In which are the following parishes, viz.
(111) St. Edmund the King and Martyr of Fisher-Gate,
Which was founded about the Conqueror's time, and was so called because the fishermen dwelt chiefly in this part; the watering at the southwest corner of the churchyard being the ancient Water-gate or stathe,
where they landed their fish. The steeple here is square, and hath
five bells, the nave, south isle, chancel, north vestry and porch, are
In the chancel:
Cory's arms and crest, an eagle issuant out of a coronet.
[Oi Nekroi Anastisontai],
Beatam hanc '[Anastasin] expectans, hic sita est Sarah, conjux
Viri Reverendi Roberti Cory, A. M. dilectissima, et Filia Natû
maxima Reverendi Johannis Cory in Agro Cantab. de LandBeach vigilantissimi Rectoris, Mater erat septem Liberorum,
Quorum pars maxima, communi hoc Sepulchro fruuntur, Tribus
qui supersunt propitietur Deus; obijt tertio Decembris A°. D.
1731, Ætat. 41mo.
John Son of Joseph Cory, married Jane Dr. of Benjamin Berwick Clerk, died without Issue June 11, 1715, Æt. 27. Mr.
Rob. Cory May 29, 1677, 60. Susan his Wife 1684, 69. Tho.
their Son 1702, 60. Joseph their 4th. Son 1703, 64.
At the east end of the south isle, is a chapel of the Blessed Virgin,
which was built in 1463, by Alderman Robert Furbisher, who lies buried under the stone robbed of its brasses there; he founded a secular
chaplain, to sing for him eight years here, and in 1466, Margaret his
widow was buried by him.
Here are stones for, Ben. Clark 1722, 52.
Sleepe on in Silence, never more to wake,
'Till Christ doth raise thee, and to Glory take.
Nic. Coppin Senior 1724. Susan Dr. of Edward and Johanna
Coppin 1674. Jane Coppin, wife of Nic. the Elder, 1698. Edw.
son of Edw. Coppin 1670. Alex. Harrison 1643. Tho. Thrower
1681, Eliz. his wife 1701. Muryell Dr. of Ellis Braham of Trowse
Newton, and Frances his wife, 1706.
On a mural monument,
Mors, vitæ Reparatio est.
Hanc Reparationem Fide certissimâ lætus expectat, qui hic
Reconditur Josephus Burton Civis et Senator, Teque Lectorem, quicunque sis, admonet, ut sis omnibus horis paratus, hâc
beatissimæ Vitæ Reparatione frui cum Gaudio, obijt III Idûs
Februarij A° Ætat. xlvj°. Æræ Xianæ MDCCIIXX°. Josephus
Burton Filius natû maximus, hoc Monumentum Pietatis & Amoris ergo posuit.
On a black marble under the monument,
Joseph Burton Alderman 1719. Tubbing Burton Filius natû
minimus Josephi Burton Aldermanni & Marie Uxoris, placidè in
Domino obdormivit ix Kalendas Decembris A°. Dni. 1720, Æt.
In the windows are the arms of St. Edmund, and Clere, impaling
arg. a cross moline gul. Crest, a plume of feathers in a coronet or.
On a brass in the chancel.
Pray for the Soule of Anne Haste, the which deperted in the
Yer of our Lorde God Mo.vorriii, on whose Soule Jesu have
Another hath the emblem of the sacrament, and this imperfect
Mari Capellani qui obiit iio 1505, cuius anime pro-
Here are stones in the nave for, John Barnes 1718, 46. Martha
wife of Charles Malteby 1729, 32, and two of their children. Martha
their Dr. 1725, 2.
In the porch, Augustine Sotherton 1707, 70.
In the south isle, is a stone for Anne, wife of Will. Nocath, 1684,
and the following Lines under a brass effigies,
Hic Smyth Collecta (fn. 1) iacet en cognomine dicta
In tumulo clausa, similis tellure relicta,
Hac fuit in Uita stabilis, pia femina, iusta,
Hic quia dum virit, semper Christum benedirit,
Fili Christe Dei, te quesumus, O miserere,
Jstius ac anime, propicieris ei.—Amen.
Que obiit viio die Julii Ao D. Mo.ccccolrrrrvo.
Among the relicks kept in this church, the most famous one, was a
piece of the shirt of St. Edmund the Martyr, which was preserved in
a box of chrystal, and was visited in those days, with great reverence;
but what became of it, when those superstitious follies ceased, I do
On the roof in the midst of the nave, are the arms of Norwich city,
St. George, and St. Edmund, adorned on all sides with roses and lilies,
S. Edmundus, Flos Martirum, velut Rosa, vel Lilium
St. Edmund, Flower of Martirs, still endures,
As Rose, or Lillies, chief among the Flowers.
1459, Alice Aylmer, wife of John Penning, alderman, was buried in
the church; 1502, Alderman John Warren; 1505, Edm. Moore Gent. in
the chancel; 1517, Alice wife of Nic. Kebyt, and gave a legacy to our
Lady, "the second advoyer of this church." At the Dissolution there
were a pair of silver censers a pair of gilt silver chalices, a paten, a
gilt silver ship, and a gilt silver pax.
In 1676, the tower was repaired with money raised by a petition. (fn. 2)
There were lights formerly kept here, before the holy cross on the rood
loft, and the images of our Lady, St. Edmund, St. Catherine, St. James,
and St. John Baptist.
This rectory is said in Domesday Book, to pay 3d. per annum synodals, and to be then valued at 20s. and was not taxed. It is valued in
the King's Books at 4l. 6s. 3d. and is sworn of the clear yearly value,
of 14l. 10s. 2d. ob. and is discharged of first fruits and tenths. it is
augmented with an estate of 20l. per annum in Stratton St. Mary, purchased of John Howes, Esq. The annual voluntary contribution is
about 10l. and there is a piece of glebe let at 30s. lying in the farm
called the Half-way-House to Catton; and another piece let at 20s.
to the widow Gibbs, lying on the west side of Rotten-rowe, which is
opposite to the churchyard.
1300, Henry de Hecham. James Knot, patron.
1310, Roger de Swathing, presented by Rog. de Upton and Emma
his wife, John le Claver and Mary his wife.
1322, John de Trunch, chaplain, John Claver, patron.
1332, Roger Goldsmith. John le Claver of Plumstede; he gave
his house on the west side of the churchyard, for a parsonage, (fn. 3) and in
1337, Agnes his wife released it, and a license in mortmain passed to
settle it for that purpose.
1359, Will. son of John at Church of Blofield; he was buried in the
middle of the chancel; his stone is now spoiled of its brasses, but the
impression of a cup and wafer still remains on it; he gave lands in
Hellesden to be sold, to pave the chancel, and build the vestiary on the
north side of it; he was presented by William son of Rob. Clere of
Ormesby; and the six following rectors were presented by Dionise his
1390, John, son of John at Moor.
1394, John Hunt.
1395, John Heyward.
Tho. Frenge, resigned.
1414, John Cory, who changed for Spixworth the same year, with
1417, Henry Bovy or Bony, buried in the chancel by St. Edmund's
image, on the north side, and gave a red velvet vestment.
1467, John Moor; he was buried in the south chapel, before the
Virgin's image, and left legacies to lead the chancel, and adorn the
low altars. Isabell, relict of Rob. Clere, Esq.
1507, Jeffry Lesingham; he died rector. Sir Robert Clere,
1508, Will. Hunt, buried in the chancel; he and the two following
rectors were presented by Sir Robert.
1525, Robert Fosdyke.
Rob. Payntor, resigned.
1530, Rob. Hoore, resigned. Alice, relict of Sir Rob Clere, who
in 1533, presented
John Fisher, who resigned, and in
1537, Tho. Hall.
1582, Henry Bird, A. M. buried Feb. 17.
1584, William Greenaway, he was buried 13 Oct. 1595. The Crown
1595, Robert Withers, died rector. Sir Edward Clere, Knt. who
in 1597, presented
Henry Lynney, and on his death in
1601, John Fernby, who was buried June 4, 1633; and Elizabeth
Clere Sir Edward's widow, presented
Tho. Allen, and in
1638, Richard Irland; whose stone in the chancel hath this inscription, and arms of three de-lises, 2, 1, and a chief erm.
Richardus Irland A. M. hujus Ecclesiæ quondam Rector,
obijt decimo die Mensis Sept. A. D. 1690. Æt. suæ currente
1673, Tho Bloome, died. Henry Pinkney, patron, who in
1681, presented Joseph Ellis.
1712, John Reddington, presented by Will. Cecil, clerk, resigned.
1737, 28 Oct. The Rev. Rob. Cory, A. M. the present  rector, was presented by George Hainsworth, patron for this turn;
he holds it united to the vicarage of Hackford cum Whitwell in Norfolk, and is now perpetual patron of this rectory.
The religious concerned here were, the Abbots of Holm and Waltham, the Prior of Hickling and the Prioress of Carhow.
On the door of the corner house at the turn of St. Edmund's-street
into St. James's, are the arms of Paston carved in wood, and Paston
impaling a chevron. This was the dwelling of Agnes Paston, widow.
(112) The Children's Hospital now called, the Boys Hospital,
Is situate in the parish of St. Edmund of Fishergate, a little east of
that parish church, on the opposite side of the street; its rise and original is owing to the charitable disposition of Thomas Anguish;
descended from an ancient family of that name at Walsingham in Norfolk, (fn. 4) he was mayor of this city in 1611; and by his will, bearing
date the 22d of June, 1617, he bequeathed to the mayor, sheriffs, citizens, and commonalty, of the city of Norwich, the east part of that estate, houses, yards, and grounds, which he purchased of Anthony, son
and heir, of Anthony Style, deceased, rented at 14l. per annum joining
to the west part of the same estate which he gave to Will. Anguish,
his youngest son, with condition that his sons should enjoy the said east
part 10 years after his death, and that then the corporation should enter upon it, and lease it out, though not for above 7 or 10 years, and
they to receive the profits, &c. "Untill it shall please God to putt in
the Harte of some able & Godlye minded Men, or by the General
Charge of the Citty, which hathe byn from Tyme to Tyme for many
Years wished & desired, to erect, set up, and found an Hospital,
or Conveniente place for the Keepinge, bringinge up, & teachinge
of Younge & very poore Children, borne & brought up in this City
of Norwich, & specially suche as for wante, lye in the Streetes,
Vaughtes, Doores, & Windowes, whereby many of them fall into
great and grevious diseases and Lamenesses, as that they are fitt for
no Profession, ever after; whereby in Compassion and great Pitye, in
a good Conscience, although I doe acknowledge my Self the weakest among many other in Abilitye, having many Children my self,
or in Wisdom, to direct for the Keeping and bringing up of poor
Children, notwithstanding as a beginning to my small Power, I
have given this said House & Ground, being large, spacious, & new
built, and many Rooms therein, [that it may] be employ'd for the
placeing of a Master & Dame, or other Teachers, to bring up
Children, that be very poore, & have not Friends to helpe them,
from the age of 5, 6, or 7 Years, untill they shall atteyne to 14, or
15 Years, & so be taught in the meane time according to their Disposition, as they may be fittinge for Service, or able to Mainteyne
themselves by their work."
He says in his opinion (having viewed the house) there are convenient chambers for lodging the boys by themselves, and the girls by
themselves; that there may be 40 beds at least, besides low rooms for
a master, dame, and servants, and for the children to work in. All which
he leaves in the disposition of the corporation, and if they can find and
purchase a better house for the purpose in 10 years after his death, then
the clear annual profits to go towards the keeping of such poor children in that house for ever. But before the end of the 10 years, the sons
of the said Tho. Anguish, of their pious disposition released it to the city,
for the use their father had settled it; upon which, viz. 1618, it began
to be fitted up, and applied to that use by the corporation, for
Emmanuel Garret of Norwich, goldsmith, by will dated 18 Jan. in
that year, gave 100l. towards the education and bringing up poor children in the houses of St. Edmund, according to the religious mind and
purpose of Mr. Tho. Anguish. (fn. 5) And in 1620, there were rules and
ordinances made for the Children's Hospital; in which it was ordered,
that all the rooms on the east part of the house should be fitted up for
orphans, (fn. 6) that 10 boys and 2 girls shall be admitted by the mayor and
court of aldermen, who may displace them at their pleasure; the parish or ward whence they are chosen, to furnish them with 2 suits of
apparel, linen and woollen; and eight beds were bought for the children with the 10 pounds given by Mr. Hammond Thurston, deceased,
for that purpose. (fn. 7) 30l. per annum for their maintenance, was allotted
out of Barnham-Broome estate, and 40l. per annum ordered to be purchased with the money in Terri's chest, and with the 100l. given by
Mr. Fawcet, (fn. 8) the 100l. given by Mr. Emanuel Garret, or Garrard,
goldsmith, (fn. 9) and 20l. by Mr. Alderman Pettus.
And then they chose a master, and dame or mistress, to keep them
at work; and also a master to teach them to read English, who was
to bestow 2 hours every working day on that business, and have for it
10l. per annum; the master and dame to have their dwelling and 40l.
per annum, (paid quarterly towards their diet, &c.) and the benefit of
Eight governours of the house were also chosen, 4 aldermen and 4
commoners, and the oldest chosen alderman and commoner shall be
yearly removed, and new ones chosen in their places, at the assembly
held on the 3d of May; and in 1620, 13 Dec. Christopher Giles was
appointed keeper of the children, he being thought an able man, and
honest, and fit to be trusted, and able to manage the work of the
In 1621, 13s. 4d. per annum was settled for catechizing the children.
In 1622, 4 Sept. Mr. John Anguish offered to settle his estate in
Honing for 200l. one hundred pounds whereof, he would give to the
Children's hospital, &c. on condition that so long as he, or his wife, or
any of his name, shall be living in Norwich, they shall be permitted to
name one child, born and dwelling in the city, to be kept in the
In 1623, John Auguish, Gent. Alderman Alexander, Edmund, Thomas, and Will. Anguish, Gentlemen, sons of Mr. Tho. Anguish, the
founder, not only released the term they had in their houses, but
the said Mr. John and Edmund Anguish, with John Ward, Gent. late
sheriff, settled on the city, the lazar-house and grounds thereto belonging, at St. Stephen's-gates, on condition, that yearly for ever, on the
Feast of the Epiphany, (see Pt. I. p. 444,) there shall be a sermon
in the afternoon in the church of St. Edmund, by a licensed preacher
chosen by the mayor, and that the mayor, sheriffs, citizens, and commonalty, shall yearly pay 26s. 8d. (fn. 10) viz. to the preacher 6s. 8d.; to
the poor of the parish 3s. 4d.; to the mayor 20d. to four justices 2s.;
to the sheriffs 12d.; to the chamberlain 6d.; to six commoners 2s.;
to the under sheriff 4d.; to the mayor's two officers 12d,; to the minister of the parish 12d.; and to the clerk of the parish 18d.; and all
persons aforenamed that are absent, forfeit their money, which is to
be put into the mayor's hamper, for the poor of the city; and then the
names, gifts, and bequests of all the benefactors, are to be read in the
church, out of a book which shall be kept for that purpose, to preserve
their memories to all posterity. (fn. 11)
1624, 6 of Oct. Mr. John Dethick, who married the widow and
executrix of Mr. Tho. Anguish, the founder, paid 20l. given by Mr.
Alderman Tho. Anguish, the founder's son.
1626, Thomas Tesmond of Norwich, Gent. gave 69 acres in Bixley to
the corporation, on condition they pay yearly to the preachers of God's
word, which shall preach at the common place in Norwich, (fn. 12) on the
days observed for the memory of Kett's camp, Gowrie's conspiracy, the
powder treason, and the coronation day, 20s. to each preacher, 5s. immediately at the end of their sermon, and the rest to the children's
hospital. (fn. 13)
1628, Mr. Andrew Martin, baker, gave 5l.
King Charles the First by charter dated at Westminster the 28th
day of November, in the 4th year of his reign, did establish and found
this hospital, by the name of, The Children's Hospital in the City
of Norwich of the Foundation of King Charles; and licensed the
corporation to hold all lands and tenements already given them, and
to purchase more, of what tenure so ever, so the new purchases do not
exceed 300l. per annum, and to hold them in mortmain; authorising
the Corporation to make rules for the well-governing of the hospital,
and to alter them at their pleasure, and also to admit all the children and officers, and add, increase, or diminish the number at their
1629, 6 Febr. Thomas Herring of Heigham, Esq. gave 100l. to purchase lands, and a silver voider weighing above 80 ounces, for the use
of the mayors in their houses.
1630, An estate was purchased in Alburgh and Redenhall, of Lany
Rowse, Gent. for 525l. 300l. of which money was given to charitable
uses, by Mr. Nic. Reeve, citizen and scrivener of London, and conferred
upon the city for this use, by Mr. Sheriff Tooley; and 225l. was paid
by him in Nov. of the gift of Mrs. Merable Bennett of London; for
he had a writing under the common seal, testifying the pious disposition of those two persons.
1631, 15 June, the mayor, justices, and aldermen, assembled and
made choice of surveyors of the children's hospital, according to the
charter, viz, the mayor for the time being, and four aldermen.
1631, Tho. Gooch, M. D. of Hellesden, gave 100l. and another 100l.
after the death of Mary his wife.
This year Mr. Will. Anguish gave 100l. and John Anguish promised
1632, 30 June, the orders for the hospital were made, by which the
master was to have for the diet of each child 4l. 6s. 8d. paid quarterly
by the treasurer, one quarter's allowance being always to be in the
master's hands beforehand.
No child is to be admitted above ten, nor stay above fifteen, and at
their admission must produce a testimony of their age from the minister of the parish. The schoolmaster henceforward is to learn them to
write. All the boys to be at the cathedral sermon in the morning, their
master accompanying them, who shall have 12d. a quarter for so doing; they are to be in their coats and caps, and to attend upon the
sword; when ever warning is given them, all of them are to attend
the funeral of any benefactor, in their habits, and to go before the
corps in a decent manner, singing a psalm, and each boy is to have a
penny loaf, and their master 12d.; they shall perform the like service
for the friend of any other person, if desired, but then they shall pay
for every boy 6d. to the treasurer, and as before, to the master and
boys. The master shall keep a book of the admission, death, and departure of every child. The master is to be obliged by the corporation
to obey the orders of the house; and when he dies, his executors or
administrators shall keep the children, till the quarter after his death;
and the 1st of August, the master is to be allowed for his firing 7
chaldrons of coals.
1633, Mrs. Prudence Blosse, widow, gave 100l. (See Pt. I. p. 377.)
1635, Rob. Smith, junior, of Trowse Milgate, grocer, gave 100l. for
a boy from Trowse Milgate in Norwich, to be in the hospital; and if
there be not one, then he is to be chosen from the county side of
Trowse; and Lydia his widow, in 1637, gave 100l. (fn. 14)
1636, Lands were purchased of Stephen Upcroft; and Tho. Smallpece,
Esq. paid 100l. given by Francis Smallpece, alderman, to purchase
1637, A close without St. Giles's-gates was given by Tobias de Hem.
1637, The treasurer to pay the master of the hospital for the church
rates, and paving the street.
1639, 40l. per annum purchased of Mr. Debney, being a house and
lands in Trowse, cost 720l.
1639, Alderman Rob. Debney gave 10l. and Mr. John Tooley,
mayor, gave a house in St. Laurence.
And Mr. Robert Crask, who was mayor in 1623, gave his houses in
St. Martin at the Oak, provided they add two children more to be chosen out of South-Conisford ward, and that they be such as are chargeable to the inhabitants, and without father and mother, they being
either dead or run away; and if there be no such, then the poorest
that can be found, without partiality, in the said ward; and when 14
years old, they shall be bound apprentice, at the charge of the City;
and this ward to have a child in the hospital as usual, before his gift;
and if there be not a third child out of the ward for two years together,
his gift to revert to his heir at law; and those two of his gift must be
born in the city or suburbs.
1641, John Gilbert gave by will 100l. and John Tuck, his executor,
paid it, and admitted two children of All-Saints parish, according to
Mrs. Anne Craske, widow, gave 40l.
1645, Mr. Augustine Blomefield, late of Norwich, merchant,
gave his houses, lands, and a malt-house in East Dearham, for to add
as many children as the yearly rents will maintain.
1647, 120l. given by Mr. Nic. Pipe, and lands in Catton and Cringleford.
1650, Alexander Peckover, late sheriff, gave 50l.
1662, Lands and tenements purchased of Mrs. Ann Southouse, for
1663 Mr. Robert Holmes, late alderman, gave 50l. 1669, Henry
Watts, Esq. deceased, gave 25l. 1672, Nat. Cock of London, merchant, gave 100l. 1673, Mr. Francis Aylmer gave 30l. 1675, 4
closes of 13 acres without Berstreet-gates were purchased of Bernard
Church, Esq. for 338l. with the legacies given by Mr. Vaughan and
Mr. Nat. Cock; (fn. 15) Mr. Vaughan's gift is for a boy from Saxthorp in
Norfolk; when his apprenticeship is out, he is to have 10l. paid him
to begin the world with.
1675, Will. Barnham, alderman, (fn. 16) gave divers lands and tenements in the close of the cathedral, and an estate in Shipdham, to the
boys hospital, provided a boy of Thetford be always kept in the hospital, and 4l. of money be yearly paid to the town of Thetford, to bind
out, or clothe poor children there.
1676, Mr. Nicholas Newham gave 50l. and 50l. at his death.
1681, received 20l. of the commissioners, for Dereham fire, towards
the loss of a house belonging to the hospital, being the 8th part of
what it was valued at.
1681, Mrs. Blackborn of Windham, widow, gave 100l. 1684, it
was agreed to buy the boys books. 1684, 24 Sept. on Wednesday next
a boy to be put into the boys, and a girl into the girls hospital, out of
the benefaction of Augustine Briggs, Esq. (fn. 17) at the recommendation of
Aug. Briggs, his son, but this to be no precedent.
1685, Henry Crowe, merchant, gave 50l. (fn. 18) 1686, A boy from AllSaints parish, according to the will of Mr. Rob. Rosse. (fn. 19)
1695, The book of the names of the benefactors ordered to be left
with the master, to be read yearly at the founder's commemoration.
1701, the church-wardens and overseers of St. Bennet's parish nominated a boy to the hospital, and there is paid 6l. per annum for his
maintenance, on All-Saints day, according to the will of Michael Smith,
deceased. (See p. 251.)
1701, Nic. Bikerdike late mayor, added a boy of his gift.
1704, John Gostlin, heir to Dr. Gostlin, master of Caius college,
Cambridge, gave 50l.
1704, an estate at Little Melton, purchased for 335l. 300l. of which
was given to the boys and girls hospitals, by Alderman Tho. Wisse, and
was half settled on each.
1705, Alderman Bernard Church, (see p. 141, and Pt. I. p.
421,) gave to the two hospitals aforesaid, for their better maintenance,
50s. per annum, and the court settled it to be spent on the children
above their ordinary allowance, on the 15th January, Lady day, Midsummer Day, and Michaelmas day, viz. two shoulders of mutton, 3s.
6d.; plumbs for puddings, 1s. 8d.; other materials for the puddings,
1s. 4d.; two doz. two-penny cakes, 4s.; strong beer, 2s. twelve shillings
and sixpence each day.
1706, John Bristow gave 5l. Alderman Bene 50l.
Nat. Remington, Esq. gave 20l. Mr. John Filkin of Yarmouth 50l.
Thomas Blofield, Esq. 100l. Alderman Laurence Goodwin 50l. James
Demee, Gent. 20l. Mr. John Thompson, fishmonger, 5l. John Braythwait, hosier, 50l. Alderman Augustine Scottowe 25l. Alderman
Mat. Peckover 20l. Mr. Daniel Martin, worstead weaver, 10l. Mr.
Francis Fen 20l. Mrs. Susan Mingay 20l. Ric. Harman, Esq. 20l.
Mr. Joseph Loveland, prebend, (fn. 20) 100l. Mr. John Brabant 100l. Mr.
Scottow of London 50l.
1742, Alderman John Harvey, late treasurer, gave 30l.
The revenues of this hospital, from the foundation to the present
time, have been so justly managed, that as they increased, there were
added children in proportion; so that from 14 only, this hath now no
less than thirty and six poor boys, who are decently clothed in blue
coats and red caps, and well maintained with meat, drink, washing,
and lodging, in the hospital, during their continuance there; and not
only so, but are taught to write and read, and then are bound out apprentices to trades, by which means this charity is made as useful and
beneficial as it can be.
ANNUAL REVENUES OF THIS HOSPITAL IN 1742.
|Alderman Barnham's gift.||William Rolf, Gent. for his house in the Close,
|A year's rent from Moore, late Banks||9||0||0|
|A year's rent of a house and ground in Shipdam||20||0||0|
|Tenements in St. Martin at Oak given by Mr. Craske||7||0||0|
|A tenement in St. Laurence given by Alderman Tooley||8||0||0|
|A messuage and lands in Cringleford given by Mr. Richard
Bond, and paid for by Mr. Pipe, his executor||30||0||0|
|A messuage and ground in Shipdam, purchased by Agnes
Wisse, and two pieces purchased by John Banks||23||0||0|
|Lands in Bixley, Trowse, &c. part given by Mr. Tesmond,
and part purchased of Mr. Debney||54||0||0|
|A year's gift of Justice Church||2||10||0|
|A year's rent from Tho. Barnard, late Moor, for the manor
of Buxton-burgh, with the lands there, which were purchased by Aug. Sotherton||44||0||0|
|Of Michael Smith, paid by Will. Miles Baker, in St. John'
Sepulchre where the estate lies, for maintaining a boy in
the hospital out of St. Bennet's parish||6||0||0|
|Of Richard Prat, for Pedder's acre||2||0||0|
|A year's rent from Hurne||12||0||0|
|Ditto from widow Simons||3||0||0|
|Ditto from Sam. Gurling||5||0||0|
|A farm in Aldburgh purchased in 1630||62||0||0|
|Lands in Swanton Morley||28||0||0|
|A malt-house and lands in East Dearham, given by Mr.
|Lands in Catton given by Mr. Pipe,||9||0||0|
|A messuage and Lands in Swerdeston, given in 1684, by
Augustine Briggs, Esq. one half to the boys, and the
other to the girls hospital||19||0||0|
|A farm in little Melton, purchased by Tho. Wisse, Esq.
one moiety to the girls hospital, after taxes and repairs
|A house in St. Clement's given by Justice Wood||5||10||0|
|Lands in Lakenham purchased in 1675, with Mr. Vaughan's
and Cock's gifts||24||0||0|
|Irland's and Blofield's (fn. 21) gifts, to be paid yearly by the chamberlain||12||6||8|
|A close in little Melton||3||0||0|
|Lands in Hellesden, bought by John Black, Esq. of Mr.
Norris, (fn. 22) to be given to boys after apprenticeship expired.||6||0||0|
|Total of annual Rents and Gifts||448||16||8|
The house late Edward Burrough's is empty, and so is not included
in the annual rents.
Certain annual Payments, besides Taxes, Repairs, clothing the Children, and finding all Necessaries for the Hospital, paid by the
|The Master's salary for finding 36 boys with meat, drink,
and washing, every quarter day, 36l. or 4l. a boy for
the whole year, and 4l. 6s. 6d. a quarter, for teaching
them all to write and read, the whole being, per
|Allowed for nursing the boys, &c.||8||3||0||0|
|Mr. Edward Molden's salary as Bailiff to the hospital||6||0||0||0|
|Mr. Tho. Johnson's salary as Apothecary,||6||0||0||0|
|The Rev. Mr. Cory, rector of St. Edmund's, per annum
for catechising the boys,||1||0||0||0|
|To Catton poor, of Mr. Warnes's gift, per annum,||0||10||0||0|
|His gift to St. Michael at Plea, per annum,||0||10||0||0|
|His gift to Beeston, per annum,||0||5||0||0|
|His gift to St. Martin at the Oak, per annum,||0||10||0||0|
|His gift to Denton, per annum,||1||0||0||0|
|Paid Alderman Waller, Treasurer of the Old-men's
hospital, one 3d part of Bixley farm,||18||0||0||0|
|Paid quitrent to Hetherset manor,||0||9||10||0|
|Mr. Bardewel's quitrent,||0||10||4||0|
|Quitrent to Caston-hall,||0||17||6||ob.|
|Paid Mr. Norris's annual benefaction to young traders
out of the hospital,||4||8||6||0|
|Cakes and ale to the boys at Easter, by custom,||0||10||6||0|
|Water rent for Hoghill estate, 5s. Hospital 12s.||0||17||0||0|
|Quitrent for Cringleford,||1||0||9||3|
|Paid Peter Paul one year's payment||3||0||0||0|
|Paid for setting the boys stools at the cathedral for one
|This year 5 apprentices were bound out and clothed.|
|Certain annual Payments||214||12||6||q.|
The present  treasurer is Rob. Harvey, Esq. and the master
is Mr. Robert Smith,
St. James's parish joins to the east part of St. Edmund's, and all
the space on the east side of the street, leading from White-friars-bridge,
to St. James's church, and from thence to the gates called Pockthorpgates, and from thence by the lane leading under the city walls to the
river, and all along the river's side to the aforesaid bridge, was the site
(113) Carmelites, or White-Friars,
Which received their names from St. Mary of Mount Carmel, the
place of their first residence, and from the colour of their habit; they
pretended to great antiquity; but the first we know of them, as to any
certainty, is about 1238, when they were driven from Mount Carmel
in Palestine, by the cruelty of the Saracens; their rule, which is that
of St. Basil, was given them by Albert, Patriarch of Jerusalem, about
1205. They were confirmed by Pope Honorius III. in 1224, and
were first brought into England in 1240, and held their first European
chapter in 1245.
This priory, notwithstanding what is said of it by the authors of
the Atlas, p. 402, was a large house. and of great repute, even to its
dissolution; the Atlas, fo. 805, and Weever, tell us, it was founded by
Philip Cowgate, mayor of Norwich in the year 1268, but with what
truth we may judge, for there was no mayor of the city till 1403, it
being governed before that time by bailiffs: the truth therefore of
its foundation will best appear from the foundation deeds, which were
exemplified April 24, 1533, on account of the claim made to the patronage of the priory at that time, by the Peircy family, for Sir Alan
Peircy, brother of Henry Peircy Earl of Northumberland, had laid
claim to it, as being founded by his family; which was entirely false,
the patronage of it being in the senate, mayor, sheriffs, and merchants
of the city, ever since the year 1486, when it was proved in a provincial chapter of the order, held on the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin, in the convent of Burnham, that Philip, son of Warine, son of
Adam Arnold, (fn. 23) or Ernold, of Cowgate, (fn. 24) in Norwich, merchant,
who assumed the name of Philip de Cowgate, from his living in
that part of the city, was the first and prime founder of this monastery; about 1256, he settled his messuage, with all the buildings and
yards thereto belonging, lying between the messuage of Ralph the
chaplain, then vicar of Wrottyng, on the south part, and the messuage
formerly Rob. de Holveston's, (fn. 25) on the north part, and extended in
length from the high-way called Cowgate, (fn. 26) which lies west, to the
ditch (fn. 27) of the said messuage towards the east, on Master William de
Suffield, Archdeacon of Norwich, and his heirs, on condition that the
brethren of Mount Carmel should enter and dwell there, without any
molestation, for ever, and serve God therein: upon this, the friars
took possession of it, and by the gifts of their founder and other good
people, erected a noble church, and had it dedicated to the Holy Virgin; which being finished, the said Philip took upon him the habit
and order of a Carmelite, (fn. 28) and entered the house of his own foundation,
where he died the 23d of April, 1283, and was buried in his own
church. And by reason of his appointing no patron of their house,
they continued without any, till 1486, and then Thomas Waterpytte, S. T. B. prior, and his convent, supplicated the mayor, aldermen, sheriffs, and citizens of Norwich, that as their founder was a
merchant and fellow citizen, and assigned them no patron, that they
would henceforward be patrons, which they accepted, and it was confirmed in the general chapter of their order held at Burnham, as is
aforesaid; and brother John, prior provincial of the said order, decreed in open chapter, that the corporation should be prayed for in all
divine services in the monastery, as their patrons, and should be partakers of the benefit of the prayers of all the brethren of the order
throughout England, and in token hereof, the convent confirmed it,
under the common seal, to the mayor, and the mayor, under the city
seal, to the convent.
This house had its share of benefactions, but most being in money
or goods, it had few fixed revenues in lands or houses, it being contrary
to the rules of the orders of the friars to have any possessions, unless
the sites of the houses which they dwelt in, though they sometimes,
under pretence of conveniency, did take some few.
In 1323, they purchased the house next St. James's church, and
laid it into their convent.
In 1334, Tho. de Salthouse, prior here, purchased a messuage on the
south side of their convent, which joined all the way to the river Wensum, (fn. 29) and abuts west on Fishergate: (fn. 30) by this purchase they had their
site completed, from the river to St. James's church; and to make it
entire, in 1344 the city granted them a lane, which went through their
convent, called St. James's Wente; from which time the convent had
gates, &c. nightly shut, that no one could pass through as usual; and
now the houses they purchased were pulled down, and their court and
churchyard was made large and spacious; upon which the prior and
convent of the Holy Trinity, who held the church of St. James, and
St. Martin at the Palace-gate, (fn. 31) impropriated to them, complained,
that the friars by pulling down the houses, and laying them into
their convent, lessened the value of their parishes aforesaid, in which
their friary was situated; upon which the friars agreed to pay 2s. per
annum to their priory, in recompense for that damage, and also sware
that they would not take nor receive, knowingly, any offerings from
the parishioners, of their impropriate parishes of St. Martin, St. James,
or St. Paul, without returning them to their several churches; and
afterwards, in 1376, it was agreed between brother Walter de Dysse,
prior here, (fn. 32) and John de Hoo, prior of the cathedral, that whereas the
said John de Hoo held the churches of St. Vedast, and St. Margaret
in Fibrig-gate, All-Saints, St. Saviour, St. Paul, St. James, St. Martin
at Palace, St. Giles, St. Gregory, St. Stephen, St. Sepulchre, St. John of
Berstreet, St. Peter per Montergate, St. Cuthbert, St. Mary the Less,
Holy Cross, St. Margaret at Neivbrigge, St George of Muspool, St.
Olave, St. Martin of Coslanye, and St. Etheldred in Norwich, impropriate to his convent; and whereas divers of the parishioners of those
parishes daily chose to be buried in the Carmelites church and churchyard, by which the said parishes lost much of their profits, to the injury of the convent, who served most of them by their monks, and
received the profits; the friars agreed, that for the future, they
would pay the prior of the cathedral, the 4th part of the profits every
year, that arose from the offerings and funerals of such persons, in the
same manner that the friars-preachers. and friars-minors did, according to the conslitution of Pope Clement. (fn. 33)
In 1430, the friars paid the precentor of the cathedral 2s. at Michaelmas and Easter, as offerings to the parish priest, due from their
In 1431, they paid the precentor 4s. for two or three houses laid
into their site, besides the 4th part of the offerings above mentioned,
which were always paid annually. (fn. 34) In 1485, King Richard II. confirmed all their houses, lands, and privileges. In 1498, the mayor,
sheriffs, &c. granted the prior and brethren of this house, under their
common seal, that they should be ever free from all toll and custom
in the city, (fn. 35) and of all fees due to the city officers, for all things whatever, used and consumed in their house.
They had six messuages in St. Austin's parish, one of which was
given by Margaret Beamond in 1529, which at the Dissolution were
separated from the site, and granted in 1544, to John Eyre, one of the
King's auditors, along with another messuage in St. Clement's at the
Bridge which belonged to St. Faith's priory.
Many persons of note were interred here, viz.
In 1292, Sir Oliver Ingham, Knt. and Dame Lora, wife of Sir Reginald Argentein, sister to Robert de Vere Earl of Oxford.
Dame Alice, wife of Roger de Boyland. (Hist. Norf. vol. i. p. 59.)
Dame Eleanor Boteler, Sir Barth. Somerton, Knt. and Dame Catherine,
his wife. Sir Oliver le Gros, Knt. John, father of Sir Ralf Benhall, Knt.
Dame Joan, wife of Sir Tho. Morley, Robert Baniard, Esq. Sir Oliver.
Wythe, Knt. Dame Alice Wythe in 1361. Sir Jeffery Wythe of Smalbergh, Knt. 1373. Sir Peter Tye, Knt. Margaret Pulham. Dame
Alice Hethersete. Dame Katherine, wife of Sir Nich. Borne. Joan,
wife of John Fastolff. Thomas Crownthorp or Crongethorp, and Alice
1320, Joan, widow of Sir Rob. de Caston, Knt. gave 10 marks for
two annuals to be celebrated for her own and husband's souls here.
1321, Dame Alice Everard. 1391, Alice, late wife of Sir Martin
1376, John de Saxlinghamthorp, chaplain.
Sir Will. de Bradfeld. Sir Walter Cotet.
1402, Dame Eliz. 3d wife to Sir Thomas Gerbrigge, first married to
Sir John Berry or Barry, she was Dr. of Sir Rob. Wachesham. Sir
Tho. Gerbrigge was buried by her in 1430.
1423, John de Erlham, citizen and merchant.
1433, Sir Edm. Barry, Knt. buried in the chapel of the Virgin in
the Carmelites church, and Dame Alice his wife, Dr. of Sir Tho. Gerbrigge, was buried by him.
1437, Dame Elizabeth, first wife of Sir Will. Calthorp, daughter of
Reginald Lord Hastyngs, Weysford, and Ruthyn.
Hankinson of Lancashire. Clement Paston, Esq. 1440, Christian,
widow of Peter Savage of Norwich, was buried before St. Anne's image
in the chapel of the Holy Cross, in the convent of the Carmelites.
1457, John Saberne of Norwich. 1459, Will. Norwych, senior, buried by Agnes his wife, and Walter his father. 1461, John Mulicourt,
buried in the church, he lived among them. 1466, Margaret Furbisher, widow. 1467, John Gedge, fuller, buried in the Carmelites church,
Brother Edm. Heverlond, a Carmelite, to sing for him. 1479, Will.
Gladen of Norwich, publick notary. Richard and George, children of
Sir Will Calthorp, by Cecily, John, and Thomas, other children of the
said Sir William. 1418, John Dengayne, Gent. and Robert Smart,
Esq. 1494, Sir Will. Calthorp, Knt. (fn. 36) buried in the "Whyte Fryerys
wher the Place of my Sepultur is made;" he gave 40 marks to be
given in pence to the poor on his burial day; 10 marks to the friars,
and friar Tho. Waterpepe to sing three years for his own, friends, and
wife's souls, at the altar where my sepulture is, and after the Gospel,
to say openly at the end of every mass, De Profundis, and to have 6
marks a year.
1495, Dame Margery, wife of Sir John Paston, daughter of Sir Tho.
Brewse, who was buried here the same year.
1495, John, son of Sir Will. Stoarer. 1498, Margaret, wife of Sir
About 1500, Christian Boxworth, widow, of the parish of St. Mar
garet Fibrigge, was buried in the north side of the White-friars church,
before the image of our Lady, and gave 20s. to the friars for her burial.
1502, Margaret Ratcliff, alias Curteis, widow, gave to the friars
6s. 8d. and a legacy to St. Barbara's gild held in the White-friars.
1503, John Osteler, alias Patkerton, fishmonger, and the same year,
Eliz. relict of Will. Aslak, Esq. buried in the chapel of our Lady, in
the south part of the White-friars church, by the image of St. Laurence; and gave East-Tudenham manor to her son William.
1511, John Walters, alderman, buried by Margaret his wife, gave
40s. to repair the church.
1512, James Hammond of Rackeith, buried before the image of our
1523, John Hemyngham, clerk, parson of Kesewyk, buried in the
White-friars church, at the Jemowe door, by his mother. 1529. Margaret Beamond buried here, gave a house in St. Austin's on condition
they said a mass for her soul at Christmas, Easter, Whitsuntide, and
Michaelmas, and have a penny-candle burning before the Blessed Sacrament of the altar, at those times; and also that the prior distributed
to the friars a pittance of 2s.
The following famous Carmelites were buried here, as Bale tells us
from the register of the house.
1287, died Brother Gilbert de Norwich [Episcopus Hamensis.]
1303, Brother Humphry de Necton, D. D. and professor at Cambridge; a man of solid learning, a subtile disputant, and excellent
preacher, author of many learned treatises, a catalogue of which you
will find in Bale and Pitt. (fn. 37) Of whom, Leland hath left us this
Laudibus Humfredum meritis super astra feramus,
Cui data Grantenæ Laurea prima Scholæ.
Brother Andrew Felmingham.
1310, Brother Rob. Walsyngham, a man of great repute in Oxford
for his Quodlibets, ordinary Questions, and his Interpretation of the
sacred Scriptures, which he made manifest to the world, as Bale says: (fn. 38)
and Pitt also gives him the character of a man of acute wit, sound
judgment, good life, and great learning.
Brother Jeffery Statham.
1332, died Brother Will. Crongethorp, (or Crownthorp,) Knt. who
had taken the vow, but not yet assumed the habit of the order. Dame
Alice his wife is buried by him.
1346, died Brother Jeffery Mileham.
Brother Adam Saxlingham, for whom see Pitt, 473.
1348, died Brother John Folsham, prior of this monastery, and provincial of all England; he was D. D. of Cambridge, a native of Folsham in Norfolk, an excellent logician, well deserving the praise that
Pitt gives him. Bale saith, that indeed he was a doctor and none of
the meanest; for by his chopping of logick, he could turn black into
white, men into asses, and school divinity into natural philosophy.
He wrote many learned treatises, as you may see in the aforecited authors, and died in the time of the great pestilence, for in this year,
from the first of January to the first of July, there died in this city
57,374 persons, besides religious votaries; (fn. 39) whereupon the prior and
convent of this house composed a prayer, (fn. 40) to be said daily for the brethren that died of the contagion.
1360, Brother Simon Wichingham, Doctor of the Sorbonne, a great
writer, see Pitt, p. 493.
1361, Brother Rich. Enges. 1370, Brother Tho. de Len. 1372,
died Brother William of St. Faith's, D. D. (fn. 41) 1382 died Brother Tho.
1383, died Brother William de Wroxham, in the convent of this order
1386, died Brother Will. Raymund. Brother Henry Myleham.
1387, Brother Peter de Beklis, S. T. P.
1390, died Sir Hugh de Uvedale, or Dovedale, Knt. a devotee, who
had not yet taken the habit of the order.
In the year 1400, 2d Henry IV. Thomas Arandell Archbishop of
Canterbury, went his metropolitical visitation, and came from Ely to
Norwich, where he was received at the cathedral, by the Bishop, prior,
and convent, and the whole, city, with a solemn procession; and during
the whole time of his stay, he lodged in the house of the Carmelites,
at his own expense, and then made an amicable agreement between
the Bishop, prior, and convent, who had great variances about their
rights; all which he settled to their satisfaction. Hence he went to
Walsingham, and removed the prior, assigning him 40 marks for life;
and from thence he went to Mildenhall, and so to Bury. Regr.
1404, died Brother Walter Dysse, the Pope's legat, prior of this
house. (Of this man see Hist. Norf. vol. i. p. 29, Pitt, 579.)
1408, Brother Adam Hawling.
1420, died Brother Robert Rose, D. D. (fn. 42) he was honoured by the
University of Oxford, with the title of supreme master; and wrote
many things, yet never offended the followers of Wickliff: he was
prior here, and enriched his monastery both in estate and learning,
being an excellent philosopher, and profound divine.
1421, Brother Tho. Kemyng.
Thomas Scroop, born at Bradley, of the noble family of the
Scroops, to which he was an honour, on account of his virtue and
learning, was first a Benedictine monk, and in 1430, took the habit of
a Carmelite friar, and led an anchorite's life here many years, seldom
going out of his cell, but when he preached: but about 1446, Pope
Eugenius the IVth. made him Bishop of Down in Ireland, which he
afterwards resigned, and came again to his convent, and became suffragan to the Bishop of Norwich; he died at Lowistoft in 1491, and
was there buried, being near 100 years old. See his life and an account
of his works in Pitt, p. 682. Bale, 213. Holingshed, 798. Baker, 363.
1440, Brother John Thorp, died and was buried here; he was an
excellent writer, author of many books, and divers learned treatises;
but for his Labrynth of Logick, as he intituled it, he acquired the name
of the Ingenious Doctor, which with his epitaph, was engraven on his
tomb. It was an eminent work, wherein he exquisitely displayed the
subtilities of that art. See Bale, 195. Holingshed, 662.
1447, died Brother Henry Wichingham, D. D. of Oxford, a famous
scholar, see Bale, 197. Pitt, 638.
1451, died Brother John de Kenninghale, a native of that place,
prior here, and provincial of his order all over England, of whom I
have spoken in the Hist. Norf. vol. i. p. 227.
1451, Brother John Taverham. 1451, Brother Peter of St. Faith,
Doctor of the Sorbonne, for whom see Pitt, 647. Bale, 201.
1456, Brother Tho. Johnson.
1458, Brother Nicholas Grey.
Brother Tho. Narburgh.
1462, Brother Rob. Carlton.
Brother Adam de Berton.
1477, Brother Baldwin Mayer.
Brother Rob. Shadwell.
1479, Brother Tho. Barker.
1485, Brother Ric. Water.
1592, Brother Jeffery Bee.
1494, Brother Will. Worstead.
Brother Tho. Penyman.
1504, Brother Tho. Scothow, and Brother Geffry Jullis.
1508. Brother Tho. Martin.
1517, Brother Rob. Love, prior here, provincial of all England.
1524, Brother John Whytyng.
1525, Brother Simon Pykerynge.
Brother Rob. Browne.
I find the following persons friars, but not buried here.
1344, Hugh Virley or Wireley, whose life see in Bale, 141. Pitt,
450, Hol. 414.
1354, John de Titleshale D. D. and LL. D. of Oxford; see Pitt,
480. 1406, Tho. Colby, a great scholar, Pitt, 582, Bale, 178, b. and
Bishop of Limmerick, &c.
1423, Brother Walter Thetford. 1426, Brother Will. Suffield. 1432,
Brother Ric. Lyn. 1436, Brother Tho. Walsingham. 1452, Brother
Nic. Bungey; he was collated to the rectory of Beeston, by the Bishop.
1457, Brother Tho. Thorp, collated to Stanninghall rectory, and
1461, Brother Ant. Fisheman, collated to Beeston.
In this monastery there were two ankorages, or anker's houses, one
for a man, who was admitted brother of the house; the other for a
woman, who was also admitted sister thereof; the last under the chapel of the Holy-Cross, which is still standing, though converted into
dwelling-houses; the former stood by St. Martin's-bridge, on the east
side of the street, and a small garden belonging to it joined to the
In 1442, Dec. 2, the Lady Emma, recluse or anchoresse, and religious
sister of the Carmelites order, was buried in their church. And in
1443, Tho. was anchorite in this house.
1465, Brother John Castleacre, priest, anchorite. In 1494, there
were legacies given to the anker of the White-friars.
In 1539, (fn. 43) one John Pratt, servant, with Rauff Salter of Harpley,
coming to Norwich on the Wednesday last, did on Friday go to the
White-friars in Norwich, and found the prior and his brethren at
dinner, and after the accustomed words of humanity between the prior
and the said John, the prior demanded from whence he came, whereunto the same John said, I am my Lord Privy Seal's servant, and late
come from his Lordship; and then the prior asked him the cause of
his coming; and he made answer, I have a commission from my Lord
Privy Seal to suppress this house. The prior desired the sight of his
commission; and the said John, said that Mr. Godsalve had it, and
further said, that they should be dispatched of their house on Monday
next at the furthest. But it seems, the prior, upon further examination, found he was a cheat, and so caused him to be brought before the
court, where he confessed, that he did it, purposing to have put the
prior of the place in such fear that he by reason thereof should give
him a reward of 40s. or 4l.; which being considered of, on Saturday,
Oct. 19, he went round the market with a bason rung before him, and
a paper on which was written, for false feynyng, and after had both
his ears nailed to the pillory, and then cut off. (fn. 44)
This house stood undissolved till 1543, and in that year it was suppressed, and the city endeavoured, as patrons of it, to have purchased
the grant; but could not, for in that very year, the King granted it
to Richard Andrewes and Leonard Chamberlain, by letters patent dated June 17, who were to hold it to them and their heirs, by knight's
service, of the King in capite; and the same year they had license to
sell the site to John Spencer and his heirs, and soon after it was divided,
and that part which lies against the river, next the bridge called Whitefriars bridge in the parish of St. Martin at the Palace-gate, where the
anker's house stood, was sold off, and the original site all lying in St.
James's parish, from the aforesaid part to St. James's church, and
backward quite to the city walls and river, continued in the Spencers
till they sold it to the Southwells; (fn. 45) and in 1561, Francis Southwell, Esq.
Tho. John, and Hen. Spencer, Gent. conveyed it to Will. Gildren or
Gildern, and his heirs, who was owner of it in 1569, and in 1579, sold
it to William Drury of Melton, and his heirs. In 1635, there was a
dispute between the parishioners of St. James, and St. Martin at the
Palace, concerning the friary, which was referred to the aldermen of
Fibrigge ward, who settled the bounds as they had been anciently.
In 1639, Sir William Drury of Besthorp, Knt. died seized of it, since
which time it hath passed through divers hands, and is now owned by
Mr. John Chambers.
Brother Robert Bale, (fn. 46) that learned man and great writer, was a
Carmelite of this house in 1495, and so was Brother John Bale, (fn. 47)
that strenuous opposer, not only of this order, but of the Pope and
church of Rome; he was a Suffolk man born, entered in this monastery at 12 years of age, from which he went to Cambridge, and became
a diligent reformer, for which he was banished, and continued 8 years
in Germany, was recalled by Edward VI. and made Bishop of Ossory
in Ireland, but was driven thence by Queen Mary; afterwards he
went through many misfortunes, being taken by pirates and sold, but
was redeemed, and retired into Germany again, and at Basil published
his famous work entituled, "De Scriptoribus Anglicanis." He died
in Ireland, A° 1558, æt. 67, after he had wrote a prodigious number
of books, a catalogue of which, with a fine cut of his tace, may be seen
in Holland's Heroologia Anglica, fo. 165, 7. He left a collection
in quarto MSS. (fn. 48) concerning this monastery, from which we learn the
following things. In the year 1256, the Carmelites first entered their
house at Norwich. In 1343, the new grand choir of their church was
finished. In 1344, their new churchyard was consecrated by Brother
John Paschall, Bishop and Suffragan to William Bishop of Norwich.
In 1382, when the church was completely finished in a grand manner, (fn. 49)
it was dedicated by Brother Thomas, (fn. 50) suffragan to Hen. Spencer Bishop of Norwich. In 1450, the library here was founded by Brother
John de Kyninghale, then prior. In 1526, Bishop John (fn. 51) ordained in
St. Thomas's chapel in the Carmelites house.
The Priors of this house that I have met with are these.
1283, Philip de Cowgate, the founder, died prior.
1334, Brother Tho. de Salthouse.
1348, Brother John de Folsham, (fn. 52) provincial of the order, died.
1376, Brother Walter de Dysse. (See Hist. Norf. vol. i. p. 29.)
1381, Brother Ric. Wichingham, S. T. P. prior, buried here this year.
Pitt, p. 535. 1386, Brother Rob. Yvory. Brother John Tacesphalus,
or of Tacolneston, D. D. born there; a great preacher against the followers of Wickliff, elected prior in 1404, and died and was buried at
Rome in 1420. See his works, &c. in Pitt, 608.
1420, Brother Rob. Rose, ob. (fn. 53) 1451, Brother John de Kenynghale,
ob. (fn. 54) Ciril Garland.
1488, Brother Tho. Watterpytte, D. D. 1517, Brother Rob. Love,
provincial, in 1505, ob. (fn. 55)
1533, Brother Thomas, D. D.
There are now no ruins of this house remaining, save the Friars-hall,
with their kitchen under it, now the Anabaptists meeting-house, (fn. 56) and
the chapel of the Holy Cross at the west end thereof, under which the
anchoress had her anchorage, the chapel being over it; there is part of
the cloister now turned into a cellar at a publick-house; the church
stood near St. James's, there being only a passage between the churchyards, but its site is now all built on.
(114) The Church of St. James
Stands at the north-west corner of the White-friars site, and was dedicated to the Apostles of that name; it was founded in the Conqueror's
time, and was anciently called St. James at Barr-gates, and afterwards
St. James at Pokethorp, and till then, was part of Thorp. It was a
well endowed rectory, having all the great and small tithes belonging to it, till about 1201, when it was appropriated by John de Grey
Bishop of Norwich, to the prior and convent there, who by that means,
got all the glebes and tithes into their hands, on condition they found
a secular chaplain to serve the church, and paid him for so doing, and
repaired the chancel at their cost; which they constantly did till the
Dissolution, and some time after; but of late years, the dean and chapter hath not paid the serving minister, though they have all that belonged to the rectory, (fn. 57) and still nominate the chaplain; who hath
the surplice fees, and what voluntary contribution the parishioners will
give, which in Dr. Prideaux's time amounted to 18l. per annum. It
paid 3d. synodals, was laid at 26s. 8d. at the appropriation, and is now
an exempt, being one of the peculiars belonging to the jurisdiction of
the dean and chapter, and was lately augmented by lot, but there is no
purchase as yet made.
The nave and south isle are leaded, the chancel is tiled, the steeple
is octangular, and hath in it three bells; the upper part of it was rebuilt in 1743, and the emblems of the 4 Evangelists carved in stone
lately stood, one at each corner: there is a chapel at the upper end of
the isle, dedicated to our Lady, whose image stood by the altar, with
a light burning before it. In 1479, the rood loft was beautifully
painted, and there were then the images of St. Nicholas, St. Catherine,
and St. John Baptist, with lights burning before them in service time;
as there were also others before St. James, St. Christopher, the Holy
rood, and Sepulchre; and there was then also a gild held here in honour of the two St. Jameses.
On a brass by the north door,
Hic iacet Johanna Rysyng, cuius anime propicietur Deus Amen
On another in the middle alley.
Orate pro Animabus Walteri Ftyer, et Margarete Uroris sue.
qui obiit xxiio die Aprilis Ao Dni: Movo rrriio. et pro quibus
On another by the south door,
Orate pro anima Elizabeth Calthorp, Filie Willi: Calthorp Ar-
migeri, cuius anime propicietur Deus.
On another in the chapel,
Pray for the Sowle of Nicholas Parker, on whose Sowle Jesus
have Mercy Amen.
Here are stones in the nave for, Rose wife of John Freeman 1676.
George Gwynne Gent. 1699, 59. Frances Tubbing widow, 1728, 86.
Anthony Francis 1684. In the isle, crest a tree, arms three castles:
Mr. Tim. Copping, kinsman by marriage to Mr. Nic. Poyntar Gent.
1696, 59. Nic. Poyntar Gent. 1676, 69. Barbara Sprat widow, his
Dr. 1717, 82. Hellen wife of Mr. Nic. Poyntar 1660, 48. Poyntar
Harmer, 1707, 33. Ellen Harmer Dr. of Mr. Nic. Poyntar 1715, 77.
In the chancel, Will. Wright 1692, 55. Jane his wife, Will. their son,
1723, 59. Frances his wife 1732, 76. Wyborough wife of Rob. Drake,
Who in her Life feared God, and the world contemned,
For in his Fear she lived, and in his Favour ended.
Susan wife of John Chambers Esq. 1713, 59. John Chambers
Esq. 1720, 71. Anne Barnes 1704. Tho. Barnes 1705. Children
of Jane and Samuel Barnes. Davy's arms. Jehosaphat Davy, some
time mayor, 1689, 72. Anne wife of Alderman Tho. Postle Dr. of
Jehosaphat Davy Esq. 1702, 60. Bridget wife of Jehosaphat Postle
1720, 43. Jehosaphat Postle, Gent. ob. 5 Dec. 1723, 30.
By the south chancel door is a small mural monument with this,
Subtus hoc, Corpora Nicholai Emmes Generosi quondam hujus
Civitatis Vicecomitum Unius et Mariæ charissimæ conjugis ejus,
fælicem in Domino Resurrectionem expectantia. Ipsa obijt 11°
Die Maij An° Salutis, 1632, Ipse 22 die Aug. 1638. Fuerunt
ambo vicinis amicabiles, Amicis Fideles, pauperibus miserecordes,
omnibusque bonis amantes. Edwardus Emmes filius primogenitus prædictorum Nicholai & Mariæ in ipsorum Charissimorum
Parentum suorum Memoriam, hoc erigi curavit.
In 1528, Simon Westgate was buried in the church, before the image
of St. Uncombre. 1526, (fn. 58) Will. Mayner priest, parish chaplain, was
buried in the chapel here, and gave a legacy to Gresham church, where
he was born, and to St. Stephen's, where he sang his first mass. 1532,
Sir John Fincham, parish priest, was buried in the churchyard, and
was succeeded by Sir Ric. Crowder. 1604, Nic. Gilman, curate. 1627,
John Barnham. 1662, John Smith, Mr. Scot, Paul, Tillet, Pickering,
Otway, Bentham, and Manlove, were curates here.
And the Rev. Mr. Will. Herne, is the present chaplain or curate,
who is also one of the minor canons of the cathedral, minister of St.
Paul's in Norwich, and of Hemlington in Norfolk, and rector of the
rectories of Horningtoft and Gerveston.
At the extremity of Pokethorp hamlet, belonging to this parish, is
the site of
St. Catherine's Chapel, which stood north-east of the said
hamlet, above a mile distant from it, (fn. 59) upon Mushold heath; it was an
ancient parochial chapel, founded about the time of the Conquest,
and was afterwards reconsecrated to the honour of St. William of
Norwich, the boy that was crucified by the Jews, as you may see in
Pt. I. p. 26, &c. and is commonly called St. William in the wood;
it had a cell of monks, which belonged to Norwich priory, residing
by it, who were maintained out of the profits of the churches of Lakenham, and Ameringhall, which were held of these monks. (fn. 60) In 1230,
Nigel de Hapesburg, gave a messuage and lands in Wiclewood, and the
moiety of the advowson of All-Saints church there, (fn. 61) to the church of
Norwich, on condition that the prior and convent should find a chaplain to serve daily in the chapel of St. Catherine by Thorp wood, for his
own and his ancestors souls; and now being worth something, it was
appropriated with all its tithes, offerings, profits, and lands, by Walter
Bishop of Norwich in 1256, to the almoner's office in the convent, and
about 1410, it was united to St. James's parish, and the parochial service
transferred thither, the almoner only serving it as a chantry, from that
time to the Dissolution, (fn. 62) when it was totally demolished; the site of
it being now commonly known by the name of Pokethorp church
yard; and in 1550, was leased by the dean and chapter, to William
Bleverhaysset. Gent. by the name of the Chapel-yard called St. William's in the Wood. It was much frequented by pilgrims, who visited
it to its dissolution, for in 1506, the almoner accounted for the offerings
at St. William's chapel, and those at
The Chapel of the Translation of St. Thomas Becket,
which stood very near the former, and was called St. Thomas in the
Wood, but was never parochial, being supported chiefly by the brothers and sisters of St. Thomas's gild, which was yearly held with great
pomp here, on the Feasts of St. Thomas Becket, and of the Holy Relicks;
in 2d Richard III. the members of this gild gave a famous picture of
the history of Bishop Becket, to this chapel, which was constantly repaired, as well as that of St. William, by the convent; and at the gild
days, there were grand processions made, and interludes played, with
good cheer after them.
St. Michael's Chapel was also in this parish, on the brow of
the hill, on the north side of the road just out of Bishop's-gate; the
ruins of it are still  visible, (fn. 63) and it is called Kett's Castle, because it was the place of rendezvous of that arch-rebel; it was founded
by Bishop Herbert, in recompense for St. Michael's church which
stood on Tombland, and was demolished by him; it was constantly
served by the monks of the adjacent
Priory of St. Leonard, which stood opposite to it, on the other
side of the Yarmouth road: this priory and church of St. Leonard was
also built by Bishop Herbert, on the hill, which then was part of
Thorp-wood, (fn. 64) in which he placed several monks, whilst the cathedral
church and priory, were in building, (fn. 65) and a succession of others were
continued here, as a cell to the great monastery, until the general Dissolution; (fn. 66) it was always governed by a prior, chosen by the Prior of
Norwich, and confirmed by the Bishop; he was obliged to account
with the Prior of Norwich annually, for all the offerings in his priory
of St. Leonard, and in his chapel of St. Michael on the Mount aforesaid, and he was allowed a yearly stipend to find a chaplain for daily
service there. St. Leonard's church was of great note for a famous
image of good King Henry VI. which was visited by pilgrims far and
near, some of which affirmed, they were, and many others resorted
hither in hope to be cured of their diseases: so that the offerings to
this good King, and the images of the Holy Virgin, the Holy Cross,
and St. Anthony, brought in a good round annual sum. The names of
as I have met with, are,
1394, Ric. de Blakeden. 1452, Sir Ric. Walsham. 1472, Brother
Nic. Ayrich. 1496, Rob. Yarmouth. 1517, Rob. Catton.
This priory is now in ruins, being totally demolished by Kett and
his rebels; the site is walled in, and contained about 14 acres; the
church is ploughed over, but part of the gate-house, and the entrance
into the churchyard, are standing close by the present farm-house.
The prior had a pension of 6s. 4d. out of Taverham tithes, and the revenues of the house, were all accounted for to the convent at Norwich,
which paid the prior here a certain stipend; and every one of the 7
or 8 monks that resided here, had their several stipends; they were
obliged to find a scholar, and pay him a yearly exhibition, at one of
the Universities, and pay for all his degrees. At its dissolution it went
to the Crown, and King Henry VIII. granted it to Thomas Duke of
Norfolk, whose son, Henry Earl of Surrey, built a sumptuous house on
the site, in which he dwelt; (see p. 225;) on which occasion it was
called Surrey-house, and the hill Mount-Surrey, according to
Michael Drayton in his poem or epistle to Henry Howard Earl of
Why art thou slack, whilst no Man puts his Hand,
To raise the Mount where Surrey's Tower must stand?
Or who the Groundsil of that Work doth lay,
Whilst like a Wand'rer, thou Abroad dost stray,
Claspt in the Arms of some lascivious Dame,
When thou shouldst rear an Honour to thy Name;
When shall the Muses by fair Norwich dwell,
To be the City of the Learned Well?
Or when shall that fair Hoof-plow'd Spring distill,
From great Mount-Surrey, out of Leonard's Hill?
But this Earl being beheaded, the whole was forfeited to the Crown,
where it remained till 1562, and then Queen Elizabeth granted it, with
the wood called Prior's Wood in Thorp, to Thomas Duke of Norfolk,
and his heirs, and King James I. in 1602, confirmed it with two capital houses in Norwich, (fn. 67) to Thomas Howard Earl of Suffolk, and his
Under Mount-Surrey is a low valley, now a garden, belonging to the
adjoining ale-house, in which the followers of John Wickliff, that worthy
and learned divine, who first dared openly to oppose the Pope and the
erroneous doctrines of the Romish church, were burnt for Lollardy, as
they then called it, from whence it is called Lollard's Pit to this day.
See Pt. I. p. 204.
Close by the river, on the left hand going out of Bishop's-gate, is a
spring of pleasant water, formerly much resorted to; which occasioned Sir John Pettus, Knt. in 1611, (fn. 68) to build the handsome freestone conduit over it, which is locked up, and so hinders its either
being choked or made foul, the water running continually from it;
on the freestone are carved the arms of Pettus, and this,
Johannes Pettus Miles, Monumentum construxit,
Anno Dni. 1611.
Under St. Michael's Mount and part of Mushold, are surprising caverns in the earth, made by digging the chalk-stone for lime, and the
black flints for building, with which these pits abound, notwithstanding
what is said in the Journey through England, vol. i. p. 4, that "one
would wonder from whence they had those stones, (meaning black
flints,) for Norwich stands in a clay country, and neither flint nor
chalk within 20 miles of it," (fn. 69) the whole of which is so very false,
that I must conclude the author was never near Norwich in his life;
and only wonder where it was possible to pick up such errours, all the
publick accounts that I have seen of it, mentioning nothing like it.
Mousehold, or as it is commonly called Musel-hill, is a large heath
now, but was most of it wood formerly, and is about 4 or 5 miles in
length and breadth: Alex. Nevile calls it Muscosus Mons, the Mossy
Hill, and would have it called Moss-Wold, from the moss growing on
it, and [wolð], (a Saxon word,) signifying a hilly country void of wood;
but as it is certain this was a wood, that etymology will not bear. I
take the proper name to be as it is often written in evidences very ancient, Monks-hold, it belonging in a great measure to the Norwich monks,
who had a cowherd to keep their cattle there.
Was originally part of Thorp, and when it was severed from it in the
Conqueror's time, (fn. 70) with the parishes of St. James and St. Paul, took
the name of Poc-Thorp or Little-Thorp; it hath court baron and lete,
and now belongs to the church, as it hath done always from its foundation; in 1286, the prior had assize of bread and ale, and weyf, in
his manors of Pokethorp, Holmestreet, and Great Plumstede, allowed
in Eire, and a custom called Haliday-toll, besides land-gable paid him
after dinner, the King's bailiff of his hundred of Blofield, having the
same before dinner.
The manor-house was lately called the Lathes, it stands a little distance from Pokethorp-street, at the east end of it, and is now commonly
Hasset's-house, from William Bleverhaysset, Esq. who lived in it,
having obtained a lease of it from the Dean and Chapter, in 1550, on
the surrender of the ancient lease, which Dame Jane Calthorp of Norwich, widow, and Thomas her son and heir, had of it; and in 1547,
the said William had also leased to him, "asmoche of all that their
tythe lamb and wolle of the fold-cource, called the Lathe-cource, as
doth, or of right ought, in any wyse to belonge or apperteyne to the
paryshe churche of Seynt Jamys in Norwyche, yelding & paying
therfor yerly to the Dean & Chapter, Parsons of the seid churche of
Seynt Jamys, or at their assignement to the curate of the seid parishe
of Seynt Jamys, towards his Stypende & wages ten shillings of lawfull money of Englande, at the feast of St. Mighell th' Arkangell,
yerely and every yere, during all the seid Terme of lxxx yeres."
This tithe, with St. William's chapel yard, and part of the fald-course
that extended into Sprowston bounds, was assigned by Bleverhaysset in
1555, to John Corbet of Sprowston, Esq. and Miles Corbet, his son and
heir, to make Sprowston course complete. (fn. 71)
The religious concerned here were, the Abbot of Pipewell, whose
temporals were taxed at 4s.; the Abbot of Merryvale at 4s.; the Prior
of Shuldham at 4s.; the Prior of Norwich at 10l. 13s. 2d.
Benefactors to this parish, are,
Tho. Chickering of Thorp, Esq. by will gave 52 bushels of sea coals,
or 26s. 8d. every other year, to be paid to the church-wardens within
14 days next after Christmas day, to be divided among the poor of St.
James's and Pokethorp. See St. Paul's parish, for
Mr. Edmund Topclyff's gift (p. 260, 272,) as also for Mr. John
Cory's, Mr. Rob. Mallet's.
Mr. Benjamin Penning's, and Mr. Will. Gedge's. Mr. Blofield's
gift is 4l. per annum to be given to his heirs, to whatever parishes they
please, so it be disposed of in this ward.
(115) The Church and Hospital of St. Paul
Were founded on a croft called then the Cow's-croft, which was originally part of Thorp, (fn. 72) till St. James's parish at Cowgate, with Pokethorp, was severed from it, and then it became part of that parish, and
so continued till Eborard Bishop of Norwich, Ingulf, the first prior
there, with the consent of the convent, and Richard de Bellofago, or
Beaufo, Bishop of Auranches in Normandy, (fn. 73) and Archdeacon of Norwich, separated the croft from that parish, and built the hospital and
church, and Theobald Archbishop of Canterbury, (fn. 74) consecrated it to
St. Paul the Apostle, and St. Paul the first hermit, who was the reputed
patron of such diseased poor, as were obliged to retire from the world,
as Paul did to his hermitage in the wilderness; the life of this saint,
with many incredible relations concerning him, may be seen in the
Golden Legend, fo. 44. It seems to have been begun in the latter
part of Bishop Herbert's time, and was finished by Eborard, between
the years 1118 and 1145, for the souls of Bishop Herbert, the founders,
and all the faithful, quick and dead; and the foundation was confirmed
by the several charters (fn. 75) of Bishop Eborard, King Henry I. the Prior
and Convent, Rich. de Beaufo Archdeacon of Norwich, the Archbishop
of Canterbury, and the Pope's bull, which was ratified by the succeeding Popes; at which time, the Prior and Convent settled the whole
croft on the hospital and church, and granted divers parts of it to such
tenants as would pay them yearly rents, which constituted the manor
Norman's Spital Manor,
and the parish of st. Paul,
Which before the union of the dissolved parish of All-Saints in Fibrigge, extended no further than that place where St. Paul's pound
stood, and contained no more land than was at first included in the
said croft, and at first was inhabited by 18 families only, besides those
in the site of the hospital, all which paid annual rents to the hospital; (fn. 76)
the convent then also settled their portion of tithes in Marsham, and
Blickling, and land at Sprowston, and the ditched-in meadow between
Thorp wood and the river; and Bishop Beaufoe gave them the
churches, glebes, and tithes of the four churches of St. Michael, St.
Peter, St. Andrew, and St. Margaret in Ormesby, (fn. 77) which he had of
the gift of King Henry I; and Alan de Bellofago or Beaufo, his brother and successour, confirmed them to the hospital, after they were
appropriated by the Bishop, and enjoined all his clerks, and the vicar
of the said churches, to pay the master of the hospital all his just dues;
and Morel de Morlai, or Morley, and Emma his wife, who were received into the fraternity of the monks of Norwich, for that benefit gave
to the hospital two parts of the tithe corn of their demeans in Filby,
and all their tithes there, and Bishop Eborard granted 40 days
pardon to all that came to the church and offered there, (fn. 78) on St. Paul's
day (fn. 79) in summer, or in eight days before it; and appointed the church
not only for the use of the hospital, but to be parochial, and have
chrism (fn. 80) and oil from the sacrist of the convent; and King Henry I.
settled 3d. a day out of his revenues of the county of Norfolk, to be
paid by the sheriff of the county; (fn. 81) and in 1226, Thomas de Blumville
confirmed all their revenues which they then had, viz. the rectories of
St. Paul in Norwich, and the four churches in Ormesbye, and the tithes
of the demeans of Ormesby-hall, and of the sheep there; (fn. 82) and the
third part of the tithes of the demeans of the Bishop's manor of Blofield, Bacton, Thorp, (fn. 83) Thornage, (fn. 84) and Langham, (fn. 85) and two parts of the
tithes of the Bishop's demeans in Marsham, (fn. 86) and the third part of the
tithes of his demeans in Blickling, (fn. 87) the moiety of the tithes of the Bishop's demeans in Taverham, (fn. 88) and of the monks demeans in Trowse
Newton; (fn. 89) two parts of the tithes of the demeans of Rob. de Ulmo or
Holm in Filby; John son of Herbert de Norwico, or Norwich, gave
them an house in St. Andrew's parish; John Knot gave to God, St.
Mary, and the hospital of St. Paul, 6s. 8d. rent, out of divers houses
in Norwich; Bishop Walter de Suffield gave the third part of the
tithes of his demeans in Beyton, or Begeton, Humersfield, and Thornham; Julian, relict of Rob. de Horkneye of Spitelond, gave a piece of
arable land at Galtre, or Gallows-hill, by Norwich. (fn. 90) Adam le Blund
gave them a house in St. Paul's parish, and John de Marisco, son of
Archdeacon Steingrun, (fn. 91) by will gave to Castle-acre monks, the houses
and land which his father held of the hospital of St. Paul's church,
paying to the hospital their ancient rents. Sir Clement de Cnapeton,
chaplain, gave them divers cottages in St. Mathew's parish. In 1282,
John Howard, carpenter, (fn. 92) was a benefactor; and in 1492, Eliz. Clere,
and Joan Harman, widow, who was buried in St. James's church. In
1494, Sir Will. Calthorp. 1495, Joan Blackdam, widow, who was buried in this church. 1502, Dame Joan Blakeney, widow. 1507, Dame
Margery Hobart, who was buried in the cathedral. By means of
which benefactors, and many others, whose names are lost, their revenues were sufficient to maintain 14 poor men and women, who were
decrepit with age, or languished under incurable diseases; besides a
procurator, custos, or master of the hospital, who was always to be one
of their monks in priest's orders, appointed by the prior and convent,
and approved by the Bishop; and from the year 1198, when John of
Oxford Bishop of Norwich, appropriated the rectory of St. Paul's
church to the hospital, the master was obliged to serve the cure by
himself or chaplain, and had all the spiritual jurisdiction of his own
exempt parish, in himself, and proved wills, &c. (fn. 93) as official of his exempt jurisdiction, (fn. 94) which extended no further than his own parish.
The first Procurator or Master, was Norman the monk, from
whom it took the name of Norman's spital, or hospital; he was a
good benefactor, and ruled well. In his time, Walter the priest was
rector here, at whose death it was appropriated. Jeffery the monk succeeded Norman in 1190, being placed here by Richard I.; he was succeeded by Reginald de Pankesford. 1266, Rob. de Stokesby, who was
succeeded by Brother John de Plumstede, who died about 1285. 1357,
Brother Nic. de Gernemuta, or Yarmouth. Brother Ralf de Filby.
1398, Brother Tho. de Lyn. 1411, Brother John de Hasingham. 1418,
Sir Will. Silton, resigned, and Ric. Corpusty succeeded.
1429, Brother Ric. de Walsham; in whose time the state of the hospital was changed, there being no more men admitted, but 14 women
only, seven of which were whole sisters, that is, eat, drank, and lodged
in the hospital; the other seven were half sisters, which attended divine service with them, but were not lodged or clothed in the hospital.
And now there was a Wardeness or Woman Guardian, who was subject
to the master only, and appointed by him; and henceforward, his
duty was only to take care of the church, and oversee the hospital;
and about 1452, Dame Cecily Mortimer was appointed wardeness.
1513, Margaret Puregold, and in 1532, Margaret Dyver.
In 1470, Brother Rob. Bretenham was master. (fn. 95) 1492, Dionise de
Hindolfstone. 1493, Simon de Len, who resigned in 1497, to Brother
Will. Mannell, who in 1504, resigned to Brother Castelyn. 1513, Sir
John Sibley; and in 1532, Sir Henry Mannet, the last master, who
was made prebend. See Pt. I. p. 665.
After the dissolution of the priory, there were no more masters appointed, but the hospital stood undissolved, under the care of a wardeness, as heretofore, and the new erected dean and chapter having the
hospital and all its revenues assigned to them, made the church a donative, and appointed
Sir John Beeston, parish priest, who served here in 1548, and at Dyver's death. Mistress Agnes Lyon was appointed wardeness, and the
sisters of the Norman's were reduced to 12, and she continued so till
her death in 1565, and then by agreement between the dean and chapter and city, a lease was granted by them to the city for 500 years at
1d. a year, of all those their chambers, lodgings, houses. &c. (of the
outward court) of the hospital of St. Paul, commonly called the Normans, (fn. 96) late in the custody of Agnes Lyon, deceased, heretofore used
for the relief and lodging of poor strangers, and sick impotent persons,
together with the bedding, clothing, and stuff, belonging to the dean
and chapter in the said house, obliging the city by covenant, (fn. 97) to employ the house to the same use as formerly, for the lodging, comfort
and relief of poor strangers, vagrants, sick, and impotent persons, during the whole term; reserving power to the dean, with any two of
the prebends, to visit the said hospital, and see that it be employed to
the aforesaid uses. By which means they got rid of their burthen and
had the revenues to themselves, finding a curate or parish chaplain
serve the church, and repairing the chancel as usual. But soon after
the city laid claim to the manor of Norman's, and the church, as included, and a contest ensued; the result of which was, that paying for
the manor, a rent of 40s. per annum they had a lease of it for a term of
years, but upon the city's claiming a right to nominate to the church
of St. Paul, (fn. 98) they would not renew the lease, and so the whole fell
into their hands again, except the site of the hospital itself, concerning which, by joint consent about 1570, it was agreed, that the aforesaid lease made of it to the city, should be cancelled, and a new one
made; by which the city had it granted without any condition of its
being an hospital, and in the year 1571, they turned (fn. 99) it into a bridewell, (fn. 100)
or house of correction, for idle and lazy beggars. And thus the site
of the hospital fell into the city's hands, where it now remains, and is
leased to Benjamin Nuthall, Esq. at 5l. 5s. per annum, (fn. 101) the part now
standing being turned into a malt-office; and all the other revenues
into the hands of the dean and chapter, who have been, and still are,
so far from maintaining any poor therewith, that they refuse to pay
their curate's stipend, though they insist on their nomination to this
day; so that the serving minister hath only the surplice fees, and what
voluntary contribution the parishioners please to gather, which in Dr.
Prideaux's time amounted to 18l. per annum; and the dean and chapter enjoy all the tithes and revenues at this time.
In the Norwich Domesday we read thus: the church of St. Paul is
valued at 33s. 4d. and is an exempt place, in which there are brethren
and sisters. 'Tis not visited by the Archdeacon, neither doth it pay
synodals. The sole correction and jurisdiction over all the parishioners of St. Paul's, and of all other persons offending in the said parish's
precinct, belongs to the master of the hospital.
In 1670, Tho. Bond was curate. 1676, Ben. Penning. 1698,
Will. Scott. And lately it hath had the same curates with St. James,
the Rev. Mr. William Herne being the present  curate.
The church, north isle, south porch and chancel are leaded; the
steeple is round at bottom, and hath an octogonal top of freestone,
adorned after the Gothick manner; in it are three bells; at the east
end of the isle is a chapel, now used as a vestry, (fn. 102) which was dedicated
to our Lady, before whose image at her altar, there hung a lamp,
which was always kept burning in service time.
In 1382, Sir Rob. Burkyn, Knt. was buried in the churchyard, and
left Elen his wife executrix.
1445, Christopher le Strange, Esq. was buried in the chancel.
Benefactors to this parish are,
Sir Tho. Salter of London, priest, who by codicil to his will, dated
Oct. 8, 1558, gave 26s. per annum to be paid to the church-wardens
of this parish by the wardens and company of Salters in London; to
which company he gave 200 marks, to be given in alms every Sunday
in the year in the church, after service, in 12 halfpenny wheaten loaves,
baked the day before, viz. to each of the sisters in the Normans, one,
if there be so many sisters, and if not, the bread shall be given to the
poor of St. Paul's, and he willed it to the poor sisters.
"Bycause I have a great Truste that they wyll praye for me, and
also bycause that a very good devowte Syster, was the first Creature
that tawght me to know the Lettres in my Booke, Dame Katherin
Pecham was her Name, I was Skoller lxxij Yearis ago with her in
the saide Parish of St. Powle, I beseech Jesu to have Mercy on her
Sowle. And if that my Masters the Wardens of the Salters Companie, can here and perfectly knowe, &c." that the said alms is not
given every Sunday, then they are to take it away, and give it to their
own almsmen in London, on whom he had settled 12d. a week for ever.
Rob. Mallet of Norwich, Gent. by will dated Feb. 6, 1696, (fn. 103) gave
his house and lands called the Castle, in St. James's parish, to 12 feoffees of the most substantial parishioners and inhabitants, six of them
to be of St. Paul's parish, and six of St. James's, in trust for the clear
annual profits, to be for ever disposed of to the benefit of the poor of
the said parishes, viz. a third part to St. James's, and the rest to St.
Paul, which is constantly done.
Febr. 4, 1697, Rich. Hall, carpenter, and others, executors of Benjamin Penning of Norwich, clerk, deceased, according to his will dated June 15, 1696, settled a messuage and garden in St. Paul's parish, (fn. 104)
the west part abutting on Magdalen-street, on feoffees, who are to dispose of the clear profits annually, one-third part to the overseers of St.
Paul's, and another to the overseers of St. James and Pokethorp,
which is constantly divided among the poor there. He settled also
500l. on 7 trustees, who when they are reduced to three, are always
to choose four new ones, who are to put out the 500l. interest free, for
7 years, at 25l. to each person, who are to be young tradesmen, and
inhabitants of the parishes of St. Paul, St. James, Pokethorp hamlet, St.
Clement, St. George of Colegate, or St. Benedict in Norwich.
Tho. Chickering of Thorp, Esq. by will gave 52 bushels of sea coals,
or 26s. 8d. every other year, to the church-wardens, to be paid within
14 days next after Christmas day, to be divided among the poor. (See
St. James's parish.)
1618, Sept. 17, Soloman Leech of Ling, Gent. (fn. 105) settled his lands, &c.
in Ling, for the payment of 6s. 8d. per annum to St. Paul's poor, to
be divided the first Sunday after All-Saint's day. Also to Ling poor
6d. a Sunday in bread, 10s. for a commemoration. sermon on Sunday
after All-Saints, and 16d. per annum towards bell-ropes.
Edmund Topclyff, Gent. by his will ordered Andrew Topclyff of
Hofton St. John, to pay yearly out of his estate, to the overseers of
the poor of the parishes of St. Paul, St. James, St. Laurence, and St.
Margaret's, 5s. each, upon every 28th day of Dec. to buy two-penny
loaves to be given to the poor there every New-Year's day. (fn. 106)
Mr. Christopher Giles tied his houses for payment of 10s. per annum on Michaelmas day, (fn. 107) to be given in coals. (fn. 108)
On Holy Thursday Mr. Tilney's gift of 10s. per annum (fn. 109) is given in
bread; and also Mr. Pollard's annuity. (fn. 110)
1698, Mr. John Cory, gave by will to Joseph his brother, his houses
in St. Edmund's, on condition to pay out of them, to the senior alderman of Fibridge ward, every first day of May, 40s. per annum, to buy
plain well bound English Bibles, to give to the poor children of
Pokthorp, St. James, St. Paul's, St. Edmund's, St. Clement's, St.
Saviour's, St. George of Colgate, St. Michael Coslany, St. Mary's, St.
Martin's at Oak, and St. Austin's, with power to enterfor nonpayment.
1568, Alderman Nic. Norgate, gave a rood of land lying out of
Magdalen gates, between his close and his 3-acre piece, for the citizens
to lay their compost on, and particularly the inhabitants of Fybridge
ward. (Will Book, fo. 16, b.)
Mr. Will. Gedge gave 100l. the interest to be disposed of yearly, to
the poor of Pokethorp, 50s. to St. James's poor 25s.; and to St. Paul's
25s. per annum for ever, to be paid at Christmas; with this an annuity
of 5l, per annum clear was purchased and settled, issuing out of houses
in St. Paul's, now belonging to Mr. John Hall. He died about
There is an ancient house in this parish opposite to St. James's
church, in which Mr. Rich Carr now dwells, which was called anciently Fastolff's Place, and was built by the great Sir John Fastolff
of Castor by Yarmouth, Knt. and is called in some old evidences, his
place or city-house in Pokethorp; to which manor it pays a rent of
1s. 5d. a year. His great hall is now a baking office; the bow window is adorned with the images of St. Margaret, St. John Baptist, in
his garment of camel's hair, the Virgin Mary, St. Blase holding a wool
comb, and St. Catherine. In a large north window are 10 effigies, of
great warriours and chiefs, as David, Sampson, Hercules, &c. holding
bows, swords, halberds, &c. ornaments suitable to the taste of so great
a warriour as Sir John was.
At the extremity of the north-west corner of this parish, where
Cowgate, or St James's-street, meets with Tolthorp-lane, which leads
from the north end of Rotten-rowe, was anciently a pit, called St.
Paul's pit, and by it stood the pound for the manor of Norman's,
which was taken down in 1653, and removed to St. Martin's Plain;
and in 1679, it was removed again hither, but now the pit is filled up,
and the pound taken away.
The following inscriptions are in the nave of this church,
Orate pro anima Elizabethe, primogenite Roberti Drury Ar-
Orate pro anima Richardi Make quondam Curati Ecclesie Pa-
rochialis de Jrsted qui obiit rv die Mensis Febr. Ao Moro. rr.
Hc iacet Jsabella Amusan Uidua quondam Uroris Roberti
Orate pro anima Willi: Lawes, cuius anime propicietur Deus.
Hester Allen widow, daughter of Clement Shepherd, 1684. Sarah
wife of Clement 1666. Clement Shepheard 1682, 70. Ric. Hickling
junior, 1698. Anne daughter of Clement Barker 1698. Will. Hardingham 1678. Eliz. his wife 1688, 5 children, of which Sarah and
Mary died June 28 and 29, 1708, the first aged 62, the last 57. Sarah
wife of Tho, Marker 1717.
In a south window, arg. a fess gul. between three eagles displayed
S. impales or a maunch gul.
In the chancel, Blithe, arg. on a fess gul. between three bees volant proper, three escalops or. Motto, diligentia et labore.
Crest, a red rose slipped proper.
Martha wife of Will. Blithe Esq. sometime mayor, Feb. 1, 1715, 55.
Will. son of John Framingham Gent. late of Walsingham, married
the daughter of William Blithe Esq. and died April 30, 1717, 23,
Will. Blithe Esq. Aug. 26, 1724, 66. He was mayor in 1704, and
Rachel wife of Ric. Crosley 1706, 19. Rob. Waffe 1713, 54. Rob.
Brook 1647, 51. Hellen daughter of Philip Bedingfield the elder of
Ditchingham Esq; 1683, Bedingfield's arms in a lozenge.
Margery wife of Ric. Carr, 18 March, 1736, 40.
There is a stone with brass effigies of an alderman and his wife, but
the inscription is lost, and an adjoining one hath a merchant's mark
only, on a brass shield.
The chapel of St. Mary, now the vestry, hath four shields carved
on the screens; on the first is St. George's arms; on the 2d a cross
fleuré, towards the chancel; and on the inside, a cipher on each, viz.
C. L. and a plain cross for Christopher Lestrange, Esq. who was at
part of the expense; and a plain cross; and an E. and D. conjoined,
for Eliz. Drury, who was buried in the church, and was at the rest.
In the east window, Ufford, with a batoon arg.
In the north isle,
Of your Charite pray for the Soule of Richard Borough the
Son of Mr. Borough of Yermouth.
Mr. Ric. Hall, beer-brewer, 31 May, 1725, 39. Catherine Dr. of
Daniel and Eliz. Ireland 1738.
On an altar tomb on the south side, in the churchyard,
Crest, a talbot's head cooped erm. Erm. on a chief sab. three
talbots erm. Mr. Benjamin Barrell 1713, 49.
On the bells:
1.Uirginis egregie Uocor Eampana Marie.
2.Per Thome Meritis mereamur Gaudia Lucis.
3.Hcc fit Sanctorum Campana Laude Bonotum.
The other part of the parish beyond the pit and pound, is not in the
exempt jurisdiction of St. Paul's hospital, and consequently not in
that of the dean and chapter, for anciently it was the separate parish of
(116) All-Saints in Fybridge-Gate,
Which was one of the ancient parochial churches mentioned in Domesday book; (fn. 111) the patronage of it, together with that of St. Margaret in
Fybridge-gate, was given to the convent, by Hubert son of Ralf, (fn. 112) when
they were both rectories; this being valued at 12s. and paid 3d. synodals; but was not taxed; he settled it on the almoner, for his own
and family's souls, and to be admitted a brother of the convent, and
to be prayed for, for ever in their bed-roll; and Bishop John de Grey
appropriated all the profits, finding a stipendiary priest constantly to
serve it. It stood at the north corner of the street called Cowgate, at
its very entrance into Magdalen-street, directly opposite to Mr. Beavor's house, and abutted south on Cowgate; the churchyard is now a
garden, the parish belonging to it, extended to Magdalen-gates, on the
north side of Magdalen-street, and under the walls, till it met with St.
James's bounds, and was bounded south by Cowgate, except the houses
opposite to the churchyard, which were also in this parish, and are
now in St. Paul's.
The leper-house without Magdalen's-gates, on the east side of
the way, was in this parish; and it appears, that though they had a
small oratory or chapel belonging to it, for their private use, it had
then no burial place, for the lepers that died there were buried in this
churchyard, till 1448, and then there was a new chapel built for the
lepers at Fybridge-gate, and a small burial place added thereto; and
it was not dissolved, but continued as a place of reception for the poor,
under the care of a master or guider, instead of the hermit who formerly presided over the lepers; (fn. 113) and in 1604, Tho. Giles was guider
of it: in 1668, the alms-houses at Magdalen-gates belonged to the parish, and were given by Mr. Throckmorton, to be inhabited by widows.
In 1477, there was a fine font erected in All-Saints church, and there
was a good parsonage, not far distant from the north-west corner of
the churchyard, in which the chaplains dwelt till its dissolution, since
which time it belonged to the dean and chapter; the almoner had a
house and land in this parish, given by Constantine the tanner; and
other small rents here, given by Katerine, daughter of Maud Person,
&c. In 1485, Henry Goodwin, and in 1515, John Stile, was buried in
Parish Chaplains of All-Saints church,
1440, the prior and convent received only 10s. this year, from the
chaplains of the churches of St. Saviour and All-Saints, because they
had all the revenues besides, assigned them for serving the cures.
1468, Sir Rob. Martham. The parish of St. Margaret in Fybridge
was united to this.
1491, Sir Robert Wakerle. 1492, Brother Ric. Reeve, a carmelite.
1498, Brother Tho. Pelles, a monk. Sir Roger Mondes. Sir Rob.
Freeman. 1515, Brother Gibson, an Austin friar, 1536, Brother Rob.
Thew, a carmelite. 1544, John Hey.
1550, March 10, the dean and chapter granted this church, churchyard, lead, bells, &c. to the mayor and citizens for 500 years, at 4d.
per annum rent, and the May following, the parishioners assembled
and went to Catton to the dean, to ask, if he with the assent of the
chapter, had sold their church to the mayor and court? whose answer
was "'twas nouther giffen nor sold," notwithstanding they had sealed
the conveyance two months before, upon which they were easy; but
to their surprise, the very next month, their parish was united to St.
Paul's, and the church pulled down, and immediately the city for 49l.
sold the church and churchyard, and all that remained belonging to it,
except a pair of chalices, to Christopher Soame, who was to pay a
yearly rent of 6s. 8d. to St. Giles's hospital; and 5 Edward VI. a lease
of the churchyard was sealed to Rob. Suckling, as pertaining to the
hospital revenues. (fn. 114)
And thus this church was demolished, by the under-hand dealings
of the dean and chapter, and city; the one swallowed the revenues,
parsonage-house, &c. and got rid of the serving curate's stipend; and
the other got the bells, lead, plate, &c. for a trifling sum, to acquiesce
in their proceedings; by which means the parishioners could have no
This parish, though it is united to St. Paul's, is not a peculiar of the
dean and chapter, as that is; but at this day is, or ought to be, as to
spiritual jurisdiction, under the Archdeacon of Norwich, as well as that
other parish of
(117) St. Margaret in Fybridge-Gate,
Which was united to All-Saints, and with that became also part of
St. Paul's parish, as it now remains; this church was given to the
prior and convent, along with All-Saints, and stood on the west side
of Magdalen-street, upon the spot where Mr. Bell's stable now stands.
It is anciently called St. Margaret in Combusto; this being in that
part of the city which was burnt in the fire, that consumed the greatest part on this side the water, in the Conqueror's time; it is sometimes called St. Margaret by the Gates; it was valued as a rectory, at
13s. 4d. and paid 3d. synodals, but was not taxed; it was settled at the
appropriation, by Bishop Grey, on the almoner, and afterwards on the
infirmary of the monastery.
It appears, that all persons executed on the gallows out of Magdalen-gates, could claim a right to be buried in this churchyard; which
shows, that all the land lying on the west side of the road, which is now
in St. Paul's parish, originally belonged, and paid tithes to this parish,
and that the triangular hill where the gallows formerly stood, now given to lay muck on, was also in this parish. In 1453, the Bishop colated Will. Brygg to this church, as a lapsed rectory. In 1491, Ric.
Percy accounted with the prior for the tithe corn of this parish. and
in 1520, the tithes were let to Tho. Franceys; and in 1547, were leased
with the lands of St. Paul's hospital. The church was served by stipendiary chaplains till its dissolution, and was then granted off, and
now continues a private property.
The dean and chapter of the college of St. Mary in the Fields had
a house here, and several houses paid small rents to the priory, of the
gift of William, son of Richard the smith of Fibrigge, and Will. de
Titleshall. (fn. 115)
John de Norwich, rector of Tid, gave to the nuns of Blakebergh, for
the soul of the Lady Catherine his sister, two shillings annual rent out
of his house here. There were also many houses and shops which
paid small yearly rents to,
Magdalen-hospital, which is about half a mile north-east out
of these gates, which from thence are called
The old names of Fibridge-gates, and the Lepers-gates being totally
This hospital is just into the bounds of the neighbouring village
of Sprowston, and stands in a bottom.
The whole chapel is now converted into a barn; the hospital joined
to its south side, of which there are but few ruins.
Bishop Herbert built it on the ground belonging to his church; (fn. 116)
and appointed it for lepers, endowing it well for that purpose. It was
valued at 10l. and is in Taverham deanery; it is called a free-chapel,
hospital, or house of lepers; there were many gifts given "to the
three Magdalens" Thetford, Lyn, and Norwich. It was always in
the Bishop's collation, and
The Masters or Guardians,
Were inducted by the archdeacon of Norwich, and were to account
annually to the Bishop.
1288, Adam de Schotesham. 1291, Peter de Dallyng, chaplain, O.
Nic. Banningham, resigned. 1315, Sir Ralf de Baketone, custos.
1329, Adam Wombe, resigned. 1332, Rob. de Knapton. 1334, Peter
Aleyn of Moringthorp. 1334, Will Morle of Blickling. Pe'er de
Attlebrigge, R. 1341, Martin de Sandringham. 1342, John de Bromholm; he changed in 1345, with Roger de Nafreton, for Framlingham
Earl. 1350, Tho. Claxton, he changed in 1367, with John Multon,
for St. Mary Magdalen's hospital in Ipswich.
A° 1370, Sir Rob. de Salle, Knt. (fn. 117) was beheaded at St. Mary Magdalen's chapel, June 17. 1393, Richard son of Tho. atte Townsend of
Eton. R. 1407, Jeffery de Canyard of Hegham. 1416, Tho. Bontemps.
1436, John Thorneg. 1444, Simon Thornham, LL. B. Mr. Nic. Goldwell, O. 1505, Will. Stillington. Tho. Brerewood, doctor of the
decrees. (fn. 118) 1528, Will. Leveson. 1530, John Sampson.
In 1547, Edward VI. by letters patent dated at Aldersbrook June
7, for 276l. granted to Sir Robert Southwell, Knt. Master of the Rolls,
and John Corbet, Esq. the dissolved chapel of St. Mary Magdalen in
Sprowston, standing near the city of Norwich, the site, messuage,
grange, and all lands in the adjoining fields; the bruery, sheeps-walk,
liberty of faldage in Norwich fields, and all revenues in Sprowston and
Thorp, thereto belonging; and all the fair called Mary Magdalen-fair,
held yearly, and late belonging to the chapel; and all tollage, piccage,
stallage, and customs, and the pie-powder court in the fair, (fn. 119) the assise, assay, correction, &c. of wine, bread, ale, and victuals, in the fair during
the fair time, and all fines, amerciaments, issues, forfeitures, profits,
and other rights, belonging to the pie-powder court there; which fair
was to last three days, viz. the vigil, day, and morrow, of St. Mary
Magdalen; and it is still kept.
1549, William Bishop of Norwich, and John Sampson, master,
released and quit-claimed, to John Corbet, senior, all their right, title,
and interest in this free-chapel and hospital, and all its revenues, and to
his heirs, from which time it hath passed with the manor of Sprowston,
and so continues.
Benefactors to this hospital were,
Alexander le Moyne, son of Peter le Moyne, who confirmed to the
brethren and sisters of this house, and to Nicholas, chaplain of Berstrete,
12d. yearly rent, out of lands held by Nic. in Wrenningham, and Lady
Ela, mother of Alexander, confirmed her son's gift. Sir John le Bretun, Sir Hugh son of Rob. de Thorp, Sir Thomas de St. Omer, and
others, being witnesses, Alex. de London gave them a house in St.
Margaret Westwick. (fn. 120)
Will. Miles of Sparham gave a rent of a quarter of barley yearly,
out of his land at Sparham. Serlo de Stubhate and Henry de Tholetorp,
gave lands by their site in 1252. Walter, son of Will. Barun of Cringleford, gave half an acre in Cringleford, by the half acre of land which
Hugh, son of Roger Barun, gave them. Will. son of Ralf de Cringleford, gave lands about 1294. William son of Ralf de Swerdeston,
released an acre by the church of All-Saints in Casewic by Hertford
bridge, which Sir Alex. le Vaux, lord there, gave to the hospital. In
1290, Walter de Melleford, chaplain, vicar of South-Yarmouth, now
called Gorleston, gave them an acre in Sprowston, close by their site.
John de Hoxne gave them his tenement in St. Vedast's parish; they
had also houses in St. George Tombland, and St. Peter Mancroft in
Formerly the mayor, sheriffs, aldermen, and whole body, rode on
St. Mary Magdalen's day, in procession to this chapel, with the city
watch before them, in their watching harness, to the great preservation
of the city harness, or armour, which was always then new scoured; it
was omitted in Henry the Eighth's time, but revived again in the 24th
of that Prince; every constable and his watch to attend the court in
their armour, as usually heretofore was done; and the court always
offered at St. Mary's chapel there, and then went to the common
wrestling-place, and saw such exercises performed there, according to
ancient custom. But this is discontinued ever since James the First's
(119) The Church of St. Buttolph the Abbot,
Stood more south in Magdalen-street, not far north of Stump-cross; its
churchyard abutted east on the said street, and west on St. Buttolph's,
commonly called Buttle-street: and is now the White-horse-yard; it
was a rectory, valued at 13s. 4d. and paid 5d. synodals, and it stands
now in the King's Books as a rectory valued at 2l. 7s. 8d. ob. chargeable with 4s. 9d. ob. yearly tenths, and 8d. procurations, and is yearly
certified into the Exchequer, to be without an incumbent, and put to
The religious concerned here were, the Priors of Pentneye, Norwich,
and St. Faith's, and the Prioress of Carrowe.
1308, Master Eustace de Kimberle purchased the house and land
joining to the north-west part of the churchyard, with the advowson
of the church, of Rob. de Gotherston and Cecily his wife, son and heir
of Sir Jeffery de Gotherston, Knt. and settled them for a parsonagehouse and glebe for ever, but conveyed the advowson to Aylmer de Sygate of Erpingham, the founder of the family of the Aylmers in Norfolk.
1309, Eustace resigned to
Will. Stone of Aylsham, priest.
1328, Will. son of John de Berton.
1333, Will. Stone again.
1335, Adam Umfrey of Gillingham; all which were presented by
John son of Aylmer de Sygate of Erpingham; whose son, John Aylmer
of Erpingham, presented
Ralf Cat of Berningham, in 1345.
1351, John Sparhauk by lapse. In
1355, Cat took it again, on his former patron's presentation, and in
1359, changed it for Saxthorp free-chapel with
Simon Maschal, who in 1361, changed it for Oxwick, with
John Mathew. In
1367, Walter Gudeman of Burgate was presented by Agnes Horn,
to whom John Aylmer sold the advowson; he died and was buried in
the chancel, in 1387. In
1388, Tho. Alderman had it, and resigned it to
William Walkeline, who the same year changed it for Besthorp, (fn. 121) with
Tho. Killingworth, who resigned it immediately for Windham
vicarage, (fn. 122) in exchange with
John Stukele, who were all presented by John Aleyn, senior, and John Aleyn, junior, who purchased it of Horn.
1393, John at Hill. John Aleyn, junior; he resigned in
1400, to William at Hill, and he the next year resigned in exchange
for Chanreth in London diocese, to
John, son of Rob, de Sewstern, who the next year, resigned to
Ralph de Redham.
Will. Gibbs resigned in
1428 to John Cawston; all these were presented by John Aleyn
aforesaid, worsted-weaver of Norwich, whose widow, Alice, married
Augustine Bang, who presented in
1438, John Tilley, who was buried in the friars-preachers church in
1443, and was succeeded by
John Geywood, who was presented by John Bertram of
Atilbrige; he resigned in
1446, to Will. Norman, who was presented by Gregory Queyntrill of Norwich, who sold it to Sir Tho. Kerdeston, (fn. 123) who either gave
or sold the advowson to the prior and convent of St. Faith at Horsham, and they presented to the Dissolution,
1456, Henry Goose, on Norman's resignation.
1490, John Julyan, ob.
1493, Tho. Keele, ob.
1501, John Roper, ob.
1505, Will. Stephens; he died rector, and was the last the church
had; for in 1544, it was made a private property, by Henry VIII. who
granted it to Will. Godwin; and in 1548, the church being quite demolished, the parish was united in form, to St. Saviour's, (fn. 124) with which
it now continues.
In 1560, Sir George Howard, Knt. seized it, by virtue of a grant of
concealed lands, from the Crown; but it took no effect, the original
grant of Henry VIII. being produced.
In 1473, Henry Owdolff was buried in the church by his father's
tomb. 1475, Alderman John Butte was buried in the chancel, and
Tho. Collys in the churchyard, and gave a silver chalice. In 1499,
Alderman John Pynchamore was interred in the church, and settled
an obit for three years here, for the souls of Joan his wife, Hen. Owdolff, John Clok and Kat. his wife, &c. In 1508, Tho. Alberd gave a
legacy to repair this church.
On the east side of the street, more south, stands
(120) The Church of St. Saviour,
Or the church of the Transfiguration of Christ; a rectory given in
the time of John de Oxford Bishop of Norwich, to the almoner of the
convent, by Will. Bardolf, Ralf Busing, and Robert son of Ulfketel
Busing, the patrons; (fn. 125) and that Bishop appropriated it to the almoner;
it was valued at 12s. paid 3d. synodals, but was not taxed. It was
served by stipendiary chaplains, paid by the convent, who repaired the
chancel; (fn. 126) and after the Dissolution, the dean and chapter paid an
annual stipend of 10l. to the curate. It paid no procurations; and
was a peculiar of the dean and chapter. In 1400, Sir Will. de Kerdeston, Knt. had a house by the churchyard; and in 1450, Sir Tho.
Kerdeston had the advowson, by lease, I suppose, from the convent.
In 1508, there was a dispute whether St. Mary Unbrent should be
united to this, or this to that, and which church was to be demolished.
The religious concerned here were, the Prior of Norwich, who had
the land of Ailward Genegod, given by Gilbert Malet, and Agnes de
Rifler, his wife, for the almoner's use. The Prior of Waborn. The
Prioress of Carrow. The Master of Norman's spital, who had a rent
out of a house settled by Will. Tutte, 2d Edward II. when he conveyed
it to John de Dunwich, rector of Southwalsham. The Preceptor of the
Commandry of St. John of Jerusalem at Karbrook had rent out of a
house by the land of Nic. de Kerbrook. 15 Edward II. Cecily, anchoress of the church of St. Mary Unbrent, owned a tenement on the
south side of the churchyard, which she gave 33d Edward I. to St.
Mary's Unbrent church. The college of St. Mary in the Fields.
The Priors of Hickling, St. Faith, and Bromholm. The Abbot of
Here was an anchoress by this church, for Will. de Kirkely, Prior of
Norwich, paid 3s. quitrent, due yearly to Sabine, the anchoress at St.
1492, Sir John Owdolf, parish chaplain. John Kemp, rector. 1598,
Tho. Hech. 1604, Martin Stebbing. 1619, John Chater, curate.
1620, Fulk Roberts, B. D. the mayor and justices subscribed a rate
made for his stipend, amounting to about 30l. for this year. (fn. 127) Mr.
Roberts came to court, (fn. 128) and complained of Denys Lermyt, Abraham
Castell, junior, and Michael Filkyn, "for detaining the duties to him,
being minister of St. Saviour's, according to the rate established by
force of the Counsells letter." (fn. 129) The ministers of Holm-street, St.
George of Colgate, and St. Laurence, desired rates according to those
letters, and they move for the like course to be taken for the rest of
the ministers of the city, which have cause to complain for persons
refusing their dues.
Tho. Scott, A. M. (See Wood's Ath. Ox. fo. 846.)
1631, 5 June, Edward Smith, rector. 1636, Ric. Gamon, Junior,
curate. 1638, Henry Spendlove, minister.
1647, The Spouse's hidden Glory, &c. in two lecture sermons, at St.
Andrew's in Norwich, dedicated to Sir John Hobart, Knt. and Bart.
Member of the House of Commons, and Lady Frances Hobart, to
whom he was chaplain. Solomon's Song, chap. 8, verse 8. By
John Collins, A. M. preacher of God's word in St. Saviour's parish
Thomas Allen. (See first vol. Wood's Ath. Ox. p. 514.)
1679, Laurence Townley. Mr. John Barker.
The Rev. Samuel Salter, D. D. Archdeacon of Norfolk, prebendary
of Norwich, rector of Bramerton, and curate of St. George in Colgate,
is minister here.
The parishioners raised 28l. per annum by voluntary contribution in
Dr. Prideaux's time.
There was a chapel and altar, of St. Nicholas in this church, and in
1372, Alan Popy, citizen, was buried by it.
In 1447, John Brond, citizen, was buried by the font.
1503, Nicholas Corpusty, buried in the church by Alice his wife, and
gave 40l. by 8 marks a year, for the curate to sing for his soul.
1611, 19 June, three young women were buried here, who were
trodden under foot and smothered on the gild day, Mr. Anguish being
The arms of Calthorp impaling Withe, and Calthorp impaling St. Omer, were in these windows; 18 E. II. Sir Jeffry Withe,
Knt. had a house in the parish.
In 1673, 20s. paid by the chamberlain, to re-edify Stump-cross, on
the ground it formerly stood on; it was demolished in 1644, by the
chamberlain, and the stones taken to the city's use.
Benefactors to this parish are,
Edward Nutting; for his gift see Pt. I. p. 409, and for that of Prudence Blosse, widow, see Pt. I. p. 377. The widows houses were fallen
to decay, and being not habitable, were some time since leased out by
the court, from Lady day 1739, for 120 years, at a clear rent charge
of 40s. per annum, to Mr. Ric. Roberts; and the city committee yearly
grant an order for the chamberlain to pay 10s. a year to every one of
the four widows, which are named by the church-wardens, and chief
inhabitants of St. Saviour, to the court, all which must dwell in the
For Mr. John Cory's gift, see p. 436.
Mr. Tho. Layer gave a stock of 5l. to be put out, and the interest
given to the poor.
For Sir John Suckling's gift, see p. 309.
An annuity of 20s. per annum issuing out of Mr Osborne's estate, was
sold by the trustees for 20l. which is now in hand as parish stock, and
the interest given to the poor.
The church of St. Saviour, hath a south porch and nave only, which
are leaded; the north vestry and chancel are tiled; the tower is square,
in which is only a clock and one bell; here is service and a sermon
once every week.
The following persons are buried in the chancel,
Joan wife of Christopher Stallon 1704, 60. Christopher Stallon,
sheriff in 1694, died 1720, 78. Erm. on a pale three lions passant.
Eliz. Thurston, - - - - - - Edmond Thurston. - - - -
Christopher son of James Norris merchant 1673. Mary wife of
Ely Phillipo 1650. Will Greenwood 1700, 53. Anne his wife 1702,
38. John Wrench Esq. some time mayor, 1697, 72. Anne his 2d
wife 1685, 59.
Wrench, gul. three croslets in bend or, impaling chequy on a
chief a barrulet indented. Crest, an oaken leaf.
Elisha Phillipo Esq. and Isabell his wife, of Norwich. He was
High-Sheriff of Norfolk in 1675. They both died in 1678. Onias his
brother 1693, 67.
Phillipo, arg. a chevron between three roses gul. impaling on a
chevron a mullet.
Timothy Harper 1711, Judith his first, and Anne his second wife.
Unto his Friend he Honest was, and Just,
His Name surviveth, now he lies in Dust.
The stone was placed by Robert Harper his son in 1713.
Christian wife of Joseph Hammont 1732, 52. Abigail wife of John
Jackson 1732, 42.
Also John Jackson, whose paternal care, integrity of life, and inflexable patience under a languishing and incurable disease, made him,
as well living as dying, a useful example to others, 1738, 69.
There are stones in the church, for
Edward Pistoll 1675. Martha his wife 1674, 2 fesses ingrailed between three mullets. Tho. Cady 1710, 50. Susan his first wife, and
10 of their children. James Denew 1647, 4. Nat. Rose Gent.
He lyes at rest, Whose Soul is blest.
Mr. Rob. Thorold 1674. Mr. Joseph Elmy Merchant 1646.
Mr. Rose Merchant 1646.
Reconditorium Thomæ Barbor hujus Civitatis, illustris Senatoris, qui obijt Quinto die Maij A° Christi 1643.
Si noveras illum, Lector, nunc morte peremptum,
Vel cuperes illum vivere, Te ve mori.
In the windows, arg. two fesses and a canton gul. impales erm. two
Az. a fess between six croslets or.
Anne relict of Will. Drake sheriff, Dr. of Tho. Barbor alderman.
John Drake sheriff, 1712, 64. Mary his relict 1727, 89.
On a mural monument on the north side of the chancel,
Nutting, gul. on a chevron between six garbs in saltier or, three
tuns sab. (fn. 130)
Mr. Edward Nutting born at Carleton in Leicestershire, was
one of the Sherifes of this City A° 1602, and deceased A°. 1616.
He bequeathed unto this City 50l. to be freely lent among young
Occupiers of the Brewers, whereof himself was one. To the
City Library 5l. and 10l. a year for ever, to yield every Sunday
2s. 6d. to the Preacher at the Common Place, and forty Shillings
a Year to the Minister of this Parish. Item, 13s. 4d. yearly, the
one half thereof for a Sermon in this Church, upon the Sunday
next after the 4th of Sept. and the other half to the poor of the
Parish; and diverse other many good gifts in other places.
Prudence Blois widdow, late wife of Tho. Blois Esq; and before
that, the wife of the above said Mr. Nutting, departed this Life
the 23d Day of Febr. 1634, who bequeathed to the Childrens Hospital one hundred Pounds. Item, an House of Habitation for
Widdows freely to dwell in for ever. Item, to the Minister of
this Parish 13s. 4d. Yearly. Item, to the Poor of this Parish 10l.
by 20s. yearly, also 13s. 4d. yearly, for ever. And to the City
Library a Spanish Bible of 25l. price, and many other charitable
Deeds, which cannot be here inserted.
Mr. Ric. Priest 1741, 62. - - - - Pleasants - - - 16 - - -
Maurice Son of Ric. and Eliz. Humfrey, Febr. 9, 1730, 18, and 3
other children infants. Ric. died 1714. Ric. 1715, Deborah 1719.
Crest an hawk rising from a crown, holding a spear. A crown and
lion rampant in pale, impale a chevron between three crescents Eliz.
wife of Thomas Tawell daughter of Ric. and Eliz. Humphry 1739, 23.
Eliz. Humphrey their mother Sept. 1, 1742, 58.
Mr. Farr 1736. Tim. Rose Gent. 1720.
There is a fire-engine in the porch, and gravestones for Mr. Mat.
Press 26 Sept. 1738, 65. Catherine his wife Apr. 4, 1736, 63. Anne
daughter of Matthew and Catherine Press 1723, 31.
John Wegg 1740, 56. Eliz. his Wife Apr. 1744, 89. Susanna
wife of John Press 17 Aug. 1737, 34. Crest, a mermaid, er. on a
fess three mullets impaling an eagle displayed.
Margaret wife of Will. Farr school-master, daughter of Rob. Hacon
late of Brusyard hall in Suffolk Gent. died July 1, 1736, 49.
Against the east end of the chancel wall in the churchyard, is a
small memorial, for Eliz. wife of John Banton, 1724, 66.
The register here, hath these two lines at the beginning, with E. S.
for Edward Smith rector, with these lines under them.
Janua Baptismus, medio stat Tæda Jugalis,
Utroque es fœlix: Mors pia, si sequitur.
(121) Doughty's Hospital
In St. Saviour's parish, and was founded by William Doughty,
Gent. an account of which we learn from the two tables of stone
fixed at the entrance of the hospital, with this inscribed on them: (fn. 131)
William Doughty Gent. who spent the latter part of his Dayes in
this Citie, did by his last Will dated Apr. the XXV, MDLXXXVII.
appoint several Trustees to dispose and lay out Six Thousand Pounds,
for erecting and endowing this Hospitall, (fn. 132) and did therein appoint
(after a certain Time) the Court of this Citie, to fill up, and continue
Twenty-four Poor Men, and Eight Poor Women, in this Place, to
the End of the World, each being Aged above LX Years, and to receive the Profitts of the said Endowments, &c. And to pay weekly
to the Master hereof, (who is to be a Single Man, (fn. 133) and by them successively chosen) 3l. 8s. and lay into the Cellars yearly XXXII Chalder of Coales, and to clad the Men with Coats, and the Women with
Gownes of purple Cloth, at their Enterance, and every two Years after,
and turn out either Master or Poor, if they observe not the orders of
this Place, as is briefly mentioned in the other Table.
The Master of this Place is every Saturday Morning to pay to
each poor Person two Shillings, and daily and equally to deliver the
Coales to them, and to see good Orders kept, and when any Dye to Acquaint the Court therewith immediately, and to do the same if any be
disorderly; for the due Performance whereof, the said Master, shall
retain Weekly for his Paines, 4s. besides his dwelling, (in which he
must constantly inhabit) and the said Poor People must constantly
dwell in this Place, and so wear their Coates or Gownes, and live
peaceaby with the Master and with one another, as becomes Christians, neither cursing, Swearing, keeping bad Hours, nor being Drunk.
The rents of the estates belonging to this hospital in 1742, were,
|John Stimpson of Burston in Diss hundred per annum||95||0||0|
|Tho. Springhall of Calthorp, per annum||46||0||0|
|John Seaman of Hillington, per annum||95||0||0|
|From the Rev. Mr. Fremanteel, vicar of Calthorp||7||0||0|
|The 3d part of 50l. per annum from Will. Belson of
|A year's rent for Calthorp manor||18||15||10|
|Paid the master, A° 1742, for himself and the nurse,
and the several poor persons in the hospital, being
52 weekly payments, &c.||179||18||0|
|To Edward Molden a year's salary as bailiff||4||0||0|
|Mr. Tho. Johnson's salary as apothecary||4||0||0|
|To Mr. Tho. Cappwin for 32 chaldrons of coals, tonnage, and all other charges of carriage to the hospital||40||11||8|
|Engrossing the account||0||10||0|
|Emptying the muck-bing||0||5||0|
Philip Meadows, Esq. is the present  treasurer and receiver,
and Nathaniel Palmer is the present master.
More south, on the west side of Magdalen-street, stood
(122) The Church of St. Mary Unbrent,
Was valued at 3l. 5s. 5d. in the Kings Books, and was called St. Mary
in Combusto, (fn. 134) was a rectory valued at 20s. paid 6d. synodals, but was
not taxed; it was in the patronage of the college of St. Mary in the
Fields, who presented all the rectors that belonged to it.
1263 Ralph de Newton. Walter of St. Faith's. Bartholomew.
1309, Rob. de Sempringham.
1337, Walter Levyot.
1349, John son of Robert de Teynton.
1374, Will. de Broxford.
1389, Will. de Fornham.
1422, Edmund Aylesham.
1437, John Browne.
1452, Brother Robert Carleton, a Carmelite.
1462, Brother Nic. Bungey.
1476, Brother Ric. Therston, a friar-preacher.
1489, John Owdolf, who had St. Saviour's.
1500, John Mathew.
1502, Tho. Yarmouth, alias Ludham.
1511, John Aleyn.
1513, John Happery.
1527, Tho. Cleyton.
1533, Tho. Kemp was the last rector; (fn. 135) for at the Dissolution, the
whole profits were returned to amount to only 36s. 8d. per annum,
upon which the whole was granted to the dean and chapter, except
the patronage, and they having obtained a consolidation of the parish
to St. Saviour's, granted the church, churchyard, lead, two little bells,
and all the materials, to Nic. Sotherton, grocer, the then patron, and
his heirs; upon which it was totally demolished; and in 1558, the
said Nicholas conveyed the city a foot path or passage through the
north side of this churchyard, which is now called the Golden-doglane, from that sign, which was formerly close by it; and in 1565, Nic.
Sotherton the younger, grocer, gave a tenement and orchard, by the
churchyard of St. Mary Unburnt, to St. Giles's hospital, they granting
him a lease of 500 years at 6s. 8d. yearly rent to the hospital. The
city house of Sir Rich. de Boyland, Knt. joined to the south side of
the churchyard. In 1272, Will. de Dunwich died in this parish. In
1292, a tenement in St. John's Maddermarket paid 2s. rent to the
church, and in 1257, Maud Titshall, Dr. of Will. de Rackhithe, gave
2d. per annum rent out of her messnage here, to the cellerer of the
convent; and in 1289, Nic. son of Walter Buckskyn, gave 9d. rent to
the hospital. The Prior of Cokesford had temporals here taxed at
3s. 4d. the Abbot of Sibton at 2s. the Prior of Hickling at 4s. the Prior
of Norwich at 10s. the dean of the chapel in the Fields at 4s. and the
Prioress of Carhow at 2d. ob.
To the west side of this churchyard joins,
(123) The Girls Hospital,
Over the door of which, this is inscribed,
ROBERT BARON Esq; Major of this City Anno Domini 1649,
was the first Benefactor towards the erecting of this Hospital, (fn. 136) and endowing the same, for the Education of young Girles; in which Year
he also died.
"I give unto the City of Norwich, the sum of 250l. which my Desire and Will is, should be employed for the training up of women
Children, from the Age of seaven, untill the age of fifteen Years, in
spinning, knitting, and dressing of Wooll, under the Tuition of an
aged, discreet, religious Woman thereto appointed, at some publique
Place, by the Magistrates Appointment; hoping some other well
affected, will so add to the same, that it may become a Means of great
Benefit to the City, and Comfort to the Poor; the same I will to be
paid within one Year after my Decease, in Case some Place be appointed thereto, and an Overseer thereof, by the city, as aforesaid." (fn. 137)
In 1652, the court appointed Anne wife of Joshua Griselwhite, to be
Dame of the children, to be kept in the new erected hospital called
the Girl's hospital, and appointed her a house at the New-hall, and be
allowed bedding, apparel, and linen for the girls, and 5l. a year for
every girl, and their work: and a chaldron of coals towards her firing,
she to maintain them in meat, drink, and washing, and to learn them
to knit, spin, sow, and read; and the same year, Mr. Robert Whittingham, merchant, gave the city 200l. towards the hospital. 1659, Mrs.
Alice Bishop, widow, gave by will 100l. and Mr. Will. Brooke an estate in Gorleston, leased then at 12l. per annum; but in 1672, it was
sold, and the money laid out towards another purchase. 1660, Mrs.
Gooch nominated the two first children of the gift of Mr. Rob. Gooch,
who gave a house and ground in Conisford, in St. Faith's-lane.
In 1664, the house in the Golden-dog-lane was repaired, and the
poor girls were removed from the Newhall thither, on Michaelmas day.
1666, Tho. Sugget had a lease of the farm of Barton Berry-hall at
40l. per annum, (fn. 138) and Mr. Rob. Rosse's gift was settled as at p. 129.
1679, Nic. Salter, Gent. gave 50l. and 50l. more after his wife's death. (fn. 139)
In 1670, the Hospital was rebuilt, and made a good strong brick
house, convenient for that purpose, at above 200l. expense, and was
finished about 1674. Mr. Francis Aylmer gave 30l. and Robert Thurrold, grocer, 30l. Alderman Will. Barnham gave by will in 1675 100l.
And this year, upon search made, it appeared, that the right of election of the matron or governess of the Girls hospital is in the court,
and not in the common council. (fn. 140) 1677, Mr. Nic. Newham gave 50l.
for a girl out of South Conisford ward. This year, a ring and several
diamonds, and 190l. the overplus of the personal estate of Mrs. Eliz.
Pendleton, were received by the treasurer, according to her will, (see
Pt. I. p. 415.) (fn. 141) 1679, 100l. received of the gift of Mr. Samuel Everard of London, deceased. 1688, Mr. John Bowde gave 200l. 1691,
Mrs. Alice Powel gave 50l. 1693, Henry Herne, Esq. 25l. 1694,
Mrs. Anne Baret 50l. 1695, Mrs. Sarah Baret 50l. Alderman Nic.
Bickerdike gave an estate in St. Peter's Mancroft, and St. John of
Timberhill a full third part of the clear profits to be paid to the Girls
hospital, 1702. Alderman Wisse gave 150l. 1704, and now 4l. per annum was allowed a man to teach the girls to read. John Hall, Esq.
The Rents of this hospital in 1742,
|Tho. Browne, for a house and ground in St. Peter per
|Robert Harvey, Esq. for the Tiger in St. Andrew's,
and the house late used by Mary Leicester||15||0||0|
|Tho. Francis for a farm in Forncet||40||0||0|
|Ric. Wright a farm in Buxton||24||0||0|
|Mrs. Bridget Peartree a tenement in St. Andrew's||4||0||0|
|Mr. John Hunting two tenements late Hunton's and
|Mrs. Priest for a tenement in St. Andrew's||6||10||0|
|Mr. Edw. Robinson, late Mr. Pinder's, for part of the
Great Garden. (fn. 142) ||7||0||0|
|William Diver, for a year's rent of part of the Great
|Alderman John Black, lease from Michaelmas 1725,
for 109 years of part of the Great Garden||1||10||0|
|Will. Cock ditto let to Rob. Cubitt from Michaelmas
1688, for 83 years||1||10||0|
|Will. Clark, Esq. now Joseph Hammond, for part of
the Great Garden (fn. 143) ||7||0||0|
|Mr. John Calver, ditto (fn. 144) ||4||0||0|
|Prudence High, ditto lease from Lady 1686, for 70
|Rob. Rogers ditto, late Philip Meadows, Esq.||5||0||0|
|Mr. Crow, late Jonathan Mills, ditto||7||0||0|
|Joseph Willimot ditto, lease from 1704, for 21 years||32||0||0|
|Mrs. Stafford, late Kirby||3||10||0|
|Mr. Joseph Money||18||0||0|
|Benjamin Westall, part of the Great Garden lease from
Michaelmas 1687, for 80 years||2||0||0|
|A year's rent from Barnham-Broome estate||8||3||4|
|Barnard Church's gift per annum (fn. 145) ||2||10||0|
|The interest of 150l. due from the corporation||6||0||0|
Annual Outgoings of the hospital,
|Mr. Thomas Johnson, apothecary||4||0||0|
|Mr. Edward Molden's salary as bailiff to take care of
|1742, Mrs. Mary Garret, matron of the hospital, her 4
quarterly bills and small bill, her salary for teaching
them to read is 10l. and her salary as matron is 5l.
The remainder being constantly laid out to clothe the children
bind them out apprentices, repair the houses, and pay the taxes, &c.
And it appears, that this hospital, from its original to the present time
hath been so justly managed, that as the revenues increased, there
were children added in proportion, so that from two only, (fn. 146) it hath now
no less than twenty and one poor girls, who are decently clothed in
blue, and well maintained with meat, drink, washing, and lodging, during their stay there; and are also taught to sew, knit, spin, and read,
and so made fit for apprentices or servants, and thereby rendered more
useful for the world, and happy for themselves, than it was possible
they could otherwise have been, to the honour of their benefactors,
and credit of those worthy persons who have been, and are, immediately
concerned in the management of this charity.
The present  treasurer is William Clark, Esq. and the governess or matron, is Mrs. Mary Garret.
(124) The Church of St. Clement the Martyr,
AT FIBRIDGE, OR BY COLEGATE,
Is one of the most ancient in the city; it belonged originally to the
Manor of Tokethorp, or Tolthorp, (fn. 147)
CUM FELETHORP OR FELTHORP,
The first par of which, took its name from Toke, (fn. 148) who owned it in
the time of Edward the Confessor, and held it of Bishop Stigand; in
the Conqueror's time, Enise Musar held in Tokethorp 30 acres, (fn. 149) I carucate, &c. then valued at 30s. of Alan Earl of Richmond, as of his
manor of Cosseye; but the manor of Tolthorp itself was then held by
Ribald, (fn. 150) as of the bishoprick, and was risen from 20 to 30s. value.
The other part, which was part of Felthorp, was held also of the
said Alan, as of his manor of Cosseye, and belonged to Turbert, lord
of Taverham, (fn. 151) in the Confessor's time, and was held by Haimer, lord
of Taverham, in the Conqueror's; and both these were joined in the
Gisney family, by whom they were held of the Earls of Clare, who
held them of the bishoprick. Gilbert de Clare, son of Richard, son of
Gilbert Earl of Brittanny, founded the church of St. John Baptist in
Clare, and gave it to the monks of Bek in Normandy, and made it a
college subject to the monks, and gave the college two parts of the
tithes of all his manors, and of those held of him in Norfolk, by virtue
of which, the Prior of Stoke had the two parts of the tithes of this parish, which the rector afterwards compounded for, at 20s. per annum,
and Roger de Gisnei, (fn. 152) who held Haveringland or Heverland, Whitewell,
Tolthorp, in Norwich, and the advowson of St. Clement's belonging to
that manor, confirmed to that house the said portion, and it was confirmed by the Archbishop of Canterbury, and by Pope Alexander III.
Ingelram de Gisnei, or Gyney, gave the advowson from the manor,
to the Prior of Hurst, or Mendham in Suffolk, and in 1250, Emma, his
daughter and heiress, widow of Henry de Tholetorp, settled it by fine
on Simon Prior of Mendham, and his successours.
The said Emma, by another fine then levied, settled an acre of marsh
in Haverlond, and divers lands and rents in Norwich suburbs, belonging to this manor, on Simon Prior of Norwich, and his successours; and
Henry de Tholetorp, her husband, who assumed his sirname from this
place, sold 2 acres of arable land, lying in the croft called Gildencroft, in Tolthorp in Norwich, for 3 marks, to John son of William
Cureye, to be held freely of Tolthorp manor by 12d. rent. In 1330,
Sir Gilbert de Tholthorp, Knt. was lord, and lived in the parish; and
in 1299, M. wife of Sir John de Bosco or Bois of Burnt-Illey in Suffolk, claimed Felthorp manor, as her dower, and they both conveyed
it to Sir Tho. Quitwell, rector of Fhelethorp; and in 1401, William
Everard held Tolthorp in Norwich suburbs, and Felthorp, which manor
Rob. de Felthorp lately held of Roger Jenney, at half a knight's fee,
and the said Roger held it of the Earl of March.
In 1409, Katherine Brewes, daughter of Sir John Tolethorp, Knt.
and neice and heiress of Sir Gilbert Tolthorp, Knt. granted to Sir Thomas Erpingham, Knt. and others, her manor of Tolthorp-hall in Norwich. In 1430, John Alderford of Norwich, Esq. was seized in fee, of
Tolthorp manor in Norwich, held at half a knight's fee, and many
lands in the suburbs, and other land, &c. belonging to his said manor
in Felthorp in Norfolk, (fn. 153) and soon after, it belonged to the famous Sir
John Fastolff of Castor, Knt. of the Garter, who in 1456, settled it on
his feoffees in trust, John Cardinal and Archbishop of Canterbury, John
Duke of Norfolk, Sir Ralph Butler, Knt. and others; together with his
manor and advowsons of Draiton, and Heylesdon, and other lands and
tenements in Norwich; and in 1460, the feoffees were in possession. In
1469, Will. Wainflete Bishop of Winchester, who had been infeoffed by
Sir Ralf Butler, Knt. and other of Sir John's feoffees, settled them on
Sir John Paston, Knt. Guy Fairfax, serjeant at law, John Paston, Esq.
Roger Townesend, Nic. Harvey, and Will. Danvers as trustees, to the use
of Sir John Paston, for one moiety, and the Bishop for the other. In
1498, Sir John Paston, Knt. held Tolthorp manor in Norwich, and divers lands and tenements there, of the grant of John Earlof Lincoln,
eldest son of John Duke of Suffolk, and of John de la Pole Duke of Suffolk and Alice his wife, and had it confirmed to him and his heirs, after
the attainder of that Earl, with the manor and advowson of Draiton, and
the manor and advowsons of the church, and two chantries in Hellesden.
It afterwards was settled on the bishoprick of Norwich, the Bishop of
the see being now lord.
The church hath a nave only, a chancel and north vestry, all which
are leaded, a square tower, clock, and three bells; the south porch is
On the 2d bell, O Martir Thoma, pro me deum erora.
On the 3d bell, Sancta Catherina, intercede pro me.
I found the following ancient inscriptions on brasses in the nave,
Hic iacet Elizabetha Corpsti nuper Uror Roberti Corpsti.
Orate pro animabus Ricard. Corpsti (fn. 154) t Katerine Uroris eius.
Of yomr Charite pray for the Sould of Master John Borough (fn. 155)
sumtyme Sheryf of this Cite, myche deyartyd out of this Warlde
xiiij Day of Sept. the Yere of omr Lorde God Moho xxix. on
whose Soule Jesu have Mercy Amen.
The mercer's arms impaled with his merchant mark, and a fess between three thistles, impale a chevron between six croslets.
Jesus. Sub marmore isto, in tumulo terreno, corpus iacet
rorruptibile Margarete Pattmode Uidue, que obiit xix die Mensis
Septembris Ao Dni: Mo CCCCCo cuius anime per Christi Pas
sionis Merita, fiveliumque suffragia, electa inter Agmina Eelis sit
In a north window, az. three lions heads erased or.
On a small stone against the south wall near the door,
Daniel Toft 1660, 47, Æternitatem Cogita. Toft, arg. a
chevron between three text T's sab.
Hic iacet Galfridus Omynsyruius anime propicietur deus Amen.
He is in an alderman's gown, and over his head is a label, on
Michi Jesu requies sis, post huius bite Labores.
The stone is removed, for his will, dated 1461, order him to be buried in the chancel.
O Jesu for thy Holy Name, and thy most precious Blood,
made mercy on the Soul of Elizabeth Wood,
Whiche in December the fourteenth Daye,
The Soule from her Booy thou tookest amaye,
In the Year of our Lorde 1546, then,
Jesu habe Mercy on her Saoule, Amen.
Of your Charite pray for soule of Agnes late the wife of
Edmond Wood which departed
July xxv. XVo. xxiiij.
Of whose soule Jesu habe merry.
Rob. Wilkins 1700. John son of Richard and Sarah Smith
1742, 8. Anne wife of Edmund Manning 1697. Mary her Dr.
the Feb. following.
There is a very neat mural monument of divers-coloured marbles,
fixed against the wall not far from the south door, having the crest
and arms of Harvey on the top, viz.
Harvey, or, on a chief indented gul. three crescents of the field.
Crest, a hand in pale proper, a crescent or at the fingers ends.
To the Memory of John Harvey Esq; an eminent Manufacturer, a considerable Merchant, and a worthy Magistrate of this
City; who was Born at Bicham-well in the County of Norfolk,
16 Aug. 1666. By his assiduous Application, and exact œconomy, he acquired an ample Fortune, with great Reputation and
Honour. He was elected Sheriff Anno. 1720, Alderman 1722,
and Mayor 1727.
His Behaviour and Conduct, both in private and publick Life,
were such, as justly gained him the Esteem and Respect of his
Family, Fellow Citizens, and Acquaintance. He died 28 Sept.
1742, in the 77th Year of his Age. His Body lies interr'd in a
Vault opposite to this Monument, together with Mary, his 2d
Wife, who died the 9th of Apr. 1725, Aged 54 Years.
There are memorials also, for, Eliz. wife of Peter Harvey 18,
Oct. 1741, 23.
Mary, wife of Sam. Harvey, 12 July, 1739, 28.
And as you go out of the north door, on the left hand, is an altar
tomb in the churchyard for,
Anne wife of John Harvey 1706, 31. Also her father and mother, William and Margaret Statham, he died 1717, 68, she 1724, 87.
Opposite to the last mural monument is another, fixed to the north
wall, which is also a very handsome one, and hath this inscription:
Sacred to the Memory of Jeremiah Ives Esq; born at Bourne
in Lincolnshire, the 26th Day of March 1692; he was elected
Mayor of this City in the Year 1733, which important Trust, he
discharged with peculiar greatness of Mind, tempered with Candor, Affability, and unblemished Integrity; he was a professed
Admirer of Vertue, and his general Conduct in Life was strictly
conformable to this Profession; his Beneficence was extensive, his
Benevolence, Love of Truth, and the Liberties of Mankind, Universal. He was a most endearing Husband, a tender and beloved Father, a kind Master, a sincere and chearfull Friend, Having
for 3 Years endured the Torture of the Stone, with invincible
Fortitude of Mind, possessed of the highest Esteem and Reputation, he departed this Life the 20th Day of March 1741, in the
50th Year of his Age.
Sarah wife of John Black, Gent. Oct. 15, 1741, 33. Hannah,
another wife of the said John, April 1, 1733. Also their infant children, Hannah, Mary, and Richard. John their son, died 20 Febr.
Ives, arg. a chevron sab. between three moors heads cooped proper, impaling,
Black, arg. a chevron in chief two mullets, between a crescent
sab. for difference.
In the chancel, Tho. Everard Gent. 1666, 44, he gave 12l. to the
parish for the use of the poor. Eliz. only child of John and Catherine
Everard, 1662, 11. Anne wife of Sam. Hammond 1718, 42. Sam.
Hammond merchant 1731, 58. Sam. their eldest son 1733, 31.
Mary wife of Edward Tooke 1713, 26. Tho. their son 1711. Edw.
1712, Mary 1718, also Edward Tooke 1727, 46. John Kettell 1661.
This stone was bought, and the vault under it was built by Tho. Chickering, Alderman, living in St. Clement's parish, for a burying place for
his family. Francis son of Tho. and Dorothy Chickering 1669. Dorothy their daughter 1669. Crest, a hawk's head erased holding a
branch. On a chevron three cocks, a crescent for difference.
Edmond Thurston lyeth buryed here under,
Whom God called to his Mercy the 14th of November, 1560.
Sacred to the Memory of John Black Esq; who died the 6th
of Sept. aged 66, and Mary his wife, who died 27 Sept. aged 72,
in the Year 1737.
This on a black marble in the altar-rails.
On the north side is a small altar monument, on which are the arms
of Aldrich impaling Steward, Aldrich single, and Aldrich impaling Sotherton, quartering az. a lion rampant or, which arms I have
met with born by the Palgraves of Norwich. The whole inscription,
except what follows, is lost,
Jo - - Aldridge, Pater 1587. - - - - conjux 1583 - - - -
Over this, is a mural monument against the east wall,
Crest, from a coronet, a pelican's head vulning itself or.
Arg. a bend sab. between a mullet in chief, and an annulet in
Quartering, arg. on a bend ingrailed sab. three mullets of the
The same quartered, impales pally of 6 arg. and sab.
D. O. M.
In spem Resurrectionis corpus hic deposuit Johannes SanctAmandus, Nottinghamiensis, Natalibus, Animo, ac Studijs, juxta
clarus, adeoque tam publicis Muneribus, quam privatis ergà suos
Officijs (Ætate integrâ) cum dignitate perfunctus; urgente senio,
in hanc Urbem (ob priscos mores Celeberrimam) ex optione se
recepit Cui, Vitæ modestiâ, ac Probitate, cum factus esset Gratissimus, alacriter Spiritum Deo reddidit 21° Nov. Ao. Dni. 1622,
Æt. suæ 73. Superstite mœstissimâ Uxore Jana, ex antiquâ Familiâ Strelleyorum, de Strelley in Com. Nottinghamiensi, è
quâ genuerat Johannem, Mariam, Willelmum, Franciscam, Phillippum, quorum, duo natû minimi, admodum Juvenes, obierunt,
primogenitus, memoriæ Patris, ac Amicorum meritis, de suo posuit
All which were presented by the Priors of Mendham in Suffolk to
1306, Alan de Hindringham, who granted a messuage in this parish
to William his son.
1307, Roger de Massingham, who was succeeded by Tho. de Downham, who changed it for Fisheley mediety in 1338, with Tho. de Wedmor.
1339, Silvester Gloss of Norton.
1368, Jeffery Kembes of Lessingham.
1367, Rob. Roys.
1409, Rog. Skot, who in 1408, changed for Somerton with
Richard Proo, and he in 1419, changed for Trimingham, with
Will. Stoke, who the same year changed for Stroxton in Lincolnshire
John atte Gates, who in 1428, changed for Eccles, with
Stephen Merryot, who in 1444, changed for Spixworth with
John Kentyng, who in 1447, changed for Bathele, with
John Savage, who died in 1448, and was buried in the chancel, and
gave 46s. 8d. to new glaze a chancel window, with the history of St.
John the Evangelist.
1448, Sir Adam Sylyard, who was buried in the chancel also.
1467, John Swillington was rector.
1480, Tho. Bevys; he died rector.
1515, Rog. Cockson, was the last presented by the convent, and was
a great benefactor to his church, of which he died rector.
1524, Richard Cockson; he died rector, and was presented by Rob.
Wood, citizen and alderman, as were the five following rectors, viz.
1559, Will. Edwards.
1561, John Matchet.
1568, Simon Bullocke, who died 6 Oct. 1574, and lies buried in the
1574, Tho. Roberts; he died in 1576, and was succeeded by
John Duke, and he by
1587, Rob. Hunston was presented by Sir Rob Woods, Knt. who,
in the same year presented
Edward Sewell or Saywell, who died rector. In
1590, Will. Harris was presented by Rob. Wood, Esq. who was
also patron to the 3 following rectors 1591, Will. Parry 1602, Fulk
Roberts S. T. P. In 1614, he had 10l. per annum from the court, for
his weekly Wednesday lecture here, and was visitor at the goal, and
chaplain of St. Saviour's, he was prebendary of Norwich, (fn. 156) see Pt. I.
William Hyat, who got possession when Roberts was sequestered,
but was forced to resign it to
Benj. Snowden, one of the intruders in those times, who in 1661, got
a legal possession, at the presentation of Rob Wood of Braken-Ash,
Esq. but not relinquishing his former principles, he was deprived:
and in 1662, the same patron presented
Christopher Stinnet, and in
1668, James le Franc, S. T. B. who had been educated among the
Roman-Catholicks, but afterward becoming one of the reformed
church, he came hither in 1661, and was made minister of the French
congregation; in 1662, he printed
"The Touchstone of Faith, wherein Verity by Scripture and Antiquity, is plainly confirmed, and Error confuted," delivered in several
churches in Norwich, in 5 sermons, printed at Cambridge, 12mo.
1680, Benjamin Penning died rector; Rob. Wood, Esq. was patron.
1696, Joseph Bret was presented by the University of Cambridge,
Mr Wood the patron being a Roman Catholick; he held it united to
St. Austin, and lies buried in the chancel, with this,
Hic jacet Josephus Bret A. M. hujus Ecclesiæ Rector per 23
Annos, Qui obijt Octobris die 22, 1719, Ætatis suæ 54.
He hath several sermons in print, and was succeeded by,
Conyers Midleton, D. D. of Trinity college in Cambridge, who is
sufficiently known to the learned part of the world, by the many excellent works that he hath published; he was the first presented by
the master, fellows, &c. of Caius college in Cambridge, who
purchased it of Mr. Wood, and are now patrons.
In 1724, at Midleton's cession, John Morrant, A. M. was presented,
and held it united to Hetherset, till his death in
1736, when the Rev. John Berney, A. M. the present rector, was
instituted, who is now D. D. Archdeacon of Norwich, chaplain to the
Bishop, rector of the consolidated rectories of the two medieties of
Hetherset, with the rectory of Cantlose, and of the consolidated rectories of the two Saxlinghams in Norfolk.
In the churchyard, directly opposite to the south porch, is an old
decayed altar tomb, which is whitened over every Ascension-day, before Archbishop Parker's sermon is preached here; this is the tomb of
the Archbishop's father and mother, an account of which, as also of
the foundation of his annual sermon, may be seen in Pt. I. p. 312.
There is also another tomb in this churchyard, which stands north
and south, and is called the Leper's tomb; and there is a tradition,
that a leper who was permitted to be buried here, after several parishes
had refused him that request made in his lifetime, lies under it, and
that he gave the parish-houses which stand at the south-west corner
of the churchyard, and are now leased out at 12l. per annum to repair
the church for ever, which is all an errour; for those houses, and all
from thence to Colegate-street, belonged to the Prior of Ixworth, and
at the Dissolution, were granted by Henry VIII. to Ric. Cadington,
who had license to sell them to Cecily Suffield, and her heirs, who divided them into several parts, and settled this on divers trustees, to the
use of the parish.
Another part, which is now owned by Alderman Harvey, hath this
inscription on the door, which entered into the Prior's hall, the whole
court being in those days the city house of the Priors of Ixworth, in
Maria Plena Gracie Mater miserccordie.
Remember Wyllyam Lomth Prior. muc. viij
Another tradition, equally false, concerning this leper is, that he
gave to the church the tithes of Gilden-croft, and all that part of the
parish within the walls, and all the lands belonging to the parish without the walls, lying against the city ditches, between Magdalen-gates
and the river, which are now valued at above 30l. per annum; whereas
the truth is, these lands were the demeans of Tolthorp manor, to
which St. Clement's church was appendant, and the whole tithes belonged to it originally, till two-third parts were granted from it to the
college of Stoke by Clare, as is aforesaid, under the account of that
manor; by virtue whereof, till the Dissolution, the rector received one
third, and the college two thirds, or a pension for them; and then the
college-part fell to the King, and continued in the Crown till the 2d
of Queen Mary, when she granted to Sir John Borne, Knt. one of her
principal secretaries of state, and William Lacy, Gent. and their heirs,
all the tithes of corn, hay, wool, lamb, and other tithes whatever, arising in the bounds of St. Clement's parish by Fybridge in Norwich,
lately in the tenure of Tho. Parker, mercer, and lately belonging to the
college of Stoke Clare in Suffolk, to be held of her manor of East-Greenwich by fealty only, in free soccage, and not in capite; and immediately after, he conveyed them to Rob. Wood of St. Clement's, Gent.
who was patron, and his heirs; and in the 4th and 5th of Philip and
Mary, the said Robert, by authority of an act of Parliament made
1st and 2d Philip and Mary, (which made it lawful for all persons
seized of any manors, &c. or any other hereditaments whatsoever, in
fee simple, not being copyhold, to make feoffments, grants, or other
assurances, to any spiritual persons, body politick or corporate, without license in mortmain then to be obtained,) conveyed them to Roger
Cockson, clerk, rector of St. Clement, and his successours, for ever:
and from that time, this rectory hath been, and still is, in possession
of all its original rights, the pension of 4s. formerly due to the Prior
of Mendham, being vested in the rector at this time.
The truth of the thing seems to be this,
As it is now called, from its being used for ancient poor people, which
are infirm, and past labour, and not fit to be put into the common
work-houses, was formerly a house of lepers, dedicated to our Blessed
Lady and St. Clement, without St. Austin's-gates, but in this parish;
and so the lepers that died there (they having no burying-place at
their own house) were brought, and had a right to be buried here;
and probably this tomb might be for some leper who died there, and
left what he had to the church.
It seems, this house was founded by some Bishop of Norwich, for it
belonged to the see, and at the Dissolution, became an hospital for
such poor as the Bishops thought fit to fix there; and in 1568, the
Bishop and Mayor constituted Simon Warner, keeper or guider of the
house or hospital of our Blessed Lady and St. Clement, expelling John
Bradley thence, and from any manner of collection by him henceforward to be made for the poor of that hospital; (fn. 157) which shows that
it was not endowed, but that the poor subsisted on alms, as the lepers
there, heretofore did. It is now held by lease of the Bishop, for I
find that Bishop Reynolds leased to the city all that alms-house or
houses without St. Augustine's-gates in the parish of St. Clement in
the suburbs of Norwich, with the gardens, yards, &c. belonging
thereto, being parcel of his bishoprick, to hold to the city during the
lives of Rob. Paine, grandchild to Sir Joseph Paine, Knt. Robert
son of Henry Watts, alderman, and Richard son of Alderman Ric.
Wenman, by the yearly rent of 19d. the city covenanting to keep it
in repair, and use it only as an alms-house or lazar-house for poor
people. In 1604, John Hothe was guider of it, and received 13s. 4d.
from the justices of the county, as county-alms, due to the guidership
of this house, and they allowed the same to the other four lazarhouses.
I find these buried in St. Clement's church, for whom there are at
present no memorials.
1468, John Fyce, bladsmith. 1489, Margaret late wife of William Blofield, and widow of Roger Greyve, who gave a stained cloth
of the seven sacraments, a long diaper towel, a silver pax, and many
gifts to our Lady's altar. 1509, Peter Paine, &c.
Benefactors: 1529, Margaret Beaumond, buried in the Whitefriars, gave a pair of silver candlesticks; Mr. Fawcett gave 5l. Mr.
Tho. Allen 8l. Mr. Tho. Everard 12l. the interest of these gifts to
The religious concerned here were,
The Priors of Ixworth, Horsham St. Faith, Norwich, Castle-Acre,
and Mendham; the Prioress of Carrowe; the college of Stoke, and
the Prior of the Friars-preachers in Norwich, who had a house here,
sold by the city to Rob. Goslyn, with a lane thereto belonging, in
the year 1563.
This rectory was valued at 7 marks, taxed at 40s. paid 6d. synodals, is valued in the King's Books at 7l. 9s. 2d. and is discharged of
first fruits and tenths, being sworn of the clear yearly value of
27l. 3s. 1d. Dr. Prideaux placed the certain endowment at 28l.
and the contribution at 14l. There is now an estate added by augmentation, of the donation of Mr. Brook, (fn. 158) which is about 21l. per
annum, and the present contribution is about 26l. per annum, the
whole is commonly valued at about 80l. per annum.
There is a silver cup gilt, a patin bought about 1718, and two
flaggons in 1742. There were formerly the images of St. Clement,
our Lady, St. Catherine, St. Agnes, St. James, St. Andrew, and St.
Michael, with lights before them, in this church.
(125) Fybridge Bridge, or Fyve-Bridge,
As it is anciently called, took its name on account of its being the
fifth principal bridge over the river at that time; it was a timber
bridge till Henry the Fourth's time, and it was then built of stone,
with two arches, being the first stone bridge that was in this place; it
fell into decay in Henry the Eighth's time, and was broken down by a
great flood in Febr. 1570, and was new built of stone in 1573; it
hath a large and small arch, the large one is 26 feet wide, and over
it is this inscription,
1572, Robart Sucklyng Mayor. 1578, Mr. Thomas Peck Mayor:
Peter Peterson Chamberline.
The customs at this bridge, and the shops and stalls on the key on
the south side of the river, went to maintain it; for in 1273, the
bailiffs and commonalty appointed Walt. de Mouton, tavern-keeper,
receiver of the rents and customs at Fybrigge; namely 12d. from a
shop at the head of the bridge; 4d. from a messuage in St. Mary le
Brent; 8d. from a messuage in St. Saviour's, and the rent of a shop;
all which were given to repair the bridge with; he was likewise to
receive all legacies given to the reparation of the bridge, and the
profits of the stalls on the stathe, he being to repair them, and the
(126) The Independents Meeting-House
Stands in this parish, on part of the site of the friars great garden,
the whole of which belongs to the Girls hospital, but I do not meet
with any rent paid to the hospital for it; it was finished about 1693;
it is a large handsome square building, with a roof flat at top, and
covered with lead, and the hiped part of it with tiles; it hath a
burial-place on the north side, and a dial, and handsome brass branch
in the middle, and hath galleries on all sides, except the north, in the
middle of which the pulpit stands, and there is a convenient vestry
at the north-east corner of the building. On a flat marble in the
Mrs. Prudence Browne, 1725, 76.
Death which before, was Nature's Bane,
Is turn'd to the Believers Gain,
Thro' this Dark Vale, the passage lies,
To Robes and Crowns and Blissful Skies.
On a black marble before the pulpit,
Offley, arg. a cross floré, between four martlets sab. Crest
a demi-lion holding a branch proper, impaled with a chevron be
tween three owls crowned. Robert Offley of this City Gent. Jan.
1, 1716, 76. Mary his Wife 6 Febr. 1703, 56. Mary their Dr.
Wife of Sam. Crome Merchant, Jan. 21, 1738, 65.
On a marbe more west, Offley in a lozenge,
Eliz. Offley, Dr. of Stephen Offley, Esq. and Grand-daughter
of Rob. Offley Gent. and Mary his Wife, 28 Sept. 1741, 22.
On a black marble in the west alley. Tho. Withers 1723, 49.
What Zeal his Faith, or Country shar'd,
More from his Deeds, than Words appear'd,
Generous, and just, and void of Strife,
He past an inoffensive Life.
In the south alley, Martha wife of Simeon Waller, Sept. 5, 1721, 39
Verily there is a Reward for the Righteous, Psalm 58, Ver. 11.
Ester the loving and much beloved Wife of Joshua Lincoln,
24 Apr. 1724, 61.
Happy the Dust which fills this Urn,
Until her much lov'd Lord's return,
For when his Trumpet Shakes the Skies,
Her Charities shall with her rise.
Joshua Lincoln Apr. 3, 1742, 90. Sarah their Dr. Wife of John
Allen, Mar. 5, 1742, 51.
'Tis here her meaner part, her Body rest,
Her nobler part (through Grace) we trust, is Blest.
In this Vault lieth Mr. Henry Horningold May 26, 1726, 35.
Mr. Joseph Brittan 28 Sept. 1734, 49.
Farewell vain World, I know enough of thee,
And am now careless, what thou sai'st of me,
Thy smiles I court not, nor thy frowns I fear,
My cares are past, my head lies quiet here,
What Faults you saw in me, take care to shun,
And look at Home, Enough is to be done.
There are two neat mural marble monuments against the east
wall, next the north corner thus inscribed,
Here lie the Bodies of Jeremiah Tompson, who by his superior Understanding, usefull Councells, uncommon Gifts, pure
Faith, Evangelical Spirit, and bountifull Disposition, was for 30
Years the Ornament of this Society, and fell asleep in Jesus
Christ, Aug. 17, and in the Year of our Lord 1721, of his
And of Jane his Wife, who was Dr. of the Rev. Mr. Stackhouse, ingenious, discreet, charitable, a Pattern of filial Piety,
and conjugal Duty, a constant and serious worshipper of God
in this Assembly, and exchanged this Life for a better, Aug. 12,
in the Year of our Lord 1721, of her Age 39.
And of Jeremia Tompson, who was the eldest Son of James
and Mary Tompson, who died in the Year of our Lord 1721, of
his Age 4.
At bottom, in a shield, arg. in chief a table covered with a
carpet gul. in base a garb or, between them six battoons ragulé in
saltier, 1 and 2, or.
Beneath lies the Body of Mr. James Tompson, who was a
great Admirer of Free Grace, he died Sept. 24, 1727, aged 50
Years, and also the Body of his beloved Wife Mary, Dr. of Mr.
Isaac Stackhouse of London Merchant, she dyed Dec. 12, 1728,
aged 32 Years, & also 3 of their Children.
On the south side, in the yard, lies a stone with this, B. Balderstone, 23 July 1721, 66.
Some Friend shall drop his Tear,
On these dry Bones, & say,
These once were Strong, as mine appear,
And mine, must be as they
In the burial-ground, there are six altar tombs with the following
inscriptions on them:
1. Mr. John Rose, 1702.
2. Lucas, arg. a fess between six annulets gul. Crest, an
eagle displayed issuing from a coronet or.
P. M. S.
Under this Stone do rest the small Remains,
of that Laborious Minister of Christ,
Mr. John Lucas,
Whose active Soul, heedless of Age and Pains,
In Faith, Love, Zeal, aspiring to the Hig'st,
Nor took, nor gave his Body (weak at best)
From Travail & from Preaching Rest.
But so invigorated all his Life,
That with a steady Bent,
Devoid of Strife,
Meek, Humble, Modest, Pious, Just,
Patient to Suffer, Labour, Trust,
His Deeds & Doctrines, Hand in Hand still went,
'Till after many Years thus spent,
Death dreading as it were, his Strength,
Came on behind, his Heel did Wound,
Casting his Body to the Ground,
And then his Soul,
With Christ it's long desired Requiem found.
June IV. An°. Dni: MDCCIII.
Philip. i. xxiii.
MARY his Wife, 28 Sept. 1718, 89, and 8 Months.
3. Here lieth waiting for the Resurrection of the Just,
The Body of the late Reverend,
Mr. MARTIN FINCH,
Who was a burning and a shining Light,
A plain Sound Spirituall,
And powerfull Preacher of God's Word,
One Walking Humbly and closely with his God,
Full of Goodness & Love,
Curteous & pitifull to all Men,
Beloved & reverene'd by all;
He having feared the Lord from his Youth
And Labour'd abundantly.
In the Ministry of the Gospel XLIX Years,
And guided this Church of Christ XII Years,
With great Wisdom & Integrity,
Diligence & Faithfullness,
And many Years desired to depart hence,
And to be with Christ,
Being worn out with the Paines of the Stone
His Soul ascended to keep an everlasting Sabbath,
On the XIII of Febr MDCXCVII in the LXX,
Year of his Age.
If we believe that Jesus died & rose again,
Even so them also which Sleep in Jesus,
Will God bring with him, 1 Thes. 4. 14.
4. Under this Monument do rest, the Remains of that
Learned, and eminently judicious Divine, the late
Reverend Mr. JOHN STACKHOUSE,
A Pious, Orthodox, Painfull, Powerfull, Spirituall,
And accurate Preacher of God's Word,
Who labour'd faithfully in the Ministry XXXIX Years,
And in this Church of Christ as Pastor XVII,
Engaged in the Cause of God with great Sinceritie,
Walked with him in abundant Humility,
Demeaned towards Men with obliging Courtesie,
Was not Discouraged in the greatest Difficulties,
Was patient under most heavy Afflictions,
Lived by Faith,
Died in Hope,
Of that everlasting Sabbath,
Which he enter'd upon with Joy,
Sept. 14. A°. Sal. 1707. Æt. 69.
On this tomb is a shield of a table, garb, &c. as on one of the
5. Here lieth the Body of Mr EDWARD WILLIAMS, late
Minister and Elder of the Baptists Congregation, lately meeting in the Granary in the City of Norwich, who died April 12,
1713, aged 73.
Is Williams dead? that cannot be,
Since dead in Christ, so liveth he.
6. Cory's arms and crest, an eagle's head erased on a crown.
Hic beatam expectans Immortalitatem conduntur Reliquiæ
Johannis Corey A L. M Qui Norwici natus est, Cantabrigiæ educatus, et Verbi Divini Ministerio annis decem functus,
Hapisburgi et Walcottæ in Agro Norfolciensi, illinc vero Conscientiæ bonæ Causa discessit. ac deinde Puerorum in Bonis
Literis Institutioni triginta sex annis sedulus incubuit, Pius,
Doctus, mitis, Candidus Ludi-magister, plurimos emisit optimæ
spei surculos, Ecclesiæ et Rei publicæ Proficuos, tandem Doloribus Calculi attritus, Cœlestem in Patriam migravit, Prid. Non.
Octobris. Anno salutis 1698, Æt. suæ 67.
[Greek text] (Thes. i. 4, 14.)
On a head-stone,
Sarah Scott obijt 26, Aug. 1728, Æt. 22. Quis desiderio sit
pudor, aut Modus tam chari Capitis? cui, Patientia, Pax, et
Blandus Amor, nudaque Veritas, Quando ullam invenient
Parem? multis illa bonis, flebilis occidit, nulli flebilior, quam
tibi. Cui breve Eheu! conjugium dulcè frui dedit, abreptâque
On another headstone,
John Barchum, 1720, 23.
So soon his Spirit took its Flight,
To Mansions of eternal Light;
And 'till the Resurrection Day,
Behind this Stone, reposed in Clay,
Which then in glorious Form shall rise,
Resume the Soul, and mount the Skies.