Treasury Minutes: List of Officials of the Treasury

Page vi

Calendar of Treasury Books, Volume 32, 1718. Originally published by Her Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1962.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying and sponsored by the Arts and Humanities Research Council. All rights reserved.

Page vi

List of Officials of the Treasury


Lords Commissioners of the Treasury: James, Viscount Stanhope, Chancellor and Under-Treasurer of the Exchequer; Thomas, Lord Torrington; John Wallop; George Baillie; and Thomas Micklethwaite.

Secretaries: William Lowndes senior and Charles Stanhope.

Chief Clerks: Christopher Tilson; Richard Powys; Henry Kelsall; and William Lowndes junior (vice William Glanvill, deceased).

Under Clerks: Edward Webster; Mark Frecker; Thomas Bowen; Thomas Lowndes; Robert Burnbury; Samuel King; Charles Chevalier; William Wyatt; and William Pitt.

Chamber Keeper; Messenger of the Chamber; four Messengers attending the Receipt of the Exchequer; four Assistant Messengers.

Petitions etc. read at the Board’ were normally delivered to one of the Chief Clerks but sometimes to an Under Clerk (indicated in this Volume by initials only); William Lowndes, junior, was Clerk of Petitions; Tilson had custody of papers from the Army, Navy and Ordnance, from Woods and Crown Lands and from the Exchequer; Powys received papers from the Customs etc.; Kelsey had custody of papers relating to Offices paid from Civil List Funds and to Scotland.

[Compiled from ‘Calendar of Treasury Books’, Vol. XXIX, pp. 30–32; Vol. XXXII, p. 7; Chamberlaine's ‘Present State of Great Britain’, Part 2, Book 3, English List, pp. 52, 53.]