July 1645: An Ordinance whereby a Committee of Lords and Commons is appointed to receive, prepare and consider of Propositions for the speedy relief of Ireland.

Pages 722-723

Acts and Ordinances of the Interregnum, 1642-1660. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1911.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.


July, 1645

[1 July, 1645.]

Names of Committee to prepare propositions for relief of Ireland.

Whereas late informations are come from several parts of Ireland, and more particularly from the Province of Munster, importing the great extremities and danger that Kingdom is re duced unto, which must of necessity be taken into a serious and speedy consideration: Be it therefore Ordained by the Lords and Commons assembled in Parliament, That the Earl of Kent, Earl of Pembroke, Earl of Suffolk, Earl of Salisbury, Earl of Denby, Earl of Bullinbroke, Lord North, Lord Willoughby, Lord Montague, Lord Howard, Mr. Hollis, Colonel William Jephson, Sir Iohn Clothworthy, Sir Iohn Evelin, Senior, Mr. Whitehead, Master Robert Goodwyn, Mr. Lisle, Mr. Raynolds, Sir William Brereton, Mr. Maynard, Mr. Rigby, Colonel Moor, Mr. Roll, Sir Walter Erle, Mr. Knightly and Mr. Tate, Sir Philip Stapleton, Sir Will. Strickland, Colonel Morley, Mr. Button, or any five of them, be a Committee to receive, prepare and consider of Propositions for the speedy relief of that Kingdom, and particularly for the Province of Munster, and to prepare them in such order for the two Houses of Parliament, as may most facilitate the affairs of that distressed Kingdom; And are to sit constantly for the affairs aforesaid, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays, and oftner as occasion shall require, in such place as they shall think fit.