Long time user?
Survey of London: volume 6: Hammersmith
James Bird and Philip Norman (general editors)
Sketch plan of Hammersmith
'The Round House', Survey of London: volume 6: Hammersmith (1915), pp. 38. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=98041 Date accessed: 24 October 2014.
(Min 3 characters)
X.—THE ROUND HOUSE, QUEEN'S WHARF
Ground landlord, leaseholders, etc.
Old prints, drawings, etc.
Messrs. Rosser and Russell occupy the building.
Queen's Road terminates towards the south against the river wall.
To the west a very narrow footway communicates with the Lower Mall,
while on the east is Queen's Wharf, occupied by a large building erected in
the early years of the 19th century. Though outside the scope of the London
Survey, it is worth mentioning on account of its prominence as a landmark
on the river bank, its round tower and cupola roof giving it a picturesque
character. It now contains engineering works: in the office is an excellent
chimney-piece of Adam design of which we give a drawing.
(fn. 1) Drawing of mantelpiece, by A. O. Collard.
Double-click menu [ Cancel ]
- Contact us -
Version 4.0 | November 2013
© 2014 University of London & History of Parliament Trust
Design - Crave Ltd