House of Commons Journal Volume 7: 5 September 1654

Journal of the House of Commons: Volume 7, 1651-1660. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1802.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

'House of Commons Journal Volume 7: 5 September 1654', in Journal of the House of Commons: Volume 7, 1651-1660, (London, 1802) pp. 366. British History Online [accessed 22 April 2024]


In this section

Tuesday, the 5th of September, 1654.


Call of the House.

THE House was Called, according to former Order: And those who were present were marked with the Letter [A]; the Defaulters marked with [D]; and such as were excused were so marked.

Resolved, That the House shall be again Called on this Day Three Weeks.

Committee of Privileges.

Sir Walter Erle, Mr. Gewin, Mr. Bond, Sir Wm. Roberts, Mr. Thomas Lister, Mr. Francis Bacon, Mr. Rous, Major-General Lambert, Captain Skinner, Mr. Boys, Mr. Read, Mr. Recorder, Sir Arthure Hesilrige, Mr. Scott of Lambeth, Lord Bradshaw, Colonel Norton, Lord Richard Cromwell, Colonel Fines, Sir Wm. Doyley, Lord President of the Council, Lord Commissioner Whitelock, Mr. Weaver, Mr. Ash, Colonel Hatcher, Sir Antho. Ashley Cooper, Lord Brughill, Mr. Hobart, Mr. Drake, Mr. Lechmere, Mr. Long, Lord Henry Cromwell, Mr. Morris, Mr. Cleypoole junior, Mr. Thelwall, Colonel Rous, Mr. Greenvile, Colonel Ingoldsby, Mr. Thistlethwaite, Mr. Thomas Gorges, Colonel Lilburne, Alderman Foote, Mr. Pecham, Mr. Fagge, Colonel Sidenham, Colonel Jones, Colonel Purefoy, Colonel Morley, Sir Henry Vane, Mr. Grove, Lord Commissioner Widdrington, Mr. Strickland, Sir John Hobart, Mr. Bulkley, Mr. Godfrey, Sir Richard Onslow, Mr. Stapley, Mr. Attorney-General, Sir Wm. Massam, Mr. Pury, Mr. Bainton, Mr. Sherley, Lord Commissioner Lisle, Colonel Mackworth, Mr. Justice Hales, Mr. Downing, Colonel John Birch, Sir Charles Wolsley, Mr. Buckland, Colonel Lassells, Mr. Desbrow, Mr. Silvanus Wood, Mr. Shuttleworth, Mr. Welby, Mr. Reynell, Sir Thomas Barnardiston, Colonel Bright, Colonel Fenwick, Mr. Goddard, CommissaryGeneral Whaley, Sir Richard Piggott, Colonel Carter, Mr. Howard, Mr. Bridges, Mr. Beake, Mr. Sheeld, Mr. Stephens, Mr. Wood, are appointed to be a Committee of Privileges: And are to meet in the Exchequer-Chamber, at Two of the Clock this Afternoon: With Power to receive Petitions, and to send for Persons, Records, Papers, and Witnesses.

Resolved, That no Petition, against any Election of such Members as are already returned for England or Scotland, shall be received by the Committee for Privileges, after Three Weeks from this Day.

Resolved, That this Vote be printed and published.

Resolved, That the Committee for Privileges do, in the first Place, consider of the Double Returns upon Writs of Election; and report the Cases, with their Opinion, to the House.

Settling the Government.

The Question being propounded, That the House do take the Matter of the Government into Debate, the first Business, To-morrow Morning;

And the Question being put, That that Question be now put;

It passed in the Affirmative.

And the main Question being put; It was

Resolved, by the Parliament, That the House do take the Matter of the Government into Debate, the first Business To-morrow Morning.