Survey of London: Volume 6, Hammersmith. Originally published by London County Council, London, 1915.
This free content was digitised by double rekeying and sponsored by English Heritage. All rights reserved.
X.—THE ROUND HOUSE, QUEEN'S WHARF
Ground landlord, leaseholders, etc.
Queen's Road terminates towards the south against the river wall. To the west a very narrow footway communicates with the Lower Mall, while on the east is Queen's Wharf, occupied by a large building erected in the early years of the 19th century. Though outside the scope of the London Survey, it is worth mentioning on account of its prominence as a landmark on the river bank, its round tower and cupola roof giving it a picturesque character. It now contains engineering works: in the office is an excellent chimney-piece of Adam design of which we give a drawing.
Old prints, drawings, etc.
(fn. 1) Drawing of mantelpiece, by A. O. Collard.