House of Commons Journal Volume 9: 13 February 1668

Journal of the House of Commons: Volume 9, 1667-1687. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1802.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. Public Domain.


'House of Commons Journal Volume 9: 13 February 1668', in Journal of the House of Commons: Volume 9, 1667-1687( London, 1802), British History Online [accessed 20 July 2024].

'House of Commons Journal Volume 9: 13 February 1668', in Journal of the House of Commons: Volume 9, 1667-1687( London, 1802), British History Online, accessed July 20, 2024,

"House of Commons Journal Volume 9: 13 February 1668". Journal of the House of Commons: Volume 9, 1667-1687. (London, 1802), , British History Online. Web. 20 July 2024.


In this section

Die Jovis, 13 Februarii, 1667.

Privilege. Libellous Publication.

ORDERED, That it be referred to Sir Robert Carr, Mr. Weld, Sir Fran. Goodricke, Sir Fretchvile Hollis, Mr. Musgrave, Sir Jo. Bennett, Sir Nicho. Carew, or any Three of them, to inquire who was the Author, Printer, and Publisher of the Libel brought into the House Yesterday; and to send for such Persons as they shall find necessary for Discovery thereof: And they are to meet this Afternoon at Three of the Clock, in the Speaker's Chamber; and from thence de die in diem, as they shall think fit.

Weymondesold's Estate.

A Bill, on Behalf of Dawes Weymondesold Esquire, to confirm an Agreement made, was read the First time.

Ordered, That this Bill be read the Second time on Monday next.

Hearthmoney Collectors.

Upon Report made by Sir Cha. Harbord, from the Committee of Grievances, in the Case to them referred, between Joseph Hallam an Officer for the Hearth Money, and Hypolett Hudson, a Constable of Markett Deeping in the County of Lincolne;

Ordered, That no Plea be called for, or further Proceeding had, in the Crown Office, upon the Information brought against Hypolet Hudson, till the Matter be further examined, and heard by the Committee of Grievances; and that a Copy of this Order be left in the Crown Office.

Electing Members for Duresme.

A Bill for constituting Knights to serve for the County Palatine, and Citizens to serve for the City of Duresme, was read the Second time.

Resolved, &c. That the Bill be committed to Mr. Collingwood, Sir Jo. Marley, Mr. Morrice, Sir Tho. Higgons, Sir Jo. Knight, Sir Lanc. Lake, Sir Antho. Irby, Sir Solomon Swale, Mr. Prynn, Sir Robert Carr, Sir Wm. Lewis, Sir Cha. Wheeler, Sir Wm. Lowther, Mr. Kent, Sir Jeffery Shackerley, Sir Trevor Williams, Sir Jo. Moreton, Mr. Coventry, Sir Rich. Francklyn, Mr. Rigby, Sir Richard Braham, Mr. Tho. Crouch, Sir Nicho. Carew, Mr. Musgrave, Sir Tho. Allen, Mr. Milward, Lord St. John, Mr. Otway, Mr. Coleman, Sir Tho. Strickland, Sir Wm. Hickman, Sir Jo. Lowther, and all the Members that serve for Yorkshire, Lancashire, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmorland: And they are to meet on Saturday next, at Two of the Clock in the Afternoon, in the Speaker's Chamber: And to send for Persons, Papers, and Records.

Call of the House- Defaulters to be fined.

Resolved, &c. That every Defaulter in Attendance, where Excuse shall not be allowed this Day, be fined the Sum of Forty Pounds; and sent for in Custody; and committed to the Tower till the Fine be paid.

Resolved, &c. That every such Member, as shall desert the Service of the House, for the Space of Three Days together, not having had Leave granted by the House, nor offering such sufficient Excuse to the House as shall be allowed, shall have the like Fine of Forty Pounds imposed on them; and be sent for in Custody; and committed to the Tower; and that the Fines be paid into the Hands of the Serjeant at Arms, to be disposed of as the House shall direct.

The House then proceeded to the Calling over the several Members, according to former Order: And the Names of those who made Default, whose Excuses are not allowed, are as followeth; Sir Wm. Bowyer, Sir Jo. Coryton, Mr.Jo. Arundell, Mr. Fran. Buller, Mr. Jo. Tanner, Sir Joseph Tredenham, Sir Geo. Fletcher, Sir Jo. Dalton, Sir Edw. Wise, Mr. Jo. George, Mr. Henry Williams, Lord Rosse, Sir Jo. Newton, Sir Fran. Anderson, Mr. Arthur Pierpoint, Sir Tho. Spencer, Sir John Burlace, Mr. Jo. Harris, Sir Jo. Carew, Mr. Jo. Buller, Mr. Rich. Rowse, Mr. Sam. Rowle, Sir Wilfrid Lawson, Sir Edw. Seymour, Mr. Jo. Churchill, Mr. Jo. Barnaby, Sir Jo. Cotton, Sir Wm. Hartopp, Mr. Crme, Mr. Antho. Ayre, Mr. Pierpoint, Mr. Edw. Noell, Mr. Robert Lighton, Sir Wm. Oglander, Sir Wm. Chetwin, Sir Jo. Staple, Sir Robert Holt, Sir Tho. Momp'son, Sir Edw. Hungerford, Sir Hugh Bethell, Sir Jo. Dawney, Col. John Robinson, Mr. John Wynne, Sir Henry Hooke, Sir Edw. Littleton, Sir Robert Cordell, Mr. Edw. Blaker. Mr. Fowke Greevile, Col. Wancklyn, Sir Math. Apleyard Sir Jo. Hotham, Sir Wm. Thomas, Sir Wm. Griffith, Sir Jo. Salisbury.

An Under Sheriff ordered into Custody for Contempt.

Ordered, That Herbert Jones Gentleman, the Under Sheriff of the County of Monmouth, for his Contempt and Misdemeanour, in not executing the Order of this House, for summoning the Members that served for the said County to give their Attendance in Parliament; having wholly neglected to give them Notice thereof, though the same came in due time to his Hands; be sent for in Custody of the Serjeant at Arms attending this House.


Ordered, That the Committees be adjourned, except the Committee appointed to inquire into the Miscarriages of the late War; who are to sit this Afternoon.

And then the House adjourned till To-morrow Morning Eight of the Clock.