House of Lords Journal Volume 2: 21 May 1604

Pages 302-303

Journal of the House of Lords: Volume 2, 1578-1614. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1767-1830.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

Page 302
Page 303

In this section

DIE Lunæ, videlicet, 21 Maii:

Archiepus. Ebor.
p. Epus. London.
p. Epus. Dunelme.
p. Epus. Winton.
p. Epus. Roffen.
p. Epus. Lincolne.
Epus. Coven. et Lichf.
p. Epus. Wigorn.
Epus. Bathon. et Wellen.
p. Epus. Meneven.
p. Epus. Assaphen.
p. Epus. Cestren.
Epus. Cicestren.
p. Epus. Carliol.
p. Epus. Exon.
p. Epus. Sarum.
p. Epus. Bangor.
p. Epus. Elien.
p. Epus. Peterburgh.
Epus. Landaven.
p. Epus. Hereford.
p. Epus. Norwicen.
p. Epus. Bristoll.
p. Epus. Oxon.
p. Ds. Ellesmere, Cancellar. Angliæ.
p. Comes Dorsett, Thesaur. Angliæ.
Marchio Winton.
Comes Oxon. Magnus Camerarius Angliæ.
p. Comes Notingham, Admirall. et Senescall.
p. Comes Suffolke, Camerarius Hospitii.
p. Comes Northumbriæ.
p. Comes Salopp.
Comes Kanciæ.
Comes Derbie.
p. Comes Wigorn.
Comes Rutland.
Comes Cumbriæ.
p. Comes Sussex.
Comes Huntingdon.
Comes Bathon.
Comes South'ton.
Comes Bedford.
Comes Pembroke.
p. Comes Hertford.
p. Comes Lincolne.
Comes Devon.
p. Comes Northampton.
p. Vicecomes Mountagu.
Vicecomes Bindon.
Ds. Cecyll, Primar. Secretarius.
Ds. Audelcy.
p. Ds. Zouche.
Ds. Willughbie Eresbie.
p. Ds. Lawarr.
p. Ds. Berkley.
p. Ds. Morley.
p. Ds. Stafford.
p. Ds. Scroope.
p. Ds. Dudley.
Ds. Lumley.
p. Ds. Stourton.
p. Ds. Herbert.
Ds. Darcie de Menell.
Ds. Mountegle.
Ds. Sandes.
Ds. Windsor.
Ds. Mordant.
Ds. Crumwell.
p. Ds. Evre.
Ds. Wharton.
Ds. Riche.
p. Ds. Willughbie de Parham.
Ds. Sheffeild.
Ds. Darcie de Chiche.
Ds. Howard de Effingham.
p. Ds. Northe.
Ds. Chandois.
p. Ds. Hunsdon.
p. Ds. St. John.
Ds. Burghley.
Ds. Compton.
p. Ds. Norreys.
p. Ds. Sydney.
p. Ds. Knollys.
p. Ds. Wotton.
Ds. Russell.
Ds. Graie.
p. Ds. Petre.
Ds. Harrington.
p. Ds. Danvers.
p. Ds. Gerard.
p. Ds. Spencer.
p. Ds. Saye.

Aston's Naturalization.

HODIE 1a vice lecta est Billa, An Act for the Naturalizing of Dame Mary Aston, Wife to Sir Roger Aston, Knight, and their Children.

Sir James Hay's Naturalization.

Hodie 2a vice lecta est Billa, An Act for the Naturalizing of Sir James Haye, Knight; appointed to be ingrossed.

Sir John Drummond's ditto.

Hodie 2a vice lecta est Billa, An Act for the Naturalizing of Sir John Drumond, Knight; also to be ingrossed.

Stewards of Court-Leet, etc.

Hodie 1a vice lecta est Billa, An Act to prevent the Over-charge of the People, by Stewards of Court-Leets, and Court-Barons.

Vagabonds, &c.

Hodie 1a vice lecta est Billa, An Act for the Continuance and Explanation of the Statute, made in the 39th Year of the Reign of the late Queen Elizabeth, intituled, An Act for Punishment of Rogues, Vagabonds, and sturdy Beggars.

Vincent's Naturalization.

Hodie 1a vice lecta est Billa, An Act for the Naturalizing of Catherine Vincent, Elizabeth Vincent, Suzan Vincent, Hester Vincent, and Marye Vincent.

Countess of Kildare's Bill.

Hodie 3a vice lecta est Billa, An Act for Confirmation of Letters Patents, made to the Right Honourable Charles Earl of Notingham, Lord Admiral of England, the Earl of Suffolke, Lord Chamberlain of the King's Household, Sir John Leveson, and Sir John Trevor, Knights, for the Use and Benefit of the Lady Frauncis Dowager of Kildare, and now Wife of Henry late Lord Cobham, attainted, sent to the Lower House (together with Mr. Throgmorton's Bill) by Serjeant Crooke and Dr. Stanhope.

The Queen's Jointure.

Hodie 2a vice lecta est Billa, An Act for Confirmation of the Jointure of the most High and Mighty Princess Ann, Queen of England, Scotland, France, and Ireland; appointed to be ingrossed.

Wardships, &c.

A Motion made by the Lord Chancellor, That, according to the Appointment on Saturday last, Answer might be now sent to the Lower House, to their Proposition then made, concerning the Matter of Wards, and Respite of Homage; whereupon it was Resolved by the Lords, That this Message should be sent, by Mr. Serjeant Crooke and Mr. Dr. Stanhope; videlicet, That their Lordships have made Choice of Thirty Committees, for Conference with them about the said Matters; and do desire the Lower House to select a competent Number to join with them in that Conference, and to come sufficiently prepared and authorized to deliver and make known unto their Lordships the Grounds and Reasons which they desire to propound unto His Majesty, concerning those Particulars. The Meeting moved by their Lordships to be upon Friday next, the 25th of May, by Two in the Afternoon, at the Outward Chamber, near the Parliament Presence. Hereunto the Common House returned Answer, That they would give Meeting at the said Time and Place prefixed; and would come (with the Number of Sixty) provided and authorized to deliver their Grounds and Reasons, as the Lords desired. The Lords Committees were these that follow: videlicet,

L. Chancellor.
L. Treasurer.
L. Admiral.
L. Chamberlain.
E. of Northumberland.
E. of Shrewsburie.
E. of Worcester.
E. of Sussex.
E. of Southampton.
E. of Pembroke.
E. of Hartford.
E. of Lincolne.
E. of Devonshire.
E. of Northampton.
L. Bp. of London.
L. Bp. of Durham.
L. Bp. of Winchester.
L. Bp. of Lincolne.
L. Bp. of Chester.
L. Bp. of Elie.
L. Cecill.
L. Zowche.
L. Willughbie of Eresbie.
L. Scroope.
L. Dudley.
L. Sheffeild.
L. Northe.
L. Hunsdon.
L. St. John.
L. Sydney.
L. Knollys.
L. Wotton.
L. Petre.
L. Davers.
L. Spencer.
Lord Chief Justice of England,
Lord Chief Baron,
Mr. Justice Gawdie,
Mr. Serjeant Crooke,
Mr. Attorney General,
To attend the Lords.

Barony of Abergavenny.

The Motion renewed by the Lord Admiral, concerning the Barony of Berguevenie. Agreed by general Assent, That Request shall be made to the King, for ennobling of them both. But a Question moved, Whether it should be recommended to His Majesty to be done by way of Restitution, or Creation. The more Voices for Restitution, and so Agreed. The Lords appointed to present the Motion and humble Request to His Majesty (this present Afternoon) were these that follow: videlicet,

L. Admiral.
E. of Northumberland.
E. of Shrewsburie.
E. of Worcester.
E. of Northampton.
L. Viscount Mountagu.
L. Bp. of London.
L. Bp. of Winchester.
L. Bp. of Chester.
L. Bp. of Elie.
L. Cecill.
L. Zouche.
L. Dudley.
L. Norreys.
L. Danvers.
L. Spencer.


Dominus Cancellarius continuavit præsens Parliamentum usque in diem Mercurii, 23m Maii, hora 2a post meridiem.