Survey of London: Volume 6, Hammersmith. Originally published by London County Council, London, 1915.
This free content was digitised by double rekeying and sponsored by English Heritage. All rights reserved.
LIX.—Nos. 205 to 213 HAMMERSMITH ROAD and the JOLLY GARDENERS INN (Nos. 215 and 217)
This group of houses appears as a little island of old buildings amidst the modern premises which line the southern side of Hammersmith Road. None of the houses are of remarkable interest, but together they produce a picturesque reminder of the earlier days of the parish.
Nos. 205 and 207 may once have formed one comfortable Georgian house. They stand under the same steep roof of old tiles with its ample wooden eaves-cornice ornamented with the usual square modillions. The roof retains its old chimney-stacks and has two dormer windows.
Nos. 209 and 211 are two-storey buildings of the early 19th century, the former having a small bay-window and the latter an old tiled roof and original frame to its sash-window, which suggests an even earlier building. No. 213 appears to have been rebuilt in the last century.
The Jolly Gardeners Inn occupies two cottages, of which No. 215 has been rebuilt, but No. 217 possesses a small original gable, and a bold overhanging bay-window with a dentilled cornice carried round it.
Old prints, drawings, etc.
Water-colour drawing by J. T. Wilson (1868) in the Coates Collection.