(69) St. Peter of Mancroft.
This parish is a small ward of itself, and at the beginning of the
Confessor's reign was uninhabited, being field only; that part which
is now the market-place, was the magna crofta castelli, or great
croft (fn. 1) of the castle; it joining to the outward west ditch thereof;
and hence the church that was built on the south-west part of it, is
still distinguished from the other churches of St. Peter in this city, by
the name of Magna Crofta, or Mancroft. At the latter end of
the Confessor's time it began to be inhabited, and at the Conqueror's
survey, all this land was owned and held by Ralf Waiet, or Guader,
Earl of Norfolk, (fn. 2) in right of his castle, and he granted it to the King
in common, to make a new-burgh between them; which burgh
contained all this and St. Giles's parish; (fn. 3) and this Earl it was, that
first founded the church of St. Peter and Paul at Mancroft, and gave
it to his chaplains; and after his forfeiture, Robert Blund the sheriff,
received an ounce of gold yearly from the chaplains; and on Godric's
becoming sheriff, the Conqueror gave it in fee to Wala his chaplain,
at which time it was worth 3l. per annum. This Wala, after the
grant, was called Wala de Sco' Petro, by which name he became
a monk in the abbey of Gloucester, and at his entering there, gave this
church to that monastery, in the time, of Serlo the first abbot there;
and William the Conqueror confirmed his gift, (fn. 4) as did afterwards
Thomas Becket Archbishop of Canterbury, who licensed them to get
it appropriated if William Turb Bishop of Norwich would consent,
but he would not; (fn. 5) and so it still continued a rectory in the gift of
Gloucester abbey, by the abbot and convent of which, the following
rectors were presented.
1300, Sir Jeffery de Wyleby, priest. It was then valued at eight
1312, John de Carent.
1320, Edward de Flete, chaplain, or vicar to Carent.
Walter de Berencestre; he resigned.
1326, John de Burncestre; he was allowed to be non-resident, and
acknowledged to John Abbot of Gloucester, a pension of six marks,
to be yearly due and paid by the rector here to that abbey. Simon de
Byntre was his vicar or parish chaplain.
1361, Sir Robert Passelew, priest, resigned.
1361, Sir Roger de Midleton, priest; he was buried in the chancel
in 1374, and gave 20s. to repair the books belonging to the altar, and
40s. towards consecrating the churchyard, which was now enlarging
by license from the King and Bishop; 20s. to his parish chaplain or
vicar; 6s. 8d. to the parish clerk; 2s. to the sexton; and to each chaplain celebrating annuals in the church when he died, 40d.; to his
lord the Abbot, and convent of Gloucester 40l.; to the monks there
20l.; and 20l. to repair the church; to the Abbot and convent of
Cirencester 40 marks; 20 marks to the canons there, and 20 marks to
repair that church; 40s. to Sir John Brown, dean of the chapel in the
Fields. (See p. 170.)
1374, March 19, Sir Adam Damport, the last rector, was presented by the Abbot and Convent of Gloucester, who in 1383, obtained
license in mortmain, to convey the advowson to John de Pyeshale
and Tho. More, clerks, Rob. Ashfield, Barth. de Salle, Nic. de Blakeney,
Henry Lumnor, Will. Appelyard, and Robert de Pyeshall, who were
to convey it to the dean and chapter of the college of St. Mary
in the Fields, which they accordingly did, by their deed bearing date
in 1388, with liberty to get it impropriated and so hold it to them
and their successours, paying the old pension of 4l. a year to the
Abbot of Gloucester; (fn. 6) of which pension also afterwards, they obtained a perpetual lease from the abbey; it is plain that the church
was soon after impropriated, (fn. 7) for the dean and chapter of St. Mary
held it as such, and never presented any rector or vicar, but took
the whole profits to themselves, and nominated a parish chaplain,
paid 3d. yearly for the synodals, 33s. 4d. tenths, to the Bishop, prior,
and monks five marks per annum, and to the sacrist 4s. and the college was bound at the impropriation, to make the stipend of the
parish chaplain eight marks a year, because he was taxed at that rate,
as the monks were also taxed for their pension: and it appears by the
accounts of the college, that they always nominated the parish chaplain, and paid him his stipend, as also the parish clerk's stipend, and
that of the sacrist or sexton; and in 1431, they paid to
Master John Grydinge, parish chaplain, 6l. 6s. 8d. clear; he being
found a good and decent habitation in the college, with meat, drink,
washing, and lodging, as one of their canons; 20s. to the parish clerk,
and 2s. to the sexton, as stipends, over and above their accustomed
fees. And from the impropriation, the college repaired the chancel,
and paid the proxies or procurations to the Archdeacon of Norwich,
whose jurisdiction it is in; and after all expenses and stipends paid,
the college received 26l. 8s. 7d. ob. q. clear.
In 1441, the whole profits were assigned by the college to rebuild
the chancel, and the parish chaplain, and all that served here, remitted
their stipends this year for that purpose.
In 1454, Sir Will. Bafyn was then parish chaplain, had 6l. 13s. 4d.
for his stipend, and the college paid for bell-ropes, and rushes to straw
the church; this year the college cleared 29l.
In 1492, Sir Robert Beverle was then parish chaplain, and appeared at the Bishop's visitation as such, with the two chantry
chaplains serving in the church, which were also assistants to him, and
nine other stipendiary priests; all which officiated as soul priests by
his leave, in the church, he being their superiour; this number of
priests under him, occasioned the parish chaplain sometimes, even in
records, to be called the prior of St. Peter in Mancroft.
1513, died Sir Thomas Love, priest, parish chaplain, and is buried
at the chapel in the Fields. (See p. 180.)
1525, Sir John Gryme, priest, parish chaplain. He died in 1543,
and is buried in St. Stephen's, (see p. 152,) and was succeeded by one
of his own name, for in
1547, Sir John Gryme appeared as parish chaplain, and prior or
superiour of Sir Stephen Prewet, stipendiary priest. Sir John Dorant
and Sir William Coppin, chantry priests, Sir John Ferman and Sir
Robert Roberts, stipendiaries.
In 1545, 37 Henry VIII. Dr. Spencer Dean of the college, and the
prebends, and Bishop of Norwich, their patron and ordinary, joined
in a grant, and conveyed the college, and all its revenues to the
King, which was also confirmed by the chapter of Norwich
The King being thus seized in right of his Crown, his successour
Edward VI. by virtue of the said grant, and certain clauses in the
statutes of colleges 37th Henry VIII. and of chantries 1st of Edward VI. did in the 7th year of his reign, Ao. 1552, 1 July, grant the
same to William Mingay and William Necton of Norwich, gentleman, and their heirs, to be held of the manor of East Greenwich in
Kent by fealty only, by the name of the rectory and church of
St. Peter of Mancroft in the city of Norwich; (fn. 8) (fn. 9) and the tithes
of the same, with all the appurtenances, free and discharged of the
pension heretofore due to the abbey of Gloucester, &c. and they by
deed dated dated March 1, the same year conveyed it to Ric. Catlyn,
serjeant at law, and his heirs; and in
1547, the Serjeant, by his will, made the Bishop of Ely and Barbara his wife, executors, who were to take the profits of all his estates,
till one of his children being heir to him attained the age of 22 years.
Barbara only administered; and in
1556, 7 Sept. Sir Stephen Prewet or Prowet, then parish chaplain,
was instituted to the rectory of St. Peter in Mancroft, at the presentation of Barbara Catlyn, widow aforesaid, and was inducted and held
it for life.
But it appearing that the church was not presentative, but a mere
donative in the donation of the impropriator, at his death it went as it
had done, ever since its impropriation, and the impropriator made a
donation of it in
1562, to Sir Robert Dixon, who was licensed by the Bishop, on his
showing his deed of donation and nomination.
1564, Master John Walker was licensed parish chaplain.
1568, Sir Thomas Crosse, ditto. Mr. William Newman was curate
or assistant, and after him Clement Paman, who was made parish chaplain in 1569, by the donation of Charles le Grice, for
In 1569, Francis Southwelt, husband of Barbara Catlyn, and Rich.
Catlyn, son and heir of Serjeant Catlyn, conveyed it to Charles le
Grice of Brockdish, and his heirs, for ever, and in
1572, Mr. Hugh Castleton was licensed parish chaplain on the
donation and nomination of Charles le Grice. He was vicar of
1581, 24 Eliz. William le Grice of Norwich, Gent. son and heir of
the said Charles le Grice, conveyed the rectory church, and all its
appurtenances, to Henry Greenwood, Christopher Barret, and many
others, as feoffees in trust, for the parishioners of the said parish, who
purchased it; and accordingly in
1588, Mr. Hugh Thornly, a licensed publick preacher, was made
parish chaplain on the donation of the feoffees.
1595, Mr. George Flood, preacher, licensed parish chaplain, on the
donation of the feoffees; and this year, they, jointly with the majority
of the parish, established an assistant minister or curate, to be always
chosen by the majority of the parishioners, inhabiting in the parish,
and assigned the several stipends to them; both which the feoffees
paid, and yearly received all the accruing profits. This was found
necessary after the dissolution of the chantry-priests, which were constant assistants to the parish chaplain, and accordingly
Sir Thomas Heach was chosen assistant minister or curate, and was
licensed accordingly, on the nomination of the majority of the parishioners.
1598, Mr. Will. Welles, prebend of Norwich, (see Pt. I. p. 662,) was
licensed chaplain, on the donation of the feoffees. He lies interred
in the altar rails: on his stone are his arms, and this inscription:
Welles, or, a lion rampant double quevé sab. in a bordure
Doctrinæ, Virtuti, Memoriæ, Sacrum.
Ossuarium disertissimi, dilectissimi Viri, Magistri Gulielmi
Welles, in Sacrâ Theologiâ Bacalaurei, Rectoris hujus Ecclesiæ, et Ecclesiæ Cathedralis Prebendarij, Qui post 30 annos,
egregiâ Vitæ sanctitate, et suavitate morum, cum insigni et indefessâ in Negotio Pastorali diligentiâ, in hâc celebri Civitate,
summâ cum Laude transactos, satur Famæ optimæ, et bonis
omnibus desideratus, Ecclesiæ Dei, præmaturè sibi fæliciter, in
Domino obdormivit, spe certâ resurgendi. Ano. Dni: 1620, Maij
26. Ætatis suæ 54.
1620, Samuel Gardiner, S. T. P. on the donation of the feoffees, at
1632, Mr. Simon Sumpter, S. T. B. Ditto.
1631, Mr. John Carter, chosen curate or assistant minister, by the
parishioners; and in 1633, he was appointed one of the four lecturers
by the court, namely, to preach the Tuesday lecture in this church,
according to the order of assembly, and to receive 50s. every quarter
for so doing.
1638, Mr. John Carter was licensed to the place of parish chaplain
or head minister, at the donation of the feoffees, and in November
Hugh Roberts was instituted Rector at the King's presentation,
he having obtained the broad seal as to a lapsed rectory, but the
parishioners on contest, proved their right, and outed him.
At Carter's being made parish chaplain, the parishioners chose
Mr. Thomas Osborne, curate or assistant minister, who died Nov. 2,
1642, and is buried here.
In 1639, the court granted to Mr. John Carter, then head minister,
10l. per annum during pleasure "so as he do contynew and perform
preaching there on Tewesdays, as formerly he and other his predecessors have heretofore done."
In 1679, two of the four lectures were laid aside, and the stipends
fixed to two only; and in the Court Book is this entry concerning
the lecture, "agreed that the annual allowance of this city for the
support of the Tuesday lecture in the parish of St. Peter of Mancroft, shall be 20l. per annum," from which time the upper minister
hath been lecturer, and received the stipend, and continues so to do
till Michaelmas next, notice being given to the parishioners by the
court, that the stipend will be then withdrawn, and so consequently
the lecture will cease. In 1652, Mr. Carter's stipend, as upper
minister, was 96l. per annum.
1654, Mr. John Boatman, upper minister, on the donation of the
feoffees; he was elected into the assistant's place and performed the
whole duty, and in 1655, received 123l. 16s. 11d. for the two
1658, George Cock, assistant, chosen in 1557, was now elected
upper minister by the parishioners and obtained thereon a donation of
the feoffees, who have no power to elect solely, they giving a counter
deed to the church-wardens and parishioners, to release all right to such
others, as they shall appoint whenever they are called upon by them
so to do; he received 120l. per annum stipend.
1670, Mr. Rively was chosen assistant minister, and had 50l. stipend,
as is still paid.
1674, Thomas Tenison, fellow of Corpus Christi college in Cambridge,
D. D. chaplain to Edward Earl of Manchester, and after that to his
son Robert, after that to Car. II. vicar of St. Martin in the Fields,
Archdeacon of London, Bishop of Lincoln, and thence translated to
the archiepiscopal see of Canterbury. His stipend was 100l. per annum.
1675, Mr. Hall, assistant.
1676, William Hawkins, D. D. of Magdalen college Oxford, prebend of the fifth stall in Norwich cathedral, for whom see Pt. I. p.
1676, Mr. Morley, assistant. Mr. Tooley 1677, and Mr. Leech,
the latter end of the same year.
1678, John Jeffery, D. D. Archdeacon of Norwich, for whom see
Pt. I. p. 641. He lies interred under a black marble in the altar rails,
with this inscription;
M. S. Johannis Jeffery, S. T. P. Archidiaconi Norvicensis
hujus Ecclesiæ per 42 Annos Ministri qui Christianam Religionem absque partium, absque sui Studio, ab anili Superstitione
fæliciter vindicavit, simplicem et absolutam prædicavit, studijs
coluit, ornavit moribus, Calend. Aprilis, Anno Æræ Christianæ
1720. Ætatis suæ 73, ad sui similes demigravit, apud quos,
Vita, quam amavit, Gloria, quam quæsivit, Fruitur.
1678, Francis Morley, assistant. 1686, Mr. Robins. 1688, Mr.
1740, The Rev. Mr. John Whitefoot, A. M. chosen assistant. He
was commissary of Norwich archdeaconry, rector of Hellesden and
Heigham, minister of St. Gregory, and clerk of the convocation, a
very learned, worthy, and judicious divine. See Pt. I. p. 581,
1720, He was chosen upper minister at Jeffery's death, and was
succeeded in his assistant's place by
Mr. Samuel Ganning, who, in
1731, Dec. 11, on Mr. Whitefoot's death, was chosen upper minister,
he was rector of Earsham in Norfolk, and of the sinecure rectory of
Tid in Lincolnshire; he lies buried under a black marble in the north
isle, directly against the north door, though in the most south part of
the isle, with this,
Sub hoc marmore deponuntur Exuviæ Sam. Ganning,
A. M. quondam hujus Ecclesiæ Pastoris, obijt Octob. XXVo.
Anno Ætatis suæ LIIIo. Domini nostri MDCXLo.
1731, Dec. 11, The Rev. Robert Camell, LL. D. rector of Bradwell
and Lounde in Lothingland in Suffolk, was elected coudjutor or assistant minister here, to whom I am in gratitude bound, always to acknowledge the great assistances I received from him during his life, in this
and many other undertakings. An account of him may be seen in
my first volume of the history of Norfolk, p. 25. He lies buried on
the south side in the altar rails, under a black marble, with the following arms and inscription,
Crest a boar's head cooped.
Camell gironné of eight, or and sab. Motto, loyal au
In the fess point is a shield of
Hasbert on a coat of pretence, viz. fretté, on which in chief
Reliquiæ Roberti Camell LL. D. Rectoris de Bradwell &
Lounde in Com. Suffolciæ, hujusque Ecclesiæ Co-adjutoris, Parochianorum Suffragijs Co-optati, obijt 21° die Mensis Novembris,
Ætatis 39°. Æræ Christiani 1732°.
Scias Lector, quicunque sis, quod qualis Is erat, et Tu fueris,
Magnus ille et tremendus dies Domini nostri JESV CHRISTI,
[THEANTHROPOY], cum omnes ad summum Tribunal sistentur judicandi, manifestabit.
At his death, Mr. Robert Clipwell, his curate, was chosen into his
place; which, on taking the rectories of Barsham in Suffolk, and
Wotton in Norfolk, he resigned, and in June
1735, the Rev. Mr. Thomas Maulove was elected in his room, who
at Mr. Ganning's death in
1740, was appointed parish chaplain, or upper minister, and still
 continues so, being also vicar of St. Stephen's, and rector of
the consolidated rectories of Castor St. Edmund by Norwich, and
Merkeshall. And then
The Rev. John Francis, LL. D. was chosen coadjutor, or assistant
minister, and so continues; being also rector of the Morleys, and of
St. John Maddermarket in this city.
The upper minister's place is 80l. per annum stipend, a house to dwell
in against Chapel Field, let at 6l. per annum clear. 5l. per annum for
the interest of 200l. it being augmented by Queen Anne's bounty, and
no purchase yet made; and the surplice fees of the two first months in
The coadjutor or assistant minister's stipend, is 50l. per annum and
the surplice fees of the last month in every quarter.
It being the upper minister's duty to preach every Sunday in the
morning, and the assistant's every Sunday in the afternoon, and they
administer the sacrament every month as their turns happen.
The reader's place was established in 1680, to read prayers daily
(except on Sundays and holidays, when the minister or assistant officiates) at 9 in the morning, and 3 in the afternoon; it is supported by
a voluntary subscription, and 4l. per annum issuing out of the house
in this parish, in which Alderman Weld lately dwelt, which was settled
by Mr. Alexander and Mary Briggs in 1707; the whole amounting to
about 30l. per annum. Mr Whitefoot first began it, and was succeeded
The Rev. Mr. John Brand the present  reader.
In 1707, a noble organ was erected at the west end of the nave,
and Mr. Will. Pleasant was chosen organist, and a salary of 20l. per
annum was settled on his place; after him Mr. Humphry Cotton was
chosen, who is now organist of the cathedral, being succeeded here by
Mr. George Baker the present organist.
The parish clerk's stipend is 8l. per annum, besides all fees; Luke
Hill, is now parish clerk.
The sexton's stipend is 4l. per annum besides fees; Peter Smith is
now sexton, who hath also 4l. for ringing the four o'clock bell in the
morning and the nine o'clock bell at night.
The steepleman, whose office lies in the steeple only, for ringing of
bells, &c. has 4l. per annum, and Charles Wenn hath that place.
The bellows-blower to the organ is Sam. Brereton, whose stipend is
40s. per annum.
The present church is a noble regular freestone fabrick, the best
by far of any parochial church in the city, of which this is the principal parish; in 1367, the parish was so increased, the parishioners were
forced to enlarge the churchyard, not having sufficient room to bury
their dead; and in order thereto, they obtained a license from King
Edward III. for that purpose, which is still in the parish chest; by
which it appears, that they purchased 39 perches of land of Thomas de
Bumpstede, Nic. de Blakeney, Peter de Blickling, and others; and
obtained of the city two pieces of small lanes thereto adjoining, all
which was conveyed to Roger de Midleton, then rector, and his successours for ever; and the Abbot of Sibeton released all his right in the
said ground; upon this it was added to the churchyard, and walled in,
and consecrated in 1575.
In 1390, it was determined to demolish the old church and build a
new one; and from that time to 1430, many legacies were left, and
gifts given for that use; and then they pulled down the whole, and
built the present church, which was finished and consecrated in
It consists of a fine square tower, 100 feet high, containing in
it a peal of ten most excellent bells, with a clock and chimes; (fn. 10) a nave
90 feet long, and two isles of an equal length, not including the
chapels at the east ends thereof, which are 40 feet long each, the
isles are 20 feet broad, and the nave 30, the whole breadth being 70
feet; and to make the whole in form of a cross, there are two chantry
chapels or transepts added, of 13 feet from south to north, and 15
feet each from west to east; it being 60 feet from the pavement of
the nave to the summit of the roof; the chancel is 60 feet long, and
as broad as the nave; there are two porches, one on the south part,
and the other on the north, and at the east end of the chancel is the
old vestry, and under it a treasury, and under that an arch; the whole
being covered with lead; and under the high-altar, which is very advantageously raised to a good eminence above the rest of the church,
is another arch, formerly a common passage, but now stopped up,
and made a convenient place for workmen to make mortar and such
like in, for the church repairs.
The altar piece is, at top a representation of several cherubs, and
underneath a perspective view of a building. The furniture of the
altar is velvet, the plate belonging to it exceeding grand, all (except
one cup lately given) double gilt.
First, the cup of the old plate left at the Reformation, with its
paten, hath this on it,
Sanct. Peter. of Mancrofte. 1569.
to which belongs a round offering plate, with a heart in the middle,
and I.H.S. and a noble offering bason, on it the weight 22 oz. dim.
An octogonal paten, with this,
Ex dono Johannis Boatman, Ecclesiæ Sancti Petri de Mancroft
Pastoris, Ao. Domini 1657.
A neat small standing cup with a cover, without any inscription,
designed to administer in at private houses to the sick, &c.
A grand upright flaggon with this on it,
Ex Dono Richardi Clarke Generosi, Ecclesiæ Sancti Petri de
Mancroft Dec. 25, 1683.
He was an apothecary of this parish.
Crest, an eagle issuant. Arms, on a bend between three plates,
three martlets impaling, party per pale two dolphins embowed counterchanged.
Two fine round-bellied flaggons, on which,
The Grocers arms, and R. B. Has duas lagenas Argenteas
Æquilibres, Oz. 36.
A large spoon bought by the parish.
St. Peter Mancroft 1725.
A large silver cup not gilt, on which,
Ad Gardianos Ecclesiæ Saneti Petri de Mancroft, in Civitate
Norwici ab Ævo in Ævum, Ex Dono Isaaci Fransham Generosi,
olim unius Attorn' Curiæ Domini Regis de Communi Banco, nati
in Parochiâ predictâ 28° die Octobris Anno Domini 1660, qui obijt
Anno Domini 1743, et anno ætatis 82.
But as great a curiosity and elegant piece of workmanship as is
almost any where to be seen, is a most noble standing cup and
cover given by Sir Peter Gleane, Knt. on which is the story of Abigail
bringing presents to King David, and other things thereto belonging,
according to the tenor of the 25th chapter of the first book of Samuel,
where the whole account is related. On it are these words:
Ex Dono Petri Gleane Militis, Anno Domini 1633.
Besides Dr. Camell and Archdeacon Jeffery, whose inscriptions are
already mentioned, there are stones within the altar rails for
Thomas Townshend, Esq. and Anne his wife, with the arms and
crest of Townshend, with a mullet impaling on a chevron three garbs;
and by him lies an old stone having lost its inscription; on it remains
a shield of the following arms,
1. On a chevron between three crescents, two lions combatant.
2. Per pale a chevron counterchanged. 3. On a saltier five crescents.
4. A lion rampant surmounted with a bend. These four quartered,
impale quarterly in the 3d and 4th quarters, a frett, over all on a
bend six mullets.
On the south side of the wall, within the rails, is a mural monument for that worthy physician Dr. Thomas Browne, an account of
whom you have in Pt. I. p. 414; it is of black and white marble,
and there is a copperplate of it extant in some copies of his Posthumous Works, which were published in octavo at London, in 1712, as
also another of his effigies, prefixed to that book, taken from an original picture which was given to the parish by Dr. Howman, and now
hangs in the new vestry. His life at large may be seen before his
Posthumous Works. The plate is inscribed to the Rev. Edward
Tennison, LL. B. Archdeacon of Carmarthen, nephew to Lady
Crest, a goat trippant erm.
Tennison, gul a bend ingrailed az. between three leopards
heads or jessant, as many fleurs de-lis of the second.
Browne, arg. a bend voided sab. between two pellets.
M. S. Hic situs est Thomas Browne M. D. Miles. Ao. 1605,
Londini natus, Generosâ Familiâ apud Upton in Agro Cestriensi oriundus, Scholâ Primum Wintoniensi, postea in
Coll. Pembr. apud Oxonienses, bonis literis haud leviter imbutus,
in urbe hac Nordovicensi Medicinam Arte egregia et fœlici
successû professus. Scriptis quibus Tituli, RELIGIO MEDICI,
et PESU DODOXIA EPIDEMICA, alijsque, per Orbem notissimus. Vir prudentissimus, Integerrimus. Doctissimus; obijt Oct.
19, 1682. Piè posuit mæstissima Conjux Domina Doroth.
Near the Foot of this Pillar lies Sir Thomas Browne Knt.
and Doctor in Physick, Author of Religio Medici, and other
learned Books, who practised Physick in this City 46 years, and
died Oct. 19, 1682, in the 77th Year of his Age. In Memory of
whom Dame Dorothy Browne who had been his affectionate
Wife 41 Years, caused this Monument to be erected.
Opposite to this, upon the north pillar, there is another mural monument, with an English inscription in verse, upon his lady;
Sacred to the Memory of Lady Dorothy Browne of Norwich, in the County of Norfolk, she died Feb. 24, 1685, in
the 63d year of her age.
Reader! thou maist beleive this sacred Stone;
It is not common Dust, thou tread'st upon;
'Tis hallowed Earth, all that is left below,
Of what the World admir'd, and honor'd too,
The Prison of a bright celestial Mind,
Too spacious to be longer here confin'd;
Which after all that Vertue could inspire,
Or unaffected Piety require;
In all the noblest Offices of Life,
Of tenderest Benefactress, Mother, Wife,
To those serene Abodes above, is flown,
To be adorn'd with an immortal Crown. (fn. 11)
Below the rails in the chancel are stones for,
Mary Dr. of Sir Thomas Browne, Knt. 1676. Dorothy Dr.
of Tho. and Dorothy Alexander 1729. Margaret and Han,
Drs. of Hen. & Han. Tuthill. Moses Hicks 1709. Bridget his
Wife 1733. Anne the Dr. & Dorothy the Wife of Mr. Will.
Strange, Merchant 1691. Hannah Relict of John Cooke,
Merchant, 1731, 68.
John Son of John Cooke of London, Merchant, 1702.
His Imperfection with Perfection grac'd,
He hath his God, his God hath him embrac'd,
If here Perfection may be found in Truth,
He was a perfect Modell in his Youth,
But now he's gon unto the Joyes above,
To his Redeemer, and his God of Love.
Jana Charissima conjux Gulielmi Payne Generosi, hic jacet
sepulta ob. 4 Junij Ao. Dom. 1706, æt. 72.
Gulielmus Payne Generosus, Clericus pacis Com: Norff. per
Viginti annos, hic similiter jacet. ob. viiio die Augusti A. D.
1709, æt. 76.
On a brass plate at the altar steps,
Here lyeth the Body of Mr. John Dersley Merchant, he dyed Oct. 9th 1708, aged 76 Years, and Anna
his second Wife, Daugh. of Will. Rush of Colchester
in the County of Essex Gent. she dyed April 28th.
1698, aged 48 Years.
On another plate,
Here lyeth buried the Body of Isack Gurlling,
who waiteth his Lord's coming, to chang Corruption
into Glory, his Soul return'd to rest with God that
gave it, in the fifty seaven year of his age, the second of Novemb' Ao. Dni. 1630.
The following inscriptions are in the nave; and first of those on
brass plates, beginning at the most eastern part, just by the step out
of the chancel, lies a large stone, having the effigies of a mayor in his
robes, between his two wives; by the first wife are the effigies of her
children, two boys and two girls; and by the second four girls; it
being placed here in memory of Richard Aylmer, mayor in 1511, son
of Robert Aylmer, who was mayor in 1481, and 1492, and Joan his
first wife; he died in 1512. This inscription is printed in Weever's
Funeral Monuments, fo. 802, as imperfect, though it is legible at
Aylmer Ricardus Procerum de stipite natus,
Is quondam Maior Urbis, iacet hic tumulatus,
Hatis cum prima atque suis Consorte Johanna,
Moribus ornatus, Bonus omnibus atque benignus,
Anno Milleno, D, bind, cum duodeno,
Jous semtembris trino, migrabit ob orbe.
O bone Christe Thesu, fons bite, spes, Medicina,
Votis inclina, te quesumus aure Benigna,
Ut sibi sit Requies, bibat terum sine fine.
Hic iacet Robertus Osburn quondam Cibis et nicecomes Ci
bitat' istius, obiit rrro die Mens' Marcii Ao Millimo' cccco nona
gesimo quinto, cuius anime propicietur Deus Amen.
HERE NERE LYE INTERRED THE RODIES OF WILLIAM AND DOROTHY WALLER CHILDREN OF THOMAS WALLER ESQ. AND ELIZABETH HIS WIFE, ONE
OF WHICH, VIZ. DOROTHY, DEPARTED THIS LIFE
THE 19 DAY OF OCTOBER Ao DNI. 1645, BEING THEN
OF THE AGE OF NINE MONTHS, THE OTHER DIED
20 OCT. 1647, BEING THEN OF THE AGE OF 4 YEARS
Under it are two shields, over the first is,
Thomas Waller, and
Waller, arg. on a bend cotised sab. three walnut leaves quartering a chevron between three croslets.
Over the second,
Elizabeth Uxor ejus;
Hogan, arg. a chevron varry O. G. between three hurts, on
each a bear's leg or paw erased of the field, quartering,
Blundell, ar. a chevron between three eagles displayed gul.;
Between the shields are these words,
Morieris, Resurges, Judicaberis, si in Domino, beatus.
Under the first, (viz. Thomas Waller)
Filius Tertius Thome Waller de Gregories in
Beaconsfeild in Com. Bucks. Armig.'
Under the second, (viz. Elizabeth Uxor.)
Filia Et Heres Gresham Hogan de Hackney in Com'
Midd' Armig' (qui fuit de Stirpe Hoganorum de East
Bradenham in Com. Norf.) et Coheres Johannis Blundell de Barton in Com' Oxon' Armig'.
Mary Dr. of John Rede 13 Oct. 1641.
Pettus Witherick obijt Quarto die Novembris 1635,
Et sepultus fuit sexto die Novem. Sequente.
There are also brass plates at the west end for Eliz. Clarke late
Wife of Peter Walwin, 10 Jan. 1635. Mary Wife of Abraham
Vincke 1645, æt. 60. Mary Wife of John Andrews Woolen-Draper
And the following brasses are loose, which came off here,
Ye schall pray for the Soule of Sir John Leuys Pryst, and
Johanna his Syster, his Frendys Souls, and all Crysten souls,
on whos souls Jesu have Mercy amen.
Rici: hareman nuper Cib. Norh. qui obiit rriio die Men'
Januarii cuius anime propicietor Deus.
Here lyeth the Body of Elias Browne Goldsmith,
some Time Sheriff of the City of Norwich, by six of
his Children, whoe departed this Life Oct. 12, 1660,
The goldsmiths arms quartered with quarterly in the 1st and 4th
a leopard's head, in 2d and 3d a covered cup between two buckles.
Mathew Morley 1637, 66.
On a small stone, the impression of a cup and wafer remains, the
inscription is gone, but was for Sir Will. Alman, chaplain, buried
Of yowr Charyte that here for by gan
Pray for the Sowle Spr Willm' Alman.
Orate pro anima Johanne London filie Willi: London Armigeri,
ruius anime propitietur Deus Amen. (fn. 12)
Of Mrs. Ann Flynt's soul, Jesu Mercy have,
Which was the dowter of William London
Whoes Body died, I was beryed in this Grah
The ri Dy of Jun, by recourse I computatyon
Iu. r: and rri ryer of our Lordys Incarnatyon
And to all them that for her thus do pray,
Jesus grant them Nehyn at their Dethys Day. (fn. 13)
Orate pro anima Johannis Mers Auditoris Episcopi Lincoln' et
pro quibus idem Johannes tenetur Orate. Anno Dom. M.ccccc bn, (fn. 14)
Here lieth Henry Wilton sumtym Alderman of this Citte;
And Margaret my Wyfl, which libed in this World in Felicite,
And now libe here undyr this Marble Stone in Mortalite,
Wherefore we pary you of your Charite,
That you will pray for us, that me may rum to libe,
In Warlde celestiall, with a Pater Noster and an Abe.
Obiit Henricus rii Decemb. Mcccccbii. Margareta obiit M. cccc. (fn. 15)
The following on modern stones, beginning at the east end of the
John Lucas Gent. 1696. Anne his Daughter 1710. John Lucas
lerchant his Son 1738. Susan the Wife of John Pitts 1689. John
itts 1728, æt 73. Edw. Mayes 1708, æt. 70. his 2 Wives Susanna
Margaret, & his Son John. Anne the Wife of Philip Stebbing
Esq; 1702, 52, & 3 of their Children. Also Philip Stebbing Esq; late
layor, 1705, 64.
James Son of Thomas & Anne Harwood 1706. James another son
1710. James a third son 1713, and Anne Harwood their Mother,
who died Mayoress of this City 1728, æt. 51.
Peter Fabuër Sword-Bearer, 1725, æt. 32. Ann Wife of Nath.
Roe 1743, æt. 47. Mary Dr. of John and Hannah Morse 1733, 27,
Jonathan their Son 1700, and also Hannah and Mary Roe 1721,
Hannah Dr. of John and Hannah Morse, 1725, 21. John Morse
mercer 1713, 50, and Hannah his Wife 1738, 75. Ann Wife of
George Hainsworth 1721, 30, Samuel & George their Sons, Samuel
died 1727, George 1730, Mary their Daughter 1732, 19. Charles
Green 1734, 71, Eliz. his Wife 1727, 53, Charles their son 1735, 25.
John Dunch 1734, 58. Will. Pleasant late Organist, 1717.
Hic jacet Carolus Perry Medicinæ Doctor, Filius Johan.
Perry Generosi, & Franciscæ Uxoris ejus, intra hanc urbem
Natus, Cantabrigiæ in Collegio de Gonvile & Caius educatus,
et in sodalitium admissus: In altero loco Studiorum in Medicinâ
feliciter positorum honores habuit Summos; in altero fructum
percepturus. Acuto correptus morbo, de spe suâ et amicorum
simul infeliciter decidit. Natus est anno Dom. 1698, Mortuus
est 1730. Gibson Filiolus Johan: & Franciscæ Perry 1695.
Fui Sara Warren Ux. Richardi Warren Gen. quæ ob. 1° die
Decemb. 1689 Hic etiam jacet Corpus predicti Richardi Warren qui obijt 6° die Febr. Anno Dni: 1703, ætatis 75.
Sacred to the Memory of Mr. Geore Vertue, sometime
Sheriff and Alderman of this City, who out of publick Zeal to
the more solemn Worship of God in the Beauty of Holiness,
both proposed and managed the Contributions, which by his singular Care erected this noble Structure (fn. 16) over him.
Envy not Reader, his fair vocall Tombe,
None but the Blind and Deaf, could here be dumb,
He died 1710, aged 44. Stephen his Son, also Sarah his late
Wife, 1727, 58. Tho. Vertue his second Son 1724, 25. Also
Ann, Catherine, and George, who all died in their minority.
There is a noble brass branch, double gilt, of 24 sockets, hanging
in the nave.
In the north isle, beginning at the chapel at the east end, which
is dedicated to the holy name of Jesus, and St. John the Baptist;
at the altar at its east end, was founded a priest daily to celebrate the
mass called Jesus mass, who was sustained by the fraternity or gild
of Jesus, kept here; which was instituted at the building of the
church in 1455, to which most persons that died in the parish were
benefactors; but in particular John Cook, who gave a tenement in the
Middle-row in the Market-place, which he had of Richard Marvyn,
alias Tevell, clerk, to keep, according to the rule of the church of
Salisbury, his anniversary, with his father's and mother's, with Placebo
and Dirige by note, on the Monday after the 4th Sunday in Lent, by
the parish chaplain, and priest of Jesus mass, and by the parish
clerk, and clerk of Jesus mass, and the four other priests celebrating in
the church, and four other secular persons dwelling in the parish, in
the choir there; and mass of requiem the Wednesday after: at which
anniversary there was 8d. to be spent in bread, beer, and firing on the
priests, and 1d. to be offered at mass of requiem, and 4d. to the parish
chaplain, and 4d. to the priest of Jesus mass; to each of the clerks 2d.
to each of the celebrating priests 2d. and 1d. apiece to the two chorister boys, and 1d. to each of the four seculars, and a wax candle of
a quarter of a pound to burn during mass; the rest of the rent was to
go towards the maintenance of the gild priest: it was settled in 20
feoffees, by James Green, chaplain of the gild, at the request of John
Hekker, and Tho. Wattys, clerks, executors of Mr. John Cak, clerk,
Cook's trustee. Thomas Coney, grocer, John Sotherton, mercer, Nic.
Osborn, mercer, and Will. at Mere, scrivener, wardens (fn. 17) of Jesus gild
and mass, were among the first feoffees.
Sir Richard Tevell, clerk, aforesaid, settled a stock of 16 milch neat
beasts on the church-wardens, for the benefit of the gild and parish,
which in 1544, were let by the four church-wardens to John Walby,
junior, who was to make each beast good, or pay 14s. each.
In this chapel lies buried Thomas Elys, and Margaret his wife,
with this over him, which is now lost;
Prudens Mercator et nobilis istius Urbis,
Ter Maior Thomas Elys hic iacct et sua sponsa
Margareta simul Viginti
Coningio soboles, et sic in honore per annos
Quatuor et quingquagenos decas octo
Septeno, quinta Septembris lice sic ipse
Decessit, Requies et Lur sit utrique perhennis. (fn. 18)
This Thomas was mayor of Norwich in 1460, 1465, and 1474; and
once burgess in parliament; he died in 1487, and was father to Will.
Ellis, Baron of the Exchequer in 1535, who was lord of a manor in
Attlebridge, where William, his son and heir, lies buried. He and his
family glazed the windows of this chapel in a fine manner; which
were lately unglazed, and made quite new with white glass, and
the painted glass put together and fixed in the two windows by the
The following inscriptions were here formerly, before their removal,
- - - - anda - a - - - Dei, pro animabus Thome Elys tercia
Vice hujus Civitatis Norwici Majoris ac Margarete Consortis sue.
Orandumque est pro animabus Edmundi Garnysh Armigeri,
et Matilde ejus Consortis Filie predictorum Thome Elis et Margarete, ac pro longevo statu Christopheri Garnysh Militis, dicti
serenissimi Principis ville sue Calisie Janitor' - - - - Willi: Elys
- - - uni' Baronum Scaccarij mutuend' - - -
In the windows were many effigies and arms, viz.
France and England quartered, impaling quarterly France and
England, quartering St. George and the arms of Mortimer; by it, a red
rose supported by a dragon gul. and a greyhound arg. collared gul.
The effigies of all the aforesaid men and wives, with their children
by them, are in divers panes of the windows, kneeling at desks with
books before them. As Thomas Elys in his mayor's gown and a sable
cap, the gown gul. turned up vert, and his wife also at a desk kneeling on which L. E. & E. arma Elys, viz.
Ellis, sab. on a chevron between three women's heads erased arg.
crowned or, as many roses gul. quartering, arg. on a chevron sab.
between three crescents az. three leopards faces arg.
On the surcoats of Edm. Garnish, Esq. and Maud his wife,
Garnish, arg. on a chevron az. between three escallops sab. a
mullet S. quartering
Ramsey, mayor of Norwich, gul. three rams heads caboshed arg.
and V. arma Barnish. and sab. two bars, party per fess nebulé vert
and az. in chief three spindles arg.
Ellis impales quarterly 1st and 4th arg. a dog saliant S. 2d and 3d
arg. a bend ingrailed gul. V. arma William Ellys Baron'. . Two women
kneeling in murry gowns, their hoods purfled or, and Ellis's arms
quartered as before, and arg. an otter rampant S. impaling arg. a
bend ingrailed sab. and
Orandum est itidem pro anima Elizabetha Ellys Uroris prefati
She was buried here with this inscription, now lost,
Elizabetha Sponsa Willelmi Elys generosi,
In qua forma, deror, I Virtus folruit isto
Marmore rlauso iacet, et eam luc septima Marci
E medio tulit, anno Christi Mil. quater et C.
I Simul. U. ter. et I. requies rui sit sine Fine. (fn. 19)
There is a shield of az. three cups or, with wafers arg. on their tops,
radiated or; and another of arg. a saltier sab. These arms are many
times over, and many merchant marks besides.
On a gravestone is a brass coat only left of Beauprè.
Here lies buried Sir Peter Rede, Knt. though that honour being
conferred on him by the Emperor, he was acknowledged here as an
His effigies in complete armour is on a brass plate on his stone,
which hath a shield at each of the four corners, and the following inscription at his feet,
Here under lyethe the Corps of Peter Rede Esquier, who hath worthely served not only his Prynce
and Cuntry, but also the emperor Charles the 5,
bothe at the Conquest of Barbaria and at the Siege
of Tunis, as also in other Places, who had geven hym
by the sayd Emperour for his valiaunt Dedes, the Order of Barbaria, who died the 29th of December in
the Year of our Lord God 1568.
Read or Rede, az. on a bend wavy or, three moor-cocks sab. in
a bordure ingrailed arg. pelleté a crescent erm. with the following
honourable addition given by the Emperour, viz. a canton sinister
parted per pale, on the first part two ragged staves in saltier; on the
second, a man holding a caduceus in his right hand, his left pointing
upwards; on his sinister side a sword in pale, with the point downwards, pricked into a Moor's head.
The same again at his feet; the third shield hath Rede as before,
impaling quarterly, 1st and 4th, on a fess between three unicorns
heads erased, three lilies; 2d and 3d, a fess between three leopards
faces; fourth shield, Read impaling Bleverhasset, quartering Lowdham, Keldon, Orton, and Skelton.
This Sir Peter, was son of John Rede, Esq. mayor of Norwich in
1496, and gave his houses in St. Giles's, to find the great bell
to be rung at four o'clock every morning, and eight o'clock every
night: these fell into decay, and afterwards the ground was leased
out, and is built upon, and pays 4l. ground rent, and is the west corner of the triangle piece at the meeting of the two streets of St. Giles's,
called Upper and Lower Newport. There is a picture of him in the
council-chamber, with a hawk on his fist, and the arms of Rede.
Crest, a buck's head armed or, collared arg. on which,
Peter Reade Gentleman, did give certayne houses in Norwich, to the Ende that the greate Bell in the Parish of St. Peter
of Mancrofte, should for ever be runge at fower of the Clocke in
the Morninge, and at eight of the Clocke at Night, for the Helpe
and Benefit of Travillers. He did also give a faire Salt double
Gilt, of the Value of twentie poundes, to be used in the Maiors
Houses in Norwich, in Time of ther Maioroltie; and he did further give to the Poore of this Cittie, one hundred thirtie three
Poundes six Shillinges and eight Pence, to be yearelie distributed
by six Poundes, 13s. 4d. untill the whole summe were runne out;
he departed this Life An°. Dni. 1568.
In the top is a little golden statue depicted, and A°. 1646,
In Memoriam renovatam Generosissimi Petri Reade, Johannes Reade, consanguineus, hanc Tabulam posuit.
He was knighted by Charles V. at the winning of Tunis in 1538.
By this stone lies another robbed of its brass inscription, which
Of your Charite pray for the Soule of Kod Reade, late Wyffe
of Edward Read, Alderman of this Citty of Norwich, which died
the rii of September, in the Year of our Lord M.cccccrriii, on
whose Soule Jesus have Mercy. (fn. 20) (fn. 21)
Thomas Osborn Minister, Nov. 2, 1642. Thomas his son Nov. 5,
Osborn, arg. on a bend between two lions rampant S. three
dolphins of the first. John Osborne was mayor 1661. The
Osbornes of Sething are of this family.
George Beverley 1638. A bell crowned with a coronet.
The north chapel is dedicated to St. Nicholas, and was called
Cosyn's chantry; in 1322, Edward II. granted the first license in mortmain, and in 1328, John Cosyn, citizen of Norwich, was licensed by
William Bishop of Norwich, to found a chantry of two priests,
daily to sing for his own and his wife Margaret's soul, and all his
parents, friends, and benefactors; and in 1330, King Edward III.
granted him a second license in mortmain for that purpose, having
obtained leave of John de Burncester, rector, to found two chantry
chaplains here; and accordingly he appointed Sir Gilbert de Folsham,
and Sir John Bolour of Hemenhale, his first chaplains, and settled on
them and their successours, two shops, four stalls, and 28 shillings rent
in the market in Norwich, in the Worthstede-row, and in the Spicerierow; in 1396, these chaplains had a tenement in the parish settled on
them to dwell in: in 1457, Will. Ashwell, alderman, gave to Sir John
Rake, clerk, 40s. and a vestment of green silk, to serve in his chantry.
In 1501, Sir John Josse, vicar of Little Melton, gave two chambers
in the parish, to the augmentation of this chantry, on condition the
chantry priest daily remember his soul in his mass; and another house
in the parish to the same chantry, to keep a solemn dirige by note,
and mass of requiem by note, disposing at the same time of 2s. to the
priest, clerk, and poor men there, of which the parish chaplain to have
6d. This chantry revenues were taxed at 6l. 13s. 4d. and the chantry
priests were always collated by the Bishop.
Chantry Priests of Cosyn's Chantry.
1330, Gilbert de Folsham, John Bolour. 1381, John Osmund. 1386,
Thomas Chapeleyn, succeeded in 1397, by John Cotton. 1403, John
Pope. 1413, Thomas Ryngeman. 1428, John Rake, alive in 1458.
1483, Tho. Bateman. 1487, Ric. Stokesby. 1490, Robert Sexten,
alias Cutlers. Sir Robert Watton. 1454, Will. Copping, the last
At the Dissolution, the City purchased the revenues of it viz. 4
shops in the butchery, one tenement with a wool-shop in Spicerrow, another shop in the poultry-market, and 15s. 4d. rent from
divers fish-shops, which were purchased at 100l. and 10l. was paid to
Sir Edward Warner, Knt. and to Mr. John Gosnall, for their counsel
and pains about it.
In 1445, Thomas Bumpstede, Esq. gave 10l. to glaze the east window of this chapel over St. Nicholas's altar, by which the image of
that saint was placed. In 1506, there was a new tabernacle made,
for the image of St. Edmund the King in this chapel, and each of
these images had a light burning before them.
Inscriptions on brass plates here, viz.
Hic iacet Willms: Ballys ruius anime propicietur deus Amen.
Here lyeth the Body of Thomas Mathewe, eldest
Son of John Mathewe of Norwich Upholster yet living, who died the nynth of January Ao. Dni. 1632,
Lydea the most loving Wife of the said Thomas,
made this Monument for her dearly beloved Husband,
Whos Dust lieth here, my own remaine,
Thow now is parted, yet once shall meet againe.
Under the effigies of a man,
Here lyeth the Body of Christopher Hudson, the
son of Thomas Hudson, who had to Wife Mary Bourne
the Daughter of Allen Bourne, by whom she had
Issue too Sonnes and three Daughters, he died the
third Daye of August 1609, being of the age of 69
Under the effigies of a woman,
Mary that late was William Bussie's Pride
Heer sleepeth by her Father Hudson's Side,
Who eighteene Yeares in sacred Wedlock spent.
Then with one Child, unto the Saints she went,
She is not dead, who fixed her steady Hart,
With faithfull Mary, on the better Part.
There are flat stones in this chapel for, Daniel Manser 1672, Jane
his wife 1708, 79, and two mural monuments, one on the west side for
Will. eldest son of James and Eliz. Bolton of Lincoln. Nov. 1718, 26.
The other on the east side is thus inscribed,
M. S. Mingay Osborne (formerly Sheriff of this City) and
Annaretta his second Wife, lies interred in their Grave near
this Place, he was a dutifull Son, and in his Business a faithfull
obliging Servant; during his Mother's Life he lived upon a small
Income contentedly and commendably, and by her Death (not 8
Months before his own) becoming possessed of ample Property,
but not permitted Life to enjoy it, he disposed of it so, as to shew
himself kind to his relations, gratefull to his Friends, and
charitable to the needy, he died Jan. 27, A. D. 1741, Aged 26
In the north isle there are four mural monuments; the first is towards the east end not far from the aforesaid chapel, with this,
Spe beate Resurrectionis, in tumulo non procul ab hoc marmoris Monumento jacent Cineres Isaaci Fransham Gen.' olim'
un' Attorn' Cur' Dni' Regis de Banco, nati in Parochiâ Sci'
Petri de Mancroft in Civitate Norvici anno Salutis 1660, qui
obijt Maij 7° 1743, anno ætatis suæ 82, unà cum corpore Rob.
Fransham Patris ejus.
Sive vigilo, sive dormio, semper hæc Vox clamat in aures,
surgite mortui, venite ad Judicium.
The second is near the said chapel, a little more west, having the
arms of Osborne, and this,
Hereunto adjacent lieth the Body of John Osborn Esq. who
died Sheriff of the City of Norwich, Aug. 27, 1719, aged 49,
Eliz. his first Wife 27 Nov. 1702, ag. 32.
The third monument is more west on the same wall, and is erected
to the memory of Richard Starling carpenter, who lies buried on the
other side of the wall in the churchyard, he died Nov. 1, 1723, 92,
and of Ric. Starling Attorney at law his son, 1690, 36, and of Ric.
Starling carpenter, who died Nov. 1729, 57. And Ric. their kinsman
Nov. 1723, 8.
The fourth is a neat mural monument at the west end of this isle
against the north-east buttress of the tower; it is of an unusual, but
well-looking composure; at the top is a shield, on which the
Curtis, paly of eight az. and or, a fess chequy sab. and or, supported by a neat pillar, surmounting a piece of marble cut in form
of a pyramid, and underneath is this,
Sacred to the Memory of Augustine Curtis Senior, and
Augustine Curtis Junior, Carvers, both of this Parish, Son
and Grandson of John and Frances Curtis late of this City,
|They died||May 26, 1731,||Ætat.||70.|
|Oct. 26. 1732.||31.|
At the west end of this isle, enclosed with rails, stands a large ancient font, with its top supported by pillars, and is a heavy looking thing,
though painted, and in good repair.
The flat stones in this isle, beginning at the east end, are for
Eliz. Dr. of Henry and Eliz. Turner 1696. Rob. son of Edm.
Clark and Judith his wife, 1709.
Blyford's arms and crest, a demi-lion or. Thomas Blyford
Blyford quarterly arg. and gul. on a bend sab. three mullets
of the field, impaling Kitchingman, arg. on a pile sab. between
two croslets fitché gul. three lozenges or.
Mathew Blyford, born Aug. 26, 1705, died 3 June 1706,
and Kitchingman Blyford born 12 Oct. 1708, died 19 Aug. 1710,
both Sons of Mathew Blyford of this Parish, and Dorothy his
Wife; also Will. Blyford their Son, born 27 March, died 30
May 1712, also Matt. Blyford died Nov. 24, 1714, aged 34, and
Dorothy his Wife died Febr. 8, 1714, 34,
Crest, a dog sedant. Billetté a cross fitché fleury. Capt. James
Norris of this Parish, died 23 May, 1718, Æt. 51. Jane Wife of
Sam. Brockden, 1690, 33. Benjamin their Son of London, June 9,
1719, 27. Alderman Ric. Brockden 1689. Bokenham Son of
James and Dorothy Brockden 1690, 13. Dorothy Wife of Jonathan Barton, Dr. of Mr. John Coller, 1688, 64. John Riseborow
Sen. 1682, Mary his Wife 1704, Mary her Dr. 1694, Prisca another
Ladd, girony of eight or and gul. in the fess point a lion's head
erased arg. on a chief sab. three annulets of the third.
John Ladd Surgeon, July 8, 1711, 73. Robinson Ladd 1708,
Susan Browne, the last deceased of eleven Children, (the
first ten interr'd before the northern Porch) from their surviving
Parents, John and Susan his Wife, she sought a City to come,
and upon the 30th of August, departed hence and found it.
A°. Æt. 19 Dni. 1686.
Here lies a single Flower scarcely blowne,
Ten more, before the northern Door are strowne,
Pluckt from the self same Stalke only to be,
Transplanted to a better Nursery.
Edward Woodward 1677. Margaret his Wife 1669, Mat. Rob.
Edw. their Sons. Anne Wife of Michael Beverley, Dr. of the said
Edward 1688. Deborah Shipley March 5, 1728. Ant. Denew of
Blofield Gent. 1727, 84,
Opposite to the north door, the whole breadth of the isle, lie stones
for the Gannings, that most south for Samuel Ganning late minister
here, is before taken notice of; the rest are for, Eliz. wife of Daniel
Ganning Grocer, daughter of the Rev. Mr. John Whitefoot, late minister here, she died June 4, 1725, 29 Susan their daughter 20 April,
1732, aged 9 Years. Timothy Ganning Upholster second Son of
Nicholas Ganning Bachelor of Divinity, late Rector of Barnham
Broom, Dec. 30, 1731, 79. (See Hist. Norf. vol. ii. p. 378.) Susan
Wife of Jeremiah Ganning Hosier, 11, 1721, 63. Jeremiah their
third Son 20 May 1708, 11. Daniel Ganning Grocer, 4th son of
Nic. Ganning B. D. Jan. 6, 1712, 56.
These memorials are still in the north isle and its two chapels; in
the north porch lies George Hill, Parish Clerk, died 1714, 71. In
the south porch lies Tho. Till, Parish Clark, who died in 1733. In
the tower under the bell chamber was buried Francis Smith 1742.
And here stands one of Newsham's engines, which was purchased by
the parish in 1736.
On the south side of the south isle, opposite to St. Nicholas's chapel aforesaid, is the chapel of the Blessed Virgin Mary, which in
those days was a place of great repute. Here the fishmongers, &c.
kept their gild on the 9th Sunday after Trinity. (See Pt. I. p. 207.)
The altar here was dedicated to the Holy Trinity, and was commonly
called Bronde's altar, from John Bronde, the first chantry priest here,
who daily served at it; he being chantry priest of the foundation of
Letice, wife of William Pain, who in 1313, founded a chantry of
two chaplains, one to officiate here, and the other in St. Stephen's,
where you may see an account of this foundation at p. 163.
1485, Rob. Dapeleyn alias Dryver, clerk, of this parish, who was
buried in the churchyard, gave his house he dwelt in, to the augmentation of this chantry, to be settled on it, by the advice of Master
Roger Townesend, one of the justices of the Common Pleas; the
chantry priest, with an other priest yearly for ever after his decease,
in their surplices, being to celebrate at the altar, for the souls of Lettice Pain, Roger Townesend aforesaid, his own, and friends souls, on
his obit day, with Placebo, Dirige, and mass of Requiem, the chantry
priest to give the priest that helps him 4d. and to the bell-ringer that
rings for his Dirige 4d. and to repair that bell 8d. to offer 1d. and give
to three poor persons attending 1d. each; and if the house cannot be
settled, then to be sold, and laid out in ornaments for the, church, and
in particular for a legendary of 10l. price, and an antiphonary of 10l.
1317, Henry de Thornham, pilekoc, first chantry priest in St. Stephen's, John Bronde, first chantry priest here. 1381, John Cosyn, who
had one of Cosyn's chantry stipends also. 1386, Roger Cole. 1390,
Jeffery Bonewell. 1392, Peter Neve. 1394, Henry Dallyng. 1445,
Sir Richard. 1481, died Will. Brewyn, 1482, Rob. Dryver aforesatd. 1487, Will. Byllern. 1513, Sir John Dourant, he died in 1543,
"Item, I will that my Successor, the which shall be Chauntery
Pryste next after my Decease, shall have to him and his Successors
ix Acres of Londe lyenge with owght St. Stephen's Gates, upon,
Condicon, that he shall not vexe nor troble my Executors for Dilapidacon and decay of my seid Chaunterye or any other Cause."
He lies buried here, with this still remaining.
Orate pro anima Domini Johannis Doraunt Cantariste, Canta
rie Leticie Payn, qui obiit rrbiio die Aprilis Ao. Dni Mo. Dc. rliiio.
ruius anime propicietur Deus.
1545, John Florence, who had the other stipend in St. Stephen's was
the last chantry priest, and had 4l. 11s. pension for life, allowed him
at the Dissolution; this chantry being valued at 5l. 9s. 7d. as that in
St. Stephen's was; but the houses, lands, &c. belonging to it, were
purchased by the city.
In 1497, 10 marks were given to paint our Lady's tabernacle and
image in this chapel, and keep a continual light before it.
In this chapel is a stone disrobed of four shields and its inscription,
the labels from the mouths of the effigies remain, and on them is
In te domine Sperabi ne confundar in eternum.
On a shield is J. and L. and a Tun., for John Carleton, impaling
his merchant mark. This John was an eminent mercer in Norwich,
and was buried in 1487, and gave 5l. to repair this chapel.
Will. Setman or Sedman, was buried under another disrobed stone
before this altar, and gave 26l. 13s. 4d. to repair the church; and
settled a wax taper to burn continually day and night before the body
of our Lord in the chancel of this church for ever; and gave money
to say 3000 masses for him after his death; he founded the fifth
conduct's place in the chapel in the Field, as may be seen at p. 176.
In this chapel was also an altar of our Lady, and her image in the
tabernacle aforesaid was called our Lady of Millain; and in 1504,
an image of St. Edward was set up here.
The following inscriptions are on flat stones;
Resurrectionem vitæ ab hinc expectat Anna, chara, dilecta,
fidelis Uxor, Petri Thacker Generosi, quæ post undecim
Uteri Pignora fatales demum enixa Gemellos, gravi Puerperio,
Mariti graviori Luctu, Liberorum mærore, omnium affectu, animam in manus Dei Datoris reddidit xi° die Julij anno domini 1695,
ætatis suæ 42.
Crest, a goose yoked in a knot of rushes proper.
Thacker, gul. on a fess between three lozenges erm. a trefoil between two geese heads and necks erased, yoked sab. quartering vert,
on a fess or between three lions passant ar. three lapwings sab. On a
hatchment hanging in the south isle, the same crest and arms are
impaled on the stone,
Peter Thacker hujus Civitatis, aliquando Præfectus, diù
Senator, memor exitûs vitæ, hoc sibi & suis Sepulchrum vivens
posuit; repentinâ tandem, non improvisâ morte ereptus. Ætatis
anno 76, Salutis 1722
Crest, a demi-eagle between two wings.
Bickerdike, or, on a saltier gul. between four eagles displayed
az. a cinquefoil arg.
Sacred to the Memory of Nicolas Bickerdik Esq. some
time Mayor of this Corporation, whos publick Spirit, sound
Principles, Orthodox Piety, and discrete Charity, justly chaleng
the exemplary Character of a true Patriot to his Country, a loyal
Subject to his Prince, a steady Friend to the church, and generous Benefactor to the Poor; born at Farnham in the County
of Yorke, who departed this Life, Jan. 21, 1701, aged 63 Years.
Nic. Middleton Gent. died Sept. 26, 1724, æt. 49.
In the south isle, beginning at the east end of the chapel there,
which is dedicated to St. Anne, as was the chief altar, by which her
image was placed, and had a light burning before it; this altar was,
where now the new vestry is. And here was the gild of St. Anne
held. Here was also an image of St. Robert, before which Richard
Clerk was buried in 1526: and we meet with pilgrimages sometimes
made to St. Robert here.
Exuviæ Jacobi Skipper C. C. C. C. alumni, cujus animus,
terrenum Corporis Mortalis Ergastulum, ægrè ferens et pertæsus,
vincula rupit, et ex hac qualicunque vitâ gestiens, ad immortalitatem et Patriam Cælestem demigravit 25° Dec. A. D. 1706.
Ætatis suæ anno 20.
James Skipper 1738, 81. Anne Dr. of Tho. Bayly 1702.
Here are several inscriptions covered over, and some obliterated.
King, sab. on a chevron ingrailed arg. three escalops of the
And this on a brass plate,
Here resteth the Body of John Kinge late of Norwich Gent.
a Man hopefull and ingenvous, his departure much deplored; he
marryed Mary the eldest Daughter of Edw. Garneys of Redsham-Hall in the County of Suff. Esq; upon the 8th Day of
April 1658, and was from her by Death divorced, upon the 31
Day of May next following.
Hymen did blese him with a worthy Mate,
Er'e Cynthia doubled her Revolution,
Heavens willing that he should anticipate
His Glorye, wrought his Dissolution
It was decreed soe, nor do thou Mourne
His Relict Turtle, agaynst necessity
He never will unto the Arke retourne,
He hath found better footing equally,
Thanke Almighty God, which to the gave him,
And Almighty God, which from the have him.
There is a disrobed stone, having a shield left, on which, on a
chief a palmer's bag, two lions passant.
On another brass,
Here RICHARD ANGUISH sleepes for whom alyve
Norwich & Cambridge latlie seem'd to strive,
Both called him Son, as seemed well they might,
Both challenged in his Lyfe an equall Right,
NORWICH gave Birth and taught him well to speake,
The Mother Englishe, Latine Phrase, and Greeke,
CAMBRIDGE with Arts adorned his ripening Age,
Degrees and Judgement in the sacred Page,
Yet NORWICH gaines the 'vantage of the Strife,
Whiles there he ended, where begann his Life.
Sept. xxiiii. Ao. Dni' 1616.
On another stone, a brass shield of a chevron between three lions
heads erased, impaling chequy a bend. All the other brasses are
On a small brass against the south chapel,
Spencer, az. a fess erm. between three seamews heads erased
Crest, a seamew's head erased proper.
Here lyeth the Body of John Spencer of Allerclife in the
County of York Gent. who was the third Son of William Spencer
of the same Towne & County Gent. who was baptized the 4th. of
November 1619, and here interred the 8 of Jan. 1665.
On a brass near the west end of this isle,
Orate pro anima Willi: Yerforth qui obiit quinto die Nobembris
Ao Dni: Mo. ccccco biiio. ruius anime propicietur Deus Amen.
On flat stones, beginning at the west end by the last brass plate,
Edw. Clarke Mercer, 1723, 57. Mr. Tho. Gibson, 1711, 82.
Judith his wife 1718, 81. Susanna Dr. of Edm. & Judith Clarke
1714, 22. Edm. son of Edm. Clarke 1721, 24. George Wilcox 1679. George son of George and Alice Wilcox 1674.
Edw. son of Edw. Browne Clockmaker 1724. James Burill
1720, 67. John Wilson 1692, 66. Tho. Willson 1706, 39.
Charles son of John Wilson 1709. Bridget Nixon 1724, 18.
Weld, az. a fess nebulé between three crescents erm. impaling
Crest, a dragon seiant.
Tho. Weld Gent. 30 Oct. 1717, 87, he married Eliz. Dr. of
John Sedley Esq. late of Morley-Hall in this County.
Weld impaling Knevet, Muriel Wife of Edw. Weld, Dr. of
Tho. Knyvett Gent. June 19, 1726.
Frances Dr. of Bartholomew & Francis Harwood March 31,
1734, 3 Years 4 Months & William an Infant Son. William
Russell Ironmonger 31 Jan. 1718, 53.
Cawston or Caston, gul. a chevron between three eagles displayed arg. Robert Cawston 29 May, 1673, 77.
William Helwys, Esq. of the honourable Society of the
midle Temple London, 1723, 58.
Benj. Mackerell 1679. Anne Dr. of John Mackerell &
Anne his Wife 1681. John Salter Surgeon, born July 12, 1716,
died April 30, 1742, he was to an extraordinary Degree diligent
and temperate, disposed to every social Vertue, and not ashamed
to be religious. John his only child born 1741, died 1742.
Hic jacet Thomas Long Pharmacopola obijt 4to Jan. 1722, 47.
Augustine Metcalfe Coachmaker 1663, Augustine his Son
late Mayor, died May 13, 1722, 73. Frances his Wife 1729, 79.
Fretté, impaling Browne of Northamptonshire, az. a chevron
between three escalops or.
Mary Wife of Charles Browne Gent: 1692, 38, and 4 of his
On a mural monument by the south door. Sam. Vout Febr. 10,
1666 and Eliz. his Wife 1670.
On a neat mural monument more east, on the top sits a cherub,
Sacred to the Memory of Edward Coleburne Esq; who
was elected one of the Sheriffs of this City, and Alderman in the
Year 1717, Mayor in 1720, he administered Justice impartially,
was just in his Dealings, very liberal to the Poor, and a good
neighbour, departed this Life the 18th Day of Sept. 1730, in the
37th Year of his Age.
More east, on the other side of the south chapel, is a monument,
Mackerell's arms and crest, (see p. 162.) quartering az.
M. S. Johannis Mackerell Civitatis Norvicensis Gen.
Qui in spe letæ resurrectionis unà cum justis, in Conditorio è
Regione hujus Monumenti jacet. Cujus eximia Pietas, Fides
inconcussa, atque in egenos Liberalitas satis innotuere: juxtaque
humatur Anna Charissima ac pientissima Consors ejus, EliÆ
Browne, quondam ejusdem Civitatis Armigeri Filia, ex quâ
undecim suscepit Liberos, quorum quinque Exuviæ pariter atque
septem Liberorum Caroli Mackerell, Filij eorum natû
maximi, et sex Benjamin, eorundem Filij eorum natû minimi,
in avorum sepulchro conduntur, Qui omnes Fato cesserunt
Infantes. Diem Ille supremum obijt, octogenarius, decimo
sexto die Martij, anno domini, Mdccxxiii°. Immortalitatem
Illa induit, die nono Jan: Anno Æræ Christianæ Mdccxxiido.
Ætatisque suæ Lxxv.
There are three lines of Hebrew at the bottom, which, as I am
informed, (not understanding that language myself,) contains a quotation out of the Psalms.
There are two hatchments in this isle, on the first, or, a bend gul.
over all a fess az. a mullet for difference, quartering, quarterly 1. gul.
a lion rampant arg. 2. gul. a chevron between three eagles displayed arg.
Crest a goat's head erased proper, which is said to be put up for
Alderman Riseborow's hatchment;
Crest a fretle between two wings arg.
Riseborow, sab. on a fess between three cinquefoils or, a frette,
Colman, az. on a pale radiant rayonné a lion rampant gul.
In the vestry is a good old painting of St. Paul, with his hands
joined, in contemplation and prayer, saying
O wretched Man that I am, who shall deliver me from this Body of
Death. Rom. 7, 24.
And to express the law of the members, warring against the law of
the mind, and bringing that into captivity, to the law of sin, which
is in the members, to use the Apostle's words in the preceding verse,
he is represented with one of his knees naked, and the devil putting
a thorn into his flesh; but to his comfort a glory appears to him, on
which are these words of consolation,
My Grace is sufficient for Thee.
There is also a curious old board picture of our Saviour's resurrection, which is also represented on the tapestry here.
Against the wall hangs a neat old painted carving in alabaster, of
nine female saints, designed in all probability formerly, for some altar
of St. Margaret, for she is the principal image, holding down a
dragon: there are also St. Hilda the Abbess, holding a book and
a pastoral staff, St. Barbara holding the tower and palm branch, &c.
These, and several books, were given by Dr. Howman, and added to
the remains of the library, which was formerly over the north
porch, but now removed hither. Here is a fine iron chest, given by
the late Archdeacon Clark, in which the evidences are deposited, and
a fair octavo MS. Bible, which was written in 1340; and a folio
MS. much ancienter, and illuminated, which was formerly the book
of Robert de Novell; it contains the text of all St. Paul's epistles,
with a gloss on them, with these lines at the end,
Pauli Doctoris, quem rexit virtus amoris,
Summa Dei nostri Glosis presentibus istis,
Inde sibi justum jam non est vivere tristis,
Functus in officio Laudis fuit iste Labore,
Inde manens omni cunctorum dignus honore.
Explicit hic Petri Glosarum meta Magistri,
Que perdent Dictis ac Juribus Utilitatis,
Sunt ammirantes has omnes aspicientes,
Tum laudant pridem, tum post testantur et Idem,
Legitur obscura, sapienter Litteratura.
Other memorials were here, and are gone or covered over, for
Barker Son of Henry Fairfax, Esq. and Anne his Wife 1670.
Hic iacet Margareta Swaine quondam Uror Will: Swaine
Civis et Aldermanni Horwici que obitt rr Jan: Anno Dni: Mo.
cccco. lrrio. cuius anime propicietur Deus Amen.
Hic jacet Hester Legge Filia Tobiæ Legge Clerici (dum vixit)
donis Naturæ, Artis, et Gratiæ, fuit cælitus ornata, obiit Nov.
29, Ao. Dom. 1639.
Speravit sperans, moriens Cæli attigit aures.
This was in the north isle, and this;
Hic jacet Euphrosyne Francisci Gardiner conjux dilectissima,
quæ obijt Nonis Februarij Ao. Dni. 1662, Ætatis suæ 24.
Deliverance Weymer 3 Sept. 1650. John Ket 1643.
In the south isle, are the two following inscriptions,
Memoriæ Infantuli, Filij primi, Richardi Anguish Generosi, et
Katherine Uxoris ejus, Qui levissimus citius ascendit suprà, Pars
autem Gravior, Natali Labore fessa, Habitu carens, hic quiescit.
Natus obiit Dec. 25, 1635,
Nomen Scribitur in Libro Vitæ.
Thomas Rowson under this Marbyll with Earth is inclosyde,
Whom Death the 24 Day of September from the World disposyde,
In the 15o Year of our Lord I 39, he departed indede,
That his Soule may the sooner to hebyn, Jesu him spede.
In the middle alley in the nave,
Here resteth the Remains of a pious Soule, Mary Wife of William Goldsmith, who was born Saturday Morn' May 16, 1640;
was married May 20, 1658, and died Saturday Night May 25,
Her Time was short, the longer was her rest,
God calls them soonest, whom he loveth best.
Vivit post Funera virtus.
In the churchyard against the south chapel,
Guliemus Harrold C. C. C. apud Cantabrigiensis alumnus et
in Artibus Baccalaureus obijt Julij 25, Ao æt. 23, Dni. 1709.
Benjamin son of Benjamin Underwood, 1731.
If Heaven's great Host of spotless Innocence consist,
This harmless Infant is inevitably blest.
There is a large altar tomb enclosed with an iron palisade, for Mary
Wife of Edward Coleburn 1710, aged 42, and Edw. Coleburn 1714,
On a headstone more towards the steeple,
In Memory of William West, Commedian, late Member of the
Norwich Company: obijt 17 June 1733, aged 32.
To me 'twas given to die, to the 'tis giv'n
To live; alas! one Moment sets us ev'n,
Mark how impartial is the Will of Heaven.
On the north bank, on two head stones, for two comedians:
Anne Roberts 1743, aged 30.
The World's a Stage, at Birth our Play's begun,
And all find Exits when their Parts are done.
Henrietta Maria Bray 1737, aged 60.
Here Reader you may plainly see,
That Wit nor Humour here could be
A Proof against Mortality.
Besides those already mentioned, I find there were lights kept in
this church, before the images of St. Mary Magdalen, St. Dorothy, St.
Thomas, St. Catherine, St. Margaret, the two angels in the quire, the
patible over the perke, St. Saviour, the Holy Sepulchre in the chancel,
and St. Peter and Paul, the principal images or patron saints of the
church, which stood one on each side of the altar; besides these there
was an image of St. John Baptist, and an altar and a gild kept to his
honour, in the north chapel, which was dedicated to him, and the
holy name of Jesus, as is before observed; and there was a constant
light burning before the holy rood, on the rood-loft, which was between
the church and chancel.
From the will-books in the Bishop's office I have extracted the following notes of burials here.
1311, John de Wroxham, buried in the chapel of St. Mary, "Sub
alis ecclesie Sancti Petri de Mancroft," which shows, there was a
chapel of St. Mary in the old church, that was pulled down, and that
the isles may be so called from the word ala, a wing, they being as it
were wings to the nave. He gave 10l. to the church.
In 1320, Cecily, his wife, was buried by him, and gave a legacy to
St. Mary's mass.
1385, Thomas Bumpstede, buried in St. Nicholas's chapel, gave 18l.
to adorn the church, and 100l. for 20 priests to sing for him, and 50l.
towards the rebuilding of the steeple at Newton Flotman, 10l. to repair
Taseburgh steeple, and a legacy to pave Kynyngham chancel.
1393, John Pilly buried in the church, and gave towards rebuilding
it 40s. 1431, Roger Scale gave 5l. towards it. 1439, Will. Fen gave
10 marks towards the building the chancel, if the rector would
rebuild it wholly new. 1444, Emma wife of Roger Legyard, spicer,
buried before St. John Baptist's altar, and gave towards the new reredos
or rood-loft, 55 marks. Nic. Manning buried in the church the same
year. 1445, Gregory Smith, rector of Merkeshall, buried in the church.
The same year, Robert Pert, senior, buried in the church by Agnes
his wife, gave 20l. toward the new gable of the chancel, viz. 10 marks
when it was level with the ground of the churchyard, 10 marks when
it came to the bottom of the great window, and 10 marks when they
crowned the arch of its top. Ric. Gouge, buried in the church the
same year, and Tho. Balle in 1446. In 1453, Tho. Aleyn, grocer, in
the north isle, and gave a vestment of a 100 marks, with these words
thereon in small pearls. Orate pro Animabus thome Aleyn et Agne-
tis wroris eius.
He gave also 50 marks to make a new pillory in the
market, and a covering for corn to be sold under it, which was the
old cross. 1457, Alderman Will. Ashwell, buried in the arch under
the high altar. 1458, Beatrix, widow of Tho. Balle, buried by her
husband, and also John Ode, and Marion Mason, widow, who gave
a canopy to be placed over the host, and a white silk vestment to serve
on the holidays of the Virgin. 1459, Alice Lovel, widow, buried in
the church; and in the same year, Will. Lovel, alias Elyngham, chaplain, buried in the churchyard; he gave his missal and manual to the
mass of Jesus, the same year, Will. Deynes, grocer, buried in the
church, gave 5 marks to it, and 20s. to the said mass. 1461, John
Shotesham buried in the church, gave a silver pix of 5 marks value.
Will. Atkins in 1462, gave 6 marks to the church. In 1462, John
Holle Turnor, buried in the churchyard on the north side, and gave
to the making a stone-cross called a palme-crosse, five marks, which was
to be placed over his grave; this palme-crosse is mentioned in many
wills. 1463, John Causton, alias Julians, grocer, buried in the north
isle, and gave 10 marks to make a new font of good work; which is
now standing. Margt. Sexteyn, buried in the church. 1464, Agnes,
widow of Thomas Aleyn, alderman, buried by her husband's tomb,
and gave two osculatories of peace, of silver, to serve at the altar.
1467, Rob. Toppe, alderman, buried in St. John Baptist's chapel, and
gave 20 marks to the church, and founded an obit and anniversary to
be kept for him in this church for 20 years, to pray for his own soul,
and the souls of Alice his wife, and all their children, of William Fen
and Agnes his wife, his father and mother, of John Byskeleye and his
wife, and all the deceased, every priest in his surplice at his exequies,
to have 4d. and 3s. 4d. to be distributed to the poor. Joan, wife of
Sir William Knyvet, Sir Will. Yelverton, Knt. Chief Justice of the
King's Bench, and John Heydon, counsellor, executors. 1472, Godefry Joye, alderman, buried in the church by the tomb of Agnes Caly,
his first wife, and settled his tenement that he purchased of Brothers
John Elyngham, monk, and John Thornage, chaplain, on the parishioners, to find a candle burning before the sacrament at the highaltar, and 20l. either to buy a jewel or make a new altar-piece at the
high-altar, between the tabernacles of St. Peter and Paul there. The
altar-piece is of wainscot, and is now behind the new one, and hath
divers martyrs, saints, and confessors, painted on the pannels. 1475,
Agnes Reyner, in the church. 1479, Edm. Bokenham, Esq. in the
church; and Thomas Burgess also, by the tomb of Barth. Splytte,
and Joan Shelton, widow, and Tho. Kempe, who gave 40s. towards
new leading the church, 40s. to paint the lower part of the perke or
rood-loft, and a legacy to the light burning before the patible on the
rood-loft. 1489, Robert Pert by Cecily his wife, and gave a jewel of
10l. Rob. Vere, chaplain, buried in the church the same year. Walter
Byllern, who gave a silver gilt cross of 20 marks. 1493, Tho. London, mercer, buried before the image of our lady in the body of the
church, on the perke, to which he gave 40s. to the new gilding, and a
legacy to new gild the image of the Holy Trinity, at the south end of
the said perke, and paint the tabernacle it stood in. In 1494, Rob.
Osborn, sheriff, (see his inscription,) was buried before the image of
our Lady on the rood-loft, on the south side by Eliz. his late wife, and
ordered Eliz. his relict to buy for the high-altar, a red velvet vestment
of 40l. The images of our Lady of Pity, and St. John, are mentioned.
1496, Nic. Noble, buried in the church, gave his mass book of the
blessed name of Jesu, to Jesus mass. 1497, John Newman gave an
antiphonary and desk, to stand on the south side of the church, as
that on the north, for the priests to sing their service at. 1498, Will.
Byllern, priest, gave a whole set of vestments of blue velvet to the
two blue copes, of 12l. value, and his corporas case of blue cloth of
gold tissue, with the corporas therein ready hallowed, and an antiphonary of 12 marks, and many other books, and a cross. 1499, Margaret Turner buried in the south isle, and gave a cope of 5 marks.
1500, Florence Johnson, gave 7 wax candles to burn before the image
of our Lady in her chapel for four years, viz. the mid-candle to burn
at all times of divine service, and the other six only while the Salve
of our Lady is sung. 1502, Margaret Radclyff, alias Curteys, widow,
gave a white satin vestment embroidered.
1504, Eliz. Drake, widow, late wife of Will. Davy, and wife to John
Carleton, mercer, buried by Carleton, and gave 5l. to gild the roodloft between the church and chapel. 1504, Sir Rob. Beverley, clerk,
buried before the image of St. Edward lately made, 1506, Allice
Ballis, buried in our Lady's chapel, by Ric. Ballis, her husband, and
gave 5l. to cover the relicks in the church with silver. 1506, John
Mere in St. Nicholas's chapel, on the north side of William Curteys,
and gave a suit of vestments to the altar in the chapel with the arms of
the church of Lincoln, and this inscription,
Orate pro anima Johannis mere quondam auditoris Episcopatus
Lincoln' et pro quibus Idem Johannis orare tenetur.
1508, William Yexworth in the chancel, in the space where his
desk standeth. 1507, Henry Wilton, alderman, in St. Nicholas's chapel, between Katherine and Margaret his wives, and gave 5l. to buy
lead to lead the steeple, and gave a legacy towards finishing the top
of the steeple. 1513, Henry Barker buried in the church, and gave a
black velvet cope. 1514, Sir John Dannok, in the church, and gave
six marks towards the choir copes. The same year Alderman Rich.
Ferrour was buried by the stile, on the north side of the church,
against the old tomb of John Hendrye, and ordered a new tomb of
five marks to be placed over him, and gave four marks to the church,
and willed a hundred masses to be sung in the church within eight
days after his decease, half by secular priests, and half by friars.
1523, Rob. Bois, grocer, buried in the churchyard by the little door
entering St. Nicholas's chapel, and ordered a marble to be laid over
him, and a porch to be built there at the door over it. 1540, Tho.
Thetforde, in St. Nicholas's chapel. 1539, Sir William Isbals, sometime of St. Augustine's, buried here. 1540, Sir Rob. Butfield, priest,
vicar of Barney.
1549, Robt. Knyvet, Gent. son and heir of Charles Knyvet, slaine
at Kett's campe, John Woods, Gent. Will. Haydon, Gent. Rice
Griffin, Esq. George Wagat of Northamptonshire, Rob. Madat of
Hartfordshire, Sir Tho. Woodhouse, priest, Morgain Corbet, Gent.
all slain in Kett's insurrection, and buried here.
1555, Alderman Ric. Catlyn and Eliz. his wife buried; in 1568,
Edw. Reade, Esq. of London buried; 1570, George Redman, who
was executed for treason. Samuel, fourth son of James Brockden of
Norwich, died 29 Dec. 1690, buried here; he married Jane, daughter
of Tho. Wagstaff of Tamworth in Warwickshsre, by whom he left only
one son, Thomas; there is a stone for him in the north isle.
In the chapel of St. Anne, at the upper end of the south isle, on the
right hand of the entrance of the new vestry, is a mural monument
of white marble, erected to the memory of Augustine Briggs, Esq.
descended from an ancient family at Salle in Norfolk, who before
the time of Edward I. assumed the sirname of De Ponte or Pontibus,
i. e. at Brigge, or at Brigges, as the ancient family of the Fountains
of the same place, assumed theirs of De Fonte or Fontibus, i. e. at the
fountain or fountains, much about the same time, the one dwelling, I
presume, by the springs or fountains heads; and the other by the
bridge or bridges, ever the currents that came from them; the eldest
branches of both which families continued in Salle till they united in
one, as appears by the following pedigree.
The first of this family that I have met with was,
(1) William atte Brigge of Salle, called in some deeds William
de Ponte de Salle, and in others, De Pontibus de Salle, and the last
mention I find of him is, that he was living at Salle in 1334. (fn. 22)
(2) John atte Brygge of Salle Esq. his second son, is the first I
find mentioned of this family, in any of the pedigrees I have seen; he
was alive in 1383, and then bare for arms, gul. three bars gemelle or,
a canton arg.
(*) Thomas Brigge of Holt, the 4th brother, was alive in 1400;
and in 1392, went to the Holy Sepulchre of our Lord, with Sir Tho.
Swinbourne, Knt. an account of which pilgrimage, written by himself, is still extant, in a MS. in Caius College library, which begins
AoMCCCLxxxxijo, vjo Aug. die Martis ego Thomas Bryggs
recessi de Castro de Gynes versus Sanctum Sepulchrum Domini,
cum comitivâ Domini mei Dni' Tho. Swynbourne Militis de Angliâ, et veni Venecias, die Dominicâ, &c.
(3) John Brygges, Esq. his son and heir, was a man of good
estate in this county, as appears by his will, dated 1454, in which he
gave to Margaret his wife, all his lands, faldcourses, and watermills in
Ewston in Suffolk, which of right were hers, in fee tail, and all his
sheep there, for life; she being to leave the manor and full stock, to
Will. Brygge her son. His manor of Lynford which he purchased of
the executors of Sir Constantine Clyfton of Bukenham castle, Knt. his
great friend, (fn. 23) he ordered his executors to sell to the prior of St. Mary at
Thetford, for 8 score marks, according to his agreement; out of which
he assigned 40 marks to celebrate his anniversary in that monastery;
every monk in priest's orders attending there, to have 12d. and each
other 6d. as long as the money lasted.
Thomas, his second son, was to have the other 6 score marks; but
William, his son, and Margaret, his wife, was to have the custody of
him till he was of age to be a priest, or if not, till he was 24 years old:
Margaret his daughter was to have Illington manor to her and her
heirs, and if she died without heirs, it was to be sold and disposed of,
to pious uses: it appears, that on his second marriage, he removed from
Salle to Thetford, for he gave his house in Thetford of her inheritance,
in which he dwelt, to his wife; having settled his paternal estate at
Salle, on his heirs male by Eleanor his first wife, and all his second
wife's inheritance on her and her issue. (fn. 24)
In 1438, he was trustee for Bukenham's manor in Old-Bukenham. (fn. 25)
The free-tenement or manor in Quidenham, which had been in a family of this name a good while, came to this John, and was left by
him to William his son, and continued in the family till about 1500. (fn. 26)
He lies buried in the south isle of Salle church, with his effiigies in a
winding sheet on a brass plate, and this under it,
Here lyeth John Brigge under this Marbil Ston.
Whos Sowle our Lord Jesu have Mercy upon,
For in this Worlde, worthily he libed many a Bay,
And here hys Bodi ys beried. I rowrhed under Clay,
Lo! Frindis fre, Whateber ye be, pray for me, I you pray:
As ye me se, in soch degrc, so schal ye he, anothir Day.
(†) Edmund Brigges, brother to this John, had an estate in Westmorland settled on him, and Simon Briggs, the fourth in a lineal descent
from him, married Cecily, daughter of Oliver Gilpin of Yorkshire; and
Brian, Simon's son, married also in Yorkshire. (fn. 27)
(||) Sir John Brigge, chaplain, in 1438, was presented to the rectory
of St. Laurence in Norwich, by the abbot and convent of Bury; in 1446,
rector of Dickleburgh; in 1466, rector of Berford, and was buried in
the chancel there in 1481. (fn. 28)
(4) Thomas Bryggs, Esq. of Salle, was a great friend and doer for
John Paston, Esq. by whose means he much advanced himself; by
will dated 1494, he founded a chantry priest to sing for his soul for ten
years after his decease, at the altar by the image of the Virgin Mary
in the chapel of St. James, on the south side of St. Peter and Paul's
church in Salle, which noble fabrick was built in his time; (fn. 29) and it appears by the arms of this Thomas, carved in stone on the south porch,
south isle and chapel aforesaid, that they were built at his expense;
his first wife's arms are,
Arg. on a bend az. three croslets or, as coheiress of Beaupre.
His second wife's maiden name I have not met with; but it seems
they are both buried before the altar in St. James's chapel at Salle,
for there lies a stone robbed of its plate, which I found loose in the
chest with this,
Orate pro animabus Thome Bregge et Margarete ac Marga
garete Vrorum eius quorum animabus propicietur deus Amen
Which would have made me conclude that he had been buried with
them; had not his will informed me that he was interred in the
church of the friars-minors at Norwich, as you may see at p. 111.
(‡) William Bryggs of Thetford, was mayor there in 1480, 1481, (fn. 30)
and divers other times, and was a man of figure and fortune.
(5) Edward Bregge of Salle, Gent, died in his father's lifetime,
and left issue by Cecily Moore, whose arms are,
Gul. a fess between three boars heads cooped arg.
(6) Thomas Brygge, Esq. of North-Wotton, second son of Edward Bregge of Salle, bare the arms of Brygge with the canton sab.
In 1509, he had the manor of Rusteyns in Snetesham settled on him
by Ric. Mounteyn, Esq. and Eliz. his wife, and Ric. Crophill, on his
marriage of their daughter.
(**) Sir Thomas Briggs, clerk, his 5th brother, was rector of Brisingham in 1539, doctor in divinity in 1549, chaplain to the Lady
Mary, sister to King Edward VI. and Queen after him; was vicar of
Kenninghall, and in 1556, vicar of Windham. (fn. 31)
(7) Augustine Briggs, Esq. settled in Norwich; in 1626, he gave
10l. to the city hamper or hanaper, for the use of the poor; and was
a benefactor to south Conisford parishes, and St. Peter's Mancroft,
and gave money to bind out 12 poor boys.
(8) Augustine Briggs of Norwich, Esq. for whom this monument
was erected, was born 1617, and was educated in this city; being strenuous for his royal master in the late rebellion, he was turned out of
the court of aldermen by the rebels, but was restored again at the
King's restoration, and elected sheriff that very year; he was one of
those gentlemen who joined the Earl of Newcastle's forces in the siege
of Lyn, in 1643. (fn. 32) The late Recorder Berney showed me a long sword
with a label of Briggs's own hand writing tied thereto, "This I wore
at the Siege of Linn, in the Servis of the Royal Martyr K. Charles
the first. A. BRIGGS."
In 1660, at the Restoration, he became alderman, and was very serviceable in composing the differences between the dean and chapter,
and city, and in procuring a new charter for the city, in which he
is named an alderman; and had so great interest as to be elected
burgess in parliament for the city in 1677 (fn. 33) without opposition, having
before refused it, in favour of the Paston family, which he much valued and truly served; he was chosen no less than four times successively a member for this city; having been mayor in 1670, and
afterwards was major of the trained band, or city militia; he died
Aug. 28, 1684, in the 67th year of his age, having justly deserved the
character given him by the late Rev. Mr. Whitefoot, minister here,
who composed the inscription on his monument; for he was indeed
highly loyal to his King, and yet a studious preserver of the ancient
privileges of his country; was always firm and resolute for upholding
the church of England; and assiduous and punctual in all the important trusts that were committed to him, whether in the august
assembly of parliament, his honourable commands in the militia, or
his justiciary affairs upon the bench, gaining the affections of the
people by his hospitality and repeated acts of kindness, which he continued beyond his death; leaving the following charities by his will,
as a more certain remembrance to posterity, than this perishing monument, erected by his friends, which his posterity endeavours by this
plate, to continue to future ages.
By will dated Aug. 19, 1684, he gave all his estates whatsoever in
Swerdestone in Norfolk, unto Nic. Bickerdike, alderman of Norwich,
and divers other trustees, and to their heirs, on condition that they
shall, without making any manner of benefit to their own use, always
suffer the profits to be received by the mayor and aldermen, or their
receivers, to be disposed by them, after all necessary charges are defrayed, "the one half part, yearly and every year, to encrease the
maintenance and revenue of the Boys hospitall, and the other half
part to encrease the revenew of the Girls hospital, to the intent
that the number of children in both the said hospitals to be
placed, may be every year increased so far forth, as the same will
He also ordered his executors, within two years after his decease, to
purchase and settle on trustees, as many lands, tenements, &c. in Norfolk or Norwich, being freehold, as they could purchase for 200l. for
which they are to pay at the rate of 6l. per cent. till the purchase be
made, the neat produce to be employed by the mayor and aldermen, or
major part of them, "for the putting forth to convenient trades yearly
and every year, two such poore boys of the ward of St. Peter of
Southgate, (whereof he was alderman,) as can write and read, and have
neither father nor mother able to put them forth to such tardes,"
and if there be no such boys in the ward, then the money to go to the
hamper, to be disposed by the mayor and aldermen, "for the relief
only of the necessitous sick or impotent poor people of the ward
aforesaid, and for no other purpose whatsoever." The trustees when
all dead to one, that one, or his heirs, to renew to such persons as the
mayor and court shall appoint.
There is a boy and a girl maintained in the hospitals of this foundation.
He ordered also 40s. a year to be settled on the reader of daily
service in this church for ever.
Jan. 3, 1664, he had a grant of a crest to the ancient arms of his
family, by Sir Edward Bysshe, Knt. Clarenceux, viz. on a helm and
wreath of his colours, a pelican sab. picking her breast, on the trunk
of a tree or, and was to bear them with a canton or, mantled gul.
(¶) Angustine Briggs, his eldest son settled an estate in Norwich, on
trustees, for the benefit of Southgate ward, according to his father's
bequest of the 200l. and Alexander and Mary Briggs, his brother and
sister, settled the aforesaid 40s. on the reader, and added 40s. more of
their own gift, as at p. 191. This Augustine was one of the aldermen
turned out by the mandate of James II. in 1687, but was restored in
1688; he was sheriff in 1658, mayor in 1695, and died in 1704.
(9) William Briggs, brother to the last-mentioned Augustine,
was born in Norwich, admitted at 13 years old into Bennet college in
Cambridge, where he was educated under Dr. Thomas Tennison, afterwards Archbishop of Canterbury, and being chosen fellow of the
college, continued there several years, discharging the trust of a tutor
with honour to the society. In 1671, he had a certificate under the
University seal, that he had been regularly created master of arts, (fn. 34) soon
after which, he was incorporated into the University of Oxford, and
after he had improved himself by his travels in foreign countries,
being well versed in most parts of learning, he settled at London, and
on the 3d of July 1677, took his doctor's degree in physick, in the
University of Cambridge, (fn. 35) and soon after becoming an eminent physician, was chosen fellow of the college of physicians in London, where
having gained the friendship of most of the learned men, by his remarkable skill in his profession, he was made physician to St. Thomas's
hospital in Southwark, and physician in ordinary to King William the
That he was a judicious anatomist, appears by his accurate treatises
on the eye, which he published, intituled, Ophthalmographia, and
Nova Visionis Theoria, an account of which is inserted in the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, (of which he was fellow,)
and are much commended by the great Sir Isaac Newton, in a letter
of his, inserted in the said Ophthalmographia, &c. where he very
much praises the Doctor, who wrote other pieces also, with much ingenuity and learning. He died Sept. 4, (fn. 36) 1704, aged 62 years, (fn. 37) at
Town-Malling in Kent, where he lies interred.
He married Hannah, sole daughter and heiress of Edmund Hobart,
Gent. son of James Hobart, Esq. one of the sons of Sir Henry Hobart
of Blickling, Knt. Lord Chief Justice of the Common Pleas in King
James the First's time, an eminent royalist in the late civil wars, (fn. 38) as
his mural monument, which is to be seen on the south side of Holt
chancel, of which this copper plate is an exact likeness, evidently declares. In her right the arms of Hobart are quartered with Briggs.
(10) The Rev. Dr. Hen. Briggs, born in London, was educated
at the Charter-house, and being sent to the University of Cambridge,
was admitted into Corpus Christi or Bennet college, under the tuition
of Dr. Dannye; he took his degrees of bachelor and master of arts,
was ordained deacon and priest in the church of St. James, London, by
Dr. Charles Trimnel Bishop of Norwich; he was some time minister
of Loose near Maidstone in Kent, was instituted to the rectory of Holt
in Norfolk, (of which town he is now lord and patron,) June 25, 1722,
being then master of arts. He was created doctor of divinity in the
University of Cambridge, in 1729, and doctor of the same faculty at
Oxford in 1738. In 1731, was appointed chaplain in ordinary to
his Majesty King George II. and in 1741, was instituted to the rectory of Leryngsete by Holt, which he holds by union with Holt
There is a print of him extant by Faber, which is an exact likeness.
The ancient motto of this family is, virtus est dei.
Against the north wall of Jeses chapel is a monument, now much
defaced; the bottom part is an altar tomb, on which is placed the
effigies of a judge down to his waste, in his robes and cap of judgment. between four pillars; over his head are the arms of
Windham, az. a chevron between three lions heads erased or,
with a crescent sab. on the chevron for difference. Crest, a lion's
head erased within the bow of a fetter-lock.
On the one side is a shield, on which Windham quarters Scroop and
On the other side is another, on which Windham quartering as
before, impales Bacon quartering Quaplode; on the side of the tomb
are three shields, 1. Windham with the crescent, 2. Windham quartering
Scroop and Tiptoft. 3. Windham quartering Scroop and Tiptoft impaling Towneshend and five quarterings.
1. Towneshend, az a chevron erm. between three escalops arg.
2. Haywell, gul. a chevron or, between three de-lises arg.
3. Brewse, arg. crusuly a lion rampant double quevé gul. crowned
5. Huntingfield, gul. a cross arg. in a bordure ingrailed or.
It seems as if this monument was always, as it now is, without any
inscription, notwithstanding which, it is plain that it was erected in
memory of Francis Windham of Lincoln's Inn, Esq. who was
elected one of the benchers there in 1569; and autumn reader to that
Society in 1571; was made serjeant at law with Francis Gawdy and
Robert Bell, Esqrs. two of his countrymen, in 1577; and in 1579, one
of the justices of the Common Pleas; he died at his house here in
1592, and was buried July 18, as the register shows us.
Some time since, there was a loose brass in the old vestry thus inscribed;
Jasper fert Myrrham, Thus Mechior, Balthasar Aurum,
hec tria qui secum portabit nomina Regum,
Solbitur a Morbo, Christi Pietate, raduco.
This was a sort of charm against the falling-sickness, and with many
such follies as this, that age abounded; but how it should come here,
or on what account I cannot tell, if it was not formerly fixed to some
person's stone, who imagined himself defended by it from that disease;
I have seen the verses, and the names of the three wise men that
brought their offerings to Christ, in English, in this manner,
Jasper. Melchior. Balthasar.
Myrrh, Frankincense, and Gold, the Eastern Kings,
Devote to Christ the Lord, as offerings,
For which of those, who their three Names do bear,
The falling-sickness never need to fear.
Benefactors to this parish are:
1502, Peter Curson, alderman, who was buried in the church of
Leryngsete, gave a legacy towards paving St. Peter's chancel in Norwich, where Joan his first wife was buried, with marble; he gave his
fine silk banner with the images of St. Peter and Paul, and his own
arms, to the church.
1543, Sir Richard Tevell, alis Marvyn, vicar of Linton in Cambridgeshire, gave 16 milch neat beasts to the parish, (see p. 198,) "for
a certen memorie to be wreten in the bed-roll booke, wherby the
the curate every Sunday shall reherse and pray for the sowles of the
sayd Richard Marvyn and Jone his wyff, his father and mother, and
John Tevell and all frends." The overplus of the annual profits
and increase of the beasts, to go to the reparation of the church.
This is long since lost.
1568, Sir Peter Rede gave his houses in St. Giles's for the ringing
the four o'clock and eight o'clock bell. (See p. 200.)
1581, the parish-house opposite to the south side of the churchyard,
came along with the rectory to the parishioners, "it being the old
parsonage-house of the parish, and so reputed and taken to be in
times past." (fn. 39) In 1712, it was leased by the feoffees to Edward
Freeman, for 61 years, at 6l. per annum rent, and was said to be lately
divided into two tenements; it is now settled by Alderman Risebrow
for a charity school-house, as the following inscription fixed against the
wall of it shows:
This School was founded by Mr. John Risebrow late of this
City, in the Year of our Lord 1721, for the teaching poor Children to read and to write, and for instructing them in the Principles and Doctrines of the Church of England; and for the
Support and Maintenance of this charity school, he assigned to
Trustees, a lease of this House; and by his last Will and Testament, he settled an Estate in Walpole for the Use and Benefit of
it for ever.
The trustees pay the 6l. per annum to the parish, which is laid out
on church repairs.
Before 1626, Mr. John Davy gave about 17l. for a parish stock to
buy sea coals, to be sold to the poor of the parish at reasonable prices;
in 1656, it was laid out by the churchwardens, but they were forced to
repay it, and settle it for the same use as heretofore, by decree of
court; but it is since lost.
1651, Mr. Henry Davy of London, merchant-tailor, gave to the
poor of St. Peter's Mancroft, where he was born, four pounds a year
for ever, to be distributed on the day of his death, by the church-wardens direction; and tied the house called the Rose in St. Gregory's
for the annual payment thereof.
Thomas Pye, alderman, gave the houses called the Alms-houses in
St. Gregory's parish, near the south-west corner of that churchyard,
on the other side of the street there, for six poor people to inhabit and
dwell in; two of those dwellings are settled for the benefit of two poor
women aged 50 at least, married or unmarried, belonging to this parish, to dwell in during life; both which are now enjoyed by Henry
Salmon, who inhabits one, and lets the other; by reason of the large
repairs he hath done to them, at his own charge. The dwelling most
west, or first dwelling, is always to be filled by St. Giles's parish. The
2d by St. Michael's of Coslany; the 3d by St. Giles's, the 4th and 5th
by St. Peter's, and the 6th, being that most east, by St. Michael's of
Mr. John Blackhead, merchant, gave four acres of land in Heigham, let at 6l. per annum to be yearly disposed of by the churchwardens, viz.
For an annual sermon here on St. John's day, 15s.
To the parish of St. Stephen's on New-Year's-day, 30 shillings
worth of the best white bread to be delivered to the church-wardens.
To the poor debtors in the city goal on New-Year's-day in the best
white bread 10s.
The overplus to be laid out in coals for the benefit of St. Peter's poor,
to be delivered to them on New-Year's-day.
1650, Mathew Lindsey, Esq. alderman, gave by will, his tenements
(called Rutters and Thunders, which formerly belonged to the chapel in
the Fields, lying on the east side of Lady's-lane) for the use and benefit
of the poor people of the ward of Mancroft, and the ward of Berstreet,
to be kept in repair by the corporation; and the clear yearly profits to
be laid out in sea-coal; three parts of the profits to be so applied
for the poor of Berstreet ward, and the 4th part for the poor of
They are now laid into one tenement, let at 4l. per annum.
1689, Thomas Gobert gave 5l. to the parish officers, as a stock to be
lent out on security, to any poor joiner or smith resident in the parish,
for four years, without paying any interest.
The houses in St. Laurence's parish, in which Mr. John Gay dwells,
very anciently belonged to this parish, are leased to him at 10l. per
In 1695, the parish purchased the house late the school-house, belonging to the dissolved college of the chapel in the Fields, of Dr.
Jeffery, then minister here, for a PARSONAGE-house for the upper minister; it stands against Chaply-fields, and is now let free of all taxes
and repairs, at 6l. per annum which the parish chaplain, or upper
minister, receives yearly.
The benefactions of the Briggs's, appear at p. 191, 218.
The offering bason of 22 ounces and an half weight, mentioned at
p. 192, was given by Peter Witherick of this parish, inn-holder,
And the two flaggons marked R. B. were given by Mr. Rob. Blackbourne, grocer, Nov. 20, 1612.
The arch under the old vestry is let for 40s. yearly, by the churchwardens, which is applied towards the church repairs.
The following religious houses had revenues in this parish, viz. the
Prior of Norwich, to the value of 10l. 14s. 2d. per annum of the gifts
of Will. de St. Omer, Tho. Schirreve, Henry de Witton, and Will. de
Norwich, rector of Melton All-Saints in 1299, who settled divers
lands, &c. on the Prior of St. Leonard, to say 30 masses for his soul
yearly: the Priors of Canterbury, Alvesbourn, Cokesford, St. Faith's,
Windham, Weybrigge, Pentney, Peterston, and Hickling; the Abbots
of Wardon, Holm, Waltham, Ramsey, Langele Sibeton, and Creke;
the Prioress of Bungeye, and of the nuns at Swaffham in Cambridgeshire, who had a rent out of a shop in the drapery, given them in 1272,
by Will. de Dunwich, citizen. The Prioress of Carrow, the Dean of
the chapel in the Fields, and the masters of the hospitals of St. Giles,
Chapel-field, commonly called Chapley-field, from the
chapel of St. Mary, which adjoined to its east part, was heretofore in
divers owners, and that part which now goes by this name, and lies
within the walls, was called Chapel-field-Croft, and the adjacent fields
on the outside of the city ditch, were called anciently Chapel-fields,
and are still in the hands of many proprietors; but the croft was all
purchased in by the city, and is leased out by the court; the ancient
owners of it were, the Prior of Bukenham, the Prioress of Carhowe,
the dean and college of the chapel in the Fields, &c. it was formerly
ploughed land, but at the Dissolution, when the city had got it all, it
was converted into pasture, as it still remains; in 1569, Alice, widow
of John Worseley, alderman, and Barth. Rede, had a lease of it for 21
years at 12l. per annum, in 1572, Mr. Francis Windham had a lease of
the cherry-yard, dove-house, and chapel-field-croft; and in 1592, a license passed to pull down the dove-house late the dean's of the chapel;
and in 1578, it appears to have been the Campus Martius of the city,
the musters for the trained bands or artillery of the county of the city,
being yearly made there, between Bartholomew tide and Michaelmas;
and according to a proclamation, this was ordered and appointed a
meet and fit place to charge guns with shot and powder for the exercise of shooting in hand-guns, harquebusses, callivers, &c. &c. for
trial of all such pieces as were named in the proclamation. In 1596,
Sir Robert Mansell, Knt. desired a lease of it, and had it granted on
the terms as Justice Windham had it, with a clause, that if he or his
lady died before it expired, the rest of the term to be to Nic. Bacon,
Esq. In 1609, the mayor and court granted to Mr. Attorney General
H. Hobart, a lease of the croft for 41 years, and a deed in fee simple
of the cherry-yard, gratis. (fn. 40) In 1656, the court, by special messenger, sent word to the Lady Hobart, that contrary to her lease,
ditches, stiles, and taynters were then made in Chapley-field, to the
hinderance of the citizens free passage there, and that they insisted on
its being reformed. (fn. 41) In 1668, the city tent was ordered to be set up
in Chaply-field against the general muster, for the use of the deputy
lieutenants, by the chamberlain; in 1671, it was erected there for
the lord lieutenant of Norfolk and Norwich, and the deputy lieutenants of the city to meet in, for a general review of the city regiment,
and this was done yearly. In 1707, the field was railed in, as it
The market-place, was the magna-crofta or great-croft belonging to the castle, to the outward ditch of which it adjoined, and
at first was open, from St. Stephen's church to the Holtor, now called
Dove-lane. The whole was at first built on each side and end, but the
middle-rowe between the market-place and fish-market consists of stalls
enclosed at divers times by royal licenses, and all the buildings at the
end of the church (fn. 42) were originally erected by the like authority: as it
is, it still remains the grandest market-place, as well as the very best
single market in all England, the market-days being Wednesday and
Saturday in every week. At first every business had its several rowe or
station appointed to sell their goods in; and accordingly we read of
the following places in ancient deeds and evidences; as, Cirotecaria,
Glover's-row; Merceria, Mercer's-row; Speceria, Especerie, or Spicer's-row; Acuaria, Needler's-row; Pelliparia, Allutaria, or Tawer'srow; Ferraria, or Ironmonger's-rowe: the following names also
which occur in deeds, show the same; for there we have the several
markets mentioned, as Forum Unguentarium sive Apotecaria, the
Apothecary's market; Herbaria, the Herber or Herb-market; Puletaria or Poultry-market; Forum Pistorum, or Bread-market; the
Flesh-market or Butchery; the Wool and Sheep-markets; the Freshwater or Fish-market; the Pudding-market; old Wood-market; the
Cheese-market; Forum Tannatorum, or Leather-market; the Worthstede-row; Shereman's or Cloth-cutters-market; Forum Sutorum,
Souter's or Cobler's-row; Parmentaria, the Parchmenter's row;
Whiteware-market; le Scouthere's, or Scourer's-row; Soper's-lane; the
Fether-house, (fn. 43) Sea-fish-market, &c. all which are mentioned before
Richard the Second's time; for about the latter end of Edward the
Third's businesses began to intermix, and many of these lost their
original names. In describing the remarkable places that have been,
or are still remaining, I shall begin at the south-east corner of the
present Hay-market, in which stands
(70) A good engine to weigh hay, sometime since fixed here by the
corporation, who receive the profits, and assign an officer to take daily
care of it; and first,
The wastel, or wheat-bread market, began at Wastel-gate, and
extended from the brew-house on the triangular piece, to the present
entrance of the Hay-market, and from thence was the south
(71) The New synagogue and schools of the Jews, to which
there was an entrance from Hog-hill on the east part, and another on
the west, from the Hay-market, by the passage now into the Star yard,
and the whole part of the market from Wastel-market aforesaid, to the
White-lion-lane, is called in old evidences Judaismus, Vicus de Judaismo, or the Jewry; the new synagogue was built in Henry the Second's
time, when the Jews removed and dwelt altogether here; it had a
burial-place by it, and the school was at the south end of it; the house
appropriated for the high-priest, who was called the Bishop of the Jews,
stood on the very place where now is Dr. Howman's house; for in
Edward the First's time, Ursell, son of Isaac the Bishop of the Jews
at Norwich, sold it to John de Wroxham, and his executors, in Edward
the Second's time, sold it to John Pirmund; and in Edward the Third's
time, it was confirmed to the prior and convent of Norwich, (fn. 44) by the
King's license, by Ralf de Atleburgh. It was some time ago Alderman Anguish's, and after that, the learned Dr. Brown's.
The next house to this, north, was settled by John Damme on the
wardens of the mass of the Blessed Jesus, in this parish church, and
in allusion thereto, was the sign of the Holy Lamb.
The house now the Star, formerly belonged to Elias the Jew, and
abutted east on the garden belonging to the Jews school, and north on
the entry to the Jews synagogue; Elias son of Elias sold it to Jeffry
de Gloucester the Jew, from whom it was seized by Edward I. and
conveyed to Jeffery de Bungeye.
In 1286, when King Edward I. banished all the Jews, this synagogue was destroyed, and the whole Jewry seized by the King; but the
reason we see nothing remaining of these places is, because the whole
Jewry was burned down, and then these were quite destroyed. (See
Pt. I. p. 64.)
The corner house at Wastel-gate, abutting on Hog-hill east, and
Wastel-gate south, is anciently said to belong to the parishioners of
St. Stephen's, and was late Rob. Borough's.
The north side of the Jewry was bounded by White-lion-lane, as it
is now called, from the sign of the white lion there, but was anciently
known by all the following names, Selaria, Sellaria or Sadle-gate, in
Edward the First's time. In Edward the Second's, Sadleres-row,
Rolimere's or Lorimer's-row. In Edward the Third's Bridlesmethsrow. In Henry the Fourth's, Sporiers-row; and Edward the Fourth's,
The third tenement from the market-place, on the south side of
this lane, belonged to the abbey of Sibeton in Suffolk, for John, abbot
there in 1363, leased it out; it was given them by William de Brokedisch or Brockdish, and the tenement joining east to the former, was
given by Rob. de Possewyk, bridlesmith, to Hubert and Henry, the
two first charnel chaplains. (See p. 48.)
The east side of the market-place from White-lion-lane to the
Cockey-lane, was anciently called Nether or Lower-rowe, and now the
Gentllmen's-walk; the south part of which, was called the Cordwaineria, (fn. 45) and Calceria, Cordwainers, Cordiners, or Shoemaker's-rowe,
and the northern part Caligaria, or Hosier's-rowe.
(72) The Fons de Sellaria, or Sadlegate common well,
was on the fee of the Prior of St. Faith, as the whole north side of
White-lion-lane was; this hath been disused in common, for a long
time. The northern corner of this row, at the entrance of the
Cockey-lane, is called Jenney's-corner, from John Jenney, one of the
bailiffs in 1368, and 1373, who owned the corner house.
The Cockey-lane was formerly called by the several names of
Latoner or Tinmen's-rowe, Cuteler-rowe, and Hosier-gate, and extends
from the market-place eastward, in a straight line to the meeting of
the lane called the Back of the Inns from the south, with Rackey'slane from the north, near the noted shop commonly called John-ofall-Sorts; and so far this way, it is called Cockey-lane, as is now
another lane anciently called Smethe-rowe, which extends northward
from the middle of the aforesaid lane, into Potter-gate street: now
the word cockey, is, and hath been very anciently used in this city,
to signify the cloacœ, sive gurgites publicœ, i. e. the common sewers or
water-courses through the streets into the river, whether vaulted over
as they now are, or running open and uncovered as they did formerly,
to the great prejudice of the neighbouring inhabitants, which occasioned them to get them covered as soon as possible; it appears, that
the two cockeys which meet here, one on the back side of the Netherrowe from Nedham-street, and the other from St. Giles's-street, by the
north end of the market-place, were open and passed over by bridges
till Edward the Fourth's time, and then this lane was first paved, and
the cockeys covered, chiefly at the expense of the neighbours.
The north end of the market-place from Dove-lane to Smethe-rowe
aforesaid, was the Aurifabria, or Goldsmiths-rowe; and the lane
aforesaid was called Smethy-lane, from the working goldsmiths that
lived there: the messuage called the Stone-hall, in 1286 belonged to
John le Brun, founder of the chapel in the Fields, was his dwellinghouse, and afterwards was made
(73) The Goldsmiths-hall; and it seems as if they rebuilt it,
for there remain many ancient shields of arms in the stone-work to
The lane now called Dove-lane, from that sign there, was anciently
called Hol Tor lane from the old tor or tower (fn. 46) that stood at the
south-west corner of it,
(74) Which was built by the Jews in Will. Rufus's time, for their
synagogue, and continued such till Henry the Second's time, when
they built their new synagogue; it was a publick-house till the great
fire, and being then totally demolished, the site was built upon, so
that there are no ruins of it to be seen at this day.
From this lane to Stongate or Goat-lane, was the Pillearia or Hatteres-rowe, in which.
(75) The City Gaol is now kept, and hath been so ever since it
was removed from the rooms under the Gild-hall. This house was
an ancient inn called the Lamb, which was purchased by St George's
company in Henry the Seventh's time, for a gild-hall for them, and
afterwards was assigned to the city for this use; the next house joining to it, is the sign of the castle, (fn. 47) and was anciently called the Common-inn, and belonged to the city, it being conveyed to them by John
de Welbourn, taverner, in 1368; it then reached to Potter-gate on the
north, and that part was made the worsted-seld or hall, for
sealing the worsteds; and the petty-customs belonging thereto were
let at 8 marks a year; but in Henry the Eighth's time it was removed
to the Cloth-hall at the west end of the Gild-hall. This inn is now
leased out by the corporation for 500 years, at 18l. per annum, clear
of all charges and taxes whatever, and a fine of 500l. paid down for
Opposite to these stands,
(76) The Gild-Hall,
Which at first was only a small thatched building, erected on Carrow
fee for a toll-house to collect the toll of the market in; in Edward the
Third's time, it was called the Toll-Booth, and in the latter part of
his reign, a single room was added to it, which was also built of studwork, and thatched, but then it took the name of the Gild-hall; it
continued in this state till Henry the Fourth's time, and when that
Prince granted the charter for a mayor instead of bailiffs, the
city resolved upon building a new gild-hall, prisons, &c. the old
one being so small and mean, that there was room only to erect a
seat for the mayor and six more to sit there; wherefore, in 1407, at
an assembly then held, John Danyel, Rob. Brasyer, and 22 more,
were elected to make laws for the government of the city, according
to the charter; and consult how to raise money to build the gildhall, for which purpose they had a warrant to press all carpenters,
carters, and workmen, for that service; and this year it was got so
forward, that the arches under it designed for the prisons, (fn. 48) were
finished by John Marowe, the master mason. The next year, Walter
Danyel and Rob. Dunston were elected supervisors of the work, and
24 persons were chosen to collect the aid or tax laid on every inhabitant in the city at their discretion, and to distrain for the same; and
each constable had a warrant to press workmen, citizens and foreigners,
to work at the Gild-hall every day, from 5 o'clock in the morning to
8 at night, as often as there was occasion; and this year advanced
the second story. In 1409, the roof was raised, and the third tax and
impress warrant granted; and now many gifts and legacies came in,
so that the work went on well; and in 1412, the prisoners were put
into the prisons under it, but the whole was not perfected till 1453,
when the windows of the council chamber were glazed, and the
chequer table placed in it. In 1435, the porch and tower were built; (fn. 49)
and in 1440, all the city records, which till that time laid dispersed,
in the White-friars, in the chapel in the Fields, &c. were brought
hither; in 1444, the King, under the broad seal, confirmed to John
Burgeys for life, for the good services done by him to Eton college,
the keeping of the gaol of the city of Norwich by himself or deputy, and 5d. fee for every prisoner. In 1461, John Hagoner
repaired and beautified the chamber behind the sheriffs court, called
le Queste-house, Kiste, or Guest-hall. The stalls against the Gildhall now covered with lead, were the ancient scriptorys, or places
where the writers sat at all elections. In 1511, the roof of the
council-chamber (fn. 50) at the east end of the Gild-hall, fell down, and the
treasury tower: and the next year, James Hobart, Esq. recorder,
gave 40 marks towards building it new; but it could not be brought
to perfection till 1534, as I learn from the city book. "Be it hadde
in Remembraunce that the newe Counsell House wher the mayer
keep his court of Chauncerye, was begon by the procurement of
Austyn Styward, one of the aldermen of this cittie in the moneth
of Maye in the Year of our Lorde Gode Moccccco. xxxiiij, and in
the xxvi yeare of the reign of our soveraign lord Kyng Henry viijth.
and was accomplished and fynyshed the year next ensuying, &c."
(See Pt. I. p. 208.)
Gifts given for that purpose, by the executors of Tho. Aldrich,
late mayor, 20l.; by the executors of Rob. Jannys, late mayor, 20l.;
the executors of Gregory Clerke, late mayor, xl.; the executors of
John Marsham, late mayor, 2l.; by Edw. Rede, late mayor, 5l.; Tho.
Pickerell, late mayor, 5l.; Rob. Greene, late mayor, 2l.; Reynold
Littleprowe, late mayor, 1l.; Tho. Bawburgh, late mayor, 1l.; Master
Alan Percye, priest, 5l. &c.
The east window was glazed by the executors of John Fuller,
mercer, and contained four days or lights.
The 1st of St. George, with Domine Salvum fac Regem.
The 2d had, az. a cross between five martlets or. Vive le Roy.
The 3d had France and England quartered in the garter.
The 4th had the city arms. Fuller's mark; and the mercers arms.
The two little windows were glazed by Tho. Nectun, alderman.
The first window on the north side by Master Jannys. The second
north window by Rob. Ferrour, late mayor. The first south window
by alderman Nic. Sotherton, and the second south window by Austyn
Styward. And accordingly in the first little north window, are the
mercers arms impaling Tho Nectun's mark, and in another shield a
tun, and over it Nec, for Nectun. The next window on this side
hath R. F. in a shield, for Rob. Ferrour, and his arms, or, a cross
florée arg. and his mark. There are also the city arms, St. George's
cross, and the drapers arms. Ao. Domini Millesimo cccccrrriiii.
This window contained the story of the corrupt judge, who was
flayed alive for false judgment; and these words were in the middle
pane; the two first verses addressed to all magistrates sitting in the
court; and the four last to the judge's son sitting in his father's place,
in the window, with his father's skin hanging before him.
Valerius li. vo.
Lette alle Men se, stedfast you be,
Justyce doe ye, or els loke, you fle.
Yom that sittyst now in Place,
See hange before thy Face,
Thyn own Faders Skyn,
For Falshod; this ded he myn.
The next window hath Master Robert Jannis Grocer, and
his mark, the grocers arms, the city arms, and the mercers arms. This
window contained a King, with a large parcel of armed men, placing
a person before him on his knees, and on the other side was a man in
his winding sheet, sitting in order to be shot dead with arrows: this
man's picture is in the chamber; and I have seen several copies of
it, with death seizing him; and by the words, Jesu miserere, fill
Dei, miserece mei. which are in the window, it seems to be a memorial
to warn mankind of the certainty of death, and to prepare for it, as
unavoidable. Under the picture is this,
For all, Welth, Worship and Prosperite
Ferce Death ys cum, and rested [arrested] me,
For Jannys praise God, I pray you all,
Whose Arts do remayne a Memoriall.
The eastern window on the south side, contained the judgment of
Solomon and this,
The Theme and Counterfet to trye,
She had rather lose her Kyght,
Seying, the Soulders mare redy
To rlyhe, with all ther myght.
But the glass hath been so often broken and misplaced, and other
painted glass added, brought from other places, that little of the
original designs can be now perceived.
In this chamber, besides the pictures of Jannys, and Sir Peter Rede
mentioned at p. 200, are these that follow,
King William and Queen Mary.
Thomas White Miles, Aldermannus Civitatis London' Fundator
Collegij Sancti Johannis Baptiste, et Aulæ Gloucestrensis Oxon.'
Cernitur hic Thomas Whitus, sub Imagine Picta,
Cernitur hec Vitæ melius sub Imagine vera;
Et Pater, et Prætor Londini, Miles in illo,
Providus Oxoniœ Fautor, Fundator in illa,
Bristolij Decus eximium, Laus prima Redingœ,
Gloria Tunbrigiœ, tibi Causa Coventriæ Famæ,
Urbis Honos, Orbis, Prudentiæ, Gemma Senectæ.
Cum 24 urbes hujus Regni Angliœ suis ditâsset Opibus, (fn. 51) Annis
et Honore plenus obijt. Febr. xio Ao. Dom. 1566, Æt. suæ 72.
His crest was a stork proper, motto, Auxilium meum a Domino.
White, gul. an annulet or, in a bordure sab. eight stars proper,
on a canton erm. a lion rampant sab.
Archbishop Parker's picture, hath his own arms impaled with Canterbury see, and
Mundus transit & Concupiscentia ejus. Ao. Dni. 1573, Ætatis
suæ Ao. 71, Augusti sexto. (See Pt. I. p. 306,)
Mrs. Joan Smith of London, widow. (See Pt. I. p. 358.) Ao.
1594, Ætat. 60.
Smith of Leicestershire, gul. on a chevron or between three
bezants, three croslets patee fitchee sab. impaling.
Coe of Suff. arg. martletté sab. three piles in point wavy gul.
1634, Mr. Rob. Heronsey's picture ordered to be hung up, it being
made at the city charge. He was mayor in 1632.
1668, Mr. Rob. Holmes, alderman, and benefactor to the Children's hospital.
1674, Mr. Francis Southwell's picture hung up, a copy of it was
made and sent to Sir Rob. Southwell, Knt. one of the clerks of
his Majesty's privy council.
Mr. Henry Fawcet's picture. Sheriff 1608, Alderman 1614.
Fawcett, arg. on a bend az. three dolphins embowed or.
Tho. Layer, Esq. member of parliament Ao. 1606, æt. 78, ob.
1614, sheriff 1567, mayor 1576, and 1595. Alderman 47 years.
Crest a unicorn's head cooped arg. armed or.
Layer, per pale arg. and sab. a unicorn passant between three
croslets countercharged, quartering arg. on a bend gul. three
Augustine Briggs, Esq. mayor 1670.
Tho. Carver, alderman, and mayor elect, May 1, 1641, died the
29th of the same month; he holds a glove in his hand.
Ant. Parmenter, Esq. mayor, 1717.
John Norman, mayor 1714.
William Doughty, Gent. founder of Doughty's hospital. 1687.
Mr. King, townclerk and keeper of St. Giles's hospital, with a pen
and ink, and roll of parchment by him.
Lord Chief Justice Coke, holding a death's head.
Sir Joseph Paine, Knt. mayor 1660, æt. 63. 1663.
Sir John Pettus, Knt. mayor 1608. Ao. 1612, Æt. 62. The
arms and crest of Pettus, a death's head by him, and a glove in his
Rob. Yarham, mayor 1591, Ao. Æt. 71. He holds a scull.
Mrs. Anne Rede, widow, wife of Peter Rede, Esq. in a furred
gown, holding a book.
Barnard Church, Esq. mayor 1651, A. D. 1654. æt. 50.
James Hobart, Esq. recorder, in his hat and band, holding a
bundle of papers. He was a benefactor to rebuilding the council
Alan Peircy, priest, another benefactor; Ao. 1549, he holds a
book in one hand, and glove in the other, and is a good picture. (See
Pt. I. p. 208.)
Mr. Serjeant Francis Windham, recorder, Ao. 1592. He holds
a book in one hand and a death's head in the other, with Cogita Mori:
he is in his hat, and an hourglass stands by him. This is a good
There are six pictures more without names, among which are, Augustine Steward, mayor, Francis Moundford, steward, John Marsham,
mayor, and Will. Denny, Esq. steward. But I cannot distinguish
which the several persons are.
In 1635, this hall was near being demolished by the servants of
the deputies for salt-peter, who digged in the vault or cellar under the
council chamber above three feet lower than the foundation, and would
not forbear at the court's request, till three or four of the aldermen
went to the council at London, and made them desist from the saltpeter works.
1660, The cellar at the west end was the Cloth-hall, and the entrance was on the north side; and the free-chamber over the same,
was the sale-hall for foreign wool and yarn; every pack paid 4d. to
the city, and each cloth 2d. (fn. 52)
The uppermost chamber over the Gild-hall, was the old magazine
and armory. (fn. 53)
1547, six brass fawconets made at London by Augustine Styward,
mayor, weighed 29 hundred and 39 pounds; and another small piece
a quarter of a hundred, which cost 46l. paid to John and Rob. Owen,
the King's gunmakers, besides old metal they had of the city; viz. 18
hundred and 14lb. weight. Each gild had a gun belonging to them
kept here. 1 Edward VI. John Marsham, Esq. mayor, bought a gun,
called a robonet, in Flanders. 1657, the canoneer had 10s. per annum
for keeping the fire-engine, 10s. for each anniversary, viz. on the 5th
of November, Coronation, and Restoration, and 40s. of St. George's
In 1443, the vault under the east end of the Gild-hall was new
repaired, and the debtors prison, called le Penteneye or Pountney, and
the passage out of it to the Gild-hall chapel, was made secure; and in
1453, R. Segrym, alderman, was at the expense of dividing it so, as
to make two separate prisons, one for women, and the other for men,
as he had promised John Wilbeye, whose executor he was, to do. In
1597, an order passed, that "the Roomes on the Est End of the
Guyld-hall heretofore used for a Common-Gayle, shall cease to be
used for a Pryson, after 20 Oct. next. And that the Common-Goal
for the County of this Cittie, shall be kept in the house called the
Lamb." where it still continues.
The Sheriffs Office was on the north side of the Gild-hall, till
1625, and was then removed into the old chapel opposite to it, on the
south side, which being decayed, was pulled down, and the present
sheriffs office built on its site.
The chapel called the Gild-hall chapel, was dedicated to St.
Barbara the Virgin, who in those days was esteemed the prisoner's
Saint, for, according to the legend, her father imprisoned her, in an
hyghe and stronge tour, in which he dyde doo kepe, and close this
Barbara, to th' ende that noo man sholde see her." (fn. 54) And therefore
she is always represented with the tower, in which she was imprisoned;
she is commemorated on the 4th of Dec. in the Roman church, by
the name of Barbara the Virgin and Martyr.
The chapel was first founded in Henry the Sixth's time, for the souls
of Alderman Ralf Segryme and Agnes his wife, Ric. Broun and Alice
his wife, and John Wilby, late Alderman, and Maud his wife; who
left money for this purpose: and in the year 1472, by indenture
between the mayor, &c. and the master of St. Giles's hospital, for 200l.
given to the hospital by Ralf Segryme, Ric. Broun, and Ric. Drolle,
late alderman, the hospital covenanted for ever to find a secular chaplain to perform service every Sunday and holy day, in the chapel
aforesaid, for the benefit of the prisoners, who was constantly to pray
for the souls aforesaid, and for the welfare of the city; and the said
hospital was to find the necessary ornaments for the chapel: and from
this time to the present, the chaplain of the city gaol, who officiates
to the prisoners, is paid out of the revenues of the hospital, and the
Rev. Mr. Cory, the present  chaplain, receives the ancient annual stipend of 16l. (fn. 55)
The ornaments of this chapel were, a pair of gilt chalices, and a
paten of 12 ounces weight, a cope of red worsted embroidered with
writings, (or labels,) a sacrying bell, a bell hanging in a frame without
the chapel door, and two large pewter candlesticks standing on the
altar; in 1549, there was a book of Common Prayer, and a new
Bible, of the gift of Sir Robert Dowe, chaplain there, and a surplice;
and in 1626, the old cope, the pax, the crucijix, the masse-book, &c.
were in the Gild-hall, which were burned on a thanksgiving day soon
The altar here was demolished at the Reformation, but was made
new in Queen Mary's time, and in Queen Elizabeth's time it was
used, for books and ornaments were bought for it.
Before the Reformation, every May-day, as soon as the mayor was
elected, a mass of the Holy Ghost was sung here, and the new-elect was
obliged to be present, and every parish clerk in the city was forced to
appear here, on the day of the Translation of St. Nicholas the Bishop,
to join in singing a most solemn mass of St. Nicholas, for which by
composition, they were all excused from serving on juries within the
city; the chaplain received 2s. yearly, for celebrating an annual, for
the soul of Rob. Bungeye, from a tenement late the said Robert's, in
Alderman Robert Pawe, who died in the beginning of Henry the
Eighth's time, had his anniversary kept here every Oct. 3.
There was an old lecturn or reading desk here, which is now in the
Gild-hall, with this on it,
Richard Brasyer for a good Intent this Lectorn gabe,
Whose Soule Cryst Jesu for his Mercy must sane,
Aldirman he was, and Mayor of this Cyte,
Whom now must rowmfort our Lady of Pyte. Amen.
In 1549, the inventory of the goods in the custody of Mr. Mayor
was kept here, among which were, "an hatte of crymsyn velvet for
the sword-bearer. (fn. 56) A sword, the hylts and pomel sylver and dobyll
gylt; another swerd the hylts and pomell guylt, a scaberd of riche
clothe of goold set with perles, with a gret chape of sylver. (fn. 57) A
scaberd of clothe of golde checker'd, with a little chape of sylver
gylt. A scaberd of purpil velvet, another of crymsyn velvet, with
two letters of H. doubyl crowned, and a chape all sylver doubyll
gylt. a mace of arms of sylver and doubyl gylt, wrought upon
crystall and set with stonys. Item anothir lesser mace of sylver
The west side of the market-place was anciently called the Vuere,
Over or Upper-market, and the southern part of it was the linendrapery; behind which was the old barley-market yard, (fn. 58) which had
two entrances to it, one out of Upper-Newport called Barley-marketlane, and another called by the same name, and sometimes Herlewyn's-lane, which led from the butchery; there were also two other
lanes in this row, one called Cosyn's-lane and the other Fishou's or
Elmeswell's-lane, because it led to a large house of John de Elmeswell
in Edward the Third's time, called the Kisthalle.
The White Swan inn over against the steeple, is an ancient inn, and
the play-house for the Norwich company of comedians is in this yard.
The Weavers-lane at the east end of the church, was formerly called
Cobler's-rowe; and the house at the south end of it on the west side,
belonged to Letice Pain's chantry priest.
The midle-rowe between the fish-market on the west, and the market-place on the east, are only stalls built upon: in this rowe was the
ancient morage-house, called also the murage-loft, and toller; underneath it were divers stalls, and over it was a large room, in which
the supervisors of the affairs of the commonalty met every market day,
to collect the tolls and customs of the market, as the market-committee doth at this day in the Gild-hall. (fn. 59)
Four of the houses in this row were built by Robert Jannys, and
settled in 1527, on the city: "Yeerly and holly to be expended,
upon, aboute, and towardys, the charges of a comon cart or carts,
for the carriage awey of the filthy mater comyng of the makyng
clene, fowing, and swepyng of the stretys and cisternys of the city."
(77) A market-cross was first erected here in Edward the Third's
time, and was repaired in Henry the Fourth's time, it had then a little
oratory or chapel, and four shops in it. In Edward the Fourth's time,
it was assigned for the dwelling of the collector of the alms for the
prisoners in the Gild-hall, and the Gild-hall chaplain officiated here
when he pleased, in a morning, to the market people, and had their
offerings as his reward; the whole being in decay, it was pulled down
in 1501, (see Pt. I. p. 181,) and was rebuilt by John Rightwise, then
mayor, at his own expense in part, and with the benefactions of divers
legacies and gifts for that purpose. (fn. 60) It was a neat octagonal building, with steps round it, and an oratory or chapel in it, with a chamber
over it, and must look very grand, before the leads, and pillars to support them, were added round it. At the Dissolution, the chapel was
turned into a store-house; 1st Edward VI. the crucifixes that stood at
each corner were taken down by order of the King's visitors. The
common sealed measures of the city used to be kept here, and in
1574, it was ordered, "that the chappell that is in the crosse shall
be yearly lett to the masters, searchers, and sealers of leather;" and the
wardens of the cordwainers were to seal no leather but there; and
so it continued till they were removed into the Gild-hall. In 1646,
the whole city was taxed to repair the cross, every one paying according to the proportion they paid to the poor; it was then new
paved, &c. In 1664, it was appointed for the court of guard, and in
1672, was much beautified and adorned. In 1732, it was sold and
pulled down, and the site of it paved over. There are two plates of
it now extant, a very good one published by Mr. Timothy Sheldrake,
and an ordinary one by Tho. Hildyard, engraver.
Against the east end of the Gild-hall, in the market-place, was a
common well, and in 1404, a new pillory was erected by it, with a
cage under it, which was covered with lead, and a vane placed on
the crucifix, which was on the top; in 1453, Alderman Tho. Alleyn
gave 50 marks to rebuild the pillory, (fn. 61) and make a house under it
for to buy and sell corn in, and Thomas Veyle then rebuilt, painted,
and adorned the common well-house. 3d Edward VI. part of the
house was turned into a cage, with stocks therein; the whole was sixsquare, each side nine feet long, and was now paved with the stone
pulled down and brought from Chapel-field steeple; in 1679, the well
was new railed in, but now, the whole is demolished and paved over.
The street called Bedlam-street, was anciently called Over or Upper
Newport, because it leads to the New-port, or St. Giles's-gate, and the
most east part of it was the ropery, where the cord and rope makers
anciently dwelt. On the north side of this street, is the White-Horseinn, which formerly belonged to the church-wardens, to find a light
burning before the sacrament, but was seized from the parish at the
Dissolution; and the house now the Wheat-sheaf, which was on the
east side of Barley-market-lane, was settled on Cosyn's chantry priest.
The most eastern tenement but one on the south side, is called the
Stone-hall, and was settled by Lettice Pain on her chantry priest. (See
p. 163,) on the west side of this house, was the ancient passage or lane
called Old Ladies-lane, now enclosed, which led directly to the
churchyard of the collegiate church or chapel of our Lady in the
Fields; but in 1383, it was put by, and New-Ladies-lane laid out in
its stead: more west, on the same side of the way, is the site of the
committee-house, (fn. 62) (see Pt. I. p. 395,) on part of which, is built.
(78) Bethell or Bedlam,
Which was founded by Mary, third daughter of John Man, Esq.
she was born March 24, 1647, and was married to the Rev. Mr. Sam.
Chapman, rector of Thorp by Norwich, May 10, 1682. In 1713, she
built bethel in this parish, "for the convenient reception and habitation of lunaticks, and not for natural-born fools or ideots,"
according to the desire and advice of her late husband; who had a
charity of this nature much in his thoughts; and therefore by will dated
Dec. 4, 1717, she settled all her estates in Norfolk and Norwich on
trustees, giving to them, and the majority of them, the sole power and
management of the house; ordering them to choose, and place or
displace, the master, (who is to dwell therein, and take care of the
lunaticks) and to appoint physicians, apothecaries, &c. as the majority
think fit: those only who are destitute of friends or relations, to be
kept here gratis, as the following clause of her will shows: "Whereas it
hath pleased Almighty God, to visit and afflict some of my nearest
relations and kindred with lunacy, but hath hitherto blessed me
with the use of my reason and understanding; as a monument of
my thankfullness unto God, for this invaluable mercy, and out of a
deep sense of his divine goodness, and undeserved love to me, vouchsafed, and in compassion to the deplorable state of such persons, as
are deprived of the exercise of their reason and understanding, and
are destitute of relations or friends to take care of them, I do
hereby settle bethel for that purpose;" and according as the
will directs, there are as many poor destitute lunaticks kept here
gratis, as the revenues will afford; the city of Norwich being always
to be preferred; and when the trustees can maintain more than are in
the city, they may be sent from any parish in the county, "or elsewhere," but the physician of the house must first certify them to be
proper objects, and the master must have an appointment under the
hands of a majority of the seven trustees, before any one can be admitted. The benefit of this charity is not limited to any place or
county; and the trustees have power to fix any weekly sum to be
paid them, by the friends or parishes the lunaticks belong to; and
the usual allowance paid at this time is, 3s. a week for any person put
in by a parish, and 4s. 6d. for any one that hath friends to pay it.
She lies buried by her husband in Thorp chancel, under a marble thus
Under this Stone, resteth in Hope of a joyfull Resurrection,
the Body of that exemplary, pious, and charitable Widow, Mrs.
Mary Chapman, Daughter of John Man Esq. some time Mayor
of Norwich, and High-Sheriff of Norfolk, and Relict of the Rev.
Mr. Samuel Chapman formerly Rector of this Church. She
built wholly at her own Expense, the House in Norwich called
BETHEL, for the Reception, Maintenance, and Cure of poor
Lunaticks; to which, and other charitable Uses, she gave all her.
Income while she lived, and her Estate at her Death, which happened on the 8th of January 1724, and of her Age 77.
This that this Women hath done,
Shall be told for a Memorial of her.
Math. 26, & 12th Verse.
Since the foundation, it hath had the following benefactors.
1717, Mr. Thomas Hall gave 200l. 1720, Mrs. Susanna Cook 100l.
1721, Mrs. Margaret wife of John Hall of Norwich, Esq. 100l. 1729,
Mr. Timothy Ganning 20l. 1732, Mr. John Lougher, 100l. Mr. John
Thompson 50l. 1732, Mrs. Mary Crome 200l. Mr. William Houghton
50l but the trustees, after a suit, received only 25l. 15s. 8d. 1735, Dr.
Thomas Tanner, late Bishop of St. Asaph, (fn. 63) 20l.
The present Trustees are,
Sir Ben. Wrench, Knt. who is also appointed physician; Tho. Vere,
Rob. Marsh, Will. Clarke, Philip Meadows, and Edward King, Esqrs.
and Mr. Samuel Crome, merchant; five of which are justices of peace
for the city, but act in their private capacities as to this charity, the
foundress leaving this clause in her will,
"It being my express mind and will, that this charity shall never
come into the hands of the court of majoralty, nor any of them,
acting as publick society, shall be any way concerned in the execution of this trust."
Each trustee is to have 20s. per annum, and lay out 5l. yearly, for
shirts, shifts, and clothing, for the poor lunaticks. There are estates
in Potter-Heigham, &c. settled on the trustees, besides money.
The first master, appointed by Mrs. Chapman herself, was,
Mr. Henry Harleston, who was succeeded by Robert Waller, who
was displaced by the trustees, and Mr. Edward Page, the present
 master, was appointed by them.
The trustees fix the master's salary, which besides his dwelling rent
free, and two chaldrons of coals allowed annually, is 40l. per annum,
10l. of it being added to the salary, in lieu of the money given by
people that visit this house; which is now put into a box, the keys of
which are in the trustees hands, who apply it to the increase of this
She ordered the word Bethel to be fixed over the door of the
entrance in the front, and under it a text of Scripture, viz. Heb. xiii.
16, and another table to be kept in the house of the following texts,
Jer. ix. 13. Cor. iv. 7. Ecclesiastes vii. 7. Sam. ii. 3.
When any trustee dies, or removes out of the city, so that on summons he doth not attend, he is to be displaced; and in such cases,
the remaining trustees are obliged in three months to choose another
in his room, and certify such choice to the new trustee, under the hands
of the majority of them.
On a stone in the wall by the entrance is this,
This House was built for the benefit of distressed Lunaticks Ano
Dom 1713, and is not to be alienated or employed to any other
Use or Purpose whatsoever. Tis also requir'd that the Master,
who shall be chosen from Time to Time, be a Man that lives in
the Fear of God, and sets up the Protestant Religion in his Family, and will have a due Regard, as well to the Souls, as
Bodies, of those that are under his care.
Will. Hobart, Gent. his younger
brother, was condemned on account of
the design for restoring the King, Dec.
30, at Norwich, and was executed at the
market-cross there, for loyalty to his
King; though some say at Dearhammarket, (see Pt. I. p. 400,) unless two
of that name suffered in the time of the
The tenants of the dutchy of Lancaster were always toll free in the city,
according to their charter entered in the
Custom-Book, fo. 7.