Clerks 1660-c. 1689

Page 33

Office-Holders in Modern Britain: Volume 1, Treasury Officials 1660-1870. Originally published by University of London, London, 1972.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.


In this section

Clerks 1660-c. 1689

The state of the evidence is such that it is impossible to discern the principles governing the clerical structure of the Treasury before 1689. (fn. 1) The following list notes the names of those persons who occur as Clerks before that date. Such evidence as there is suggests that until 1679 it was unusual for Clerks to remain in the service of the Treasury after their patrons, whether they were Treasurers, Commissioners or Secretaries, had left office. Thereafter they established themselves on a more permanent footing. A significant number of Clerks whose names occur for the first time during Guy's first secretaryship (1679-89) remained in office until their deaths. (fn. 2)

While there is evidence that salaries were paid to Clerks as early as 1676, (fn. 3) it seems probable that for the most part they were dependent on personal fees for their remuneration at least until the funding of the fees which had occurred by 1685.


By 1665 Charnock, R.
By 1667 Abbott, L.
By 1669 Lloyd, P.
By 1671 Wolseley, R.
Aram, T.
1673 Fleetwood, A.
c. 1675 Lowndes, W.
By 1676 Dorney, J.
By 1680 Shaw, W.
By 1681 Aldworth, R.
Squibb, R.
1684 Tilson, C.
By 1686 Godolphin, C.
By 1687 Powys, R.


  • 1. See Introduction, pp. 1-2. There are suggestions that some form of clerical organisation may have existed as early as 1673 but its nature is obscure (Letters to Sir Joseph Williamson 1673-4, ed. W. D. Christie (Camden 2nd ser., viii, IX, 1874), i, 67, 117).
  • 2. Witness the careers of Langford, Shaw, Squibb, Tilson and Powys.
  • 3. See the case of Dorney (CTB, v, 1348).