December 1642: An Ordinance for the Association of the Counties of Northampton, Leicester, Derby, Rutland, Nottingham, Huntingdon, Bedford, and Buckingham, for the mutuall defence one of another. With the names of the Committees in the said Counties, for the same purpose.

Pages 49-51

Acts and Ordinances of the Interregnum, 1642-1660. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1911.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.


December 1642

[15 December, 1642.]

Counties of Leicester, Derby, etc., to enter into association for mutual defence.; Names of Persons to form Committee.; Committee to raise Men, Horses, etc., for suppression of Rebellion.; Lord Gray to be Major-General.; Repayment of Money, Horses, etc. lent, with interest, secured on the public faith.

Whereas His Majesty, by the instigation and advice of divers about His Royall person, hath raised forces against the Parliament, for the most part consisting of Papists, notorious Delinquents, and other malignant persons, and that hereby the well-affected of the Kingdome are ruinated in their estates, and divers outrages committed upon their persons; The Lords and Commons in Parliament doe therefore declare, That it is very requisite that the Counties of Leicester, Derby, Nottingham, Rutland, Northampton, Buckingham, Bedford, and Huntingdon, should enter into an association for the mutuall defence and safety of each other; And that Thomas Lord Gray, Sir Edward Hartop Knight, Sir Arthur Hazelrig, Baronets, Sir Thomas Hartop, Sir Edward Hartop, Knights, John Saint John, William Roberts, Peter Temple, William Gervase, Richard Bent, Thomas Hazelrig, William Danvers, John Goodman, Simon Ridly, William Bembridge, Thomas Brudnell, Thomas Babington, Thomas Merry, Thomas Beaumont, Arthur Stanley, Thomas Cotton, William Hewet, Esquires; Richard Ludlam, Maior of the Town of Leicester, and William Stanley, Alderman of the said Town; Sir George Gresley, Sir John Carson, Knight and Baronet; Sir John Gell, Sir Edward Coke Senior, Baronets; Sir Edward Leech, Sir J. Cooke, junior, Sir Samuel Sleigh, Knights, Thomas Gresley, Francis Burdet, Christopher Harton, Francis Monday, Thomas Gell, Francis Revell, Henry Wigtall, Nathaniel Hallois, Luke Whittington, Esquires of the County of Derby, Francis Pierpoint, Esquire, Sir Francis Molineux, Baronet, Sir Francis Thornhagh, Sir Hardolph Wastney, Knights, John Hutchinson, Francis Thornhagh, George Hutchinson, Charles White, Joseph Widmorepoole, Henry St. Cheverill, John Millington, Esquire; the Maior of the Town and County of Nottingham for the time being, James Chadwicke, deputy Recorder, John James and William Drewry, Aldermen of the said Town of Nottingham, Thomas Salisbury, Edward Harrington, Robert Horsman, Evers Ermin, Joh. Osborne, Christopher Browne, Samuel Barker, and Robert Horsman, jr. Esquires, of the County of Rutland, Sir Peter Temple, Sir Will. Drake, Sir Joh. Burlace, Sir Will. Andrews, Sir Rich. Pigot, Sir Rich. Ingoldsby, Sir Henry Proby, Sir Joh. Parsons, Sir Thomas Saunders, Joh. Hampden, Arthur Goodwin, Edward Waller of Beckingsfield Esquire, Rich. Winwood, Bolstrode Whitelock, Thos. Tyrrill, Edw. Waller, Henry Bolstrode, Rich. Greenville, Edw. West, Richard Sergeant, Esquire, of the County of Buckingham. Edward Montague, Will. Fitz. William, Esquire; Sir Joh. Driden, Sir Christopher Yelverton, Sir Gilbert Pickering, Zouch Tate, Joh. Crew, Esq., Members of the House of Commons; Sir Rowland Saint John, Sir Edward Nicholls, Sir Jo. Norwich, Sir Humphrey Orme, Sir Richard Samuel, Richard Knightly of Fawcely, Robert Mildmay, Jo. Barnard, Edw. Harby, Edw. Onely, Edw. Bagshaw, Joh. Cartwright, Phillip Holman, Samuel Danvers, Rich. Samuel, Edw. Farmer, Joh. Sawyer, Joh. Wyrley, Edw. Shugburgh, Edw. Hanbury, William Lisle, Joh. Blincoe, Joh. Claypole, Francis Quarles, and John Norton, Esquires, the Maior of the Town of Northampton, for the time being, Sir Beauchamp Saint John, Sir Joh. Burgoyne, Thos. Rolte, William Duncombe, Beverley, Tho. Sadler, Samuel Brow, Humphrey Monox, Joh. Vaux, Robert Stanton, Esquires, Mr. Carter of Kempson, of the County of Bedford; Sir William Armin, Sir Thomas Cotton, Sir J. Hewet, Ounsloe Winch, Torrell Joselyne, Joh. Castle, Thomas Templar, Oliver Cromwell, James Ravencroft, Robert Bernard, Esquires, of the County of Huntingdon, shall be a Committee to meet at such times and places as they shall thinke fit, for raising of Men, Horses, Armes, Ammunition, upon the Propositions formerly agreed on by both Houses of Parliament, or by any other way that they shall judge convenient for the suppressing of the present rebellion, stirred up by the malignant persons, who desire to subvert the happinesse of this Kingdome; and shall have power to all things necessary thereunto, and upon all occasions to join with any other Forces raised by the same authority: and that the Lord Gray, sonne to the Earle of Stanford, having commission from the Earle of Essex, Lord Generall, shall command in chiefe as Major Generall of the Forces to be so raised, and have power to lead and carry the said Forces to such places as he shall think fit; and to subdue, fight with, kill, slay and imprison all such persons as shall leavy warre without the consent of both Houses of Parliament. And, that, what money, Horses, Armes, or Ammunition, shall be contributed by any person towards this service, shall be secured to be repayd with interest, after 8l. per cent. by the publique faith of both Houses of Parliament, upon the showing of an Acquittance or Certificate under the hands of any foure of the said Committee for the receipt of the said moneys, or apprisement of the said Horses, Armes, or Ammunition; And the said moneys so brought in shall be issued forth in every of the said Counties, by the appointment of any foure of the said Committee of that County where it shall be contributed.