XVII.—THE BURIAL GROUND OF THE FRIENDS' MEETING HOUSE, LOWER MALL
Although no burials have taken place for some years past, the Friends'
Meeting House, caretaker's cottage, and garden plot still remain on the
Lower Mall west of No. 27 (West Lodge), the burial ground lying to the
north as far as Aspen Place. The meeting house remains much as Faulkner
describes it, (fn. 1) a plain building of the last century, consisting of one room
furnished with benches for the worshippers, but the caretaker's cottage
adjoining it is picturesque, and certainly dates back as far as the Georgian
period. The burial ground has the appearance now of a quiet enclosed
garden plot. It was in existence in 1780, for an entry in the Fulham
Manor Court Rolls of that date refers to the surrender by John Sherwin of
"a cottage near the waterside with the garden and burying ground thereto
belonging abutting north on the road leading from Pearcroft to the High
Bridge, south on the Thames, east on a tenement heretofore of Mr. Shorthouse, and west on a tenement heretofore of William Pennick."
In the Council's ms. collection is:
Photograph of the burial ground.
|| History and Antiquities of . . . Hammersmith, p. 315.