House of Commons Journal Volume 4: 29 October 1645

Page 326

Journal of the House of Commons: Volume 4, 1644-1646. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1802.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

Page 326

Die Mercurii, 29 Octobris, 1645, Die Publicæ Humiliationis.

ORdered, That Sir Walter Erle, Captain Skinner, and Sir Wm. Strickland, do, from this House, give Thanks to Mr. Taylour and Mr. Strickland, for the great Pains they took in the Sermons they preached this Day, at the Intreaty of this House, at St. Margaret's, Westminster, it being the Day of Publick Humiliation; and to desire them to print their Sermons: And they are to have the like Privilege in Printing of them, as others, in the like kind, usually have had.

Ordered, That Sir Christopher Yelverton and Mr. Besewell do, from this House, desire Mr. Calamy and Mr. Vines to preach before the Commons in St. Margaret's, Westminster, upon the Fifth of November next.

Ordered, That Sir Nathanael Barnardiston and Mr. Knightley do, from this House, desire Mr. Dury, Mr. Sterry, and Mr. Rayner, Two of them to preach, and One of them to pray, before the Commons, at St. Margaret's, Westminster, the next Fast-Day.

Ordered, That the several Committees of the several Cities, Counties, and Ridings, wherein any of the Lands and Possessions of the Deans and Chapters of Yorke, Duresme, and Carlisle, lie, shall have the same Powers contained in the Ordinances for Maintenance of a Preaching Ministry in the Northern Counties, and the Cities and Towns therein named, that the Commissioners of Parliament, mentioned in that Ordinance, were enabled with, for the Payment of several Preaching Ministers, mentioned, and provided for, in the said former Ordinance: And Sir Thomas Widdrington is appointed to bring in an Ordinance to this Purpose, on Friday next.

Lord Fairfax, Henry Oxinden, Sir John Danvers, Wm. Ofield, Godfrey Bosevile, George Thomson, John Stephens, Colonel Mountague, Sir Tho. Barnardiston, George Snelling, Charles Rich, John Bois, John Pelham, Thomas Westrow, Samuel Gott, James Temple, George Evelyn, John Dove, Thomas Scott, Edward Apstey, John Fagge, Robert Brewster, Roger Gratwick, Simon Mayne, Harbart Hay, Wm. Leman, Abraham Burrell, Gregory Norton, and Richard Browne, this Day took the National League and Covenant.