(64) St. Stephen The Proto-Martyr.
This church was founded before the Conquest, as a parochial
church for all the sick and needy that belonged to the castle, whose
dwelling here gave this part of the city the name of Nedham, by which
it is constantly called in all evidences.
It was a rectory given by King Henry I. to the convent, and was
confirmed by King Henry II. with Eaton and Trowse Newtou, to be
held in as ample a manner as it was in the time of his grandfather; (fn. 1)
it continued a rectory in their presentation till 1205, and then John
de Grey Bishop of Norwich appropriated it, after the death of John de
Hastyngs, then rector, to the prior and monks, to the use of the
chamberlain of their monastery, towards the monks clothing; reserving a pension of 30s. a year to be paid by the chamberlain out of it,
to the cellerer; all pontifical and parochial jurisdiction whatever being
expressly reserved to the Bishop, which is the reason that though it
belongs to the dean and chapter, it is not in their exempt jurisdiction,
but is subject, as other parishes, to the episcopal and archidiaconal
visitation, correction, and jurisdiction, as it always was. The appropriation is dated at Norwich, and was transacted by Master Jeffery de
Derham, then chancellor, in the presence of Masters Will. de Len,
Rob. de Gloucestre, Rob. de Tywa, Alan de Gray, and Alan of St.
Edmund. The rectory being then valued at ten marks, and taxed at
eight marks. The vicarage remained unendowed till 1303, and
then the jury for that purpose, viz. Thomas, rector of St. Andrew,
Peter, rector of St. John Madirmarket, Jeffery, rector of St. Margaret
Westwick, Roger, parish chaplain of St. John of Berstreet, Ralf, chaplain of St. Gregory, Walter, chaplain of St. Giles, &c. found, that
the profits of the living chiefly consisted in offerings, then worth 17
marks, 8s. 4d. a year, the tithes of 4 acres and 1 rood of arable land
lying in the fields, valued then at 5s. per annum and that the vicarage
was then not endowed; upon which, in 1304, the Bishop ordained and
endowed the vicarage, viz, that the vicar and his successours should
for ever receive all the profits whatever, belonging to the rectory; (fn. 2)
with all the houses (fn. 3) and lands, paying out of them a yearly pension
of 13 marks to the convent, by equal portions at Easter and Michaelmas, and also all ordinary outgoings, as synodals and procurations; (fn. 4)
he was also to find and keep the books and ornaments belonging to
the chancel, at his own charge; but all accidental extraordinary
charges of repairing, or if there be occasion, of rebuilding the chancel,
were to be born, two thirds by the convent, and one by the vicar: (fn. 5) the
Bishop reserved power for himself or successours, to alter this ordination or settlement, at any time hereafter. And thus it stood till 1342,
when Jeffery de Hecham, then vicar, refused to pay the pension to the
convent, for which the Prior prosecuted him in the Bishop's consistory,
where he pleaded, that the revenues, after the pension paid, were not
sufficient maintenance for the vicar, according to the statute; but
sentence was passed against him, and he appealed to the prerogative
court, and in 1345, retracted that appeal, and paid the pension; which
continued till 1501, and then the vicar commencing a suit again, the
convent agreed with him, and reduced the pension on account of the
decrease of the profits to 53s. 4d. which is paid by the vicar at this
time, to the dean and chapter. In 1501, the chancel was in great
decay, and was then repaired, if not rebuilt, at a great expense; (fn. 6) the
convent paid two thirds and the vicar one; and the chamberlain paid
for 500 weight of lead added to 900, weight to new lead the chancel.
It seems to be finished in 1521, for then the vicar brought in his bill
to the chamberlain for his two thirds of the charge of that year, and
was paid it.
This vicarage was not taxed, but is valued at 9l. in the King's
Books, and being sworn of the clear yearly value of 4l. 17s. 6d. only,
it was discharged of first fruits and tenths, and hath since been augmented by lot. Dean Prideaux valued the contributions yearly at
46l. and saith it had no certain endowment. There is now no vicaragehouse; the service is twice each Sunday, viz. prayers in the morning
and prayers and sermon in the afternoon.
Vicars, presented by the Prior and convent.
1304, April 5, Clement de Hoxne was the first vicar, and so died in
1319, Jeffery de Hanstanton.
1342, Jeffery de Hecham.
1349, John Hoddes of Baconsthorp.
1369, John Fride or Frithe of Aldburgh.
1398, John Reyner, a brother of Corpus Christi gild. O.
1400, Jeffery Barney.
1402, May 22, Master Richard de Castre or Castor, who was born
at the village of that name near Norwich; a man of the greatest
learning; and what was exceedingly remarkable in those days, a
constant preacher of God's word in English, to his parishioners,
warning them with tears to avoid those wicked courses that were then
too generally followed: this man was himself a great favourer of
Wickliff's doctrine in Henry the Fifth's time, and was so beloved in
general, that he was called Castor the Good, yea he was always
esteemed among the common people as a prophet; and after his
death many miracles were said to have been showed at his grave in
this church, to which many pilgrimages were made; (fn. 7) and this indeed
was the original cause that the doctrine of Wickliff had always such
root here; and on this account it is, that the good vicar's pilgrimages were hindered as much as possible; he wrote a comment on
the 10 commandments, and many other theological tracts, and dying
on the 29th of March, 1419, was interred in his own church, with
much sorrow and lamentation; Pitts, p. 600, Holingshed, fo. 584, &c.
mention him. He was succeeded in
1420, April 8, by John Spencer, who was buried in the chancel in
1424, William Bernham, for whom see Pt. I. p. 632. He was buried
here in St. Mary's chapel.
Richard Poringland, D. D. born and brought up here, so called
from Poringland near Norwich, whence his family had their sirname;
he died in 1457, and was buried by the altar steps; his effigies in his
winding sheet, is still on his stone, and the following verses on brass
Ut pateat Turbe, Quis, qualiter hic sit Numatus,
En! fueram, Natus, simul hac imbutus in urbe,
Postea progressus, Studio, curisque grabatus,
Demum Curatus, hic Pausando quasi fessus.
Richardus primoque, Poringland post hocitatus,
Nuius sub Limo Terre, iaceo tumulatus,
Nic nequit esse Status, aliam scio ducar ad edem,
In Celis sedem michi Jesu des Miseratus. Amen.
1437, 28 Jan. John Underwood, otherwise called Leystoft, (fn. 8) from
the place of his birth; he lies buried on the south side of his predecessor. Some of the brasses were not many years ago on his stone,
but are now off,
Ossa Johannis habet sub se Lapis iste paratus,
Leystoft est natus, tamen hic sub pulbere tabet,
Culmen Doctorum, Curamque gerens animarum,
Marcius in Festo Felicis transtulit Jstum,
Nuius apud christum, qui pertransis, memor esto.
And this still remains on a plate on the stone,
Obitus eiusdem Magistri Johannis Leystoft, Ao, Dui. Mo.
cccco. Irio. octabo Mensis Marcii cuius anime propicietur Deus.
1461, 19 March, Jeffry Chaumpneys, D. D. was buried in the
chancel in 1470. (fn. 9)
1471, 21 April, Robert Calton, D. D. was buried in the chancel by
Dr. Chaumpneys, and gave 10l. to the church, and an antiphonary.
At each corner of his stone is a rebus or device for his name, viz. Cal
and a Tun for Calton, and under his effigies is this,
Orabitis pro anima benerabilis viri Magistri Roberti Caloton,
Doctoris sarre Thenllgie, quondam Nicarii istius Erclesie, qui
obiit in Festo Sancti Thome Ao. Dni: Mo ccccco cuius anime pro.
picietur Deus Amen.
1501, 7 April, Tho. Bowyer; he died in 1530, being 82 years of
age, and lies buried by Dr. Chaumpneys, who brought him up from a
child, and got him ordained priest; he gave 6l. towards building the
new chancel, which was begun this year; to our Lady's gild 4 marks,
and 3s. 4d. to its priest. (Regr. Palgrave.)
1530, 28 Nov. Tho. Capp, doctor of the decrees, buried in the
chancel; the following inscription for him still remains under his
Orate pro anima Magistri Thome Capp, Juris, Ecclesiastici
Doctoris, nuper Vicarii istius Ecclesie, qui obiit xio. die Mensis
Februarii Ao. Dni. Mo. ccccro, cuius anime propicietur Deus
On this stone also is an inscription for Augustine son of Rob. Cawdron, Esq. of Great-Hale in Lincolnshire, Nov. 9, 1710, and also
Sarah, daughter of Henry Cawdron, Dec. 14, 1723, æt. 4.
1546, Ric. Lusher, he resigned.
1556, John Pory.
1581, Mr. John Holt, D. D. curate to William Miller, vicar, whose
wife Anneys was bured in the chapel of Stratford le Bow in Middlesex,
11 July, 1533.
1598, John Holden.
1602, Mat. Stonham.
1639, Sam. Booty, resigned.
1642, Sam. Harding, ejected.
1653, John Collinges, B. D. afterwards doctor; pastor of St. Stephen's,
published a book intituled Vindiciæ Ministerij Evangelici Revindicatæ,
&c. He was a frequent writer, as Wood says. (fn. 10) In 1653, he published
A Caveat for old and new Profaneness. (fn. 11) Besides many lives of
their holy saints, as the short meditations of that precious Gentlewoman Mrs. Anne Skelton of Norwich, wherein are several Evidences of
the Works of Grace in her Soul, &c. and other treatises with whimsieal titles. He was a grand presbyterian, and having taken Harding's place, held it without institution, till the Restoration, and then
was obliged to give way to Gabriel Wright, the legal vicar, who was
1683, by John Connould, who lies buried in the nave by the west
end, under a black marble thus inscribed,
M. S. Johannes Connould A. M. hujus Ecclesiæ per 25
annos Vicarius, (uti spero, non ingratus) hic situs est, Verbi Dei
fidus Dispensator, Antiquæ Disciplinæ rigidus Satelles, Pijs
omnibus Bonisque charus, si Mortuum insectentur Malevolorum
Proba, ne cedat ei damno, horum Encomia, perennem Memoriæ
inusserant Labem; placide obdormivit Æræ Christianæ 1708,
3° Non: Maij, Anno Æt. suæ 63.
S. E. M. Requiescit Eliz. Uxor Charissima Johannis Connould, que ex hâc vitâ decessit, Maij 14, 1723' æt. 75°.
1. Connould, arg. on a saltier sab. five escalops of the field.
2. on a chief three martlets. 3. a chevron. 4 as 1, quartered, impaling a wolf saliant.
1708, Samuel Salter; (see Pt. I. p. 646;) he resigned, and in
1729, 27 Dec. The Rev. Mr. Thomas Manlove, A. M. the present
 vicar was presented by the dean and chapter, and holds it
with the consolidated rectories of Castor St. Edmund by Norwich,
and Merkeshall; and is also minister of St. Peter of Mancroft in
The church is a neat regular building, covered with lead, consisting
of a nave, two isles, and a chancel; there is a vestry at the east end
of the south isle; a small chapel against the north isle, against which,
towards the west end, stands a square tower, which serves also for a
north porch, which was finished in 1601, as was the nave in 1550, as
the dates in their stone work plainly discover; there was a charnel at
the east end of the north isle; there is a south porch, and a sort of
stone-work lantern for the saint's bell to hang in, at the top of the west
end of the nave; there are five bells; on the third are Brazier's arms,
Hec ertat sub annis Sancti Campana Johannis.
On the great bell,
Per me Fideles inbocanter ad preces.
In 1467, John Swan, chaplain, was buried in the church, and gave
a little bell to be a treble to the four already in the steeple; which
shows, that the old church had a steeple and five bells. Ric. Brasier,
alderman, was his executor.
In 1370, the Bishop translated the dedication day of this church
from the 11th of March, to St. Gregory's day, March 28. In 1451,
a fine picture for an altar-peice was placed here, towards which John
Hinde, bocher, gave 20l. and John Benet, chaplain, (fn. 12) and others, contributed. The east chancel window was glazed in 1533, as the date
in it still shows, by Dr. Capp, then vicar; for whom, as well as for all
that assisted him in it, there was an inscription, of which this only
qui bitriari fecit Ao. Dni' Moccccco, pro
picietur Deus Amen. Dompn'. in rrr.
On the carpet for the communion table are the arms of
Brasyer, erm. a coronet or between three bells az. and
Requiescant in pace Amen. Thesus Merci.
Which shows that before the Reformation it was the carpet belonging to the altar in Brasier's chantry in the north isle; there are also
the arms probably of his wife.
Az. a chevron erm between three griffins heads erased or, and by
the merchant mark, it appears to have been given by Rob. Brasier.
The same arms are in the north isle, and in St. Anne's chapel.
On the north side of the altar is a table, erected Ao. 1689, on which
the Creed is written, and seems to have been placed there to answer
the opposite mural monument; there is a shield over it, on which,
Or, on a fess between three lozenges gul. three plates, quartering
sab. on a fess arg. three escalops of the field.
On the opposite monument are the arms of
Cock, quarterly gul. and arg. quartering Bond, arg. on a chevron
Ad pedem hujus Monumenti jacet Anna Cock Filia et Hæres
Richardi Bond Generosi, quæ vitam commutavit 3° die Maij,
Anno Dni. 1654, in cujus Memoriam posuit hoc Monumentum
maritus ejus dilectissimus, Carolus Georgius Cock Armiger, expectans etiam ejusdem Sepulchri Consortium, quod obtinuit
- - - - - die - - - - - - - Anno Dni. - - - - - - - -
Quos Deus univit, seperavit Mors, seperatos
Conjunxit rursus, Jam. sumus ergo Pares,
On a black marble under it in the altar rails, are the arms of Cock
This was the famous Mr. Cock the sequestrator in the late troublesome times; author of that folio volume intituled English Law, or
A Summary Survey of the Household of God upon Earth, Lond. 1651;
which is sufficient of itself to show the man in his proper colours; as
is his Essay of Christian Government, &c. which he published in folio
the same year, subscribing himself, Charles George Cock, student
of Christian law, of the Society of the Inner Temple, now resident in
Ex hoc Carcere in supremo die Leta prodibunt Corpora
Caroli Georgij Cock Armigeri et Anne Uxoris ejus, quorum alter
tardiùs hos Limites est ingressus, scilicet - - - - (fn. 13) altera citiùs scilicet 3° die Maij 1654, Vita conjuncti, Mortis Tempore separati,
sepulchro Sociati, Obvij Christo, simul prosilient.
1428, Thomas Cok, merchant, was buried in the chapel of the blessed
Virgin Mary in St. Stephen's church. (R. Surflet, fo. 42.)
Sibil Relict of Francis Jenny Gent. Daughter of Francis Norris
late Alderman of this city, 30 Sept. 1716, 80.
Arms of Jenney and Norris.
Francis son of Sir Arthur Jenney late of Knodis-hall in Suff.
Knt. 20 April, 1706, 75.
Jenny and Norris, crest, a hand cooped at the wrist, holding
two olive branches with fruit, on which a dove.
The arms of Kedington in a lozenge.
Hannah-Philippa eldest Daughter of Henry Kedington of
Great Hockham in Norff. Esq. and Margaret his Wife. Dr. of
Rob. Buxton of Channons-hall in Tibenham in Norff. Esq. 13
Dec. 1710, 22.
Judith 3d Dr. of Henry Keddington aforesaid, 15 Aug.
On a loose brass that came of a stone here,
Ye that looke upon this Stone and see this Drytyng at ony Time,
Sey some Charitable Prayer for the Soul of Sir John Gryme,
His Body is buried here in this Grabe,
Whose Soule Crist Jesu by his Mercy must sabe
Amen. The iii Daye of Maye.
Ao. Dni. M. cccccrliii.
On a loose brass which belonged to Rob. Rant; the arms remain,
the inscription is loose, and the stone lies at the step in the nave into
I scapt a Death at Cales, a Siege of Spain,
And died at home, and here I buried laye,
From whence I hope to rise agayne,
Though now I am, as thou shalt be, but Claye.
Obijt Anno 1598, Octob: Rob. Rant.
The south chancel isle was formerly a chapel, dedicated to St.
Mary Magdalen, to whom, jointly with St. John the Evangelist,
the altar there was consecrated. John Danyel, merchant, who was
mayor in 1406, and 1417, was a great benefactor to it, and lies interred
in it, with this inscription under his effigies,
Nic iacet Johannes Danyel quondam Maior Norwici qui obiit
die Septembris Ao. Dni' Moccccrbiiio. cuius anime propicietur
He ordered the advowson of the church of St. Michael in Coselany
to be bought with his money, and appropriated to find a chantry
priest in this chapel for ever, if it could be, to sing for the souls of
Roger Daniel of Fundenhall, and Christian his wife, his father and
mother, his own soul, and those of Maud and Emma his wives, the
souls of Walter Daniel his brother, and Joan his wife, and all his
friends and benefactors; and if it could not be, then he founded a
chantry here for 40 years, and appointed John Barsham, chaplain, to
have it for life, and 9 marks per annum stipend; who was daily after
mass to go to his tomb, and say De Profundis: a torch to burn at
high mass for 40 years was ordered in his will. He was also a benefactor to the parish. In 1423, John Rich, at Barsham's death, was
appointed chaplain by Walter Daniel.
Here also lies buried Walter Daniel, who was mayor in 1407, 1409,
1419, and 1423, with this,
Nic iacet Dalterus Daniel quondam Maior Cibitatis Norbici
qui obiit rbiiio die Mensis Septembris Ao Gni' Moccccorrbio.
ruius anime propicietur Deus.
He gave 20l. to the church, and was a great benefactor to the poor;
50 poor men and 50 poor women had russet gowns at his burial.
On another brass plate,
Here ly buried Misstresse Maud Neade,
Sometime an Aldress,o but now am deade,
Anno Mccccclr and seaben,
The xiii Day of April, then
My Lyf, I leafte, as muste all Men,
My Body yelding to Christen Dust,
My Soule to God the faithful and Just.
Nic iacet Jahes' Frankish Generosus qui obiit 4o Sept. 1498,
cuius anime propicietur deus Amen.
By his will he gave 40s. to repair the church, and 20s. to the altar
of St. Mary Magdalen, and St. John the Evangelist, before which he
lies buried. (fn. 14)
In 1531, Jn. Shottisham, mercer, buried in this chapel, and Joan
his wife, daughter of John Daniel, and also Will. only son of Walter
Daniel, and many more of that family.
Orate pro anima Johannis Burgh quondem Cibis et Aldermanni
istius Cibitatis qui obiit iro die Mensis Nobembris Ao. Dni.
M cccc Irrrriiiio.
There is a handsome fretted ceiling over this chapel, and a merchant mark, but not that of the Daniels.
The opposite isle on the north side of the chancel, was called Brasier's chantry or chapel, and before that, the chapel of our Lady the
Virgin, in which the chantry or gild of St. Mary, which was
valued at 5l. 6s. per annum at the Dissolution, was kept before the
image of the Virgin here; this chapel and gild was of ancient foundation; for in 1385, John Osmond, chaplain, founded an annual for his
soul; and before this, in 1315, Ric. Priour settled 4s. a year out of
John Sparwe's tenement in this parish, to keep a lamp burning in this
chapel, and a wax candle lighted before the Virgin's image; and another before the holy rood. (fn. 15) In 1432, Henry Brisley, chaplain, was
buried by the tomb of Agnes, first wife of Tho. Cok, merchant. (See
p. 152.) In 1457, Katerine, late relict of Peter Bond, alias Brasier,
was buried here by her husband; so that it appears, their ancient
name was Bonde, and that they assumed the name of Brasier from
their business. In 1460, Nic. Callough was buried at the entrance of
this chapel, and gave a legacy to paint the Virgin's image, and another
to her gild here. 1464, Tho. Spynk, chaplain, was buried by Callough,
and gave a vestment to serve at St. Thomas's altar in the church,
where there was a light continually kept. 1503, Emye Dyne buried
here, gave a red velvet covering to the holy-rood, on the north side
of St. Stephen's church, and a towel three yards long to the high-altar.
1509, Beatrix Krikemer, buried in the church, "Item I bequeth to
our Lady in the same church, my best beads to hang about her neck
on good days." (Regr. Spyltimer.) 1523, Alice Carre buried in the
churchyard, and gave her place with the close in Newgate for a certeyn
to be kept annually for her and her friends in this church, for which
the curate was to have yearly 4s. 4d. and an obit once a year, on what
day Sir John Grime, her son, should assign, and 2s. 4d. then to be
divided to such priests and clerks as the vicar or his deputy should
order to be present at the Placebo, Dirige, and mass of Requiem; two
children to have 1d. for singing the versicles; and 12d. for a peal to
be rung; the overplus of the clear profits to maintain the priests service of the gild of our Lady, when it is served with a priest, and kept;
and in the vacation time of the said priest, the overplus of the farm to
go to the sustentation and reparation of St. Stephen's church, and the
estate to be secured to such uses, as it was till the Dissolution, when
it was seized by the Crown. She gave her coral beads to the beautifying the image of our Lady in the festefull days, in this church, and of
St. Margaret, St. Catherine, &c. the said beads to be on those images on
those days, &c. In 1424, there were many clerks and priests belonging
to this gild. In 1459, Sir Adam Kerbrook was the gild priest, who died
in 1465, and was buried in the churchyard: he gave to the altar of this
chapel where he served, a red vestment, a diaper towel, a corporal, two
frontlets of purple velvet, and another of purple damask. In Henry
the Eighth's time, this gild had lands in Eton. In 1525, Alice, late
wife of Rob. Burgh, alderman, John Burgh her son, Sir John Grime,
Sir John Doraunt, and Rob. Palmer, her feoffees, settled on Thomas
Bowyer, vicar, alderman of the gild, Tho. Godsalve, Gent. and Henry
Cock, collectors of the gild; Rob. Browne, and Rob. Grene, aldermen,
Rich. Yaxley, Esq. Henry Salter, grocer, Rob. Courant, notary publick,
Christopher Briggs, and others, brethren of the gild, two pieces of arable land late Rob. Burgh's, containing 15 acres, not far from Nedham
or St. Stephen's-gates; the first piece contained 12 acres, and the second 3 acres, and abutted on the highway leading from those gates;
all which the said Alice and John had, jointly with Paul Burgh, bachelor of the civil law, of the feofment of John Rightwise in 1517, and
were to be applied after Alice's death, to find a priest to celebrate the
exequies and anniversary of the said Alice, Rob. and John, according
to the use of Sarum, every New-Year's-day, and to give 2s. the next
day among the singers, vicar, and curate, and the rest to sustain the
priest of the gild; and if they have not a priest celebrating for the
souls of the sisters and brothers of the gild in their chapel here, then
the church-wardens were to apply to it, to repair and adorn the church,
the premises to be always in feofment, in 12 feoffees, who were to be
parishioners, and when they were all dead but 4, they were to renew
the feofment, which must be in two parts, the church-wardens to keep
one, and the alderman of the gild the other: (fn. 16) but at the Dissolution
this was seized by the Crown, and the parish could not recover it.
The east window of this chapel was a very fine one, containing the
whole history of the Virgin's life, with many labels and inscriptions, as
Salve Regina Mater misterecordie. Ave Regina celorum, ave Domina.
It appears by the fragment of the bottom inscription, and the arms of
sab. three cranes arg. that it was repaired at the cost of Robert Browne,
mayor of Norwich in 1522, and brother of this gild, whose arms they
are; (fn. 17) being originally made by vicar Leystoft, Leystofte Vicar' Ecclesie et pro
Under this window is an altar tomb disrobed of
its arms and circumscription; and the following inscriptions are in
Orate pro anima Johanne Godsalff que obiit nono die Mensis
Ortobris anno Domini Millimo: quingentesimo undecimo.
The arms of Mingaye, gul. on a bend az. three leopard's faces
arg. are in the north isle windows, and often about the church.
Magister Will. Mingaye, Aldermannus Norwici ac principalis
Registrarius per dioc. Norwicensem obijt 3 Aug. 1564, cujus
anime propicietur Deus.
Hic jacet Georgius Mingaye Generosus Filius
Willmi: Mingaye Armigeri quondam Majoris hujus
Civitatis Norwici, qui quidem Georgius obijt in Domino xxx die Mensis Octobris Anno Dni: Millm:
ccccclxxxxiii, Sepultusque fuit primo Die Novembris
sequente. Beati qui Moriuntur in Domino.
He was a benefactor here.
On a broken stone,
Obtius eiusdem Dni: Johis Chese Ao Dni: Mocccrliii, riio
die Mensis Maii, cuius anime propicietur Deus.
Pray for the Soul of Eel Butry sumtyme Pryoress of Cam
pesse on whose Soule Jesu habe Merci xxiii Bay of Oct. Mo.
She gave iiij Quyshions of Verdours, a Cross Cloth, an Altar Cloth
of Dyepar, & a Frontlet for the Sepulchre.
Under two effigies is this on one brass plate, and under it Turfet's
inscription on another,
O bos omnes Picturas istas intuentes debotas ad Deum fun
dite preces, pro animabus Roberti Brasyer istius Cibitatis Alder
manni et Maioris, et Christiane uroris eius, quibus requiem
eternam donet Deus, Amen.
By will proved in 1435, he ordered his body to buried it St. Mary's
chapel. (R Surflet.)
Hic Etiam Jacet Maria Uxor Edwardi Turfett Gen.
que ex hac Vita migravit 15 Dec. 1625.
If Vertue, Beauty, Wit, join'd all in one
Could have repel'd the Force of cruell Death,
Then she that lyes bewayl'd beneath this Stone,
Had not in youth given up her vital Breath.
But Fates were too unkind, and death too cruell,
So soon to robbe the Worlde of such a jewell.
Orate pro anima Ricadi Brasyer Senioris Norwici Cibitatis
olim Aldermanni et Mainris ar etiam pro anima Ricardi Brasyer
Filii eius predicte Cibitatis quondam Aldermanni et Maioris, qui
ab hac migrabit ho die mensis Septembris anno Domini
Mocccccoriiio. Quibus regnis in celestibus gloriam sempiternam
donet Deus Amen.
This stone hath two effigies, and Brasier's and Mingay's arms; and
Mingay impaling Skinner. He was bellfounder and brasier, and gave
to our Lady's gild 6s. 8d. and ordered his executors to buy a marble
stone with a picture thereon, with his arms and two images, one for
him and another for his wife; and another marble with a picture
thereon, with his arms, for his father Richard Brasier's grave, and Margery his mother; and also two images to be put on his grandfather's
grave, with his arms, he gave a jewel of 20l. value to the church, and
10l. to repair the walls of the city. His will is dated April 8, 1505,
and was proved Oct. 7, 1513, by Sir John Gryme, priest, executor.
A stone having lost two effigies and arms, hath a modern brass with
Hic jacet Willus: Mingaye nuper de Grays Inn in Com: Middlesex, Armiger, Filius Willimi: Mingaye (fn. 18) Armigeri quondam
Majoris hujus Civitatis Norwici, qui quidem Willus: Mingaye
Filius, obijt in Domino sexto die Mensis Junij Anno Dni: 1607.
Mors est Transitus ad meliora.
Hic jacet Henricus Mingaye nuper de Interiore Templo Armiger
qui obijt 5°. die Mensis Decembris Ao. Domini 1932.
In the nave are the following inscriptions:
Corpus Parnellæ Rant Virginis hic sepelitur
Mens est cum superis sic vivit mortua Mundo.
Vixit annos 19 obijt 10 Jan. 1619.
Gregory Newhouse 5 July 1612, he have fought a good Fight,
he have finished his Course, he have kept the Faith, from hece
forth there is laid up for him a Crown of Righteousness.
Orate pro animabus Thome Bokenham I Maria Coniugis eius
qui quidem Thomas obiit 1o Aug. Ao Dni: Mocccclro quorum ani
mabus propicietur Deus Amen.
In 1515, Katherine, widow of Thomas Bokenham, was buried here,
and gave 10s. to Sir Tho. Doraunt towards building his chantry:
Under this Stone doth Simon Borough lay.
Waighting the mercy of the Judgement Day,
His Life was such, that he deserbes these Lines,
Obiit 24 Octob. 1602, æt. 33.
In 1521, Kat. Burgh, widow, was buried by her husband; "I will
that there be bought for the church a pair of organys of 20 marks."
Rob. Brasier her son, and John Rightwise, were executors.
Orate pro anima Thome Stuart ruius anime propicietur deus Amen.
In the south isle are the following inscriptions:
Orate pro animabus Johannis Banyard I Chirstiane Vroris
sue et pro quibus tenentur
Orate pro anima Johis: Stalon mercer, qui obiit ro die Julii
Ao. Dni: mo. vo ruius anime propicietur Deus.
Doctoris Juris Edmundi Wryght Lapis iste
Ossa premit, precibus nostris tua Gracia, Christe
Perpetuam bitam sibi det Celis redemitam.
Of your rharite pray for the Soull of Dame Mary, sumtyme
the Wyfe of Syr John Tymperley knt. and late the Wyfe of
Andrewe sulyard Esquyre, on whose soule Jesu have merci, the
XIII daye of January Ao. Dni. mocccccorlbio.
In the north isles are these,
Of your charite prau for the souild of master Rob. Grene, sum
tyme Mayor of the Citie of Norwhich, which departed the threde
Daye of July in the yere of our Lord God a thousand ccccco
rl I on.
Jstic sub saro iacet hic quidam tumulatus,
Norwici Cibis Robertus Carrque boratus,
Cibius Angelicis in Celis sit erogatus.
In the chancel:
Themilthorp, sab. on a fess between three antelope's heads
erased or, three crescents gul. quartering
Watts, erm. on a chief gul. two billets or, and
Chamberlain, gul. an inescutcheon arg. in an orle of mullets
Edmund Themilthorp of this Parish Gent, 21 Dec. æt. 70,
1714, Eliz. his first Wife, Dr. of Henry Watts of Norwich Esq;
Jun. 14, 1682, and their 4 Children, 2 Edmunds, Mary & Hannah, all died young, and are here buried. Martha his second
Wife, Dr. of Ric. Chamberlain of Warwickshire Esq; June 19,
1695. Ric. the Son of Edmund & Martha buried here March
19, in the 19 Year of his age, surviving his Father only 3 months.
Henry Shardelowe Alderman, Aug. 15, 1712. Sarah his Wife
7 Oct. 1726, æt. 62.
Eliz. late Wife of Will. Kemp of Antingham Gent. only Dr.
of Alderman Shardelowe, July 14, 1726, æt. 35.
Tamasine Lane Widow 1680. Titus Camplin Chymist, her
In the south chapel there is a mural monument for Mat. Peckover,
Alderman, 24 Aug. 1625.
Earth has possess'd him Ashes, Clay and Dust.
And Heaven contains his Soul among the Just.
Frances Dr. of John & Frances Goodman, 17 June 1729,
aged 3 Years. Anne an Infant Dr. July 28, 1728. Rob. their
Son Dec. 5, 1735. Antony their Son 9 April 1739.
James 3d Son of Sir Tho. Robinson Bart. 1720, æt. 8.
In the north isle is a mural monument, on which
Rant erm. on a fess sab. three lioncels rampant or, impales
Ward, chequy or and az. a bend erm. Crest, on a ducal coronet a lion sejant or.
Vita, Mortis Via Via Mortis, Vita.
Gulielmi Rant in Medicinis Doctoris,
Viva dum vixit de morte Meditatio,
How many buried are, within Church Ground,
How few of many, with such Thoughts are found,
We pass by Graves & never think to dye
Such is the Height of Man's Security,
But know oh Man, this Life must pass away,
And after Death shall come the Judgement Day,
Happy art thou, if thou thes Thoughts retaine,
We live to dye, and dye to live againe.
These of the Dead, while living did he make,
Not for the Dead, but for the Living's Sake.
In memoriam Revdi Viri Gulielmi Rant et Mariæ Uxoris ejus,
Humfridus Rant Armiger Filius eorum primogenitus hoc Monumentum posuit, in Matrimonio vixerunt annos 32. Filios habuere
5. Filiasque 3. Ille mundum reliquit Ao æt. 64, die Maij 26,
Illa Ao æt. 54, die Julij 7. & ambo in Ao. Dni: 1627.
Will. Mingaye 1644. Mary Mingay 1646. Bridget Mingay
James Demee of Norwich Gent. and Eliz. his 2d. Wife, he
died 11 Sept. 1718, æt. 59. she 9 April 1709, æt. 43. and are
buried in a Vault under this Stone, for whom a mural monument
against the wall is thus inscribed,
M.S. Jacobi Demee Generosi, qui in spe letæ Resurrectionis
una cum Justis in Conditorio prope ab hoc Monumento jacet,
Recti & Honesti Cultor, Æquus, inflexibilis, cui potissimum miseris succurrere Cordi fuit, Duas habuit Uxores, quarum prima
Francisca fuit Filia Martini Earl de Wood-Dawling in Com.
Norf. Gen. quæ sexto die Jan: 1687, annum agens 23um. Vitam
Æternitate commutavit, secunda Elizabetha fuit, Filia Francisci
Morley Clerici, quæ mortua est 9no die Aprilis 1709no 43 annos
nata, et juxta maritum humata, ex primis Nuptijs tres suscepit
Liberos, quorum duo Fatis cesserunt Infantes, una tantum superstes Filia Maria, Carolo Mackarell de Civitate Norwici Generoso
nupta, ex secundis, unicum Filium Jacobum illi quoque Superstitem, obijt ximo die Septembris anno Æræ Christianæ 1718,
æt. suæ 59.
In a lozenge three coats
1. Richmond er. a chief sab. a griffin passant or.
2. Pally of six, on a chief three owls.
M. S. Maria Steward quodam Johannis Richmond de Hedenham Armig: nupera Henrici Steward Armig. Vidua, unicuique
dum vixerint conjux charissima, heic sui exuvias deposuit Nov.
A mural monument with the effigies of a man and woman, with a
fald-stool and books before them at prayers, with the arms of
Mingay, or, on a bend az. three leopards faces ar. impaling
Skinner gul. three cross-bows bent erected arg. garnished or.
|Vita Janua mortis,||Mors Janua Vitæ.|
|On his side.||Prudentia. Justitia.||Fortitudo. Temperantia.||On her side.|
|Pietie. Pitie.||Modestie. Humiltie.|
This Monument is erected in Memory of the Right Worshipfull John Mingay Major of this City, A°. 1617, and of Susan his
Wife, Daughter of Ric. Skinner Gent. (fn. 19) which said John &
Susan had Issue, 7 Children, 4 Sons & 3 Daughters, they both
lived lovingly together in Wedlock 44 Years, until Death did
part him from her, the last day of January 1625, being aged 69
Years & 9 months, and she left this Life the 18 day of Aug 1642.
Why do we, to frail Life such Glory give,
When Marbles make Men after Death to live,
And tho' these stones were silent, yet the Tongues
Of Prophets, People, & the Poor, in throngs
Shall freely speak, and tell Posterity,
Here rest their Friends, Patterns of Piety.
Post mortem vita est.
On a mural monument in the north isle.
Rant's arms and crest, viz. a lion sejant on a coronet.
Morimur ut Vivamus.
Umfrido (fn. 20) & Katerine Rant, charissimis Parentibus suis, Gulielmus Rant Medicine Doctor hoc Monumentum posuit, postquam
vixerunt in matrimonio annos 46, et Filios habuere 7, Filiasque
totidem, ille mundum hunc reliquit anno æt. suæ 80 die xi Dec.
annoque Dni: 1607, Illa anno æt. 70, die 17 Apr. annoque Dni:
1609. Ituri in locum beatiorum.
Gilbert, gul. two bars erm. in chief three de-lises or.
In the south isle, Mary Dr. of John Isaack of Mundesly died 11
Fitz, gutté de sang, on a cross gul. an annulet for difference,
Memoriæ Johannis Fitz Civis Norwic: et Dorotheæ Uxoris, è
quibus alter obijt iii Non. April Ao D. 1703, altera 15 Cal. Nov.
1687, Filius unicus superstes Gulielmus Fitz, Pietatis ergo hoc
marmor posuit, Eliz. predicti Johis: Mater, et Gracia, Uxor secunda, Relicta, hic contumulantur, hæc ob; die 14 Jan: Ao Dom.
1703, illa 7 Maij 1707. Magdalen Covel Nov. 12, 1719, æt. 21.
In the north isle.
Mary Wife of - - - - Melcher of St. John of Maddermarket
Coppersmith, and John their Son, buried Nov. 21,1668. Hodie
mihi, cras tibi.
An escutcheon between four escalops, impaling a saltier between
four wolves heads erased.
Mrs. Eliz. Relict of Mr. Enoch Pendleton, June 20, 1677.
Solas quas dederis, semper habebis opes.
Carter, arg. a chevron sab. between three cart wheels vert, impales a fess wavy between three lions passant. Ric. Carter Gent.
and Ric. his son 1716.
Here lyeth Henry and Hunfry Style, the first died the 12 of
April 1617, the other the 22 of Sept. 1620, having libed 25
Years 4 Months together.
Antony Stile, Gent. Proctor of the Arches, sometime Judge of the
Admiralty, and alderman of Norwich, is buried here.
There was a brass in the south isle with this,
Nic iacet Thomas Kingesley Rotarius qui obiit Febr. xiv. Ao.
Dni. moccccolrriiio. et Alicia Uror eius que Obitt Oct. viiio. Ao
Dni. Mocccco quorum animabus propicietur deus Amen.
On another was this,
Of your Charite pray for the Soule of Mr. Rob. Browne and
Alice his Wyfe sometime Mayer of the Cety of Norwiche, the
whiche departed the thred daye of Aug. in the yere of our Lord
Gode a thomsent ccccco rrr, on whose soule Thesu have mercy
He was a great benefactor to this church, the greatest part of the
west end, with the stone turret or lantern at top, were erected at his
cost; his merchant mark and arms impaled, are carved on the stone
work at the north side of the turret, and are as above: Browne's arms
are also on the font.
In the west window are the arms of Henry VIII. and Jane Seymour, viz. France and England, impaling
Seymour, gul. a pair of wings conjoined in lewre or, and five
more coats. There were also the arms of Bishop Spencer, Lucy,
Percy, Gray, Stafford; Mingay impaling Wentworth and Sulliard,
and per pale gul. and az. a fess arg. between three croslets or.
On the north side of the church was buried Mr. Godsalve: on his
atcheivement is, mors mea vita. Godsalve, per pale gul. and az.
on a fess wavy arg. between three croslets patee or, as many crescents
sab. Crest, a griffin's head erased, paly wavy arg. and sab. eared
sab. beaked or, holding therein a branch of gilliflowers gul. leafed
Mr. Godsalve's inscription, now lost, see Pitts, fo. 737:
Conditur illustris gelido hoc sub marmore Thomas
Godsalvus nitido preditus Eloquio;
Qui pius et Doctus, mirâ Gravitateque pollens,
Inque Sacrâ constans, Religione fuit.
Ingenio prestans, Formâ, Facieque decorus,
Eximius calamo, Summus et ipse Stilo.
Insignis Rebus gestis, Idem quoque lenis
Et Comis, Patrie Commodus atque sue;
Egregias ejus si ad plenum promere dotes
Conarer, Tempus me, puto, deficerit.
Quem quia talem virum nobis infesta tulerunt,
Jure ingens subijt pectora nostra Dolor;
Testibus ac spes est presens Solamen amicis,
Ut melius vivat Funera post animus.
In the north isle also lies interred Tho. Ashley, 28 years clerk of
the parish, and city bellman, Feb. 28, 1738, 55.
In this sacred Object is most Pleasure,
And in Christ is both my Life and Treasure.
Tho. Son of Tho. and Sarah Gallard, Oct. 22, 1734, 22.
In this same Grave my Body lies at rest,
'Till Christ my King shall raise me to be blest,
For at his coming I am sure to see,
The Righteous Judge, my Saviour for to be.
Cath. Cooper 1738. Edm. Riches 1740, æt. 75. In the north
porch, Mr. Edm. Roe master of musick, 1723, 41. Eliz. his wife
1724, 42. Watson an infant 1720. Here also are buried, Rog. Mingaye ironmonger, and mayor in 1658. Mr. Jn. Atkins notary
publick, alderman and sheriff in Ket's rebellion, and others of that
family. Simon Bowde twice mayor, buried in 1595. Alice his wife
in 1588, and others of his family. Ant. Ockley, June 12, 1689, æt. 87.
He was a noted maker of musical instruments. Cuthbert Brereton
attorney, alderman and sheriff in 1576.
Mr. Benjamin Mackerell in the chancel, at the very entrance from
the nave, next Vicar Calton north. In 1732, he published the Catalogue of Books in the Publick Library of the City of Norwich, qo.
and in 1738, the History and Antiquities of the flourishing Corporation
of King's-Lynn in the County of Norfolk; at London, in octavo;
which contains great part of Mr. Green's history of that place,
transcribed exactly from his manuscript now in the hands of the Rev.
Mr. Squire, rector of Congham in Norfolk.
A hatchment hangs in the north chapel, viz.
Mackerell, per fess az. and vert, three mackerells, or, impaling
Demee, gul. a chevron arg. between three garbs or, on a canton
arg. a de-lis sab.
Crest on a lance erect gul. headed or, two mackerells in saltier
proper; motto, Macte Virtute Patrum.
In this same chapel are two other hatchments, viz.
1. For Anthony Mingaye, Esq. who gave the two large silver flaggons to the altar in 1627. Mingaye impaling Cornwaleis. Crest, a
pike or lance erect or, wreathed with laurel proper.
2. Brooke, gul. on a chevron arg. a lion rampant sab. crowned
or, impaling Mingay. Crest, on a wing gul. a chevron arg. on
which a lion rampant crowned or. Motto, Spoir en Dieu. This
was for the wife of William Brooke, Esq. the present recorder.
In 1687, Thomas Steward of Swerdeston and Welborne was buried
here; and in 1650, Mary his wife, daughter of Henry Lord Grey of
Groby. (fn. 21) In 1479, David Payn was buried in the south porch, and
Joan his wife in 1483. In 1503, Joan, widow of Will. Aylmer,
buried by Ralf Moor, her first husband, in this porch, and gave 5
marks towards painting the rood-loft. In 1528, George Usher,
grocer, was buried in the church: "I will the arche that I have begonne in St. Steven's churche be made an ende of my goods for the
workmanshepe." In 1491, Agnes Petyte, widow, gave a little
tablet with pearles, and a piece of the holy cross therein, as it hath
been said, to be reposited with the silver pix, with relicks and the
silver chest gilt, with relicks, that Will. Bernham, vicar here, gave to
the church. Sir Will. Swetman, senior, rector of All-Saints, gave 7
marks to buy a jewel for this church. In 1514, Will. Blyth was
buried in the churchyard, between the porch and the cross, which
stood on the south side of the churchyard; and in the west part of
the churchyard a place is often mentioned, where the Gospel was
read on Palm-Sunday. Besides those already mentioned, there were
the altars of St. Nicholas, and of the Holy Trinity in this church,
besides the images of St. Mary of Pity, &c. with lights burning before
them, as also before the Holy Sepulchre.
In the churchyard, at the east end of the chancel, is an altar tomb
for Winifred, wife of Hamond Thurston, Gent. daughter of Francis
Jermy, Jan. 31, 1671. Hamond Thurstan, 7 Oct. 1694.
In Times of Trouble then her Vertue shin'd,
In all Conditions equal was her Mind.
He serv'd both Kings in all the Rebells Warr.
They are through Christ in Heaven a happy Pair.
Thurstan, or, on a canton az. a falcon volant of the field,
On a mural monument there, Dorothy wife of Tho. Long 1694.
Her Soule is departed from it's Case,
Her Lord and Saviour to embrace,
In him she liv'd and so did dye,
To live with him eternallye.
On a monument against the south church wall in the churchyard.
John Loftus, Aug. 9, 1721, 66.
We daily see Death spares no Sex or Age,
Sooner or later all do quit the Stage,
The old, the young, the strong, the rich, and wise,
Must all become to him a Sacrifice.
Tho. Loftus May 12, 1721, 21.
His Death was but Jacob's Dream exprest,
A Ladder to convey his Soul to rest,
Rest then dear Soul, ne'er to return to me,
While I stay mourning 'till I come to thee.
Against the north isle is a small chapel, which now belongs to
Chapel-Field-House, as a seat for the family there; this is dedicated
to St. Anne, who had her image at the altar here; in 1523, Alice
Carr, widow, gave a small pair of coral beads to be daily about this
image, and her best coral beads to put on it, on the feast of St. Anne
only. Here the chancellors, who generally lived in the chapel of the
Fields hard by, used often to hold their courts, and the archdeacons of
Norfolk also, whose office was always kept, till lately, in a house
opposite to the north part of the churchyard, which is the reason that
many of the proctors and notaries publick dwelt here. The Godsalves
were many years registers here, and were remarkable for being concerned in church lands, &c. so much that in John Bale's Image of
both Churches we read thus, "what made Thomas Moore for his
Tyme wyth so prodigiouse Tirannie to persecute the Trueth and
Sens, Godsalve of Norwiche, Warthon of Bongaye, Hales and
Baker of Kent, with such other like? but Auri Sacra Fames, as
Virgil doth call it." And after them the Mingays succeeded in
It was first founded by Lettice, wife of William Pain of Norwich,
in 1313, who obtained license from King Edward II. to erect a chantry in the parish church of St. Stephen's and St. Peter's Mancroft, in
the city of Norwich, and to settle on it in mortmain, one messuage,
and 6l. 6s. 8d. yearly rents in Norwich; and in 1316, she made Sir
Henry de Thornham, pilecok, and John Brond of Norwich, chaplains,
her first chantry priests, and settled on them and their successours,
a messuage in St. Peter's Mancroft, in upper Neuport-street, and 6l.
6s. 8d. annual rents in Norwich, payable at the 4 quarter days in the
year by equal payments, out of divers houses in Cotelerowe, lower or
nether Neuport-street, Vicus de Sellaria or Sadler's-rowe, Cordewaynerrowe, the Flesh-market, Sheregate in St. Gregory's, Pottergate there;
one of them to serve every morning in St. Stephen's, the other in St.
Peter's, for her own and husband's soul, her ancestors and successours,
and all the faithful departed; the advowsons of which the said Letice,
settled on the prior and convent of Norwich, after her death, and the
death of Jeffry, son of Peter de Wyleby, her nephew. The chantry
priests were to be admitted by the prior and convent, at her nomination,
and the said Jeffry's, during their lives. John de Wylby, rector of Hedenham, &c. executors of Letice, sold the capital messuage in Newgate
street, in St. Stephen's parish, in which Letice dwelt, to Sir Walter de
Norwich, and Lady Catherine his wife, in 1318: Letice died in 1317,
for her will was proved in November in that year; by which she gave
this capital messuage to her brother John for life, and then to be sold
and distributed to pious uses, as augmenting her chantries, &c.; by her
will she gave also a rent of 5s. per annum more, to her chantry priests;
afterwards, the stipends being so small, it was served by one chaplain
only, who served one week in St. Stephen's, and the other in St.
Peter's: John Florence was the last chantry chaplain, and had an
allowance of 4l. 11s. pension for life at the dissolution of the chantry.
In 1549, the revenues in the city and in Lakenham belonged to Sir
Edward Warner, Knt. Silvester Leigh, and Leonard Bate, Gent. by
grant from the Crown at its dissolution, in the preceding year.
The chantry was valued at 5l. 9s. 7d. and the chaplain had a house
to reside in, in St. Peter's parish.
Benefactors to this parish are,
In 1418, John Danyel, merchant, and Walter Danyel his
brother, built the alms-houses for the poor, lying in St. Catherine's
and St. Stephen's, on the south side of Great Newgate. (Regr.
Hirning, fo. 32.) In 1688, Mr. Buck, carpenter, had a lease of the
old alms-houses by St. Catherine's, for 60 years; the first 50 at 8l. per
annum, and the last 10 years at 10l. per annum, and the lease commenced June 24. The said rent is now paid to the parish.
In 1426, Walter Danyel aforesaid gave a messuage on the east
side of St. Stephen's-street, formerly William Carleton's, to be kept for
the use of the poor to dwell in; it is now leased out at 20s. per annum,
He gave also a tenement in Newgate worth 55 marks, which is now
included in the said old almes-houses aforesaid,
And a tenement next the house of Andrew Bocher, which is also
included in the said old alms-houses,
And also a tenement formerly Tho. Commerton's, then let at 3l.
per annum, which hath been since leased out, it being the second
tenement from the north-east corner of the south side of the horsemarket.
1557, John Atkins, Gent. gave the Windmill Close out of St. Stephen's-gates "to helpe to sustain and bear the charges of the taske, so
far as it will extend," the rent received by the parish is 8l. 10s. which
is applied to the repairing and beautifying of the church.
A rent of 26d. yearly, was settled towards repairing the body of the
church, in 1298, out of a house that abutted west on the way by the
churchyard, but it is lost.
1568, Feb. 14, Alderman Ric. Heade, who is buried by his wife,
gave 100l. to be lent at 10l. to ten persons, nine of which are to be of
this parish, such as the aldermen of St. Stephen's ward, and two principal men of the parish, shall appoint; the other to be of St. Giles's
parish, nominated by the aldermen there, and two principal men of
that parish, and they are to have it two years free of interest, on
security given for the principal.
In 1593, John Mingaye, by will dated Oct. 22, gave his tenement
which he purchased of Ric. Browne,
To pay 20l. to be kept as a stock to buy corn and coals, to be sold
to the poor at prime cost; it is now laid out in coals, and used accordingly; he tied also his tenement in Nedham-street, to pay yearly for
ever 10s. to the prisoners in the Castle, and Gildhall.
And in 1631, Henry Mingaye tied the said tenement called
Browne's, to pay 1 shilling a week for ever, for bread to be weekly
given to the poor of the parish.
1632, Mrs. Frances, wife of Robert Kemp, Esq. of the family
of the Kemps of Spayns-hall in Essex, daughter of John Mingaye of
St. Stephen's and Ameringhall, tied all her estates in Heydon (where
she is buried) for the annual payments of 20s. to the several prisoners
in the several prisons in Norwich; to the preacher of Heydon 10s.; to
the poor of Heydon 20s.; to St. Stephen's poor 20s.; to the vicar of
St. Stephen's for a sermon on St. Thomas's day 10s.; to the curate of
St. John Sepulchre for a sermon on Plow-Monday 10s. (See p. 138,
139.) The estates are now owned by Erasmus Earl, Esq. as I am
James Aldred, Gent. gave a meadow in Thuxton in Norfolk, now
let at 2l. 12s. per annum to be given in bread to 12 poor parishioners
John Bowde gave 20l. to be lent to four tradesmen of the parish
at 5l. each, to be continued interest free for five years, on good
security, and also a maintenance for two girls in the Girls hospital.
Alderman Rudd gave 6s. 8d. to be given in bread on Ash-Wednesday for ever, to be paid by the city chamberlain.
Joan Smith of London, widow, settled her gift, for which see Pt. I.
p. 358; she gave 20s. to this parish to be laid out in bread, in lieu
of the gift of Mr. Tennison deceased, besides the parish proportion,
with others; so that they now yearly receive in the whole, 3l. 6s. 8d.
to be given weekly to the poor of the parish on Sunday in the church,
Mr. Nic. Pipe, draper, gave the silver chalice and cover, double
1645, Augustine Blomefield, Gent. gave 3l. to the poor, and
Mr. Tho. Blomefield 40s. and Isaac Blomefield paid both his
father's and brother's legacies.
1671, Tho. Browne sealed a bond to the court, to pay 12d. a week
to the overseers, to be laid out in bread for the poor, so long as the
city continued to license a certain house and bowling-green of the
said Thomas, which was then occupied by one Lancelot Rigsby.
In this parish is one of the principal city gates, called
(65) Nedham or St. Stephen's-Gates,
The room over which formerly was an hermitage; Tho. Basset,
hermit here, was buried in St. Stephen's in 1435; 1483, Rob. Godard,
hermit; and in Henry the Seventh's time, the toll at these gates was
let at 22s. 8d.; (fn. 22) in Henry the Sixth's time, an order of court was made,
that every mayor should have his riding about the city walls within
one month after his charge, in which all the walls, ditches, gates and
towers, should be examined and repaired, and the Pomærium, or space
round the walls, both within and without, kept clean and cleared, in
which space, though now many houses are erected, yet formerly
it was not lawful to have any buildings at all to incommode the
The Religious concerned here were, the Prior of Norwich, who
had divers rents, viz. John son of Will. Blaunche settled 20d. per annum on the cellerer, 7d. a year from a house in Newgate, settled for the
sacrist's use in 1303, by Peter Flint and Mabel his wife. Bartholomew
son of Will. de Derham, in 1261, settled 20d. yearly rent; another
messuage paid 12d. per annum to the infirmary. Simon son of Clement settled 4d. per annum on the almoner, and Rog. de Reppes 2s. 4d.;
Maud, wife of Stephen Cockman, settled 1d. per annum on the sacrist.
In 1278, William Prior of Norwich conveyed a messuage in Newgate to Ric. Thoward, paying 6s. per annum to the light of the Blessed
Virgin in the cathedral, and 3d. ob. per annum to the chamberlain:
which messuage was given to the convent by Isolda, wife of Peter
Clerk of Newgate, to the use of the high-altar. Martin Ordemer
settled 12d. per annum for the soul of John Ordemer, his brother. In
1333. Ric. de Hecham, sacrist, leased this messuage at 5s. rent.
(Regr. Sacrist, fo. 78, &c.) This convent was taxed for 3l. 9s. 4d.
temporals here. The Prioress of Carrow at 5s. the Dean of the college of the chapel in the Fields at 10s. 1d. In 1308, Roger son of
Walter de Wichingham, released all his right in the messuage late Sir
Will. Sturmy's, Knt. to the college; and in 1326, William the Dean,
and the convent, granted it again to Sir John Sturmy, Knt. cousin to
Sir William, paying 2s. per annum to the college. The Prior of St.
Neots in temporals 12d. The Prior of Windham 5s. The Prior of
St. Faith 31s. 6d. The Abbot of Sibton 11s. The Prioress of Thetford 5s. given in 1286, by Sir Peter de Melding, Knt. (fn. 23)
In 1287, the Horse-Market was kept in this street; by the sign
of the ramping horse; in 1316, Jeffry son of Sir Rog. Miniot, Knt. and
Catherine his wife, had their city house in this parish, as had Sir Walter de Norwich, Knt. and Catherine his wife in 1323. In 1805, William Bateman had a large house and croft here, which was Margery
Bateman's in 1320; in 1402 John Aslak of Sprowston, serjeant at arms
to the King, purchased a house here, and there was a street called
Wattle or Wastelgate-street, and now Red-Lion-lane; and on the
triangular piece at Wastelgate, stands a brew-house, where anciently
(66) A Work-House.
On the outside of St. Stephen's gate stood
A leper-house, called St. Stephen's hospital, which was formerly inhabited by lepers, lazars, and lame folks; of these houses there
were five, at five of the city gates; each was governed by a master,
custos or guardian, who before the Dissolution, was always a religious,
and officiated daily in the chapel belonging to his house; there was
one always at each house, called the foregoer, who used to beg daily
for them; few people died heretofore without leaving a legacy "to
each leper-house at the five gates, "viz. St. Stephen's or Nedham, St.
Giles or Newport, St. Bennet's or Westwick, St. Austin's, St. Mary Magdalen Fybridge, or Five-bridge-gate: and to each of the foregoers
there; and anciently, besides these leper-houses, there were hermits
dwelling in their cells in all the gates; for in many wills there are
legacies to the hermits residing in all the gates at Norwich.
The leper or Lazar-houses were very frequent at some small
distance from great towns, and very often in lonely places, near some
great passage over rivers, &c. for the greater convenience of daily
begging for their relief; and at the same time being alone by themselves, according to the law of the leprosie in Leviticus, (fn. 24) "for as long
as the disease shall be upon him, he shall be polluted, for he is unclean,
he shall dwell alone, without the camp shall his habitation be." And
accordingly by the national law, there was a writ intituled de Leproso
amovendo, by which the parish was to remove the leper to some solitary place, to hinder his conversing with those that were not so. (fn. 25)
Nay, so far exact were they, that each leper-house had a burial
ground to their chapel, in which the lepers were buried by themselves.
Few of these houses had any settled revenues, but yet they had always
a common seal to each, and acted as incorporated bodies; most of
them were subservient to the Bishop, who appointed the master or
custos; others on abbies, or religious houses, as in particular this,
which was built on the fee, and had its masters always nominated by
the Prior of St. Faith's monastery at Horsham. None of these five
houses were dissolved, but all continued as hospitals long after; at the
Dissolution the seal of this house was altered, and the King presented
the masters, who were admitted by the Bishop and Mayor; in 1603,
James I. by warrant under his privy seal, for the good services done
in the wars by Tho. Oglethorp, in recompense of his great hurts and
wounds received, granted him the office, place, and room, of the guide
and guidership of St. Stephen's hospital by Norwich, void by the death
of John Bellmy, late guider, deceased, for life; with all fees, houses,
lands, and revenues, thereto belonging; among which, Sir Bassingbourn Gawdy, as treasurer of the King's Bench, and Marshalsea, paid
each guider annually 13s. 4d. In 1615, Tho. Ogilthorp and Mary his
wife, granted the guidership to Thomas Alkynson of Norwich, glover,
for three years, if he so long lived, at one pepper-corn rent for the first
year, and 12l. for each of the last years. In 1606, Edmund Newport
had a grant of it in reversion, in which it is said to be then called the
Spitel-house, and was inhabited by lepers, lazars, and lame folks, and
was late parcel of the priory of Horsham St. Faith: it seems Joshua
Atkinson, glover, succeeded; for he, in 1629, as master and guider of
the poor-house or hospital without St. Stephen's-gates, with the consent
of the poor brothers and sisters therein inhabiting, for 5l. paid them
by the officers of Fersfield in Norfolk, did admit into the society of the
said house, Thomas Symonds, alias Cowper, a lame boy of 4 years of age,
and a poor child of Fersfield aforesaid, there to be kept and maintained during life, according to the custom of the same house, to which
he subscribed his name, and fixed the common seal of the house, which
was square, with an S. in the middle, for St. Stephen. (fn. 26) It continued
till about 1694, and in 1698, the city leased the tenements formerly a
lazar-house, to John Dunch for 900 years, at 2s. per annum to the city,
and 6s. per annum to his Majesty's bailiff.
On the north side of Great Newgate-street, stands
Surrey-House, so called from the Earl of Surrey, formerly
owner thereof; the royal arms supported by a lion and dragon, and
those of Edward Prince of Wales, with this, ve. le. roy. and the
white and red rose united, with H. R. for Henry VIII. Rex. were to
be seen in the windows here; as were the arms of Thomas Duke of
Norfolke Hygh Treasver and Erle Maryshall of England.
being Howard with the Scotch augmentation, quartering Brotherton,
Warren, and Mowbray, all in a garter with the Howards supporters.
There was also in a lozenge having a crown over it, the arms of Vere
Earl of Oxford, with 7 quarterings viz. 1. Trussel. 2. Arg. a lion
rampant gul. on a fess or, three croslets sab. 3. Arg. three chevrons
sab. 4. lost. 5. imperfect. 6. Barry wavy A. S. 7. Vert a lion
rampant arg. In Edward the Sixth's time, it was either sold or given
by the Duke of Norfolk, to his great favourite, Sir Roger Wodehouse, Knt. whose city house it was. (fn. 27) He married Eliz. daughter
and coheir of Sir Rob. Ratcliff, Knt. and accordingly on a fretted
ceiling in a chamber here, are his arms impaling Ratcliff. In 1570,
it was the city house of his son, Sir Roger Wodehouse, Knt. and
after his death, Sir Philip Wodehouse, Knt. much beautified it,
and resided here very often. There was a large shield of his arms,
with the supporters and crest, and Frappe Forte, and for a motto
underneath, Felix Infortvnatvs, in a window here, the shield had
13 coats, 1 Wodehouse of Kimberley. 2 Erpingham. 3 Felton. 4
Lutterel. 5 Estmond. 6 Clervaux. 7 Northwood. 8 Fastolff. 9
Furneaux. 10 Gedding. 11 Bottitort. 12 Aspall. 13 Pecche. 14
Swathyng. 15 Ratcliff. All which are right as to the arms, but
quite misplaced as to the time of the matches; the whole impales
Yelverton's arms and crest, viz. a lion passant gardant gul. Sir
Philip aforesaid having married Grizell, daughter of William Yelverton of Rongham in Norfolk, Esq. and widow of Tho. le Strange of
Hunstanton, Esq. It was sold by the Wodehouses to the Rants,
afterwards belonged to Mr. James Demee, whose daughter Mary
married Mr. Charles Makerel, with whose daughter it came to
Alderman Crowe, the present  owner.
In a house late Counsellor Mingay's, at the south-west corner of
Brigg's-lane, now owned by the Rev. Mr. Mingay of Yarmouth, first
Ufford and Willoughby quartered. 2. Paston. 3. Mowbray impales
Morley. 4. Paston quartering Somerton, quartering Mawtby and
Berry. 5. Howard quartering Brotherton, Warren, and Mowbray.
6. Godsalve. 7. Norwich bishoprick impaling Spencer. 8. Mingay with
a crescent. 9. Ratcliff and his quarterings, but much imperfect. 10.
Piercy Earl of Northumberland. 11. The arms of Henry VIII. 12.
Mingay with a crescent impaling Gawdy, which shows that they were
put by John Mingay of Ameringhall, Gent. who married Isabell,
daughter of Sir Thomas Gawdy. She died in 1621, he in 1622, and
are both buried in this church.
In a house at the south-east corner of Gun-lane is a shield of Trussel's
The Greyhound in St. Stephen's was the ancient house where the
Brownes lived, as Richard Browne, alderman in 1456, &c. Browne's
arms impaled with the grocers and mercers, were in the windows, and
those also of Boleyn and Brewse, and az. a chevron arg. between three
boars heads cooped or, impales arg. on a bend sab. three mullets of
the field, quartering gul. frette or, an annulet for difference.
In a large house late of Mr. Reuben King, schoolmaster, joining to
the east part of the site of the chapel in the Fields, in a chamber window, Warner and Barton.
1. Warner quarters Whetnal, quartering Barton, and arg. two
pallets az. being the arms of Robert Warner of Besthorp, Esq. and
Margaret Barton, his wife. (fn. 28)
2. Grey and Hasset. 1 and 4. Grey. 2 and 3 quarterly, 1st.
Hastyngs quartering 1. Valence. 2. Hasset quartering Lowdham, Keldon, and Orton. These are the arms of Sir Henry Grey of Wrest, by
right Earl of Kent, but on account of his small estate, did not take
the title; he married Anne, daughter of John Bleverhasset, Esq. and
There were formerly many more arms here, as Brampton of Letton
impaling Barton, Leventhorp, Basingham, &c. Drury and Calthorp
impaled, Wingfield, Cornwaleis, Cecil, Mildmay, Tindal, Grey, Hobart
impaling Hasset, Warner impaling Cobham, Hare, Wingfield, &c.
Marsh and Giggs, Marsh and Gresham, Browne and Harding, Albany
quartering Mautravers, &c. all which are now gone.
In this parish is the
(67) College of St. Mary In The Fields,
First called the Chapel in the Fields, and now commonly ChaplyField-House: it was first a chapel of the Blessed Virgin Mary, as the
legend round its common seal denotes, viz.
The Fields and Virgin gabe the Name,
And may good Luck attend the same.
The fields near it are still called Chaply-Fields, and are leased out
by the corporation. And indeed though they are now enclosed in
the city walls, we are to consider, that at the foundation of this chapel, the walls were not built, but it stood open to the fields indeed.
It was built before 1250, in the fields on the south-west part of the
city, by John le Brun (fn. 29) of Norwich, priest, and at first was designed
for an hospital only, by which name it is often called; but in a
short space it became a noble college, consisting of a dean, (the
founder being the first,) chancellor, precentor, treasurer, and seven
other prebends; and afterwards there were added six chaplains, conducts, or chantry-priests, all on the foundation; besides gild-chaplains, soul priests, priests, and gentry, who used to have a common
table, and live in a collegiate manner. The succession of the deans
Deans of the College of the Chapel in the Fields
who were all collated by the Bishops, in right of the see, or by the
King, the see being void.
1260, Master John le Brun of Norwich, founder and master of
the hospital of St. Mary in the Fields; in 1278, dean of the
chapel of St. Mary. In 1280, he and his fellow-canons granted
a stall in the market to Ralf Bulman and Clarice his wife, on
condition that after the deaths of Sabine, widow of John Nade,
and Will. Payn of Norwich, who gave it them, they should pay
2s. a year out of it to the chapel. The common seal then, had
the aforesaid legend round it, and a lily, the cognizance of the
Blessed Virgin, within it; he lived to be old, when he died was
buried in the choir, and was succeeded in
1305, by Ric. de Ringestede. (See Pt. I. p. 660.)
1309, Walter the dean.
1315, a sequestration was granted to Henry, rector of Bawseye. In
1321, another was granted to Walter de Ditchingham, one of the prebendaries, who soon after was made dean.
1326, Simon de Cley; (see Pt. I. p. 660;) he resigned in 1340, to
Will. de Hemenhale, in exchange for Norwich and Taverham
deaneries. (See p. 64.)
1340, Robert de Utlycote on Hemenhale's resignation, who was succeeded by
Ric. Yve, or Ive, who had been precentor, and died in 1367, and
Adam de Cringlewood, priest succeeded him.
1369, John Henneye, priest, he resigned.
1374, John Broun, rector of Tacolnestone, was buried in the same
grave, and under the same stone with the founder, in the
second step or ascent of the choir, before the high-altar. He
was chancellor, and relation to the founder. (See Pt. I. p. 632.)
1383, John Clervaus, chancellor, and Archdeacon of Suffolk. (See
Ibid. p. 632, 652.)
1401, Mr. Henry de Well, born at Upwell in Norfolk; he resigned on
his being made Archdeacon of Lincoln, and died in 1421, was
buried in the abbey church of West-Derham in Norfolk, to
which he was a benefactor, having been presented to Grimstone
rectory by that abbey.
1405, John Rekingale of Rickinghall, rector of the mediety of Fressingfield, had other preferments in this diocese, and voided this
at his consecration to Chichester bishoprick. (Godwin, p. 558.)
1426, Master Tho. Ringstede, vicar of Mildenhall, (see Fox, fo. 664,) res.
1436, John Wygenhale, alias Saresson, doctor of the decrees, chancellor. (See Pt. I. p. 632) He resigned, and in
1440, Tho. Ringstede had it again; and resigned in 1444, and
Wygenhale was collated again; he was rector of Great Massingham, &c.
1459, Mr. Simon de Thornham, LL. B. he exchanged this dignity for
a more inferiour station in this church, with Rob. Popy, LL. B. who was prebendary of the first prebend,
called the prebend of the morning mass.
1467, John Neel, S.T. B. official also of the Bishop's manors, who was
buried in 1498, on the south side of the choir in a new monument he had built for himself.
1498, Nic. Goldwell, LL. B. (See Ibid. p. 542, 633.)
1502, Rob. Honywood, fellow and benefactor to All-Souls college in
Oxford, Chancellor, (see Ibid. p. 633,) Archdeacon of Norwick,
master of Bek hospital in Billing ford, rector of Calteshall, and
canon of Windsor. He was succeeded by
Mr. Freeman, on whose death
Tho. Hare, LL. D. was collated in 1513; (Ibid. p. 633;) he was
buried here, and in
1519, Nic. Carr, LL. D. chancellor, &c. succeeded. (Ibid. p. 633.)
1532, Miles Spencer, LL. D. the last dean, who persuaded the college
to resign for small pensions, (fn. 30) having cunningly obtained the
whole to himself and heirs, by grant from Henry VIII. at its
dissolution. (See an account of him in Pt. I. p. 633.)
The following are the names of such PREBENDS as I have met
with; all which were collated by the Bishop, and installed by the
Dean or Vice Dean, on the Bishop's mandate. (fn. 31)
FIRST PREBEND, OR THE PREBEND OF THE MORNING MASS OF ST.
MARY THE VIRGIN,WHICH WAS DAILY SAID IN THE MORNING
BEFORE THE IMAGE OF THE VIRGIN, AT ST. JAMES'S ALTAR.
1303 Roger Woderowe.
1304, Will. Bromholm, res.
1305, Ric. Hovel.
1315, Walter de Detchingham.
1321, John, son of Andrew de
1332, Rob. de Thorp.
1333, Walter Snow of Wodeton.
1333, Dionise de Toucestre.
1334, Nic. de Hickling.
1340, John de Baningham held it
1343, Rob. de Norton.
1349, John de Len.
1349, Rob. de Eton.
1350, Roger Mondegome.
1360, Adam de Foxele, res.
1365, Rob. Solyde of Hingham, res.
1366, John Roys, res.
1366, Will. at Fen of S. Walsham.
1376, John Browne, rector of Tacolneston, made dean.
1376, John de Derlington, res.
1376, Hugh de Westwyk, who
changed the prebend of
Taunfield in the collegiate
church of Chester in Durham diocese with Derlington.
1381, John Iwar.
1394, George Palmer.
1411, Ric. Helgay.
1413, Tho. Norris.
1415, John Sneyton.
1418, Reginald Pulham, died.
1433, John Saresson alias Wigenhall, doctor in the decrees.
1459, Mr. Rob. Popy, res.
1462, Simon de Thornham.
1492, Tho. Wotton, ob.
1493, Edmund Bryget, LL. B.
1505, John Abberfeld, LL. B.
1532, Edmund Steward.
1534, Adam Hamond.
SECOND PREBEND, OR CHANCELLORS OF THE COLLEGE, WHO WERE
1306, Walter de Stow.
1315, Henry rector of Bauseye, sequestrator.
1332, John de Wymbotsham.
1349, Simon Akwere.
1323, Walter Ingald of Wortham,
rector of Easton, died.
1379, Mr. Thomas Lank, res.
1427, Nicholas Derman, bachelor
in the decrees, res.
1454, Mr. Nic. Stanton, LL. B.
1492, Nic. Goldwell.
1498, Barth. Northern, LL.B. vicar of Buxton.
Roger Chirche doctor of the
decrees, resigned in 1501.
Thomas Hare, LL. D. res.
1515, Thomas Bower, ob.
1530, Thomas Pellys LL.D. the
persecutor and chancellor;
(see Pt. I. p. 633,)
1532, William Newton.
1534, James Mitchell.
THIRD PREBEND, OR OFFICE OF TREASURER OF THE CHURCH.
1332, Roger le Virly.
1334, Robert de Norton.
1343, Will. at Oke of Woodnorton.
1377, John Osmund,
1389, Hugh de Heclee.
1394, Thomas son of John of
1400, Robert Honeworth.
1442, Mr. Rob. Appleby, LL.B.
1492, Mr. Robert Calton, ob.
1501, Thomas Deye, res.
1536, Alexander Trodis, ob.
1527, Ric. Taylor.
1534, Thomas Cheviler.
FOURTH PREBEND, OR THE PRECENTOR'S PREBEND.
1306, Thomas Depham by sequestration.
1315, Henry, rector of Bauseye,
1321, Rich. Yve, sometime rector
of St. Andrew.
1343, William de Papworth, res.
1344, Robert de Redgrave, res.
1344, John de Baningham, res.
1344, John Acura de Ingelemitis.
1364, Adam de Hickling.
1389, John Freton.
1390, Robert Edyman, afterwards
rector of Brisley.
1394, John Stamp of Reynham,
1410, John Hardpenny.
1413, Thomas Barton, bach. dec.
1422, John Ferrour, res.
1475, Ralf Harple alias Wulman.
1476, Ralf Daniel, bachelor in the
1507, Thomas Edeman.
Mr. Gregory Mower, ob.
1520, Mr. John Coke.
1534, George North.
FIFTH PREBEND, OR THE PROVOSTSHIP.
301, Andrew, rector of Tivetshall.
306, Mr. Roger de Snetesham.
321, Richard Kempe.
332, Rob. Balls of Thrandeston.
1332, Mr. Freman, ob.
1513, Thomas Hare, LL. D.
1536, Thomas Freke.
SIXTH PREBEND, OR THE SACRIST'S PREBEND.
306, Bartholomew, rector of
1534, Richard Bryan.
SEVENTH PREBEND, OR PREBEND OF THE CHAPTER'S MASS.
348, William Ingald of Wortham.
349, Robert Bullock.
390, David Cook.
Mr. John Southo, resigned.
429, Mr. John Sadd.
444, William Hert.
457, Richard Palmer.
1476, Mr. Paul Geyton, scholar
in divinity, res.
1409, John Hedge, O.
1536, Stephen Prewet, presented
by Elizabeth Littleproud, by
grant from the Bishop.
EIGHTH PREBEND, OR THE PREBEND OR THE HIGH-MASS.
349, Robert Bullock.
349, John de Titleshall.
395, Richard Boun of Tid St.
456, Mr. William Wode, ob.
1497, John ap Howel, A. M. res.
1497, Rob. Pokyswell, LL. D. ob.
1502, John Leicester, LL. B. ob.
1510, William Stillington.
NINTH PREBEND, OR THE PREBEND OF THE MASS OF THE BLESSED
380, John Iwar.
381, Thomas Noreys, res.
418, John Aylsham, res.
448, Master Robert Popy, bachelor in the decrees, res.
462, Master Simon Thornham,
LL. B. ob.
471, John Davyson, keeper of the
Hanaper in the King's Exchequer.
1473, Master John Bulman.
Master Robert Diker, res.
1530, Thomas Cappe, doctor in
the decrees, res.
1535, Thomas Symonds, domestick chaplain to the Bishop.
TENTH PREBEND, OR THE PREBEND OF THE GREAT MASS. (fn. 32)
1432, William Thrulby,
Ralf Harpeley alias Wulman, res.
1457, Ric. Hayman, res.
1457, John Wode, LL. B.
1492, Master John ap Howel.
The Six Conducts,
Were chantry priests, that daily celebrated mass at their altars, for
the souls of their several founders and benefactors.
FIRST CONDUCT, OR KYRKEBY'S CHANTRY PRIEST,
Was founded in 1331, by Katherine de Kirkeby, widow, who
this year obtained license of Edward III. to settle in mortmain, her
tenement in the horse-market, on which it abutted south, and on the
common-market (now the hay-market) north, on the college, to find a
chantry priest, daily to say mass for her own soul, and those of her ancestors, in the chapel of the college aforesaid for ever; the dean and
canons being to receive the profits, and nominate the priest, and maintain and pay him for his service; and accordingly the next year, the
college appointed Sir Roger de Wortham, chaplain, the first chantry
priest, and conveyed all the house, &c. of her donation, to him for
life, for his service.
SECOND CONDUCT, WAS CALLED APPELYERD'S CHANTRY PRIEST.
This chantry was founded in 1388, for the souls of Bartholomew
and William Appelyerd, (fn. 33) and their ancestors and successours;
the said Bartholomew and William gave the college 100 marks, for
which they bound themselves to the city, to find a priest to live
among them as one of their secular canons, to sing daily in their collegiate church, for the souls aforesaid; and to allow him a decent
chamber, and meat, drink, washing and lodging, within the college,
and pay him yearly five marks, 6s. 8d. by the hands of the dean of the
college, at Easter and Michaelmas, out of the tithes, offerings, and
profits, of the church of St. Andrew in Norwich, which was appropriated to them; and the chaplain or chantry priest at his admission,
was obliged to swear to the dean and canons, that by himself or other
he would perform daily service for his founder's soul; and every
year, the dean, canons, and chantry priest, were to keep the anniversary
of the said Bartholomew and William, with exequies, &c. on Sunday
after ascension day, and also their several obit days.
The priest was named by the college, and the chantry was served
till the Dissolution.
THIRD CONDUCT, OR CHURCHMAN'S CHANTRY PRIEST,
Was founded in 1391, by Ralph Chircheman, clerk, citizen of
Norwich, otherwise called Ralf de Neketon, son of Roger Chircheman
of Neketon or Necton in Norfolk, who gave two houses, called Depesplace, and Sadelers-place, for a chantry of one chaplain to celebrate
divine service in the collegiate church for ever, for his own soul, and
the soul of Alice Renter, who had given the said Ralf a messuage in
Berstreete to dispose of for her soul, and the souls of Walter de Horstede and Basil his wife, her father and mother, of Simon Renter her
late husband, and Elizabeth her daughter; all which this priest was
daily to commemorate: he also gave a tenement called Larecokys in
Cook-rowe in St. Simon and St. Jude's parish, to Agnes Markaunt for
life, then to William his son, Margaret, and Marion his daughters, and
the daughters of the said Agnes, for their lives, and then to be sold,
and the money paid to the dean of the chapel, to augment his chantry,
and other pious uses. This priest was to sing at the altar by his
grave in the collegiate church.
John Chircheman, citizen of London, and Emma his wife, are often
mentioned, and he seems to be brother to this Ralf, and had a house
in which he sometimes resided, in the Cook-row in St. Simon's
John Chircheman, citizen of Norwich, son of William and grandson
of Ralf, made his will in 1451, and left legacies to Margaret his
wife, &c. (fn. 34)
These were all benefactors to the college and the priest serving
there; as also to the church of Necton, most of which they glazed at
their expense, filling the windows with their arms in small shields, on
the edges or bordures, viz.
Churchman arg. two bars, in chief two pallets sab.
And anciently some of the family bare them thus, viz.
Sab. two bars humetté, in chief two pallets, in base an escalop
Some of which still remain in these windows.
FOURTH CONDUCT, KENTONE'S OR REE'S PRIEST,
Was founded in 1405, when John Alderford, Esq. and Alice his
wife, gave the college 220 marks, and the residue of a good lease, held
of the college in St. Andrew's parish, on condition they should yearly
find at their own cost, a secular chaplain that had no cure of souls,
nor was under any religious vow or order, to perform daily service
both in the choir and out, as the other chaplains of the college did,
who was particularly to pray for the souls of Robert Kenton, and —
his wife, William Rees, Esq. and Margery his wife, and for the welfare of Sir Simon Felbrigge, Knt. Roger Prat, clerk, master of St.
Giles's hospital; John Alderford and Alice his wife, during their
lives, and their souls after their decease; the said priest to be called
Kentone's priest, who was bound, with the dean and whole college, to
observe the anniversary of Robert Kenton and his wife, with placebo,
dirige, and mass of requiem in the collegiate church, according to the
use of Sarum.
The dean and canons were to find the priest a handsome chamber
in the college, and constantly repair it, and also the same meat, drink,
barber, washing, and lodging, with the other canons, and pay him 3l.
per annum, at Easter and Michaelmas, for his stipend; to perform
which, all the members of the college sware, and bound themselves to
oblige all persons to swear in like manner, that should ever be admitted hereafter, giving security to the city to forfeit 10l. every time
any part of this contract was not fulfilled.
In 1410, Will. Rees, Esq. brother to Will. Appelyerd, by will,
gave a house, &c. to be sold, and the money to be given to the college, to increase the stipend of his chantry priest, and to pay 2s. a
week to Thomas, an anchorite by the college, during his life.
This chantry was not fully settled till 1422, and then King
Henry V. having granted license in mortmain for that purpose: by
indenture tripartite made between John Mannyng, mayor, and the
corporation on one part, John Rykynghale, dean, and the chaplains
and chapter of the college on the second part, Sir Sim. Felbrigge,
Knt. Roger Prat, clerk, Walter Danyel, and John Alderford, on the
third part; the mediety of the church of Fresingfield in Suffolk,
which they had purchased of the abbot and convent of Bury, except
a pension of 40s. annually to be paid out of it to that abbey, was
appropriated for this purpose to the college: the following conditions
being added to those above-mentioned, viz. that he should always
daily say mass at the altar, before which the bodies of Will. Rees, Esq.
and Margery his wife, lie entombed, and pray for the souls, and welfares aforesaid; and that of William Paston of Paston, while alive, and
his soul when dead; and the day before All-Saints, they were to
keep the anniversary of William and Margery, and find two wax
tapers burning on their tomb, and distribute 6s. among the chaplains
of the college, and 4d. to the chantry priest, and augment the stipend
of the first chantry priest to 3l. 12s. 4d. and that of all his successours
to 66s. 8d. and Robert Douve priest, was elected by the college, (fn. 35) who
were patrons; and all his successours, were to enjoy it for life, unless
they did any thing that would remove a rector.
FIFTH CONDUCT, OR SEDMAN'S PRIEST,
Was founded in 1411, by William Sedman citizen of Norwich,
who by license obtained of King Richard II. settled on the college
the manor and advowson of Bouthorp, (fn. 36) with one messuage, one toft,
320 acres of land, 6 acres of meadow, 16 acres of marsh, 7 acres of
broom, and 9s. annual rents in Heigham, Eston, Costesseye, Rynglond,
Honingham, Colton, Marlyngford, Melton, Bauburgh, and Bowthorp, the whole, except the manor and advowson, was to go to the
benefit and advowson of the college in general, but they were settled
to find a chaplain in the collegiate church, and in the church of St.
Peter of Mancroft, to pray for the welfare of the said William Sedman and Margaret his wife, during their lives, and their souls for ever
after their decease, which secular chaplain, or chantry priest, was to
have no other cure whatever, being bound to say matins at 6 o'clock
every morning, in St. Peter's church at the altar of the Holy Trinity,
one week, and the other, in the collegiate church, and so alternately
for ever; and also to be and serve day by day in the choir there, with
the rest of the canons or vicars, he being to be reputed one of them;
he was chosen by the majority of the college, and was sworn to perform his office, and be obedient in all things lawful to the dean, was
to hold it for life, if he did not that which would remove a vicar, and
was to have a chamber found him, and his barber, meat, drink,
washing, and lodging free, and six marks stipend at Easter and
Michaelmas, and if the college did not fill up every vacancy in three
months, the corporation of the city was to do it, and have 10l. per
annum paid them by the college out of the premises, to and such a
priest. The settlement was by tripartite indentures, one part of which
was to be in the Gild-hall, another in the college, and the other in St.
This William Sedman was bailiff, sheriff, mayor, and thrice
burgess in parliament for the city; he married Margaret, daughter of
John Daniel, and lies buried in Lettice Payn's chantry in St. Peter's
Mancroft, before the high-altar there, called Bronde's or Trinity
altar, and gave 20l. to the college towards leading the chancel, on
condition they put his name in their martyrology, and keep his obit,
and commemorate his name in the Sunday bead-roll, and observe his
chantry faithfully for ever.
SIXTH CONDUCT, OR WYGENHALE'S PRIEST.
This chantry was founded in 1460, by Master John de Wygenhale, doctor in the decrees, some time dean here, and archdeacon
of Sudbury, (see p. 171,) who gave 200l. to purchase lands and tenements with, for the benefit of the society, on condition they found a
secular chaplain, who had no cure of souls, nor was of any religious
order, to pray daily for his welfare, and for his soul after his death,
together with the souls of John and Margaret, his father and mother,
and William, (his brother,) and all the faithful deceased; and to keep
his anniversary with placebo, dirige, and mass by note. His chantry
priest was to have a chamber well repaired found him, with barber,
meat, drink, washing, and lodging, as the rest of the canons in all
things, he being to be reputed and taken to be one of the foundation,
and to have a pension of 5 marks a year: John Spendlove, priest, was
appointed the first, who, as all his successours, was to enjoy it for life,
if not guilty of notorious crimes, and they were to be chosen by the
dean and majority of the college: it seems one Maude Hirde (Heade)
made some addition to this conduct's place, for her soul was daily
prayed for, along with the others.
BOKENHAM'S CHANTRY PRIEST
Was founded by Edmund de Bokenham of Snetterton, Esq. who
died in 1479, at his city house in St. Peter's, and was buried in this
collegiate church, and gave the dean 13s. 4d.; to every brother prebendary then resident, and serving in the choir daily, 10s.; to every
chantry priest there 6s. 8d.; to the clerk 3s. 4d.; to the master of the
boys that sing in the choir, 13s. 4d. and ten marks to repair the church.
He settled divers lands and tenements called Buxton's in Smallburgh,
which he purchased of the executors of Henry Catte, for the profits
to find fuel for the choristers yearly, from All-Saints to Easter, to be
managed by the master of the children of the said college; and also
two tenements in St. Giles's parish, to find a light yearly burning in a
lamp before the high-altar, and another before the sepulchre at
Easter for ever, and gave his city house to be sold, and the money
was settled to find a chantry priest to sing for his soul at his grave
here, and for that of Dionise his wife, for ever. (fn. 37)
Goldwell's chantry priest
Was founded by the executors of Bishop James Goldwell, (see
Pt. I. p. 541,) with the surplusage of his fortunes, with which they
purchased license of Henry VII. to settle 53 marks a year in mortmain,
which they accordingly did, on the master and brethren of St. Giles's
hospital in Norwich, conditionally to find for ever three chaplains,
either seculars or regulars, to pray for the soul of the said Bishop; upon
which, lands of that value were purchased, and the hospital gave security, and tied their manor of Rokel's in Trowse in the county of
Norfolk, to pay 10 marks a year to one chaplain celebrating for his
soul in the cathedral, in the chapel at his tomb, and 10 marks a year
for a second chaplain to celebrate mass for his soul in the collegiate
church, and 10 marks for a third chaplain celebrating for him in their
hospital church, the residue being to be applied to the poor in the
hospital, all which was settled by three deeds in 1520.
Persons buried in the collegiate church are,
1379, Walter Ingald, rector of Easton. (fn. 38) 1382, William Armory,
rector of Long-Stratton, buried in the choir by the tomb of Simon de
Babingley. 1382, Sir Thomas de Gyssing, Knt. (fn. 39) 1384, Adam, rector of Fieldallyng. 1384, William Basset, rector of a mediety of
Hetherset, gave a messuage abutting on Abraham's-hall west, on the
highway east, and on the market south, daily to remember his soul,
and those of Henry and Maud his parents, in their morning mass for
ever, each by their several names. 1385, George de Stanford, rector
of North-Reppes; he gave 20s. for a pittance, and 8 marks for an annual. 1385, Adam Everard of Bradfield, chaplain. 1388, Joan,
widow of Sir Tho. de Gissing, Knt. buried by her husband's tomb,
and gave a vestment to St. Catherine's altar of red velvet and gold
stars. 1391, John Smith of Gonthorp, parish chaplain of East Carleton
or Carleton St. Mary. 1393, Tho. de Hale, chaplain.
1419, Sir Tho. Hemgrave, Knt. before the image of the Blessed
Virgin in the choir, and gave 10l. to the college. 1432, John Playforth, rector of Baconesthorp, buried in that chapel, where he used to
say mass, and gave a cup and patten of silver gilt. 1434, Richard
Schyrlok of Badlee, buried before St. John's image, and gave 26l. 13s.
4d. to be entered in the martyrology and bead-roll; to the work of the
new window 26s. 8d. and 5l. for a marble to be laid over him. 1439,
Sir Edward Hunt, chaplain, buried in the porch, and gave a fine cup,
and vestment of red silk. 1443, Godwin Pescod. 1445, Thomas
Bumpstede, senior, Esq. buried by the tomb of Margery his mother,
and gave 5l. and forgave the college a debt of 9 marks. 1446, Thomas Fuller, rector of the mediety of North Tuddenham, buried in the
south isle, and gave 10 marks. Robert Blickling of Norwich, Esq.
was buried in the abbey church at Carrow, but ordered a marble pavement to be made in the north isle of the collegiate church, by the tomb
of Simon de Blickling, his grandfather. 1458, John Godwyn, chaplain, brother of Corpus Christi gild held here, the alderman of the gild,
and brethren to say mass for him on the 7th day after his death. 1458,
William Martyn, notary publick; he gave a legacy towards rebuilding
the church, as it was then designed, and a sum of money to make the
sepulchre of our Lord, and a handsome white silk altar-cloth, with a
frontel for the high altar, on which this was embroidered, Orate pro anima Will' Martyn Hotarii, qui contulit hunc pannum in honorem
Beatissime Virginis Matris Domini nostri Marie, Matris DominiJesu Christi.
1460, Will. Sekyngton. 1461, Ric. Fuller, chaplain, by his father's
tomb. 1460, John Smith, chaplain. 1464, Ric. Ferneys, hermit,
formerly at Newbrigge in Ickburgh; he gave legacies to John, then
hermit there, and to John Felton, then hermit at Norwich.
1465, Edmund Hobbes, chaplain. 1468, John Wigenhale, doctor
in the decrees, Dean here, Archdeacon of Sudbury, &c. (See Pt. I. p.
648,) buried in the north part, at the east end, before the altar of the
Blessed Virgin, and gave 10l. to repair the church. 1471, Thomas
Jamys, chaplain. 1475, John Spendlove, chaplain, before St. James's
altar, where morning mass is said, before the image of St. Mary there
painted. 1479, John le Strange of Norwich, Esq. left Eliz. his second
wife, an annuity out of his manors of Aslacton, Wakton, and Hedenham, and if Thomas Duke, his first wife's son, would settle it, he to
have the manors in fee simple, and his estates in the parish of St. Edmund the King, St. Paul, and St. Peter of Hundegate; he gave the
college 20 marks. Eliz. wife of John Jenney, daughter and heir of
John (Wetherbye) or Wedyrlye. (Weever, fo. 865.) 1483, John
Shottesham, chaplain, gave a corporas case and corporal of gold tissue.
1485, William Fake, buried before the holy-rood in the choir, and
ordered 4 marbles 1 foot square each, and 20 half yard marbles, to be
laid as pavement over and near his grave, to give example to others to
pave the whole church with marble, which was afterwards done; he
gave 10l. to buy an altar cloth for the high-altar; and was a great
benefactor to their library and college. 1488, Will. Hemyng, chaplain, buried by Spendlove's tomb. 1495, Will. Cubet, chaplain, 1497,
Philip West, priest. 1503, Sir Robert Bushett, priest, of St. Stephen's,
by his mother, and gave a vestment of black damask worsted. 1506,
Ric. Baxter, priest. 1512, Robert Burnham, notary, by Mr. Bartilmew Northern. 1513, Sir Thomas Love, priest, buried on the south
side of the church, before the image of our Lady of Pity, and had a
stone thus inscribed, hic iacet Thomas Love Capellanus quondam Cle
ricus Parochialis Sancti Petri de Mancroft, cuiux anime propicietur deus
Amen. 1519, Rob. Burges, clerk of the chapel in the Field, buried
in the body of the church, next Master Ralf Danyel, on the north
side, and gave a legacy for himself and wife, to be put in the martyrology book, and in the bead book. 1534, John Coke, buried in the
nether end of the north isle.
Benefactors to this college were,
John le Brun, the founder, who gave the site of the college,
and the advowson of the rectory of the church of St. Andrew in
Norwich; and Jeffery le Brun, his brother, rector there, confirmed it in 1267. It is plain that the founder had began an hospital here before 1248, for in that year, John Bond bequeathed to the
hospital of St. Mary in the Fields, a rent of 6d. a year, out of the
messuage formerly of Chabbard the Jew, and then of Will. de
In 1272, William de Dunwich was a benefactor, and the advowson
of St. George at the Monastery-gates, now St. George at Tombland,
seems to have been given also by the founder, and was appropriated
with the church of St. Andrew.
King Edward III. granted them license to appropriate the church
of Moulton, and a mediety of the church of Fresingfield in Suffolk.
In 1374, Sir Roger Midleton, rector of St. Peter of Mancroft, gave
10l. towards building their common kitchen and their precinct walls;
to Gloucester abbey 40l. and to Cirencester abbey 40 marks. In
1364, King Edward III. licensed them to get the church of Easton
appropriated to them, and to hold divers lands there. In 1377, Margaret, relict of Peter Fairchild, gave them a shop to sell, and lay out
the money in building their cloister. 1378, Ralf Kesewic gave them
a stall to sell for that purpose. In 1379, Adam Popy settled a messuage and garden on the college; and Walter de Berney gave 10l.
towards building the cloister. In 1380, a royal license passed to appropriate St. Andrew's, St. George's, and Field-Dallyng, to the college;
and another in 1383, for the appropriation of St. Peter in Mancroft.
In 1385, Thomas Bumstede was a benefactor. In 1389, Ric. de Blakeney settled divers lands in Norwich and Heigham. In 1392, Henry
Liminour settled and gave divers lands in Eston and Costesseye. In
1419, Thomas Frary, chaplain, conveyed to the dean divers lands in
Melton-Parva, of the gift of John de Blickling. In 1420, the other
mediety of Fresingfield was appropriated to them by John Bishop of
Norwich. In 1423, Walter Danyel, mercer, gave 20 marks for the
soul of William his son. In 1428, Rich. Fatman gave 20l. towards
leading the chancel, and founded a priest to sing for him there. In
1433, William Sedman gave 20l. towards leading the choir. In 1442,
John Cambridge, alderman, gave 10 marks. 1444, Thomas Wetherby,
Esq. gave five marks to repair the church. 1464, Alice, widow of
Ric. Brown, merchant, gave 40s. In 1467, John Drolle, alderman,
gave a cross of silver gilt. 1470, John Pers, dean of Norwich city,
was a benefactor of their library; as was Alderman John Gilbert in
1466, and Ric. Ferneys, hermit at Newbrigge, in 1464. In 1487,
John Carlton, mercer, and in 1493, Thomas Wotton, rector of Blofield. In 1492, Eliz. widow of Robert Clere of Ormesby, Esq. founded
two priests to sing before Ryse's or Rees's altar here, for two years, for
her soul, and those of Thomas Uvedale and Margaret his wife, her
father and mother; and Sir Walter Balle, priest, to have it and 7
marks a year stipend; and if the dean will keep her mother's yerday,
he to have 8d. and two wax tapers to burn that day: she was a benefactress to the great gild of St. Mary kept here. The manor of
Tacolneston went with her from the Uvedales to the Cleres; she is
interred in the cathedral. 1501, Thomas Bachcroft of Little-Melton,
gave 40l. to make a new rood-loft in the worship of God, our Lady,
and All-Saints in heaven. 1515, the dean paid 10s. to the Prioress
of Bungey for certain tithes in Mowton hired of her, and 4s. for rent
of the George by Fibrigge, 10s. for a house on Tombland, and 10s. for
a house in St. Peter's. 1525, Alderman John Marsham gave a legacy
to the church. (fn. 40)
The church of St. Mary Unbrent in Norwich was given at or soon
after the foundation, by Mathew le Brun, brother to the founder;
and it appears, that the three brothers, viz. John the Founder,
Jeffery, rector of St. Andrew, and Mathew, shared the inheritance of their father, for each of them had 4 acres of land in ChapelFields, and the advowson of a church; on his 4 acres the founder
built the college, and gave his advowson of St. George, and procured
the two other from his brothers. Other 4 acres, came some time
after to be in the priory of St. James at Bukenham in Norfolk, of
which house the college purchased it; paying them 10s. per annum
reserved rent; and the other part was given by Mathew, to Lucy de
Morley, his wife, and by her executors sold to John son of Henry le
Caus, and Alice his wife, who sold it to Peter de Bumpstede, merchant, and his heirs, and that continued a private property many
years. In 1530, the college released 3s. part of a rent of 5s. out of
the tenements, called afterwards the Suffragan's tenements.
Edmund, son of Jeffery the blacksmith, by deed without date, gave
an annual rent of 12d. out of his house in St. Stephen's: and many such
small rents were given by divers persons out of several houses in many
parishes in the city.
The revenues of the college in 1428 were thus taxed; viz. spirituals,
St. Andrew in Norwich valued at 100s. paid 10s. tenths.
St. Peter of Mancroft — 15 marks. — 33s. 4d.
The portion of the Abbot of Gloucester in the said church, perpetually leased to the college.—6 marks. — viij.s.
St. George at the Gates appropriated, but not valued or taxed.
The whole of their spirituals was valued at 79l.
The whole of their temporals 4l. 10s. 4d. of which in St. Stephen's
10s. 1d.; St. Saviour's 6d.; St. Andrew's 21s. 10d.; St. Martin at Plain
2s.; All-Saints 4s. 4d.; St. John 18d.; St. Peter per Montergate 10s.;
St. Mary Unbrent 4s. 10d.; St. Simon and Jude 7s.; St. George 12d.;
St. Olave 5d.; St. Julian 2s.; St. Mary 2s.; St. Edward 2s.; St. Clement 6d.; St. Giles 8s. 6d.; St. Laurence 2s.; St. Margaret 12d.; St.
The whole of their spirituals and temporals valued at 83l. 10s. 3d.
paid 8l. 7s. ob. every tenth; and in 37 Henry VIII. it was granted to
Miles Spencer, the last dean, and his heirs, for 105l. 13s. 4d. viz.
The whole college and its site in the parishes of St. Stephen, and
St. Peter of Mancroft, with the church, steeple, (fn. 41) and churchyard, and
all walls and buildings whatever in the said site, to be held in free
burgage and not in capite. And also, a capital messuage with gardens
and orchards in St. Peter's Mancroft, and 20 messuages and tenements, and also the capital messuage called Abraham's-hall, in
the parishes of St. Stephen's and St. Peter aforesaid; and the corner
house and two adjoining tenements in St. Stephen's; and a stable
and four other messuages in that parish, and a messuage and all their
shops and cellars in St. Andrew's, and three messuages in St.
George's, and their gardens and orchards, and 2s. rent from the city,
and divers rents out of houses amounting to 12s. value, and also a
moiety of a garden (fn. 42) and a parcel of ground adjoining, in St. Stephen's; and one great garden called the Dove-house Close, and one
dove-house therein built, in St. Peter Mancroft, and another garden;
and a garden and waste messuage there; and six gardens more in St.
Stephen's, and one more in St. Peter's; and all stalls, gardens, &c.
there; and also the manor, rectory, and advowson of Bowthorp,
vicarage, with all lands, court fees, tithes, &c. thereto belonging,
and all other their revenues there: and the rectories of Easton, and
Field-Dallyng, in Norfolk, and Fresingfield in Suffolk, and the advowsons of their several vicarages, and all barns, buildings, lands,
tithes, &c. belonging to their several impropriate rectories. The
manor advowson, and rectory of Bowthorp, and Eston, Field-Dalling,
and Fresingfield advowsons, and rectories, to be held in capite at the
60th part of a knight's fee; and 9s. 2d. ob. per annum for Bowthorp,
4s. 8d. for Eston, 19s. 8d. for Field-Dallyng, and 8s. 4d. 0b. for
Fresingfield, to be paid into the Court of Augmentations every
Michaelmas, as tenths. The said Miles was to pay 40s. a year to the
collector for his fee; 2s. to the Bishop of Norwich for Bowthorp synodals, and 6s. to the Archdeacon of Norfolk for procurations; 6s. 8d.
to the Bishop for a pension from Easton; and 40s. to him for a pension from Field-Dallyng; 3s. 4d. to the sacrist of the cathedral, and
4s. to the Bishop for Fresingfield synodals, 3l. for the Bishop's pension from Fresingfield; 11s. 8d. to Suffolk Archdeacon for his synodals and procurations, and 8d. to the sacrist of the cathedral. The
said Miles was to have all the timber, glass, iron, tombs, and stones,
of, in, or upon the church, chancel, cloister, and all other buildings,
within the site; and all the lead on the cloister, porch, and great
hall, and in the windows of the parlour, and at the end of the gallery,
and about the cisterns and conduits; with all the ornaments of the
church, without paying any thing for them: the letters patent are
dated at Westminster, May, 22, Ao. Reg. 37°.
In 1555, William Burnel and Constance his wife received an annuity of 3l. 6s. 8d.; Miles Spencer a pension of 11l.; Will. Mingay,
auditor, 10s.; John Corbet 20s.; all which were paid by the Crown,
on grants made them at the dissolution of the college.
From the Spencers it came to the Cornwaleises, and Henry Cornwaleis, Esq. owned it in 1588. In the bow-window in the great hall,
are Southwell's arms, with his quarters, viz. Wichingham, Fastolff,
Tendring, and Holebrook, impaling
Cornwaleis and her quarters, viz. 1. sab. two bars gemels arg. on
a canton of the second, a crescent of the first. 2. Braham. 3. arg.
a bend between six croslets fitché sab. 5. Tirrel. 6. Duke.
Kitson, sab. three luces hauriant in fess arg. a chief or, quartering
quarterly, 1 and 4, arg. three pales az. on a chief gul. three bezants.
2 and 3, a chevron between three mullets gul. the whole impaling
Cornwaleis and his quartering as before, and are the arms of Sir
Thomas Kitson, Knt. lord of Hemgrave or Hingrave in Suffolk, who
married for his second wife, Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Sir Thomas
Cornwaleis, Knt. owner of this college; Kitson died in 1602, and
Elizabeth his widow erected his monument in Hingrave chancel in
Cornwaleis and his quarterings as before, impales Jerningham
and her quarters, viz. Inglethorp, Fitz-Osborn, Herling, Lowdham,
Gonvile, Keldon, and Clifton of Nottinghamshire.
It was after owned by Sir Charles Cornwaleis, whose whole achievement, though now lost, was in the windows, with his crest and motto,
viz. Virtus vincit Invidiam: there were also the arms of Southwell
and Cornwaleis, and
Southwell's crest, viz. a demi-hound arg. with a red ear, and a
crown about his neck or,
Barrow sab. two swords in saltier proper, between four de-lises
or, in a bordure gobony arg. and gul.; and many more now lost.
It was after purchased by the Hobarts; in the windows the following arms of that family still remain;
1. Hobart and Bell, for Sir Henry Hobart the judge, and Dorothy
his wife, daughter of Sir Robert Bell of Baupre-hall, Lord Chief
Baron of the Exchequer.
2. Hobart and Sidney, for Sir John Hobart, Bart. and Phillipa his
first wife, daughter of Robert Sidney Earl of Leicester.
3. Hobart, with Ulster arms, impaling Egerton, arg. a lion rampant gul. between 3 pheons sab. for Sir John Hobart, Bart. and
Frances, his second wife, daughter of John Earl of Bridgewater.
4. Hobart impales Peyton, for Sir Miles Hobart, Knt. second son
to Sir Henry Hobart the chief justice, and father to that Sir John
Hobart that married Hampden; and Susanna his wife, daughter
to Sir John Peyton of Iselham, Bart.
5. Hobart and Hampden, arg. a saltier gul. between four eagles displayed az. for Sir John Hobart of Blickling, Bart. and Mary his
second wife, daughter to John Hampden of Hampden in Buckinghamshire, relict of that Colonel Hammond, who had Charles I.
prisoner in the isle of Wight; which Colonel was own brother to
the learned Doctor Hammond, the favourite chaplain to that
It is now  owned by John Lord Hobart of Blickling.
(68) Abraham's-hall, is part in St. Stephen's and part in St. Peter
of Mancroft, on the south side of the hay-market; it is now the sign of
Abraham offering up his son Isaac, and is a very ancient inn; for in
1619, Will. Blomefield, merchant, aged 82 years, Titus Norris, aged 83
years, and others, certified that they had known it an inn above 60
years, and it was then reputed an ancient inn. It takes its name from
Abraham the son of Deulecresse the Jew, (fn. 43) who for blasphemy and
other transgressions that he did, was drawn and burnt, and so escheated
his estate to the Crown; (fn. 44) and on the 7th of July 1278, King Edward I.
granted to Vincent de Kirkeby and Lucy his wife, this messuage,
with seven shops adjoining, and 8s. 8d. yearly rents paid to it, the
whole being then valued at 6l. 1s. per annum, and to their heirs for
ever: Anthony Bek Archdeacon of Durham, Master Tho. Bek Archdeacon of Dorset, Ralf de Hengham, Thomas de Weyland, and others,
being witnesses. In 1351, Edward III. granted license in mortmain,
to Katherine de Kirkeby, to settle it on the college of St. Mary in the
Fields; and in January 1333, it was settled by the name of her tenement in the horse-market, called Abraham's-hall, (fn. 45) for a chaplain
to pray daily for the soul of the said Catherine after her death, and for
the souls of John de Kirkeby, Walter Gysouns, Rich. Lirling, fathers
of the said Katherine de Kirkeby, and Roger de Wortham the first
chantry priest, who was to be nominated by the college, and have a
stipend of five marks and an half, and be as one of the vicars in the
college, and reckoned a canon there, and have a chamber, meat, drink,
washing, and lodging; and if they suffered the chantry to be void a
month, the turn was then to lapse to the Bishop.