January 1645: Ordinance for the Parliament's Commissioners, or any Ten of them, to treat with the King's Commissioners.

Page 612

Acts and Ordinances of the Interregnum, 1642-1660. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1911.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.


January, 1645

[31 January, 1644/5.]

Be it Ordained, by the Lords and Commons assembled in Parliament, That Algernon Earl of Northumberland, Phillip Earl of Pembrooke and Mountgomery, William Earl of Salisbury, Bazill Earl of Denbigh, Thomas Lord Viscount Wenman, Denzill Hollis, Wm. Pierrepont, Sir Henry Vane Junior, Oliver St. John, Bulstrode Whitlocke, John Crewe, and Edmond Prideaux, shall have Power and Authority, and are hereby authorized, to join with the Commissioners of the Parliament of Scotland, together with Alexander Henderson upon the Propositions concerning Religion only, or any Ten of them, whereof some of either House of the Parliament of England and some of the Commissioners of the Kingdom of Scotland are to be present, to treat with the Lord Duke of Richmond, the Marquis of Hertford, the Earl of Southampton, the Earl of Kingston, and Lord Dunsmore, Lord Capell, Lord Seymor, Sir Christopher Hatton, Sir John Culpepper Sir Edward Nicholas, Sir Edward Hide Sir Richard Lane, Sir Orlando Bridgman, Sir Thomas Gardiner Mr. John Ashburnham, and Mr. Jeffery Palmer or any Ten of them, upon the Propositions formerly sent to His Majesty (for a safe and well-grounded Peace), from His Majesty's humble and loyal Subjects assembled in the Parliaments of both Kingdoms, together with Dr. Stewart upon the Propositions concerning Religion only, and upon His Majesty's Propositions, according to such Instructions as have been given to them or as they from Time to Time shall receive from both Houses of Parliament.