House of Commons Journal Volume 8: 18 June 1663

Journal of the House of Commons: Volume 8, 1660-1667. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1802.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

'House of Commons Journal Volume 8: 18 June 1663', in Journal of the House of Commons: Volume 8, 1660-1667, (London, 1802) pp. 505-506. British History Online [accessed 25 April 2024]


In this section

Jovis, 18 die Junii, 15° Car. IIdi.


Exeter Stuffs.

A BILL for regulating the making of Stuffs in the City and County of Exeter, and County of Devon, was read the Second time.

Resolved, &c. That the said Bill be committed to Sir Courtney Poole, Sir Wm. Lowther, Sir Robert Holt, Mr. Crouch, Sir Clifford Clifton, Sir Tho. Stewkley, Mr. Yorke, Mr. Buller, Mr. Walker, Sir Lanc. Lake, Mr. Morrice, Sir Francis Lawley, Mr. Coventry, Mr. Garraway, Mr. Prideaux, Sir Tho. Allen, Sir Solomon Swale, Lord Fanshaw, Sir Rich. Onslow, Colonel Windham, Sir Charles Harbord, Mr. Kent, Colonel Phillips, Mr. Treasurer, Colonel Strangwayes, Sir Robert Atkins, Sir John Marloe, Sir Tho. Littleton, Sir Hen. North, Sir Bayn Throckmorton, Sir Henry Worsley, Sir George Downing, Mr. Phillips, Sir Wm. Portman, Mr. Daniell, Mr. Crouch, Sir John Frederick, Mr. Jones, Mr. Jay, Sir James Smith, Mr. Harbord, Sir Lanc. Lake, Mr. John Collins, Sir Wm. Tompson, Mr. Jolly, Mr. Windham, Mr. Westphaling, Sir Edm. Peirse, Colonel Reames, Mr. Knight, Sir Anth. Irby, Mr. Gawdy, Sir Hugh Pollard, Mr. Dennis, Serjeant Maynard, Sir Charles Hussey, and all the Members of this House that serve for the several Counties of Devon, Cornwall, Somersett, and Dorsett: And they are to meet To-morrow at Two of the Clock in the Afternoon, in the Exchequer Chamber: And they are hereby impowered to enlarge the said Bill; and to make the same extend to the regulating the Making of Stuffs in the County of Somersett, or any other the Western Counties, or Cities and Towns therein, as . . . shall find necessary: And they are to send for Persons, Papers, and Records.


Ordered, That all Committees which are discontinued be revived; and do sit this Afternoon at Two of the Clock, in the Places formerly appointed.

Sectaries, &c.

Mr. Heath reports from the Committee to which the Bill for preventing the Meetings of Sectaries, Un-conformists, and Dissenters from the Church of England, was, by Order of the Third of June instant, re-committed, That the Committee, in pursuance of the Order, had agreed several Clauses and Amendments to be added to the Bill: Which he read, with the Coherence; and after delivered the same in at the Clerk's Table.

And the Amendments and Clauses were once read.

Resolved, That the Debate of these Amendments and Clauses be adjourned till To-morrow Morning at Ten of the Clock; and then taken into Consideration.

Crown Revenue.

A Bill for the improving and ordering his Majesty's Revenue, was this Day read the Second time.

Resolved, &c. That the said Bill be committed to Mr. Treasurer, Mr. Solicitor General, Sir Francis Goodricke, Mr. Wm. Sandys, Sir Tho. Littleton, Sir Hen. Lee, Mr. Mountague, Sir Allan Apsley, Sir Phillip Warwicke, Sir Solomon Swale, Sir Job Charleton, Mr. Westphaling, Colonel Windham, Sir Robert Long, Sir Clifford Clifton, Sir Thomas Strickland, Sir Edmond Pooley, Mr. Garraway, Sir Hen. North, Sir Humph. Winch, Sir Charles Harbord, Sir Tho. Tompkins, Mr. Trelawney, Mr. Ashburneham, Sir Francis Goodricke, Mr. Coventry, Sir Robert Atkins, Mr. Seymour, Colonel Strangwayes, Mr. Yorke, Sir Nicholas Crisp, Mr. Crouch, Sir George Cartwright, Sir Lanc. Lake, Mr. Attorney of the Duchy, Sir John Brampston, Sir Bayn. Throckmorton, Colonel Gilby, Sir Thomas Lee, Serjeant Maynard, Colonel Phillips, Mr. Vaughan, Sir Tho. Allen, Mr. Milward, Mr. Clifford, Sir Edm. Peirse, Sir Henry Newton, Mr. Lowther, Mr. Coventry, Sir Tho. Meres, Sir Wm. Compton, Sir Hen. Capell, Lord Ancram, Sir Herbert Price, Colonel Legg, Mr. Gaudy, Mr. Phillips, Mr. Greenvile, Colonel Kirkby, Mr. George, Mr. Knight, Mr. Thurland, Lord Berkeley, Lord Richardson, Mr. Buller, Sir John Duncombe, Mr. Waller, Colonel Robinson, Sir Hump. Bennett, Mr. Bulteele, Sir Roger Bradshaigh, Mr. Chicheley, Mr. Seymour, Mr. Whorwood, Mr. King, Sir Wm. Lowther, Sir John Goodricke, Sir Anth. Irby, Lord Bruce, Mr. Mountague, Mr. Pleydwell, Mr. Spry, Sir Charles Hussey, Mr. Harbord, Sir George Downing, Lord Cornebury, Sir John Talbott, Mr. Tayler, Sir John Fredericke, Sir Ralph Banks, Mr. Mallett, Mr. Hide, Colonel Progers, Sir Tho. Gowre, Mr. Jones, Lord Brereton: And all the Members of this House, that shall come to the Committee, are to have Voices: And they are to meet in the Exchequer Chamber, To-morrow at Two of the Clock in the Afternoon: And are hereby impowered to receive such Proposals as shall be offered for retrenching the Charge of his Majesty's Navy: And to send for Persons, Papers, and Records.

Oxford Election.

Ordered, That the Cause between Mr. Knollys and Sir William Walter, touching the Election of Mr. Knollis for the County of Oxon, now depending before the Committee for Elections, be put off from Hearing this Afternoon: And that the same be not again brought on to Hearing, without a Month's Notice first given to Mr. Knollys.

Supplies to the Crown.

Mr. Serjeant Maynard reports from the Committee appointed to inspect and examine the Rolls in the Exchequer, of Subsidies granted in the Time of Queen Elizabeth, King James, and the late King Charles, That the Committee had inspected several Rolls and Acts of Parliament in the Times of Queen Elizabeth, King James, and King Charles the First; and had collected a Particular of the several Subsidies granted in several Years of their respective Reigns; and also had taken out Copies of the Rates of Subsidies in those Times, set upon several Counties: Which he delivered in at the Clerk's Table.

And some Debate being had thereupon;

Resolved, &c. That the further Debate of the Matter touching the King's Majesty's present Supply, be adjourned till To-morrow Morning, Nine of the Clock; and then taken into Consideration.

The House adjourns till Eight a Clock Tomorrow Morning.