Survey of London: Volume 4, Chelsea, Pt II. Originally published by London County Council, London, 1913.
This free content was digitised by double rekeying and sponsored by English Heritage. All rights reserved.
CXXXV.—WHITELANDS HOUSE, KING'S ROAD.
Ground landlord, leaseholders, etc.
The original house, (fn. 1) of which Mr. Beaver gives a sketch in his Memorials of Old Chelsea(p. 373), was a substantial building of the latter part of the 18th century. It was a girls' school in 1772, when the Rev. John Jenkins, M.A. lectured there on "Female Education and Christian Fortitude under Affliction." An autograph letter written by Theodore Smith, music master; and dated 1797, complains of the treatment he had received from the ladies of Whitelands House School, Chelsea. In 1842 the house was purchased by the National Society for the Training of Schoolmistresses and it has been since known as Whiteland's Training College. In 1881 John Ruskin instituted here a May Day festival, which is celebrated each year with much picturesque ceremonial.
The house was pulled down in 1890 to make way for new buildings which were erected in the following year. The excellent wrought iron gate, with its torch-extinguishers and side panels, which was formerly in the centre of the railings, has been re-fixed in the porch after some repair, and the stone ball-finials of the piers have also been preserved.