June 1643: A Particular of the Names of the Licensers, who are appointed by the House of Commons for Printing; According to an Order of the Lords and Commons, Dated the [14th June 1643]

Pages 186-187

Acts and Ordinances of the Interregnum, 1642-1660. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1911.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.


June 1643

14 of June, 1643.

The Names of the Licensers for Printing Books of Divinity, Master Thomas Gottaker, Mr. John Downham, Mr. Callibut Downing, Doctor Thomas Temple, Master Joseph Carrell, Master Edmond Callamy, Mr. Carter of Yorkshire, Master Charles Herle, Master James Cranford, Master Obodiah Sedgwicke, Master Batchelour, Master John Ellis, junior.

For Law Books.

Sir John Bramston, Master Serjeant Rolle, Master Serjeant Phesant, Master Serjeant Termine.

For Physick and Chyrurgery Books.

The President and foure Sensories for the time being.

For Civil and Canon Law Books.

Sir Nathaniel Brent, or by any three of the Doctors of the Civill Law.

For Books of Heraldry, Titles of Honour and Arms.

One of the three Heralds, Kings of Arms.

For Books of Philosophy History, Poetry, Morality and Arts.

Sir Nathaniel Brent, Master Langley the Schoolmaster of Pauls, Master Farnaby.

For Declarations, Ordinances, Fast-Sermons, and other things agreed on by Order of one or both Houses of Parliament.

By Order of either House of Parliament, or Committee for Printing; under their or either of their hands in writing.

For small Pamphlets, Portractures, Pictures, and the like.

The Clerke of the Company of Stationers for the time being.

For the Mathematicks, Almanacks, and Prognostications.

The Reader for the time being of Gresham-Colledge, or Master John Booker.

Hen. Elsynge, Cler. Parl. D. Com.