April 1645: Ordinance appointing a Committee for the Admiralty and Cinque Ports.

Page 669

Acts and Ordinances of the Interregnum, 1642-1660. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1911.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.


April, 1645

[19 April, 1645.]

It is this Day Ordered, by the Lords and Commons in Parliament assembled, That Algernon Earl of Northumberland, Phillip Earl of Pembroke & Mountgomery, Robert Earl of Essex, Robert Earl of Warwick, William Viscount Say & Seale, Dudley Lord North, Denzill Holles Esquire, Sir Walter Erle, Sir Christofer Wray, Sir Phill Stapleton, Sir John Evelyn Junior, John Seldon Esquire, Doctor Thomas Eden, Bulstrode Whitlock Esquire, Giles Greene Esquire, John Lisle Esquire, John Rolle Esquire, and Allexander Bence Esquire, shall be a Committee of Lords and Commons; and they, or any Five of them, sitting the Committee, are hereby authorized and enabled to do and execute all such Things as appertain to the Office of Lord High Admiral of England, and Lord Warden of the Cinque Ports, in as ample Manner, and to all Intents and Purposes, as the Lord High Admiral, or Lord Warden of the Cinque Ports, have used, and ought to do, for the Good and Safety of the Kingdom, and due Government of the Affairs and Persons belonging to the said Offices; which Committee have Power and Authority to nominate and appoint all Commanders and Officers to be employed in the Admiralty and Navy, and to present them to both Houses for their Approbation: Provided, and it is hereby Ordained, That this Ordinance, and every Clause therein contained, shall remain and be in Force until the First Day of October next coming, and no longer.