House of Commons Journal Volume 1: 24 November 1606

Page 324

Journal of the House of Commons: Volume 1, 1547-1629. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1802.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

Page 324

In this section

Lunae, 24o Novembris, 1606

Mr. Attorney.

Mr. Attorney came in of himself, and continued by Connivance, without other Order.

Union with Scotland.

It was moved, that the Instrument of the Union, being now read in the House, might be returned to the Lords, with this Message: That we had received it, read, and taken Notice of it; that the Clerk had made a Copy, which was reserved for the Use of the House ; and that they now thought good to send it to their Lordships again.

The Instrument, with this Message, was accordingly sent by Mr. Secretary Herbert.


Sir John Crook and Mr. D. Hone bring a Message from the Lords;

That their Lordships having received the Instrument, and considering how gravely and wisely they had proceeded, were now desirous, and thought good by them to propound it to that House, that all other Occasions might give Place, and that there might instantly be some further Proceeding in that Business ; and to that End, wished there might be a Conference Tomorrow, of both Houses: That their Lordships had appointed Forty to meet with some Number of this House Tomorrow, at Two a Clock in the Afternoon, in the Painted Chamber.


1. Q. Whether they shall meet the Lords: - Resolved.

2. Q. Whether they shall confer : - Not to confer; but to hear what the Lords will propound, and to report to the House.

To this Purpose Committees were named; viz. the Lord Buckhurst, the Lord Howard of Walden, Sir John Fortescue, Mr. Secretary Herbert, Sir Francis Hastings, Sir Edw. Mountague, Mr. Attorney General, Mr. Solicitor, Sir Francis Bacon, Sir Thomas Howard, Sir Tho. Somersett, Sir Roger Aston, Sir Geo. Moore, Mr. Recorder of London, Sir Francis Fane, Sir John Bennett, Sir Herbert Crofts, Sir Edwyn Sandys, Sir Maurice Berkley, Sir Henry Poole, Sir Robert Wingfield, Mr. Hyde, Mr. Yelverton, Sir Lewys Lewknor, Sir Thomas Holcroft, Sir John Swynnerton, Mr. Tate, Sir William Liggon, Mr. James, Mr. Overbury, Mr. Forsett, Sir Tho. Freak, Sir Tho. Lake, Mr. Nanton, Mr. Chock, Sir Nicholas Halswell, Sir Nath. Bacon, Sir John Heigham, Sir Vincent Skynner, Sir Thomas Bishop, Sir Antho. Cope, Sir Henry Nevill of Barkshire, Sir John Hungerford, Sir Edw. Hobby, Sir Henry Nevill of Kent, Sir Robert Phelips, Sir William Paddye, Sir Walter Cope, Sir Edward Grevill, Sir Francis Barrington, Sir Geo. Rivers, Sir Robert Cotton, Mr. Noye, Sir Oliver Cromwell, Sir William Stroud, Sir John Savill, Mr. Matthewe Davyes, Mr. Martin, Sir William Fleetwood, Sir Roger Owen, Mr. Hoskins, Mr. Fuller, Mr. Panton, Mr. Oliver St. John, Sir Francis Leigh, Sir Francis Goodwyn, Mr. Yong, Mr. Oldisworth, Sir Thomas Mounson, Sir Francis Knollys, Sir Allen Perceye, Sir Edward Herbert, Sir Barnard Whytston, Sir Antho. Rowse, Sir Thomas Waller, Sir Wm. Burlacye, Sir Roland Litton, Sir John Parker, Sir William Morrice, Mr. Carleton, Mr. Prowse, Sir Jerome Horsey, Mr. Carewe, Sir Edward Hext, Mr. Brock, Sir Robert Johnson, Mr. Bacchus, Sir Robert Moore, Mr. Wentworth, Sir John Leveson, Mr. Duncombe, Sir James Perrott, Sir John Townsend, Sir Michael Sandys, Mr. Porye, Mr. Geo. Fane, Sir Henry Bromley, Mr. D. James, Sir Jo. Shirley, Sir Warwick Heale, Mr. Bond.

These Committees, upon a Message from the Lords, are appointed to meet with Forty of the Upper House, Tomorrow, at Two a Clock in the Afternoon, in the Painted Chamber; and to attend what their Lordships shall propound, and accordingly to make Report to the House.