Survey of London: Volume 4, Chelsea, Pt II. Originally published by London County Council, London, 1913.
This free content was digitised by double rekeying and sponsored by English Heritage. All rights reserved.
CXX.—OLD COTTAGES, GLEBE PLACE.
General description and date of structure.
It is freely stated that the little cottage of whitewashed brickwork, with its mansard roof of pantiles, at the south-east corner of Glebe Place, is of considerable antiquity, and it has been mentioned as having been an entrance lodge to Shrewsbury House. It is not impossible that in the 17th century, the owners of Shrewsbury House might have obtained permission to make a way across the glebe, but there is no evidence of this, and it seems probable that there was neither building nor way on this part of the glebe, until its occupation by Francis Cook at the beginning of the 18th century. The cottage stands on the east side of the piers of a gateway into the grounds of Cheyne House, and on the west is a dilapidated building dating from about the same period. Cheyne House was built in 1715, and it seems most probable that these buildings were erected at this or a later date, when Cook was in possession of the land and could grant a right of way to the King's Road. The buildings have no architectural features of importance, but the cottage is a picturesque object amid its gloomy surroundings.
In the Council's ms. collection are:—
Three views of the cottage (photographs).
(fn. 1)Copy of a photograph in the possession of Mr. Philip Norman.