An Essay Towards A Topographical History of the County of Norfolk: Volume 4, the History of the City and County of Norwich, Part II. Originally published by W Miller, London, 1806.
This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.
(69) St. Peter of Mancroft.
This parish is a small ward of itself, and at the beginning of the Confessor's reign was uninhabited, being field only; that part which is now the market-place, was the magna crofta castelli, or great croft (fn. 1) of the castle; it joining to the outward west ditch thereof; and hence the church that was built on the south-west part of it, is still distinguished from the other churches of St. Peter in this city, by the name of Magna Crofta, or Mancroft. At the latter end of the Confessor's time it began to be inhabited, and at the Conqueror's survey, all this land was owned and held by Ralf Waiet, or Guader, Earl of Norfolk, (fn. 2) in right of his castle, and he granted it to the King in common, to make a new-burgh between them; which burgh contained all this and St. Giles's parish; (fn. 3) and this Earl it was, that first founded the church of St. Peter and Paul at Mancroft, and gave it to his chaplains; and after his forfeiture, Robert Blund the sheriff, received an ounce of gold yearly from the chaplains; and on Godric's becoming sheriff, the Conqueror gave it in fee to Wala his chaplain, at which time it was worth 3l. per annum. This Wala, after the grant, was called Wala de Sco' Petro, by which name he became a monk in the abbey of Gloucester, and at his entering there, gave this church to that monastery, in the time, of Serlo the first abbot there; and William the Conqueror confirmed his gift, (fn. 4) as did afterwards Thomas Becket Archbishop of Canterbury, who licensed them to get it appropriated if William Turb Bishop of Norwich would consent, but he would not; (fn. 5) and so it still continued a rectory in the gift of Gloucester abbey, by the abbot and convent of which, the following rectors were presented.
1326, John de Burncestre; he was allowed to be non-resident, and acknowledged to John Abbot of Gloucester, a pension of six marks, to be yearly due and paid by the rector here to that abbey. Simon de Byntre was his vicar or parish chaplain.
1361, Sir Roger de Midleton, priest; he was buried in the chancel in 1374, and gave 20s. to repair the books belonging to the altar, and 40s. towards consecrating the churchyard, which was now enlarging by license from the King and Bishop; 20s. to his parish chaplain or vicar; 6s. 8d. to the parish clerk; 2s. to the sexton; and to each chaplain celebrating annuals in the church when he died, 40d.; to his lord the Abbot, and convent of Gloucester 40l.; to the monks there 20l.; and 20l. to repair the church; to the Abbot and convent of Cirencester 40 marks; 20 marks to the canons there, and 20 marks to repair that church; 40s. to Sir John Brown, dean of the chapel in the Fields. (See p. 170.)
1374, March 19, Sir Adam Damport, the last rector, was presented by the Abbot and Convent of Gloucester, who in 1383, obtained license in mortmain, to convey the advowson to John de Pyeshale and Tho. More, clerks, Rob. Ashfield, Barth. de Salle, Nic. de Blakeney, Henry Lumnor, Will. Appelyard, and Robert de Pyeshall, who were to convey it to the dean and chapter of the college of St. Mary in the Fields, which they accordingly did, by their deed bearing date in 1388, with liberty to get it impropriated and so hold it to them and their successours, paying the old pension of 4l. a year to the Abbot of Gloucester; (fn. 6) of which pension also afterwards, they obtained a perpetual lease from the abbey; it is plain that the church was soon after impropriated, (fn. 7) for the dean and chapter of St. Mary held it as such, and never presented any rector or vicar, but took the whole profits to themselves, and nominated a parish chaplain, paid 3d. yearly for the synodals, 33s. 4d. tenths, to the Bishop, prior, and monks five marks per annum, and to the sacrist 4s. and the college was bound at the impropriation, to make the stipend of the parish chaplain eight marks a year, because he was taxed at that rate, as the monks were also taxed for their pension: and it appears by the accounts of the college, that they always nominated the parish chaplain, and paid him his stipend, as also the parish clerk's stipend, and that of the sacrist or sexton; and in 1431, they paid to
Master John Grydinge, parish chaplain, 6l. 6s. 8d. clear; he being found a good and decent habitation in the college, with meat, drink, washing, and lodging, as one of their canons; 20s. to the parish clerk, and 2s. to the sexton, as stipends, over and above their accustomed fees. And from the impropriation, the college repaired the chancel, and paid the proxies or procurations to the Archdeacon of Norwich, whose jurisdiction it is in; and after all expenses and stipends paid, the college received 26l. 8s. 7d. ob. q. clear.
In 1492, Sir Robert Beverle was then parish chaplain, and appeared at the Bishop's visitation as such, with the two chantry chaplains serving in the church, which were also assistants to him, and nine other stipendiary priests; all which officiated as soul priests by his leave, in the church, he being their superiour; this number of priests under him, occasioned the parish chaplain sometimes, even in records, to be called the prior of St. Peter in Mancroft.
1547, Sir John Gryme appeared as parish chaplain, and prior or superiour of Sir Stephen Prewet, stipendiary priest. Sir John Dorant and Sir William Coppin, chantry priests, Sir John Ferman and Sir Robert Roberts, stipendiaries.
In 1545, 37 Henry VIII. Dr. Spencer Dean of the college, and the prebends, and Bishop of Norwich, their patron and ordinary, joined in a grant, and conveyed the college, and all its revenues to the King, which was also confirmed by the chapter of Norwich cathedral.
The King being thus seized in right of his Crown, his successour Edward VI. by virtue of the said grant, and certain clauses in the statutes of colleges 37th Henry VIII. and of chantries 1st of Edward VI. did in the 7th year of his reign, Ao. 1552, 1 July, grant the same to William Mingay and William Necton of Norwich, gentleman, and their heirs, to be held of the manor of East Greenwich in Kent by fealty only, by the name of the rectory and church of St. Peter of Mancroft in the city of Norwich; (fn. 8) (fn. 9) and the tithes of the same, with all the appurtenances, free and discharged of the pension heretofore due to the abbey of Gloucester, &c. and they by deed dated dated March 1, the same year conveyed it to Ric. Catlyn, serjeant at law, and his heirs; and in
1547, the Serjeant, by his will, made the Bishop of Ely and Barbara his wife, executors, who were to take the profits of all his estates, till one of his children being heir to him attained the age of 22 years. Barbara only administered; and in
1556, 7 Sept. Sir Stephen Prewet or Prowet, then parish chaplain, was instituted to the rectory of St. Peter in Mancroft, at the presentation of Barbara Catlyn, widow aforesaid, and was inducted and held it for life.
But it appearing that the church was not presentative, but a mere donative in the donation of the impropriator, at his death it went as it had done, ever since its impropriation, and the impropriator made a donation of it in
1581, 24 Eliz. William le Grice of Norwich, Gent. son and heir of the said Charles le Grice, conveyed the rectory church, and all its appurtenances, to Henry Greenwood, Christopher Barret, and many others, as feoffees in trust, for the parishioners of the said parish, who purchased it; and accordingly in
1595, Mr. George Flood, preacher, licensed parish chaplain, on the donation of the feoffees; and this year, they, jointly with the majority of the parish, established an assistant minister or curate, to be always chosen by the majority of the parishioners, inhabiting in the parish, and assigned the several stipends to them; both which the feoffees paid, and yearly received all the accruing profits. This was found necessary after the dissolution of the chantry-priests, which were constant assistants to the parish chaplain, and accordingly
1598, Mr. Will. Welles, prebend of Norwich, (see Pt. I. p. 662,) was licensed chaplain, on the donation of the feoffees. He lies interred in the altar rails: on his stone are his arms, and this inscription:
Ossuarium disertissimi, dilectissimi Viri, Magistri Gulielmi Welles, in Sacrâ Theologiâ Bacalaurei, Rectoris hujus Ecclesiæ, et Ecclesiæ Cathedralis Prebendarij, Qui post 30 annos, egregiâ Vitæ sanctitate, et suavitate morum, cum insigni et indefessâ in Negotio Pastorali diligentiâ, in hâc celebri Civitate, summâ cum Laude transactos, satur Famæ optimæ, et bonis omnibus desideratus, Ecclesiæ Dei, præmaturè sibi fæliciter, in Domino obdormivit, spe certâ resurgendi. Ano. Dni: 1620, Maij 26. Ætatis suæ 54.
1631, Mr. John Carter, chosen curate or assistant minister, by the parishioners; and in 1633, he was appointed one of the four lecturers by the court, namely, to preach the Tuesday lecture in this church, according to the order of assembly, and to receive 50s. every quarter for so doing.
In 1639, the court granted to Mr. John Carter, then head minister, 10l. per annum during pleasure "so as he do contynew and perform preaching there on Tewesdays, as formerly he and other his predecessors have heretofore done."
In 1679, two of the four lectures were laid aside, and the stipends fixed to two only; and in the Court Book is this entry concerning the lecture, "agreed that the annual allowance of this city for the support of the Tuesday lecture in the parish of St. Peter of Mancroft, shall be 20l. per annum," from which time the upper minister hath been lecturer, and received the stipend, and continues so to do till Michaelmas next, notice being given to the parishioners by the court, that the stipend will be then withdrawn, and so consequently the lecture will cease. In 1652, Mr. Carter's stipend, as upper minister, was 96l. per annum.
1654, Mr. John Boatman, upper minister, on the donation of the feoffees; he was elected into the assistant's place and performed the whole duty, and in 1655, received 123l. 16s. 11d. for the two stipends,
1658, George Cock, assistant, chosen in 1557, was now elected upper minister by the parishioners and obtained thereon a donation of the feoffees, who have no power to elect solely, they giving a counter deed to the church-wardens and parishioners, to release all right to such others, as they shall appoint whenever they are called upon by them so to do; he received 120l. per annum stipend.
1674, Thomas Tenison, fellow of Corpus Christi college in Cambridge, D. D. chaplain to Edward Earl of Manchester, and after that to his son Robert, after that to Car. II. vicar of St. Martin in the Fields, Archdeacon of London, Bishop of Lincoln, and thence translated to the archiepiscopal see of Canterbury. His stipend was 100l. per annum.
M. S. Johannis Jeffery, S. T. P. Archidiaconi Norvicensis hujus Ecclesiæ per 42 Annos Ministri qui Christianam Religionem absque partium, absque sui Studio, ab anili Superstitione fæliciter vindicavit, simplicem et absolutam prædicavit, studijs coluit, ornavit moribus, Calend. Aprilis, Anno Æræ Christianæ 1720. Ætatis suæ 73, ad sui similes demigravit, apud quos, Vita, quam amavit, Gloria, quam quæsivit, Fruitur.
1740, The Rev. Mr. John Whitefoot, A. M. chosen assistant. He was commissary of Norwich archdeaconry, rector of Hellesden and Heigham, minister of St. Gregory, and clerk of the convocation, a very learned, worthy, and judicious divine. See Pt. I. p. 581, 656. In
1731, Dec. 11, on Mr. Whitefoot's death, was chosen upper minister, he was rector of Earsham in Norfolk, and of the sinecure rectory of Tid in Lincolnshire; he lies buried under a black marble in the north isle, directly against the north door, though in the most south part of the isle, with this,
1731, Dec. 11, The Rev. Robert Camell, LL. D. rector of Bradwell
and Lounde in Lothingland in Suffolk, was elected coudjutor or assistant minister here, to whom I am in gratitude bound, always to acknowledge the great assistances I received from him during his life, in this
and many other undertakings. An account of him may be seen in
my first volume of the history of Norfolk, p. 25. He lies buried on
the south side in the altar rails, under a black marble, with the following arms and inscription,
Crest a boar's head cooped.
Reliquiæ Roberti Camell LL. D. Rectoris de Bradwell & Lounde in Com. Suffolciæ, hujusque Ecclesiæ Co-adjutoris, Parochianorum Suffragijs Co-optati, obijt 21° die Mensis Novembris, Ætatis 39°. Æræ Christiani 1732°.
Scias Lector, quicunque sis, quod qualis Is erat, et Tu fueris, Magnus ille et tremendus dies Domini nostri JESV CHRISTI, [THEANTHROPOY], cum omnes ad summum Tribunal sistentur judicandi, manifestabit.
1740, was appointed parish chaplain, or upper minister, and still  continues so, being also vicar of St. Stephen's, and rector of the consolidated rectories of Castor St. Edmund by Norwich, and Merkeshall. And then
The upper minister's place is 80l. per annum stipend, a house to dwell in against Chapel Field, let at 6l. per annum clear. 5l. per annum for the interest of 200l. it being augmented by Queen Anne's bounty, and no purchase yet made; and the surplice fees of the two first months in every quarter.
The reader's place was established in 1680, to read prayers daily (except on Sundays and holidays, when the minister or assistant officiates) at 9 in the morning, and 3 in the afternoon; it is supported by a voluntary subscription, and 4l. per annum issuing out of the house in this parish, in which Alderman Weld lately dwelt, which was settled by Mr. Alexander and Mary Briggs in 1707; the whole amounting to about 30l. per annum. Mr Whitefoot first began it, and was succeeded by
In 1707, a noble organ was erected at the west end of the nave, and Mr. Will. Pleasant was chosen organist, and a salary of 20l. per annum was settled on his place; after him Mr. Humphry Cotton was chosen, who is now organist of the cathedral, being succeeded here by Mr. George Baker the present organist.
The present church is a noble regular freestone fabrick, the best by far of any parochial church in the city, of which this is the principal parish; in 1367, the parish was so increased, the parishioners were forced to enlarge the churchyard, not having sufficient room to bury their dead; and in order thereto, they obtained a license from King Edward III. for that purpose, which is still in the parish chest; by which it appears, that they purchased 39 perches of land of Thomas de Bumpstede, Nic. de Blakeney, Peter de Blickling, and others; and obtained of the city two pieces of small lanes thereto adjoining, all which was conveyed to Roger de Midleton, then rector, and his successours for ever; and the Abbot of Sibeton released all his right in the said ground; upon this it was added to the churchyard, and walled in, and consecrated in 1575.
In 1390, it was determined to demolish the old church and build a new one; and from that time to 1430, many legacies were left, and gifts given for that use; and then they pulled down the whole, and built the present church, which was finished and consecrated in 1455.
It consists of a fine square tower, 100 feet high, containing in it a peal of ten most excellent bells, with a clock and chimes; (fn. 10) a nave 90 feet long, and two isles of an equal length, not including the chapels at the east ends thereof, which are 40 feet long each, the isles are 20 feet broad, and the nave 30, the whole breadth being 70 feet; and to make the whole in form of a cross, there are two chantry chapels or transepts added, of 13 feet from south to north, and 15 feet each from west to east; it being 60 feet from the pavement of the nave to the summit of the roof; the chancel is 60 feet long, and as broad as the nave; there are two porches, one on the south part, and the other on the north, and at the east end of the chancel is the old vestry, and under it a treasury, and under that an arch; the whole being covered with lead; and under the high-altar, which is very advantageously raised to a good eminence above the rest of the church, is another arch, formerly a common passage, but now stopped up, and made a convenient place for workmen to make mortar and such like in, for the church repairs.
The altar piece is, at top a representation of several cherubs, and underneath a perspective view of a building. The furniture of the altar is velvet, the plate belonging to it exceeding grand, all (except one cup lately given) double gilt.
A large silver cup not gilt, on which,
Ad Gardianos Ecclesiæ Saneti Petri de Mancroft, in Civitate Norwici ab Ævo in Ævum, Ex Dono Isaaci Fransham Generosi, olim unius Attorn' Curiæ Domini Regis de Communi Banco, nati in Parochiâ predictâ 28° die Octobris Anno Domini 1660, qui obijt Anno Domini 1743, et anno ætatis 82.
But as great a curiosity and elegant piece of workmanship as is almost any where to be seen, is a most noble standing cup and cover given by Sir Peter Gleane, Knt. on which is the story of Abigail bringing presents to King David, and other things thereto belonging, according to the tenor of the 25th chapter of the first book of Samuel, where the whole account is related. On it are these words:
Thomas Townshend, Esq. and Anne his wife, with the arms and crest of Townshend, with a mullet impaling on a chevron three garbs; and by him lies an old stone having lost its inscription; on it remains a shield of the following arms,
1. On a chevron between three crescents, two lions combatant. 2. Per pale a chevron counterchanged. 3. On a saltier five crescents. 4. A lion rampant surmounted with a bend. These four quartered, impale quarterly in the 3d and 4th quarters, a frett, over all on a bend six mullets.
On the south side of the wall, within the rails, is a mural monument for that worthy physician Dr. Thomas Browne, an account of whom you have in Pt. I. p. 414; it is of black and white marble, and there is a copperplate of it extant in some copies of his Posthumous Works, which were published in octavo at London, in 1712, as also another of his effigies, prefixed to that book, taken from an original picture which was given to the parish by Dr. Howman, and now hangs in the new vestry. His life at large may be seen before his Posthumous Works. The plate is inscribed to the Rev. Edward Tennison, LL. B. Archdeacon of Carmarthen, nephew to Lady Browne.
M. S. Hic situs est Thomas Browne M. D. Miles. Ao. 1605, Londini natus, Generosâ Familiâ apud Upton in Agro Cestriensi oriundus, Scholâ Primum Wintoniensi, postea in Coll. Pembr. apud Oxonienses, bonis literis haud leviter imbutus, in urbe hac Nordovicensi Medicinam Arte egregia et fœlici successû professus. Scriptis quibus Tituli, RELIGIO MEDICI, et PESU DODOXIA EPIDEMICA, alijsque, per Orbem notissimus. Vir prudentissimus, Integerrimus. Doctissimus; obijt Oct. 19, 1682. Piè posuit mæstissima Conjux Domina Doroth. Browne.
Near the Foot of this Pillar lies Sir Thomas Browne Knt. and Doctor in Physick, Author of Religio Medici, and other learned Books, who practised Physick in this City 46 years, and died Oct. 19, 1682, in the 77th Year of his Age. In Memory of whom Dame Dorothy Browne who had been his affectionate Wife 41 Years, caused this Monument to be erected.
Opposite to this, upon the north pillar, there is another mural monument, with an English inscription in verse, upon his lady;
Sacred to the Memory of Lady Dorothy Browne of Norwich, in the County of Norfolk, she died Feb. 24, 1685, in the 63d year of her age.
Reader! thou maist beleive this sacred Stone; It is not common Dust, thou tread'st upon; 'Tis hallowed Earth, all that is left below, Of what the World admir'd, and honor'd too, The Prison of a bright celestial Mind, Too spacious to be longer here confin'd; Which after all that Vertue could inspire, Or unaffected Piety require; In all the noblest Offices of Life, Of tenderest Benefactress, Mother, Wife, To those serene Abodes above, is flown, To be adorn'd with an immortal Crown. (fn. 11)
Below the rails in the chancel are stones for,
Mary Dr. of Sir Thomas Browne, Knt. 1676. Dorothy Dr. of Tho. and Dorothy Alexander 1729. Margaret and Han, Drs. of Hen. & Han. Tuthill. Moses Hicks 1709. Bridget his Wife 1733. Anne the Dr. & Dorothy the Wife of Mr. Will. Strange, Merchant 1691. Hannah Relict of John Cooke, Merchant, 1731, 68.
His Imperfection with Perfection grac'd, He hath his God, his God hath him embrac'd, If here Perfection may be found in Truth, He was a perfect Modell in his Youth, But now he's gon unto the Joyes above, To his Redeemer, and his God of Love.
On a brass plate at the altar steps,
Here lyeth the Body of Mr. John Dersley Merchant, he dyed Oct. 9th 1708, aged 76 Years, and Anna his second Wife, Daugh. of Will. Rush of Colchester in the County of Essex Gent. she dyed April 28th. 1698, aged 48 Years.
On another plate,
Here lyeth buried the Body of Isack Gurlling, who waiteth his Lord's coming, to chang Corruption into Glory, his Soul return'd to rest with God that gave it, in the fifty seaven year of his age, the second of Novemb' Ao. Dni. 1630.
The following inscriptions are in the nave; and first of those on
brass plates, beginning at the most eastern part, just by the step out
of the chancel, lies a large stone, having the effigies of a mayor in his
robes, between his two wives; by the first wife are the effigies of her
children, two boys and two girls; and by the second four girls; it
being placed here in memory of Richard Aylmer, mayor in 1511, son
of Robert Aylmer, who was mayor in 1481, and 1492, and Joan his
first wife; he died in 1512. This inscription is printed in Weever's
Funeral Monuments, fo. 802, as imperfect, though it is legible at
Aylmer Ricardus Procerum de stipite natus, Is quondam Maior Urbis, iacet hic tumulatus, Hatis cum prima atque suis Consorte Johanna, Moribus ornatus, Bonus omnibus atque benignus, Anno Milleno, D, bind, cum duodeno, Jous semtembris trino, migrabit ob orbe. O bone Christe Thesu, fons bite, spes, Medicina, Votis inclina, te quesumus aure Benigna, Ut sibi sit Requies, bibat terum sine fine.
HERE NERE LYE INTERRED THE RODIES OF WILLIAM AND DOROTHY WALLER CHILDREN OF THOMAS WALLER ESQ. AND ELIZABETH HIS WIFE, ONE OF WHICH, VIZ. DOROTHY, DEPARTED THIS LIFE THE 19 DAY OF OCTOBER Ao DNI. 1645, BEING THEN OF THE AGE OF NINE MONTHS, THE OTHER DIED 20 OCT. 1647, BEING THEN OF THE AGE OF 4 YEARS AND UPWARDS.
Over the second,
Elizabeth Uxor ejus;
Hogan, arg. a chevron varry O. G. between three hurts, on each a bear's leg or paw erased of the field, quartering,
Blundell, ar. a chevron between three eagles displayed gul.; Between the shields are these words,
Morieris, Resurges, Judicaberis, si in Domino, beatus.
And the following brasses are loose, which came off here,
Ye schall pray for the Soule of Sir John Leuys Pryst, and Johanna his Syster, his Frendys Souls, and all Crysten souls, on whos souls Jesu have Mercy amen.
Orate pro anima Johanne London filie Willi: London Armigeri, ruius anime propitietur Deus Amen. (fn. 12)
Of Mrs. Ann Flynt's soul, Jesu Mercy have, Which was the dowter of William London Whoes Body died, I was beryed in this Grah The ri Dy of Jun, by recourse I computatyon Iu. r: and rri ryer of our Lordys Incarnatyon And to all them that for her thus do pray, Jesus grant them Nehyn at their Dethys Day. (fn. 13)
Orate pro anima Johannis Mers Auditoris Episcopi Lincoln' et pro quibus idem Johannes tenetur Orate. Anno Dom. M.ccccc bn, (fn. 14)
Here lieth Henry Wilton sumtym Alderman of this Citte; And Margaret my Wyfl, which libed in this World in Felicite, And now libe here undyr this Marble Stone in Mortalite, Wherefore we pary you of your Charite, That you will pray for us, that me may rum to libe, In Warlde celestiall, with a Pater Noster and an Abe. Obiit Henricus rii Decemb. Mcccccbii. Margareta obiit M. cccc. (fn. 15)
The following on modern stones, beginning at the east end of the
John Lucas Gent. 1696. Anne his Daughter 1710. John Lucas lerchant his Son 1738. Susan the Wife of John Pitts 1689. John itts 1728, æt 73. Edw. Mayes 1708, æt. 70. his 2 Wives Susanna Margaret, & his Son John. Anne the Wife of Philip Stebbing Esq; 1702, 52, & 3 of their Children. Also Philip Stebbing Esq; late layor, 1705, 64.
Peter Fabuër Sword-Bearer, 1725, æt. 32. Ann Wife of Nath. Roe 1743, æt. 47. Mary Dr. of John and Hannah Morse 1733, 27, Jonathan their Son 1700, and also Hannah and Mary Roe 1721, Hannah Dr. of John and Hannah Morse, 1725, 21. John Morse mercer 1713, 50, and Hannah his Wife 1738, 75. Ann Wife of George Hainsworth 1721, 30, Samuel & George their Sons, Samuel died 1727, George 1730, Mary their Daughter 1732, 19. Charles Green 1734, 71, Eliz. his Wife 1727, 53, Charles their son 1735, 25. John Dunch 1734, 58. Will. Pleasant late Organist, 1717.
Hic jacet Carolus Perry Medicinæ Doctor, Filius Johan. Perry Generosi, & Franciscæ Uxoris ejus, intra hanc urbem Natus, Cantabrigiæ in Collegio de Gonvile & Caius educatus, et in sodalitium admissus: In altero loco Studiorum in Medicinâ feliciter positorum honores habuit Summos; in altero fructum percepturus. Acuto correptus morbo, de spe suâ et amicorum simul infeliciter decidit. Natus est anno Dom. 1698, Mortuus est 1730. Gibson Filiolus Johan: & Franciscæ Perry 1695.
Sacred to the Memory of Mr. Geore Vertue, sometime
Sheriff and Alderman of this City, who out of publick Zeal to
the more solemn Worship of God in the Beauty of Holiness,
both proposed and managed the Contributions, which by his singular Care erected this noble Structure (fn. 16) over him.
Envy not Reader, his fair vocall Tombe, None but the Blind and Deaf, could here be dumb,
He died 1710, aged 44. Stephen his Son, also Sarah his late Wife, 1727, 58. Tho. Vertue his second Son 1724, 25. Also Ann, Catherine, and George, who all died in their minority.
In the north isle, beginning at the chapel at the east end, which is dedicated to the holy name of Jesus, and St. John the Baptist; at the altar at its east end, was founded a priest daily to celebrate the mass called Jesus mass, who was sustained by the fraternity or gild of Jesus, kept here; which was instituted at the building of the church in 1455, to which most persons that died in the parish were benefactors; but in particular John Cook, who gave a tenement in the Middle-row in the Market-place, which he had of Richard Marvyn, alias Tevell, clerk, to keep, according to the rule of the church of Salisbury, his anniversary, with his father's and mother's, with Placebo and Dirige by note, on the Monday after the 4th Sunday in Lent, by the parish chaplain, and priest of Jesus mass, and by the parish clerk, and clerk of Jesus mass, and the four other priests celebrating in the church, and four other secular persons dwelling in the parish, in the choir there; and mass of requiem the Wednesday after: at which anniversary there was 8d. to be spent in bread, beer, and firing on the priests, and 1d. to be offered at mass of requiem, and 4d. to the parish chaplain, and 4d. to the priest of Jesus mass; to each of the clerks 2d. to each of the celebrating priests 2d. and 1d. apiece to the two chorister boys, and 1d. to each of the four seculars, and a wax candle of a quarter of a pound to burn during mass; the rest of the rent was to go towards the maintenance of the gild priest: it was settled in 20 feoffees, by James Green, chaplain of the gild, at the request of John Hekker, and Tho. Wattys, clerks, executors of Mr. John Cak, clerk, Cook's trustee. Thomas Coney, grocer, John Sotherton, mercer, Nic. Osborn, mercer, and Will. at Mere, scrivener, wardens (fn. 17) of Jesus gild and mass, were among the first feoffees.
Sir Richard Tevell, clerk, aforesaid, settled a stock of 16 milch neat beasts on the church-wardens, for the benefit of the gild and parish, which in 1544, were let by the four church-wardens to John Walby, junior, who was to make each beast good, or pay 14s. each.
Prudens Mercator et nobilis istius Urbis, Ter Maior Thomas Elys hic iacct et sua sponsa Margareta simul Viginti Coningio soboles, et sic in honore per annos Quatuor et quingquagenos decas octo Septeno, quinta Septembris lice sic ipse Decessit, Requies et Lur sit utrique perhennis. (fn. 18)
This Thomas was mayor of Norwich in 1460, 1465, and 1474; and once burgess in parliament; he died in 1487, and was father to Will. Ellis, Baron of the Exchequer in 1535, who was lord of a manor in Attlebridge, where William, his son and heir, lies buried. He and his family glazed the windows of this chapel in a fine manner; which were lately unglazed, and made quite new with white glass, and the painted glass put together and fixed in the two windows by the high-altar.
Orandumque est pro animabus Edmundi Garnysh Armigeri, et Matilde ejus Consortis Filie predictorum Thome Elis et Margarete, ac pro longevo statu Christopheri Garnysh Militis, dicti serenissimi Principis ville sue Calisie Janitor' - - - - Willi: Elys - - - uni' Baronum Scaccarij mutuend' - - -
The effigies of all the aforesaid men and wives, with their children by them, are in divers panes of the windows, kneeling at desks with books before them. As Thomas Elys in his mayor's gown and a sable cap, the gown gul. turned up vert, and his wife also at a desk kneeling on which L. E. & E. arma Elys, viz.
Ellis impales quarterly 1st and 4th arg. a dog saliant S. 2d and 3d arg. a bend ingrailed gul. V. arma William Ellys Baron'. . Two women kneeling in murry gowns, their hoods purfled or, and Ellis's arms quartered as before, and arg. an otter rampant S. impaling arg. a bend ingrailed sab. and
She was buried here with this inscription, now lost,
Elizabetha Sponsa Willelmi Elys generosi, In qua forma, deror, I Virtus folruit isto Marmore rlauso iacet, et eam luc septima Marci E medio tulit, anno Christi Mil. quater et C. I Simul. U. ter. et I. requies rui sit sine Fine. (fn. 19)
His effigies in complete armour is on a brass plate on his stone,
which hath a shield at each of the four corners, and the following inscription at his feet,
Here under lyethe the Corps of Peter Rede Esquier, who hath worthely served not only his Prynce and Cuntry, but also the emperor Charles the 5, bothe at the Conquest of Barbaria and at the Siege of Tunis, as also in other Places, who had geven hym by the sayd Emperour for his valiaunt Dedes, the Order of Barbaria, who died the 29th of December in the Year of our Lord God 1568.
Read or Rede, az. on a bend wavy or, three moor-cocks sab. in a bordure ingrailed arg. pelleté a crescent erm. with the following honourable addition given by the Emperour, viz. a canton sinister parted per pale, on the first part two ragged staves in saltier; on the second, a man holding a caduceus in his right hand, his left pointing upwards; on his sinister side a sword in pale, with the point downwards, pricked into a Moor's head.
The same again at his feet; the third shield hath Rede as before, impaling quarterly, 1st and 4th, on a fess between three unicorns heads erased, three lilies; 2d and 3d, a fess between three leopards faces; fourth shield, Read impaling Bleverhasset, quartering Lowdham, Keldon, Orton, and Skelton.
This Sir Peter, was son of John Rede, Esq. mayor of Norwich in
1496, and gave his houses in St. Giles's, to find the great bell
to be rung at four o'clock every morning, and eight o'clock every
night: these fell into decay, and afterwards the ground was leased
out, and is built upon, and pays 4l. ground rent, and is the west corner of the triangle piece at the meeting of the two streets of St. Giles's,
called Upper and Lower Newport. There is a picture of him in the
council-chamber, with a hawk on his fist, and the arms of Rede.
Crest, a buck's head armed or, collared arg. on which,
Peter Reade Gentleman, did give certayne houses in Norwich, to the Ende that the greate Bell in the Parish of St. Peter of Mancrofte, should for ever be runge at fower of the Clocke in the Morninge, and at eight of the Clocke at Night, for the Helpe and Benefit of Travillers. He did also give a faire Salt double Gilt, of the Value of twentie poundes, to be used in the Maiors Houses in Norwich, in Time of ther Maioroltie; and he did further give to the Poore of this Cittie, one hundred thirtie three Poundes six Shillinges and eight Pence, to be yearelie distributed by six Poundes, 13s. 4d. untill the whole summe were runne out; he departed this Life An°. Dni. 1568.
Of your Charite pray for the Soule of Kod Reade, late Wyffe of Edward Read, Alderman of this Citty of Norwich, which died the rii of September, in the Year of our Lord M.cccccrriii, on whose Soule Jesus have Mercy. (fn. 20) (fn. 21)
The north chapel is dedicated to St. Nicholas, and was called Cosyn's chantry; in 1322, Edward II. granted the first license in mortmain, and in 1328, John Cosyn, citizen of Norwich, was licensed by William Bishop of Norwich, to found a chantry of two priests, daily to sing for his own and his wife Margaret's soul, and all his parents, friends, and benefactors; and in 1330, King Edward III. granted him a second license in mortmain for that purpose, having obtained leave of John de Burncester, rector, to found two chantry chaplains here; and accordingly he appointed Sir Gilbert de Folsham, and Sir John Bolour of Hemenhale, his first chaplains, and settled on them and their successours, two shops, four stalls, and 28 shillings rent in the market in Norwich, in the Worthstede-row, and in the Spicerierow; in 1396, these chaplains had a tenement in the parish settled on them to dwell in: in 1457, Will. Ashwell, alderman, gave to Sir John Rake, clerk, 40s. and a vestment of green silk, to serve in his chantry. In 1501, Sir John Josse, vicar of Little Melton, gave two chambers in the parish, to the augmentation of this chantry, on condition the chantry priest daily remember his soul in his mass; and another house in the parish to the same chantry, to keep a solemn dirige by note, and mass of requiem by note, disposing at the same time of 2s. to the priest, clerk, and poor men there, of which the parish chaplain to have 6d. This chantry revenues were taxed at 6l. 13s. 4d. and the chantry priests were always collated by the Bishop.
1330, Gilbert de Folsham, John Bolour. 1381, John Osmund. 1386, Thomas Chapeleyn, succeeded in 1397, by John Cotton. 1403, John Pope. 1413, Thomas Ryngeman. 1428, John Rake, alive in 1458. 1483, Tho. Bateman. 1487, Ric. Stokesby. 1490, Robert Sexten, alias Cutlers. Sir Robert Watton. 1454, Will. Copping, the last chantry priest.
At the Dissolution, the City purchased the revenues of it viz. 4 shops in the butchery, one tenement with a wool-shop in Spicerrow, another shop in the poultry-market, and 15s. 4d. rent from divers fish-shops, which were purchased at 100l. and 10l. was paid to Sir Edward Warner, Knt. and to Mr. John Gosnall, for their counsel and pains about it.
In 1445, Thomas Bumpstede, Esq. gave 10l. to glaze the east window of this chapel over St. Nicholas's altar, by which the image of that saint was placed. In 1506, there was a new tabernacle made, for the image of St. Edmund the King in this chapel, and each of these images had a light burning before them.
Here lyeth the Body of Thomas Mathewe, eldest
Son of John Mathewe of Norwich Upholster yet living, who died the nynth of January Ao. Dni. 1632,
Lydea the most loving Wife of the said Thomas,
made this Monument for her dearly beloved Husband,
Whos Dust lieth here, my own remaine, Thow now is parted, yet once shall meet againe.
Under the effigies of a man,
Here lyeth the Body of Christopher Hudson, the son of Thomas Hudson, who had to Wife Mary Bourne the Daughter of Allen Bourne, by whom she had Issue too Sonnes and three Daughters, he died the third Daye of August 1609, being of the age of 69 Yeares.
There are flat stones in this chapel for, Daniel Manser 1672, Jane
his wife 1708, 79, and two mural monuments, one on the west side for
Will. eldest son of James and Eliz. Bolton of Lincoln. Nov. 1718, 26.
The other on the east side is thus inscribed,
M. S. Mingay Osborne (formerly Sheriff of this City) and Annaretta his second Wife, lies interred in their Grave near this Place, he was a dutifull Son, and in his Business a faithfull obliging Servant; during his Mother's Life he lived upon a small Income contentedly and commendably, and by her Death (not 8 Months before his own) becoming possessed of ample Property, but not permitted Life to enjoy it, he disposed of it so, as to shew himself kind to his relations, gratefull to his Friends, and charitable to the needy, he died Jan. 27, A. D. 1741, Aged 26 Years.
In the north isle there are four mural monuments; the first is towards the east end not far from the aforesaid chapel, with this,
Spe beate Resurrectionis, in tumulo non procul ab hoc marmoris Monumento jacent Cineres Isaaci Fransham Gen.' olim' un' Attorn' Cur' Dni' Regis de Banco, nati in Parochiâ Sci' Petri de Mancroft in Civitate Norvici anno Salutis 1660, qui obijt Maij 7° 1743, anno ætatis suæ 82, unà cum corpore Rob. Fransham Patris ejus.
The second is near the said chapel, a little more west, having the
arms of Osborne, and this,
Hereunto adjacent lieth the Body of John Osborn Esq. who died Sheriff of the City of Norwich, Aug. 27, 1719, aged 49, Eliz. his first Wife 27 Nov. 1702, ag. 32.
The third monument is more west on the same wall, and is erected to the memory of Richard Starling carpenter, who lies buried on the other side of the wall in the churchyard, he died Nov. 1, 1723, 92, and of Ric. Starling Attorney at law his son, 1690, 36, and of Ric. Starling carpenter, who died Nov. 1729, 57. And Ric. their kinsman Nov. 1723, 8.
The fourth is a neat mural monument at the west end of this isle against the north-east buttress of the tower; it is of an unusual, but well-looking composure; at the top is a shield, on which the arms of
Curtis, paly of eight az. and or, a fess chequy sab. and or, supported by a neat pillar, surmounting a piece of marble cut in form
of a pyramid, and underneath is this,
Sacred to the Memory of Augustine Curtis Senior, and Augustine Curtis Junior, Carvers, both of this Parish, Son and Grandson of John and Frances Curtis late of this City,
|They died||May 26, 1731,||Ætat.||70.|
|Oct. 26. 1732.||31.|
Mathew Blyford, born Aug. 26, 1705, died 3 June 1706, and Kitchingman Blyford born 12 Oct. 1708, died 19 Aug. 1710, both Sons of Mathew Blyford of this Parish, and Dorothy his Wife; also Will. Blyford their Son, born 27 March, died 30 May 1712, also Matt. Blyford died Nov. 24, 1714, aged 34, and Dorothy his Wife died Febr. 8, 1714, 34,
Crest, a dog sedant. Billetté a cross fitché fleury. Capt. James Norris of this Parish, died 23 May, 1718, Æt. 51. Jane Wife of Sam. Brockden, 1690, 33. Benjamin their Son of London, June 9, 1719, 27. Alderman Ric. Brockden 1689. Bokenham Son of James and Dorothy Brockden 1690, 13. Dorothy Wife of Jonathan Barton, Dr. of Mr. John Coller, 1688, 64. John Riseborow Sen. 1682, Mary his Wife 1704, Mary her Dr. 1694, Prisca another Dr. 1699.
Susan Browne, the last deceased of eleven Children, (the first ten interr'd before the northern Porch) from their surviving Parents, John and Susan his Wife, she sought a City to come, and upon the 30th of August, departed hence and found it.
Edward Woodward 1677. Margaret his Wife 1669, Mat. Rob. Edw. their Sons. Anne Wife of Michael Beverley, Dr. of the said Edward 1688. Deborah Shipley March 5, 1728. Ant. Denew of Blofield Gent. 1727, 84,
Opposite to the north door, the whole breadth of the isle, lie stones for the Gannings, that most south for Samuel Ganning late minister here, is before taken notice of; the rest are for, Eliz. wife of Daniel Ganning Grocer, daughter of the Rev. Mr. John Whitefoot, late minister here, she died June 4, 1725, 29 Susan their daughter 20 April, 1732, aged 9 Years. Timothy Ganning Upholster second Son of Nicholas Ganning Bachelor of Divinity, late Rector of Barnham Broom, Dec. 30, 1731, 79. (See Hist. Norf. vol. ii. p. 378.) Susan Wife of Jeremiah Ganning Hosier, 11, 1721, 63. Jeremiah their third Son 20 May 1708, 11. Daniel Ganning Grocer, 4th son of Nic. Ganning B. D. Jan. 6, 1712, 56.
These memorials are still in the north isle and its two chapels; in the north porch lies George Hill, Parish Clerk, died 1714, 71. In the south porch lies Tho. Till, Parish Clark, who died in 1733. In the tower under the bell chamber was buried Francis Smith 1742. And here stands one of Newsham's engines, which was purchased by the parish in 1736.
On the south side of the south isle, opposite to St. Nicholas's chapel aforesaid, is the chapel of the Blessed Virgin Mary, which in those days was a place of great repute. Here the fishmongers, &c. kept their gild on the 9th Sunday after Trinity. (See Pt. I. p. 207.) The altar here was dedicated to the Holy Trinity, and was commonly called Bronde's altar, from John Bronde, the first chantry priest here, who daily served at it; he being chantry priest of the foundation of Letice, wife of William Pain, who in 1313, founded a chantry of two chaplains, one to officiate here, and the other in St. Stephen's, where you may see an account of this foundation at p. 163.
1485, Rob. Dapeleyn alias Dryver, clerk, of this parish, who was buried in the churchyard, gave his house he dwelt in, to the augmentation of this chantry, to be settled on it, by the advice of Master Roger Townesend, one of the justices of the Common Pleas; the chantry priest, with an other priest yearly for ever after his decease, in their surplices, being to celebrate at the altar, for the souls of Lettice Pain, Roger Townesend aforesaid, his own, and friends souls, on his obit day, with Placebo, Dirige, and mass of Requiem, the chantry priest to give the priest that helps him 4d. and to the bell-ringer that rings for his Dirige 4d. and to repair that bell 8d. to offer 1d. and give to three poor persons attending 1d. each; and if the house cannot be settled, then to be sold, and laid out in ornaments for the, church, and in particular for a legendary of 10l. price, and an antiphonary of 10l. price.
1317, Henry de Thornham, pilekoc, first chantry priest in St. Stephen's, John Bronde, first chantry priest here. 1381, John Cosyn, who had one of Cosyn's chantry stipends also. 1386, Roger Cole. 1390, Jeffery Bonewell. 1392, Peter Neve. 1394, Henry Dallyng. 1445, Sir Richard. 1481, died Will. Brewyn, 1482, Rob. Dryver aforesatd. 1487, Will. Byllern. 1513, Sir John Dourant, he died in 1543, "Item, I will that my Successor, the which shall be Chauntery Pryste next after my Decease, shall have to him and his Successors ix Acres of Londe lyenge with owght St. Stephen's Gates, upon, Condicon, that he shall not vexe nor troble my Executors for Dilapidacon and decay of my seid Chaunterye or any other Cause." He lies buried here, with this still remaining.
1545, John Florence, who had the other stipend in St. Stephen's was the last chantry priest, and had 4l. 11s. pension for life, allowed him at the Dissolution; this chantry being valued at 5l. 9s. 7d. as that in St. Stephen's was; but the houses, lands, &c. belonging to it, were purchased by the city.
Will. Setman or Sedman, was buried under another disrobed stone before this altar, and gave 26l. 13s. 4d. to repair the church; and settled a wax taper to burn continually day and night before the body of our Lord in the chancel of this church for ever; and gave money to say 3000 masses for him after his death; he founded the fifth conduct's place in the chapel in the Field, as may be seen at p. 176.
The following inscriptions are on flat stones;
Resurrectionem vitæ ab hinc expectat Anna, chara, dilecta, fidelis Uxor, Petri Thacker Generosi, quæ post undecim Uteri Pignora fatales demum enixa Gemellos, gravi Puerperio, Mariti graviori Luctu, Liberorum mærore, omnium affectu, animam in manus Dei Datoris reddidit xi° die Julij anno domini 1695, ætatis suæ 42.
Thacker, gul. on a fess between three lozenges erm. a trefoil between two geese heads and necks erased, yoked sab. quartering vert,
on a fess or between three lions passant ar. three lapwings sab. On a
hatchment hanging in the south isle, the same crest and arms are
impaled on the stone,
Peter Thacker hujus Civitatis, aliquando Præfectus, diù Senator, memor exitûs vitæ, hoc sibi & suis Sepulchrum vivens posuit; repentinâ tandem, non improvisâ morte ereptus. Ætatis anno 76, Salutis 1722
Sacred to the Memory of Nicolas Bickerdik Esq. some time Mayor of this Corporation, whos publick Spirit, sound Principles, Orthodox Piety, and discrete Charity, justly chaleng the exemplary Character of a true Patriot to his Country, a loyal Subject to his Prince, a steady Friend to the church, and generous Benefactor to the Poor; born at Farnham in the County of Yorke, who departed this Life, Jan. 21, 1701, aged 63 Years.
In the south isle, beginning at the east end of the chapel there, which is dedicated to St. Anne, as was the chief altar, by which her image was placed, and had a light burning before it; this altar was, where now the new vestry is. And here was the gild of St. Anne held. Here was also an image of St. Robert, before which Richard Clerk was buried in 1526: and we meet with pilgrimages sometimes made to St. Robert here.
Exuviæ Jacobi Skipper C. C. C. C. alumni, cujus animus, terrenum Corporis Mortalis Ergastulum, ægrè ferens et pertæsus, vincula rupit, et ex hac qualicunque vitâ gestiens, ad immortalitatem et Patriam Cælestem demigravit 25° Dec. A. D. 1706. Ætatis suæ anno 20.
And this on a brass plate,
Here resteth the Body of John Kinge late of Norwich Gent. a Man hopefull and ingenvous, his departure much deplored; he marryed Mary the eldest Daughter of Edw. Garneys of Redsham-Hall in the County of Suff. Esq; upon the 8th Day of April 1658, and was from her by Death divorced, upon the 31 Day of May next following.
Hymen did blese him with a worthy Mate, Er'e Cynthia doubled her Revolution, Heavens willing that he should anticipate His Glorye, wrought his Dissolution It was decreed soe, nor do thou Mourne His Relict Turtle, agaynst necessity He never will unto the Arke retourne, He hath found better footing equally, Thanke Almighty God, which to the gave him, And Almighty God, which from the have him.
On another brass,
Here RICHARD ANGUISH sleepes for whom alyve Norwich & Cambridge latlie seem'd to strive, Both called him Son, as seemed well they might, Both challenged in his Lyfe an equall Right, NORWICH gave Birth and taught him well to speake, The Mother Englishe, Latine Phrase, and Greeke, CAMBRIDGE with Arts adorned his ripening Age, Degrees and Judgement in the sacred Page, Yet NORWICH gaines the 'vantage of the Strife, Whiles there he ended, where begann his Life.
Here lyeth the Body of John Spencer of Allerclife in the County of York Gent. who was the third Son of William Spencer of the same Towne & County Gent. who was baptized the 4th. of November 1619, and here interred the 8 of Jan. 1665.
On flat stones, beginning at the west end by the last brass plate,
Edw. Clarke Mercer, 1723, 57. Mr. Tho. Gibson, 1711, 82. Judith his wife 1718, 81. Susanna Dr. of Edm. & Judith Clarke 1714, 22. Edm. son of Edm. Clarke 1721, 24. George Wilcox 1679. George son of George and Alice Wilcox 1674. Edw. son of Edw. Browne Clockmaker 1724. James Burill 1720, 67. John Wilson 1692, 66. Tho. Willson 1706, 39. Charles son of John Wilson 1709. Bridget Nixon 1724, 18.
Benj. Mackerell 1679. Anne Dr. of John Mackerell & Anne his Wife 1681. John Salter Surgeon, born July 12, 1716, died April 30, 1742, he was to an extraordinary Degree diligent and temperate, disposed to every social Vertue, and not ashamed to be religious. John his only child born 1741, died 1742.
On a neat mural monument more east, on the top sits a cherub,
Sacred to the Memory of Edward Coleburne Esq; who was elected one of the Sheriffs of this City, and Alderman in the Year 1717, Mayor in 1720, he administered Justice impartially, was just in his Dealings, very liberal to the Poor, and a good neighbour, departed this Life the 18th Day of Sept. 1730, in the 37th Year of his Age.
M. S. Johannis Mackerell Civitatis Norvicensis Gen. Qui in spe letæ resurrectionis unà cum justis, in Conditorio è Regione hujus Monumenti jacet. Cujus eximia Pietas, Fides inconcussa, atque in egenos Liberalitas satis innotuere: juxtaque humatur Anna Charissima ac pientissima Consors ejus, EliÆ Browne, quondam ejusdem Civitatis Armigeri Filia, ex quâ undecim suscepit Liberos, quorum quinque Exuviæ pariter atque septem Liberorum Caroli Mackerell, Filij eorum natû maximi, et sex Benjamin, eorundem Filij eorum natû minimi, in avorum sepulchro conduntur, Qui omnes Fato cesserunt Infantes. Diem Ille supremum obijt, octogenarius, decimo sexto die Martij, anno domini, Mdccxxiii°. Immortalitatem Illa induit, die nono Jan: Anno Æræ Christianæ Mdccxxiido. Ætatisque suæ Lxxv.
There are two hatchments in this isle, on the first, or, a bend gul. over all a fess az. a mullet for difference, quartering, quarterly 1. gul. a lion rampant arg. 2. gul. a chevron between three eagles displayed arg.
And to express the law of the members, warring against the law of
the mind, and bringing that into captivity, to the law of sin, which
is in the members, to use the Apostle's words in the preceding verse,
he is represented with one of his knees naked, and the devil putting
a thorn into his flesh; but to his comfort a glory appears to him, on
which are these words of consolation,
My Grace is sufficient for Thee.
Against the wall hangs a neat old painted carving in alabaster, of
nine female saints, designed in all probability formerly, for some altar
of St. Margaret, for she is the principal image, holding down a
dragon: there are also St. Hilda the Abbess, holding a book and
a pastoral staff, St. Barbara holding the tower and palm branch, &c.
These, and several books, were given by Dr. Howman, and added to
the remains of the library, which was formerly over the north
porch, but now removed hither. Here is a fine iron chest, given by
the late Archdeacon Clark, in which the evidences are deposited, and
a fair octavo MS. Bible, which was written in 1340; and a folio
MS. much ancienter, and illuminated, which was formerly the book
of Robert de Novell; it contains the text of all St. Paul's epistles,
with a gloss on them, with these lines at the end,
Pauli Doctoris, quem rexit virtus amoris, Summa Dei nostri Glosis presentibus istis, Inde sibi justum jam non est vivere tristis, Functus in officio Laudis fuit iste Labore, Inde manens omni cunctorum dignus honore.
Explicit hic Petri Glosarum meta Magistri, Que perdent Dictis ac Juribus Utilitatis, Sunt ammirantes has omnes aspicientes, Tum laudant pridem, tum post testantur et Idem, Legitur obscura, sapienter Litteratura.
Memoriæ Infantuli, Filij primi, Richardi Anguish Generosi, et Katherine Uxoris ejus, Qui levissimus citius ascendit suprà, Pars autem Gravior, Natali Labore fessa, Habitu carens, hic quiescit. Natus obiit Dec. 25, 1635,
Thomas Rowson under this Marbyll with Earth is inclosyde, Whom Death the 24 Day of September from the World disposyde, In the 15o Year of our Lord I 39, he departed indede, That his Soule may the sooner to hebyn, Jesu him spede.
In the middle alley in the nave,
Here resteth the Remains of a pious Soule, Mary Wife of William Goldsmith, who was born Saturday Morn' May 16, 1640; was married May 20, 1658, and died Saturday Night May 25, 1661.
Besides those already mentioned, I find there were lights kept in this church, before the images of St. Mary Magdalen, St. Dorothy, St. Thomas, St. Catherine, St. Margaret, the two angels in the quire, the patible over the perke, St. Saviour, the Holy Sepulchre in the chancel, and St. Peter and Paul, the principal images or patron saints of the church, which stood one on each side of the altar; besides these there was an image of St. John Baptist, and an altar and a gild kept to his honour, in the north chapel, which was dedicated to him, and the holy name of Jesus, as is before observed; and there was a constant light burning before the holy rood, on the rood-loft, which was between the church and chancel.
1311, John de Wroxham, buried in the chapel of St. Mary, "Sub alis ecclesie Sancti Petri de Mancroft," which shows, there was a chapel of St. Mary in the old church, that was pulled down, and that the isles may be so called from the word ala, a wing, they being as it were wings to the nave. He gave 10l. to the church.
1385, Thomas Bumpstede, buried in St. Nicholas's chapel, gave 18l. to adorn the church, and 100l. for 20 priests to sing for him, and 50l. towards the rebuilding of the steeple at Newton Flotman, 10l. to repair Taseburgh steeple, and a legacy to pave Kynyngham chancel.
1393, John Pilly buried in the church, and gave towards rebuilding it 40s. 1431, Roger Scale gave 5l. towards it. 1439, Will. Fen gave 10 marks towards the building the chancel, if the rector would rebuild it wholly new. 1444, Emma wife of Roger Legyard, spicer, buried before St. John Baptist's altar, and gave towards the new reredos or rood-loft, 55 marks. Nic. Manning buried in the church the same year. 1445, Gregory Smith, rector of Merkeshall, buried in the church. The same year, Robert Pert, senior, buried in the church by Agnes his wife, gave 20l. toward the new gable of the chancel, viz. 10 marks when it was level with the ground of the churchyard, 10 marks when it came to the bottom of the great window, and 10 marks when they crowned the arch of its top. Ric. Gouge, buried in the church the same year, and Tho. Balle in 1446. In 1453, Tho. Aleyn, grocer, in the north isle, and gave a vestment of a 100 marks, with these words thereon in small pearls. Orate pro Animabus thome Aleyn et Agne- tis wroris eius. He gave also 50 marks to make a new pillory in the market, and a covering for corn to be sold under it, which was the old cross. 1457, Alderman Will. Ashwell, buried in the arch under the high altar. 1458, Beatrix, widow of Tho. Balle, buried by her husband, and also John Ode, and Marion Mason, widow, who gave a canopy to be placed over the host, and a white silk vestment to serve on the holidays of the Virgin. 1459, Alice Lovel, widow, buried in the church; and in the same year, Will. Lovel, alias Elyngham, chaplain, buried in the churchyard; he gave his missal and manual to the mass of Jesus, the same year, Will. Deynes, grocer, buried in the church, gave 5 marks to it, and 20s. to the said mass. 1461, John Shotesham buried in the church, gave a silver pix of 5 marks value. Will. Atkins in 1462, gave 6 marks to the church. In 1462, John Holle Turnor, buried in the churchyard on the north side, and gave to the making a stone-cross called a palme-crosse, five marks, which was to be placed over his grave; this palme-crosse is mentioned in many wills. 1463, John Causton, alias Julians, grocer, buried in the north isle, and gave 10 marks to make a new font of good work; which is now standing. Margt. Sexteyn, buried in the church. 1464, Agnes, widow of Thomas Aleyn, alderman, buried by her husband's tomb, and gave two osculatories of peace, of silver, to serve at the altar. 1467, Rob. Toppe, alderman, buried in St. John Baptist's chapel, and gave 20 marks to the church, and founded an obit and anniversary to be kept for him in this church for 20 years, to pray for his own soul, and the souls of Alice his wife, and all their children, of William Fen and Agnes his wife, his father and mother, of John Byskeleye and his wife, and all the deceased, every priest in his surplice at his exequies, to have 4d. and 3s. 4d. to be distributed to the poor. Joan, wife of Sir William Knyvet, Sir Will. Yelverton, Knt. Chief Justice of the King's Bench, and John Heydon, counsellor, executors. 1472, Godefry Joye, alderman, buried in the church by the tomb of Agnes Caly, his first wife, and settled his tenement that he purchased of Brothers John Elyngham, monk, and John Thornage, chaplain, on the parishioners, to find a candle burning before the sacrament at the highaltar, and 20l. either to buy a jewel or make a new altar-piece at the high-altar, between the tabernacles of St. Peter and Paul there. The altar-piece is of wainscot, and is now behind the new one, and hath divers martyrs, saints, and confessors, painted on the pannels. 1475, Agnes Reyner, in the church. 1479, Edm. Bokenham, Esq. in the church; and Thomas Burgess also, by the tomb of Barth. Splytte, and Joan Shelton, widow, and Tho. Kempe, who gave 40s. towards new leading the church, 40s. to paint the lower part of the perke or rood-loft, and a legacy to the light burning before the patible on the rood-loft. 1489, Robert Pert by Cecily his wife, and gave a jewel of 10l. Rob. Vere, chaplain, buried in the church the same year. Walter Byllern, who gave a silver gilt cross of 20 marks. 1493, Tho. London, mercer, buried before the image of our lady in the body of the church, on the perke, to which he gave 40s. to the new gilding, and a legacy to new gild the image of the Holy Trinity, at the south end of the said perke, and paint the tabernacle it stood in. In 1494, Rob. Osborn, sheriff, (see his inscription,) was buried before the image of our Lady on the rood-loft, on the south side by Eliz. his late wife, and ordered Eliz. his relict to buy for the high-altar, a red velvet vestment of 40l. The images of our Lady of Pity, and St. John, are mentioned. 1496, Nic. Noble, buried in the church, gave his mass book of the blessed name of Jesu, to Jesus mass. 1497, John Newman gave an antiphonary and desk, to stand on the south side of the church, as that on the north, for the priests to sing their service at. 1498, Will. Byllern, priest, gave a whole set of vestments of blue velvet to the two blue copes, of 12l. value, and his corporas case of blue cloth of gold tissue, with the corporas therein ready hallowed, and an antiphonary of 12 marks, and many other books, and a cross. 1499, Margaret Turner buried in the south isle, and gave a cope of 5 marks. 1500, Florence Johnson, gave 7 wax candles to burn before the image of our Lady in her chapel for four years, viz. the mid-candle to burn at all times of divine service, and the other six only while the Salve of our Lady is sung. 1502, Margaret Radclyff, alias Curteys, widow, gave a white satin vestment embroidered.
1504, Eliz. Drake, widow, late wife of Will. Davy, and wife to John Carleton, mercer, buried by Carleton, and gave 5l. to gild the roodloft between the church and chapel. 1504, Sir Rob. Beverley, clerk, buried before the image of St. Edward lately made, 1506, Allice Ballis, buried in our Lady's chapel, by Ric. Ballis, her husband, and gave 5l. to cover the relicks in the church with silver. 1506, John Mere in St. Nicholas's chapel, on the north side of William Curteys, and gave a suit of vestments to the altar in the chapel with the arms of the church of Lincoln, and this inscription,
1508, William Yexworth in the chancel, in the space where his desk standeth. 1507, Henry Wilton, alderman, in St. Nicholas's chapel, between Katherine and Margaret his wives, and gave 5l. to buy lead to lead the steeple, and gave a legacy towards finishing the top of the steeple. 1513, Henry Barker buried in the church, and gave a black velvet cope. 1514, Sir John Dannok, in the church, and gave six marks towards the choir copes. The same year Alderman Rich. Ferrour was buried by the stile, on the north side of the church, against the old tomb of John Hendrye, and ordered a new tomb of five marks to be placed over him, and gave four marks to the church, and willed a hundred masses to be sung in the church within eight days after his decease, half by secular priests, and half by friars. 1523, Rob. Bois, grocer, buried in the churchyard by the little door entering St. Nicholas's chapel, and ordered a marble to be laid over him, and a porch to be built there at the door over it. 1540, Tho. Thetforde, in St. Nicholas's chapel. 1539, Sir William Isbals, sometime of St. Augustine's, buried here. 1540, Sir Rob. Butfield, priest, vicar of Barney.
1549, Robt. Knyvet, Gent. son and heir of Charles Knyvet, slaine at Kett's campe, John Woods, Gent. Will. Haydon, Gent. Rice Griffin, Esq. George Wagat of Northamptonshire, Rob. Madat of Hartfordshire, Sir Tho. Woodhouse, priest, Morgain Corbet, Gent. all slain in Kett's insurrection, and buried here.
1555, Alderman Ric. Catlyn and Eliz. his wife buried; in 1568, Edw. Reade, Esq. of London buried; 1570, George Redman, who was executed for treason. Samuel, fourth son of James Brockden of Norwich, died 29 Dec. 1690, buried here; he married Jane, daughter of Tho. Wagstaff of Tamworth in Warwickshsre, by whom he left only one son, Thomas; there is a stone for him in the north isle.
In the chapel of St. Anne, at the upper end of the south isle, on the right hand of the entrance of the new vestry, is a mural monument of white marble, erected to the memory of Augustine Briggs, Esq. descended from an ancient family at Salle in Norfolk, who before the time of Edward I. assumed the sirname of De Ponte or Pontibus, i. e. at Brigge, or at Brigges, as the ancient family of the Fountains of the same place, assumed theirs of De Fonte or Fontibus, i. e. at the fountain or fountains, much about the same time, the one dwelling, I presume, by the springs or fountains heads; and the other by the bridge or bridges, ever the currents that came from them; the eldest branches of both which families continued in Salle till they united in one, as appears by the following pedigree.
(1) William atte Brigge of Salle, called in some deeds William de Ponte de Salle, and in others, De Pontibus de Salle, and the last mention I find of him is, that he was living at Salle in 1334. (fn. 22)
(2) John atte Brygge of Salle Esq. his second son, is the first I find mentioned of this family, in any of the pedigrees I have seen; he was alive in 1383, and then bare for arms, gul. three bars gemelle or, a canton arg.
(*) Thomas Brigge of Holt, the 4th brother, was alive in 1400; and in 1392, went to the Holy Sepulchre of our Lord, with Sir Tho. Swinbourne, Knt. an account of which pilgrimage, written by himself, is still extant, in a MS. in Caius College library, which begins thus,
AoMCCCLxxxxijo, vjo Aug. die Martis ego Thomas Bryggs recessi de Castro de Gynes versus Sanctum Sepulchrum Domini, cum comitivâ Domini mei Dni' Tho. Swynbourne Militis de Angliâ, et veni Venecias, die Dominicâ, &c.
(3) John Brygges, Esq. his son and heir, was a man of good estate in this county, as appears by his will, dated 1454, in which he gave to Margaret his wife, all his lands, faldcourses, and watermills in Ewston in Suffolk, which of right were hers, in fee tail, and all his sheep there, for life; she being to leave the manor and full stock, to Will. Brygge her son. His manor of Lynford which he purchased of the executors of Sir Constantine Clyfton of Bukenham castle, Knt. his great friend, (fn. 23) he ordered his executors to sell to the prior of St. Mary at Thetford, for 8 score marks, according to his agreement; out of which he assigned 40 marks to celebrate his anniversary in that monastery; every monk in priest's orders attending there, to have 12d. and each other 6d. as long as the money lasted.
Thomas, his second son, was to have the other 6 score marks; but William, his son, and Margaret, his wife, was to have the custody of him till he was of age to be a priest, or if not, till he was 24 years old: Margaret his daughter was to have Illington manor to her and her heirs, and if she died without heirs, it was to be sold and disposed of, to pious uses: it appears, that on his second marriage, he removed from Salle to Thetford, for he gave his house in Thetford of her inheritance, in which he dwelt, to his wife; having settled his paternal estate at Salle, on his heirs male by Eleanor his first wife, and all his second wife's inheritance on her and her issue. (fn. 24)
In 1438, he was trustee for Bukenham's manor in Old-Bukenham. (fn. 25) The free-tenement or manor in Quidenham, which had been in a family of this name a good while, came to this John, and was left by him to William his son, and continued in the family till about 1500. (fn. 26) He lies buried in the south isle of Salle church, with his effiigies in a winding sheet on a brass plate, and this under it,
Here lyeth John Brigge under this Marbil Ston. Whos Sowle our Lord Jesu have Mercy upon, For in this Worlde, worthily he libed many a Bay, And here hys Bodi ys beried. I rowrhed under Clay, Lo! Frindis fre, Whateber ye be, pray for me, I you pray: As ye me se, in soch degrc, so schal ye he, anothir Day.
(†) Edmund Brigges, brother to this John, had an estate in Westmorland settled on him, and Simon Briggs, the fourth in a lineal descent from him, married Cecily, daughter of Oliver Gilpin of Yorkshire; and Brian, Simon's son, married also in Yorkshire. (fn. 27)
(||) Sir John Brigge, chaplain, in 1438, was presented to the rectory of St. Laurence in Norwich, by the abbot and convent of Bury; in 1446, rector of Dickleburgh; in 1466, rector of Berford, and was buried in the chancel there in 1481. (fn. 28)
(4) Thomas Bryggs, Esq. of Salle, was a great friend and doer for John Paston, Esq. by whose means he much advanced himself; by will dated 1494, he founded a chantry priest to sing for his soul for ten years after his decease, at the altar by the image of the Virgin Mary in the chapel of St. James, on the south side of St. Peter and Paul's church in Salle, which noble fabrick was built in his time; (fn. 29) and it appears by the arms of this Thomas, carved in stone on the south porch, south isle and chapel aforesaid, that they were built at his expense; his first wife's arms are,
His second wife's maiden name I have not met with; but it seems they are both buried before the altar in St. James's chapel at Salle, for there lies a stone robbed of its plate, which I found loose in the chest with this,
(‡) William Bryggs of Thetford, was mayor there in 1480, 1481, (fn. 30) and divers other times, and was a man of figure and fortune.
(6) Thomas Brygge, Esq. of North-Wotton, second son of Edward Bregge of Salle, bare the arms of Brygge with the canton sab. In 1509, he had the manor of Rusteyns in Snetesham settled on him by Ric. Mounteyn, Esq. and Eliz. his wife, and Ric. Crophill, on his marriage of their daughter.
(**) Sir Thomas Briggs, clerk, his 5th brother, was rector of Brisingham in 1539, doctor in divinity in 1549, chaplain to the Lady Mary, sister to King Edward VI. and Queen after him; was vicar of Kenninghall, and in 1556, vicar of Windham. (fn. 31)
(7) Augustine Briggs, Esq. settled in Norwich; in 1626, he gave 10l. to the city hamper or hanaper, for the use of the poor; and was a benefactor to south Conisford parishes, and St. Peter's Mancroft, and gave money to bind out 12 poor boys.
(8) Augustine Briggs of Norwich, Esq. for whom this monument was erected, was born 1617, and was educated in this city; being strenuous for his royal master in the late rebellion, he was turned out of the court of aldermen by the rebels, but was restored again at the King's restoration, and elected sheriff that very year; he was one of those gentlemen who joined the Earl of Newcastle's forces in the siege of Lyn, in 1643. (fn. 32) The late Recorder Berney showed me a long sword with a label of Briggs's own hand writing tied thereto, "This I wore at the Siege of Linn, in the Servis of the Royal Martyr K. Charles the first. A. BRIGGS."
In 1660, at the Restoration, he became alderman, and was very serviceable in composing the differences between the dean and chapter, and city, and in procuring a new charter for the city, in which he is named an alderman; and had so great interest as to be elected burgess in parliament for the city in 1677 (fn. 33) without opposition, having before refused it, in favour of the Paston family, which he much valued and truly served; he was chosen no less than four times successively a member for this city; having been mayor in 1670, and afterwards was major of the trained band, or city militia; he died Aug. 28, 1684, in the 67th year of his age, having justly deserved the character given him by the late Rev. Mr. Whitefoot, minister here, who composed the inscription on his monument; for he was indeed highly loyal to his King, and yet a studious preserver of the ancient privileges of his country; was always firm and resolute for upholding the church of England; and assiduous and punctual in all the important trusts that were committed to him, whether in the august assembly of parliament, his honourable commands in the militia, or his justiciary affairs upon the bench, gaining the affections of the people by his hospitality and repeated acts of kindness, which he continued beyond his death; leaving the following charities by his will, as a more certain remembrance to posterity, than this perishing monument, erected by his friends, which his posterity endeavours by this plate, to continue to future ages.
By will dated Aug. 19, 1684, he gave all his estates whatsoever in Swerdestone in Norfolk, unto Nic. Bickerdike, alderman of Norwich, and divers other trustees, and to their heirs, on condition that they shall, without making any manner of benefit to their own use, always suffer the profits to be received by the mayor and aldermen, or their receivers, to be disposed by them, after all necessary charges are defrayed, "the one half part, yearly and every year, to encrease the maintenance and revenue of the Boys hospitall, and the other half part to encrease the revenew of the Girls hospital, to the intent that the number of children in both the said hospitals to be placed, may be every year increased so far forth, as the same will extend."
He also ordered his executors, within two years after his decease, to purchase and settle on trustees, as many lands, tenements, &c. in Norfolk or Norwich, being freehold, as they could purchase for 200l. for which they are to pay at the rate of 6l. per cent. till the purchase be made, the neat produce to be employed by the mayor and aldermen, or major part of them, "for the putting forth to convenient trades yearly and every year, two such poore boys of the ward of St. Peter of Southgate, (whereof he was alderman,) as can write and read, and have neither father nor mother able to put them forth to such tardes," and if there be no such boys in the ward, then the money to go to the hamper, to be disposed by the mayor and aldermen, "for the relief only of the necessitous sick or impotent poor people of the ward aforesaid, and for no other purpose whatsoever." The trustees when all dead to one, that one, or his heirs, to renew to such persons as the mayor and court shall appoint.
Jan. 3, 1664, he had a grant of a crest to the ancient arms of his family, by Sir Edward Bysshe, Knt. Clarenceux, viz. on a helm and wreath of his colours, a pelican sab. picking her breast, on the trunk of a tree or, and was to bear them with a canton or, mantled gul. doubled arg.
(¶) Angustine Briggs, his eldest son settled an estate in Norwich, on trustees, for the benefit of Southgate ward, according to his father's bequest of the 200l. and Alexander and Mary Briggs, his brother and sister, settled the aforesaid 40s. on the reader, and added 40s. more of their own gift, as at p. 191. This Augustine was one of the aldermen turned out by the mandate of James II. in 1687, but was restored in 1688; he was sheriff in 1658, mayor in 1695, and died in 1704.
(9) William Briggs, brother to the last-mentioned Augustine, was born in Norwich, admitted at 13 years old into Bennet college in Cambridge, where he was educated under Dr. Thomas Tennison, afterwards Archbishop of Canterbury, and being chosen fellow of the college, continued there several years, discharging the trust of a tutor with honour to the society. In 1671, he had a certificate under the University seal, that he had been regularly created master of arts, (fn. 34) soon after which, he was incorporated into the University of Oxford, and after he had improved himself by his travels in foreign countries, being well versed in most parts of learning, he settled at London, and on the 3d of July 1677, took his doctor's degree in physick, in the University of Cambridge, (fn. 35) and soon after becoming an eminent physician, was chosen fellow of the college of physicians in London, where having gained the friendship of most of the learned men, by his remarkable skill in his profession, he was made physician to St. Thomas's hospital in Southwark, and physician in ordinary to King William the Third.
That he was a judicious anatomist, appears by his accurate treatises on the eye, which he published, intituled, Ophthalmographia, and Nova Visionis Theoria, an account of which is inserted in the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, (of which he was fellow,) and are much commended by the great Sir Isaac Newton, in a letter of his, inserted in the said Ophthalmographia, &c. where he very much praises the Doctor, who wrote other pieces also, with much ingenuity and learning. He died Sept. 4, (fn. 36) 1704, aged 62 years, (fn. 37) at Town-Malling in Kent, where he lies interred.
He married Hannah, sole daughter and heiress of Edmund Hobart, Gent. son of James Hobart, Esq. one of the sons of Sir Henry Hobart of Blickling, Knt. Lord Chief Justice of the Common Pleas in King James the First's time, an eminent royalist in the late civil wars, (fn. 38) as his mural monument, which is to be seen on the south side of Holt chancel, of which this copper plate is an exact likeness, evidently declares. In her right the arms of Hobart are quartered with Briggs.
(10) The Rev. Dr. Hen. Briggs, born in London, was educated at the Charter-house, and being sent to the University of Cambridge, was admitted into Corpus Christi or Bennet college, under the tuition of Dr. Dannye; he took his degrees of bachelor and master of arts, was ordained deacon and priest in the church of St. James, London, by Dr. Charles Trimnel Bishop of Norwich; he was some time minister of Loose near Maidstone in Kent, was instituted to the rectory of Holt in Norfolk, (of which town he is now lord and patron,) June 25, 1722, being then master of arts. He was created doctor of divinity in the University of Cambridge, in 1729, and doctor of the same faculty at Oxford in 1738. In 1731, was appointed chaplain in ordinary to his Majesty King George II. and in 1741, was instituted to the rectory of Leryngsete by Holt, which he holds by union with Holt rectory.
Against the north wall of Jeses chapel is a monument, now much defaced; the bottom part is an altar tomb, on which is placed the effigies of a judge down to his waste, in his robes and cap of judgment. between four pillars; over his head are the arms of
On the other side is another, on which Windham quartering as before, impales Bacon quartering Quaplode; on the side of the tomb are three shields, 1. Windham with the crescent, 2. Windham quartering Scroop and Tiptoft. 3. Windham quartering Scroop and Tiptoft impaling Towneshend and five quarterings.
It seems as if this monument was always, as it now is, without any inscription, notwithstanding which, it is plain that it was erected in memory of Francis Windham of Lincoln's Inn, Esq. who was elected one of the benchers there in 1569; and autumn reader to that Society in 1571; was made serjeant at law with Francis Gawdy and Robert Bell, Esqrs. two of his countrymen, in 1577; and in 1579, one of the justices of the Common Pleas; he died at his house here in 1592, and was buried July 18, as the register shows us.
Some time since, there was a loose brass in the old vestry thus inscribed;
Jasper fert Myrrham, Thus Mechior, Balthasar Aurum, hec tria qui secum portabit nomina Regum, Solbitur a Morbo, Christi Pietate, raduco.
This was a sort of charm against the falling-sickness, and with many
such follies as this, that age abounded; but how it should come here,
or on what account I cannot tell, if it was not formerly fixed to some
person's stone, who imagined himself defended by it from that disease;
I have seen the verses, and the names of the three wise men that
brought their offerings to Christ, in English, in this manner,
Jasper. Melchior. Balthasar.
1502, Peter Curson, alderman, who was buried in the church of Leryngsete, gave a legacy towards paving St. Peter's chancel in Norwich, where Joan his first wife was buried, with marble; he gave his fine silk banner with the images of St. Peter and Paul, and his own arms, to the church.
1543, Sir Richard Tevell, alis Marvyn, vicar of Linton in Cambridgeshire, gave 16 milch neat beasts to the parish, (see p. 198,) "for a certen memorie to be wreten in the bed-roll booke, wherby the the curate every Sunday shall reherse and pray for the sowles of the sayd Richard Marvyn and Jone his wyff, his father and mother, and John Tevell and all frends." The overplus of the annual profits and increase of the beasts, to go to the reparation of the church. This is long since lost.
1581, the parish-house opposite to the south side of the churchyard, came along with the rectory to the parishioners, "it being the old parsonage-house of the parish, and so reputed and taken to be in times past." (fn. 39) In 1712, it was leased by the feoffees to Edward Freeman, for 61 years, at 6l. per annum rent, and was said to be lately divided into two tenements; it is now settled by Alderman Risebrow for a charity school-house, as the following inscription fixed against the wall of it shows:
This School was founded by Mr. John Risebrow late of this City, in the Year of our Lord 1721, for the teaching poor Children to read and to write, and for instructing them in the Principles and Doctrines of the Church of England; and for the Support and Maintenance of this charity school, he assigned to Trustees, a lease of this House; and by his last Will and Testament, he settled an Estate in Walpole for the Use and Benefit of it for ever.
Before 1626, Mr. John Davy gave about 17l. for a parish stock to buy sea coals, to be sold to the poor of the parish at reasonable prices; in 1656, it was laid out by the churchwardens, but they were forced to repay it, and settle it for the same use as heretofore, by decree of court; but it is since lost.
1651, Mr. Henry Davy of London, merchant-tailor, gave to the poor of St. Peter's Mancroft, where he was born, four pounds a year for ever, to be distributed on the day of his death, by the church-wardens direction; and tied the house called the Rose in St. Gregory's for the annual payment thereof.
Thomas Pye, alderman, gave the houses called the Alms-houses in St. Gregory's parish, near the south-west corner of that churchyard, on the other side of the street there, for six poor people to inhabit and dwell in; two of those dwellings are settled for the benefit of two poor women aged 50 at least, married or unmarried, belonging to this parish, to dwell in during life; both which are now enjoyed by Henry Salmon, who inhabits one, and lets the other; by reason of the large repairs he hath done to them, at his own charge. The dwelling most west, or first dwelling, is always to be filled by St. Giles's parish. The 2d by St. Michael's of Coslany; the 3d by St. Giles's, the 4th and 5th by St. Peter's, and the 6th, being that most east, by St. Michael's of Coslany.
1650, Mathew Lindsey, Esq. alderman, gave by will, his tenements (called Rutters and Thunders, which formerly belonged to the chapel in the Fields, lying on the east side of Lady's-lane) for the use and benefit of the poor people of the ward of Mancroft, and the ward of Berstreet, to be kept in repair by the corporation; and the clear yearly profits to be laid out in sea-coal; three parts of the profits to be so applied for the poor of Berstreet ward, and the 4th part for the poor of Mancroft ward.
In 1695, the parish purchased the house late the school-house, belonging to the dissolved college of the chapel in the Fields, of Dr. Jeffery, then minister here, for a PARSONAGE-house for the upper minister; it stands against Chaply-fields, and is now let free of all taxes and repairs, at 6l. per annum which the parish chaplain, or upper minister, receives yearly.
The offering bason of 22 ounces and an half weight, mentioned at p. 192, was given by Peter Witherick of this parish, inn-holder, And the two flaggons marked R. B. were given by Mr. Rob. Blackbourne, grocer, Nov. 20, 1612.
The following religious houses had revenues in this parish, viz. the Prior of Norwich, to the value of 10l. 14s. 2d. per annum of the gifts of Will. de St. Omer, Tho. Schirreve, Henry de Witton, and Will. de Norwich, rector of Melton All-Saints in 1299, who settled divers lands, &c. on the Prior of St. Leonard, to say 30 masses for his soul yearly: the Priors of Canterbury, Alvesbourn, Cokesford, St. Faith's, Windham, Weybrigge, Pentney, Peterston, and Hickling; the Abbots of Wardon, Holm, Waltham, Ramsey, Langele Sibeton, and Creke; the Prioress of Bungeye, and of the nuns at Swaffham in Cambridgeshire, who had a rent out of a shop in the drapery, given them in 1272, by Will. de Dunwich, citizen. The Prioress of Carrow, the Dean of the chapel in the Fields, and the masters of the hospitals of St. Giles, and Hildebrond.
Chapel-field, commonly called Chapley-field, from the chapel of St. Mary, which adjoined to its east part, was heretofore in divers owners, and that part which now goes by this name, and lies within the walls, was called Chapel-field-Croft, and the adjacent fields on the outside of the city ditch, were called anciently Chapel-fields, and are still in the hands of many proprietors; but the croft was all purchased in by the city, and is leased out by the court; the ancient owners of it were, the Prior of Bukenham, the Prioress of Carhowe, the dean and college of the chapel in the Fields, &c. it was formerly ploughed land, but at the Dissolution, when the city had got it all, it was converted into pasture, as it still remains; in 1569, Alice, widow of John Worseley, alderman, and Barth. Rede, had a lease of it for 21 years at 12l. per annum, in 1572, Mr. Francis Windham had a lease of the cherry-yard, dove-house, and chapel-field-croft; and in 1592, a license passed to pull down the dove-house late the dean's of the chapel; and in 1578, it appears to have been the Campus Martius of the city, the musters for the trained bands or artillery of the county of the city, being yearly made there, between Bartholomew tide and Michaelmas; and according to a proclamation, this was ordered and appointed a meet and fit place to charge guns with shot and powder for the exercise of shooting in hand-guns, harquebusses, callivers, &c. &c. for trial of all such pieces as were named in the proclamation. In 1596, Sir Robert Mansell, Knt. desired a lease of it, and had it granted on the terms as Justice Windham had it, with a clause, that if he or his lady died before it expired, the rest of the term to be to Nic. Bacon, Esq. In 1609, the mayor and court granted to Mr. Attorney General H. Hobart, a lease of the croft for 41 years, and a deed in fee simple of the cherry-yard, gratis. (fn. 40) In 1656, the court, by special messenger, sent word to the Lady Hobart, that contrary to her lease, ditches, stiles, and taynters were then made in Chapley-field, to the hinderance of the citizens free passage there, and that they insisted on its being reformed. (fn. 41) In 1668, the city tent was ordered to be set up in Chaply-field against the general muster, for the use of the deputy lieutenants, by the chamberlain; in 1671, it was erected there for the lord lieutenant of Norfolk and Norwich, and the deputy lieutenants of the city to meet in, for a general review of the city regiment, and this was done yearly. In 1707, the field was railed in, as it still continues.
The market-place, was the magna-crofta or great-croft belonging to the castle, to the outward ditch of which it adjoined, and at first was open, from St. Stephen's church to the Holtor, now called Dove-lane. The whole was at first built on each side and end, but the middle-rowe between the market-place and fish-market consists of stalls enclosed at divers times by royal licenses, and all the buildings at the end of the church (fn. 42) were originally erected by the like authority: as it is, it still remains the grandest market-place, as well as the very best single market in all England, the market-days being Wednesday and Saturday in every week. At first every business had its several rowe or station appointed to sell their goods in; and accordingly we read of the following places in ancient deeds and evidences; as, Cirotecaria, Glover's-row; Merceria, Mercer's-row; Speceria, Especerie, or Spicer's-row; Acuaria, Needler's-row; Pelliparia, Allutaria, or Tawer'srow; Ferraria, or Ironmonger's-rowe: the following names also which occur in deeds, show the same; for there we have the several markets mentioned, as Forum Unguentarium sive Apotecaria, the Apothecary's market; Herbaria, the Herber or Herb-market; Puletaria or Poultry-market; Forum Pistorum, or Bread-market; the Flesh-market or Butchery; the Wool and Sheep-markets; the Freshwater or Fish-market; the Pudding-market; old Wood-market; the Cheese-market; Forum Tannatorum, or Leather-market; the Worthstede-row; Shereman's or Cloth-cutters-market; Forum Sutorum, Souter's or Cobler's-row; Parmentaria, the Parchmenter's row; Whiteware-market; le Scouthere's, or Scourer's-row; Soper's-lane; the Fether-house, (fn. 43) Sea-fish-market, &c. all which are mentioned before Richard the Second's time; for about the latter end of Edward the Third's businesses began to intermix, and many of these lost their original names. In describing the remarkable places that have been, or are still remaining, I shall begin at the south-east corner of the present Hay-market, in which stands
The wastel, or wheat-bread market, began at Wastel-gate, and extended from the brew-house on the triangular piece, to the present entrance of the Hay-market, and from thence was the south entrance to,
(71) The New synagogue and schools of the Jews, to which there was an entrance from Hog-hill on the east part, and another on the west, from the Hay-market, by the passage now into the Star yard, and the whole part of the market from Wastel-market aforesaid, to the White-lion-lane, is called in old evidences Judaismus, Vicus de Judaismo, or the Jewry; the new synagogue was built in Henry the Second's time, when the Jews removed and dwelt altogether here; it had a burial-place by it, and the school was at the south end of it; the house appropriated for the high-priest, who was called the Bishop of the Jews, stood on the very place where now is Dr. Howman's house; for in Edward the First's time, Ursell, son of Isaac the Bishop of the Jews at Norwich, sold it to John de Wroxham, and his executors, in Edward the Second's time, sold it to John Pirmund; and in Edward the Third's time, it was confirmed to the prior and convent of Norwich, (fn. 44) by the King's license, by Ralf de Atleburgh. It was some time ago Alderman Anguish's, and after that, the learned Dr. Brown's.
The house now the Star, formerly belonged to Elias the Jew, and abutted east on the garden belonging to the Jews school, and north on the entry to the Jews synagogue; Elias son of Elias sold it to Jeffry de Gloucester the Jew, from whom it was seized by Edward I. and conveyed to Jeffery de Bungeye.
In 1286, when King Edward I. banished all the Jews, this synagogue was destroyed, and the whole Jewry seized by the King; but the reason we see nothing remaining of these places is, because the whole Jewry was burned down, and then these were quite destroyed. (See Pt. I. p. 64.)
The north side of the Jewry was bounded by White-lion-lane, as it is now called, from the sign of the white lion there, but was anciently known by all the following names, Selaria, Sellaria or Sadle-gate, in Edward the First's time. In Edward the Second's, Sadleres-row, Rolimere's or Lorimer's-row. In Edward the Third's Bridlesmethsrow. In Henry the Fourth's, Sporiers-row; and Edward the Fourth's, Sporowe-lane.
The third tenement from the market-place, on the south side of this lane, belonged to the abbey of Sibeton in Suffolk, for John, abbot there in 1363, leased it out; it was given them by William de Brokedisch or Brockdish, and the tenement joining east to the former, was given by Rob. de Possewyk, bridlesmith, to Hubert and Henry, the two first charnel chaplains. (See p. 48.)
The east side of the market-place from White-lion-lane to the Cockey-lane, was anciently called Nether or Lower-rowe, and now the Gentllmen's-walk; the south part of which, was called the Cordwaineria, (fn. 45) and Calceria, Cordwainers, Cordiners, or Shoemaker's-rowe, and the northern part Caligaria, or Hosier's-rowe.
(72) The Fons de Sellaria, or Sadlegate common well, was on the fee of the Prior of St. Faith, as the whole north side of White-lion-lane was; this hath been disused in common, for a long time. The northern corner of this row, at the entrance of the Cockey-lane, is called Jenney's-corner, from John Jenney, one of the bailiffs in 1368, and 1373, who owned the corner house.
The Cockey-lane was formerly called by the several names of Latoner or Tinmen's-rowe, Cuteler-rowe, and Hosier-gate, and extends from the market-place eastward, in a straight line to the meeting of the lane called the Back of the Inns from the south, with Rackey'slane from the north, near the noted shop commonly called John-ofall-Sorts; and so far this way, it is called Cockey-lane, as is now another lane anciently called Smethe-rowe, which extends northward from the middle of the aforesaid lane, into Potter-gate street: now the word cockey, is, and hath been very anciently used in this city, to signify the cloacœ, sive gurgites publicœ, i. e. the common sewers or water-courses through the streets into the river, whether vaulted over as they now are, or running open and uncovered as they did formerly, to the great prejudice of the neighbouring inhabitants, which occasioned them to get them covered as soon as possible; it appears, that the two cockeys which meet here, one on the back side of the Netherrowe from Nedham-street, and the other from St. Giles's-street, by the north end of the market-place, were open and passed over by bridges till Edward the Fourth's time, and then this lane was first paved, and the cockeys covered, chiefly at the expense of the neighbours.
The north end of the market-place from Dove-lane to Smethe-rowe aforesaid, was the Aurifabria, or Goldsmiths-rowe; and the lane aforesaid was called Smethy-lane, from the working goldsmiths that lived there: the messuage called the Stone-hall, in 1286 belonged to John le Brun, founder of the chapel in the Fields, was his dwellinghouse, and afterwards was made
The lane now called Dove-lane, from that sign there, was anciently called Hol Tor lane from the old tor or tower (fn. 46) that stood at the south-west corner of it,
(74) Which was built by the Jews in Will. Rufus's time, for their synagogue, and continued such till Henry the Second's time, when they built their new synagogue; it was a publick-house till the great fire, and being then totally demolished, the site was built upon, so that there are no ruins of it to be seen at this day.
(75) The City Gaol is now kept, and hath been so ever since it was removed from the rooms under the Gild-hall. This house was an ancient inn called the Lamb, which was purchased by St George's company in Henry the Seventh's time, for a gild-hall for them, and afterwards was assigned to the city for this use; the next house joining to it, is the sign of the castle, (fn. 47) and was anciently called the Common-inn, and belonged to the city, it being conveyed to them by John de Welbourn, taverner, in 1368; it then reached to Potter-gate on the north, and that part was made the worsted-seld or hall, for sealing the worsteds; and the petty-customs belonging thereto were let at 8 marks a year; but in Henry the Eighth's time it was removed to the Cloth-hall at the west end of the Gild-hall. This inn is now leased out by the corporation for 500 years, at 18l. per annum, clear of all charges and taxes whatever, and a fine of 500l. paid down for the lease.
(76) The Gild-Hall,
Which at first was only a small thatched building, erected on Carrow fee for a toll-house to collect the toll of the market in; in Edward the Third's time, it was called the Toll-Booth, and in the latter part of his reign, a single room was added to it, which was also built of studwork, and thatched, but then it took the name of the Gild-hall; it continued in this state till Henry the Fourth's time, and when that Prince granted the charter for a mayor instead of bailiffs, the city resolved upon building a new gild-hall, prisons, &c. the old one being so small and mean, that there was room only to erect a seat for the mayor and six more to sit there; wherefore, in 1407, at an assembly then held, John Danyel, Rob. Brasyer, and 22 more, were elected to make laws for the government of the city, according to the charter; and consult how to raise money to build the gildhall, for which purpose they had a warrant to press all carpenters, carters, and workmen, for that service; and this year it was got so forward, that the arches under it designed for the prisons, (fn. 48) were finished by John Marowe, the master mason. The next year, Walter Danyel and Rob. Dunston were elected supervisors of the work, and 24 persons were chosen to collect the aid or tax laid on every inhabitant in the city at their discretion, and to distrain for the same; and each constable had a warrant to press workmen, citizens and foreigners, to work at the Gild-hall every day, from 5 o'clock in the morning to 8 at night, as often as there was occasion; and this year advanced the second story. In 1409, the roof was raised, and the third tax and impress warrant granted; and now many gifts and legacies came in, so that the work went on well; and in 1412, the prisoners were put into the prisons under it, but the whole was not perfected till 1453, when the windows of the council chamber were glazed, and the chequer table placed in it. In 1435, the porch and tower were built; (fn. 49) and in 1440, all the city records, which till that time laid dispersed, in the White-friars, in the chapel in the Fields, &c. were brought hither; in 1444, the King, under the broad seal, confirmed to John Burgeys for life, for the good services done by him to Eton college, the keeping of the gaol of the city of Norwich by himself or deputy, and 5d. fee for every prisoner. In 1461, John Hagoner repaired and beautified the chamber behind the sheriffs court, called le Queste-house, Kiste, or Guest-hall. The stalls against the Gildhall now covered with lead, were the ancient scriptorys, or places where the writers sat at all elections. In 1511, the roof of the council-chamber (fn. 50) at the east end of the Gild-hall, fell down, and the treasury tower: and the next year, James Hobart, Esq. recorder, gave 40 marks towards building it new; but it could not be brought to perfection till 1534, as I learn from the city book. "Be it hadde in Remembraunce that the newe Counsell House wher the mayer keep his court of Chauncerye, was begon by the procurement of Austyn Styward, one of the aldermen of this cittie in the moneth of Maye in the Year of our Lorde Gode Moccccco. xxxiiij, and in the xxvi yeare of the reign of our soveraign lord Kyng Henry viijth. and was accomplished and fynyshed the year next ensuying, &c." (See Pt. I. p. 208.)
Gifts given for that purpose, by the executors of Tho. Aldrich, late mayor, 20l.; by the executors of Rob. Jannys, late mayor, 20l.; the executors of Gregory Clerke, late mayor, xl.; the executors of John Marsham, late mayor, 2l.; by Edw. Rede, late mayor, 5l.; Tho. Pickerell, late mayor, 5l.; Rob. Greene, late mayor, 2l.; Reynold Littleprowe, late mayor, 1l.; Tho. Bawburgh, late mayor, 1l.; Master Alan Percye, priest, 5l. &c.
The two little windows were glazed by Tho. Nectun, alderman. The first window on the north side by Master Jannys. The second north window by Rob. Ferrour, late mayor. The first south window by alderman Nic. Sotherton, and the second south window by Austyn Styward. And accordingly in the first little north window, are the mercers arms impaling Tho Nectun's mark, and in another shield a tun, and over it Nec, for Nectun. The next window on this side hath R. F. in a shield, for Rob. Ferrour, and his arms, or, a cross florée arg. and his mark. There are also the city arms, St. George's cross, and the drapers arms. Ao. Domini Millesimo cccccrrriiii.
This window contained the story of the corrupt judge, who was flayed alive for false judgment; and these words were in the middle pane; the two first verses addressed to all magistrates sitting in the court; and the four last to the judge's son sitting in his father's place, in the window, with his father's skin hanging before him.
The next window hath Master Robert Jannis Grocer, and his mark, the grocers arms, the city arms, and the mercers arms. This window contained a King, with a large parcel of armed men, placing a person before him on his knees, and on the other side was a man in his winding sheet, sitting in order to be shot dead with arrows: this man's picture is in the chamber; and I have seen several copies of it, with death seizing him; and by the words, Jesu miserere, fill Dei, miserece mei. which are in the window, it seems to be a memorial to warn mankind of the certainty of death, and to prepare for it, as unavoidable. Under the picture is this,
Cernitur hic Thomas Whitus, sub Imagine Picta, Cernitur hec Vitæ melius sub Imagine vera; Et Pater, et Prætor Londini, Miles in illo, Providus Oxoniœ Fautor, Fundator in illa, Bristolij Decus eximium, Laus prima Redingœ, Gloria Tunbrigiœ, tibi Causa Coventriæ Famæ, Urbis Honos, Orbis, Prudentiæ, Gemma Senectæ.
Cum 24 urbes hujus Regni Angliœ suis ditâsset Opibus, (fn. 51) Annis et Honore plenus obijt. Febr. xio Ao. Dom. 1566, Æt. suæ 72.
Mr. Serjeant Francis Windham, recorder, Ao. 1592. He holds a book in one hand and a death's head in the other, with Cogita Mori: he is in his hat, and an hourglass stands by him. This is a good picture.
There are six pictures more without names, among which are, Augustine Steward, mayor, Francis Moundford, steward, John Marsham, mayor, and Will. Denny, Esq. steward. But I cannot distinguish which the several persons are.
In 1635, this hall was near being demolished by the servants of the deputies for salt-peter, who digged in the vault or cellar under the council chamber above three feet lower than the foundation, and would not forbear at the court's request, till three or four of the aldermen went to the council at London, and made them desist from the saltpeter works.
1660, The cellar at the west end was the Cloth-hall, and the entrance was on the north side; and the free-chamber over the same, was the sale-hall for foreign wool and yarn; every pack paid 4d. to the city, and each cloth 2d. (fn. 52)
The uppermost chamber over the Gild-hall, was the old magazine and armory. (fn. 53)
1547, six brass fawconets made at London by Augustine Styward, mayor, weighed 29 hundred and 39 pounds; and another small piece a quarter of a hundred, which cost 46l. paid to John and Rob. Owen, the King's gunmakers, besides old metal they had of the city; viz. 18 hundred and 14lb. weight. Each gild had a gun belonging to them kept here. 1 Edward VI. John Marsham, Esq. mayor, bought a gun, called a robonet, in Flanders. 1657, the canoneer had 10s. per annum for keeping the fire-engine, 10s. for each anniversary, viz. on the 5th of November, Coronation, and Restoration, and 40s. of St. George's company, &c.
In 1443, the vault under the east end of the Gild-hall was new repaired, and the debtors prison, called le Penteneye or Pountney, and the passage out of it to the Gild-hall chapel, was made secure; and in 1453, R. Segrym, alderman, was at the expense of dividing it so, as to make two separate prisons, one for women, and the other for men, as he had promised John Wilbeye, whose executor he was, to do. In 1597, an order passed, that "the Roomes on the Est End of the Guyld-hall heretofore used for a Common-Gayle, shall cease to be used for a Pryson, after 20 Oct. next. And that the Common-Goal for the County of this Cittie, shall be kept in the house called the Lamb." where it still continues.
The Sheriffs Office was on the north side of the Gild-hall, till 1625, and was then removed into the old chapel opposite to it, on the south side, which being decayed, was pulled down, and the present sheriffs office built on its site.
The chapel called the Gild-hall chapel, was dedicated to St. Barbara the Virgin, who in those days was esteemed the prisoner's Saint, for, according to the legend, her father imprisoned her, in an hyghe and stronge tour, in which he dyde doo kepe, and close this Barbara, to th' ende that noo man sholde see her." (fn. 54) And therefore she is always represented with the tower, in which she was imprisoned; she is commemorated on the 4th of Dec. in the Roman church, by the name of Barbara the Virgin and Martyr.
The chapel was first founded in Henry the Sixth's time, for the souls of Alderman Ralf Segryme and Agnes his wife, Ric. Broun and Alice his wife, and John Wilby, late Alderman, and Maud his wife; who left money for this purpose: and in the year 1472, by indenture between the mayor, &c. and the master of St. Giles's hospital, for 200l. given to the hospital by Ralf Segryme, Ric. Broun, and Ric. Drolle, late alderman, the hospital covenanted for ever to find a secular chaplain to perform service every Sunday and holy day, in the chapel aforesaid, for the benefit of the prisoners, who was constantly to pray for the souls aforesaid, and for the welfare of the city; and the said hospital was to find the necessary ornaments for the chapel: and from this time to the present, the chaplain of the city gaol, who officiates to the prisoners, is paid out of the revenues of the hospital, and the Rev. Mr. Cory, the present  chaplain, receives the ancient annual stipend of 16l. (fn. 55)
The ornaments of this chapel were, a pair of gilt chalices, and a paten of 12 ounces weight, a cope of red worsted embroidered with writings, (or labels,) a sacrying bell, a bell hanging in a frame without the chapel door, and two large pewter candlesticks standing on the altar; in 1549, there was a book of Common Prayer, and a new Bible, of the gift of Sir Robert Dowe, chaplain there, and a surplice; and in 1626, the old cope, the pax, the crucijix, the masse-book, &c. were in the Gild-hall, which were burned on a thanksgiving day soon after.
Before the Reformation, every May-day, as soon as the mayor was elected, a mass of the Holy Ghost was sung here, and the new-elect was obliged to be present, and every parish clerk in the city was forced to appear here, on the day of the Translation of St. Nicholas the Bishop, to join in singing a most solemn mass of St. Nicholas, for which by composition, they were all excused from serving on juries within the city; the chaplain received 2s. yearly, for celebrating an annual, for the soul of Rob. Bungeye, from a tenement late the said Robert's, in the Nether-row.
In 1549, the inventory of the goods in the custody of Mr. Mayor was kept here, among which were, "an hatte of crymsyn velvet for the sword-bearer. (fn. 56) A sword, the hylts and pomel sylver and dobyll gylt; another swerd the hylts and pomell guylt, a scaberd of riche clothe of goold set with perles, with a gret chape of sylver. (fn. 57) A scaberd of clothe of golde checker'd, with a little chape of sylver gylt. A scaberd of purpil velvet, another of crymsyn velvet, with two letters of H. doubyl crowned, and a chape all sylver doubyll gylt. a mace of arms of sylver and doubyl gylt, wrought upon crystall and set with stonys. Item anothir lesser mace of sylver dobyl gylt."
The west side of the market-place was anciently called the Vuere, Over or Upper-market, and the southern part of it was the linendrapery; behind which was the old barley-market yard, (fn. 58) which had two entrances to it, one out of Upper-Newport called Barley-marketlane, and another called by the same name, and sometimes Herlewyn's-lane, which led from the butchery; there were also two other lanes in this row, one called Cosyn's-lane and the other Fishou's or Elmeswell's-lane, because it led to a large house of John de Elmeswell in Edward the Third's time, called the Kisthalle.
The midle-rowe between the fish-market on the west, and the market-place on the east, are only stalls built upon: in this rowe was the ancient morage-house, called also the murage-loft, and toller; underneath it were divers stalls, and over it was a large room, in which the supervisors of the affairs of the commonalty met every market day, to collect the tolls and customs of the market, as the market-committee doth at this day in the Gild-hall. (fn. 59)
Four of the houses in this row were built by Robert Jannys, and settled in 1527, on the city: "Yeerly and holly to be expended, upon, aboute, and towardys, the charges of a comon cart or carts, for the carriage awey of the filthy mater comyng of the makyng clene, fowing, and swepyng of the stretys and cisternys of the city."
(77) A market-cross was first erected here in Edward the Third's time, and was repaired in Henry the Fourth's time, it had then a little oratory or chapel, and four shops in it. In Edward the Fourth's time, it was assigned for the dwelling of the collector of the alms for the prisoners in the Gild-hall, and the Gild-hall chaplain officiated here when he pleased, in a morning, to the market people, and had their offerings as his reward; the whole being in decay, it was pulled down in 1501, (see Pt. I. p. 181,) and was rebuilt by John Rightwise, then mayor, at his own expense in part, and with the benefactions of divers legacies and gifts for that purpose. (fn. 60) It was a neat octagonal building, with steps round it, and an oratory or chapel in it, with a chamber over it, and must look very grand, before the leads, and pillars to support them, were added round it. At the Dissolution, the chapel was turned into a store-house; 1st Edward VI. the crucifixes that stood at each corner were taken down by order of the King's visitors. The common sealed measures of the city used to be kept here, and in 1574, it was ordered, "that the chappell that is in the crosse shall be yearly lett to the masters, searchers, and sealers of leather;" and the wardens of the cordwainers were to seal no leather but there; and so it continued till they were removed into the Gild-hall. In 1646, the whole city was taxed to repair the cross, every one paying according to the proportion they paid to the poor; it was then new paved, &c. In 1664, it was appointed for the court of guard, and in 1672, was much beautified and adorned. In 1732, it was sold and pulled down, and the site of it paved over. There are two plates of it now extant, a very good one published by Mr. Timothy Sheldrake, and an ordinary one by Tho. Hildyard, engraver.
Against the east end of the Gild-hall, in the market-place, was a common well, and in 1404, a new pillory was erected by it, with a cage under it, which was covered with lead, and a vane placed on the crucifix, which was on the top; in 1453, Alderman Tho. Alleyn gave 50 marks to rebuild the pillory, (fn. 61) and make a house under it for to buy and sell corn in, and Thomas Veyle then rebuilt, painted, and adorned the common well-house. 3d Edward VI. part of the house was turned into a cage, with stocks therein; the whole was sixsquare, each side nine feet long, and was now paved with the stone pulled down and brought from Chapel-field steeple; in 1679, the well was new railed in, but now, the whole is demolished and paved over.
The street called Bedlam-street, was anciently called Over or Upper Newport, because it leads to the New-port, or St. Giles's-gate, and the most east part of it was the ropery, where the cord and rope makers anciently dwelt. On the north side of this street, is the White-Horseinn, which formerly belonged to the church-wardens, to find a light burning before the sacrament, but was seized from the parish at the Dissolution; and the house now the Wheat-sheaf, which was on the east side of Barley-market-lane, was settled on Cosyn's chantry priest. The most eastern tenement but one on the south side, is called the Stone-hall, and was settled by Lettice Pain on her chantry priest. (See p. 163,) on the west side of this house, was the ancient passage or lane called Old Ladies-lane, now enclosed, which led directly to the churchyard of the collegiate church or chapel of our Lady in the Fields; but in 1383, it was put by, and New-Ladies-lane laid out in its stead: more west, on the same side of the way, is the site of the committee-house, (fn. 62) (see Pt. I. p. 395,) on part of which, is built.
(78) Bethell or Bedlam,
Which was founded by Mary, third daughter of John Man, Esq. she was born March 24, 1647, and was married to the Rev. Mr. Sam. Chapman, rector of Thorp by Norwich, May 10, 1682. In 1713, she built bethel in this parish, "for the convenient reception and habitation of lunaticks, and not for natural-born fools or ideots," according to the desire and advice of her late husband; who had a charity of this nature much in his thoughts; and therefore by will dated Dec. 4, 1717, she settled all her estates in Norfolk and Norwich on trustees, giving to them, and the majority of them, the sole power and management of the house; ordering them to choose, and place or displace, the master, (who is to dwell therein, and take care of the lunaticks) and to appoint physicians, apothecaries, &c. as the majority think fit: those only who are destitute of friends or relations, to be kept here gratis, as the following clause of her will shows: "Whereas it hath pleased Almighty God, to visit and afflict some of my nearest relations and kindred with lunacy, but hath hitherto blessed me with the use of my reason and understanding; as a monument of my thankfullness unto God, for this invaluable mercy, and out of a deep sense of his divine goodness, and undeserved love to me, vouchsafed, and in compassion to the deplorable state of such persons, as are deprived of the exercise of their reason and understanding, and are destitute of relations or friends to take care of them, I do hereby settle bethel for that purpose;" and according as the will directs, there are as many poor destitute lunaticks kept here gratis, as the revenues will afford; the city of Norwich being always to be preferred; and when the trustees can maintain more than are in the city, they may be sent from any parish in the county, "or elsewhere," but the physician of the house must first certify them to be proper objects, and the master must have an appointment under the hands of a majority of the seven trustees, before any one can be admitted. The benefit of this charity is not limited to any place or county; and the trustees have power to fix any weekly sum to be paid them, by the friends or parishes the lunaticks belong to; and the usual allowance paid at this time is, 3s. a week for any person put in by a parish, and 4s. 6d. for any one that hath friends to pay it. She lies buried by her husband in Thorp chancel, under a marble thus inscribed;
Under this Stone, resteth in Hope of a joyfull Resurrection, the Body of that exemplary, pious, and charitable Widow, Mrs. Mary Chapman, Daughter of John Man Esq. some time Mayor of Norwich, and High-Sheriff of Norfolk, and Relict of the Rev. Mr. Samuel Chapman formerly Rector of this Church. She built wholly at her own Expense, the House in Norwich called BETHEL, for the Reception, Maintenance, and Cure of poor Lunaticks; to which, and other charitable Uses, she gave all her. Income while she lived, and her Estate at her Death, which happened on the 8th of January 1724, and of her Age 77.
1717, Mr. Thomas Hall gave 200l. 1720, Mrs. Susanna Cook 100l. 1721, Mrs. Margaret wife of John Hall of Norwich, Esq. 100l. 1729, Mr. Timothy Ganning 20l. 1732, Mr. John Lougher, 100l. Mr. John Thompson 50l. 1732, Mrs. Mary Crome 200l. Mr. William Houghton 50l but the trustees, after a suit, received only 25l. 15s. 8d. 1735, Dr. Thomas Tanner, late Bishop of St. Asaph, (fn. 63) 20l.
Sir Ben. Wrench, Knt. who is also appointed physician; Tho. Vere, Rob. Marsh, Will. Clarke, Philip Meadows, and Edward King, Esqrs. and Mr. Samuel Crome, merchant; five of which are justices of peace for the city, but act in their private capacities as to this charity, the foundress leaving this clause in her will,
"It being my express mind and will, that this charity shall never come into the hands of the court of majoralty, nor any of them, acting as publick society, shall be any way concerned in the execution of this trust."
Each trustee is to have 20s. per annum, and lay out 5l. yearly, for shirts, shifts, and clothing, for the poor lunaticks. There are estates in Potter-Heigham, &c. settled on the trustees, besides money.
The trustees fix the master's salary, which besides his dwelling rent free, and two chaldrons of coals allowed annually, is 40l. per annum, 10l. of it being added to the salary, in lieu of the money given by people that visit this house; which is now put into a box, the keys of which are in the trustees hands, who apply it to the increase of this merciful foundation.
She ordered the word Bethel to be fixed over the door of the entrance in the front, and under it a text of Scripture, viz. Heb. xiii. 16, and another table to be kept in the house of the following texts, Jer. ix. 13. Cor. iv. 7. Ecclesiastes vii. 7. Sam. ii. 3.
When any trustee dies, or removes out of the city, so that on summons he doth not attend, he is to be displaced; and in such cases, the remaining trustees are obliged in three months to choose another in his room, and certify such choice to the new trustee, under the hands of the majority of them.
This House was built for the benefit of distressed Lunaticks Ano Dom 1713, and is not to be alienated or employed to any other Use or Purpose whatsoever. Tis also requir'd that the Master, who shall be chosen from Time to Time, be a Man that lives in the Fear of God, and sets up the Protestant Religion in his Family, and will have a due Regard, as well to the Souls, as Bodies, of those that are under his care.
Will. Hobart, Gent. his younger brother, was condemned on account of the design for restoring the King, Dec. 30, at Norwich, and was executed at the market-cross there, for loyalty to his King; though some say at Dearhammarket, (see Pt. I. p. 400,) unless two of that name suffered in the time of the rebellion.