House of Lords Journal Volume 2: 3 April 1606

Journal of the House of Lords: Volume 2, 1578-1614. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1767-1830.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

'House of Lords Journal Volume 2: 3 April 1606', in Journal of the House of Lords: Volume 2, 1578-1614, (London, 1767-1830) pp. 405-406. British History Online [accessed 20 April 2024]


In this section

DIE Jovis, videlicet, 3 die Aprilis:

p. Archiepus. Cant.
Epus. London.
p. Epus. Dunelme.
Epus. Winton.
Epus. Lincolne.
Epus. Coven. et Lichf.
p. Epus. Wigorn.
Epus. Bathon. et Wellen.
p. Epus. Meneven.
p. Epus. Carliol.
p. Epus. Exon.
p. Epus. Sarum.
p. Epus. Bangor.
p. Epus. Elien.
p. Epus. Peterburgh.
p. Epus. Landaven.
p. Epus. Hereford.
p. Epus. Norwicen.
Epus. Bristoll.
p. Epus. Oxon.
p. Epus. Assaphen.
p. Epus. Cicestren.
p. Epus. Glocestren.
p. Epus. Roffen.
p. Epus. Cicestren.
p. Johannes Popham, Miles, Cap. Just. Angliæ, Locum tenens.
p. Comes Dorsett, Magnus Thesaur. Angliæ.
Marchio Winton.
Comes Notingham, Magnus Admirallus et Senescallus.
p. Comes Suffolke, Camerarius Hospitii.
Comes Arundell.
Comes Northumbriæ.
p. Comes Salopp.
Comes Kanciæ.
Comes Derbie.
Comes Wigorn.
Comes Rutland.
Comes Cumbriæ.
p. Comes Sussex.
Comes Bathon.
p. Comes South'ton.
Comes Bedford.
p. Comes Pembroke.
Comes Hertford.
Comes Lincolne.
Comes Devon.
Comes Northampton.
Comes Sarum.
Comes Exon.
Comes Mountgomery.
Vicecomes Mountagu.
Vicecomes Bindon.
Vicecomes Lisle.
p. Ds. Bergevenny.
Ds. Audley.
p. Ds. Zouche.
p. Ds. Willughby de Eresbie.
Ds. Lawarr.
Ds. Berkley.
p. Ds. Morley.
Ds. Stafford.
p. Ds. Scroope.
p. Ds. Dudley.
Ds. Lumley.
Ds. Stourton.
Ds. Herbert.
p. Ds. Darcie de Menell.
Ds. Mountegle.
Ds. Sandes.
Ds. Mordaunt.
Ds. Crumwell.
Ds. Evre.
Ds. Wharton.
Ds. Riche.
Ds. Willughby of Parham.
p. Ds. Sheffeild.
Ds. Pagett.
p. Ds. Darcie de Chiche.
Ds. Howard de Effingham.
Ds. Northe.
p. Ds. Chandos.
p. Ds. Hunsdon.
p. Ds. St. John.
p. Ds. Compton.
p. Ds. Norreys.
p. Ds. Knollis.
p. Ds. Wotton.
Ds. Russell.
Ds. Graie.
Ds. Petre.
Ds. Harrington.
Ds. Danvers.
p. Ds. Gerard.
Ds. Spencer.
p. Ds. Saie.
p. Ds. Dennye.
Ds. Stanhope.
Ds. Carew.
Ds. Arundell.
p. Ds. Cavendish.

Bishop of London excused.

EXCUSE made by the Lord Chief Justice for the Absence of the Lord Bishop of London, for Want of Health.

Purveyors, etc.

Hodie 1a vice lecta est Billa, An Act for the better Execution of sundry Statutes, touching Purveyors and Cart-takers.

Attainder of the Offenders in the late Treasons.

Hodie 3a vice lecta est Billa, An Act for the Attainder of divers Offenders, in the late most barbarous, monstrous, detestable, and damnable Treasons.

Sent to the Lower House, with special Recommendation, by

The Lord Chief Baron,
Mr. Baron Snigg,
Mr. Justice Tanfeild,
Mr. Serjeant Crooke,
Sir Edward Stanhope,
Sir Richard Swale.

River Thames to Oxford.

The Amendments on the Bill for clearing the Passage by Water from London, to and beyond the City of Oxford, were this Day Twice read; and thereupon the Bill, with the said Amendments, appointed to be ingrossed.

Roger's Bill.

The Amendments on the Bill of John Roger, Gentleman, were also Twice read; and thereupon the Bill, with the same Amendment or Alteration, appointed to be ingrossed.

Bills from the House of Commons.

Hodie allatæ sunt quatuor Billæ a Domo Communi; presented by Sir Frauncis Hastings and others: videlicet,

1. An Act for the providing of a Learned and Godly Ministry.

2. An Act to enable suspended and deprived Ministers to sue and prosecute their Appeals.

3. An Act for the reviving of a Branch of a Statute of the 23d Year of King Henry the Eighth, for the bringing in of Wines in seasonable Time, with Provision against falsifying of Wines.

4. An Act to restrain the Transportation of Coloured Cloths undrest.

The two first of those Bills were presented with a special Commendation from the Lower House.

Government of Wales.

Hodie 2a vice lecta est Billa, An Act for the better explaining of a former Act, made in the 34th Year of the Reign of King Henry the Eighth, concerning Ordinances made for Wales, and establishing of the Government of the Lord President and Council there.

And was referred to Committees: videlicet,

L. Archbp. of Cant.
L. Treasurer.
L. Chamberlain.
E. of Shrewsburie.
E. of South'ton.
E. of Pembroke.
E. of Northampton.
E. of Salisburie.
E. of Mountgomerie.
L. Bp. of Worcester.
L. Bp. of St. Davids.
L. Bp. of Salisburie.
L. Bp. of Bangor.
L. Bp. of Hereford.
L. Bp. of St. Assaph.
L. Bp. of Glocester.
L. Bergevenny.
L. Zouch.
L. Mountegle.
L. Sheffeild.
L. Chandos.
L. Hunsdon.
L. St. John.
L. Compton.
L. Knollis.
L. Wotton.
L. Gerard.
L. Saie.
Lord Chief Justice of England,
Lord Chief Baron,
Mr. Baron Snigg,
Mr. Justice Tanfeild,
Mr. Serjeant Crooke,
Mr. Attorney General,
Sir Edward Stanhope,
Sir Richard Swale,
To attend the Lords .

Appointed to meet at the Council Chamber at Court, upon Monday next, the 7th of this Instant April, by Two in the Afternoon. The Bill delivered to the Lord Archbishop of Cant.


Dominus Capitalis Justiciarius Angliæ continuavit præsens Parliamentum usque in diem Saturni, videlicet, 5m Aprilis, hora nona.