House of Commons Journal Volume 1: 12 May 1572

Journal of the House of Commons: Volume 1, 1547-1629. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1802.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

'House of Commons Journal Volume 1: 12 May 1572', in Journal of the House of Commons: Volume 1, 1547-1629, (London, 1802) pp. 94-95. British History Online [accessed 4 March 2024]


In this section

Lunae, duodecimo Maii, 1572

Receivers, &c.

1. The Bill for Explanation of the Statute, that the Lands of Receivers, Tellers, Treasurers, and Collectors, should be liable to the Payments of their Debts. - The first Reading.

Frizes, &c.

1. The Bill for the Repeal of an Act made in the Eighth Year of the Reign of the Queen's Majesty, that now is, for Buying of Frizes, Cottons, &c. by the Inhabitants of the Town of Salop. - The first Reading.


1. The Bill for Proclamations to be made in Parish Churches and Chapels before Outlawries. - The first Reading; and committed unto Mr. Gent, Mr. Robert Snagg, Mr. Fenner, Mr. Humberston, Mr. Flowerdewe, Mr. Frenche, and Mr. Boyce; to meet this Afternoon, at Two of the Clock, in the Temple Church.

Plymouth Alms-house.

1. The Bill for the Alms-house in Plymouth. - The first Reading.

Queen of Scots.

The Lords did send Sir Richard Reade, and Mr. Doctor Huycke, to require Mr. Speaker, and this whole House, forthwith to make their Repair unto their Lordships in the Higher House; and upon their Repair thither, the Lord Keeper signified unto them, that the Queen's Majesty's Pleasure is, that Twenty-one of the Higher House, and Forty-four of this House, should meet To-morrow in the Morning, at Eight of the Clock, in the Star-chamber, then and there to consult and deliberate upon Matters concerning the Queen of Scotts: Whereunto were appointed of this House, Mr. Treasurer. Mr. Comptroller, Mr. Chancellor of the Duchy, Mr. Chancellor of the Exchequer, my Lord Deputy of Ireland, Sir Morrice Barkley, Sir Hugh Pawlett, Sir Thomas Scotte, Sir Owen Hopton, Sir Nicholas Arnold, Sir John Thynne, Sir Henry Gate, Sir Rowland Haward, Mr. Doctor Willson, Mr. Attorney of the Duchy, Mr. Attorney of the Wards,

Mr. Recorder of London, Mr. Servient Manwood, Mr. Servient Geffrey, Mr. Mounson, Mr. Sands, Mr. Popham, Mr. Yelverton, Mr. Colby, Mr. Heneage, Mr. Charles Howard, Mr. Hatton, Mr. Asteley, Mr. Shute, Mr. Henry Knolles Sen. Mr. Henry Knolles Jun. Mr. Peter Wentworth, Mr. Sampole, Mr. Norton, Mr. William Moore, Mr. John Vaghan, Mr. Thomas Randoll, Mr. John Vaghan of Carmarthen, Mr. Granefeld Sen. Mr. Charles Somerset, Mr. Henry Killegrew, Mr. William Gerard, Mr. Dalton, and Mr. Paycock.