Sport, ancient and modern: Cricket, The University Match

Page 274

A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 2, General; Ashford, East Bedfont With Hatton, Feltham, Hampton With Hampton Wick, Hanworth, Laleham, Littleton. Originally published by Victoria County History, London, 1911.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.


In this section


Up to the close of 1909 seventy-five university matches have been played, of which Cambridge have won thirty-six and Oxford thirtyone matches; in 1827, 1844, 1888, 1899, 1900, 1901, 1904 and 1909 the matches were drawn. The two largest aggregates, Oxford's 503 and Cambridge's 392, were both obtained in the same match in 1900. The largest individual innings, 172 not out by Mr. J. F. Marsh for Cambridge in 1904, was intrinsically inferior to the 171 of Mr. R. E. Foster for Oxford in 1900. Mr. W. Yardley with 100 and 130 in 1872 for Cambridge is the only cricketer twice to score centuries in this match, but Mr. J. E. Raphael with 130 in 1903 and 99 in 1905 only failed by one run to achieve the same distinction for Oxford. Mr. Eustace Crawley has alone made a 100 both in the Eton and Harrow and Oxford and Cambridge matches. Those who have also scored centuries for Oxford are Messrs. K. J. Key, M. R. Jardine, G. O. Smith, H. K. Foster, F. M. Buckland, V. T. Hill, W. H. Game, A. Eccles, W. H. Patterson, W. Rashleigh, Lord George Scott, C. B. Fry, and C. H. B. Marsham; and for Cambridge Messrs. H. J. Mordaunt, G. B. Studd, E. R. Wilson, S. H. Day, E. C. Streatfeild, C. E. M. Wilson, L. G. Colbeck, W. S. Patterson, C. W. Wright, and H. W. Bainbridge. The most famous finish was in 1870 when Oxford with three wickets to fall wanted only 4 runs to win. Mr. Bourne then caught Mr. Rutter off the second ball of Mr. Cobden's last over, and Messrs. W. A. Stewart and H. A. Belcher were bowled with the next two balls. It was in 1896 that Mr. F. Mitchell provoked an angry demonstration by directing Mr. E. B. Shine to send down no balls to prevent Oxford avoiding the follow on.


In seasons when the Australians have not visited England, the fixture at Lord's between Gentlemen and Players has always been regarded as the chief exhibition match in which it was a great honour to be invited to play. Two matches were played in 1806, but the Gentlemen were assisted by Beldham and Lambert. Although in 1819 they played unsupported, in 1820 Howard was introduced. Odds were not given after 1838, since when up to the end of 1909 the Gentlemen have won twenty-eight and the Players thirty-six. The highest individual score is Mr. C. B. Fry's 232 not out in 1903, Dr. W. G. Grace's largest being 169 in 1876, and he is the only cricketer except Hayward who has exceeded the century more than twice at Lord's. The highest for the Players are 163 by J. T. Brown in 1900 and 141 by Braund in 1902. Mr. R. E. Foster scored two hundreds, 102 not out and 136 in the match in 1900, and J. H. King with 104 and 109 not out effected a similar feat in 1904, both on their first appearance in the match. The aggregates exceeding 1,000 are: in 1900, 1,274 for thirty-eight wickets; 1903, 1,218 for twentythree wickets; 1897, 1,196 runs; 1904, 1,165 for thirty-seven wickets; 1895, 1,156 runs; 1905, 1,149 for thirty-four wickets; 1883, 1,118 for thirty-three wickets; 1901, 1,079 for thirty-six wickets; 1878, 1,066 runs; 1898, 1,059 runs; and 1884, 1,000 for thirty-four wickets. The longest partnership was in 1903, when Messrs. C. B. Fry and A. C. Maclaren added 309 without being separated. In 1900 the Players were set 501 to win, and made them for the loss of eight wickets. The instances of two bowlers being unchanged in the match are W. Lillywhite and James Broadbridge (playing as given men for the Gentlemen) in 1829 and for the Players in 1832; W. Lillywhite and S. Redgate in 1837; Wisden and W. Clarke in 1850; Mr. Matthew Kempson and Sir Frederick Bathurst in 1853; Jackson and Willsher in 1861; Willsher and Tarrant in 1864; and the Hon. F. S. Jackson and Mr. S. M. J. Woods in 1894.