December 1653: An Act for constituting Commissioners for Ordering and Managing the Affairs of the Admiralty and Navy.

Pages 812-813

Acts and Ordinances of the Interregnum, 1642-1660. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1911.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.


December, 1653

[3 December, 1653.]

Names of Commissioners for Admiralty and Navy.

Be it Enacted by this present Parliament, and it is hereby Enacted, That General Robert Blake, General George Monck, General John Disbrow, General William Pen, Colonel Philip Jones, Colonel John Clerk, John Stone Esq; Edward Horseman Esq; Major William Burton, Vincent Gookin Esq; Lieutenant Colonel Thomas Kelsey, or any three or more of them, shall be, and hereby are constituted and appointed Commissioners for ordering, managing, directing and carrying on the Affairs of the Admiralty and Navy of this Commonwealth, and shall have, and hereby have, committed unto them, All and every the Powers specified in an Act of this present Parliament, Entituled, An Act for constituting Commissioners for ordering and managing the Affairs of the Admiralty and Navy; and shall and may proceed therein, an execute the same, according to the several Rules and Limitations expressed in the said Act; And this Act is to continue for the space of Six Moneths and no longer, from the Third day of December, One thousand six hundred fifty and three.