House of Lords Journal Volume 3: 5 February 1621

Pages 9-11

Journal of the House of Lords: Volume 3, 1620-1628. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1767-1830.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

Page 9
Page 10
Page 11

In this section

DIE Lunæ, videlicet, 5 die Februarii,


Domini tam Spirituales quam Temporales, quorum nomina subscribuntur, præsentes fuerunt:

p. Carolus Princeps Walliæ, etc.

p. Archiepus. Cant.
Archiepus. Eborum.
Epus. London.
p. Epus. Dunelm.
p. Epus. Winton.
Epus. Exon.
p. Epus. Petriburgh.
p. Epus. Hereforden.
p. Epus. Wigorn.
p. Epus. Asaphen.
p. Epus. Norwicen.
p. Epus. Roffen.
p. Epus. Glocestren.
p. Epus. Meneven.
p. Epus. Covent. et Leich.
p. Epus. Carlien.
Epus. Bathon et Well.
Epus. Bangor.
Epus. Elien.
p. Epus. Lincoln.
p. Epus. Cicestren.
p. Epus. Oxon.
p. Epus. Bristol.
p. Epus. Cestren.
p. Epus. Landaven.
p. Epus. Sarum.
p. Vicecomes St. Alban, Mag. Canc. Angliæ.
p. Vicecomes Maundevil, Mag. Thes. Angliæ.
p. Comes Wigorn, Ds. Custos Privati Sigilli.
p. Marchio Buck. Mag. Admirallus Angliæ.
Marchio Winton.
p. Comes Oxon. Mag. Camer. Angliæ.
p. Comes Richmond, Sen. Hospitii.
Comes Pembroc. Cam. Hospitii.
p. Comes Arundell.
Comes Northumbr.
Comes Nottingham.
Comes Salop.
Comes Kantiæ.
Comes Derbie.
p. Comes Rutland.
p. Comes Cumbriæ.
p. Comes Sussex.
p. Comes Huntingdon.
Comes Bathon.
p. Comes South'ton.
Comes Bedford.
p. Comes Hertford.
p. Comes Essex.
p. Comes Lincoln.
p. Comes Suffolciæ.
p. Comes Dorsett.
Comes Sarum.
p. Comes Exon.
p. Comes Mountgomery.
p. Comes Bridgwater.
p. Comes Leicestr.
p. Comes North'ton.
p. Comes Warwic.
p. Comes Devon.
p. Comes Cantabrig.
p. Comes March.
p. Comes Holdernesse.
p. Comes Berks.
Vicecomes Mountague.
Vicecomes Wallingford.
p. Vicecomes Doncastr.
Vicecomes Purbeck.
Vicecomes Maunsfeild.
Vicecomes Feildinge.
p. Ds. Abergaveny.
p. Ds. Audeley.
p. Ds. Zouch.
Ds. Willoughby de Er.
Ds. Morley et Mountegle.
Ds. Dacres de H.
p. Ds. Stafford.
p. Ds. Scrope.
p. Ds. Duddeley.
p. Ds. Stourton.
Ds. Herbert.
p. Ds. Darce de M.
Ds. Sandis.
Ds. Vaux.
p. Ds. Windsor.
p. Ds. Wentwoorth.
Ds. Mordant.
p. Ds. Cromwell.
Ds. Eure.
Ds. Wharton.
Ds. Willoughby de P.
p. Ds. Sheffeild.
p. Ds. Pagett.
Ds. Darce de Ch.
p. Ds. North.
p. Ds. Chandois.
p. Ds. Hunsdon.
p. Ds. St. John de B.
p. Ds. Howard de W.
Ds. Wotton.
Ds. Russell.
Ds. Gray de G.
Ds. Petre.
p. Ds. Danvers.
Ds. Gerard.
p. Ds. Spencer.
p. Ds. Say et Seale.
Ds. Denny.
Ds. Stanhope de Harr.
p. Ds. Carew.
Ds. Arundell.
Ds. Knyvett.
Ds. Houghton.
Ds. Teynham.
p. Ds. Stanhope de Shelf.
Ds. Noel.
p. Ds. Digby.

Oath of Allegiance.

THE Lord Chancellor signified His Majesty's Pleasure, That such Lords as had not already taken the Oath of Allegiance should now take the same; and, upon his Lordship's Motion, it was generally and willingly agreed, That all their Lordships would in the House take the same Oath.

Proxies and Writs of Summons to be deliver'd to the Clerk.

The Lord Chancellor further moved, That such as have any Proxy from any Lord, licensed by His Majesty to be absent, should cause the same to be delivered to the Clerk of this House; and likewise, That every Lord would cause the Writ of Summons to him directed to be given to the same Clerk, to the End the same Proxies and Writs may be entered, whereby it may appear who be absent.

Archbp. of York's Leave to be absent.

The Lord Chancellor excused the Absence of the Lord Archbishop of Yorke.

The Lord North declared unto the Lords, that, having read and considered of the Writ of Summons to his Lordship directed, he found the same to vary from the former and ancient Form of Writs of that Nature. The Consideration whereof was, by their Lordships, referred to the Committees, which shall be nominated and appointed, to take Consideration of the Customs and Orders of the House, and Privileges of the Peers of the Kingdom, or Lords of Parliament.

Committee of Privileges.

The Lords named and appointed to take Consideration of the Customs and Orders of this House, and of the Privileges of the Peers of the Kingdom, and Lords of Parliament: videlicet,

L. Archbp. of Cant.
L. Privy Seal.
E. of Oxford.
L. Chamberlain.
E. of Arundell.
E. of Huntingdon.
E. of South'ton.
E. of Suffolk.
E. of Dorsett.
E. of North'ton.
E. of Warwick.
L. Bp. of Durham.
L. Bp. of Winchester.
L. Bp. of Peterburgh.
L. Bp. of Hereford.
L. Bp. of Covent. and Lichs.
L. Bp. of Lincolne.
L. Zouch.
L. Scrope.
L. Duddeley.
L. Darce de M.
L. Wentwoorth.
L. Sheffeild.
L. Pagett.
L. North.
L. Chandois.
L. Hunsdon.
L. Danvers.
L. Spencer.
L. Say.
L. Denny.
L. Carew.

And their Lordships are to call to attend them, as they shall see Cause.

The Lord Chief Justice of the King's Bench, Mr. Justice Doddridge, Mr. Serjeant Crew, Mr. Attorney General, and such other of His Majesty's Learned Counsel as their Lordships shall think fit.

The Lords Committees for the Privileges, etc. are to meet in the Painted Chamber, after the Adjournment of the Court, this present Day.

Lords take the Oath of Allegiance.

This Day, after the Court was adjourned, the Lords whose Names are underwritten did, in Presence of a competent Number of Lords, such as by the Law in that Behalf is requisite, kneeling in the Upper End of the House, freely and voluntarily take the Oath of Allegiance, provided and mentioned in the Parliament, Anno tertio Domini Regis Jacobi: videlicet,

L. Chancellor.
L. Treasurer.
L. Admiral.
E. of Oxford.
L. Steward.
E. of Lincolne.
E. of Bridgewater.
E. of Warwick.
E. of Cambridge.
E. of March.
E. of Holdernesse.
L. Gerard.
L. Stanhope of Shelford.
Vicecomes Doncaster.
Vicecomes Maunsfeild.
Vicecomes Feilding.
L. Bp. of Covent. and Lich.
L. Bp. of Lincolne.
L. Audeley.
L. Dacres.
L. Cromwell.
L. St. John.
L. Noel.
L. Digby.


DOMINUS Cancellarius declaravit præsens Parliamentum continuandum esse usque in diem crastinum, videlicet, sextum diem instantis Februarii, hora nona, Dominis sic decernentibus.