anarchiam fugiens,
Inter Exteros Turcas, Barbaros Infideles
Tandem per Carolum secundum [in Paterna Regna
Stupendâ Dei providentiâ restitutum]
Decanus hujus Ecclesiæ præfectus est,
Qua Provinciâ per decennium feliciter gestâ
Æternam migravit requiem
Octavo die Junij Anno Ætatis suæ LXIII.
Cui Moysis, si post illum ulli quadrat Elogium, Mansuetus,
Erat valde præ omnibus hominibus qui erant super
Faciem terræ— Numer. 12.—3.
On the north side of the door entering into the anti-choir is a
mural monument, erected to the memory of his wife, with the arms of
Astley, in a bordure ingrailed, and a crescent for difference,
Hobart, a cut of which is extant in the Repertorium, at p. 41,
inscribed to Hobart Astley of Weybread in Suffolk, Esq. with this
Barbara Uxor Herberti Astley
Hujus Ecclesie quondam Decani,
Quo munere fungendo,
Cum eximia Pietate, & Prudentia,
Singularem conjunxit Humanitatem,
De quo si quis amplius sciscitaverit
Adjacens consulat Epitaphium,
Illustri familia oriunda,
Filia et Hæres Johannis Hobarti
De Waybread in Com. Suff. Armigeri;
Frontem hujusce Ecclesiæ Occidentalem,
Non Magis Temporis, Quam Hominum
Restauravit & decoravit.
Per decennium superstes Marito
Filium unicum lmpuberem & intestabilem
Præmaturæ mortis Provisione
Hoc Monumentum, Marito, Sibi, & Liberis
Testamento condendum voluit.
Obijt 20 Martij Anno Dom. 1692.
Ætatis suæ 54.
By them were buried their children with the following inscriptions; (fn. 26)
Elizabetha Astley, Filia Herberti Astley (hujus Ecclesiæ Decam)
& Barbaræ Uxoris ejus, obijt 25° die Augusti Anno Domini
Isaac Astley, Filius Herberti Astley hujus Ecclesiæ Decani, et
Barbaræ Uxoris ejus, obijt 27 die Novembris, Ao. Dni. 1676.
Herbertus Astley, Filius Herberti Astley, hujus Ecclesiæ Decani,
& Barbaræ Uxoris ejus, obijt 25° die Aprilis, Anno Dni. 1680.
15. John Sharp, D. D. was educated at Christ's college in Cambridge, and being a person of real merit, had the good fortune to pass
through all the valuable preferments of the church, till at last he came
to be head of it in one province; for being chaplain to Heneage Lord
Finch, Lord Keeper of the Great Seal, he was made Archdeacon of
Berks, Ao. 1672. And on April 23, 1675, the King gave him the
rectory of St. Bartholomew Exchange, where he staid but a short time,
for his Majesty presented him to the rectory of St. Giles in the Fields,
to which he was instituted Jan. 3, the same year, having been also
installed into the third prebend in the church of Norwich, on the 26th
of March before, and on the 8th of June 1681, he was installed dean
here. (fn. 27)
Upon the removal of Dr. John Tillotson from the deanery of Canterbury, to that of St. Paul's, he was made dean there in Nov. 1689,
and was consecrated to the archbishoprick of York, July, 5, 1691.
16. Henry Fairfax, D. D. son of Charles Fairfax of Meston in
Yorkshire, third son of Thomas Lord Fairfax, (fn. 28) had this deauery conferred upon him by King William III. on account of his sufferings in
the reign of King James II. when in the business of electing a master
of Magdalen college, whereof he was then a senior fellow, in the room
of their president, Dr. Clerk, deceased; he behaved himself with great
resolution against the King's mandate, to receive one Mr. Farmer of
Trinity college in Cambridge, for their president: for when the society
were summoned to Whitehall, to give their reasons to the commissioners for ecclesiastical causes, why they would not accept Mr. Farmer
for their president, and Dr. Aldworth for vice-president, and the
other fellows with him pleaded, that they were governed by local
statutes, confirmed by several Kings of England, by which they were
sworn to admit none, president of their college, but one of their own
fellows, or those of New-college, &c. Dr. Fairfax pleaded singly, that
the matter then before the commissioners did not lie in that court; to
which the Lord Chancellor Jeffreys answered, he was a doctor of
divinity, and not of law; whereupon the doctor desired to see the
commission he sat by; which angered the Chancellor so much, that
he asked him what commission he had to be so impudent in court, and
told him, that he ought to be kept in a dark room, and not suffered to
be without a guardian.
Mr. Farmer being at length set aside, and Dr. Parker pitched upon
by King James II. to be established president of Magdalen college, a
second mandate was sent down to the fellows to receive him, and
accept him as their legal president; but they in the mean time had
chosen Dr. Hough, according to the statutes of the college, and
resolutely refused to accept of the Bishop; whereupon Dr. Cartwright
Bishop of Chester, Sir Rob. Wright, Chief Justice of the King's Bench,
and Sir Thomas Jenner, one of the Barons of the Exchequer, being
appointed for that purpose commissioners, were sent down to Oxford,
who calling Dr. Hough and the fellows before them, warned the Doctor not to act as president of the college, and having admonished the
fellows, and all the rest of the society, not to submit to his authority,
struck his name out of the Buttery-Book, and installed the Bishop of
Oxford president, and then put this question to the fellows, whether
they would submit to the Bishop of Oxford, as their president by them
installed, and set over them by the King's mandate. Dr. Fairfax answered in the first place, that he neither could nor would obey the
Bishop of Oxford; and being again asked whether he submitted to
the anthority of the court, he denied it, as he had done before at
Whitehall. Hereupon the commissioners declared his fellowship void,
and commanded him to depart quietly from the college within fourteen
days. Then the rest of the fellows were asked the same question, and
they answered to the same effect, and were all of them (being 26 in
number) condemned to be deprived and expelled. Dr. Fairfax being
in both places the most remarkable sufferer, was rewarded with this
deanery, for his resolution and constancy, soon after the Revolution,
being installed on St. Andrew's day, 1689, and enjoyed it above 20
years, dying in 1702.
He was buried in the cathedral, near the north-east part of the 6th
south pillar, and a stone was laid over him, which is now removed,
and placed between the 5th and 6th pillars, having on it the deanery
arms, impaling Fairfax, and this,
Hic depositæ sunt Exuviæ
HENRICI FAIRFAX S. T. P.
Hujus Ecclesiæ (nuper) Decani
Obijt decimo (fn. 29) die Maij Ao. Dni. MDCCII.
And on the east side of the 6th pillar, fronting Dr. Spencer's tomb,
there is a very curious monument of white marble, the lower part
consisteth of two trusses, between as many cartouches, (or scrolls,)
and between them his arms, crest, and mantle, viz.
Fairfax, arg three bars gemels gul. over all a lion rampant
sab. Crest, a lion passant gardant sab.
supported on the wings of a cherubim; above these is a cornish or
ledge, on which the table is placed, in a frame of carved work, adorned
with two columns and entablature of the Corinthian order, between
two pedestals of books, on each of which stands a lamp, and on the
middle of the upper cornish, is a shield with the deanery arms, and
thereon an urn, enriched with a festoon of flowers, and these between
two Cupids sitting in a mourning posture, that on the north side
pointing to his grave: on the table is this inscription,
HENRICUS FAIRFAX S. T. P.
apud Eboracenses Natus,
Familiâ Antiquâ perinde ac nobili
Fairfax illius Nasebiani Nepos,
Si Speetes res gestas, Magni; si Consilium Pij,
Cui hic pepercit, benignus Hostis,
Propugnavit ille Fautor acerrimus,
Maluit nempe Magdalenensis Socius,
A Collegio decedere, quàm Fide,
Ab obstinatâ Religionis Defensione,
Illum nec Minæ Regis dimoverunt, nec illecebræ,
Frangi non potuit, flecti noluit,
Judices enim iniquissimos
Quibus non obsequi alijs in Gloriam cessit,
Ipse ausus est, et Lacessere,
Terrens Magis, quàm metuens.
In hujus Ecclesiæ Decanatum assumptus,
Periculi quod ultro subierat,
Mercedem invitus tulit,
Ubi facundiâ pariter simplex et moribus,
Prudens æquè ac Liberalis,
Severus juxta ac Benevolus,
Quâ Virtute Universam defendit Ecclesiam,
Obijt die vicesimo Maij Anno Dom: MDCCII.
Ætatis suæ LXVIII. (fn. 30)
Thomas Fairfax Hæres ac Nepos,
Hoc Monumentum gratus Mærensq; posuit.
The 5th and 6th lines justly gave offence to Bishop Moore, and the
chapter, who holding a meeting about it, ordered the words Nasebiani
and Pij to be erased, as they remain to this day. The whole was
proposed to be altered, and the designed inscription is printed in the
Repertorium, at p. 72, but as it was not done, it is nothing to my
purpose, otherwise than to observe, that he gave a large parcel of
MSS. to the Public Library at Oxford, as that informs us.
17. Humphrey Prideaux, third son of Edmund Prideaux of
Padstow in Cornwall, was brought up at Westminster school, and
thence went to Christ Church in Oxford, where he took his bachelor
of arts degree, June 22, 1672; and his master's April 29, 1675;
while he was student here, he published a book intituled Marmora
Oxoniensia, containing in it, an account of the Marmora Arundeliana,
or marbles given to the University of Oxford, by the Earl of Arundel,
with the inscriptions upon them. (fn. 31)
In 1681, August 15, he was installed into the third prebend in this
church; and the year following on the 15th Nov. became bachelor of
divinity afterwards was vicar of Trowse, and in 1686, being created
doctor of divinity, June 8, was instituted to the rectory of Saham-Tony
in Norfolk; and on the 21st Dec. 1688, was collated to the archdeaconry of Suffolk.
He resigned Saham-Tony in 1694, and on the 8th of June, 1702,
was installed into the deanery of Norwich, procured him by the interest of the Earl of Notingham, as his prebend was, by the interest of
the Earl's father while he was Lord Chancellor, "the calamitous
distemper of the stone, and the unfortunate management he fell under,
after being cut for it, (to use his own words, (fn. 32) ) having driven him out
of the pulpit, and wholly disabled him from that duty of his profession,
that he might not be altogether useless, made him set about that
learned and inestimable work of his, the Connection of the Old and
New Testament, connected in the history of the Jews, and neigbouring
nations, from the declension of the Kingdoms of Israel and Judah,
to the time of Christ; the first volume of which he finished in 1715,
and dedicated it to the Right Honourable Daniel Earl of Notingham,
President of his Majesty's honourable privy council; as he did also
his second volume, which was finished at Norwich Jan. 1, 1717; the
character of which work is sufficiently known, by the numerous editions it hath passed through, and by the various translations it hath
suffered, there being few modern languages of any note, but what this
work may be read in. Having published many other things of less
note, though of great use, he continued a constant collector and
observer on many learned points, to his death, which happened in
his deanery Nov. 1, 1724; he was buried in the cathedral in the nave,
and his stone is now laid between the 6th and 7th north pillars, it
being removed from covering his grave, which is about six feet on
the south side of the stone, as it now lies; the crest is a demi-Saracen
proper, with his turban turned up erm. and the arms of the deanery
Prideaux, arg. a chevron sab. in chief a label of three gul.
With this inscription, of his own composing,
Sub hoc marmore depositæ sunt mortales Exuviæ
HUMPHRIDI PRIDEAUX S. T. P.
Nascebatur Padstoviæ in Agro Cornubiensi
Tertio Die Maij Anno Dni. MDCXLVIIIo.
EDMUNDI PRIDEAUX de Padstovia Armigeri,
Filius natû Tertius,
Bonis Literis a pijs Parentibus dicatus, in Scholâ
Regiâ Westmonasterij studiorum Tyrocinium posuit,
Quæ postea in Æde Christi, Oxoniæ, ulterius provexit;
Indè in hâc Ecclesiâ promotus,
I° in Præbendarium XV° die Augusti Anno Dni:
IIo. In Archidiaconum Archidiaconatus Suffolciæ
XXI° die Decembris Anno Dni.
IIIo. Demum in Decanum VIIIo. die Junij Ano. Dni:
Obijt infra Septum hujus Ecclesiæ primo
Die Novembris Ano Dni:
18. Thomas Cole, D. D. a Shropshire man, rector of East, or
Rainham St. Mary, and of West, or Rainham St. Margaret, in Norfolk,
was by the interest of the Lord Townsend, his patron, appointed dean,
by the King, and was installed in May 1724, and continued dean till
Febr. 1730, when he died unmarried, at his deanery, and was interred
in the chancel of his parish church of East-Rainham, being succeeded
in the deanery by
19. Robert Butts, D. D, for whom see p. 596, on whose nomination to the bishoprick,
20. John Baron, A. M. rector of the Saxlinghams in Norfolk,
succeeded in 1733, and was the same year made D. D. by the Archbishop of Canterbury, being then Archdeacon of Norfolk, which
archdeaconry he resigned not long after. He died at his rectoryhouse of Saxlingham, July 11, 1739, and is interred at Saxlingham
21. Thomas Bellock, D. D. the present  dean, as I am
informed, is a Herefordshire man, was of Brazen-Nose college in
Oxford, became chaplain and secretrary to Bishop Leng, and was by
him preferred to the rectory of Ashby cum Oby, afterwards to that of
North-Creke, which he now holds, and lastly by his Majesty, to this
deanery, in 1739.
Since his installation, he hath much promoted what was long
wanted, the repair and decoration of the cathedral church, which
before, was not only in a nasty, but ruinous condition; the whole
inside being, at the expense of the dean and chapter, washed all over;
all the windows cleaned and mended, the nave and isles new paved;
the stone work within, and great part of that of the tower without,
well repaired: by which means, it appears in that decent manner we
now  see it.
I can only add, that he hath published a volume of excellent
"The Reasoning of Christ and his Apostles, in their Defence of
Christianity, considered, in 7 Sermons, preached at Hackney in
Middlesex, in 1724." By Thomas Bullock, A. M. and chaplain to
the Right Rev. the Lord Bishop of Norwich. The second edition,
printed for R. Knaplock, London, 1736.
Vicars-General, Officials Principals, or Chancellors,
From their first institution, were always removeable at the Bishop's
pleasure, and were sometimes called the Vicars-General of the Bishop
in spirituals and in temporals, sometimes one was in spirituals, and
another in temporals only, but in all cases, their patent died with the
Bishop, and the vicars-general in spirituals till the Reformation, were
always in orders, but then the office of chancellor, including the whole,
since that time, the Bishop's patent, confirmed by the dean and chapter, is good during the life of such person to whom the patent is made,
and whether in orders or not, such chancellor hath full power in all
things as the vicars-general in spirituals and temporals, formerly had.
William, cancellarius, or chancellor to Bishop Everard.
Turkill, chaplain to Bishop Everard.
1171, Master Roger; he is called also Scriptor Episcopi.
1185, Roger de Dunelmo, chancellor or secretary to John de Gray.
1200, Adam de Walpole, afterwards archdeacon of Suffolk.
1204, Jeffry de Derham, late archdeacon of Suffolk.
1209, Ralf de Warham. See p. 601.
1218, Alan de Beccles, archdeacon of Sudbury.
1232, Rob. de Bilney, archdeacon of Norfolk, and chaplain to Bishop
Blundeville, died in 1237.
1237, William de Clare.
1257, Hervy de Fakenham, clerk.
1262, John de Alveschirche, archdeacon of Suffolk.
1278, Henry Hargrave, clerk, John de Feriby. (Hist. Norfolk, vol. ii.
1291, John Feriby, alone.
1305, Nic. de Whitechurch, priest.
1310, Hamon de Gatele, priest.
1311, Sir Ralf de Palegrave, chaplain to the Bishop, and rector of
Bodney, which he exchanged for Sudbourne cum Orford.
1316, Tho. Foxtone, LL. D. rector of Hintlesham, afterwards of Thorndon in Suffolk.
1322, John de Brecham or Bircham, priest.
1324, Robert de Langele or Langley, prior of Norwich; (see p. 602;)
and Rob. de Houtone.
1325, Sir Ric. Ayremine, rector of Elvelay in York diocese; (see p. 503.)
1326, Sir Adam de Ayremine, the Bishop's brother, afterwards archdeacon of Norfolk, rector of Geyregrave in York diocese, and
John Skyren, rector of Rollesby, joint officials, vicars-general,
and chancellors; (see p. 503.)
1328, Firmin de Lavenham, rector of Cressingham-Magna, and afterwards archdeacon of Sudbury.
1330, Master Tho. de Foxtone aforesaid, now chancellor of the University of Cambridge; (see Fuller's Hist. of Cambridge, fo. 38.)
1335, Sir Robert de Usflet, archdeacon of Norfolk.
1337, Will. de Claxtone prior of Norwich, (see p. 602,) and and John
Fenton, LL. D. archdeacon of Suffolk.
1344, Hamon Belers, LL. D. canon of Lincoln.
1348, Master William de Lyng, and Tho. de Methelwold.
1350, Simon Bozoun, prior of Norwich, Richard de Lyng, archdeacon
of Norwich, and Tho. de Methelwold, archdeacon of Sudbury.
1351, Ric. de Lyng, D. D. archdeacon of Sudbury, then of Suffolk,
and now of Norwich; Walter de Elveden, LL. D. chanter or
precentor of Hereford, archdeacon of Sudbury and rector of
Snitterton All-Saints. (Hist. Norf. vol. i. p. 421.)
1352, Laurence de Leek, prior of Norwich, (see p. 603,) and Rich. de
1354, Ric. de Lyng, and Walter de Elveden again.
1355, Laurence de Leek, prior, and Walter de Elveden.
1359, Nic. de Hoo, prior of Norwich, (see p. 603,) and John de Carleton, LL. D. afterwards archdeacon of Suffolk.
1361, Sir William de Swynflet, rector of Blickling, and archdeacon of
Norwich, and some time rector of Elsing, was joined to the two
1370, Nic. de Hoo, prior, Will. de Swyneflet, and Master John Young,
rector of Bynbroke in Lincoln diocese.
1371, Nicholas, prior of Norwich, William, rector of Salle, and Master
John de Derlington.
1372, The prior of Norwich, John Derlington, doctor of decrees,
master of St. Giles's hospital in Norwich, rector of Hingham,
and afterwards archdeacon of Norwich. (Hist. Norfolk,
vol. ii. p. 424.)
1377, Master Tho. de Lexam, doctor of decrees, and canon of Hereford; chancellor and commissary general to the Bishop. (Lib.
Institut. fo. 52, b.)
1378, Nic. prior of Norwich, and Sir John Broun, dean of Chapelfield college.
1383, Master John Derlington, John Clervaus archdeacon of Suffolk,
and dean of Chapel-field college, and Stephen Gilbert of Holt,
otherwise called Stephen Holt, rector of Bernham-Broom and
Oxburgh, in Norfolk.
1396, Will. Carleton, LL. D.
1397, Nic. Stoket, clerk.
1399, John Bishop of Smirna, (see p. 525,) John Derlington, and Dr.
Will. Carleton aforesaid.
1413, William de Westacre, archdeacon of Norwich, licentiate in the
1414, Master John Hody, priest.
1416, Master Will. Westacre, and James de Walsingham, inceptor in
laws, rector of Thirsford in Norfolk.
1419, William Sponne, archdeacon of Norfolk.
1420, Master Willam Bernham, bachelor in the decrees, some time
rector of St. Mary in the Marsh, after, of Blofield, and some
time vicar of St. Stephen's. (See Fox, fo. 659, 60, 1, 5, 6.)
1435, John Saresson, alias Wygenhale, doctor in the decrees, rector
of Yaxham and Oxburgh, in Norfolk, archdeacon of Sudbury,
and dean of Chapel-field college.
1471, William de Pykenham, LL. D. archdeacon of Suffolk, and dean
of the college of Stoke Clare in Suffolk.
1472, John Selot, doctor in the decrees, rector of Rollesby in Norfolk,
and of Rougham in Suffolk, master of Beck hospital in Billingford in Norfolk, and of St. Giles's hospital in Norwich, and archdeacon of Sudbury.
1482, Nic. Goldwell, rector of Worlingworth in Suffolk, archdeacon
of Sudbury, and afterward of Norwich.
1485, John Smith, LL. D. master of St. Giles's hospital.
1491, Tho. Shenkwyn, LL. D. archdeacon of Sudbury.
1499, Rob. Honywood, LL. D. archdeacon of Norwich.
1500, Ambrose Eade, doctor in the decrees, rector of Caston by Stow,
of Oxburgh, and master of Thompson college. (Hist. Norfolk,
vol. i. p. 282, 368.)
1501, Thomas Hare, LL. D. rector of Heydon, Great-Massingham,
Grimston, and Walsokne in Norfolk.
1520, Nic. Carr, LL. D. rector of Rollesby in Norfolk, of Stirston
and Helmingham in Suffolk, and dean of Chapel-field college.
(See Fox, 1012, 14.)
1530, Thomas Pelles, LL. D. a bloody persecutor, prebendary in Chapel-field college, and rector of Hitcham in Suffolk.
1537, Miles Spencer, LL. D. rector of Hevingham and Redenhall in
Norfolk, vicar of Soham in Cambridgeshire, archdeacon of Sudbury; and the last dean of Chapel-field college, the revenues of
which he not only alienated, but swallowed up, himself obtaining
a grant of it; and many other things; as an annuity of 4l. 17s. 4d.
from the priory, &c. He lived to the age of 90 years, for there
is a picture of him now extant, drawn when he was so old; (fn. 33)
and dying single, was buried in the cathedral, between the 6th
and 7th south pillars, and over his grave is an altar tomb, covered with a sort of touch-stone, which is robbed of its brasses,
and much split, but was formerly taken notice of, because people
used to try their money upon it, and the chapter demanded cer
tain rents to be paid on it. (fn. 34)
1550, Miles Spencer and John Fuller, LL. D. vicar of Swaffham, rector of East-Derham and N. Creke.
1554, Miles Spencer, and Michael Dunning or Downing, the furious
persecutor, archdeacon of Bedford, rector of Gissing, and N.
Tuddenham, in Norfolk; (fn. 35) whose sudden death is mentioned by
Fuller, among those upon whom God manifested much justice,
in their woeful ends. (fn. 36)
1561, Miles Spencer, and Thomas Brooke, B. D. rector of Blofield and
South-Walsham. (See Fox, 2047.)
1562, Miles Spencer and Edw. Gascoign, LL. D.
1566, Stephen Nevinson, LL. D. prebendary of Canterbury.
1569, Miles Spencer, and William Maysters, LL. D.; he lies buried in
the nave of the cathedral, against the north side of the 9th south
pillar; his stone, which is now removed, showed that Gul.
Maister, LL. D. Curiæ consistor. epatûs: Norwicen. officialis
principalis. Ob. 2 Feb. 1589. (Repertor. p. 5. See also Wood,
A. O. vol. i. p. 718.)
1575, John Beacon, A. M. fellow of St. John's college in Cambridge,
afterwards proctor and orator of that University, was made prebendary of the 3d prebend in the church of Norwich, in 1574.
Wood, A. O. vol. i. p. 726, calls him Thomas.)
1578, Geo. Gardiner, D. D. (See p. 620.)
1579, Will. Maister or Maysters aforesaid.
1588, Robert Redmayne, LL. D. (see p. 561,) who though he always
spelled his name thus, was of the same family with Bishop Redman, of that branch of it which first settled in Cumberland,
and then in Lancashire, for on his mural monument against
the north isle wall of Hitcham church in Norfolk, the arms of
Redman, or Redmayne, of Cumberland in Lancashire, viz.
gul. three cushions lozengé erm. tasselled or, quarter, 1. a lion
rampant or. 2. az. a fess between three martlets arg. and this
motto, alluding to the field of his arms, viz. Sine Sanguine
The inscription is this,
Hic positæ sunt Exuviæ, venerabilis viri Roberti Redmayne,
LL. Dris. cujus Dignitatem et Prætantiam testantur
Copiosè, ager Lancastriensis, Academia Cantabrigiensis, Civitas
Nordovicensis, Comitatus Norfolciensis, totusque fere hic alter Orbis
Anglia, Quinque Episcoporum Nordovicensium per 37 annos et ultrà,
Cum summâ nominis sui amplitudine, Cancellarius stetit dignissimus; nulli sui Ordinis fuit secundus, omnium Ornamentum; Qua Prudentiam, qua Pietatem, Eruditionis omnimodæ varietatem, vitæ Integritatem, et in omni re gerendâ mirandam dexteritatem, vir fuit spectatissimus,
sed mortalis erat, Tumulus Mortalia condit,
Spiritus in Christi vivit, agit que Sinu.
Excessit vita 5 August 1625, Ætatis suæ 74:
Obijt in Itinere, viator,
Vivit in Cælo Comprensor.
Dorothea eIVs VXor pletatIs gratIa hoC eI ponebat Mærens.
On a flat stone under it, is his effigies in his doctor's habit, but the
arms and inscription are torn off.
On another flat stone. Eustachius R - - - - - Sepultus - - die Junij
- - - Ætatis suæ 77.
And on another flat marble,
Dorothy Redmayne Widow, sometime Wife of John Rolf of
Hecham, Gent: afterwards Wife of Dr. Redmayne Chancellor of
Norwich, after whose death, she lived a Widow 20 Years, and
died the 26 of Oct: 1645, in the 80th Year of her age, and is
buried at the feet of her 2d Husband.
In their Lives they were lovely, & in their Deaths they were
not divided. 2 Sam. i. 23.
1625, Clement Corbet, LL. D.
1661, John Mills, LL. B. created doctor of laws at Oxford, Jan. 5,
1648. He was one of the visitors, and canon of Christ-church,
and had been lately judge advocate of the Parliament army;
but in 1651, denying the oath called the engagement, he was
turned out; and on March 13, 1659, was restored to his canonry
by the rump parliament, with the secluded members added to
them; but on his Majesty's Restoration, was forced to leave it
again; but by the favour of Bishop Reynolds, became chancellor here, and died in or near Doctors Commons in London,
about 1676, having resigned his chancellorship before his death.
1673, Robert Pepper A. M. of Christ's college in Cambridge, junior
proctor of that University, in 1663, incorporated into the University of Oxford the same year; afterwards doctor of laws,
died Nov. 5, 1700, and is buried in the choir on the north side
of the 16th south pillar, against which, there is a monument of
black and white marble, erected with the crest and arms of
Pepper, viz. arg. two bars gul. on a canton az. a cinquefoil
or. Crest, a lion's head erased or, impaling
Dewe or Deaw, erm. three griffins heads erased or.
A cut of which monument, inscribed to John Moore, Esq. late principal register of Norwich, is in the Repertorium at p. 51, with this
Hic in Christo dormit
Robertus Pepper LL Doctor
E stirpe Cuthberti Pepper
Equitis Aurati, de Aulâ Farington
In Comitaû Dunelmensi
Et è Familiâ Widdringtonorum
Annos circiter triginta
Vicarij in Spiritualibus Generalis,
Magnâ cum Laude functus est munere,
Duas Uxores Duxit,
Filiam Gulielmi Brooke, Mercatores honesti,
Alteram Eleonoram, Filiam Lumlœi Deaw
De Bishops-Upton, in Agro Herefordiensi, Armigeri,
Quæ, compluribus Annis, cum Marito feliciter transactis
Pietatis Ergo conjugalis, fecit hoc Monumentum,
At perennius multo condidere,
Animi Probitas, Eleemosynæ,
Pietas, ac Prudentia singularis.
Obijt V. die Novembris An°. Dni MDCC.
Ætatis suæ LXIII.
In the south isle, on the back side of the said pillar, is a stone thus
To the Pious Memory of MARY PEPPER, the loving and
beloved Wife of ROB. PEPPER, Dr. of Laws, and Chancellor
of this Diocese, one of the Daughters of Will. Brooke, of the
City of Norwich merchant, who had Issue, two Sons and four
Daughters, and departed this Life the 27th of April, 1676, at the
four & thirtieth Year of her Age.
On another stone there.
Hic jacet Robertus Pepper, Filius Roberti & Eleanoræ, Uxoris
Charissimæ, natus 24° Aprilis 1683, denatus 1° Julij 1684.
1700, Thomas Tanner, D. D. was eldest son of Thomas Tanner, vicar
of Market-Lavington in Wiltshire, where he was born Jan. 25, 1673,
was entered in Queen's college Oxford, in Nov. 1689, made chaplain
of All-Souls college in Jan. 1694, elected fellow there Nov. 2, 1696; (fn. 37)
made chancellor of Norwich in March 1700, rector of Thorp by Norwich, June 1706; prebendary of Ely, Sept. 10, 1713; archdeacon of
Norfolk in Dec. 1721; and in Jan. 1723, upon resigning his prebend
of Ely, was made canon of Christ-Church in Oxford; prolocutor
to the convocation in 1727, and Bishop of St. Asaph in Jan. 1731.
He married first, Rose, daughter to Bishop Moore, (fn. 38) by whom he
had no issue that survived him. Secondly, Frances, daughter of
Mr. Jacob Preston, (fn. 39) by whom he left only one son and heir, the Rev.
Mr. Thomas Tanner, late of Christ-Church, in Oxford, (to whom I must
own myself much obliged for his encouragement given to this Work,)
rector of St. Edmund the King in London, and of Mestham in Surrey,
now married to Mary Potter, third daughter to the present Archbishop
2d, Eliz. Scottow of Thorp, who survived him, and is now
remarried to Rob. Britiffe, Esq. late recorder of Norwich.
He died at Christ-Church, on the 14th day of Dec. 1735, and was
buried in the nave or middle isle, near the pulpit, for whom there is a
monument fixed to one of the south pillars, near his grave, with a just
and true character of this worthy prelate;
Thomæ Tanner, S. T. P.
Qui Natus Lavingtoniæ in Agro Wiltoniensi
In Collegium Reginense admissus,
Deinde Omnium Animarum Capellanus,
Mox Socius exoptatus est,
Optimarum ibi artium Cultor,
Antiquitatis item studio ita trahebatur,
Ut in Patriæ Fastis, monumentisque eruendis,
Nemo illo diligentior,
Nemo in explicandis peritior haberetur;
Hinc maturè evocatus,
Ad Munus Cancellarij Dioceseös Nordovicensis,
Auctus est, insuper prebenda Eliensi,
Academiæ denuò restitutus,
Hanc ædem Canonicus ornaret,
A Clero interim Prolocutor renunciatus,
Ad Episcopatum tandem, erectus est Asaphensem;
Ad omne Officium summâ Fide et Diligentiâ,
Humanissimâ erga omnes voluntate,
Liberalitate in Egenos effusissimâ.
Obijt 14° die Decembris Anno Domini 1735.
He bequeathed a valuable treasure of antiquities to the Bodleian
Library, and gave many charitable legacies; among which, 100l. to
the Society of Widows and Orphans of the poor Clergy.
The seal of his chancellor's office was an effigies of Justice in a
sitting posture, holding a Bible in one hand, and a pair of scales in
the other, and under her was the paternal coat of
Tanner, arg. three blackamoors heads cooped proper, filleted gul.
And round it,
Sigillum Cancellariatva. Diæceseos. Norwicensis. 1700.
In 1737, the Society of Antiquaries at London (of which he was a
member,) published an excellent good copper plate of him, with his
Notitia Monastica, which we hope to see soon republished, with many
additions; Boston of Bury, &c. lying by him,
On the promotion of Dr. Tanner to the diocese of St. Asaph,
Dr. Robert Nash, the present chancellor, was appointed by Dr.
Baker, then Bishop, to this office; and that he may long continue in
it, is the earnest wish of the author, who would be guilty of the highest ingratitude, should he pass by the many encouragements received
from him, without due thanks and proper acknowledgment.
He was born at Trinity Minories in London, being son of Mr.
Samuel Nash, merchant and Lydia, his wife, daughter of Captain
Rob. Cowley of Waltham-Stow in the county of Essex; was educated
at Merchant-Taylors School; thence admitted of Wadham College in
Oxford, was elected fellow of that college, and in the year 1734, was
created doctor of laws, having been chancellor here ever since
Jan, 27, 1731.
His arms are,
Nash, az. on a chevron between three doves heads erased arg. a
pellet between four cross-croslets sab.
Archdeacons of Norwich.
1. 1101, Osbert the archdeacon.
2. 1107, Ric. de Bella-Fugo, or Beaufo, son of William de Beaufo
Bishop of Thetford, whose son, Alan de Bella-Fago or Beaufo, seems
to have succeeded him, but not being positive of that, do not insert
him as archdeacon.
3. 1115, Ibrardus, chaplain to Bishop Herbert; he was Bishop afterwards, and was called Eborard or Everard, &c.; see p. 473.
4. 1124, William Fitz Humphry.
5. 1149, Roger.
6. 1174, Staingrun, Stengrinus, or Tengrinus, chaplain to Bishop
Turb, and the year following, archdeacon of Norfolk.
7. 1180, Reinerus.
8. 1194, Ralf de Wyken, xiii. kal. Dec.
9. 1197, John, who was a witness to the foundation deed of Shuldham
10. 1198, Thomas, on whose death, in
11. 1200, The see being void, the King gave this archdeaconry to
Jeffery de Burgo or Burgh brother to Hubert de Burgh, Earl of
Kent, the King's chamberlain, and after, chief justice of England;
and in 1202, presented him to the rectory of Burnham in Bucks.
And in 1219, he was chosen Bishop of Ely, but was set aside by
the Pope, till 1225, when he was re-elected, and consecrated to that
see, and died Bishop thereof in 1229.
Many have erred in making this archdeacon to be killed by order
of King John, and the errour proceeded from his name being
Jeffery, and from his being called Norwicensis, or of Norwich;
whereas it was Jeffery archdeacon of Norfolk, in the church of
12. 1218, Luke, chaplain to the Bishop, succeeded him; he was dean
of St. Martin le Grand, and about 1230 was elected Bishop of
Dublin in Ireland.
13. 1231, Florence, sub-deacon, and chaplain to the Pope.
14. 1235, John de Ferentine, the Pope's chamberlain, on the death of
Bishop Ralf, was declared bishop elect by the Pope, as Simon de
Elmham was by the monks; but the King insisted that neither
should be Bishop, and so he was set aside; but had divers rectories
and preferments in the church.
15. 1239, Simon de Cantetupe a Norman, called often Simon Norman,
chancellor, and one of the great favourites of Henry III. a close
friend to the Pope's legates, was removed from all his preferments
except this archdeaconry, in 1240.
16. 1249, Giles de Rous.
17. 1251, William de Calthorp, alias Suffield, brother to Bishop Suffield (see p. 486.)
18. 1272, Thomas de Skerning, brother to the Bishop; in 1296, was
appointed one of the auditors of the King's court at Westminster, (fn. 40) to
hear complaints against sheriffs, escheators, or any of the King's
bailiffs or ministers
19. 1301, 4 Feb. Will. de Knapton, LL. D.
20. 1320, 16 Apr. Roger de Snetesham, rector of great Cressingham.
21. 1320, 8 Dec. Will. Bateman, LL. D. who was afterwards Bishop;
see p. 506.
22. 1340, 6 Jan. Thomas Fastolff, of the ancient Norfolk family of
that name, from which the famous Sir John Fastolff afterwards
descended. In 1332, he was rector of Stalham in 1344, was at
Rome with Bishop Bateman, (see p. 507,) where he gat the prebend
of Buckden in the church of Lincoln, to which he was admitted by
the Pope's provision in 1345. Afterwards he had the rectories of
Redham and Burgh in Flegg; and in 1353, was made Bishop of St.
David's, and enjoyed that see to his death in 1361.
23. 1349, 27 Aug. Ric. de Lyng, D. D. chancellor of the diocese;
see p. 632.
24. 1355, 9 April Ric. de Norwico, or Norwich, was presented by the
King, on account of the vacancy of the see, he being then prebendary of Mapesbury in the church of St. Paul in London, of the same
King's gift, whose chaplain he was. (Newcourt, vol. i. 174.)
25. 1361, 17 Oct. Sir William de Swynflet, some time rector of Hingham, and chancellor; (see p. 515;) he was prebend of Esh in the
collegiate church of Langcestre in Dunholme diocese, and changed
those preferments for this archdeaconry, in
26. 1387, 27 March, with John Derlington, doctor of the decrees, and
chancellor. (See p. 632.)
27. 1407, 12 Nov. Master Will. de Westacre, rector of Watlington, and
afterwards chancellor. (See p. 632.) He was born at Westacre in
Norfolk, and was educated in the priory there, as was Michael de
Westacre, who was presented to the vicarage of Runhal, by the
prior of that house, in 1301. In 1416, he was trustee for the
manor of Pagrave-hall, and dying in 1418, was buried before the
altar of St. John the Baptist and Evangelist in the conventual
church of Westacre, according to his own special desire.
He died at his house in St. Edmund's parish in Norwich, which he
had purchased of his predecessor, Master John Derlington, and
now gave to be sold towards paying his debts; and 20s. to repair
the nave of the church of St. Edmund at Fishersgate in Norwich, and
40s. to the rector of that church, because he would not be buried
there: 5l. for a legendary for the said church, besides a napkin
and diaper towel to the altar.
He gave to St. John's altar at Westacre, his missal, a napkin, and
towel, his best cup and gilt osculatory, with a silver cruel, and red
vestment, for his chaplains to celebrate there for him; to the high
altar at Westacre, his two best silver dishes; to the repair of St.
Nicholas's chapel in Westacre 20s. and 20s. more to the repair of the
chapel of St. Thomas (Becket) the martyr in Westacre field, and to
repair the chapel of St. Peter of Stone (Peterston) 20s.
28. 1419, 11 April, Sir Hen. Kays or Keys was installed by John
Ferrour, chaplain, his proctor.
In 1405, he was rector of Crofston, in the diocese of Litchfield
and Coventry, which he exchanged with Richard Kingeston, for
Fakenham-Market in Norfolk, and was also rector of Great-Massingham; in 1409, clerk of the King's Chancery, and Keeper of the
29. 1428, Ric Cawdrey or Cowdray.
30. 1455, John Halse.
31. 1463, Clement Vincent.
32. 1468, Lyonel Wydevil.
33. 1474, John Morton, LL. D. who exchanged for the archdeaconry
of Norfolk in
34. 1476, 20 Jan. with Thomas Marke, rector of Hardwick and Massingham.
35. 1483, Nicholas Goldwell, brother to Bishop Goldwell; for whom
see p. 542,633; he resigned in 1497.
36. 1497, 20 April, Rob. Honywood, LL. D. chancellor. See p. 633.
37. 1508, 14 June, John Ednam, D. D.
38. 1516, 15 Febr. Will. Stillington, doctor of decrees, on Ednam's
death; he resigned it for Norfolk archdeaconry.
39. 1522, 9 April, Thomas Larke; he resigned in
40. 1528, 26 June, when George Wyndham was installed; who, in
1512, was instituted rector of Danbury in Essex; in 1529, master of
Rushworth college; and in 1531, became precentor of St. Paul's
in London, which became void with the archdeaconry at his death;
in 1543, he was presented by the Duke of Norfolk, who had obtained a grant of the turn of the advowson of this archdeaconry.
41. 1543, 25 Nov. Thomas Cornwalleys, priest, rector of Thrandeston
in Suffolk, brother of Sir. John Cornwalleys, Knt. was collated by
his brother as assignee to the Bishop. He died in
42. 1557, 16 Oct. and Ric. Underwood, nephew to John Underwood,
suffragan to Bishop Nix, (see p. 546,) domestick chaplain to Bishop
Rugg, and rector of South-Walsham, was presented by James Underwood, who in 1543, had obtained a grant of the next turn of
this archdeaconry from Bishop Rugg. On his death in
43. 1571, 14 March, Tho. Roberts, or Roberds, A. M. was installed.
He was of Oriel college in Oxford, proctor of that University,
rector of Dickleburgh. Had a suit with his successour Gardiner,
for the archdeaconry, to whom he resigned for a pension for life,
payable out of the archdeaconry.
44. 1573, George Gardiner, D. D. dean of Norwich, for whom see p.
45. 1581, 19 Aug. John Freake or Freke, S. T. B. died Sept. 4, 1604,
and is buried at Purleigh in Essex, being a near relation to the
Bishop, if not brother.
46. 1604. 12 Sept. Tho. Jeggon, D. D. brother to Bishop Jeggon, was
presented to Sible-Hedingham in Essex, by his brother, patron
thereof, in his own right, in 1594. And by the same interest became warden of Benedict college in Cambridge, about 1603, when
the Bishop resigned it; in 1605, King James I. gave him the rectory of Esse or Ashen in Essex, which he resigned in 1607; and
dying possessed of all his other preferments in 1617, he was buried
at Hedingham aforesaid, of which he was patron before his death,
as well as rector, with a stone over him, with this monitory sentence.
Be at Peace among your Selves.
47. 1618, 13 April, Andrew Byng, D. D. was born at Cambridge
about 1574, became fellow of Peter-house, and Hebrew professor in
that University; in 1606, was collated to the sub-deanery of York;
was prebend of Southwell, and died in the grand rebellion.
48. 1660, William Gery, A. M. having published a book intituled
Spiritual Gleanings, &c. died in
49. 1668, and John Reynolds of Merton college in Oxford, brother
and chaplain to Bishop Reynolds, was collated April 20, and was
installed May 25: he was admitted master of arts, July 10, 1629,
and died in
50. 1676, and June 8, John Conant succeeded: who was elected rector of Exeter college in Oxford, in 1649, being then A. M. in 1654,
he was admitted D. D. in a full convocation; in 1662, refusing to
subscribe to the act of conformity, he resigned his rectorship, but
upon better thoughts afterwards, he conformed, and became minister of All-Saints in Northampton, where he was buried about 1694.
He married a daughter of Bishop Reynolds's, by whose interest in
1681, he was made prebend of Worcester: Wood says he was a
learned, pious, and meek divine, but hath published nothing.
51. 1694, 13 April, John Jeffery, D. D. was installed, being collated
on the nomination of the Archbishop, whose option it was. He
was minister of St. Peter's of Mancroft, and in 1700 published,
Proposals to the Reverend Clergy of the Archdeaconry of
Norwich, concerning the reformation of manners, and promoting
the interest of true religion and virtue, together with a specimen of
the assistance they may afford their parishioners for attaining religious knowledge, and exercising Christian devotion, 8vo.
The Religion of the Bible, or a Summary View of the Holy
The Glory of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the participation thereof,
by all true Christians, a Sermon preached at the funeral of Rich.
Warren, Gent. Febr. 9,1703.
A Token for God-Children, being a short Exposition on the
Church Catechism. 1704.
52. 1720, 21 April, Will. Trimnell, S.T.P.
53. 1721, 22 Feb. Christopher Clarke, A. M. on the resignation of
Trimnel; he was prebend of Ely, rector of Keston and Hayes near
Bromley in Kent, member of the incorporated society, for propagating the Gospel in foreign parts, and one of the governors of the
new general hospital at Bath: he died at Marlingford-Hall in
Norfolk; of which town he was lord and patron, (fn. 41) and being a
bachelor, his estate descended to Thomas Green of Grays-Inn, Esq.
52. 1742, July 13, the Rev. Mr. Matthew Postlethwait, M. A.; he was
rector of Denton, and Redenhall, with the chapel of Harleston annexed.
53. The Rev. John Berney, D.D. on the Rev. Mr. Mathew Postlethwait's resignation, installed Oct. 11, 1744.
The donation of this Archdeaconry is, and always was, in the
Bishop of Norwich. It is valued in the King's Books at 71l. 1s. 3d.
and pays 7l. 2s. 1d. ob. yearly tenths; it contains 354 parishes, divided
into 12 deaneries, besides the city of Norwich, which constitutes a
deanery of itself, viz. Blofield, Breccles, Brisley, Flegg, Holt, Ingworth,
Lyn, Sparham, Taverham, Thetford, Toftrees, and Walsingham.
In 1350, King Edward III. granted license in mortmain for a messuage in Norwich, to be settled on the archdeacon of Norwich, and his
successours, for ever; and how it came separated, I do not find; this
archdeacon was always patron of the rectory of the church of St. Matthew the Apostle, by the palace gates, and constantly presented to it
till 1376; and not long after, it was consolidated to the church of St.
Martin at the palace gates, with which it still remains; for which
reason, the spiritual jurisdiction of all the parishioners in the parish,
which live on the side of St. Martin's, or White-Friars bridge, towards
the Market Place, belongs to the Archdeacon, and is not within the
exempt jurisdiction of the dean and chapter, but is the ancient parish
of St. Matthew, belonging to the archdeacon.
Archdeacons of Norfolk.
1. Jeffery the archdeacon, held Helmingham of Bishop Beaufo,
in 1085, and 1090.
2. Adam, chaplain to Bishop Herbert.
3. Baldewyn, in 1147, he was living in 1166, for then John de
Salisbury wrote to him, telling him, the honour he did him in knighting him in the city of Sens in Champaign, as he went to Rome, compelled him now at his return, to remember him with joy and thanks. (fn. 42)
4. Staingrun or Tengrin, 1175, some time archdeacon of Norwich. (See p. 638.)
5. Walter, 1190.
6. Thomas, 1195.
7. 1198, Jeffery de Bocland, chaplain to the Bishop, and treasurer to
King John; he forsook his master after he was excommunicated by
the Pope, openly declaring that it was unlawful for any persons, and
especially for the clergy, to obey him in any thing; (fn. 43) upon which
he absented himself from his office, without license, but being seized
by the King's officers in 1209, by the King's order he was put into
a sheet of lead, by the pressure of which, and for want of sustenance,
he died. (fn. 44)
8. Robert de Gloucestre, 1209, 1219.
9. Martin de Pateshull was archdeacon in 1226. In 1218, he
was the King's justice itinerant, in 1224, he resigned the church of
Dillon in the diocese of Hereford, was prebendary of Cadington
minor, and at last, dean of St. Paul's, in 1228; he died Nov. 14,
1229, being a person of wonderful prudence, and very skilled in the
national laws, as Newcourt informs us, vol. i. fo. 35.
10. 1230, Rob. de Bilney, chancellor; see p. 216.
11. 1237, 21 May, Simon de Steillard, (fn. 45) was presented by the King, on
the death of Bilney, the see being void by Bishop Blumville's death.
12. 1237, Ralf de Blumville, rector of Thornham in Norfolk, a near
relation, if not brother to the Bishop of that name; in 1237, he had
two carucates of land in Glemham settled on him for life, by
Stephen, prior of Thetford, and the year before, on a suit brought
against him for Thornham church, he pleaded that he held it of the
gift of Tho. de Blumville Bishop of Norwich.
13. 1252, Walter de London, chaplain to the Pope.
14. 1263, Nic. de Plumpton, chaplain to the Pope, and rector of Dene
in Exeter diocese.
15. 1267, Alan de Freston, who this year purchased the advowson of
the rectory of Corston, of Robert le Burser of London, lord there; (fn. 46)
and got it to be settled by fine on Roger de Skerning Bishop of
Norwich, and himself and successours, and the Bishop consolidated
and appropriated it for ever, to the archdeaconry, with which it
remains at this day. In 1281, he was official and commissary (fn. 47) to
John Archbishop of Canterbury.
16. 1297, Tho. de Kerdeston, of the ancient knightly family of the
Kerdestones of Kerdestone in Norfolk, was this year, as archdeacon,
deputed by the Bishop, to collect 3d. in every mark sterling, according to Walter's taxation, which was then levied for the Pope's
use; he died about 1326, (fn. 48) having resigned the archdeaconry, and was
interred before the Holy-cross altar in the abbey church at Langley
17. 1326, 2 Feb. Adam de Ayremine, chancellor; see p.503.
18. 1335, 16 April, John de Newland, rector of Cressingham-Magna.
19. 1335, 15 June, Rob. de Usflet, chancellor; see p. 631.
20. 1359, 22 March, Will. de Blithe, rector of Great Cressingham, in
1362, he obtained license to enlarge his rectory-house at Corston,
and to settle an acre of land on that church. (fn. 49) He died in 1374,
leaving his brothers, John de Blithe lord of Corston, Hugh de Blithe,
and Will. de Swynflet, archdeacon of Norwich, his executors: (fn. 50)
21. 1373, 13 March, Robert de Prees.
22. 1374, 13 March, John de Freton, rector of Great Snoring, who in
1366, was presented by the King, to All-Hallows-Staining in London, but it had no effect. In 1370, was made prebendary of the
prebend of Ealdland in St. Paul's, having been the year before instituted to Snoring, which he held till 1375, he was presented by the
King, the see being void.
23. 1385, 15 Sept. Rich. de Mitford or Medford, priest, the Bishop's
chaplain, was admitted on Freton's death, being presented by the
King, with whom he was in so much favour, that he was for his
sake imprisoned in the castle of Bristol, by the Barons, but afterwards was not only delivered, but by the Pope's interest preferred to
the bishoprick of Chichester in 1389; and about five years after, was
translated to Salisbury, where he died in 1407. Upon his first promotion, he voided this archdeaconry, and in
24. 1389, 26 Nov. James Dardani, an Italian, at the request of Pope
Boniface IX. was by King Richard II. out of his especial grace
and favour, (but not to be drawn into an example, it being done in
parliament with great cantion,) licensed to hold this archdeaconry, (fn. 51)
he being clerk of the apostolick chamber, nuncio, and collector to
the Pope in England; but claiming it afterwards by the Pope's
provision, he was ousted; and in
25. 1390, 11 April, John de Midleton was collated, but was forced to
resign the same year.
26. 1391, Dardani recovered his archdeaconry, and on the 25th of
March, was ordained to all the holy orders by the Bishop of London, by letters demissory from the Bishop of Norwich, at the title
of his archdeaconry. (fn. 52)
27. 1398, 20 Nov. Ralf de Selby, LL. D.
28. 1398, 28 Jan. John de Midleton, was admitted again at the King's
29. 1309, 29 Oct. Tho. Longeley.
30. 1408, 30 Aug. John Macworth.
31. 1409, John Prophete alias Prosete. He was deprived by Pope
32. 1412, 1 July Richard Derham, D. D.; he died in 1417.
33. 1419, 21 July, William Sponne, rector of Hevingham and Blofield, which last rectory he resigned to the Bishop in his oratory at
Thorp, conditionally, that if he was admitted to the archdeaconry,
and Corston annexed, then Blofild was to be void, otherwise not.
34. 1448, 14 Febr. John Halse, D. D. on Sponne's death; he voided
it on his promotion to the bishoprick of Litchfield and Coventry, in
1459, died Sept. 30, 1420, and was buried in his own cathedral, being
a great benefactor to Oriel college in Oxford, of which he was master. He is called by some Hales, and was archdeacon of Norwich.
35. 1459, 23 Nov. Tho. Marke, archdeacon of Norwich. See among
36. 1476, 20 Jan. John Morton, LL. D. by way of exchange with
37. 1478, 27 Febr. Oliver Dynham, A.M.
38. 1500, 16 Nov. Christopher Urswyck, LL. D. on Dynham's death,
collated by the Archbishop, the see being void.
39. 1522, 6 April, Will. de Stillington on Urswyk's death, late archdeacon of Norwich.
40. Thomas Winter.
41. 1529, 1 March, Stephen Gardiner, LL. D. on Winter's resignation,
was presented by the Duke of Norfolk, who had got a grant of this
turn from the Bishop. I take it this was the same man who was
named Bishop of Winchester in 1531, though he was not consecrated
till 1554; for in March 1531, he resigned this archdeaconry; his
life occurs in Godwin, p. 298.
42. 1531, 2 April, William Newton. He lived in the archdeacon's
house at Corston, in 1546.
43. Alex. Carew, died March 10, 1551, and was succeeded by
44. Mathew Carew, who was but 21 years old when he was
made archdeacon, being dispensed with by the Archbishop, if he
entered into priest's orders in three years time: in 1565, being then
doctor of laws, and rector of Shencock in Exeter diocese, he travelled with Henry Earl of Arundel, by whose interest he was
indulged thus far; for in the metropolitical visitation in 1569, he was
returned among those not in orders.
45. 1587. 2 April, Richard Stokes, the Queen by lapse.
46. 1619, 18 Dec. Francis Mason, was born in the county palatine of
Durham. being son of a poor plebeian; he began to be conversant
with the Oxonians in the year 1583 and of his age 17, and making
hard shift till he was bachelor of arts; in 1586, was elected probationer fellow of Merton college; after he had proceeded in his
faculty, he took holy orders, became rector of Sudbourne cum Orford in Suffolk, and was made chaplain to King James I. who
usually styled him a wise builder in God's house; he died Dec.
1621, and lies buried in the chancel of his church at Orford; having
The Authority of the Church, in making Canons and Constitutions
concerning things indifferent, &c. a Sermon preached at London
1607, Oxford 1634, quarlo, 1 Cor. xiv. 40. From which, as also
from the Epistle Dedicatory, made to his patron, Richard Archbishop of Canterbury, it appears, that the author was a zealous conformist to the church of England.
Two Sermons preached at court concerning David's adultery; and
his publick practices, on 2 Sam. 12, verse 13; Lond. 1621, Oct.
But that which worthily got him the name of Vindex Ecclesia Anglicanæ, was his book intituled the Vindication of the Church of
England, concerning the consecration and ordination of the bishops,
&c. as also of the ordination of priests and deacons, in five books,
Lond. 1613, folio, composed by way of conference, between Philodox,
a seminary priest of the church of Rome, and Orthodox, a minister of
the church of England. From which book it appears, that the author
was a general-read scholar, thorough-paced in the councils, and all
sorts of histories, whether divine, civil, or profane.
The next year, as a grateful son, he sent a copy of it to be reposed
in the library of his tender parent, Merton college, with this note
at the end of it, written with his own hand.
"Whereas Mr. (Tho.) Fitz-Herbert, hath lately sent a book from
Rome, against the most Rev. (Lancelot Andrews) Bishop of Ely, to
which he hath annexed an appendix concerning the records and
registers by me produced, desiring that some of their discreet Catholicks might view and consider whether they be true or counterfeit:
Know therefore, that upon the 12 of this present May, An. 1614,
his Grace of Canterbury, sent for Mr. (John) Colleton the archpriest, (Thomas) Leake a secular priest, as also one Jesuit called
(Thomas) Lathwait, &c. and shewed unto them the register, and
other records of his predecessor Mathew Parker, which they perused
over and over, and found that the said Parker was (see p. 307,)
consecrated in Lambeth chapel (and not at the Naggs head in
Cheapside) by certain bishops that hath been ejected in Queen Mary's
This book of the Vindication of the Church of England afterwards
came to the hands of Anthony Champney, an Englishman born, a
Roman Catholick priest, and doctor of the Sorbon, and was by him
answered in English, and dedicated to George Archbishop of Canterbury, not without some scoffs and reproaches given him in the epistle.
But afterwards, Champney recollecting himself, thought he had not
sufficiently consulted his own reputation, by publishing the answer in
English, wherefore he translated it into Latin (intit. Tractatus de Vocatione Ministrorum, Paris. 1618, oct.) that this his pretended victory
over Mason might be spread over all Europe. Soon after, our author to
be even with him, translated his own book also, and intituled it (Vindiciæ
Ecclesiæ Anglicanæ, &c. and therein interweaves answers, to Thomas
Fitz-Herbert, priest, Henry Fitz-Simons, Jesuit, Dr. Mat. Kellison,
A. Champney, &c. and withal dedicated it to Henry de Gondy Bishop
of Paris, without any aspersions thrown upon him. This he did in
1619, but died before he could print it: whereupon, at the desire of
the Archbishop of Canterbury, Dr. Nathaniel Brent, warden of Merton college, reviewed it, examined the quotations, compared them
with the originals, and printed the copy as he had found it under the
author's hand, an. 1625, fo. which was reprinted at London in 1646.
47. 1621, Oct. 28, Tho. Muriel, A. M. vicar of Soham in Cambridgeshire, afterwards vicar of Hildersham in that county, where he died
in Oct. 1629, and was buried there.
48. 1629, Oct. 28, Writhington White, vicar of Benhall in Suffolk.
49. 1631, Sept. 23, Robert White, B. D. rector of Easton in Huntingdonshire, died in the time of the Usurpation.
50. 1660, Aug. 24, Philip Tennison, D. D. In 1642, he was instituted to Wethersfield vicarage in Essex, and was after rector of
Hetherset and Foulsham in Norfolk, but in the Rebellion was ejected
by the then usurping powers, though he lived to be restored to
Foulsham; he was born in the isle of Ely, brought up at Trinity
college in Cambridge; died Jan. 15, 1660, and lies buried in the
church of Bawburgh by Norwich. (fn. 53) He had a grant of arms from
the office in 1660, viz.
Sab. a fess embattled, in chief three doves arg. Crest, a dove
arg. holding a red rose on a branch in its mouth, leaved proper.
51. 1660, Febr. 15, Edward Reynolds A. M. son to Bishop Reynolds;
he was prebend of Worcester, rector of King's-Thorp in Northamptonshire, and doctor of divinity (See p. 585.)
52. 1698, July 20, Charles Trimnel D. D. on Reynold's death, afterwards Bishop. (See fo. 592.)
53. 1707, March 11, Robert Canon, D. D. on the promotion of Trimnel to the see, was nominated to this archdeaconry: he was rector
of Southmere in Norfolk, of Bluntesham in Huntingdonshire, prebend of the first stall in Ely cathedral, and dean of Lincoln. (See
54. 1721, Dec. 7, Thomas Tanner S. T. P. on Canon's resignation.
(See among the chancellors, p. 636.)
55. 1731, Dr. John Baron, afterwards Dean. (See p. 630.)
56. 1734, Nov. 22, the Rev. Samuel Salter, D. D. the present archdeacon, was collated by the Bishop, on the resignation of John
Baron, D. D. He is also prebendary of the church of Norwich,
rector of Bramerton in Norfolk, and curate of the parishes of St.
George in Colegate, and St. Saviour in the said city.
This Archdeaconry is in the donation of the Bishop of Norwich,
is valued (with Corston annext) at 143l. 8s. 4d. is chargeable with
first fruits, and pays 14l. 6s. 10d. yearly tenths.
In the year 1250, it had 443 parishes, and now there are reckoned
446, which with Norwich archdeaconry, includes the whole county
of Norfolk, (except some exempts,) and contain together 800
parishes, there being in this archdeaconry, the Deaneries of Brooke,
Burnham, Cranewise, Depwade, Fincham, Hingham, Hecham, Humbleyard, Redenhall, Reppes, Rockland, and Waxtenesham or Waxham.
Archdeacons of Sudbury.
This Archdeaconry was included in that of Suffolk, till the time
of Eborard Bishop of Norwich, who about 1125 divided it into two
archdeaconries, and in
1. 1126, appointed Will. Fitz-Humfry the first archdeacon, who was
alive in 1146.
2. 1142, Roger Pincerna, Butiler, or Butler, afterwards archdeacon
3. 1195, Thomas was archdeacon; but when he came to it doth not
4. 1224, Alan de Beccles, he was also chancellor.
5. 1243, Will. de Clare.
6. 1266, Thomas de Ingaldesthorp; he was rector of Pegham in the
diocese of Chichester, prebend of Newington in the church of St.
Paul; resigned this for the archdeaconry of Middlesex; and in
1276, was dean of London, called dean of St. Paul's, and rector of
Lambourn in Salisbury diocese; and in 1283, Bishop of Rochester,
where he died, May 11, 1291, and was buried in that cathedral,
near the altar, on the south side, with the character of a merry,
facetious, hospitable, and praiseworthy man.
He was born at Ingaldesthorp in Norfolk, and was of the ancient
knightly family of that name, which first assumed their sirname
from that village. (fn. 54)
7. 1268, Constantine de Mildenhall, collector of the tenths granted
to the King.
8. 1279, Ralf de Fornham.
9. 1308, April, 1 Alan de Ely, rector of Blofield, archdeacon of Suffolk in 1324. (See p. 497.)
10. 1324, April 9, Roger de Snetesham on Ely's resignation.
11. 1324, April 20, Simon de Creik or Creke, LL. D.
12. 1329, Jan. 16, Firmin de Lavenham. (See p. 631.)
13. 1346, Aug. 31, Gilbert de Marewell.
14. 1347, Rich de Lyng. (See p. 632.)
15. 1359, Aug. 27, Walter de Elveden. LL. D. on Lyng's resignation.
16. 1349, Tho de Winchester, resigned.
17. 1349, 8 Dec. Thomas de Methelwold. Ibid.
18. 1350, Jan. 3, Henry le Zouch.
19. 1361, Jan. 7, William Graa of Trusthorp, rector of Whetacreburgh, and afterwards archdeacon of Suffolk.
20. 1366, John Hameldon or Hambledon.
21. 1386, Thomas Green, a great favourite with John of Gaunt, whom
he attended into Spain.
22. 1387, Aug. 10, Hugh Sturmy, presented by the King; and recovered it against Henry de Gaudeby, clerk, by the King's writ.
23. 1389, Thomas de Hedyrsete, LL. D. chancellor of Cambridge,
prebend of Recefen and Gillingham in the church of Salisbury,
which he exchanged for this archdeaconry, in
24. 1398, with Richard Maudelein or Maudelyn, rector of Swaffham,
and the King's chaplain, who exchanged it again in Dec.
25. 1398, with Thomas de Hedyrsete aforesaid, who was then official
to the Bishop of Ely, rector of Gillingham and Hese, a peculiar to
the church of Canterbury; he died in 1405, and was buried in the
church of the Austin-Friars at Clare in Suffolk.
26. 1411, Roger Wodehale chaplain to King Henry IV. who gave him
27. 1413, King Henry V. gave this and Huntingdon archdeaconry,
to Master Eudo de la Zouche, prebend of Nassington in Lincoln
cathedral, who resigned it the same year.
28. 1413, Mar. 13, to Tho. Rudbourn, D. D. of Oxford, proctor of that
University, in 1402, and chancellor in 1420, warden of Merton college, and afterwards Bishop of St. David, by the King's interest,
who would have had him translated to Ely, but could not accomplish it. Pitts, fo. 599, gives him an excellent character, to which
Godwin, p. 612, agrees, allowing him to have been a great divine,
and mathematician, famous for his polite style, and universal
knowledge in history, as the Chronicle, and the book of Epistles,
which he published, evidently demonstrate. He flourished in the
reigns of Henry IV. V. and VI. and exchanged this archdeaconry
for the Deanery of the collegiate church of Tamworth in
29. 1429, April 29, with Clement Chark, alias Denston, bachelor of
the decrees, a great favourite of Bishop Alnwyk, and adversary to
the abbot of Bury; see p. 532.
He was rector of Hemgrave, lord of the manor of Westwode, and
rector of Rickinghall Inferior.
There occurs much in the Register called Curteys, belonging to
the abbey of Bury, fo. 224, 8, &c. to his discredit; but it appears
to be only malice, for his acting with the Bishop against them.
He was prebend of Keton in St. Martin's le Grand, which he
changed for Tamworth college deanery, was also rector of Burwell
St. Mary, which he resigned in 1439.
30. 1452. May 24, John Saresson alias Wygenhale, chancellor. (See
31. 1462, John Selot.
32. 1479, Sept. 9, Nicholas Goldwell, the Bishop's brother. (See p.
33. 1483, John Jeffry, rector of Rinton in Litchfield diocese.
34. 1493, Dec. 3, Thomas Shenkwyn, LL. D. master of St. Giles's
hospital in Norwich, died in 1497.
35. 1497, Dec. 14, John Fyners, LL. B. he is buried under a stone
towards the east end of the north isle of the church of St. Mary
in Bury St. Edmund's, with this still remaining on a brass plate,
Subiacet hic Stratus, John finers sir bocitatus,
Archidiaconus quondam Subburie fatus.
It is printed wrong in Weaver, fo. 731, and in the common
catalogues he is called Finneys.
36. 1514, April 3, William Stillington; he was archdeacon of Norwich
37. 1516, Febr. 5, Thomas Larke resigned.
38. 1522, April 9, Ric. Wolman, doctor in the decrees, died in 1537. (fn. 55)
39. 1537, Dec. 21, Miles Spencer, LL. D. chancellor: see p. 633.
40. 1569, March 2, Thomas Aldrich, A. M. proctor of the University
of Cambridge, master of Bennet college, and rector of Hadleigh in
41. 1576, March 6, John Still, D. D. he was son of William Still of
Grantham in Lincolnshire, rector of Hadleigh in Suffolk, and while
so, was commissioned one of the Deans of Bocking, in 1572; was
installed canon in the 7th stall in the church of Westminster in
1573: he was also master of St. John's, then of Trinity college;
from whence he was promoted to the see of Bath and Wells, to
which he was consecrated in Feb. 1592, when he voided this archdeaconry; he died in Feb. 1607, and was buried in his church of
Wells, under a handsome tomb, leaving 500l. for an alms-house in
Wells (fn. 56)
42. 1592, July 15, Tertullian Pyne, LL. D. on the promotion of Still.
He was an Oxonian, in which University he took his degree of bachelor of arts, and travelling beyond sea, was made doctor of laws
in the University of Basil.
43. 1599, Oct. 6, Cuthbert Norris, D. D. vicar of Shudicampes, which
he voided in 1589; being also fellow of Trinity college in Cambridge.
44. 1621. Dec. 31, Theophilus Kent, A. M. prebend of Gates in Chichester, he was a sufferer for the royal cause, and died in the grand
45. 1660, Aug. 7, Anthony Sparrow, D. D. Bishop here; see p. 586.
46. 1667, Sept. 5, John Spencer, D. D. rector of Land-beach in Cambridgeshire, was preferred by the King to this archdeaconry; and
in 1677, was installed Dean of Ely; he was master also of Bennet
college in Cambridge, where he died May 27, 1693, and is interred
in the chapel there, under a marble thus inscribed,
Hic jacet, Qui Magnum adeo sui apud Bonos, et Rempub: literariam reliquit desiderium, Vir rarissimæ Munificentiæ, pariter ac
Eruditionis, Johannes Spencer S. T. P. Ecclesiæ Eliensis Decanus, Archidiaconus Sadburiensis, et hujus Collegij Præfectus; Qui
obijt 27° die Maij. Anno Dom. 1793, Ætatis 63. Præfecturæ 26.
He was one of the most learned men of his time, as his works
(lately republished) evidently testify. He erected the marble font
in Ely cathedral, and gave 200l. for plate and ornaments to that
church. There is an excellent copperplate of him extant.
47. 1699, June 14 Nic. Claget, A. M. on Spencer's death.
48. 1726, March 16, Brampton Gurdon, A. M. on Dr. Claget's death.
He was rector of St. Edmund the King in Lumbard Street, vicar of
Dewham in Middlesex, and died in Nov. 1741, leaving many
treatises extant; he was succeeded by
49. The Rev. John Chapman, D. D. late of King's college Cambridge, who is the present archdeacon, and hath published, Eusebius
in two volumes, against the Moral Philosopher; a sermon preached
Jan. 31, 1743, &c.
This Archdeaconry is in the donation of the Bishop of Norwich,
and is valued at 76l. 9s. 4d. q. is chargeable with first fruits, and
pays 7l. 12s. 11d. q. yearly tenths. There were in it, 224 parishes,
and according to the Parochiale, there are 247, included in the eight
Deaneries, which belong to it; viz. Blackbourn, Clare, Fordham, in
Suffolk and Cambridgeshire, Hartesmere, Stow, Sudbury, Thedwastre,
and Thinghoe. (See p. 557.)
Archdeacons of Suffolk.
1. Alured, in the time of Bishop Herbert, and was alive in
2. Staingrun or Tengrin; he resigned it for Norfolk archdeaconry, and was some time archdeacon of Norwich.
3. Ric. de Bella-fago or Beaufoe, some time archdeacon of
Norwich, (see p. 638,) was by Bishop Eborard, at the request of
Arthur, the Bishop's brother, made archdeacon of the whole county
of Suffolk, the archdeaconry of Sudbury being included in it, till
upon this archdeacon's promotion to a bishoprick in France, (fn. 57) the
Bishop divided it into two archdeaconries, and gave the greater part,
or Suffolk archdeaconry, to
4. Walkeline his nephew, who was witness to a deed of Bishop
Eborard's about 1136, and to another of Bishop Turb's about 1149,
but he had resigned this archdeaconry before, for,
5. Roger Pincerna Botiler or le Butler (archdeacon of Sudbury)
was archdeacon here in 1146.
6. 1171. William.
7. 1180, Jeffery de Derham, vicar of Fulmodeston about 1190; he is
sometimes called archdeacon of Ipswich; he died in 1195.
8. 1195, John.
9. 1206, Robert de Tiwe or Tiwa.
10. 1238, Adam de Walpole, chancellor.
11. Master Alexander de Walpole.
12. 1244, Roger de Blumville, a relation to the Bishop.
13. 1244, Roger de Butilkell.
14. 1248, William de Suffield, archdeacon of Norwich, &c. (see p.
15. 1249, Master William de Horham.
16. 1257, William de Dunton or Duncomb.
17. 1261. Master John de Alveschirche, chancellor.
18. 1282, Thomas Lenebaud was lord of several manors in Norfolk
and Suffolk; he resigned.
19. 1285, Master Thomas de Middleton, a relation to the Bishop of
20. 1296, Master Thomas de Skerning, a relation to the Bishop of
21. 1298, Master Saer de - - - - -
22. 1311, Jan. 14, Simon de Ely; see p. 497.
23. 1324, March 27, Alan de Ely, (see p. 497,) late archdeacon of
24. 1324, April 16, William de Knapton, he was also archdeacon of
25. 1331, March 30, John de Fenton, LL. D. chancellor. By his
will dated in 1346, he ordered to be buried, if he died in his archdeaconry, in the conventual church of the Holy Trinity at Ipswich;
and founded a chaplain in St. Margaret's church there, to pray for
him, his parents, William Bishop of Norwich, and all his benefactors, for two years; and if he died out of his archdeaconry, then to
be buried in St. Martin's church at Stilton in Lincolnshire, in St.
Catherine's chapel there, by the body of his father; 5 wax tapers
to be set at his grave, and 200 poor people to be fed at his burial;
to Fenton church 10s.; to Margaret de Wellington his sister 20s.;
to Sir William his brother 40s.; to John his son two marks; to Sir
Richard de Fentone 20s. &c. (fn. 58) Sir Hen. de Fenton, priest, and Sir
Rich. Bozoun, rector of Stilton, had legacies.
This will was proved at Lincoln in June 1347, and at Norwich
the May before, by which it seems that he died at his house in
Ipswich, and was buried there.
26. 1347, May 3, Richard de Lyng, D. D. (See p. 632.)
27. 1348, Michael de Northburgh, LL. D. the King's secretary, prebendary of Lyn in the church of Salisbury, which he exchanged
for a canonry in the church of Hereford, and the deanery of the
free-chapel of St. Clement in Pomfret castle, in 1339: the prebend
of Netherbury in Salisbury church, was given him in 1351; and
becoming prebendary of Donyngton in the church of York, he
exchanged that and this archdeaconry, for the prebend of Strenshale in the same church, with William de Flisco, in 1353. He was
rector of Pulham in Norfolk, prebend of Mapesbury in the church
of St. Paul, and about 1354, was made Bishop of London, and
died at Copford in Essex, of the plague, in 1361, Sept. 9, and was
buried in St. Paul's churchyard, at the west door.
He founded a chantry for his soul, and gave 2000l. to found the
charter-house near Smithfield, besides lands for endowment of the
same. His life may be seen at large in Newcourt, vol. i. fo. 18.
28. 1353, July 1, William de Flisco, an Italian born, was preferred by
the Pope to be Cardinal of St. Angelo, and to hold the prebend
of Strenshale in York cathedral, which he exchanged for this.
29. 1365, William Graa of Trusthorp, late archdeacon of Sudbury;
he exchanged it for the rectory of Sutton, and prebend of Timberscomb in the church of Wells, in
30. 1365, 21 July, with John Carleton, LL. D. chancellor, who died
31. 1366, Jan 16, John de Ufford, of the same noble family with the
Earls of Suffolk of that name.
32. 1368, March 29, John Aleyn was made archdeacon by the
Pope's provision, was elected cardinal of St. Sabina, and died soon
33. 1373, Dec. 20, John Clervaus or Clerevaus, chancellor; see p.
632. His will is dated in the Bishop's palace at Norwich, Aug. 19,
1383, proved the 23d of the same month, he was buried in St.
Walter's (commonly called St. Mary the Great) chapel, at the east
end of the cathedral, gave 100 marks to the fabrick of the church,
and to every monk 3s. 4d. (fn. 59)
34. 1375, Cardinal de Alenconio, an Italian, was made rector of
Groundesburgh, and archdeacon of Suffolk, by the Pope's provisions; which now (as Fuller in his Church Hist. Cent. XV. observes)
were grown to be a general greivance to the nation, for when any
bishoprick, abbacy, prebend, or good living, was like to be void, the
Pope predisposed such places, to such successours as he pleased.
By this devise, which he called provision, he defeated at his own
pleasure, the legal election of all convents, and rightfull presentation of all patrons: he took up churches before they fell, while the
incumbents were younger and healthier than his holiness: yea
sometimes no act of provision was registered in the court, only the
Pope was pleased to say by word of mouth, he had done it. So
that incumbents, who were lawfully presented by their patrons,
were often forced to buy off such provisions. This so exasperated
the clergy, and laity also, that they made great complaints, and
petitioned the parliament against such provisors; and among others,
against this cardinal, who always dwelt at Rome, and carried out the
revenues of his preferments yearly thither, to the detriment of the
English nation. (fn. 60)
35. 1383, Sept. 2, William de Malebys.
36. 1384, April 1, Thomas de Shirford: the King on account of the
temporalities of the see in his hands.
37. 1487, May 28, Henry Sturdy, who was treasurer to Bishop Spencer, in his croisade; he exchanged for Great Cressingham in
38. 1387, July 8, with Robert de Fulmere, who exchanged it in
39. 1390, July 12, with Sir John de Thorp, for the church of Salle
in Winchester diocese. He was prebendary of Coringham in the
church of Lincoln, and of St. Stephen's Westminster. This archdeacon attempted to visit the clergy of his archdeaconry, by his
deputy; for which, as well as for taking money for procurations,
and receiving gifts or provisions, when such visitation was personally made, he was complained of to Pope John XXIII. who
sent a bull to the Bishop of Norwich, commanding him to cite him,
and make him restore double to all the clergy he had oppressed, or
excommunicate him upon refusal. (fn. 61) He lived at Rippinghale in
Lincolnshire, where he died Nov. 5, 1421.
40. 1421, Nov. 10, John Franke, clerk.
41. 1445, Richard Beauchamp, LL. D. an Oxonian, chancellor of the
Order of the Garter, and Bishop of Salisbury; on his promotion to
the bishoprick of Hereford in 1448, voided this archdeaconry; he
was translated to Salisbury in 1450, and died about 1481, and was
buried under a marble monument in a chapel of his own building,
on the south side of the chapel of the Blessed Virgin, on the south
part of Salisbury cathedral. (fn. 62)
42. 1448, March 14, Henry Trevilian, LL.B. died in 1471.
43. 1471, April 20, William de Pykenham, LL.D. he was rector of
Raleigh in Essex in 1462, vicar of Hatfield Regis in 1465, resigned
Raleigh in 1469, prebend of Wenlakes-barn, prebend in St. Paul's
in 1472. In 1480, he joined with Henry Bourchier Earl of Essex,
and others, to convey the advowson of St. Giles's hospital in Maldon
in Essex, to the abbey of Bileigh. He was also sometimes rector
of Hadleigh, and of Wrotham in Rochester diocese; prebend of
Gaia-Magna in the church of Litchfield, and chancellor here. (See
p. 632.) He built the grand gate or tower before Hadley parsonage-house in Suffolk, and was proctor of the clergy. (fn. 63)
44. 1497, April 23, Nicholas Goldwell, on Pykenham's death: he was
chancellor. (See p. 542, 633.)
45. 1507, John Dowman or Dolman, LL.B. He was rector of St.
Nicholas Acon in London, in 1506, which he resigned when he took
this archdeaconry: he was prebend of Portpool in St. Paul's, which
he resigned in 1514, and was soon after collated to the prebend of
Twyford in that church; he died in
46. 1526, and Thomas Winter, dean of Wells, was made archdeacon;
and Edmund Steward, clerk, who had got possession of it, was
ejected, by Thomas Archbishop of York, and Cardinal of St. Cecilia,
Legate a Latere of Pope Clement, and Winter was dispensed with,
to hold this with Norfolk archdeaconry, though the dignities were
both in one church; he resigned it afterwards, and in
47. 1527, the said Ed. Steward, LL. D. rector of Laxfield in Suffolk
was installed, who resigned it in
48. 1528, Jan. 11, to Richard Sampson, LL. D.
49. 1536, Nov. 1, John Skypp, D.D. he resigned: I much doubt,
whether it was not the same person who was vicar of Thaxted, master of Caius college, and Bishop of Hereford; for one of the same
name and degrees, was made Bishop there the very year this man
is said to have resigned.
50. 1540, 27 Aug. William Ryvet, LL. D.
51. 1541, Feb. 8, Eligius, Elizeus or Elisha Ferrers: he was the last
abbot of Windham, (fn. 64) and after, vicar of Windham, and prebend of
Yarmouth in the church of Norwich.
52. 1548, 20 Aug. Robert Rugg, on Ferrer's death; he was resident
in the University of Patavia in 1556, and died in 1559, being a
relation to Bishop Rugg.
53. 1559, April 17, Nicholas Wendon, rector of Witnesham, and prebend of the 4th stall in Norwich cathedral, was found not to be in
orders at the metropolitical visitation, for which he was ejected in
1570, from his prebend, but not from his archdeaconry.
54. 1575, Nov. 10, John Maplesden, rector of Caston, and prebend of
Rochester, died in 1613.
55. 1613, Oct. 6, Robert Pearson, D.D. rector of great Snoring in
Norfolk, some time fellow of Queen's college in Cambridge, where
he was tutor to the famous antiquary Mr. John Weever, who in his
book of Funeral Monuments, fo. 864, gives him the character of a
reverend learned divine, and bountiful house-keeper.
56. 1639, Febr. 1, Robert Bostock, D. D. on Pearson's death: he was
doctor of the University of St. Andrew in Scotland, but originally
of Trinity college in Oxford, canon residentiary of Chichester, where
he was buried in Nov. 1640.
57. 1640, Feb. 27, Rich. Mileson, A. M. chaplain to Bishhop Montague, and prebend of Coleworth in the church of Chichester, from
which he was forced to fly beyond the seas in the grand rebellion,
where he quitted the communion of the church of England for that
of Rome, in which he died after the year 1660, being legally deprived then of his preferments. (See Walker.)
58. 1660, Dec. 8, Laurence Womock, Womoke, or Womack, D.D.
grandson of Arthur Womack, rector of Lopham, and son of Laurence Womack, rector of Lopham and Fersfield in Norfolk. This
learned man was a great royalist, and true son of the church of
England, as by his works is very evident; he published,
1. The Examination of Tilenus before the Triers, &c. To which is
annexed, the Tenents of the Remonstrants, touching the five Articles,
voted, stated, &c. And an Essay of annotations upon the fundamental Thesis of Mr. Tho. Parker, &c. Lond. 1658, in twelves.
This book being reflected and animadverted upon by Richard
Baxter, in his preface to the discovery of the Grotian religion, &c.
Lond. 1658, 8vo. As also by Henry Hickman, in his Justification
of the Fathers, &c. Oxon. 1659, 2d edit, in 8vo. Dr. Womack came
2. Arcana Dogmatum Anti-Remonstrantium, or the Calvinists
Cabinet unclosed. In an Apology for Tilenus against a pretended
vindication of the synod of Dort, at the provocation of Mr. Rich.
Baxter, held forth in the preface to the Grotian religion; together
with a few drops on the papers of Mr. Hickman, Lond. 1659,
3. The Result of false Principles, or, Error convinced by its own
Evidence; managed in several dialogues: whereunto is added, a
learned Disputation, by doctor Tho. Goad, rector of Hadley in Suffolk, sent by King James to the synod of Dort. Lond. 1661, quarto.
4. The solemn League and Covenant, arraigned and condemned,
by the Sentence of the Divines of London and Cheshire, &c. Loud.
5. Go show thy Self to the Priests: good Advice for a sound
Protestant. Lond. 1679, quarto.
6. Verdict upon Melius Inquirendum, &c. Lond. 1682, 8vo.
7. A Letter containing, a further Justification of the Church of
England. London, 1682.
8. Billa Vera, or the Arraignment of Ignoramus, put forth out
of charity, for the use of grand inquests, and other juries, the sworn
assertors of truth and justice. In a letter to a friend. London,
9. Suffragium Protestantium. Wherein our governours are justified in their proceedings against Dissenters. Meisner also, and
the verdict rescued from the cavils and seditious sophistry of the
Protestant reconciler. London, 1683, 8vo.
He hath also several sermons extant, as the Harmless Traitour
self-condemned, preached in the cathedral of Ely, Jan. 30, 1676,
London, quarto, &c.
On the 22d of Sept. 1663, he was installed prebendary of Ely,
in the sixth stall of that church; and in 1683, being nominated
Bishop of St. David, in the place of Dr. William Thomas, translated
to Worcester, he was consecrated thereunto in the Archbishop's
chapel at Lambeth (with Dr. Francis Turner to Rochester) on the
11th of Nov. the same year: he died at his house in Westminster,
on the 12th of March 1685, and is buried in the church of St. Margaret Westminster, leaving Laurence Womack, rector of Castor by
Yarmouth, and vicar of Buxton in Norfolk, his nephew and heir.
59. 1683, Jan. 3, Godfrey King, LL. B. on the promotion of Dr.
60. 1687, Oct. 1, John Batteley, D. D. on King's death. He resigned
this, when he was archdeacon of Canterbury.
61. 1688, Dec. 20, Humfry Prideaux, D. D. he was dean; see p. 628.
62. 1724, Dec. 19, the Rev. David Wilkins, D. D. rector of Hadleigh in Suffolk, some time chaplain to Lord Chancellor Parker, the
present archdeacon, was preferred to this archdeaconry by virtue
of the Archbishop's option, on Dr. Prideaux's death. He hath
Concilia Magnæ Britanniæ et Hiberniæ, a Synodo Verolamiensi.
A. D. ccccxlvi. ad Londinensem A.D. mdccxvii. &c. London,
1733. In 4 folio volumes.
This archdeaconry is in the donation of the Bishop of Norwich, and
is valued at 89l. 2s. 1d. is charged with first fruits, and pays 8l. 18s. 2d.
ob. yearly tenths.
The archdeacon hath a large house in Ipswich, near St. Mary
Tower church, belonging to the archdeaccnry, which contains, according to the Parochiale, 306 parishes, divided into 13 deaneries,
besides that of the town of Ipswich, viz. Bosmere, Carleford, Claydon,
Colnes, Dunwich, Hoxne, Loes, Lothingland, Orford, Samford, SouthElmham, Wangford, and Wilsford.
Commissaries of the Archdeaconries.
Each of the archdeaconries hath a commissary, exercising jurisdiction in his archdeaconry only, according to their first institution,
and are not required to be in orders: they are all appointed by the
Bishop's letters patent, confirmed by the dean and chapter, by which
their authority is limited, as to place and jurisdiction, but may appoint
deputies if they please; (fn. 65) such as I have met with that have been
commissaries in the aforesaid four archdeaconries here follow, viz.
COMMISSARIES APPOINTED BY THE BISHOP, IN NORWICH
1501, Rob. Pokyswell, LL. B. corrector and commissary.
1502, John Aberfeld, LL. B. dean of Fincham.
1509, Thomas Sentcler, rector of Edgefield.
1550, William White, LL. B. rector of St. Austins and Rollesby.
1555, John Berry, vicar of Aylesham, a wicked persecutor, (see p.
274,) of whom Fuller in his Church History (Cent. XVI. fo. 24)
says, "Berrie the remorseless commissarie in Norfolk, fell
down suddenly to the ground, with an heavy groan, and never
1574, Michael Brisley, LL. D.
1585, Stephen Bull, LL. B.
1586, John Hunt, LL. D.
1595, Mat. Setle, LL. D.
1603, John Burman, LL. D.
1620, Clere Talbot, LL. D.
1660, Justinian Lewyn, LL. D.
1672, Owen Hughes, LL. D.
1679, John Pepys, LL. D.
1692, John Whitefoot, A. M. rector of Heigham, minister of St. Peter's
Mancroft and St. Gregory in Norwich, clerk of the convocation.
(See p. 581.)
The present commissary is, Wharton Peck, LL. D. chancellor
COMMISSARIES OF NORFOLK ARCHDEACONRY.
1501, Rob. Pokyswell, corrector and commissary.
1502, John Aberfield, LL. B. in 1518, rector of Cressingham-Magna,
dean of Fincham.
1509, Thomas Senyche, he was rector of Marsham.
1521, Rob. Walden, rector of Eccles Epi. and Wilby. (fn. 66)
1533, Thomas Falke, LL. B. rector of Mundford. (fn. 67)
1548, Gagwin Hodson.
1553, Thomas Downing, vicar of Besthorp, and rector of N. Tudenham. (fn. 68)
Richard Lache, rector of Fakenham and Gimmingham.
1555, Edmund Cosyn, S.T.B. afterwards master of Catherine hall.
1559, John Barnes.
1574, Michael Brisley, LL. D.
1577, Rob. Bishop, LL. D.
1577, William Maister, LL. D.
1580, Arthur Purefoy, A. M.
1585, Will. Pritherghe, LL. D.
1587, William Thorrowgood.
1609, Will. Lewyn, A. M. resigned.
1620, Clement Corbet, resigned.
1628, Will. Hotskein, resigned.
1629, Thomas Vaughan, resigned.
1633, Justinian Lewyn, LL. B. resigned.
1672, Audoenus or Owen Hughes, LL. D. resigned.
1679, John Hilyerd, LL. D. rector of Caston.
1702, Thomas Tanner, A. M. afterwards chancellor. (See p. 636.)
1731, The present commissary is Thomas Powle, LL. D. who is also
commissary to the dean and chapter of Norwich.
COMMISSARIES OF SUDBURY ARCHDEACONRY.
1439, William Thweyt, corrector and commissary.
1499, Simon Driver, doctor in the decrees, rector of Rickinghall and
1506, John Leycester, vicar of Stoke-Neyland.
1508, † John Jowell. (fn. 69)
1517, † Samuel Michel,
1521, † Edmund Steward.
1524, † Thomas Bigge or Bige.
1550, † Tho. Simonds, rector of Capele, Stokeash, and Hindercley.
1570, † John Brome.
1576, John Dey, LL. D. fellow of Jesus college, Cambridge.
1603, † Robert Newcomb.
1614, Barnaby Gooch, LL. D.
1618, † Thomas Elden, LL. D.
1645, † Robert King, LL. D.
1645, John Hall, died 12 Febr. 1659. (See p. 581.)
1660, † John Pepys.
1692, John Butler, LL. D.
1706, Tho. Tanner, A. M. see p. 636.
Mr. Nicholas Baker, for whom see p. 596.
The present commissary is the Rev. Mr. John Baker, A. M.
rector of Garveston in Norfolk. (fn. 70)
COMMISSARIES OF SUFFOLK ARCHDEACONRY.
1502, John Leysestre, LL. B. corrector and commissary-general;
vicar of Stoke-neylond, rector of Campsey-ash, and Stonhamaspal.
1508, Reginald Calle, Dec. Bac. rector of Framlingham in Suffolk.
1509, Thomas Seman, D. B. rector of Doningworth in Suffolk.
1510, George (fn. 71) Mawer, rector of Ditchingham, and Eccles Epi. in
Norfolk, (fn. 72) and of Alderton in Suffolk; in 1512, he was doctor
of the decrees, and in 1513, had a dispensation from Pope
Leo, to hold several benefices.
1519, William Kempe, Dec. Bac. rector of Sproughton near Ipswich
1527, † William Talmach, rector of Shotley in 1538, of Easton, Wickhambrook, and Helmingham.
1538, † Thomas Pindar, A. M. rector of Saxmundham in 1551, and
of Witnesham in 1554.
1557, William Leche, LL. B. rector of St. Mary Stoke, Ipswich.
1560, Leonard Howlet, LL. B.
1561, † Nicholas Locke, A. M, rector of Uggeshall and Harkestead.
1580, Peter Withipoll, LL. B.
1586, Rob. Redmayn, LL. D. resigned. See p. 634.
1589, John Aldrich, clerk, A. M. resigned.
1595, † John Talbot, LL. B. resigned.
1615, † Martin Warren, clerk, the Bishop's chaplain.
1617, † Henry Dade, LL. B. resigned.
1637, † Edmund Peirce, LL. B. res.
1642, † Robert King, LL. B. res.
1645, Jo. Hall, LL. B. res. See p. 575.
1674, † Henry Fauconbergh, LL. D. chancellor of St. David's, registrary of the faculty office, &c. buried at Beccles.
1713, † George Raymond, A. M. rector of Shotley, minister of St.
Laurence and St. Nicholas in Ipswich; was buried in St. Nicholas's
churchyard, in June 1725.
1743. The present commissary, is the Rev. Mr. John Tanner, A. M.
vicar of Lowestoft and Kessingland, brother to the late Bishop of St. Asaph, to whom I am in a very particular manner obliged, for his great encouragement, and many favours
conferred upon me, in the prosecution of this work
As the commissaries are appointed by the Bishop's patent, confirmed by the dean and chapter, so also are their several registraries or
registers; every Bishop having power to grant those offices to two
persons at once, during their lives, their patents are, "to the office of
"register, actuary, and collector, of all synodals, pensions, and other
casualties, and profits, within their archdeaconries."
Registers to the Commissaries, are,
Norwich. 1740, Nov. 29, John Moore of Thurne in Norfolk, Esq.
and John Gooch, Gent. younger son to the present Bishop.
(See p. 598.)
Norfolk. 1740, Nov. 29, John Moore aforesaid, and Thomas Gooch,
Esq. eldest son to the Bishop. (See p. 598.)
Sudbury. 1725 Aug. 10, Mr Thomas Hawes of London, notary
publick, and William, son of William Herring of Norwich,
Suffolk. 1720, 24 Nov. John Sturges, A. M. rector of West-Halton
in Lincoln diocese, notary publick, and Thomas Ridding, Gent.
of Westminster, notary publick.
Officials to the Archdeacons.
Every archdeacon hath an official, to exercise jurisdiction in
their archdeaconries; they are appointed by the archdeacon's patent,
confirmed by the Bishop, and Dean and Chapter, and have power to
prove all wills in their archdeaconries, except those of noblemen,
gentlemen that bear arms, rectors, vicars, and persons in holy orders;
all which are particularly reserved, to be proved before the Bishop or
his chancellor; (fn. 73) as others also may, if the persons concerned choose
to do it.
In 1224, King Henry III. issued a writ to the official of the archdeacon of Norfolk, commanding him by virtue of his office, to return a
list of all the debts owing to the King by the clergy of his archdeaconry; by which it seems the official was collector of the tenths and
fifteenths granted to the King.
In 1274, the officials and rural deans of the bishoprick of Norwich
were prosecuted for holding courts oftener then they had right to do,
namely once in three weeks, and for intermeddling with other causes,
than what belonged to them, which were only causes belonging to
matrimony or wills, contrary to the dignity of the Crown; and for
maliciously troubling and prosecuting laymen, and forcing them out
of more than the sheriffs, and all the baliffs of Norfolk did.
And the jury for Clackclose presented, that the Bishop, archdeacons,
officials, rural deans, and clerks, intermeddled with pleas belonging to
the laity, in their hundred. (fn. 74)
OFFICIALS TO THE ARCHDEACON OF NORWICH.
1160, Master Steingrin.
1228, William de Caudeston.
1237, Henry de Holkham.
1348, Master Peter Norman.
1459, Robert Ippeswell, rector of
Belagh, Haddesco, &c.
1492, Master John Wyterat.
1509, Peter Foston.
1524, Master Thomas Cappe.
1535, William White, rector of
Marsham, collated in 1530.
1563, Thomas Godwyn.
1574, Miles or Michael Brisley,
1584, Stephen Bull, LL. B.
1585, John Hunt, LL. D.
1595, Mat. Setle, LL. D.
1599, Walter Hawgh, A. M.
1604, John Burman, LL. D.
1628, Clere Talbot.
1660, Justinian Lewyn, LL. D.
1672, Owen Hughes, LL. D.
1679, John Conant.
1723, Dec. 4, the Rev. Mr. Tho.
Clayton, A. M. rector of
Colney, in Norfolk, and St.
Michael's at Plea in Norwich.
Will. Baker, LL. B. register, &c on the death of Mr.
OFFICIALS TO THE ARCHDEACON OF NORFOLK.
1272, Master Rich. de Boyland. (fn. 75)
1276, Master Nicholas de Capella,
1315, Ric. de Ringstede, dean of
the chapel in the Fields.
1316, Master Robert de Howton.
1326, Simon de Cley, dean of the
the chapel in the Fields.
1375, Master John de Brandon.
1417, Master Richard Doket.
1429, Rob. de Erpingham, clerk.
1476, Master Henry Falke, doctor
of the decrees, rector of
Horsted, vicar of Aylesham,
and rector of Yaxham, died
1487, Bartholomew Colman.
1497, Simon Driver, Dec. Doc.
rector of Great Snoryng.
1509, Thomas Senycle.
1518, Robert Walden.
1533, Thomas Falke, LL. B.
1540, Gagwine Hodson and Tho.
1548, Richard Lache.
1553, Edmund Cosyn, rector of
Oxburgh, and vicar of Castor
1557, Thomas Godwin, rector of
Brisingham. (fn. 76)
1559, James Barnes, LL. B.
1572, Richard Stokes, LL. B.
1577, Will. Maister, chancellor,
see p. 634.
1585, William Prytherghe.
1587, William Thorowgood.
1613, Clement Curbet, resigned.
1619, Tho. Talbot, LL. D. ditto.
1628, Wil. Hotchkin, LL. B. ditto.
1629, William Lewyn, ditto.
1639, Justinian Lewyn, LL. B.
Rob. Pepper, LL. D. chancellor. See p. 635.
1676, Henry Fauconbergh, LL. D.
1711, Thomas Tanner, resigned.
1721, John Tanner, A. M.
1731, Thomas Fowle, LL. D. the
present official, who is also
OFFICIALS TO THE ARCHDEACON OF SUDBURY.
1284, Master Richard Gurdet.
1333, Master John Mauneseyn.
1342, Master Adam de Blofield.
John de Tomeston, rector of
1419, Bartholomew Colman.
1429, Clement Denston, afterwards archdeacon. See
1439, Henry Sything, rector of
Bernham St. Martin, vicar
of Framesden, master of
Sudbury college, rector of
Finingham, Wortham, and
1455, Robert Spylman, rector of
Graveley in Ely diocese, and
Snitterton in Norfolk. (fn. 77)
Will. Wood, rector of NorthLyn.
1455, John Crofts.
Will. Duffield, vicar of Stowmarket St. Peter, rector of
Rougham, and Ratlesden.
The above five were officials
to John Selot, archdeacon.
1482, Simon Burgoin.
1494, Owen Godfrey.
1498, Thomas Cole.
1500, John Irby, doctor of the
1515, † John Joell.
1517, † Samson Michell.
1521, † Edmund Steward.
1524, † Thomas Bygge, or Bige.
1539, John Taylor, rector of Stanton.
1550, † Thomas Simonds.
1563, Jo. Muriel, LL. B.
1570, John Brome.
1599, Francis Mundeford, LL. B.
1603, † Rob. Newcomb, LL. D. res.
1614, Barnaby Gooch, ditto.
1614, † Tho. Eden, ditto, master
of Trinity-hall in Cambr.
1645, † Robert King, ditto.
1674, John Pepys, ditto.
1692, John Perne, A. M. resigned.
1715, Michael Clagett, ditto.
1734, The Rev. Mr. Brampton
OFFICIALS TO THE ARCHDEACON OF SUFFOLK.
1280, Rich. Lenebaud, rector of
1327, Master John de Cnapeton.
1373, Master John de Hemelington.
1470, Master William Gosselyn,
bachelor in the decrees.
1473, Master Robert Wymbush.
1481, Master Rob. Hope, LL. B.
1537, † William Talmach.
1550, † Thomas Pindar, rector of
1563, Nicholas Lock, clerk.
1595, John Talbot.
1615, Martin Warren, S. T. B.
1617, Henry Dade.
1637, Edmund Peirce.
1641, Robert King.
1664, Henry Fauconburgh.
1713, George Raymond, A. M.
1725, The Rev. Mr. John Tanner,
A. M. vicar of Lowestoft in
Suffolk, is the present official.
As the Bishop appoints registers to the commissaries, so do the
archdeacons to themselves, by patent confirmed by the Bishop and
Dean and Chapter, each having power to put in two persons lives at
once; their patents run, "To the registership, or office of registrary,
and writer of the acts," of them and their successours, to collect
the procurations and all other profits due to the archdeacons in their
Registers to the Archdeacons, are,
Norwich. 1707, April 3, John Ireland of Yarmouth, Gent. and
John Jeffery, A. M. late fellow of Catherine-hall. There is a
stipend of 5l. per annum for collecting the procurations, with
power to retain it, in their hands.
Norfolk. 1734, John Clark, D. D. dean of Salisbury, and John,
younger son of John Turner, Esq. collector of the customs of
Lynn in Norfolk, (now Sir John Turner, Bart.)
Sudbury. 1725, July 23, Samuel Clagett, A. B. late fellow of
Queen's college Cambridge, and Robert Butts of Bury St.
Suffolk. 1739, Nov. 20, John, second son of Denny Martin of
Loose in Kent, Esq. and William, son of Charles Yallop, Gent.
of Beccles in Suffolk.
Prebendaries of Norwich.
In 1538, King Henry VIII. having appointed a dean and chapter, in
the room of the prior and monks, he reserved the nomination of the six
prebendaries to himself and successours, Kings of England: and five of
them remain in the gift of the Crown to this day; but the old valuation
being dissolved, and no valuation of them being in the King's Books,
the lord chancellor disposeth of them as being under value; the
several prebends take their stalls now, according to seniority; but at
first, each had his fixed stall in the quire, and their proper names fixed
to the prebend.
THE FIRST PREBEND,
Called, the prebend of the chancellor (fn. 78) of the church, or the sacrist's
prebend; to which the first stall on the south side of the choir next
the archdeacon's, belongs.
1. Walter Crome, alias Cromere, late sub-prior of Norwich, and prior
of the cell at Yarmouth, rector of Claydon in Suffolk, was made
prebendary by the charter of Henry VIII.
2. Thomas Tedmun, S. T. P. rector of Acle in Norfolk, installed in
3. Miles Spencer, LL. D. installed anno 1558; he was some time
rector of Wilby in Norfolk (fn. 79) . and of Terrington, chancellor of the
diocese. (See p. 633, where his other preferments occur.)
4. Edmuud Chapman, in 1569, May 24.
5. Lancelot Thexton, S. T. B. rector of Hartest and Boxted in Suffolk,
and of Trunch, Great Bircham, and Anmere in Norfolk, installed
Feb. 8, 1576.
6. Laurence Stanton, S.T. P. installed April 7, 1589; in 1601, he was
made dean of Lincoln, and died Sept. 17, 1613, aged 66, and is buried
in the church of Uffington in Lincolnshire.
7. William Wells, S.T. B. minister of St. Peter of Mancroft in Norwich, chaplain to the then Queen, installed Sept. 28, 1613.
8. Samuel Garey, S.T. B. installed Aug. 9, 1620; he was rector of
Icklingham St. James, and of Winfarthing in Norfolk, (fn. 80) was outed of
all, during the Usurpation, and died before the Restoration.
9. Joseph Loveland, A. M. rector of Wimple in Cambridgeshire, prebend of Wetwong in the church of York, installed August 7, 1660;
he died May 20, 1695, in the 92d year of his age, and gave 200l.
to the city. He was buried at the upper end of the south isle of
the cathedral, but his stone is now removed, and laid between the
2d and 3d pillars on the north side of the nave. (For his arms see
Hic situs est, Josephus Loueland, hujus Ecclesæ Prebendarius,
Qui (dum totus ferè Mundus Tumultû & Furore obstrepat) securus
dormit, et felicem Resurrectionem præstolatur, non nisi novissimâ
Tubâ excitandus. obijt xxo Maij MDCXCVo. Ætatis suæ XCIIo.
10. George Martin, A. M. chaplain to the Lord Chancellor Sommers,
and vicar of Shrivenham, in Berkshire, installed June 7, 1695; on
his resigning Shrivenham, he took St. Mildred in the Poultry in
11. The Rev. Nic. Penny, D. D. installed Febr. 12,1721, on Martin's
death; rector of Bedington in Surrey, and dean of Litchfield and
12. Samuel Salter, installed by his father, Samuel Salter, D.D. prependary of the VIth prebend, March 9, 1744, on the death of Dr.
THE SECOND PREBEND,
Or treasurer's prebend, (fn. 81) to which, the first stall next to the archdeacon's on the north side of the quire, belongs.
1. William Haridans, late cellerer of the monastery, was made prebend by the charter in 1538.
2. Robert Talbot, A. M. rector of Birlingham St. Peter's, was installed
April 9, 1547. He was a most ingenious and industrious antiquary,
and what by love or money he collected a valuable collection
of rare manuscripts, most of which are now in Bennet college
Library, where also remain, of his own hand writing, a Treatise of
the ancient Charters of the Kings; a Collection of old Rhymes,
and Verses, &c. But his most celebrated work is that of his Commentaries on the Itinerary of Antoninus; a copy of which, much
inlarged by Dr. Caius, is now in the library of his own college.
3. John Barret, S.T. P. installed in 1558. He was rector of Hetherset, Cantley, and Bishop's-Thorp, in Norfolk, and of St. Michael at
Plea, in Norwich, in which church he was also divinity lecturer.
4. Thomas Fowle, B.D. installed July 22, 1563; he lived at Redgrave
in Suffolk, where he was rector, and chaplain to the Lord Keeper
Bacon. He resigned.
5. John Freake, S.T. P. archdeacon of Norwich, installed Sept. 15,
6. Edward Hatton, A. M. rector of Brampton, and vicar of Westhall
in Suffolk, installed Nov. 28, 1604.
7. Thomas Jeggon, S.T. P. archdeacon of Norwich, installed Mar. 1,
1604. (See p. 562.)
8. Nicholas Howlet, S. T. P. vicar of Mattishal, rector of Reepham,
and after of Winterton, installed March 27, 1618. He was outed
of all, and died before the Restoration; but could better bear the
common calamity, than others, because he was a wealthy man, having a good temporal estate of his own, according to Walker, Part.
II. fo. 57.
9. Vincent Peirse, S.T.P. curate of St. Mary in Thetford, in 1639,
rector of Sidestern in Norfolk, Wangford and Withersfield in Suffolk; installed August 7, 1660. He was chaplain to Charles I.
Charles II. and King James II. died April 4, 1673, and was interred
in the choir, more west than Dean Suckling and his wife, with this
Vicentius Pearce, S.S. Theologiæ Professor, tribus Augustissimis
Regibus hujus Regni inclitissimi Capellanus, & hujus Ecclesiæ
Cathedralis Præbendarius, post Iter candidum Octoginta annorum
Feliciter peregit, quarto die Aprilis Anno Christi 1673, ad Cœlum
10. Nat. Hodges, A. M. prebendary of Gloucester, and chaplain to the
Earl of Shaftsbury, while Lord Chancellor of England, installed
May 2, 1673. He was proctor of the University of Oxford in
1666, being then a member of Christ Church; and died August 28,
1700, aged 66, and was interred in the body of the church; his
stone is now removed and laid between the 9th and the 10th north
pillars. His arms see at p. 471.
Reliquiæ Nathanielis Hodges A. M. Viri Doctrinâ et Sapientiâ ornatissimi, probi, et bene Morati, Qui Ædis primum Christi
apud Oxoniensis socius; In eâdem academiâ Procuratoris, et
moralis Philosophiæ Prælectoris officium, summâ cum laude præstitit, Ecclesiæ tandem Norwicensis, et Gloucestrensis Canonicus,
cujus omnis Religio, quum vere cœlestis fuit (virtus scilicet omnimodum animi Deo conjunxit) Justitiam, Bonitatemque, Divinam
imitando coluit, Pietatem non cavendo Pius; Annos natus LXVI.
Denatus est Aug. XXVIII, Anno Dom. MDCC.
11. Thomas Littel, S. T. P. chaplain to the Lord Keeper Wright, installed Sept. 11, 1700; he was minister of Lyn Regis in Norfolk, and
rector of Tyd in Lincolnshire, was educated at Emanuel college in
Cambridge; and dying April 20, 1731, in the 66th year of his age,
was buried in the choir, to whose memory there is a handsome
monument erected against the south side of the 16th north pillar,
with the following inscription and arms of
Littel, sab. in a pair of conjoined wings, a pillar crowned or.
THOMÆ LITTELL S. T. P.
Qui vult plura, Musarum Sedes adeat,
Apud Cantabrig. Ubi in Ædibus Eman.
Bonis Literis operam sedulo navavit;
Philosophiæ et Humanitat: semina feliciter
Excoluit, Curæque suæ Commissis indidit.
Quò diutius privatus latere non potuit,
Hunc enim ob Publica in Juventutem merita
Et privatas in Filium suum Natû Maximum
Curas, ad hujus Ecclesiæ Prebendam evocavit
Vir amplissimus, tum REGI a sigillo Magno,
Amplum cerlè hoc summi amoris pignus erat
Nè dicam amplius quod et insperatum,
At quantum, quantum meritis tamen
Impar esse judicavit, qui dedit: adjectâ
Multos post annos Rectoriâ de Tidd
In agro Lincolniensi, ulterius Favoris
Obijt 20 Aprilis Anno Aeræ Xnæ: 1731°.
THOMAS LITTEL A. M. Filius unicus
Coll: Eman. Socius, de quo Magna sperare
Omnes, eodem Sepulchro fruitur.
Obijt 27° Martij anno Dni: 1731°.
In eodem Dormitorio reconduntur Exuvæ, SARÆ predicti THO:
LITTELL S.T.P. conjugis dilectissimæ, cujus virtutibus tam
privatis quam conjugalibus non est quod addam,
Cum vir amplissimus BENJAMINUS WRENCH Eques, illam
secundis Nuptijs honestare dignatus est,
Obijt 6° Julij Anno Dni: 1737° Ætatis suæ 54°.
12. The Rev. Henry Gally, D. D. the present prebendary in this stall,
chaplain to the then Lord Chancellor of England, was installed
27th of May 1731; in 1732, he was presented by the Lord Chancellor to the rectory of St. Giles in the Fields in London, vacant by
the death of Bishop Baker, and is chaplain in ordinary to his present Majesty.
Or precentor's prebend, (fn. 82) to which the second stall from the archdeacon's, on the south side of the choir, belongs,
1. Henry Manuel or Mannel precentor of the late monastery, in
which he was admitted monk in 1502, and had served the several
offices of almoner, keeper of the infirmary, chamberlain and master
of Norman's hospital, was made prebend by the charter in 1538; he
was rector of Wotton in Norfolk.
2. John Walker, S. T. P. archdeacon of Essex, and rector of Alderton in Suffolk, installed Dec. 20, 1569.
3. John Beacon, A. M. installed Jan. 12, 1574. He was chancellor;
(see p. 634.)
4. Edmund Suckling, D. D. installed March 1, 1586; see among the
Deans, p. 622.
5. Thomas Winter, A. M. minister of Lynn, installed Oct. 1, 1614.
6. John Hassall, S. T. P. installed Dec. 20, 1615; see among the
7. Edward Younge, S. T. P. rector of Hadstok in Essex, installed
Sept. 27, 1628; this worthy man was an intimate friend and companion of Bishop Brownrigg's, by whose interest he was preferred to
the archdeaconry of Exeter in 1643, and to a prebend in that church
the same year, and was also rector of Anstie in Hertfordshire.
After the Restoration he was admitted canon residentiary of Exeter,
and was installed 22d Dec. 1660, having suffered by sequestration,
&c. for the royal cause, during the Usurpation; in 1662, Aug. 21,
he was elected dean of Exeter, and then resigned his prebendship,
of Norwich. He had also the rich living of Up-loman in Devonshire, but enjoyed these preferments not long, for he died in 1663,
and settled 40l. a year out of an estate in Furneaux-Pelham, to be
divided among the poor of the parish of Braughing in Hertfordshire, upon the 29th of May, to rejoice for the King's restoration;
by which it seems as if he was a native of this place, as he had no
preferment here to induce him to do it, on that account. (fn. 83)
8. Herbert Astley, LL. D. installed Jan. 22, 1662. See among the
Deans, p. 624.
9. Joshua Jones, A. M. chaplain to Mr. Coke of Holkham, installed
Sept. 10, 1670. (fn. 84)
10. John Sharpe, S. T. P. installed May 26, 1675. (See p. 628.)
11. Humphrey Prideaux, D. D. installed Aug. 15, 1681. See among
the Deans, p. 628.
12. Edmund Barrel, A. M. installed June 15, 1702. He was prebend
also of Rochester, when he resigned this.
13. William Pyke, A. M. rector of Black Notley in Essex, installed
April 5, 1705.
14. The Rev. Dr. Francis Barnard, the present prebendary, was installed Sept. 26, 1720, who is now proctor for the chapter in convocation.
THE FOURTH PREBEND,
Or prebend of the archdeacon of the cathedral church of Norwich, (fn. 85) to
which the 2d stall from the archdeacon's on the north side of the
1. Edmund Drake, alias Norwich, monk here, and prior of their cell
at Aldby, was made prebendary by the charter in 1538.
2. Henry King, S. T. P. installed in 1548; he was vicar of Wimondham in Norfolk, (fn. 86) rector of Great and Little Fransham; was
deprived of all in the beginning of Queen Mary's reign, and being
reconciled, became rector of Winterton, in 1557.
3. Thomas Peacock, A. M. chantry priest in St. Laurence's church at
Ipswich, and rector of Nackton, installed April 23, 1554.
4. Thomas Ellys, installed March 12, 1556.
5. Nicholas Wendon, LL. D. installed June 4, 1561. In Archbishop
Parker's metropolitical visitation, he was was returned not to be in
orders, although rector of Witnesham, that he lived at Lownde in
Suffolk, and was no minister, having gone in a cloak and a Spanish
rapier by his side, on which he was ejected out of the prebend; but
not from his archdeaconry of Suffolk. (See p. 654.)
6. Robert Johnson, S. T. B. chaplain to the Lord Keeper Bacon, installed May 26, 1570, on Dr. Wendon's ejection, for not being in
priest's orders. He was son of Maurice Johnson, alderman of Stanford in Lincolnshire, twice prebendary of Rochester, which he twice
resigned. In 1572, he was canon of Windsor; in 1591, archdeacon
of Leycester, honorary fellow of Jesus college in Oxford. He
founded two grammar schools in Rutlandshire, one at Upingham,
and another at Okeham; two hospitals also in the same county,
(which he endowed) and four exhibitioners in Sidney college in
Cambridge, to come from the said free-schools; and was a benefactor to the weekly preachers at St. Paul's cross in London. He
died Aug. 1, 1625, being rector or North Luffenham in Rutlandshire.
7. Griffith Toy, A. M. of Jesus college in Oxford, though first educated at Cambridge, installed May 3, 1575, on Johnson's resignation.
8. Robert Downes, A. M. rector of Homersfield and Stansted, installed
Feb. 8, 1576.
9. Nicholas Bate, A. M. vicar of Swaffham in Norfolk, installed Oct.
10. Edmund Porter, S. T. P. chaplain to the Lord Keeper Coventry
rector of Hevingham in Norfolk, and vicar of Ubbeston in Suffolk,
installed Jan. 9, 1627. He was born at Worcester, bred in St. John's
college in Cambridge, where he became fellow; was a man of parts
and learning, as appears by the books he published; among which,
one is intitled, Christofagia, or the Mistery of eating the Flesh,
and Drinking the Blood of Christ; or the modus or manner
thereof discovered. London 1679.
Another is intituled, God incarnate, showing that Jesus Christ
is the only and most high God. London 1655, oct. (fn. 87)
He was a man of great dexterity in managing the affairs of the
church; and though he was sequestered from his prebend, having
provoked the party more than any of his brethren, yet he was permitted to live quietly on a small estate he had of his own, till the
Restoration, with which he was also restored, and lived till 1670,
leaving Sir Charles Porter, his son, who was twice Lord Chancellor
of Ireland. He was buried in the cathedral in the south isle, in
that part of it which is by the 9th and 10th south pillars, between
which, on the south wall, is erected a monument with this inscription,
Edmundus Porter Vigorniæ natus, S. Theologiæ Professsor
Olim Collegij S. Johannis in Academiâ Cantabrig. socius,
Dein hujus Ecclesiæ Præbendarius, quam ingenio præstant,
Eruditione perfecta, moribus Antiquis per XLIII annos Cohonestavit,
Ecclesiæ Anglo-Catholicæ filius devotissimus;
Annis & virtutibus canus, fato cessit,
Octobris quinto, anno Dom: MDCLXX.
Ætatis suæ 75. Exuvijs hic positis.
Under which, laid a stone with these words,
Depositum Edmundi Porter, prebendarij, 1670.
P. M. Philipi Porter Armig. Fil. Edm. illius Nep. Qui. Coll. Trin.
Cantab, alumnus Ano. Ætatis 17°. Anno Dom. 1672, Nov. 3° obijt:
cum non diù, sed benè vixisset.
Porter, sab. three bells arg.
11. William Smith, S. T. P. born at Paston in Norfolk, brought up at
Corpus Christi college in Cambridge, vicar of Mendlesham, and
rector of Cotton in Suffolk, and Harleston in Norfolk, installed Oct.
12. Richard Broadrep, A. M. rector of Chisilbourn in Dorsetshire,
installed Aug. 11, 1697; he died in 1716.
13. Queen Anne by letters patent dated April 26, in the 13th year of
her reign, granted a canonship, (fn. 87) or that prebend of the cathedral
church of Norwich, that should first happen to be vacant, to be
annexed to the mastership of Catherine hall in Cambridge, for ever,
which was confirmed the next year by act of parliament, and this
prebend first falling by Broadrep's death,
Thomas Sherlock, D. D. son of the very Rev. Dr. Will. Sherlock, Dean
of St. Paul's, became prebendary, as master of Catherine hall
aforesaid, July 10, 1719. He was dean of Chichester; and having
passed through many preferments, is the present worthy Bishop of
Salisbury, sufficiently known by his learned works.
14. Thomas Cross, D. D. master of Catherine hall, rector of Ashby
cum Oby cum Thirne in Norfolk, was installed Nov. 28, 1719, on
Sherlock's resignation, and died in 1736.
15. Edward Hubbard. D. D. was installed Nov. 2, 1736, and died in
1741, and was buried in the choir, at the head of the founder's
tomb, but as yet hath no memorial over him.
16. The Rev. Mr. Kenrick Prescot, S. T. B. Master of Katherine
hall, the present prebendary in this stall, succeeded Dr. Hubbard
THE FIFTH PREBEND,
Or the prebend of Lyn, (fn. 88) to which the third stall from the archdeacon's,
on the south side of the choir, belongs.
1. Nicholas Thurkill, alias Attleburgh, monk of Norwich, and the
last prior of the cell at Hoxne, (see p. 610,) was made prebendary
by the charter in 1538, but resigned very soon; he was alive April
20, 1554, and was forced to be divorced from Jane West his wife,
and suspended from the vicarage of Wigenhall St. Mary, for being
a married priest.
2. John Hallibread alias Stokes, S. T. P. rector of Westerfield in Suffolk, and Weeting All-Saints in Norfolk, (fn. 89) was installed in 1539, and
resigned in 1565; and one of that name (if not the same person)
was minor canon here in 1571.
3. George Gardiner, D. D. installed Oct. 21, 1565. See among the
deans, p. 620.
4. William Fenton, A. M. vicar of Codenham in Suffolk, installed
March 27, 1574.
5. Hugh Castleton, S. T. B. vicar and rector of Scarning; afterwards
rector of Pulham in Norfolk, and Thorndon in Suffolk, installed
Sept. 29, 1577, died prebend.
6. Foulke Roberts, S. T. B. installed Febr. 16, 1615; he was vicar of
Trows, rector of St. Clement, and minister of St. Saviour in Norwich;
but was turned out of all, and forced to live in great poverty to his
death: he was a learned man, author of several books, two of which
were very much esteemed, viz.
The Revenue of the Gospel due to the Ministry of the Word,
is Tithes, by that Word, in 1 Timothy 5, 18, Qo. printed at Cambridge in 1613.
God's Holy House and Service described, according to the primitive Form thereof; Qo. Lond. 1639.
He was a constant preacher in Norwich, till he was sequestered,
and was of Cambridge University; incorporated in that of Oxford,
and some time rector of Offley in Hertfordshire. He is interred on
the west side of the south cross-isle or transept, with this inscription
on a marble stone.
Fulco Robartes S. Theologiæ Baccalaureus, hujus Ecclesiæ
Cathedralis Præbendarius, Parochiæ Sancti Clementis Rector, vir
probus ac fidelis, per annos circiter Quinquaginta, verbi Dei Concionator, obijt in Domino 1 Apr. MDCL. Ætatis suæ LXXI.
And near it was an inscription on a brass plate, for Anne his wife,
who was one of the one-and-twenty children, which Richard Skinner, Gent. had by Anne his only wife.
Anna, Foulconis Robartes, hujus Ecclesiæ Prebendarij,
conjux Charissima, Filia verò Richardi Skinner Generosi, Liberorum viginti unius, ex Anna Uxore suâ unicâ, Parentis: obijt
Martij 25, 1627.
7. George Kent, A. M. installed Aug. 21, 1660. He was rector of
Tivetshall in Norfolk, (fn. 90) and lies buried in the quire on the north side
of Bishop Goldwell's tomb, with this only,
Memoriæ Sacrum. Georgius Kent in Artibus Magister,
hujus Ecclesiæ Prebendarius, obijt Octb. XXII, Anno salutis
MDCLXVIII, Ætatis suæ LII.
8. William Hawkings, S. T. P. chaplain to Bishop Reynolds, installed
Nov. 1, 1668. He was rector of Draiton and Great Cressingham,
and some time minister of St. Peter of Mancroft in Norwich. He
was of Magdalen college in Oxford.
9. John Hildyard, LL. D. rector of Cawston, and commissary of
Norfolk; see p. 418, 657; installed Sept. 12, 1683.
10. Nathan Wright, A. M. son to the Lord Keeper Wright, rector of
Farnham Royal and Taplow in Buckinghamshire, installed Nov. 29,
11. The Rev. John Giffard, A. M. the present prebendary in this
stall, was installed 22d Feb. 1713, on Wright's resignation.
THE SIXTH PREBEND,
Or the prebend of Yarmouth, (fn. 91) (fn. 92) to which the third stall from the
archdeacon's on the north side of the choir, belongs.
1. John Salisbury, made prebendary by charter in 1538; see among
the Deans. He was bachelor in divinity, rector of Trunch, &c. as
before at p. 617.
2. Elizeus Ferrers, or Ferrys, S. T. P. See Suffolk Archdeacons, p.
653, installed in 1539.
3. Henry Symonds, A. M. installed in 1548; he was rector of Denton,
Earsham, and West-Lyn, but was deprived of all when Queen Mary
came to the crown, for being married.
4. John Richards, rector of Forncet and West-stow, installed April 23,
5. John Pedder, S. T. B. rector of Redgrave in Suffolk, installed in
6. Percivall Wyborn, A. M. chaplain to the Lord Keeper Bacon,
installed Febr. 24, 1560.
7. Thomas Smith, A. M. installed March 14, 1561. He was certified
to the Archbishop at his visitation, to live at Swinested in Lincolnshire; and that he was not a preacher, not being in orders, upon
which he was ejected.
8. Jeffery Johnson, S. T. B. installed May 26, 1570.
9. William Whitacre, S. T. P. the famous professor of divinity in
Cambridge, and Master of St. John's college, installed Febr. 3,
1577, author of several excellent treatises. He was originally of
Trinity college, made master of St. John's by the Queen's mandate,
a long account of which may be seen in Fuller's Hist. of Cambridge,
fo. 97, 151.
10. Tho. Puckering, S. T. P. kinsman to the Lord Keeper Puckering,
installed Dec. 12, 1595.
11. John Spendlove, A. M. rector of Stratton-Strawless and Skeyton,
installed June 24, 1616. On his being ejected in the time of the
Usurpation, he lived very poorly, having only 2s. 6d. a week allowed
him by the sequestrators, for which he was forced to wait every
week on one Sam. Cawthorn, a cutler, a vile wretch, though much
in confidence with the then prevailing party; whose pleasure he
was forced to attend, and often hear his insolence with abundance
of patience, for this pitifull allowance, whereby to be kept from
starving, all else that he had being taken from him; which reduced
him to so low a condition, that on the restoration of the church,
being arrested for debts contracted in the time of his sequestration,
he continued a prisoner, through his inability to pay them, almost
all his life after; he was buried in the choir, between the steps of
the altar, and the passage going into the north isle, with this on a
Depositum Johannis Spendlove, Prebendarij, Julij 8, Ao. Dni: 1666.
Next to him lies his wife, under another stone, with this.
Dean Suckling's daughter,
Prebend Spendlove's wife,
For a far better,
Chang'd this present life,
March 21st. 1656.
12. John Rhodes, A. M. rector of Barton-Mills, installed Sept. 5,
1666. In the old disused singing school, on the north side of the
twentieth and twenty-first north pillars, lie two gravestones thus
Memoriæ Sacrum. Johannes Rhodes S. S. Theologiæ Baccalanreus, hojus Ecclesiæ Prebendarius, obijt 26° die Sept: Ao. Salutis,
1667 Æt. suæ 71.
Memoriæ Sacrum. Barbara Rhodes, Relicta Johannis Rhodes,
SS. Theol. Bac. nuper hujus Ecclesiæ Prebendarij, ob. 28 die Maij
Ao D. 1668, Æt. suæ 64.
She gave the two large silver gilt flaggons to the altar here.
13. Ezekias Burton, S. T. P. chaplain to the Lord Keeper Orlando
Bridgeman, and rector of St. George in Southwark, installed Oct.
24, 1667; he was fellow of Magdalen in Cambridge, rector of
Barnes in Surrey, died in 1681; and afterwards had published in
his name, several discourses, viz.
1. Of Piety and Chastity. 2. Of Repentance. 3. Of Seeking first
the Kingdom of Christ, London 1684. Oct.
Also a second volume of Discourses, London 1685, Octo.
Both published by Dr. Tillotson, afterwards Archbishop of Canterbury.
14. Rich. Kidder, S. T. P. rector of St. Martin Outwich London,
installed Sept. 16, 1681; this learned man was born in Suffolk, promoted to the deanery of Peterburgh, and afterwards to the bishoprick of Bath and Wells. He hath publihed, Convivium Cæleste, a
plain and familiar discourse concerning the Lord's Supper; showing
at once the nature of the Sacrament, as also the right of preparing
ourselves for the receiving of it; and many other elegant books;
an account of which may be seen in Wood Ath. Ox. vol. ii. fo. 801.
15. Charles Trimnel, S. T. P. installed Dec. 4, 1691. See among the
Bishops, p. 592,
16. Benjamin Beck. A. M. rector of Felbrigge and North Reppes in
Norfolk, installed March 7, 1708.
17. The Rev. Samuel Salter, D. D. archdeacon of Norfolk, &c. was
installed into this prebend March 13, 1728, on Beck's death See
END OF VOL. III.
Printed by W. Bulmer and Co.
Cleveland-row, St. James's.