House of Lords Journal Volume 27: November 1747, 1-10

Pages 143-144

Journal of the House of Lords Volume 27, 1746-1752. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1767-1830.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

Page 143
Page 144

In this section

November 1747, 1-10

Anno 21o Georgii Secundi.

DIE Martis, 10o Novembris.


Domini tam Spirituales quam Temporales præsentes fuerunt:

Fredericus Princeps Walliæ.

Epus. Londin.
Epus. Roffen.
Epus. Litch. & Cov.
Epus. Oxon
Epus. Norwic.
Epus. Bristol
Epus. Cicestriens
Epus. Landavens
Epus. Bath & Wells.
Epus. Bangor.
Epus. Lincoln.
Epus. Asaphen.
Epus. Meneven.
Ds. Hardwicke, Cancellarius.
Dux Dorset, Præses
Comes Gower, C. P. S.
Dux Richmond.
Dux Bolton.
Dux Leeds.
Dux Montagu.
Dux Gordon.
Dux Argyll.
Dux Newcastle.
March. Tweeddale.
March. Lothian.
Comes Pembroke.
Comes Lincoln.
Comes Warwick.
Comes Peterborow.
Comes Chesterfield.
Comes Cardigan.
Comes Doncaster.
Comes Rochford.
Comes Jersey.
Comes Poulet.
Comes Cholmondeley.
Comes Morton.
Comes Moray.
Comes Home.
Comes Lauderdale.
Comes Aberdeen.
Comes Dunmore.
Comes Halifax.
Comes Stanhope.
Comes Macclesfield.
Comes Ker.
Comes Waldegrave.
Comes Ashburnham.
Comes Effingham
Comes Brooke
Comes Fitzwilliam.
Viscount Say & Seale.
Viscount Fauconberg.
Viscount Weymouth.
Viscount Hatton
Viscount St John.
Viscount Falmouth.
Viscount Torrington.
Ds. Willoughby Par.
Ds Berkeley
Ds Mansel
Ds Onslow.
Ds Ducie.
Ds. Raymond.
Ds. Montfort
Ds. Chedworth.
Ds. Edgecumbe.
Ds Sandys
Ds Herbert.
Ds. Anson.

King present.

His Majesty, being seated on the Throne, adorned with His Crown and Regal Ornaments, and attended by His Officers of State, the Prince of Wales, in his Robes, sitting in his Place on His Majesty's Right Hand, the Lords being also in their Robes, commanded the Gentleman Usher of the Black Rod to let the Commons know, "It is His Majesty's Pleasure, that they attend Him immediately, in this House"

Who being come, the Lord Chancellor said,

Commons directed to choose a Speaker.

"My Lords, and Gentlemen,

"His Majesty has been pleased to command me to acquaint you, that He doth not think fit to declare the Causes of calling this Parliament, till there shall be a Speaker of the House of Commons.

"It is therefore His Majesty's Pleasure, that you, Gentlemen of the House of Commons, do immediately repair to the Place where the Commons usually sit, and there choose a fit Person to be your Speaker; and that you present the Person who shall be so chosen, to His Majesty here, for His Royal Approbation, on Thursday next, at Two of the Clock"

And then His Majesty was pleased to retire, and the Commons withdrew.


L Chancellor takes he Oaths.

The Lord Chancellor singly, in the first Place, took the Oaths, and made and subscribed the Declaration, and also took and subscribed the Oath of Abjuration, pursuant to the Statutes.

Return of Peers for Scotland read.

Then the Certificate of the Clerk of the Crown, of the Names of the Sixteen Peers chosen to sit and vote in this House for that Part of Great Britain called Scotland, delivered by the said Clerk of the Crown the 13th Day of August last, was, pursuant to a Direction in the Roll of Standing Orders, read.

Which done,

Prince of Wales takes the Oaths.

His Royal Highness Frederick Prince of Wales took the Oaths, and made and subscribed the Declaration, and also took and subscribed the Oath of Abjuration, pursuant to the Statutes.

After which,

The Lords following also did the same, (videlicet,)

Lords take the Oaths.

Lionel Duke of Dorset, Lord President of the Council John Earl Gower, Lord Privy Seal.

Charles Duke of Richmond.

Charles Duke of Bolton.

Thomas Duke of Leeds.

John Duke of Montagu

Cosmo George Duke of Gordon.

Archibald Duke of Argyll

Thomas Duke of Newcastle.

John Marquis of Tweeddale.

William Marquis of Lothian.

Heary Earl of Pembroke and Montgomery.

Heary Earl of Lincoln

Edward Earl of Warwick and Holland.

Charles Earl of Peterborow and Monmouth.

Philip Earl of Chesterfield.

George Earl of Cardigan.

Francis Earl of Doncaster.

William Henry Earl of Rochford

William Earl of Jersey.

John Earl Poulet.

George Earl Cholmondeley.

James Earl of Morton

James Earl of Moray

William Earl of Horie

James Earl of Louderdale.

George Earl of Aberdeen

John Earl of Dunmore

George Earl of Halifax.

Philip Earl of Stanhope

George Earl of Macclesfield

Robert Earl Ker

James Earl Waldegrave

John Earl of Ashburnham

Thomas Earl of Effingham.

William Earl Fitzwilliam

Richard Viscount Say and Seale.

Thomas Viscount Fauconberg.

Thomas Viscount Weymouth.

John Viscount St John.

Hugh Viscount Falmouth.

Edmund Lord Bishop of London.

Joseph Lord Bishop of Rochester.

Thomas Lord Bishop of Oxford.

Thomas Lord Bishop of Norwich.

Joseph Lord Bishop of Bristol.

Matthias Lord Bishop of Chichester.

John Lord Bishop of Landaff

Matthew Lord Bishop of Bangor.

John Lord Bishop of Lincoln.

Samuel Lord Bishop of St. Asaph.

James Lord Bishop of Hereford.

Hugh Lord Willoughby of Parham.

John Lord Berkeley of Stratton.

Matthew Lord Ducie.

Robert Lord Raymond.

Henry Lord Montfort.

John Lord Chedworth.

Richard Lord Edgecumbe.

Samuel Lord Sandys.

Henry Lord Herbert.

George Lord Anson.


Dominus Cancellarius declaravit præsens Parliamentum continuandum esse usque ad et in diem Jovis, duodecimum diem instantis Novembris, hora undecima Auroræ, Dominis sic decernentibus.