Illustrative map of London parishes

Pages xxxviii-xxxix

The Commissions for Building Fifty New Churches: The Minute Books, 1711-27, A Calendar. Originally published by London Record Society, London, 1986.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying and sponsored by London Record Society. All rights reserved.


Parishes in London and Westminster, outside the City of London

Parishes in London and Westminster, outside the City of London

The map on the facing page has been redrawn from those accompanying W. Loftie's History of London (1884), for which the base map was Rocque's 'Environs of London' (1763).

Key to numbers

1. St Anne Soho

2. St Paul Covent Garden

3. St Giles in the Fields

4. St George Bloomsbury

5. St George the Martyr Queen's Square (Ormond Street)

6. Gray's Inn (extra-parochial)

7. Lincoln's Inn (extra-parochial)

8. Liberty of the Rolls

9. Temple (extra-parochial)

10. St Clement Danes

10a. St Clement Danes (detached)

11. Precinct of the Savoy

12. St Mary le Strand

13. Liberty of Saffron Hill

14. St Sepulchre

15. Charterhouse (extra-parochial)

16. Liberty of Norton Folgate

17. Old Artillery Ground (extra-parochial)

18. Christ Church Spitalfields

19. Mile End New Town

20. Holy Trinity Minories

21. Tower Liberty

22. St Katharine by the Tower (royal peculiar)

23. St Botolph without Aldgate

24. St John Wapping

25. St Paul Shadwell

26. Ratcliff

27. Christ Church Southwark

28. St Thomas Southwark

29. St Olave Southwark

30. St John Horsleydown

31. St Andrew Holborn

32. St James Clerkenwell

33. St John Clerkenwell