Appendix I
List of Judges, justices, etc.


Centre for Metropolitan History



William Le Hardy (editor)

Year published




Citation Show another format:

'Appendix I: List of Judges, justices, etc.', County of Middlesex. Calendar to the sessions records: new series, volume 3: 1615-16 (1937), pp. 313-315. URL: Date accessed: 24 November 2014.


(Min 3 characters)



[The following names appear in the Sessions Records for the period covered by this volume.]

Altham, Sir James, Baron of the Exchequer.

Ashby, Sir Robert.

Awnsham, Gideon.

Bacon, Sir Francis, Attorney-General [A.D. 1613–17].

-, Sir James.

Baker, Sir Richard.

Bannester, Henry.

Barnes, Edward.

Bennett, Sir John.

-, Sir Thomas.

Bingley, John.

Bowyer, Sir William.

Brett, Sir John.

Bromley, Sir Edward, Baron of the Exchequer.

Collyn, Nicholas.

Coventree, Thomas.

Craven, Sir William.

Darcy, Sir Francis.

Doderidge, Sir John, Justice of the King's Bench.

Doubledaye, Edmund.

Dyer, William.

Edmondes, Clement.

Edwardes, Thomas, Doctor of Law.

Ellis, James.

Fanshawe, Thomas.

Farmor, Henry.

Fesante, Peter.

Forsett, Edward.

Fowler, Sir Thomas.

Garrard, Sir John.

Gerrard, Gilbert.

Glover, Sir Thomas.

Gouldman, George, Doctor of Theology.

Hawtrey, Ralph.

Hayes, Sir Thomas, Mayor of the City of London [A.D. 1614–15].

Heigate, Thomas.

Helwys, Sir Gervase, Lieutenant of the Tower of London [A.D. 1613–15].

Heyburne, Sir Ferdinand.

Hicks, Sir Baptist.

Hobart, Sir Henry, Chief Justice of the Common Pleas.

Houghton, Sir Robert, Justice of the King's Bench.

Johnson, Sir Robert.

Jolles, Sir John, Mayor of the City of London [A.D. 1615–16].

Jones, Thomas.

Kay, Sir John.

Kempe, Nicholas.

Knyvet, Sir Thomas, Lord Knyvet of Escrick.

Lee, Sir John.

Lewkenor, Sir Lewis.

Lowe, Sir Thomas.

Mitchell, Francis.

Montagu, Sir Henry, Serjeant-at-Law and Recorder of the City of London.

Montaigne, George, Dean of Westminster.

More, Sir George, Lieutenant of the Tower of London [A.D. 1615–17].

Moseley, Sir Edward.

Nichols, Sir Augustine, Justice of the Common Pleas.

Roberts, Francis.

Sanders, Valentine.

Sanderson, Thomas.

Slingisbye, Sir William.

Small, Matthew.

Smith, Sir William.

Soame, Sir Stephen.

Sotherton, John, Baron of the Exchequer.

Spiller, Henry.

Stone, John.

-, Thomas.

Suckling, Sir John.

Waad, Sir William.

Wardour, Edward.

Watson, Thomas.

Watts, Sir John.

Weld, John.

Wigmore, Sir Richard.

Wilson, Thomas.

George Longe, Clerk of the Peace for Middlesex.
Henry Glascock, Clerk of the Assizes for Surrey.
Edward Payler, Clerk of the Assizes in the Northern Parts.
— Willys, Clerk of the Assizes for Bucks.