May 1647: Ordinance for the Persons chosen by the City of London to have the Power of their Militia.

Page 928

Acts and Ordinances of the Interregnum, 1642-1660. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1911.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.


May, 1647

[4 May, 1647.]

Whereas the Lord Mayor, Aldermen, and Commons, of the City of London, in Common Council assembled, in Pursuance of an Ordinance of Parliament, of 16° April, 1647, have nominated, and presented to both Houses of Parliament, the Lord Mayor and Sheriffs of the City of London for the Time being, Sir John Wollaston Knight, Thomas Adams, John Langham, James Bunce, William Gibbs, Samuell Avery, and John Bide, Aldermen of the said City, and Major-General Skippon, and Francis West Lieutenant of the Tower, Christopher Pack, Captain John Jones, Colonel John Bellamy, Lieutenant-Colonel Nathaniel Camfeild, Captain Richard Venner, Edwin Browne, Walter Boothby, Colonel Robert Manwaringe, Thomas Arnold, Tempest Milner, Maurice Gethin, Colonel Thomas Gower, Colonel Edward Hooker, Richard Glyer, Colonel Richard Turner, William Kendall, Lieutenant-Colonel Lawrence Bromefeild, Lieutenant Colonel Edward Bellamy, and John Grace, as fit Persons to be a Committee for the Militia of the City of London and Liberties thereof, and all other Places within the Line of Communication and Weekly Bills of Mortality: The Lords and Commons do hereby approve of the said Persons, to be a Committee as aforesaid; and the said Lords and Commons do hereby Ordain, That the said Persons, or any Nine of them, whereof Three to be Aldermen and Six to be Commons, are hereby constituted a Committee for the said Militia, to order and direct the same, according to the true Intent and Meaning of the said Ordinance of Parliament.