An Essay Towards A Topographical History of the County of Norfolk: Volume 4, the History of the City and County of Norwich, Part II. Originally published by W Miller, London, 1806.
This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.
(111) St. Edmund the King and Martyr of Fisher-Gate,
Which was founded about the Conqueror's time, and was so called because the fishermen dwelt chiefly in this part; the watering at the southwest corner of the churchyard being the ancient Water-gate or stathe, where they landed their fish. The steeple here is square, and hath five bells, the nave, south isle, chancel, north vestry and porch, are leaded.
[Oi Nekroi Anastisontai],
Beatam hanc '[Anastasin] expectans, hic sita est Sarah, conjux Viri Reverendi Roberti Cory, A. M. dilectissima, et Filia Natû maxima Reverendi Johannis Cory in Agro Cantab. de LandBeach vigilantissimi Rectoris, Mater erat septem Liberorum, Quorum pars maxima, communi hoc Sepulchro fruuntur, Tribus qui supersunt propitietur Deus; obijt tertio Decembris A°. D. 1731, Ætat. 41mo.
John Son of Joseph Cory, married Jane Dr. of Benjamin Berwick Clerk, died without Issue June 11, 1715, Æt. 27. Mr. Rob. Cory May 29, 1677, 60. Susan his Wife 1684, 69. Tho. their Son 1702, 60. Joseph their 4th. Son 1703, 64.
At the east end of the south isle, is a chapel of the Blessed Virgin, which was built in 1463, by Alderman Robert Furbisher, who lies buried under the stone robbed of its brasses there; he founded a secular chaplain, to sing for him eight years here, and in 1466, Margaret his widow was buried by him.
Nic. Coppin Senior 1724. Susan Dr. of Edward and Johanna Coppin 1674. Jane Coppin, wife of Nic. the Elder, 1698. Edw. son of Edw. Coppin 1670. Alex. Harrison 1643. Tho. Thrower 1681, Eliz. his wife 1701. Muryell Dr. of Ellis Braham of Trowse Newton, and Frances his wife, 1706.
Hanc Reparationem Fide certissimâ lætus expectat, qui hic Reconditur Josephus Burton Civis et Senator, Teque Lectorem, quicunque sis, admonet, ut sis omnibus horis paratus, hâc beatissimæ Vitæ Reparatione frui cum Gaudio, obijt III Idûs Februarij A° Ætat. xlvj°. Æræ Xianæ MDCCIIXX°. Josephus Burton Filius natû maximus, hoc Monumentum Pietatis & Amoris ergo posuit.
On a black marble under the monument,
Joseph Burton Alderman 1719. Tubbing Burton Filius natû minimus Josephi Burton Aldermanni & Marie Uxoris, placidè in Domino obdormivit ix Kalendas Decembris A°. Dni. 1720, Æt. suæ Vto.
Hic Smyth Collecta (fn. 1) iacet en cognomine dicta In tumulo clausa, similis tellure relicta, Hac fuit in Uita stabilis, pia femina, iusta, Hic quia dum virit, semper Christum benedirit, Fili Christe Dei, te quesumus, O miserere, Jstius ac anime, propicieris ei.—Amen.
Among the relicks kept in this church, the most famous one, was a piece of the shirt of St. Edmund the Martyr, which was preserved in a box of chrystal, and was visited in those days, with great reverence; but what became of it, when those superstitious follies ceased, I do not find.
1459, Alice Aylmer, wife of John Penning, alderman, was buried in the church; 1502, Alderman John Warren; 1505, Edm. Moore Gent. in the chancel; 1517, Alice wife of Nic. Kebyt, and gave a legacy to our Lady, "the second advoyer of this church." At the Dissolution there were a pair of silver censers a pair of gilt silver chalices, a paten, a gilt silver ship, and a gilt silver pax.
In 1676, the tower was repaired with money raised by a petition. (fn. 2) There were lights formerly kept here, before the holy cross on the rood loft, and the images of our Lady, St. Edmund, St. Catherine, St. James, and St. John Baptist.
This rectory is said in Domesday Book, to pay 3d. per annum synodals, and to be then valued at 20s. and was not taxed. It is valued in the King's Books at 4l. 6s. 3d. and is sworn of the clear yearly value, of 14l. 10s. 2d. ob. and is discharged of first fruits and tenths. it is augmented with an estate of 20l. per annum in Stratton St. Mary, purchased of John Howes, Esq. The annual voluntary contribution is about 10l. and there is a piece of glebe let at 30s. lying in the farm called the Half-way-House to Catton; and another piece let at 20s. to the widow Gibbs, lying on the west side of Rotten-rowe, which is opposite to the churchyard.
1332, Roger Goldsmith. John le Claver of Plumstede; he gave his house on the west side of the churchyard, for a parsonage, (fn. 3) and in 1337, Agnes his wife released it, and a license in mortmain passed to settle it for that purpose.
1359, Will. son of John at Church of Blofield; he was buried in the middle of the chancel; his stone is now spoiled of its brasses, but the impression of a cup and wafer still remains on it; he gave lands in Hellesden to be sold, to pave the chancel, and build the vestiary on the north side of it; he was presented by William son of Rob. Clere of Ormesby; and the six following rectors were presented by Dionise his relict.
1737, 28 Oct. The Rev. Rob. Cory, A. M. the present  rector, was presented by George Hainsworth, patron for this turn; he holds it united to the vicarage of Hackford cum Whitwell in Norfolk, and is now perpetual patron of this rectory.
On the door of the corner house at the turn of St. Edmund's-street into St. James's, are the arms of Paston carved in wood, and Paston impaling a chevron. This was the dwelling of Agnes Paston, widow.
(112) The Children's Hospital now called, the Boys Hospital,
Is situate in the parish of St. Edmund of Fishergate, a little east of that parish church, on the opposite side of the street; its rise and original is owing to the charitable disposition of Thomas Anguish; descended from an ancient family of that name at Walsingham in Norfolk, (fn. 4) he was mayor of this city in 1611; and by his will, bearing date the 22d of June, 1617, he bequeathed to the mayor, sheriffs, citizens, and commonalty, of the city of Norwich, the east part of that estate, houses, yards, and grounds, which he purchased of Anthony, son and heir, of Anthony Style, deceased, rented at 14l. per annum joining to the west part of the same estate which he gave to Will. Anguish, his youngest son, with condition that his sons should enjoy the said east part 10 years after his death, and that then the corporation should enter upon it, and lease it out, though not for above 7 or 10 years, and they to receive the profits, &c. "Untill it shall please God to putt in the Harte of some able & Godlye minded Men, or by the General Charge of the Citty, which hathe byn from Tyme to Tyme for many Years wished & desired, to erect, set up, and found an Hospital, or Conveniente place for the Keepinge, bringinge up, & teachinge of Younge & very poore Children, borne & brought up in this City of Norwich, & specially suche as for wante, lye in the Streetes, Vaughtes, Doores, & Windowes, whereby many of them fall into great and grevious diseases and Lamenesses, as that they are fitt for no Profession, ever after; whereby in Compassion and great Pitye, in a good Conscience, although I doe acknowledge my Self the weakest among many other in Abilitye, having many Children my self, or in Wisdom, to direct for the Keeping and bringing up of poor Children, notwithstanding as a beginning to my small Power, I have given this said House & Ground, being large, spacious, & new built, and many Rooms therein, [that it may] be employ'd for the placeing of a Master & Dame, or other Teachers, to bring up Children, that be very poore, & have not Friends to helpe them, from the age of 5, 6, or 7 Years, untill they shall atteyne to 14, or 15 Years, & so be taught in the meane time according to their Disposition, as they may be fittinge for Service, or able to Mainteyne themselves by their work."
He says in his opinion (having viewed the house) there are convenient chambers for lodging the boys by themselves, and the girls by themselves; that there may be 40 beds at least, besides low rooms for a master, dame, and servants, and for the children to work in. All which he leaves in the disposition of the corporation, and if they can find and purchase a better house for the purpose in 10 years after his death, then the clear annual profits to go towards the keeping of such poor children in that house for ever. But before the end of the 10 years, the sons of the said Tho. Anguish, of their pious disposition released it to the city, for the use their father had settled it; upon which, viz. 1618, it began to be fitted up, and applied to that use by the corporation, for
Emmanuel Garret of Norwich, goldsmith, by will dated 18 Jan. in that year, gave 100l. towards the education and bringing up poor children in the houses of St. Edmund, according to the religious mind and purpose of Mr. Tho. Anguish. (fn. 5) And in 1620, there were rules and ordinances made for the Children's Hospital; in which it was ordered, that all the rooms on the east part of the house should be fitted up for orphans, (fn. 6) that 10 boys and 2 girls shall be admitted by the mayor and court of aldermen, who may displace them at their pleasure; the parish or ward whence they are chosen, to furnish them with 2 suits of apparel, linen and woollen; and eight beds were bought for the children with the 10 pounds given by Mr. Hammond Thurston, deceased, for that purpose. (fn. 7) 30l. per annum for their maintenance, was allotted out of Barnham-Broome estate, and 40l. per annum ordered to be purchased with the money in Terri's chest, and with the 100l. given by Mr. Fawcet, (fn. 8) the 100l. given by Mr. Emanuel Garret, or Garrard, goldsmith, (fn. 9) and 20l. by Mr. Alderman Pettus.
And then they chose a master, and dame or mistress, to keep them at work; and also a master to teach them to read English, who was to bestow 2 hours every working day on that business, and have for it 10l. per annum; the master and dame to have their dwelling and 40l. per annum, (paid quarterly towards their diet, &c.) and the benefit of their work.
Eight governours of the house were also chosen, 4 aldermen and 4 commoners, and the oldest chosen alderman and commoner shall be yearly removed, and new ones chosen in their places, at the assembly held on the 3d of May; and in 1620, 13 Dec. Christopher Giles was appointed keeper of the children, he being thought an able man, and honest, and fit to be trusted, and able to manage the work of the children.
In 1622, 4 Sept. Mr. John Anguish offered to settle his estate in Honing for 200l. one hundred pounds whereof, he would give to the Children's hospital, &c. on condition that so long as he, or his wife, or any of his name, shall be living in Norwich, they shall be permitted to name one child, born and dwelling in the city, to be kept in the hospital.
In 1623, John Auguish, Gent. Alderman Alexander, Edmund, Thomas, and Will. Anguish, Gentlemen, sons of Mr. Tho. Anguish, the founder, not only released the term they had in their houses, but the said Mr. John and Edmund Anguish, with John Ward, Gent. late sheriff, settled on the city, the lazar-house and grounds thereto belonging, at St. Stephen's-gates, on condition, that yearly for ever, on the Feast of the Epiphany, (see Pt. I. p. 444,) there shall be a sermon in the afternoon in the church of St. Edmund, by a licensed preacher chosen by the mayor, and that the mayor, sheriffs, citizens, and commonalty, shall yearly pay 26s. 8d. (fn. 10) viz. to the preacher 6s. 8d.; to the poor of the parish 3s. 4d.; to the mayor 20d. to four justices 2s.; to the sheriffs 12d.; to the chamberlain 6d.; to six commoners 2s.; to the under sheriff 4d.; to the mayor's two officers 12d,; to the minister of the parish 12d.; and to the clerk of the parish 18d.; and all persons aforenamed that are absent, forfeit their money, which is to be put into the mayor's hamper, for the poor of the city; and then the names, gifts, and bequests of all the benefactors, are to be read in the church, out of a book which shall be kept for that purpose, to preserve their memories to all posterity. (fn. 11)
1626, Thomas Tesmond of Norwich, Gent. gave 69 acres in Bixley to the corporation, on condition they pay yearly to the preachers of God's word, which shall preach at the common place in Norwich, (fn. 12) on the days observed for the memory of Kett's camp, Gowrie's conspiracy, the powder treason, and the coronation day, 20s. to each preacher, 5s. immediately at the end of their sermon, and the rest to the children's hospital. (fn. 13)
King Charles the First by charter dated at Westminster the 28th day of November, in the 4th year of his reign, did establish and found this hospital, by the name of, The Children's Hospital in the City of Norwich of the Foundation of King Charles; and licensed the corporation to hold all lands and tenements already given them, and to purchase more, of what tenure so ever, so the new purchases do not exceed 300l. per annum, and to hold them in mortmain; authorising the Corporation to make rules for the well-governing of the hospital, and to alter them at their pleasure, and also to admit all the children and officers, and add, increase, or diminish the number at their pleasure.
1630, An estate was purchased in Alburgh and Redenhall, of Lany Rowse, Gent. for 525l. 300l. of which money was given to charitable uses, by Mr. Nic. Reeve, citizen and scrivener of London, and conferred upon the city for this use, by Mr. Sheriff Tooley; and 225l. was paid by him in Nov. of the gift of Mrs. Merable Bennett of London; for he had a writing under the common seal, testifying the pious disposition of those two persons.
1632, 30 June, the orders for the hospital were made, by which the master was to have for the diet of each child 4l. 6s. 8d. paid quarterly by the treasurer, one quarter's allowance being always to be in the master's hands beforehand.
No child is to be admitted above ten, nor stay above fifteen, and at their admission must produce a testimony of their age from the minister of the parish. The schoolmaster henceforward is to learn them to write. All the boys to be at the cathedral sermon in the morning, their master accompanying them, who shall have 12d. a quarter for so doing; they are to be in their coats and caps, and to attend upon the sword; when ever warning is given them, all of them are to attend the funeral of any benefactor, in their habits, and to go before the corps in a decent manner, singing a psalm, and each boy is to have a penny loaf, and their master 12d.; they shall perform the like service for the friend of any other person, if desired, but then they shall pay for every boy 6d. to the treasurer, and as before, to the master and boys. The master shall keep a book of the admission, death, and departure of every child. The master is to be obliged by the corporation to obey the orders of the house; and when he dies, his executors or administrators shall keep the children, till the quarter after his death; and the 1st of August, the master is to be allowed for his firing 7 chaldrons of coals.
1635, Rob. Smith, junior, of Trowse Milgate, grocer, gave 100l. for a boy from Trowse Milgate in Norwich, to be in the hospital; and if there be not one, then he is to be chosen from the county side of Trowse; and Lydia his widow, in 1637, gave 100l. (fn. 14)
And Mr. Robert Crask, who was mayor in 1623, gave his houses in St. Martin at the Oak, provided they add two children more to be chosen out of South-Conisford ward, and that they be such as are chargeable to the inhabitants, and without father and mother, they being either dead or run away; and if there be no such, then the poorest that can be found, without partiality, in the said ward; and when 14 years old, they shall be bound apprentice, at the charge of the City; and this ward to have a child in the hospital as usual, before his gift; and if there be not a third child out of the ward for two years together, his gift to revert to his heir at law; and those two of his gift must be born in the city or suburbs.
1663 Mr. Robert Holmes, late alderman, gave 50l. 1669, Henry Watts, Esq. deceased, gave 25l. 1672, Nat. Cock of London, merchant, gave 100l. 1673, Mr. Francis Aylmer gave 30l. 1675, 4 closes of 13 acres without Berstreet-gates were purchased of Bernard Church, Esq. for 338l. with the legacies given by Mr. Vaughan and Mr. Nat. Cock; (fn. 15) Mr. Vaughan's gift is for a boy from Saxthorp in Norfolk; when his apprenticeship is out, he is to have 10l. paid him to begin the world with.
1675, Will. Barnham, alderman, (fn. 16) gave divers lands and tenements in the close of the cathedral, and an estate in Shipdham, to the boys hospital, provided a boy of Thetford be always kept in the hospital, and 4l. of money be yearly paid to the town of Thetford, to bind out, or clothe poor children there.
1681, Mrs. Blackborn of Windham, widow, gave 100l. 1684, it was agreed to buy the boys books. 1684, 24 Sept. on Wednesday next a boy to be put into the boys, and a girl into the girls hospital, out of the benefaction of Augustine Briggs, Esq. (fn. 17) at the recommendation of Aug. Briggs, his son, but this to be no precedent.
1701, the church-wardens and overseers of St. Bennet's parish nominated a boy to the hospital, and there is paid 6l. per annum for his maintenance, on All-Saints day, according to the will of Michael Smith, deceased. (See p. 251.)
1705, Alderman Bernard Church, (see p. 141, and Pt. I. p. 421,) gave to the two hospitals aforesaid, for their better maintenance, 50s. per annum, and the court settled it to be spent on the children above their ordinary allowance, on the 15th January, Lady day, Midsummer Day, and Michaelmas day, viz. two shoulders of mutton, 3s. 6d.; plumbs for puddings, 1s. 8d.; other materials for the puddings, 1s. 4d.; two doz. two-penny cakes, 4s.; strong beer, 2s. twelve shillings and sixpence each day.
Nat. Remington, Esq. gave 20l. Mr. John Filkin of Yarmouth 50l. Thomas Blofield, Esq. 100l. Alderman Laurence Goodwin 50l. James Demee, Gent. 20l. Mr. John Thompson, fishmonger, 5l. John Braythwait, hosier, 50l. Alderman Augustine Scottowe 25l. Alderman Mat. Peckover 20l. Mr. Daniel Martin, worstead weaver, 10l. Mr. Francis Fen 20l. Mrs. Susan Mingay 20l. Ric. Harman, Esq. 20l. Mr. Joseph Loveland, prebend, (fn. 20) 100l. Mr. John Brabant 100l. Mr. Scottow of London 50l.
The revenues of this hospital, from the foundation to the present time, have been so justly managed, that as they increased, there were added children in proportion; so that from 14 only, this hath now no less than thirty and six poor boys, who are decently clothed in blue coats and red caps, and well maintained with meat, drink, washing, and lodging, in the hospital, during their continuance there; and not only so, but are taught to write and read, and then are bound out apprentices to trades, by which means this charity is made as useful and beneficial as it can be.
|Alderman Barnham's gift.||William Rolf, Gent. for his house in the Close, per annum||20||0||0|
|A year's rent from Moore, late Banks||9||0||0|
|A year's rent of a house and ground in Shipdam||20||0||0|
|Tenements in St. Martin at Oak given by Mr. Craske||7||0||0|
|A tenement in St. Laurence given by Alderman Tooley||8||0||0|
|A messuage and lands in Cringleford given by Mr. Richard Bond, and paid for by Mr. Pipe, his executor||30||0||0|
|A messuage and ground in Shipdam, purchased by Agnes Wisse, and two pieces purchased by John Banks||23||0||0|
|Lands in Bixley, Trowse, &c. part given by Mr. Tesmond, and part purchased of Mr. Debney||54||0||0|
|A year's gift of Justice Church||2||10||0|
|A year's rent from Tho. Barnard, late Moor, for the manor of Buxton-burgh, with the lands there, which were purchased by Aug. Sotherton||44||0||0|
|Of Michael Smith, paid by Will. Miles Baker, in St. John' Sepulchre where the estate lies, for maintaining a boy in the hospital out of St. Bennet's parish||6||0||0|
|Of Richard Prat, for Pedder's acre||2||0||0|
|A year's rent from Hurne||12||0||0|
|Ditto from widow Simons||3||0||0|
|Ditto from Sam. Gurling||5||0||0|
|A farm in Aldburgh purchased in 1630||62||0||0|
|Lands in Swanton Morley||28||0||0|
|A malt-house and lands in East Dearham, given by Mr. Augustine Blomefield||8||0||0|
|Lands in Catton given by Mr. Pipe,||9||0||0|
|A messuage and Lands in Swerdeston, given in 1684, by Augustine Briggs, Esq. one half to the boys, and the other to the girls hospital||19||0||0|
|A farm in little Melton, purchased by Tho. Wisse, Esq. one moiety to the girls hospital, after taxes and repairs deducted||26||0||0|
|A house in St. Clement's given by Justice Wood||5||10||0|
|Lands in Lakenham purchased in 1675, with Mr. Vaughan's and Cock's gifts||24||0||0|
|Irland's and Blofield's (fn. 21) gifts, to be paid yearly by the chamberlain||12||6||8|
|A close in little Melton||3||0||0|
|Lands in Hellesden, bought by John Black, Esq. of Mr. Norris, (fn. 22) to be given to boys after apprenticeship expired.||6||0||0|
|Total of annual Rents and Gifts||448||16||8|
St. James's parish joins to the east part of St. Edmund's, and all the space on the east side of the street, leading from White-friars-bridge, to St. James's church, and from thence to the gates called Pockthorpgates, and from thence by the lane leading under the city walls to the river, and all along the river's side to the aforesaid bridge, was the site of the
(113) Carmelites, or White-Friars,
Which received their names from St. Mary of Mount Carmel, the place of their first residence, and from the colour of their habit; they pretended to great antiquity; but the first we know of them, as to any certainty, is about 1238, when they were driven from Mount Carmel in Palestine, by the cruelty of the Saracens; their rule, which is that of St. Basil, was given them by Albert, Patriarch of Jerusalem, about 1205. They were confirmed by Pope Honorius III. in 1224, and were first brought into England in 1240, and held their first European chapter in 1245.
This priory, notwithstanding what is said of it by the authors of the Atlas, p. 402, was a large house. and of great repute, even to its dissolution; the Atlas, fo. 805, and Weever, tell us, it was founded by Philip Cowgate, mayor of Norwich in the year 1268, but with what truth we may judge, for there was no mayor of the city till 1403, it being governed before that time by bailiffs: the truth therefore of its foundation will best appear from the foundation deeds, which were exemplified April 24, 1533, on account of the claim made to the patronage of the priory at that time, by the Peircy family, for Sir Alan Peircy, brother of Henry Peircy Earl of Northumberland, had laid claim to it, as being founded by his family; which was entirely false, the patronage of it being in the senate, mayor, sheriffs, and merchants of the city, ever since the year 1486, when it was proved in a provincial chapter of the order, held on the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin, in the convent of Burnham, that Philip, son of Warine, son of Adam Arnold, (fn. 23) or Ernold, of Cowgate, (fn. 24) in Norwich, merchant, who assumed the name of Philip de Cowgate, from his living in that part of the city, was the first and prime founder of this monastery; about 1256, he settled his messuage, with all the buildings and yards thereto belonging, lying between the messuage of Ralph the chaplain, then vicar of Wrottyng, on the south part, and the messuage formerly Rob. de Holveston's, (fn. 25) on the north part, and extended in length from the high-way called Cowgate, (fn. 26) which lies west, to the ditch (fn. 27) of the said messuage towards the east, on Master William de Suffield, Archdeacon of Norwich, and his heirs, on condition that the brethren of Mount Carmel should enter and dwell there, without any molestation, for ever, and serve God therein: upon this, the friars took possession of it, and by the gifts of their founder and other good people, erected a noble church, and had it dedicated to the Holy Virgin; which being finished, the said Philip took upon him the habit and order of a Carmelite, (fn. 28) and entered the house of his own foundation, where he died the 23d of April, 1283, and was buried in his own church. And by reason of his appointing no patron of their house, they continued without any, till 1486, and then Thomas Waterpytte, S. T. B. prior, and his convent, supplicated the mayor, aldermen, sheriffs, and citizens of Norwich, that as their founder was a merchant and fellow citizen, and assigned them no patron, that they would henceforward be patrons, which they accepted, and it was confirmed in the general chapter of their order held at Burnham, as is aforesaid; and brother John, prior provincial of the said order, decreed in open chapter, that the corporation should be prayed for in all divine services in the monastery, as their patrons, and should be partakers of the benefit of the prayers of all the brethren of the order throughout England, and in token hereof, the convent confirmed it, under the common seal, to the mayor, and the mayor, under the city seal, to the convent.
This house had its share of benefactions, but most being in money or goods, it had few fixed revenues in lands or houses, it being contrary to the rules of the orders of the friars to have any possessions, unless the sites of the houses which they dwelt in, though they sometimes, under pretence of conveniency, did take some few.
In 1334, Tho. de Salthouse, prior here, purchased a messuage on the south side of their convent, which joined all the way to the river Wensum, (fn. 29) and abuts west on Fishergate: (fn. 30) by this purchase they had their site completed, from the river to St. James's church; and to make it entire, in 1344 the city granted them a lane, which went through their convent, called St. James's Wente; from which time the convent had gates, &c. nightly shut, that no one could pass through as usual; and now the houses they purchased were pulled down, and their court and churchyard was made large and spacious; upon which the prior and convent of the Holy Trinity, who held the church of St. James, and St. Martin at the Palace-gate, (fn. 31) impropriated to them, complained, that the friars by pulling down the houses, and laying them into their convent, lessened the value of their parishes aforesaid, in which their friary was situated; upon which the friars agreed to pay 2s. per annum to their priory, in recompense for that damage, and also sware that they would not take nor receive, knowingly, any offerings from the parishioners, of their impropriate parishes of St. Martin, St. James, or St. Paul, without returning them to their several churches; and afterwards, in 1376, it was agreed between brother Walter de Dysse, prior here, (fn. 32) and John de Hoo, prior of the cathedral, that whereas the said John de Hoo held the churches of St. Vedast, and St. Margaret in Fibrig-gate, All-Saints, St. Saviour, St. Paul, St. James, St. Martin at Palace, St. Giles, St. Gregory, St. Stephen, St. Sepulchre, St. John of Berstreet, St. Peter per Montergate, St. Cuthbert, St. Mary the Less, Holy Cross, St. Margaret at Neivbrigge, St George of Muspool, St. Olave, St. Martin of Coslanye, and St. Etheldred in Norwich, impropriate to his convent; and whereas divers of the parishioners of those parishes daily chose to be buried in the Carmelites church and churchyard, by which the said parishes lost much of their profits, to the injury of the convent, who served most of them by their monks, and received the profits; the friars agreed, that for the future, they would pay the prior of the cathedral, the 4th part of the profits every year, that arose from the offerings and funerals of such persons, in the same manner that the friars-preachers. and friars-minors did, according to the conslitution of Pope Clement. (fn. 33)
In 1431, they paid the precentor 4s. for two or three houses laid into their site, besides the 4th part of the offerings above mentioned, which were always paid annually. (fn. 34) In 1485, King Richard II. confirmed all their houses, lands, and privileges. In 1498, the mayor, sheriffs, &c. granted the prior and brethren of this house, under their common seal, that they should be ever free from all toll and custom in the city, (fn. 35) and of all fees due to the city officers, for all things whatever, used and consumed in their house.
They had six messuages in St. Austin's parish, one of which was given by Margaret Beamond in 1529, which at the Dissolution were separated from the site, and granted in 1544, to John Eyre, one of the King's auditors, along with another messuage in St. Clement's at the Bridge which belonged to St. Faith's priory.
Dame Alice, wife of Roger de Boyland. (Hist. Norf. vol. i. p. 59.) Dame Eleanor Boteler, Sir Barth. Somerton, Knt. and Dame Catherine, his wife. Sir Oliver le Gros, Knt. John, father of Sir Ralf Benhall, Knt. Dame Joan, wife of Sir Tho. Morley, Robert Baniard, Esq. Sir Oliver. Wythe, Knt. Dame Alice Wythe in 1361. Sir Jeffery Wythe of Smalbergh, Knt. 1373. Sir Peter Tye, Knt. Margaret Pulham. Dame Alice Hethersete. Dame Katherine, wife of Sir Nich. Borne. Joan, wife of John Fastolff. Thomas Crownthorp or Crongethorp, and Alice his wife.
1457, John Saberne of Norwich. 1459, Will. Norwych, senior, buried by Agnes his wife, and Walter his father. 1461, John Mulicourt, buried in the church, he lived among them. 1466, Margaret Furbisher, widow. 1467, John Gedge, fuller, buried in the Carmelites church, Brother Edm. Heverlond, a Carmelite, to sing for him. 1479, Will. Gladen of Norwich, publick notary. Richard and George, children of Sir Will Calthorp, by Cecily, John, and Thomas, other children of the said Sir William. 1418, John Dengayne, Gent. and Robert Smart, Esq. 1494, Sir Will. Calthorp, Knt. (fn. 36) buried in the "Whyte Fryerys wher the Place of my Sepultur is made;" he gave 40 marks to be given in pence to the poor on his burial day; 10 marks to the friars, and friar Tho. Waterpepe to sing three years for his own, friends, and wife's souls, at the altar where my sepulture is, and after the Gospel, to say openly at the end of every mass, De Profundis, and to have 6 marks a year.
About 1500, Christian Boxworth, widow, of the parish of St. Mar garet Fibrigge, was buried in the north side of the White-friars church, before the image of our Lady, and gave 20s. to the friars for her burial.
1502, Margaret Ratcliff, alias Curteis, widow, gave to the friars 6s. 8d. and a legacy to St. Barbara's gild held in the White-friars. 1503, John Osteler, alias Patkerton, fishmonger, and the same year, Eliz. relict of Will. Aslak, Esq. buried in the chapel of our Lady, in the south part of the White-friars church, by the image of St. Laurence; and gave East-Tudenham manor to her son William.
1523, John Hemyngham, clerk, parson of Kesewyk, buried in the White-friars church, at the Jemowe door, by his mother. 1529. Margaret Beamond buried here, gave a house in St. Austin's on condition they said a mass for her soul at Christmas, Easter, Whitsuntide, and Michaelmas, and have a penny-candle burning before the Blessed Sacrament of the altar, at those times; and also that the prior distributed to the friars a pittance of 2s.
1303, Brother Humphry de Necton, D. D. and professor at Cambridge; a man of solid learning, a subtile disputant, and excellent
preacher, author of many learned treatises, a catalogue of which you
will find in Bale and Pitt. (fn. 37) Of whom, Leland hath left us this
Laudibus Humfredum meritis super astra feramus, Cui data Grantenæ Laurea prima Scholæ.
1310, Brother Rob. Walsyngham, a man of great repute in Oxford for his Quodlibets, ordinary Questions, and his Interpretation of the sacred Scriptures, which he made manifest to the world, as Bale says: (fn. 38) and Pitt also gives him the character of a man of acute wit, sound judgment, good life, and great learning.
1348, died Brother John Folsham, prior of this monastery, and provincial of all England; he was D. D. of Cambridge, a native of Folsham in Norfolk, an excellent logician, well deserving the praise that Pitt gives him. Bale saith, that indeed he was a doctor and none of the meanest; for by his chopping of logick, he could turn black into white, men into asses, and school divinity into natural philosophy. He wrote many learned treatises, as you may see in the aforecited authors, and died in the time of the great pestilence, for in this year, from the first of January to the first of July, there died in this city 57,374 persons, besides religious votaries; (fn. 39) whereupon the prior and convent of this house composed a prayer, (fn. 40) to be said daily for the brethren that died of the contagion.
1361, Brother Rich. Enges. 1370, Brother Tho. de Len. 1372, died Brother William of St. Faith's, D. D. (fn. 41) 1382 died Brother Tho. Riburgh.
In the year 1400, 2d Henry IV. Thomas Arandell Archbishop of Canterbury, went his metropolitical visitation, and came from Ely to Norwich, where he was received at the cathedral, by the Bishop, prior, and convent, and the whole, city, with a solemn procession; and during the whole time of his stay, he lodged in the house of the Carmelites, at his own expense, and then made an amicable agreement between the Bishop, prior, and convent, who had great variances about their rights; all which he settled to their satisfaction. Hence he went to Walsingham, and removed the prior, assigning him 40 marks for life; and from thence he went to Mildenhall, and so to Bury. Regr. Curteys.
1420, died Brother Robert Rose, D. D. (fn. 42) he was honoured by the University of Oxford, with the title of supreme master; and wrote many things, yet never offended the followers of Wickliff: he was prior here, and enriched his monastery both in estate and learning, being an excellent philosopher, and profound divine.
Thomas Scroop, born at Bradley, of the noble family of the Scroops, to which he was an honour, on account of his virtue and learning, was first a Benedictine monk, and in 1430, took the habit of a Carmelite friar, and led an anchorite's life here many years, seldom going out of his cell, but when he preached: but about 1446, Pope Eugenius the IVth. made him Bishop of Down in Ireland, which he afterwards resigned, and came again to his convent, and became suffragan to the Bishop of Norwich; he died at Lowistoft in 1491, and was there buried, being near 100 years old. See his life and an account of his works in Pitt, p. 682. Bale, 213. Holingshed, 798. Baker, 363.
1440, Brother John Thorp, died and was buried here; he was an excellent writer, author of many books, and divers learned treatises; but for his Labrynth of Logick, as he intituled it, he acquired the name of the Ingenious Doctor, which with his epitaph, was engraven on his tomb. It was an eminent work, wherein he exquisitely displayed the subtilities of that art. See Bale, 195. Holingshed, 662.
1423, Brother Walter Thetford. 1426, Brother Will. Suffield. 1432, Brother Ric. Lyn. 1436, Brother Tho. Walsingham. 1452, Brother Nic. Bungey; he was collated to the rectory of Beeston, by the Bishop. Li. XI.
In this monastery there were two ankorages, or anker's houses, one for a man, who was admitted brother of the house; the other for a woman, who was also admitted sister thereof; the last under the chapel of the Holy-Cross, which is still standing, though converted into dwelling-houses; the former stood by St. Martin's-bridge, on the east side of the street, and a small garden belonging to it joined to the river.
In 1539, (fn. 43) one John Pratt, servant, with Rauff Salter of Harpley, coming to Norwich on the Wednesday last, did on Friday go to the White-friars in Norwich, and found the prior and his brethren at dinner, and after the accustomed words of humanity between the prior and the said John, the prior demanded from whence he came, whereunto the same John said, I am my Lord Privy Seal's servant, and late come from his Lordship; and then the prior asked him the cause of his coming; and he made answer, I have a commission from my Lord Privy Seal to suppress this house. The prior desired the sight of his commission; and the said John, said that Mr. Godsalve had it, and further said, that they should be dispatched of their house on Monday next at the furthest. But it seems, the prior, upon further examination, found he was a cheat, and so caused him to be brought before the court, where he confessed, that he did it, purposing to have put the prior of the place in such fear that he by reason thereof should give him a reward of 40s. or 4l.; which being considered of, on Saturday, Oct. 19, he went round the market with a bason rung before him, and a paper on which was written, for false feynyng, and after had both his ears nailed to the pillory, and then cut off. (fn. 44)
This house stood undissolved till 1543, and in that year it was suppressed, and the city endeavoured, as patrons of it, to have purchased the grant; but could not, for in that very year, the King granted it to Richard Andrewes and Leonard Chamberlain, by letters patent dated June 17, who were to hold it to them and their heirs, by knight's service, of the King in capite; and the same year they had license to sell the site to John Spencer and his heirs, and soon after it was divided, and that part which lies against the river, next the bridge called Whitefriars bridge in the parish of St. Martin at the Palace-gate, where the anker's house stood, was sold off, and the original site all lying in St. James's parish, from the aforesaid part to St. James's church, and backward quite to the city walls and river, continued in the Spencers till they sold it to the Southwells; (fn. 45) and in 1561, Francis Southwell, Esq. Tho. John, and Hen. Spencer, Gent. conveyed it to Will. Gildren or Gildern, and his heirs, who was owner of it in 1569, and in 1579, sold it to William Drury of Melton, and his heirs. In 1635, there was a dispute between the parishioners of St. James, and St. Martin at the Palace, concerning the friary, which was referred to the aldermen of Fibrigge ward, who settled the bounds as they had been anciently. In 1639, Sir William Drury of Besthorp, Knt. died seized of it, since which time it hath passed through divers hands, and is now owned by Mr. John Chambers.
Brother Robert Bale, (fn. 46) that learned man and great writer, was a Carmelite of this house in 1495, and so was Brother John Bale, (fn. 47) that strenuous opposer, not only of this order, but of the Pope and church of Rome; he was a Suffolk man born, entered in this monastery at 12 years of age, from which he went to Cambridge, and became a diligent reformer, for which he was banished, and continued 8 years in Germany, was recalled by Edward VI. and made Bishop of Ossory in Ireland, but was driven thence by Queen Mary; afterwards he went through many misfortunes, being taken by pirates and sold, but was redeemed, and retired into Germany again, and at Basil published his famous work entituled, "De Scriptoribus Anglicanis." He died in Ireland, A° 1558, æt. 67, after he had wrote a prodigious number of books, a catalogue of which, with a fine cut of his tace, may be seen in Holland's Heroologia Anglica, fo. 165, 7. He left a collection in quarto MSS. (fn. 48) concerning this monastery, from which we learn the following things. In the year 1256, the Carmelites first entered their house at Norwich. In 1343, the new grand choir of their church was finished. In 1344, their new churchyard was consecrated by Brother John Paschall, Bishop and Suffragan to William Bishop of Norwich. In 1382, when the church was completely finished in a grand manner, (fn. 49) it was dedicated by Brother Thomas, (fn. 50) suffragan to Hen. Spencer Bishop of Norwich. In 1450, the library here was founded by Brother John de Kyninghale, then prior. In 1526, Bishop John (fn. 51) ordained in St. Thomas's chapel in the Carmelites house.
1348, Brother John de Folsham, (fn. 52) provincial of the order, died.
1381, Brother Ric. Wichingham, S. T. P. prior, buried here this year. Pitt, p. 535. 1386, Brother Rob. Yvory. Brother John Tacesphalus, or of Tacolneston, D. D. born there; a great preacher against the followers of Wickliff, elected prior in 1404, and died and was buried at Rome in 1420. See his works, &c. in Pitt, 608.
1488, Brother Tho. Watterpytte, D. D. 1517, Brother Rob. Love, provincial, in 1505, ob. (fn. 55)
There are now no ruins of this house remaining, save the Friars-hall, with their kitchen under it, now the Anabaptists meeting-house, (fn. 56) and the chapel of the Holy Cross at the west end thereof, under which the anchoress had her anchorage, the chapel being over it; there is part of the cloister now turned into a cellar at a publick-house; the church stood near St. James's, there being only a passage between the churchyards, but its site is now all built on.
(114) The Church of St. James
Stands at the north-west corner of the White-friars site, and was dedicated to the Apostles of that name; it was founded in the Conqueror's time, and was anciently called St. James at Barr-gates, and afterwards St. James at Pokethorp, and till then, was part of Thorp. It was a well endowed rectory, having all the great and small tithes belonging to it, till about 1201, when it was appropriated by John de Grey Bishop of Norwich, to the prior and convent there, who by that means, got all the glebes and tithes into their hands, on condition they found a secular chaplain to serve the church, and paid him for so doing, and repaired the chancel at their cost; which they constantly did till the Dissolution, and some time after; but of late years, the dean and chapter hath not paid the serving minister, though they have all that belonged to the rectory, (fn. 57) and still nominate the chaplain; who hath the surplice fees, and what voluntary contribution the parishioners will give, which in Dr. Prideaux's time amounted to 18l. per annum. It paid 3d. synodals, was laid at 26s. 8d. at the appropriation, and is now an exempt, being one of the peculiars belonging to the jurisdiction of the dean and chapter, and was lately augmented by lot, but there is no purchase as yet made.
The nave and south isle are leaded, the chancel is tiled, the steeple is octangular, and hath in it three bells; the upper part of it was rebuilt in 1743, and the emblems of the 4 Evangelists carved in stone lately stood, one at each corner: there is a chapel at the upper end of the isle, dedicated to our Lady, whose image stood by the altar, with a light burning before it. In 1479, the rood loft was beautifully painted, and there were then the images of St. Nicholas, St. Catherine, and St. John Baptist, with lights burning before them in service time; as there were also others before St. James, St. Christopher, the Holy rood, and Sepulchre; and there was then also a gild held here in honour of the two St. Jameses.
Here are stones in the nave for, Rose wife of John Freeman 1676. George Gwynne Gent. 1699, 59. Frances Tubbing widow, 1728, 86. Anthony Francis 1684. In the isle, crest a tree, arms three castles: Mr. Tim. Copping, kinsman by marriage to Mr. Nic. Poyntar Gent. 1696, 59. Nic. Poyntar Gent. 1676, 69. Barbara Sprat widow, his Dr. 1717, 82. Hellen wife of Mr. Nic. Poyntar 1660, 48. Poyntar Harmer, 1707, 33. Ellen Harmer Dr. of Mr. Nic. Poyntar 1715, 77. In the chancel, Will. Wright 1692, 55. Jane his wife, Will. their son, 1723, 59. Frances his wife 1732, 76. Wyborough wife of Rob. Drake, 1618.
Susan wife of John Chambers Esq. 1713, 59. John Chambers Esq. 1720, 71. Anne Barnes 1704. Tho. Barnes 1705. Children of Jane and Samuel Barnes. Davy's arms. Jehosaphat Davy, some time mayor, 1689, 72. Anne wife of Alderman Tho. Postle Dr. of Jehosaphat Davy Esq. 1702, 60. Bridget wife of Jehosaphat Postle 1720, 43. Jehosaphat Postle, Gent. ob. 5 Dec. 1723, 30.
By the south chancel door is a small mural monument with this,
Subtus hoc, Corpora Nicholai Emmes Generosi quondam hujus Civitatis Vicecomitum Unius et Mariæ charissimæ conjugis ejus, fælicem in Domino Resurrectionem expectantia. Ipsa obijt 11° Die Maij An° Salutis, 1632, Ipse 22 die Aug. 1638. Fuerunt ambo vicinis amicabiles, Amicis Fideles, pauperibus miserecordes, omnibusque bonis amantes. Edwardus Emmes filius primogenitus prædictorum Nicholai & Mariæ in ipsorum Charissimorum Parentum suorum Memoriam, hoc erigi curavit.
In 1528, Simon Westgate was buried in the church, before the image of St. Uncombre. 1526, (fn. 58) Will. Mayner priest, parish chaplain, was buried in the chapel here, and gave a legacy to Gresham church, where he was born, and to St. Stephen's, where he sang his first mass. 1532, Sir John Fincham, parish priest, was buried in the churchyard, and was succeeded by Sir Ric. Crowder. 1604, Nic. Gilman, curate. 1627, John Barnham. 1662, John Smith, Mr. Scot, Paul, Tillet, Pickering, Otway, Bentham, and Manlove, were curates here.
And the Rev. Mr. Will. Herne, is the present chaplain or curate, who is also one of the minor canons of the cathedral, minister of St. Paul's in Norwich, and of Hemlington in Norfolk, and rector of the rectories of Horningtoft and Gerveston.
St. Catherine's Chapel, which stood north-east of the said hamlet, above a mile distant from it, (fn. 59) upon Mushold heath; it was an ancient parochial chapel, founded about the time of the Conquest, and was afterwards reconsecrated to the honour of St. William of Norwich, the boy that was crucified by the Jews, as you may see in Pt. I. p. 26, &c. and is commonly called St. William in the wood; it had a cell of monks, which belonged to Norwich priory, residing by it, who were maintained out of the profits of the churches of Lakenham, and Ameringhall, which were held of these monks. (fn. 60) In 1230, Nigel de Hapesburg, gave a messuage and lands in Wiclewood, and the moiety of the advowson of All-Saints church there, (fn. 61) to the church of Norwich, on condition that the prior and convent should find a chaplain to serve daily in the chapel of St. Catherine by Thorp wood, for his own and his ancestors souls; and now being worth something, it was appropriated with all its tithes, offerings, profits, and lands, by Walter Bishop of Norwich in 1256, to the almoner's office in the convent, and about 1410, it was united to St. James's parish, and the parochial service transferred thither, the almoner only serving it as a chantry, from that time to the Dissolution, (fn. 62) when it was totally demolished; the site of it being now commonly known by the name of Pokethorp church yard; and in 1550, was leased by the dean and chapter, to William Bleverhaysset. Gent. by the name of the Chapel-yard called St. William's in the Wood. It was much frequented by pilgrims, who visited it to its dissolution, for in 1506, the almoner accounted for the offerings at St. William's chapel, and those at
The Chapel of the Translation of St. Thomas Becket, which stood very near the former, and was called St. Thomas in the Wood, but was never parochial, being supported chiefly by the brothers and sisters of St. Thomas's gild, which was yearly held with great pomp here, on the Feasts of St. Thomas Becket, and of the Holy Relicks; in 2d Richard III. the members of this gild gave a famous picture of the history of Bishop Becket, to this chapel, which was constantly repaired, as well as that of St. William, by the convent; and at the gild days, there were grand processions made, and interludes played, with good cheer after them.
St. Michael's Chapel was also in this parish, on the brow of the hill, on the north side of the road just out of Bishop's-gate; the ruins of it are still  visible, (fn. 63) and it is called Kett's Castle, because it was the place of rendezvous of that arch-rebel; it was founded by Bishop Herbert, in recompense for St. Michael's church which stood on Tombland, and was demolished by him; it was constantly served by the monks of the adjacent
Priory of St. Leonard, which stood opposite to it, on the other side of the Yarmouth road: this priory and church of St. Leonard was also built by Bishop Herbert, on the hill, which then was part of Thorp-wood, (fn. 64) in which he placed several monks, whilst the cathedral church and priory, were in building, (fn. 65) and a succession of others were continued here, as a cell to the great monastery, until the general Dissolution; (fn. 66) it was always governed by a prior, chosen by the Prior of Norwich, and confirmed by the Bishop; he was obliged to account with the Prior of Norwich annually, for all the offerings in his priory of St. Leonard, and in his chapel of St. Michael on the Mount aforesaid, and he was allowed a yearly stipend to find a chaplain for daily service there. St. Leonard's church was of great note for a famous image of good King Henry VI. which was visited by pilgrims far and near, some of which affirmed, they were, and many others resorted hither in hope to be cured of their diseases: so that the offerings to this good King, and the images of the Holy Virgin, the Holy Cross, and St. Anthony, brought in a good round annual sum. The names of such
This priory is now in ruins, being totally demolished by Kett and
his rebels; the site is walled in, and contained about 14 acres; the
church is ploughed over, but part of the gate-house, and the entrance
into the churchyard, are standing close by the present farm-house.
The prior had a pension of 6s. 4d. out of Taverham tithes, and the revenues of the house, were all accounted for to the convent at Norwich,
which paid the prior here a certain stipend; and every one of the 7
or 8 monks that resided here, had their several stipends; they were
obliged to find a scholar, and pay him a yearly exhibition, at one of
the Universities, and pay for all his degrees. At its dissolution it went
to the Crown, and King Henry VIII. granted it to Thomas Duke of
Norfolk, whose son, Henry Earl of Surrey, built a sumptuous house on
the site, in which he dwelt; (see p. 225;) on which occasion it was
called Surrey-house, and the hill Mount-Surrey, according to
Michael Drayton in his poem or epistle to Henry Howard Earl of
Why art thou slack, whilst no Man puts his Hand, To raise the Mount where Surrey's Tower must stand? Or who the Groundsil of that Work doth lay, Whilst like a Wand'rer, thou Abroad dost stray, Claspt in the Arms of some lascivious Dame, When thou shouldst rear an Honour to thy Name; When shall the Muses by fair Norwich dwell, To be the City of the Learned Well? Or when shall that fair Hoof-plow'd Spring distill, From great Mount-Surrey, out of Leonard's Hill?
But this Earl being beheaded, the whole was forfeited to the Crown, where it remained till 1562, and then Queen Elizabeth granted it, with the wood called Prior's Wood in Thorp, to Thomas Duke of Norfolk, and his heirs, and King James I. in 1602, confirmed it with two capital houses in Norwich, (fn. 67) to Thomas Howard Earl of Suffolk, and his heirs.
Under Mount-Surrey is a low valley, now a garden, belonging to the adjoining ale-house, in which the followers of John Wickliff, that worthy and learned divine, who first dared openly to oppose the Pope and the erroneous doctrines of the Romish church, were burnt for Lollardy, as they then called it, from whence it is called Lollard's Pit to this day. See Pt. I. p. 204.
Close by the river, on the left hand going out of Bishop's-gate, is a
spring of pleasant water, formerly much resorted to; which occasioned Sir John Pettus, Knt. in 1611, (fn. 68) to build the handsome freestone conduit over it, which is locked up, and so hinders its either
being choked or made foul, the water running continually from it;
on the freestone are carved the arms of Pettus, and this,
Johannes Pettus Miles, Monumentum construxit, Anno Dni. 1611.
Under St. Michael's Mount and part of Mushold, are surprising caverns in the earth, made by digging the chalk-stone for lime, and the black flints for building, with which these pits abound, notwithstanding what is said in the Journey through England, vol. i. p. 4, that "one would wonder from whence they had those stones, (meaning black flints,) for Norwich stands in a clay country, and neither flint nor chalk within 20 miles of it," (fn. 69) the whole of which is so very false, that I must conclude the author was never near Norwich in his life; and only wonder where it was possible to pick up such errours, all the publick accounts that I have seen of it, mentioning nothing like it.
Mousehold, or as it is commonly called Musel-hill, is a large heath now, but was most of it wood formerly, and is about 4 or 5 miles in length and breadth: Alex. Nevile calls it Muscosus Mons, the Mossy Hill, and would have it called Moss-Wold, from the moss growing on it, and [wolð], (a Saxon word,) signifying a hilly country void of wood; but as it is certain this was a wood, that etymology will not bear. I take the proper name to be as it is often written in evidences very ancient, Monks-hold, it belonging in a great measure to the Norwich monks, who had a cowherd to keep their cattle there.
Was originally part of Thorp, and when it was severed from it in the Conqueror's time, (fn. 70) with the parishes of St. James and St. Paul, took the name of Poc-Thorp or Little-Thorp; it hath court baron and lete, and now belongs to the church, as it hath done always from its foundation; in 1286, the prior had assize of bread and ale, and weyf, in his manors of Pokethorp, Holmestreet, and Great Plumstede, allowed in Eire, and a custom called Haliday-toll, besides land-gable paid him after dinner, the King's bailiff of his hundred of Blofield, having the same before dinner.
Hasset's-house, from William Bleverhaysset, Esq. who lived in it, having obtained a lease of it from the Dean and Chapter, in 1550, on the surrender of the ancient lease, which Dame Jane Calthorp of Norwich, widow, and Thomas her son and heir, had of it; and in 1547, the said William had also leased to him, "asmoche of all that their tythe lamb and wolle of the fold-cource, called the Lathe-cource, as doth, or of right ought, in any wyse to belonge or apperteyne to the paryshe churche of Seynt Jamys in Norwyche, yelding & paying therfor yerly to the Dean & Chapter, Parsons of the seid churche of Seynt Jamys, or at their assignement to the curate of the seid parishe of Seynt Jamys, towards his Stypende & wages ten shillings of lawfull money of Englande, at the feast of St. Mighell th' Arkangell, yerely and every yere, during all the seid Terme of lxxx yeres." This tithe, with St. William's chapel yard, and part of the fald-course that extended into Sprowston bounds, was assigned by Bleverhaysset in 1555, to John Corbet of Sprowston, Esq. and Miles Corbet, his son and heir, to make Sprowston course complete. (fn. 71)
Benefactors to this parish, are,
Tho. Chickering of Thorp, Esq. by will gave 52 bushels of sea coals, or 26s. 8d. every other year, to be paid to the church-wardens within 14 days next after Christmas day, to be divided among the poor of St. James's and Pokethorp. See St. Paul's parish, for
(115) The Church and Hospital of St. Paul
Were founded on a croft called then the Cow's-croft, which was originally part of Thorp, (fn. 72) till St. James's parish at Cowgate, with Pokethorp, was severed from it, and then it became part of that parish, and so continued till Eborard Bishop of Norwich, Ingulf, the first prior there, with the consent of the convent, and Richard de Bellofago, or Beaufo, Bishop of Auranches in Normandy, (fn. 73) and Archdeacon of Norwich, separated the croft from that parish, and built the hospital and church, and Theobald Archbishop of Canterbury, (fn. 74) consecrated it to St. Paul the Apostle, and St. Paul the first hermit, who was the reputed patron of such diseased poor, as were obliged to retire from the world, as Paul did to his hermitage in the wilderness; the life of this saint, with many incredible relations concerning him, may be seen in the Golden Legend, fo. 44. It seems to have been begun in the latter part of Bishop Herbert's time, and was finished by Eborard, between the years 1118 and 1145, for the souls of Bishop Herbert, the founders, and all the faithful, quick and dead; and the foundation was confirmed by the several charters (fn. 75) of Bishop Eborard, King Henry I. the Prior and Convent, Rich. de Beaufo Archdeacon of Norwich, the Archbishop of Canterbury, and the Pope's bull, which was ratified by the succeeding Popes; at which time, the Prior and Convent settled the whole croft on the hospital and church, and granted divers parts of it to such tenants as would pay them yearly rents, which constituted the manor now called
Norman's Spital Manor,
Which before the union of the dissolved parish of All-Saints in Fibrigge, extended no further than that place where St. Paul's pound stood, and contained no more land than was at first included in the said croft, and at first was inhabited by 18 families only, besides those in the site of the hospital, all which paid annual rents to the hospital; (fn. 76) the convent then also settled their portion of tithes in Marsham, and Blickling, and land at Sprowston, and the ditched-in meadow between Thorp wood and the river; and Bishop Beaufoe gave them the churches, glebes, and tithes of the four churches of St. Michael, St. Peter, St. Andrew, and St. Margaret in Ormesby, (fn. 77) which he had of the gift of King Henry I; and Alan de Bellofago or Beaufo, his brother and successour, confirmed them to the hospital, after they were appropriated by the Bishop, and enjoined all his clerks, and the vicar of the said churches, to pay the master of the hospital all his just dues; and Morel de Morlai, or Morley, and Emma his wife, who were received into the fraternity of the monks of Norwich, for that benefit gave to the hospital two parts of the tithe corn of their demeans in Filby, and all their tithes there, and Bishop Eborard granted 40 days pardon to all that came to the church and offered there, (fn. 78) on St. Paul's day (fn. 79) in summer, or in eight days before it; and appointed the church not only for the use of the hospital, but to be parochial, and have chrism (fn. 80) and oil from the sacrist of the convent; and King Henry I. settled 3d. a day out of his revenues of the county of Norfolk, to be paid by the sheriff of the county; (fn. 81) and in 1226, Thomas de Blumville confirmed all their revenues which they then had, viz. the rectories of St. Paul in Norwich, and the four churches in Ormesbye, and the tithes of the demeans of Ormesby-hall, and of the sheep there; (fn. 82) and the third part of the tithes of the demeans of the Bishop's manor of Blofield, Bacton, Thorp, (fn. 83) Thornage, (fn. 84) and Langham, (fn. 85) and two parts of the tithes of the Bishop's demeans in Marsham, (fn. 86) and the third part of the tithes of his demeans in Blickling, (fn. 87) the moiety of the tithes of the Bishop's demeans in Taverham, (fn. 88) and of the monks demeans in Trowse Newton; (fn. 89) two parts of the tithes of the demeans of Rob. de Ulmo or Holm in Filby; John son of Herbert de Norwico, or Norwich, gave them an house in St. Andrew's parish; John Knot gave to God, St. Mary, and the hospital of St. Paul, 6s. 8d. rent, out of divers houses in Norwich; Bishop Walter de Suffield gave the third part of the tithes of his demeans in Beyton, or Begeton, Humersfield, and Thornham; Julian, relict of Rob. de Horkneye of Spitelond, gave a piece of arable land at Galtre, or Gallows-hill, by Norwich. (fn. 90) Adam le Blund gave them a house in St. Paul's parish, and John de Marisco, son of Archdeacon Steingrun, (fn. 91) by will gave to Castle-acre monks, the houses and land which his father held of the hospital of St. Paul's church, paying to the hospital their ancient rents. Sir Clement de Cnapeton, chaplain, gave them divers cottages in St. Mathew's parish. In 1282, John Howard, carpenter, (fn. 92) was a benefactor; and in 1492, Eliz. Clere, and Joan Harman, widow, who was buried in St. James's church. In 1494, Sir Will. Calthorp. 1495, Joan Blackdam, widow, who was buried in this church. 1502, Dame Joan Blakeney, widow. 1507, Dame Margery Hobart, who was buried in the cathedral. By means of which benefactors, and many others, whose names are lost, their revenues were sufficient to maintain 14 poor men and women, who were decrepit with age, or languished under incurable diseases; besides a procurator, custos, or master of the hospital, who was always to be one of their monks in priest's orders, appointed by the prior and convent, and approved by the Bishop; and from the year 1198, when John of Oxford Bishop of Norwich, appropriated the rectory of St. Paul's church to the hospital, the master was obliged to serve the cure by himself or chaplain, and had all the spiritual jurisdiction of his own exempt parish, in himself, and proved wills, &c. (fn. 93) as official of his exempt jurisdiction, (fn. 94) which extended no further than his own parish.
The first Procurator or Master, was Norman the monk, from whom it took the name of Norman's spital, or hospital; he was a good benefactor, and ruled well. In his time, Walter the priest was rector here, at whose death it was appropriated. Jeffery the monk succeeded Norman in 1190, being placed here by Richard I.; he was succeeded by Reginald de Pankesford. 1266, Rob. de Stokesby, who was succeeded by Brother John de Plumstede, who died about 1285. 1357, Brother Nic. de Gernemuta, or Yarmouth. Brother Ralf de Filby. 1398, Brother Tho. de Lyn. 1411, Brother John de Hasingham. 1418, Sir Will. Silton, resigned, and Ric. Corpusty succeeded.
1429, Brother Ric. de Walsham; in whose time the state of the hospital was changed, there being no more men admitted, but 14 women only, seven of which were whole sisters, that is, eat, drank, and lodged in the hospital; the other seven were half sisters, which attended divine service with them, but were not lodged or clothed in the hospital. And now there was a Wardeness or Woman Guardian, who was subject to the master only, and appointed by him; and henceforward, his duty was only to take care of the church, and oversee the hospital; and about 1452, Dame Cecily Mortimer was appointed wardeness. 1513, Margaret Puregold, and in 1532, Margaret Dyver.
In 1470, Brother Rob. Bretenham was master. (fn. 95) 1492, Dionise de Hindolfstone. 1493, Simon de Len, who resigned in 1497, to Brother Will. Mannell, who in 1504, resigned to Brother Castelyn. 1513, Sir John Sibley; and in 1532, Sir Henry Mannet, the last master, who was made prebend. See Pt. I. p. 665.
After the dissolution of the priory, there were no more masters appointed, but the hospital stood undissolved, under the care of a wardeness, as heretofore, and the new erected dean and chapter having the hospital and all its revenues assigned to them, made the church a donative, and appointed
Sir John Beeston, parish priest, who served here in 1548, and at Dyver's death. Mistress Agnes Lyon was appointed wardeness, and the sisters of the Norman's were reduced to 12, and she continued so till her death in 1565, and then by agreement between the dean and chapter and city, a lease was granted by them to the city for 500 years at 1d. a year, of all those their chambers, lodgings, houses. &c. (of the outward court) of the hospital of St. Paul, commonly called the Normans, (fn. 96) late in the custody of Agnes Lyon, deceased, heretofore used for the relief and lodging of poor strangers, and sick impotent persons, together with the bedding, clothing, and stuff, belonging to the dean and chapter in the said house, obliging the city by covenant, (fn. 97) to employ the house to the same use as formerly, for the lodging, comfort and relief of poor strangers, vagrants, sick, and impotent persons, during the whole term; reserving power to the dean, with any two of the prebends, to visit the said hospital, and see that it be employed to the aforesaid uses. By which means they got rid of their burthen and had the revenues to themselves, finding a curate or parish chaplain serve the church, and repairing the chancel as usual. But soon after the city laid claim to the manor of Norman's, and the church, as included, and a contest ensued; the result of which was, that paying for the manor, a rent of 40s. per annum they had a lease of it for a term of years, but upon the city's claiming a right to nominate to the church of St. Paul, (fn. 98) they would not renew the lease, and so the whole fell into their hands again, except the site of the hospital itself, concerning which, by joint consent about 1570, it was agreed, that the aforesaid lease made of it to the city, should be cancelled, and a new one made; by which the city had it granted without any condition of its being an hospital, and in the year 1571, they turned (fn. 99) it into a bridewell, (fn. 100) or house of correction, for idle and lazy beggars. And thus the site of the hospital fell into the city's hands, where it now remains, and is leased to Benjamin Nuthall, Esq. at 5l. 5s. per annum, (fn. 101) the part now standing being turned into a malt-office; and all the other revenues into the hands of the dean and chapter, who have been, and still are, so far from maintaining any poor therewith, that they refuse to pay their curate's stipend, though they insist on their nomination to this day; so that the serving minister hath only the surplice fees, and what voluntary contribution the parishioners please to gather, which in Dr. Prideaux's time amounted to 18l. per annum; and the dean and chapter enjoy all the tithes and revenues at this time.
In the Norwich Domesday we read thus: the church of St. Paul is valued at 33s. 4d. and is an exempt place, in which there are brethren and sisters. 'Tis not visited by the Archdeacon, neither doth it pay synodals. The sole correction and jurisdiction over all the parishioners of St. Paul's, and of all other persons offending in the said parish's precinct, belongs to the master of the hospital.
The church, north isle, south porch and chancel are leaded; the steeple is round at bottom, and hath an octogonal top of freestone, adorned after the Gothick manner; in it are three bells; at the east end of the isle is a chapel, now used as a vestry, (fn. 102) which was dedicated to our Lady, before whose image at her altar, there hung a lamp, which was always kept burning in service time.
Benefactors to this parish are,
Sir Tho. Salter of London, priest, who by codicil to his will, dated Oct. 8, 1558, gave 26s. per annum to be paid to the church-wardens of this parish by the wardens and company of Salters in London; to which company he gave 200 marks, to be given in alms every Sunday in the year in the church, after service, in 12 halfpenny wheaten loaves, baked the day before, viz. to each of the sisters in the Normans, one, if there be so many sisters, and if not, the bread shall be given to the poor of St. Paul's, and he willed it to the poor sisters.
"Bycause I have a great Truste that they wyll praye for me, and also bycause that a very good devowte Syster, was the first Creature that tawght me to know the Lettres in my Booke, Dame Katherin Pecham was her Name, I was Skoller lxxij Yearis ago with her in the saide Parish of St. Powle, I beseech Jesu to have Mercy on her Sowle. And if that my Masters the Wardens of the Salters Companie, can here and perfectly knowe, &c." that the said alms is not given every Sunday, then they are to take it away, and give it to their own almsmen in London, on whom he had settled 12d. a week for ever.
Rob. Mallet of Norwich, Gent. by will dated Feb. 6, 1696, (fn. 103) gave his house and lands called the Castle, in St. James's parish, to 12 feoffees of the most substantial parishioners and inhabitants, six of them to be of St. Paul's parish, and six of St. James's, in trust for the clear annual profits, to be for ever disposed of to the benefit of the poor of the said parishes, viz. a third part to St. James's, and the rest to St. Paul, which is constantly done.
Febr. 4, 1697, Rich. Hall, carpenter, and others, executors of Benjamin Penning of Norwich, clerk, deceased, according to his will dated June 15, 1696, settled a messuage and garden in St. Paul's parish, (fn. 104) the west part abutting on Magdalen-street, on feoffees, who are to dispose of the clear profits annually, one-third part to the overseers of St. Paul's, and another to the overseers of St. James and Pokethorp, which is constantly divided among the poor there. He settled also 500l. on 7 trustees, who when they are reduced to three, are always to choose four new ones, who are to put out the 500l. interest free, for 7 years, at 25l. to each person, who are to be young tradesmen, and inhabitants of the parishes of St. Paul, St. James, Pokethorp hamlet, St. Clement, St. George of Colegate, or St. Benedict in Norwich.
Tho. Chickering of Thorp, Esq. by will gave 52 bushels of sea coals, or 26s. 8d. every other year, to the church-wardens, to be paid within 14 days next after Christmas day, to be divided among the poor. (See St. James's parish.)
1618, Sept. 17, Soloman Leech of Ling, Gent. (fn. 105) settled his lands, &c. in Ling, for the payment of 6s. 8d. per annum to St. Paul's poor, to be divided the first Sunday after All-Saint's day. Also to Ling poor 6d. a Sunday in bread, 10s. for a commemoration. sermon on Sunday after All-Saints, and 16d. per annum towards bell-ropes.
Edmund Topclyff, Gent. by his will ordered Andrew Topclyff of Hofton St. John, to pay yearly out of his estate, to the overseers of the poor of the parishes of St. Paul, St. James, St. Laurence, and St. Margaret's, 5s. each, upon every 28th day of Dec. to buy two-penny loaves to be given to the poor there every New-Year's day. (fn. 106)
1698, Mr. John Cory, gave by will to Joseph his brother, his houses in St. Edmund's, on condition to pay out of them, to the senior alderman of Fibridge ward, every first day of May, 40s. per annum, to buy plain well bound English Bibles, to give to the poor children of Pokthorp, St. James, St. Paul's, St. Edmund's, St. Clement's, St. Saviour's, St. George of Colgate, St. Michael Coslany, St. Mary's, St. Martin's at Oak, and St. Austin's, with power to enterfor nonpayment.
1568, Alderman Nic. Norgate, gave a rood of land lying out of Magdalen gates, between his close and his 3-acre piece, for the citizens to lay their compost on, and particularly the inhabitants of Fybridge ward. (Will Book, fo. 16, b.)
Mr. Will. Gedge gave 100l. the interest to be disposed of yearly, to the poor of Pokethorp, 50s. to St. James's poor 25s.; and to St. Paul's 25s. per annum for ever, to be paid at Christmas; with this an annuity of 5l, per annum clear was purchased and settled, issuing out of houses in St. Paul's, now belonging to Mr. John Hall. He died about 1694.
There is an ancient house in this parish opposite to St. James's church, in which Mr. Rich Carr now dwells, which was called anciently Fastolff's Place, and was built by the great Sir John Fastolff of Castor by Yarmouth, Knt. and is called in some old evidences, his place or city-house in Pokethorp; to which manor it pays a rent of 1s. 5d. a year. His great hall is now a baking office; the bow window is adorned with the images of St. Margaret, St. John Baptist, in his garment of camel's hair, the Virgin Mary, St. Blase holding a wool comb, and St. Catherine. In a large north window are 10 effigies, of great warriours and chiefs, as David, Sampson, Hercules, &c. holding bows, swords, halberds, &c. ornaments suitable to the taste of so great a warriour as Sir John was.
At the extremity of the north-west corner of this parish, where Cowgate, or St James's-street, meets with Tolthorp-lane, which leads from the north end of Rotten-rowe, was anciently a pit, called St. Paul's pit, and by it stood the pound for the manor of Norman's, which was taken down in 1653, and removed to St. Martin's Plain; and in 1679, it was removed again hither, but now the pit is filled up, and the pound taken away.
Hester Allen widow, daughter of Clement Shepherd, 1684. Sarah wife of Clement 1666. Clement Shepheard 1682, 70. Ric. Hickling junior, 1698. Anne daughter of Clement Barker 1698. Will. Hardingham 1678. Eliz. his wife 1688, 5 children, of which Sarah and Mary died June 28 and 29, 1708, the first aged 62, the last 57. Sarah wife of Tho, Marker 1717.
Martha wife of Will. Blithe Esq. sometime mayor, Feb. 1, 1715, 55. Will. son of John Framingham Gent. late of Walsingham, married the daughter of William Blithe Esq. and died April 30, 1717, 23, Will. Blithe Esq. Aug. 26, 1724, 66. He was mayor in 1704, and also major.
The chapel of St. Mary, now the vestry, hath four shields carved on the screens; on the first is St. George's arms; on the 2d a cross fleuré, towards the chancel; and on the inside, a cipher on each, viz.
C. L. and a plain cross for Christopher Lestrange, Esq. who was at part of the expense; and a plain cross; and an E. and D. conjoined, for Eliz. Drury, who was buried in the church, and was at the rest.
The other part of the parish beyond the pit and pound, is not in the exempt jurisdiction of St. Paul's hospital, and consequently not in that of the dean and chapter, for anciently it was the separate parish of
(116) All-Saints in Fybridge-Gate,
Which was one of the ancient parochial churches mentioned in Domesday book; (fn. 111) the patronage of it, together with that of St. Margaret in Fybridge-gate, was given to the convent, by Hubert son of Ralf, (fn. 112) when they were both rectories; this being valued at 12s. and paid 3d. synodals; but was not taxed; he settled it on the almoner, for his own and family's souls, and to be admitted a brother of the convent, and to be prayed for, for ever in their bed-roll; and Bishop John de Grey appropriated all the profits, finding a stipendiary priest constantly to serve it. It stood at the north corner of the street called Cowgate, at its very entrance into Magdalen-street, directly opposite to Mr. Beavor's house, and abutted south on Cowgate; the churchyard is now a garden, the parish belonging to it, extended to Magdalen-gates, on the north side of Magdalen-street, and under the walls, till it met with St. James's bounds, and was bounded south by Cowgate, except the houses opposite to the churchyard, which were also in this parish, and are now in St. Paul's.
The leper-house without Magdalen's-gates, on the east side of the way, was in this parish; and it appears, that though they had a small oratory or chapel belonging to it, for their private use, it had then no burial place, for the lepers that died there were buried in this churchyard, till 1448, and then there was a new chapel built for the lepers at Fybridge-gate, and a small burial place added thereto; and it was not dissolved, but continued as a place of reception for the poor, under the care of a master or guider, instead of the hermit who formerly presided over the lepers; (fn. 113) and in 1604, Tho. Giles was guider of it: in 1668, the alms-houses at Magdalen-gates belonged to the parish, and were given by Mr. Throckmorton, to be inhabited by widows.
In 1477, there was a fine font erected in All-Saints church, and there was a good parsonage, not far distant from the north-west corner of the churchyard, in which the chaplains dwelt till its dissolution, since which time it belonged to the dean and chapter; the almoner had a house and land in this parish, given by Constantine the tanner; and other small rents here, given by Katerine, daughter of Maud Person, &c. In 1485, Henry Goodwin, and in 1515, John Stile, was buried in this church.
Parish Chaplains of All-Saints church,
1440, the prior and convent received only 10s. this year, from the chaplains of the churches of St. Saviour and All-Saints, because they had all the revenues besides, assigned them for serving the cures.
1491, Sir Robert Wakerle. 1492, Brother Ric. Reeve, a carmelite. 1498, Brother Tho. Pelles, a monk. Sir Roger Mondes. Sir Rob. Freeman. 1515, Brother Gibson, an Austin friar, 1536, Brother Rob. Thew, a carmelite. 1544, John Hey.
1550, March 10, the dean and chapter granted this church, churchyard, lead, bells, &c. to the mayor and citizens for 500 years, at 4d. per annum rent, and the May following, the parishioners assembled and went to Catton to the dean, to ask, if he with the assent of the chapter, had sold their church to the mayor and court? whose answer was "'twas nouther giffen nor sold," notwithstanding they had sealed the conveyance two months before, upon which they were easy; but to their surprise, the very next month, their parish was united to St. Paul's, and the church pulled down, and immediately the city for 49l. sold the church and churchyard, and all that remained belonging to it, except a pair of chalices, to Christopher Soame, who was to pay a yearly rent of 6s. 8d. to St. Giles's hospital; and 5 Edward VI. a lease of the churchyard was sealed to Rob. Suckling, as pertaining to the hospital revenues. (fn. 114)
And thus this church was demolished, by the under-hand dealings of the dean and chapter, and city; the one swallowed the revenues, parsonage-house, &c. and got rid of the serving curate's stipend; and the other got the bells, lead, plate, &c. for a trifling sum, to acquiesce in their proceedings; by which means the parishioners could have no remedy.
This parish, though it is united to St. Paul's, is not a peculiar of the dean and chapter, as that is; but at this day is, or ought to be, as to spiritual jurisdiction, under the Archdeacon of Norwich, as well as that other parish of
(117) St. Margaret in Fybridge-Gate,
Which was united to All-Saints, and with that became also part of St. Paul's parish, as it now remains; this church was given to the prior and convent, along with All-Saints, and stood on the west side of Magdalen-street, upon the spot where Mr. Bell's stable now stands. It is anciently called St. Margaret in Combusto; this being in that part of the city which was burnt in the fire, that consumed the greatest part on this side the water, in the Conqueror's time; it is sometimes called St. Margaret by the Gates; it was valued as a rectory, at 13s. 4d. and paid 3d. synodals, but was not taxed; it was settled at the appropriation, by Bishop Grey, on the almoner, and afterwards on the infirmary of the monastery.
It appears, that all persons executed on the gallows out of Magdalen-gates, could claim a right to be buried in this churchyard; which shows, that all the land lying on the west side of the road, which is now in St. Paul's parish, originally belonged, and paid tithes to this parish, and that the triangular hill where the gallows formerly stood, now given to lay muck on, was also in this parish. In 1453, the Bishop colated Will. Brygg to this church, as a lapsed rectory. In 1491, Ric. Percy accounted with the prior for the tithe corn of this parish. and in 1520, the tithes were let to Tho. Franceys; and in 1547, were leased with the lands of St. Paul's hospital. The church was served by stipendiary chaplains till its dissolution, and was then granted off, and now continues a private property.
The dean and chapter of the college of St. Mary in the Fields had a house here, and several houses paid small rents to the priory, of the gift of William, son of Richard the smith of Fibrigge, and Will. de Titleshall. (fn. 115)
John de Norwich, rector of Tid, gave to the nuns of Blakebergh, for the soul of the Lady Catherine his sister, two shillings annual rent out of his house here. There were also many houses and shops which paid small yearly rents to,
Bishop Herbert built it on the ground belonging to his church; (fn. 116) and appointed it for lepers, endowing it well for that purpose. It was valued at 10l. and is in Taverham deanery; it is called a free-chapel, hospital, or house of lepers; there were many gifts given "to the three Magdalens" Thetford, Lyn, and Norwich. It was always in the Bishop's collation, and
1288, Adam de Schotesham. 1291, Peter de Dallyng, chaplain, O. Nic. Banningham, resigned. 1315, Sir Ralf de Baketone, custos. 1329, Adam Wombe, resigned. 1332, Rob. de Knapton. 1334, Peter Aleyn of Moringthorp. 1334, Will Morle of Blickling. Pe'er de Attlebrigge, R. 1341, Martin de Sandringham. 1342, John de Bromholm; he changed in 1345, with Roger de Nafreton, for Framlingham Earl. 1350, Tho. Claxton, he changed in 1367, with John Multon, for St. Mary Magdalen's hospital in Ipswich.
A° 1370, Sir Rob. de Salle, Knt. (fn. 117) was beheaded at St. Mary Magdalen's chapel, June 17. 1393, Richard son of Tho. atte Townsend of Eton. R. 1407, Jeffery de Canyard of Hegham. 1416, Tho. Bontemps. 1436, John Thorneg. 1444, Simon Thornham, LL. B. Mr. Nic. Goldwell, O. 1505, Will. Stillington. Tho. Brerewood, doctor of the decrees. (fn. 118) 1528, Will. Leveson. 1530, John Sampson.
In 1547, Edward VI. by letters patent dated at Aldersbrook June 7, for 276l. granted to Sir Robert Southwell, Knt. Master of the Rolls, and John Corbet, Esq. the dissolved chapel of St. Mary Magdalen in Sprowston, standing near the city of Norwich, the site, messuage, grange, and all lands in the adjoining fields; the bruery, sheeps-walk, liberty of faldage in Norwich fields, and all revenues in Sprowston and Thorp, thereto belonging; and all the fair called Mary Magdalen-fair, held yearly, and late belonging to the chapel; and all tollage, piccage, stallage, and customs, and the pie-powder court in the fair, (fn. 119) the assise, assay, correction, &c. of wine, bread, ale, and victuals, in the fair during the fair time, and all fines, amerciaments, issues, forfeitures, profits, and other rights, belonging to the pie-powder court there; which fair was to last three days, viz. the vigil, day, and morrow, of St. Mary Magdalen; and it is still kept.
1549, William Bishop of Norwich, and John Sampson, master, released and quit-claimed, to John Corbet, senior, all their right, title, and interest in this free-chapel and hospital, and all its revenues, and to his heirs, from which time it hath passed with the manor of Sprowston, and so continues.
Benefactors to this hospital were,
Alexander le Moyne, son of Peter le Moyne, who confirmed to the brethren and sisters of this house, and to Nicholas, chaplain of Berstrete, 12d. yearly rent, out of lands held by Nic. in Wrenningham, and Lady Ela, mother of Alexander, confirmed her son's gift. Sir John le Bretun, Sir Hugh son of Rob. de Thorp, Sir Thomas de St. Omer, and others, being witnesses, Alex. de London gave them a house in St. Margaret Westwick. (fn. 120)
Will. Miles of Sparham gave a rent of a quarter of barley yearly, out of his land at Sparham. Serlo de Stubhate and Henry de Tholetorp, gave lands by their site in 1252. Walter, son of Will. Barun of Cringleford, gave half an acre in Cringleford, by the half acre of land which Hugh, son of Roger Barun, gave them. Will. son of Ralf de Cringleford, gave lands about 1294. William son of Ralf de Swerdeston, released an acre by the church of All-Saints in Casewic by Hertford bridge, which Sir Alex. le Vaux, lord there, gave to the hospital. In 1290, Walter de Melleford, chaplain, vicar of South-Yarmouth, now called Gorleston, gave them an acre in Sprowston, close by their site. John de Hoxne gave them his tenement in St. Vedast's parish; they had also houses in St. George Tombland, and St. Peter Mancroft in Norwich.
Formerly the mayor, sheriffs, aldermen, and whole body, rode on St. Mary Magdalen's day, in procession to this chapel, with the city watch before them, in their watching harness, to the great preservation of the city harness, or armour, which was always then new scoured; it was omitted in Henry the Eighth's time, but revived again in the 24th of that Prince; every constable and his watch to attend the court in their armour, as usually heretofore was done; and the court always offered at St. Mary's chapel there, and then went to the common wrestling-place, and saw such exercises performed there, according to ancient custom. But this is discontinued ever since James the First's time.
(119) The Church of St. Buttolph the Abbot,
Stood more south in Magdalen-street, not far north of Stump-cross; its churchyard abutted east on the said street, and west on St. Buttolph's, commonly called Buttle-street: and is now the White-horse-yard; it was a rectory, valued at 13s. 4d. and paid 5d. synodals, and it stands now in the King's Books as a rectory valued at 2l. 7s. 8d. ob. chargeable with 4s. 9d. ob. yearly tenths, and 8d. procurations, and is yearly certified into the Exchequer, to be without an incumbent, and put to profane uses.
1308, Master Eustace de Kimberle purchased the house and land joining to the north-west part of the churchyard, with the advowson of the church, of Rob. de Gotherston and Cecily his wife, son and heir of Sir Jeffery de Gotherston, Knt. and settled them for a parsonagehouse and glebe for ever, but conveyed the advowson to Aylmer de Sygate of Erpingham, the founder of the family of the Aylmers in Norfolk.
1388, Tho. Alderman had it, and resigned it to William Walkeline, who the same year changed it for Besthorp, (fn. 121) with
Tho. Killingworth, who resigned it immediately for Windham
vicarage, (fn. 122) in exchange with
John Stukele, who were all presented by John Aleyn, senior, and John Aleyn, junior, who purchased it of Horn.
1400, to William at Hill, and he the next year resigned in exchange
for Chanreth in London diocese, to
John, son of Rob, de Sewstern, who the next year, resigned to Ralph de Redham.
Will. Gibbs resigned in
1446, to Will. Norman, who was presented by Gregory Queyntrill of Norwich, who sold it to Sir Tho. Kerdeston, (fn. 123) who either gave or sold the advowson to the prior and convent of St. Faith at Horsham, and they presented to the Dissolution,
1505, Will. Stephens; he died rector, and was the last the church had; for in 1544, it was made a private property, by Henry VIII. who granted it to Will. Godwin; and in 1548, the church being quite demolished, the parish was united in form, to St. Saviour's, (fn. 124) with which it now continues.
In 1473, Henry Owdolff was buried in the church by his father's tomb. 1475, Alderman John Butte was buried in the chancel, and Tho. Collys in the churchyard, and gave a silver chalice. In 1499, Alderman John Pynchamore was interred in the church, and settled an obit for three years here, for the souls of Joan his wife, Hen. Owdolff, John Clok and Kat. his wife, &c. In 1508, Tho. Alberd gave a legacy to repair this church.
(120) The Church of St. Saviour,
Or the church of the Transfiguration of Christ; a rectory given in the time of John de Oxford Bishop of Norwich, to the almoner of the convent, by Will. Bardolf, Ralf Busing, and Robert son of Ulfketel Busing, the patrons; (fn. 125) and that Bishop appropriated it to the almoner; it was valued at 12s. paid 3d. synodals, but was not taxed. It was served by stipendiary chaplains, paid by the convent, who repaired the chancel; (fn. 126) and after the Dissolution, the dean and chapter paid an annual stipend of 10l. to the curate. It paid no procurations; and was a peculiar of the dean and chapter. In 1400, Sir Will. de Kerdeston, Knt. had a house by the churchyard; and in 1450, Sir Tho. Kerdeston had the advowson, by lease, I suppose, from the convent.
The religious concerned here were, the Prior of Norwich, who had the land of Ailward Genegod, given by Gilbert Malet, and Agnes de Rifler, his wife, for the almoner's use. The Prior of Waborn. The Prioress of Carrow. The Master of Norman's spital, who had a rent out of a house settled by Will. Tutte, 2d Edward II. when he conveyed it to John de Dunwich, rector of Southwalsham. The Preceptor of the Commandry of St. John of Jerusalem at Karbrook had rent out of a house by the land of Nic. de Kerbrook. 15 Edward II. Cecily, anchoress of the church of St. Mary Unbrent, owned a tenement on the south side of the churchyard, which she gave 33d Edward I. to St. Mary's Unbrent church. The college of St. Mary in the Fields. The Priors of Hickling, St. Faith, and Bromholm. The Abbot of Sibton, &c.
1492, Sir John Owdolf, parish chaplain. John Kemp, rector. 1598, Tho. Hech. 1604, Martin Stebbing. 1619, John Chater, curate. 1620, Fulk Roberts, B. D. the mayor and justices subscribed a rate made for his stipend, amounting to about 30l. for this year. (fn. 127) Mr. Roberts came to court, (fn. 128) and complained of Denys Lermyt, Abraham Castell, junior, and Michael Filkyn, "for detaining the duties to him, being minister of St. Saviour's, according to the rate established by force of the Counsells letter." (fn. 129) The ministers of Holm-street, St. George of Colgate, and St. Laurence, desired rates according to those letters, and they move for the like course to be taken for the rest of the ministers of the city, which have cause to complain for persons refusing their dues.
1647, The Spouse's hidden Glory, &c. in two lecture sermons, at St. Andrew's in Norwich, dedicated to Sir John Hobart, Knt. and Bart. Member of the House of Commons, and Lady Frances Hobart, to whom he was chaplain. Solomon's Song, chap. 8, verse 8. By
Benefactors to this parish are,
Edward Nutting; for his gift see Pt. I. p. 409, and for that of Prudence Blosse, widow, see Pt. I. p. 377. The widows houses were fallen to decay, and being not habitable, were some time since leased out by the court, from Lady day 1739, for 120 years, at a clear rent charge of 40s. per annum, to Mr. Ric. Roberts; and the city committee yearly grant an order for the chamberlain to pay 10s. a year to every one of the four widows, which are named by the church-wardens, and chief inhabitants of St. Saviour, to the court, all which must dwell in the said parish.
The church of St. Saviour, hath a south porch and nave only, which are leaded; the north vestry and chancel are tiled; the tower is square, in which is only a clock and one bell; here is service and a sermon once every week.
On a mural monument on the north side of the chancel,
Nutting, gul. on a chevron between six garbs in saltier or, three tuns sab. (fn. 130)
Mr. Edward Nutting born at Carleton in Leicestershire, was one of the Sherifes of this City A° 1602, and deceased A°. 1616. He bequeathed unto this City 50l. to be freely lent among young Occupiers of the Brewers, whereof himself was one. To the City Library 5l. and 10l. a year for ever, to yield every Sunday 2s. 6d. to the Preacher at the Common Place, and forty Shillings a Year to the Minister of this Parish. Item, 13s. 4d. yearly, the one half thereof for a Sermon in this Church, upon the Sunday next after the 4th of Sept. and the other half to the poor of the Parish; and diverse other many good gifts in other places.
Prudence Blois widdow, late wife of Tho. Blois Esq; and before that, the wife of the above said Mr. Nutting, departed this Life the 23d Day of Febr. 1634, who bequeathed to the Childrens Hospital one hundred Pounds. Item, an House of Habitation for Widdows freely to dwell in for ever. Item, to the Minister of this Parish 13s. 4d. Yearly. Item, to the Poor of this Parish 10l. by 20s. yearly, also 13s. 4d. yearly, for ever. And to the City Library a Spanish Bible of 25l. price, and many other charitable Deeds, which cannot be here inserted.
Maurice Son of Ric. and Eliz. Humfrey, Febr. 9, 1730, 18, and 3 other children infants. Ric. died 1714. Ric. 1715, Deborah 1719. Crest an hawk rising from a crown, holding a spear. A crown and lion rampant in pale, impale a chevron between three crescents Eliz. wife of Thomas Tawell daughter of Ric. and Eliz. Humphry 1739, 23. Eliz. Humphrey their mother Sept. 1, 1742, 58.
(121) Doughty's Hospital
In St. Saviour's parish, and was founded by William Doughty, Gent. an account of which we learn from the two tables of stone fixed at the entrance of the hospital, with this inscribed on them: (fn. 131)
William Doughty Gent. who spent the latter part of his Dayes in this Citie, did by his last Will dated Apr. the XXV, MDLXXXVII. appoint several Trustees to dispose and lay out Six Thousand Pounds, for erecting and endowing this Hospitall, (fn. 132) and did therein appoint (after a certain Time) the Court of this Citie, to fill up, and continue Twenty-four Poor Men, and Eight Poor Women, in this Place, to the End of the World, each being Aged above LX Years, and to receive the Profitts of the said Endowments, &c. And to pay weekly to the Master hereof, (who is to be a Single Man, (fn. 133) and by them successively chosen) 3l. 8s. and lay into the Cellars yearly XXXII Chalder of Coales, and to clad the Men with Coats, and the Women with Gownes of purple Cloth, at their Enterance, and every two Years after, and turn out either Master or Poor, if they observe not the orders of this Place, as is briefly mentioned in the other Table.
The Master of this Place is every Saturday Morning to pay to each poor Person two Shillings, and daily and equally to deliver the Coales to them, and to see good Orders kept, and when any Dye to Acquaint the Court therewith immediately, and to do the same if any be disorderly; for the due Performance whereof, the said Master, shall retain Weekly for his Paines, 4s. besides his dwelling, (in which he must constantly inhabit) and the said Poor People must constantly dwell in this Place, and so wear their Coates or Gownes, and live peaceaby with the Master and with one another, as becomes Christians, neither cursing, Swearing, keeping bad Hours, nor being Drunk.
|John Stimpson of Burston in Diss hundred per annum||95||0||0|
|Tho. Springhall of Calthorp, per annum||46||0||0|
|John Seaman of Hillington, per annum||95||0||0|
|From the Rev. Mr. Fremanteel, vicar of Calthorp||7||0||0|
|The 3d part of 50l. per annum from Will. Belson of Cringleford,||16||13||4|
|A year's rent for Calthorp manor||18||15||10|
(122) The Church of St. Mary Unbrent,
Was valued at 3l. 5s. 5d. in the Kings Books, and was called St. Mary in Combusto, (fn. 134) was a rectory valued at 20s. paid 6d. synodals, but was not taxed; it was in the patronage of the college of St. Mary in the Fields, who presented all the rectors that belonged to it.
1533, Tho. Kemp was the last rector; (fn. 135) for at the Dissolution, the whole profits were returned to amount to only 36s. 8d. per annum, upon which the whole was granted to the dean and chapter, except the patronage, and they having obtained a consolidation of the parish to St. Saviour's, granted the church, churchyard, lead, two little bells, and all the materials, to Nic. Sotherton, grocer, the then patron, and his heirs; upon which it was totally demolished; and in 1558, the said Nicholas conveyed the city a foot path or passage through the north side of this churchyard, which is now called the Golden-doglane, from that sign, which was formerly close by it; and in 1565, Nic. Sotherton the younger, grocer, gave a tenement and orchard, by the churchyard of St. Mary Unburnt, to St. Giles's hospital, they granting him a lease of 500 years at 6s. 8d. yearly rent to the hospital. The city house of Sir Rich. de Boyland, Knt. joined to the south side of the churchyard. In 1272, Will. de Dunwich died in this parish. In 1292, a tenement in St. John's Maddermarket paid 2s. rent to the church, and in 1257, Maud Titshall, Dr. of Will. de Rackhithe, gave 2d. per annum rent out of her messnage here, to the cellerer of the convent; and in 1289, Nic. son of Walter Buckskyn, gave 9d. rent to the hospital. The Prior of Cokesford had temporals here taxed at 3s. 4d. the Abbot of Sibton at 2s. the Prior of Hickling at 4s. the Prior of Norwich at 10s. the dean of the chapel in the Fields at 4s. and the Prioress of Carhow at 2d. ob.
(123) The Girls Hospital,
ROBERT BARON Esq; Major of this City Anno Domini 1649, was the first Benefactor towards the erecting of this Hospital, (fn. 136) and endowing the same, for the Education of young Girles; in which Year he also died.
"I give unto the City of Norwich, the sum of 250l. which my Desire and Will is, should be employed for the training up of women Children, from the Age of seaven, untill the age of fifteen Years, in spinning, knitting, and dressing of Wooll, under the Tuition of an aged, discreet, religious Woman thereto appointed, at some publique Place, by the Magistrates Appointment; hoping some other well affected, will so add to the same, that it may become a Means of great Benefit to the City, and Comfort to the Poor; the same I will to be paid within one Year after my Decease, in Case some Place be appointed thereto, and an Overseer thereof, by the city, as aforesaid." (fn. 137)
In 1652, the court appointed Anne wife of Joshua Griselwhite, to be Dame of the children, to be kept in the new erected hospital called the Girl's hospital, and appointed her a house at the New-hall, and be allowed bedding, apparel, and linen for the girls, and 5l. a year for every girl, and their work: and a chaldron of coals towards her firing, she to maintain them in meat, drink, and washing, and to learn them to knit, spin, sow, and read; and the same year, Mr. Robert Whittingham, merchant, gave the city 200l. towards the hospital. 1659, Mrs. Alice Bishop, widow, gave by will 100l. and Mr. Will. Brooke an estate in Gorleston, leased then at 12l. per annum; but in 1672, it was sold, and the money laid out towards another purchase. 1660, Mrs. Gooch nominated the two first children of the gift of Mr. Rob. Gooch, who gave a house and ground in Conisford, in St. Faith's-lane.
1666, Tho. Sugget had a lease of the farm of Barton Berry-hall at 40l. per annum, (fn. 138) and Mr. Rob. Rosse's gift was settled as at p. 129. 1679, Nic. Salter, Gent. gave 50l. and 50l. more after his wife's death. (fn. 139) In 1670, the Hospital was rebuilt, and made a good strong brick house, convenient for that purpose, at above 200l. expense, and was finished about 1674. Mr. Francis Aylmer gave 30l. and Robert Thurrold, grocer, 30l. Alderman Will. Barnham gave by will in 1675 100l. And this year, upon search made, it appeared, that the right of election of the matron or governess of the Girls hospital is in the court, and not in the common council. (fn. 140) 1677, Mr. Nic. Newham gave 50l. for a girl out of South Conisford ward. This year, a ring and several diamonds, and 190l. the overplus of the personal estate of Mrs. Eliz. Pendleton, were received by the treasurer, according to her will, (see Pt. I. p. 415.) (fn. 141) 1679, 100l. received of the gift of Mr. Samuel Everard of London, deceased. 1688, Mr. John Bowde gave 200l. 1691, Mrs. Alice Powel gave 50l. 1693, Henry Herne, Esq. 25l. 1694, Mrs. Anne Baret 50l. 1695, Mrs. Sarah Baret 50l. Alderman Nic. Bickerdike gave an estate in St. Peter's Mancroft, and St. John of Timberhill a full third part of the clear profits to be paid to the Girls hospital, 1702. Alderman Wisse gave 150l. 1704, and now 4l. per annum was allowed a man to teach the girls to read. John Hall, Esq. 100l.
|Tho. Browne, for a house and ground in St. Peter per Montergate||13||0||0|
|Robert Harvey, Esq. for the Tiger in St. Andrew's, and the house late used by Mary Leicester||15||0||0|
|Tho. Francis for a farm in Forncet||40||0||0|
|Ric. Wright a farm in Buxton||24||0||0|
|Mrs. Bridget Peartree a tenement in St. Andrew's||4||0||0|
|Mr. John Hunting two tenements late Hunton's and Green's||11||0||0|
|Mrs. Priest for a tenement in St. Andrew's||6||10||0|
|Mr. Edw. Robinson, late Mr. Pinder's, for part of the Great Garden. (fn. 142)||7||0||0|
|William Diver, for a year's rent of part of the Great Garden||6||0||0|
|Alderman John Black, lease from Michaelmas 1725, for 109 years of part of the Great Garden||1||10||0|
|Will. Cock ditto let to Rob. Cubitt from Michaelmas 1688, for 83 years||1||10||0|
|Will. Clark, Esq. now Joseph Hammond, for part of the Great Garden (fn. 143)||7||0||0|
|Mr. John Calver, ditto (fn. 144)||4||0||0|
|Prudence High, ditto lease from Lady 1686, for 70 years||4||0||0|
|Rob. Rogers ditto, late Philip Meadows, Esq.||5||0||0|
|Mr. Crow, late Jonathan Mills, ditto||7||0||0|
|Joseph Willimot ditto, lease from 1704, for 21 years||32||0||0|
|Mrs. Stafford, late Kirby||3||10||0|
|Mr. Joseph Money||18||0||0|
|Benjamin Westall, part of the Great Garden lease from Michaelmas 1687, for 80 years||2||0||0|
|A year's rent from Barnham-Broome estate||8||3||4|
|Barnard Church's gift per annum (fn. 145)||2||10||0|
|The interest of 150l. due from the corporation||6||0||0|
And it appears, that this hospital, from its original to the present time hath been so justly managed, that as the revenues increased, there were children added in proportion, so that from two only, (fn. 146) it hath now no less than twenty and one poor girls, who are decently clothed in blue, and well maintained with meat, drink, washing, and lodging, during their stay there; and are also taught to sew, knit, spin, and read, and so made fit for apprentices or servants, and thereby rendered more useful for the world, and happy for themselves, than it was possible they could otherwise have been, to the honour of their benefactors, and credit of those worthy persons who have been, and are, immediately concerned in the management of this charity.
(124) The Church of St. Clement the Martyr,
Manor of Tokethorp, or Tolthorp, (fn. 147)
CUM FELETHORP OR FELTHORP,
The first par of which, took its name from Toke, (fn. 148) who owned it in the time of Edward the Confessor, and held it of Bishop Stigand; in the Conqueror's time, Enise Musar held in Tokethorp 30 acres, (fn. 149) I carucate, &c. then valued at 30s. of Alan Earl of Richmond, as of his manor of Cosseye; but the manor of Tolthorp itself was then held by Ribald, (fn. 150) as of the bishoprick, and was risen from 20 to 30s. value.
The other part, which was part of Felthorp, was held also of the said Alan, as of his manor of Cosseye, and belonged to Turbert, lord of Taverham, (fn. 151) in the Confessor's time, and was held by Haimer, lord of Taverham, in the Conqueror's; and both these were joined in the Gisney family, by whom they were held of the Earls of Clare, who held them of the bishoprick. Gilbert de Clare, son of Richard, son of Gilbert Earl of Brittanny, founded the church of St. John Baptist in Clare, and gave it to the monks of Bek in Normandy, and made it a college subject to the monks, and gave the college two parts of the tithes of all his manors, and of those held of him in Norfolk, by virtue of which, the Prior of Stoke had the two parts of the tithes of this parish, which the rector afterwards compounded for, at 20s. per annum, and Roger de Gisnei, (fn. 152) who held Haveringland or Heverland, Whitewell, Tolthorp, in Norwich, and the advowson of St. Clement's belonging to that manor, confirmed to that house the said portion, and it was confirmed by the Archbishop of Canterbury, and by Pope Alexander III. Ao 1174.
Ingelram de Gisnei, or Gyney, gave the advowson from the manor, to the Prior of Hurst, or Mendham in Suffolk, and in 1250, Emma, his daughter and heiress, widow of Henry de Tholetorp, settled it by fine on Simon Prior of Mendham, and his successours.
The said Emma, by another fine then levied, settled an acre of marsh in Haverlond, and divers lands and rents in Norwich suburbs, belonging to this manor, on Simon Prior of Norwich, and his successours; and Henry de Tholetorp, her husband, who assumed his sirname from this place, sold 2 acres of arable land, lying in the croft called Gildencroft, in Tolthorp in Norwich, for 3 marks, to John son of William Cureye, to be held freely of Tolthorp manor by 12d. rent. In 1330, Sir Gilbert de Tholthorp, Knt. was lord, and lived in the parish; and in 1299, M. wife of Sir John de Bosco or Bois of Burnt-Illey in Suffolk, claimed Felthorp manor, as her dower, and they both conveyed it to Sir Tho. Quitwell, rector of Fhelethorp; and in 1401, William Everard held Tolthorp in Norwich suburbs, and Felthorp, which manor Rob. de Felthorp lately held of Roger Jenney, at half a knight's fee, and the said Roger held it of the Earl of March.
In 1409, Katherine Brewes, daughter of Sir John Tolethorp, Knt. and neice and heiress of Sir Gilbert Tolthorp, Knt. granted to Sir Thomas Erpingham, Knt. and others, her manor of Tolthorp-hall in Norwich. In 1430, John Alderford of Norwich, Esq. was seized in fee, of Tolthorp manor in Norwich, held at half a knight's fee, and many lands in the suburbs, and other land, &c. belonging to his said manor in Felthorp in Norfolk, (fn. 153) and soon after, it belonged to the famous Sir John Fastolff of Castor, Knt. of the Garter, who in 1456, settled it on his feoffees in trust, John Cardinal and Archbishop of Canterbury, John Duke of Norfolk, Sir Ralph Butler, Knt. and others; together with his manor and advowsons of Draiton, and Heylesdon, and other lands and tenements in Norwich; and in 1460, the feoffees were in possession. In 1469, Will. Wainflete Bishop of Winchester, who had been infeoffed by Sir Ralf Butler, Knt. and other of Sir John's feoffees, settled them on Sir John Paston, Knt. Guy Fairfax, serjeant at law, John Paston, Esq. Roger Townesend, Nic. Harvey, and Will. Danvers as trustees, to the use of Sir John Paston, for one moiety, and the Bishop for the other. In 1498, Sir John Paston, Knt. held Tolthorp manor in Norwich, and divers lands and tenements there, of the grant of John Earlof Lincoln, eldest son of John Duke of Suffolk, and of John de la Pole Duke of Suffolk and Alice his wife, and had it confirmed to him and his heirs, after the attainder of that Earl, with the manor and advowson of Draiton, and the manor and advowsons of the church, and two chantries in Hellesden. It afterwards was settled on the bishoprick of Norwich, the Bishop of the see being now lord.
Orate pro animabus Ricard. Corpsti (fn. 154)t Katerine Uroris eius.
Of yomr Charite pray for the Sould of Master John Borough (fn. 155) sumtyme Sheryf of this Cite, myche deyartyd out of this Warlde xiiij Day of Sept. the Yere of omr Lorde God Moho xxix. on whose Soule Jesu have Mercy Amen.
Jesus. Sub marmore isto, in tumulo terreno, corpus iacet rorruptibile Margarete Pattmode Uidue, que obiit xix die Mensis Septembris Ao Dni: Mo CCCCCo cuius anime per Christi Pas sionis Merita, fiveliumque suffragia, electa inter Agmina Eelis sit Sociata. Amen.
O Jesu for thy Holy Name, and thy most precious Blood, made mercy on the Soul of Elizabeth Wood, Whiche in December the fourteenth Daye, The Soule from her Booy thou tookest amaye, In the Year of our Lorde 1546, then, Jesu habe Mercy on her Saoule, Amen.
To the Memory of John Harvey Esq; an eminent Manufacturer, a considerable Merchant, and a worthy Magistrate of this City; who was Born at Bicham-well in the County of Norfolk, 16 Aug. 1666. By his assiduous Application, and exact œconomy, he acquired an ample Fortune, with great Reputation and Honour. He was elected Sheriff Anno. 1720, Alderman 1722, and Mayor 1727.
His Behaviour and Conduct, both in private and publick Life, were such, as justly gained him the Esteem and Respect of his Family, Fellow Citizens, and Acquaintance. He died 28 Sept. 1742, in the 77th Year of his Age. His Body lies interr'd in a Vault opposite to this Monument, together with Mary, his 2d Wife, who died the 9th of Apr. 1725, Aged 54 Years.
Sacred to the Memory of Jeremiah Ives Esq; born at Bourne in Lincolnshire, the 26th Day of March 1692; he was elected Mayor of this City in the Year 1733, which important Trust, he discharged with peculiar greatness of Mind, tempered with Candor, Affability, and unblemished Integrity; he was a professed Admirer of Vertue, and his general Conduct in Life was strictly conformable to this Profession; his Beneficence was extensive, his Benevolence, Love of Truth, and the Liberties of Mankind, Universal. He was a most endearing Husband, a tender and beloved Father, a kind Master, a sincere and chearfull Friend, Having for 3 Years endured the Torture of the Stone, with invincible Fortitude of Mind, possessed of the highest Esteem and Reputation, he departed this Life the 20th Day of March 1741, in the 50th Year of his Age.
In the chancel, Tho. Everard Gent. 1666, 44, he gave 12l. to the parish for the use of the poor. Eliz. only child of John and Catherine Everard, 1662, 11. Anne wife of Sam. Hammond 1718, 42. Sam. Hammond merchant 1731, 58. Sam. their eldest son 1733, 31. Mary wife of Edward Tooke 1713, 26. Tho. their son 1711. Edw. 1712, Mary 1718, also Edward Tooke 1727, 46. John Kettell 1661. This stone was bought, and the vault under it was built by Tho. Chickering, Alderman, living in St. Clement's parish, for a burying place for his family. Francis son of Tho. and Dorothy Chickering 1669. Dorothy their daughter 1669. Crest, a hawk's head erased holding a branch. On a chevron three cocks, a crescent for difference.
On the north side is a small altar monument, on which are the arms of Aldrich impaling Steward, Aldrich single, and Aldrich impaling Sotherton, quartering az. a lion rampant or, which arms I have met with born by the Palgraves of Norwich. The whole inscription, except what follows, is lost,
D. O. M.
In spem Resurrectionis corpus hic deposuit Johannes SanctAmandus, Nottinghamiensis, Natalibus, Animo, ac Studijs, juxta clarus, adeoque tam publicis Muneribus, quam privatis ergà suos Officijs (Ætate integrâ) cum dignitate perfunctus; urgente senio, in hanc Urbem (ob priscos mores Celeberrimam) ex optione se recepit Cui, Vitæ modestiâ, ac Probitate, cum factus esset Gratissimus, alacriter Spiritum Deo reddidit 21° Nov. Ao. Dni. 1622, Æt. suæ 73. Superstite mœstissimâ Uxore Jana, ex antiquâ Familiâ Strelleyorum, de Strelley in Com. Nottinghamiensi, è quâ genuerat Johannem, Mariam, Willelmum, Franciscam, Phillippum, quorum, duo natû minimi, admodum Juvenes, obierunt, primogenitus, memoriæ Patris, ac Amicorum meritis, de suo posuit 1623.
Edward Sewell or Saywell, who died rector. In 1590, Will. Harris was presented by Rob. Wood, Esq. who was also patron to the 3 following rectors 1591, Will. Parry 1602, Fulk Roberts S. T. P. In 1614, he had 10l. per annum from the court, for his weekly Wednesday lecture here, and was visitor at the goal, and chaplain of St. Saviour's, he was prebendary of Norwich, (fn. 156) see Pt. I. p. 668.
Benj. Snowden, one of the intruders in those times, who in 1661, got a legal possession, at the presentation of Rob Wood of Braken-Ash, Esq. but not relinquishing his former principles, he was deprived: and in 1662, the same patron presented
1668, James le Franc, S. T. B. who had been educated among the Roman-Catholicks, but afterward becoming one of the reformed church, he came hither in 1661, and was made minister of the French congregation; in 1662, he printed
Conyers Midleton, D. D. of Trinity college in Cambridge, who is sufficiently known to the learned part of the world, by the many excellent works that he hath published; he was the first presented by the master, fellows, &c. of Caius college in Cambridge, who purchased it of Mr. Wood, and are now patrons.
1736, when the Rev. John Berney, A. M. the present rector, was instituted, who is now D. D. Archdeacon of Norwich, chaplain to the Bishop, rector of the consolidated rectories of the two medieties of Hetherset, with the rectory of Cantlose, and of the consolidated rectories of the two Saxlinghams in Norfolk.
In the churchyard, directly opposite to the south porch, is an old decayed altar tomb, which is whitened over every Ascension-day, before Archbishop Parker's sermon is preached here; this is the tomb of the Archbishop's father and mother, an account of which, as also of the foundation of his annual sermon, may be seen in Pt. I. p. 312.
There is also another tomb in this churchyard, which stands north and south, and is called the Leper's tomb; and there is a tradition, that a leper who was permitted to be buried here, after several parishes had refused him that request made in his lifetime, lies under it, and that he gave the parish-houses which stand at the south-west corner of the churchyard, and are now leased out at 12l. per annum to repair the church for ever, which is all an errour; for those houses, and all from thence to Colegate-street, belonged to the Prior of Ixworth, and at the Dissolution, were granted by Henry VIII. to Ric. Cadington, who had license to sell them to Cecily Suffield, and her heirs, who divided them into several parts, and settled this on divers trustees, to the use of the parish.
Another part, which is now owned by Alderman Harvey, hath this inscription on the door, which entered into the Prior's hall, the whole court being in those days the city house of the Priors of Ixworth, in Suffolk:
Another tradition, equally false, concerning this leper is, that he gave to the church the tithes of Gilden-croft, and all that part of the parish within the walls, and all the lands belonging to the parish without the walls, lying against the city ditches, between Magdalen-gates and the river, which are now valued at above 30l. per annum; whereas the truth is, these lands were the demeans of Tolthorp manor, to which St. Clement's church was appendant, and the whole tithes belonged to it originally, till two-third parts were granted from it to the college of Stoke by Clare, as is aforesaid, under the account of that manor; by virtue whereof, till the Dissolution, the rector received one third, and the college two thirds, or a pension for them; and then the college-part fell to the King, and continued in the Crown till the 2d of Queen Mary, when she granted to Sir John Borne, Knt. one of her principal secretaries of state, and William Lacy, Gent. and their heirs, all the tithes of corn, hay, wool, lamb, and other tithes whatever, arising in the bounds of St. Clement's parish by Fybridge in Norwich, lately in the tenure of Tho. Parker, mercer, and lately belonging to the college of Stoke Clare in Suffolk, to be held of her manor of East-Greenwich by fealty only, in free soccage, and not in capite; and immediately after, he conveyed them to Rob. Wood of St. Clement's, Gent. who was patron, and his heirs; and in the 4th and 5th of Philip and Mary, the said Robert, by authority of an act of Parliament made 1st and 2d Philip and Mary, (which made it lawful for all persons seized of any manors, &c. or any other hereditaments whatsoever, in fee simple, not being copyhold, to make feoffments, grants, or other assurances, to any spiritual persons, body politick or corporate, without license in mortmain then to be obtained,) conveyed them to Roger Cockson, clerk, rector of St. Clement, and his successours, for ever: and from that time, this rectory hath been, and still is, in possession of all its original rights, the pension of 4s. formerly due to the Prior of Mendham, being vested in the rector at this time.
As it is now called, from its being used for ancient poor people, which are infirm, and past labour, and not fit to be put into the common work-houses, was formerly a house of lepers, dedicated to our Blessed Lady and St. Clement, without St. Austin's-gates, but in this parish; and so the lepers that died there (they having no burying-place at their own house) were brought, and had a right to be buried here; and probably this tomb might be for some leper who died there, and left what he had to the church.
It seems, this house was founded by some Bishop of Norwich, for it belonged to the see, and at the Dissolution, became an hospital for such poor as the Bishops thought fit to fix there; and in 1568, the Bishop and Mayor constituted Simon Warner, keeper or guider of the house or hospital of our Blessed Lady and St. Clement, expelling John Bradley thence, and from any manner of collection by him henceforward to be made for the poor of that hospital; (fn. 157) which shows that it was not endowed, but that the poor subsisted on alms, as the lepers there, heretofore did. It is now held by lease of the Bishop, for I find that Bishop Reynolds leased to the city all that alms-house or houses without St. Augustine's-gates in the parish of St. Clement in the suburbs of Norwich, with the gardens, yards, &c. belonging thereto, being parcel of his bishoprick, to hold to the city during the lives of Rob. Paine, grandchild to Sir Joseph Paine, Knt. Robert son of Henry Watts, alderman, and Richard son of Alderman Ric. Wenman, by the yearly rent of 19d. the city covenanting to keep it in repair, and use it only as an alms-house or lazar-house for poor people. In 1604, John Hothe was guider of it, and received 13s. 4d. from the justices of the county, as county-alms, due to the guidership of this house, and they allowed the same to the other four lazarhouses.
1468, John Fyce, bladsmith. 1489, Margaret late wife of William Blofield, and widow of Roger Greyve, who gave a stained cloth of the seven sacraments, a long diaper towel, a silver pax, and many gifts to our Lady's altar. 1509, Peter Paine, &c.
Benefactors: 1529, Margaret Beaumond, buried in the Whitefriars, gave a pair of silver candlesticks; Mr. Fawcett gave 5l. Mr. Tho. Allen 8l. Mr. Tho. Everard 12l. the interest of these gifts to buy coals.
The Priors of Ixworth, Horsham St. Faith, Norwich, Castle-Acre, and Mendham; the Prioress of Carrowe; the college of Stoke, and the Prior of the Friars-preachers in Norwich, who had a house here, sold by the city to Rob. Goslyn, with a lane thereto belonging, in the year 1563.
This rectory was valued at 7 marks, taxed at 40s. paid 6d. synodals, is valued in the King's Books at 7l. 9s. 2d. and is discharged of first fruits and tenths, being sworn of the clear yearly value of 27l. 3s. 1d. Dr. Prideaux placed the certain endowment at 28l. and the contribution at 14l. There is now an estate added by augmentation, of the donation of Mr. Brook, (fn. 158) which is about 21l. per annum, and the present contribution is about 26l. per annum, the whole is commonly valued at about 80l. per annum.
There is a silver cup gilt, a patin bought about 1718, and two flaggons in 1742. There were formerly the images of St. Clement, our Lady, St. Catherine, St. Agnes, St. James, St. Andrew, and St. Michael, with lights before them, in this church.
(125) Fybridge Bridge, or Fyve-Bridge,
As it is anciently called, took its name on account of its being the
fifth principal bridge over the river at that time; it was a timber
bridge till Henry the Fourth's time, and it was then built of stone,
with two arches, being the first stone bridge that was in this place; it
fell into decay in Henry the Eighth's time, and was broken down by a
great flood in Febr. 1570, and was new built of stone in 1573; it
hath a large and small arch, the large one is 26 feet wide, and over
it is this inscription,
1572, Robart Sucklyng Mayor. 1578, Mr. Thomas Peck Mayor: Peter Peterson Chamberline.
The customs at this bridge, and the shops and stalls on the key on the south side of the river, went to maintain it; for in 1273, the bailiffs and commonalty appointed Walt. de Mouton, tavern-keeper, receiver of the rents and customs at Fybrigge; namely 12d. from a shop at the head of the bridge; 4d. from a messuage in St. Mary le Brent; 8d. from a messuage in St. Saviour's, and the rent of a shop; all which were given to repair the bridge with; he was likewise to receive all legacies given to the reparation of the bridge, and the profits of the stalls on the stathe, he being to repair them, and the bridge also.
(126) The Independents Meeting-House
Stands in this parish, on part of the site of the friars great garden,
the whole of which belongs to the Girls hospital, but I do not meet
with any rent paid to the hospital for it; it was finished about 1693;
it is a large handsome square building, with a roof flat at top, and
covered with lead, and the hiped part of it with tiles; it hath a
burial-place on the north side, and a dial, and handsome brass branch
in the middle, and hath galleries on all sides, except the north, in the
middle of which the pulpit stands, and there is a convenient vestry
at the north-east corner of the building. On a flat marble in the
Mrs. Prudence Browne, 1725, 76.
On a black marble before the pulpit,
Offley, arg. a cross floré, between four martlets sab. Crest a demi-lion holding a branch proper, impaled with a chevron be tween three owls crowned. Robert Offley of this City Gent. Jan. 1, 1716, 76. Mary his Wife 6 Febr. 1703, 56. Mary their Dr. Wife of Sam. Crome Merchant, Jan. 21, 1738, 65.
Farewell vain World, I know enough of thee, And am now careless, what thou sai'st of me, Thy smiles I court not, nor thy frowns I fear, My cares are past, my head lies quiet here, What Faults you saw in me, take care to shun, And look at Home, Enough is to be done.
Here lie the Bodies of Jeremiah Tompson, who by his superior Understanding, usefull Councells, uncommon Gifts, pure Faith, Evangelical Spirit, and bountifull Disposition, was for 30 Years the Ornament of this Society, and fell asleep in Jesus Christ, Aug. 17, and in the Year of our Lord 1721, of his Age 50.
And of Jane his Wife, who was Dr. of the Rev. Mr. Stackhouse, ingenious, discreet, charitable, a Pattern of filial Piety, and conjugal Duty, a constant and serious worshipper of God in this Assembly, and exchanged this Life for a better, Aug. 12, in the Year of our Lord 1721, of her Age 39.
Beneath lies the Body of Mr. James Tompson, who was a great Admirer of Free Grace, he died Sept. 24, 1727, aged 50 Years, and also the Body of his beloved Wife Mary, Dr. of Mr. Isaac Stackhouse of London Merchant, she dyed Dec. 12, 1728, aged 32 Years, & also 3 of their Children.
Under this Stone do rest the small Remains, of that Laborious Minister of Christ, Mr. John Lucas, Whose active Soul, heedless of Age and Pains, In Faith, Love, Zeal, aspiring to the Hig'st, Nor took, nor gave his Body (weak at best) From Travail & from Preaching Rest.
But so invigorated all his Life, That with a steady Bent, Devoid of Strife, Meek, Humble, Modest, Pious, Just, Patient to Suffer, Labour, Trust, His Deeds & Doctrines, Hand in Hand still went, 'Till after many Years thus spent, at Length, Death dreading as it were, his Strength, Came on behind, his Heel did Wound, Casting his Body to the Ground, And then his Soul, Without Controll, With Christ it's long desired Requiem found.
3. Here lieth waiting for the Resurrection of the Just, The Body of the late Reverend, Mr. MARTIN FINCH, Who was a burning and a shining Light, A plain Sound Spirituall, And powerfull Preacher of God's Word, One Walking Humbly and closely with his God, Full of Goodness & Love, Curteous & pitifull to all Men, Beloved & reverene'd by all; He having feared the Lord from his Youth And Labour'd abundantly.
In the Ministry of the Gospel XLIX Years, And guided this Church of Christ XII Years, With great Wisdom & Integrity, Diligence & Faithfullness, And many Years desired to depart hence, And to be with Christ, Being worn out with the Paines of the Stone His Soul ascended to keep an everlasting Sabbath, On the XIII of Febr MDCXCVII in the LXX, Year of his Age.
4. Under this Monument do rest, the Remains of that
Learned, and eminently judicious Divine, the late
Reverend Mr. JOHN STACKHOUSE,
A Pious, Orthodox, Painfull, Powerfull, Spirituall,
And accurate Preacher of God's Word,
Who labour'd faithfully in the Ministry XXXIX Years,
And in this Church of Christ as Pastor XVII,
Engaged in the Cause of God with great Sinceritie,
Walked with him in abundant Humility,
Demeaned towards Men with obliging Courtesie,
Was not Discouraged in the greatest Difficulties,
Was patient under most heavy Afflictions,
Lived by Faith,
Died in Hope,
Of that everlasting Sabbath,
Which he enter'd upon with Joy,
Sept. 14. A°. Sal. 1707. Æt. 69.
Hic beatam expectans Immortalitatem conduntur Reliquiæ Johannis Corey A L. M Qui Norwici natus est, Cantabrigiæ educatus, et Verbi Divini Ministerio annis decem functus, Hapisburgi et Walcottæ in Agro Norfolciensi, illinc vero Conscientiæ bonæ Causa discessit. ac deinde Puerorum in Bonis Literis Institutioni triginta sex annis sedulus incubuit, Pius, Doctus, mitis, Candidus Ludi-magister, plurimos emisit optimæ spei surculos, Ecclesiæ et Rei publicæ Proficuos, tandem Doloribus Calculi attritus, Cœlestem in Patriam migravit, Prid. Non. Octobris. Anno salutis 1698, Æt. suæ 67.
Sarah Scott obijt 26, Aug. 1728, Æt. 22. Quis desiderio sit pudor, aut Modus tam chari Capitis? cui, Patientia, Pax, et Blandus Amor, nudaque Veritas, Quando ullam invenient Parem? multis illa bonis, flebilis occidit, nulli flebilior, quam tibi. Cui breve Eheu! conjugium dulcè frui dedit, abreptâque dolet magis.
So soon his Spirit took its Flight, To Mansions of eternal Light; And 'till the Resurrection Day, Behind this Stone, reposed in Clay, Which then in glorious Form shall rise, Resume the Soul, and mount the Skies.