Survey of London: Volume 6, Hammersmith. Originally published by London County Council, London, 1915.
This free content was digitised by double rekeying and sponsored by English Heritage. All rights reserved.
XVII.—THE BURIAL GROUND OF THE FRIENDS' MEETING HOUSE, LOWER MALL
Although no burials have taken place for some years past, the Friends' Meeting House, caretaker's cottage, and garden plot still remain on the Lower Mall west of No. 27 (West Lodge), the burial ground lying to the north as far as Aspen Place. The meeting house remains much as Faulkner describes it, (fn. 1) a plain building of the last century, consisting of one room furnished with benches for the worshippers, but the caretaker's cottage adjoining it is picturesque, and certainly dates back as far as the Georgian period. The burial ground has the appearance now of a quiet enclosed garden plot. It was in existence in 1780, for an entry in the Fulham Manor Court Rolls of that date refers to the surrender by John Sherwin of "a cottage near the waterside with the garden and burying ground thereto belonging abutting north on the road leading from Pearcroft to the High Bridge, south on the Thames, east on a tenement heretofore of Mr. Shorthouse, and west on a tenement heretofore of William Pennick."
In the Council's ms. collection is:
Photograph of the burial ground.