An Inventory of the Historical Monuments in Dorset, Volume 1, West. Originally published by Her Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1952.
This free content was digitised by double rekeying and sponsored by English Heritage. All rights reserved.
81 SHERBORNE (E.b.)
(O.S. 6 in. (a)VI, S.W. (b)XI, N.E.)
Sherborne is a parish and town near the N. border of the county. The abbey church, the remains of the abbey buildings (now the School), Sherborne Hospital (Almshouse of SS. John the Baptist and John the Evangelist) and Lord Digby's School are the principal monuments. The town also contains numerous houses of minor interest.
a(1) Pavement. A portion of a Roman pavement is said to have been found on the site of the abbey "some time ago" (P. D. Carpenter in Dorset N.H. and Ant. F.C., XII, p. xxii).
b(2) Pavement (Plate 127) found at Lenthay Green, immediately S. of the railway and over 1 m. S.W. of the church, in 1836. It has opposite borders plain and chequered respectively, enclosing an eight-pointed star of interlaced guilloche squares. Within this frame a large naked Apollo sits playing the lyre while Marsyas prances before him, blowing on the double flute. This crude yet lively provincial version of a classical myth is now reset in the dairy floor at Sherborne Castle (Castleton); it is only the centre portion of the pavement which was originally some 13 ft. square. (B.A.A. Journ., I, p. 57; C. Warne, Dorsetshire, Vestiges I.)
a(3) Abbey Church Of St. Mary (Plates 161, 162, 163, 164) stands in the middle of the town. The walls are of local rubble with dressings and much ashlarfacing of Ham Hill stone; the roofs are lead-covered. The bishop's see of Wessex W. of Selwood was established at Sherborne in 705 and the church remained a cathedral till the removal of the see to Old Sarum in Sarum in 1075. In 998 the minster was brought under the rule of St. Benedict by Bishop Wulfsige and the abbacy was not separated from the bishopric till 1122. Two Anglo-Saxon kings, Ethelbald and Ethelbert, were buried in the early church but the only visible surviving portion of a pre-Conquest church is the doorway or archway in the W. wall of the present N. aisle, which may be assigned to the 10th century; how much more of the W. wall is of this period it is difficult to say, but the rubble walling at the ends of both aisles may be early. The form of the early church at Sherborne is considered more fully in a section of the preface, see p. xlvii. In the first half of the 12th century a general rebuilding of the church was undertaken. This building consisted of a square-ended Presbytery with Aisles probably stopping one bay short of the presbytery, Transepts with small square eastern Chapels, Central Tower, Aisled Nave and S. Porch (see plan, preface, p. xlix); of this building parts of the transepts, crossing, N. transeptal chapel, N. aisle of the presbytery, nave, aisles and S. porch survive and the E. end of the church is determined by the plinths of two pilaster-buttresses in the W. wall of the ambulatory. Excavations made shortly before 1877 exposed the moulded plinth of the S. side wall of a building or porch to the W. of the nave; the only evidence of date is the moulding still in part visible; this may reasonably be assigned to the 10th century. The discovery in 1949 of the foundations of a substantial wall 20 ft. W. of the W. front may indicate that this W. annexe was in fact a W. tower. Early in the 13th century the Lady Chapel was built and must have been connected with the main building by extension of the presbytery aisles and an ambulatory across the E. end; to the same period belongs the so-called Bishop Roger's Chapel. The parish church of All Hallows was built probably late in the 14th century, to the W. of the nave; about the same time the chapels of St. Katherine and the Holy Sepulchre were built or rebuilt. The general remodelling of the church was begun under Abbot John Brunying (1415–36) and continued under Abbot William Bradford (1436–59); the work began with the presbytery and its aisles and Ambulatory followed by the crossing; the chapel of St. Mary le Bow was added to the S. of the Lady Chapel and a second chapel was, at any rate, projected in the corresponding position on the N. As a result of a riot in 1437 much of the church was burnt and marks of the fire can be seen on the walls of the crossing, presbytery and its aisles; after this event the reconstruction was resumed and the vaulting introduced, the E. arch of the crossing being replaced by a wider arch ranging with the vault. Abbot Peter Ramsam (1475–1504) reconstructed the nave and vaulted it; he probably retained the core of the piers of the two western bays but rebuilt the upper storey entirely, as the bays of the two parts do not correspond; he also vaulted the aisles and N. transept and extended the chapel of St. Mary le Bow to the E. The abbey was dissolved in 1539 and the buildings granted to Sir John Horsey; he sold the abbey-church, except the eastern chapels, to the townspeople who took possession in 1540; the old parish-church of All Hallows was then abandoned and demolished. Horsey sold the eastern chapels to the hospital which in turn sold them in 1560 to the school; they were partly pulled down and partly converted into a headmaster's house.
The general restoration of the church was begun in 1849 when the nave, aisles and transepts were restored and the S. porch rebuilt; the restoration was extended to the eastern arm of the church in 1856–8 and in 1884–5 the tower was restored, the E. and W. walls being rebuilt and the pinnacles added. The remains of the eastern chapels were re-acquired by the church in 1919 and in 1921–34 they were restored and a new E. end to the Lady Chapel was built to the design of W. D. Caröe. The external dressings of the church have been very largely restored.
The church is the most important architectural monument in the county and among the fittings the monuments and stalls are noteworthy. Sir Thomas Wyatt, the poet, was buried here (1542) without memorial.
Architectural Description—The Lady Chapel (28½ ft. by 21½ ft.) was a 13th-century building probably of three bays; it is now of two bays of which the eastern is modern; between the bays is a modern arcade of three bays and above it is a restored 16th-century window of eight lights in a square head; below the springing of the modern arches in both the N. and S. walls is part of the shafted W. splay of a 13th-century window. The W. bay has in both the N. and S. walls the remains of a 13th-century window with a moulded two-centred rear-arch, label with foliage-stops, attached and filleted shafts to the splays and modern marble shafts with original stiff-leaf foliage-capitals of stone; the wall has been cut away between the splays and down to the ground but on the S. side the gap is spanned by a modern arch incorporating parts of a 15th-century rib on the S. face. The 13th-century vault of this bay is quadripartite with moulded wall, diagonal and cross ribs and a mutilated foliage-boss at the intersection, the vault springs from corbel-shafts with foliage-capitals (Plate 4), marble abaci and modern bases and corbels; on the eastern corbels are the springers of the destroyed vault of the next bay to the E. The partly restored 13th-century arch (Plate 165) in the W. wall is two-centred and of three moulded orders on the W. face and two moulded orders with a label on the E. face; the latter has foliage-stops, one of which is modern; the responds have each four detached marble shafts with moulded bases and capitals (Plate 4) carved with stiff-leaf foliage; all but one of the marble shafts are modern.
The Vestry, N. of the Lady Chapel, was built or rebuilt late in the 16th or early in the 17th century and is a three-storeyed building. Each floor has in the E. wall a window of six lights in a square head with a label. In the N. wall, each upper floor has a similar window of four lights and, in the gable, is a third window of three lights. In the W. wall of the ground floor is a modern archway and S. of it, on the E. face, is a 15th-century string-course with carved paterae and above it coupled panels with cinque-foiled ogee heads.
The Chapel of St. Mary le Bow (14¾ ft. by 12½ ft.) was built in the 15th century and extended, probably by two bays, to the E. by Abbot Ramsam c. 1500; this extension was demolished c. 1560, the present E. wall built and the S. front partly remodelled. The 16th-century E. wall has a window of two square-headed lights with a label; further N. is a fireplace with moulded jambs and four-centred head and a much restored doorway with moulded jambs, two-centred arch and one foliated spandrel; on the outer face of the wall is a panel with the date 1560–1. Within the wall is a partly restored arch of c. 1500, two-centred and moulded and with shafted responds; the reveals and arch-soffit have panelling with trefoiled ogee heads; this arch forms a recess stopping above the doorway. The destroyed extension of the chapel is now represented by the W. reveals of wall-arches in the N. and S. walls immediately adjoining the present E. wall; they have each ranges of coupled panels with trefoiled ogee and traceried heads; the reveals have attached shafts with the initial P. for Peter Ramsam. The S. wall (Plate 162) has two-stage buttresses with restored panelled and crocketed pinnacles and is finished with a parapet of quatre-foiled panels enclosing carved bosses. The two 16th-century windows, one above the other, are of four square-headed lights; the lower one has a label and both are set in the splays and segmental-pointed rear-arch of a 15th-century window, with coupled trefoiled panelling; between the windows are eighteen much-weathered shields, some entirely defaced, but now or formerly with the initials of the Governors of the school c. 1560; they have been identified as follows—William Downton, John Hillarde, Robert Jennynge, Lawrence Bishop, Richard Okeley, Robert Wase, Robert Albon, Lawrence Swetnaham, Richard Cole, William Coothe, John Sowthey, John Frye, Hugh Mayre, Richard Cowper, Anthony Delabere, Thomas Wynnyff, Henry Sembarbe, Jerves Asshley, also a row of six shields-of-arms of Thornhull, Moleyns, defaced [Combe], Leweston, Horsey, defaced, said to have been Jewel Bishop of Salisbury; above the upper window is a large panel with the royal arms of Edward VI flanked by twisted half-shafts with carved corbels and caps and short finials; below the E. corbel is a defaced shield-of-arms of Leweston. The sundial on the face of the gable behind the parapet appears to have been completely renewed. The chapel has a modern stone vault in continuation with the vault of the S. aisle of the presbytery; it springs from a mutilated corbel on the N.E., from a restored shaft on the S.E. and from two 15th-century shafts at the W. end; there is no arch between the chapel and the aisle.
The Presbytery (60¾ ft. by 25½ ft.) was almost entirely rebuilt in the first half of the 15th century; it is of three bays, finished with pinnacled buttresses between the bays, two at both the E. angles, and a parapet with gargoyles and quatre-foiled panels enclosing carved bosses, continued across the E. wall below the gable. The side-buttresses are supported by flying buttresses with raking copings supported by segmental arches with traceried upper spandrels; they spring from the pinnacles of the aisles. The partly restored E. window is of nine cinque-foiled and transomed lights, in three main divisions, with vertical tracery in a two-centred head with a label; the rear-arch and splays, carried down to the ground, have tiers of trefoil-headed panels; below the internal sill are three tiers of cinquefoil-headed panels continuing the lines of the window; the two lower tiers are largely covered by the reredos of 1858. At the base of the E. face of the E. wall are the chamfered plinths of the pilaster buttresses at the E. end of the 12th-century presbytery; they both run under the steps to the aisles so that it is not possible to be certain that they clasped the E. angles of the building. The N. and S. walls are each of three bays with as many arches, two-centred and of three moulded orders, the two outer continuous and the inner springing from triple shafts with foliated capitals and stopping on the modern parclose screens; one capital on the N. has two male figures; the moulded labels spring from attached shafts with capitals carved with foliage. In each bay is a restored clearstorey window of six cinque foiled and transomed lights with vertical tracery in a two-centred head with a label; below the internal sill are two tiers of cinque-foiled panelling carrying down the lines of the windows to the main arcade; the windows have rear-arches and splays with tiers of trefoil-headed panels continued down to the floor of the presbytery; between these splays are the triple attached vaulting-shafts with foliated capitals. The stone vault is of fan type with trefoiled and cinque-foiled heads to the panels and lozenge-shaped sub-divided panels between the cones; the bosses at the intersections are foliated, except the middle boss in each bay which bears a shield-of-arms of Stafford of Hooke.
The Ambulatory (15½ ft. wide) between the E. end and the Lady Chapel, has a 15th-century stone vault of three bays and of fan type with trefoil-headed panels and foliage-bosses at the intersections; at the base of the cones the subsidiary ribs spring from panels with trefoiled ogee heads; the vault springs from moulded and shafted responds with foliated capitals and moulded bases standing on a stone bench on the W. side; on the E. side the vault springs from a foliated corbel and a pendant with a foliage-boss, both on the W. face of the arch to the Lady Chapel.
The North Aisle of the Presbytery (12½ ft. wide) has buttresses and pinnacles between the bays and a quatre-foiled parapet similar to that of the presbytery. In each of the two eastern bays of the N. wall is a restored 15th-century window of four cinque-foiled lights with vertical tracery in a segmental-pointed head with moulded reveals and label with head-stops; below the eastern window is a restored 15th-century doorway with moulded jambs and two-centred arch in a square head with foliage-spandrels and flanking buttresses with pinnacles; the two western bays of the wall have each internal wall-panelling corresponding to the windows of the other bays; in the W. bay is a restored 15th-century doorway with moulded jambs and two-centred head. In the W. wall is a 15th-century arch, moulded and two-centred and springing from moulded and shafted responds with foliated capitals; the soffit and reveals have tiers of trefoil-headed panels. Projecting into the S.W. corner of the aisle is the salient angle of the crossing, see preface, p. xlviii. The fan-vault is generally similar to that of the ambulatory, but there is a narrow bay opposite the E. wall of the presbytery; between the main western bays of the vault are broad cross-arches with tiers of trefoil-headed panels; the responds have tiers of cinquefoil-headed panels divided and flanked by shafts with foliated capitals and moulded bases.
The South Aisle of the Presbytery (Plates 162, 168) (12½ ft. wide) is generally similar to the N. aisle but the exterior has three free bays with buttresses, parapet, pinnacles and gargoyles. These bays have each a window similar to those in the N. aisle and in the E. bay is a completely restored doorway similar to the corresponding one on the N.; the westermost bay has wall-panelling, similar to the windows, and a 16th-century doorway with chamfered jambs and four-centred head. The arch in the W. wall, the salient angle of the crossing and the stone vault are generally similar to those in the N. aisle.
Bishop Roger's Chapel (27¾ ft. by 15 ft.) was built in the 13th century and has buttresses of that period at the N.E. angle and against the N. wall. In the E. wall is a window of three graduated lancet-lights under a common segmental-pointed external head with a label; internally the lights have each moulded arches and marble jamb-shafts with moulded capitals, bands and bases; similar shafts support the stilted two-centred and moulded rear-arch. The S. wall is the 12th-century wall of the aisle with an added buttress of the 15th century; E. of the buttress the wall has a slightly battered plinth capped at its E. end by a double-chamfered and grooved string-course; the wall above has three shallow recesses with moulded jambs and rounded heads; a fourth recess has been blocked by the buttress and perhaps a fifth has been destroyed by the insertion of the later doorway; higher up is a wall-arcade now of four and a half bays with moulded intersecting arches springing from shafts with scalloped capitals and moulded bases standing on a roll-moulded string-course; W. of the buttress this arcade has been removed except for the shaft in the S.W. angle. There is a similar shaft on the adjoining return of the W. wall and a second shaft at the N. end of the same wall.
The Central Tower (24 ft. by 26 ft.) is of three stages with a plain parapet and modern pinnacles. The crossing has a 15th-century E. arch, two-centred and moulded and springing from moulded and shafted responds with foliated capitals; the reveals and soffit have tiers of trefoil and cinquefoil-headed panels with quatre-foiled panels at the apex; the panelling stops on modern string-courses about 16ft. above the floor. The N. and S. arches are of the 12th century and of stilted semi-circular form; they are of two square orders with moulded labels and a carved mask key-stone towards the crossing; the inner order springs from coupled shafts and the outer order from single shafts, all with scalloped capitals and restored shafts and bases. The 12th-century W. arch is of distorted semi-circular form and of two square orders with moulded labels enriched with lozenge and disc-ornament and each with a carved head at the apex; the outer orders die on to the side walls but the inner order springs from restored coupled attached shafts with scalloped capitals; the shafts terminate in tapering corbels; lower down on the flat side-walls the outline of the pulpitum is traceable on the scorched stone. The crossing has a 15th-century fan-vault similar to that over the presbytery but with a central circular bell-way; it springs from grouped vaulting-shafts in the angles which have moulded caps and are carried some distance down the walls. This vault cuts across the internal seven-bay wall-arcade of the 12th-century lantern, which survives on the N., S. and W. walls; the middle bay in each wall is wider than the others and the arcade has attached shafts with moulded capitals and bases; the arches themselves are covered by the vault; behind these arcades were wall-passages of which that on the W. is open but blocked at the N. end. In the S.W. corner of the second stage are remains of a former staircase to the bell-chamber. The bell-chamber is of the 15th century and has, in each wall, two windows each of two trefoiled and traceried lights with vertical tracery in a two-centred head with moulded reveals and label with head-stops and pierced stone filling with paterae; between the windows and at the angles of the tower are three-stage buttresses.
The North Transept (28¼ ft. by 26¼ ft.) is mainly a building of the 12th century and is finished with a plain parapet carried round the N. wall at the base of the gable. In the E. wall is a 15th-century archway to the Wykeham Chapel, similar to the adjoining archway to the N. aisle; N. of the N. respond is part of one shaft of the 12th-century respond and over the S. haunch of the arch is part of the moulded outer order of the 12th-century arch; there are also similar remains of a shaft and moulded order of the 12th-century arch to the N. aisle; in the upper part of the wall is a restored 15th-century window of six cinque-foiled and doubletransomed lights with vertical tracery in a segmental-pointed head with a label and head-stops. On the external face of the N. wall is the gabled weathering of the roof of the former dormitory; below this the wall is covered by the two-storeyed building with a pent-roof forming the passage at the S. end of the former E. range. In this passage on the transept-wall is a 12th-century wall-arcade of five bays with round arches of one continuous chamfered order; the arcade has been filled in flush with the wall face and most of the arches have been removed. The passage has a 13th-century vault, the eastern bay of quadripartite form with chamfered ribs and moulded corbels in the N. angles; the western part has two parallel barrel-vaults, the southern pointed and the northern half-round; between the E. and W. parts of the passage is a two-centred arch of one chamfered order; in the E. wall is a 13th-century doorway with chamfered jambs and two-centred head and N. of it are the splays of a single-light window of the same date. The large buttress built up against the W. end of the passage is dated on the N. face 1569. The W. wall of the transept has an external 12th-century string-course with lozenge-ornament; below it is the weathering of the roof of the former cloister and a blocked doorway of 14th or 15th-century date; in the upper part of the wall is a 15th-century window similar to that in the E. wall and much restored; the 12th-century arch to the N. aisle of the nave is semi-circular and of two orders, the outer moulded and the inner square; it springs from triple-shafted responds with scalloped capitals and moulded bases; one capital on the N. has foliage-carving and a volute. In the S. angles of the transept are quadrant-shaped projections (see preface, p. l). The late 15th-century fan-vaulting has trefoil-headed panels and a star-shaped design between the cones; the foliage-bosses include one with a rose; the vault springs from coupled angle-shafts with foliated capitals and standing on head-corbels at the level of the windowsills in the E. and W. walls.
The Wykeham Chapel (10 ft. by 11 ft.) has, on the lower part of the E. and S. walls, a much restored 12th-century intersecting wall-arcade with half-round arches of one moulded order mostly continued down the piers to moulded bases on a square plinth. In the E. wall are the moulded bases of the splay-shafts of a former 12th-century window. In the N. wall is a 15th-century window of three cinque-foiled lights with vertical tracery in a segmental-pointed head with moulded reveals, label and head-stops. The 15th-century fan-vault has trefoil-headed panels, foliated bosses and four cusped circles between the cones enclosing paterae; the central boss is modern; the vault springs from head-corbels on the W. side.
The South Transept (29¾ ft. by 25¾ ft.) has, in the E. wall, the archway to the S. aisle and further S. a second 15th-century arch; it is moulded and two-centred and springs from moulded and shafted responds with foliated capitals and moulded bases; high up towards the S. end of the wall externally are the S. jamb-shaft with scalloped capital and part of the head with cheveron-ornament of a 12th-century window; the staircase-turret, further N., is finished with a restored quatre-foiled parapet of the 15th century. The S. end (Plate 163) has heavy 15th-century buttresses and a plain parapet at the base of the gable continued along the side walls. The large restored 15th-century S. window is of eight cinque-foiled and transomed lights with vertical tracery in a two-centred head with moulded reveals and label with head-stops. In the N. angles of the transept are two quadrant-shaped projections as in the N. transept; the western is of greater diameter than the eastern. Within the roof, on the S. wall of the tower, is the weathering of an earlier roof. In the W. wall is a 12th-century arch to the S. aisle similar to the corresponding arch in the N. transept but not mutilated on the W. side and none of the capitals have carving except a simple leaf.
The Chapel of St. Sepulchre (12¾ ft. by 12½ ft.) was entirely rebuilt late in the 14th century and remodelled in the 15th century; it has buttresses with shafts for pinnacles and a parapet similar to that of the S. aisle of the presbytery. The E. and S. walls have both a restored 15th-century window of three cinque-foiled lights with vertical tracery in a two-centred head with moulded reveals and label; the E. splay of the S. window is curved inwards to avoid a piscina. In the N. wall, W. of the doorway from the S. aisle, is a blocked opening or recess with a flat lintel or relieving-arch. The liernevault has moulded ribs and foliage-bosses and springs from angle-shafts with foliage-capitals and moulded bases. The chapel had an inserted wooden upper floor, which has now been removed.
The Nave (85½ ft. by 26 ft.) is of five bays with a plain parapet and buttresses of two stages, the upper set diagonally to form the base of pinnacles never completed. The bays of the arcade are irregularly spaced and presumably represent the spacing of an earlier arcade as they only correspond in part with the bays of the late 15th-century clearstorey, see preface, p. xlviii. The late 15th-century arches are moulded and two-centred and have two panelled faces towards the nave, one panelled face on the reveal and one similar face towards the aisle; these faces are continuous, that on the reveal has cinque-foiled heads to the panels but the rest of the panels have trefoiled heads; flanking the reveals are small shafts with foliage-capitals, eight of which include the initial P for Abbot Peter Ramsam; at the crown of each arch, towards the nave, is a painted shield as follows—N. side, (a) rebus of Abbot Ramsam, (b) rebus of Thomas Langton, Bishop of Salisbury (1485–93), (c) arms of Sherborne Abbey, (d) arms of Milton Abbey, (e) as (c); on S. side, (a) with (b) rebus of Abbot Ramsam, (c) rebus of Hugh Oldham, Bishop of Exeter (1509–19), (d) as (a), (e) as (b); the responds have attached half-piers and each of the E. responds incorporates part of the semi-cylindrical 12th-century respond with part of the moulded base and chamfered plinth. On the S. face of the N.E. respond is a length of enriched 12th-century string-course, marking the base of the former triforium, and lower down an impost moulding, marking the level of the abacus of the nave-arcade. The abacus of the transept-arch opening into the S. aisle is returned a short distance along the S.E. respond of the nave showing that this represents the S. face of the 12th-century respond. Above the arcades run moulded string-courses carved with paterae. The clearstorey is divided into equal bays by triple vaulting-shafts with foliated capitals and standing on partly restored corbels carved with angels holding shields-of-arms as follows—N. side, (a) Canterbury See impaling Morton, for Cardinal John Morton (1486–1500), (b) Langton, Bishop of Salisbury (?), (c) Hatton (?), (d) Knoyle (?); S. side, (a) Sherborne Abbey, (b) Cerne Abbey, (c) Abbotsbury Abbey, (d) rebus of Thomas Langton; in the E. angles the vaulting springs from foliated corbels and at the W. end at the level of the angel-corbels are a ram with a scroll inscribed "Disce pati vincit qui patitur" and the rebus and name of Abbot Ramsam respectively; in each bay of the clearstorey is a window of five cinque-foiled and double-transomed lights with vertical tracery in a two-centred head with moulded reveals and label; the lights below the second transom are blind; the splays and rear-arch have tiers of trefoil-headed panels. The late 15th-century stone vault (Plate 161) has trefoil-headed panels to the cones and lozenge-shaped panels between the cones; the bosses are mostly foliated but some are carved as follows—first bay, (a) two figures, one with a cross-bow, (b) rebus of Abbot Ramsam, (c) shield of France and England quarterly, (d) mermaid, (e) five wounds; second bay, (a) Tudor roses, (b) rebus of Abbot Ramsam, (c) winged monster, (d) pelican in her piety, (e) arms of Sherborne Abbey, (f) owl, (g) bird, (h) radiating trefoiled panels; third bay, (a) Tudor roses, (b) arms of Sherborne Abbey, (c) two monkeys, (d) two birds, (e) pair of monsters fighting, (f) two dogs, (g) leopard's head; fourth bay, (a) St. Michael and the dragon, (b) shield with the initials H.E., (c) rebus of Abbot Ramsam, (d) portcullis, (e) round boss with lattice-pattern, (f) Tudor rose, (g) Bourchier knot, (h) radiating trefoiled panels; fifth bay, (a) portcullis, (b) arms of Sherborne Abbey, (c) Tudor roses, (d) winged beast, (e) made up shield perhaps for an Abbot of Milton, (f) Bourchier knot. In the W. wall (Plate 163) is a large restored window of nine cinque-foiled ogee and double-transomed lights with vertical tracery in a two-centred head with moulded reveals and label; the window below the first transom is a modern enlargement; the W. doorway has been reset and may be the former W. doorway of All Hallows, it has moulded jambs and two-centred arch in a square head with traceried spandels; it is flanked by panelled shafts and above it is a partly restored band of quatrefoils enclosing paterae; beyond the shafts are two two-stage buttresses. Some 2 ft. further S. is one stone of the moulded plinth of the destroyed annexe to the W. of the nave. The moulding is partly concealed by modern stonework but is almost certainly of pre-Conquest date.
The North Aisle of the Nave (12¾ ft. wide) has, in the S.E. corner, the projection formed by the salient angle of the crossing (see preface, p. xlviii). In the N. wall are four modern windows reproducing a 14th-century window which survived here into the 19th century, they are each of four trefoiled ogee lights with flowing tracery in a two-centred head with a label and carved stops; below the first window is a restored recess with a 15th-century vault with moulded ribs and two carved bosses. The outer face of the wall, which is presumably of the 12th century, has been much restored but retains remains of the late 14th-century triple wall-shafts of the former cloister; towards the W. end is a double respond opposite the W. arcade-wall of the cloister. The aisle has a late 15th-century lierne vault of five and a half bays springing from triple vaulting-shafts with foliated capitals and moulded bases; the vault has panelled and trefoiled springers and bosses carved with foliage or the following—(a) Ramsam rebus, (b) Bourchier knot, (c) interlaced design, (d) arms of Milton Abbey, (e) arms of Langton, (f) winged monster, (g) Tudor rose, (h) arms of Sherborne Abbey. The rubble W. wall of the aisle is presumably of pre-Conquest date as the doorway (Plate 210) is in situ; the jambs are set in long and short fashion and have chamfered and grooved imposts; the round arch has had the outer face cut back to a square head of uncertain date; flanking the doorway are rounded pilaster-shafts with rough bases and on them are the springers of the pilaster-strip round the head of the doorway; most of this has been cut away by the later head; the doorway is cut straight through the wall and has an internal arch with the stones not set radially. The tympanum appears to be a 12th-century insertion and retains part of its painted plaster of the 12th or 13th century. A porch was built over the doorway in 1947.
The South Aisle of the Nave (13 ft. wide) has a projecting angle in the N.E. corner similar to that in the S.E. corner of the N. aisle. At the E. end of the S. wall is a late 14th-century archway, two-centred and moulded and springing from moulded and shafted responds with foliated capitals and moulded bases; further W. are three 15th-century windows, each of three cinque-foiled lights with vertical tracery in a two-centred head with moulded reveals, label and head-stops; the 12th-century S. doorway has a head of two orders the inner segmental, continuous and with cheveron ornament, the outer semi-circular and enriched with bead and cheveron-ornament and springing from shafts with foliated capitals and abaci carried along the wall; in the tympanum is a small recess with cheveron-ornament and a segmental head. The wall is finished with a quatre-foiled parapet and has buttresses ending in diagonal shafts for pinnacles, never erected. The W. wall is of rubble finished with a quatre-foiled parapet; the late 12th-century doorway or archway has a half-round arch of one chamfered order with a double-chamfered label; the former imposts have mostly been removed; the doorway is partly blocked and set in it is a 14th-century doorway, also blocked, with moulded jambs and segmental-pointed head. The aisle has a late 15th-century lierne vault generally similar to that over the N. aisle; it springs from single vaulting-shafts with foliage-capitals and one corbel-capital; all the bosses are carved with foliage.
St. Katherine's Chapel (16 ft. by 13¾ ft.) was built late in the 14th century but remodelled and vaulted in the 15th century. It is finished externally with buttresses and parapet similar to those of the adjoining S. aisle. The S. and W. walls have each a window similar to those of the adjoining aisle. The 15th-century fan-vault has trefoil-headed panels to the cones and a square enclosing quatre-foiled panels between the cones; the intersections have foliage-bosses and the vault springs from angle-shafts with foliated capitals and moulded bases.
The South Porch (12 ft. by 10 ft.) was built in the 12th century and the upper part had been much altered in the 15th century; at the restoration it was taken down and reconstructed, the upper storey being restored to a 12th-century character. The outer archway is semi-circular and of two orders with cheveron-ornament and a moulded label with modern beast-heads at the ends and a mask at the apex; the responds have each two restored shafts with carved capitals, moulded bases and abaci continued along the wall; flanking the entrance are two tiers each of a single restored round-headed recess, the lower moulded and the upper with cheveronornament. The lower part of the side walls, externally, has a range of round-headed recesses similar to the lower ones on the S. front. The porch has a restored 12th-century quadripartite vault with moulded ribs springing from angle-shafts with carved capitals and abaci continued along the E. and W. walls; these walls have each a restored round-headed arcade of three bays below the string-course and a round-headed two-bay arcade with cheveron-ornament above the string-course.
The Old Parish Church of All Hallows stood immediately to the W. of the abbey church and was destroyed soon after the Dissolution. The remains now consist of the E. responds of the arcades and arches into the side-chapels and the lower part of the N. wall of the N. aisle and chapel. The Nave (89 ft. by 18½ ft.) has late 14th-century E. responds on the W. wall of the abbey-church; they are moulded and shafted with moulded capitals and defaced moulded bases. The Aisles (16 ft. wide) had, at the E. end of each, an arch opening into a small chapel; the E. responds are similar to those of the nave-arcades, but more damaged; the N. respond has an attached vaulting-shaft with a foliated capital and the S. respond retains a similar shaft and the spring of the arch above. The N. wall of the N. aisle is of six bays divided by much decayed shafts with mutilated bases; the second to the sixth bays have recesses with moulded reveals probably carried down from the former windows; in the fifth bay are remains of a 16th-century fireplace with a four-centred head partly destroyed for a later doorway, now blocked.
Fittings—Bells: eight, sanctus and fire-bell; 4th by Thomas and James Bilbie of Chewstoke, 1803; 5th by William Bilbie of Chewstoke, 1787; sanctus c. 1350, Bristol foundry, inscribed "Sta. Maria ora pro nobis"; fire-bell by Robert Austen II, 1653. Book: In muniment room—Bible of 1613. Candelabrum (Plate 11): In presbytery—of brass with double-headed eagle at the top and two tiers of branches, on lowest globe of stem inscription recording gift by Mary Whetcombe, 1657, with shield-of-arms. (This fine fitting fell during the war; the pieces are now in the muniment room over the S. porch.) Chest: In S. aisle of presbytery—of hutch-type with moulded framing, late 17th-century. Clock: In N. nave aisle—at W. end, works only, displayed on oak trestle, probably 18th-century. Coffins: In N. aisle of presbytery—two, one with part of lid, probably 13th-century. Colours: Stands, in the N. nave-aisle—two, 1800–02, and one, 1829–41, of the 54th, W. Norfolk Regt., now 2nd Battn. Dorset Regt. In S. nave-aisle—two, 1831–43 and 1843–66, of the 39th Dorsetshire Regt., now 1st Battn. Dorset Regt. Communion Table: In presbytery—with turned legs and moulded rails, 17th-century made up with modern work, from Leweston. Font: plain octagonal bowl with hollow-chamfered under-edge, octagonal stem with trefoil-headed panel on five faces, moulded base, 15th-century. Gates: Adjoining S.E. end of church— two stone piers with cornices and ball-terminals and hung with wrought-iron gates with scrolled overthrow, 1723, restored. In outer archway of porch—wrought-iron gates with scrolled overthrow, early 18th-century. Glass: In chapel of St. Mary le Bow—in E. window, (a) head of Gabriel with scroll, from an Annunciation, (b) head of angel, (c) roundel with heart pierced by swords, (d) capital M, 15th-century; in lower S. window, two late 15th-century Tudor roses. In S. transept—in S. window, in main lights, pairs of three-quarter length nimbed figures of Kings, Queens and men and women of every calling, ninety-six in all, holding scrolls containing the Latin text of the "The Deum", all within vine tendrils, in the tracery, thirty-one whole and half-length figures of angels holding "Sanctus" scrolls, designed by A. W. Pugin and executed by John Hardman & Co., mid 19th-century. In nave—in W. window, in main lights twenty-seven full-length figures of prophets, with suns in the tracery, probably by the designer of the "Te Deum" window in the S. transept and of similar date. In N. nave aisle —in E. window of N. wall, four lights with figure subjects, c. 1800; in three W. windows, in each main light the figure of an Apostle with his emblem, 19th-century. In St. Katherine's Chapel—in S. and W. windows, collection of glass, mainly 15th-century, placed here in 1925 and including shields-of-arms of Kelway, Bath cathedral priory, Fitzpayne impaling a blank coat, quartered coat of William, Lord Willoughby, Horsey, quartered and impaled shield of Lawrence Kemeys, 1606, also various shields of France and England, some differenced for Beaufort, with a border azure and ermine, etc., also Resurrection figure of Christ, figures of prophets, crowns, bird, heads, Tudor roses, St. Thomas, leopard-heads, initials Ihc and M., pelican in her piety, etc. Hatchment: In muniment room over S. porch—with arms of Rachel, Countess of Bristol, 1708–9 (Plate 25). Image: On N. buttress, flanking W. doorway—stone panel with double trefoiled head, with the Crucifixion, the Virgin and St. John, 15th-century, defaced. Monuments and Floor-slabs. Monuments: In N. aisle of presbytery— (1) Purbeck marble slab with effigy (Plate 176) of priest in mass-vestments, head on cushion, feet on beast, side-shafts with foliated caps, supporting moulded and trefoiled arch over head, early to mid 13th-century, broken and mutilated; (2) to Abbot Clement, c. 1160, top of Purbeck marble slab with head of figure (Plate 211) of priest holding crosier under a simple round arch with side-pinnacles and inscription on the face of the canopy in capitals, "Cleme[n]s cleme[n]te[m] s[ibi] sen[n]tiat Om[n]ipote[n]tem, q[u]o d[um] vivebat domus hec d[omi]nante vigebat". In S. aisle of presbytery— (3) Purbeck marble slab with effigy (Plate 176) of abbot in mass-vestments, head on cushion, crosier with foliated head, feet on winged beast, moulded and trefoiled arched canopy over head resting on two head-corbels, early to mid 13th-century, partly defaced. In Bishop Roger's chapel, many reset—on N. wall, (4) to Carew Hervy Mildmay of Hazelgrove, Somerset, and Marks, Essex, 1784, and Dorothy (Eastmont) his first wife, 1743, large, white, green and black marble wall-monument (Plate 173) with carved draperies opened and held back to disclose two inscription-tablets, a festooned urn on pedestal-base flanked by a cornucopia on one side and a lion beside a broken pillar on the other, two reliefs of the heads of a man and woman on oval plaques and a shield-of-arms now illegible. According to Hutchins it is a work of T. Carter of Piccadilly; (5) to John Wickham, 1751, Esther his wife, 1745–6, and Gertrude his second wife, 1789, grey and white marble wall-monument with heavy pedimented cornice, urns, shaped apron and blank cartouche in rococo frame; (6) to Jeph. John of Lincoln's Inn, 1742, black and white marble wall-monument with flanking scrolls, cornice and urn; (7) to James Blackmore, 1746, and Anne, 1745, black and white marble wall-monument with broken pediment and urn; (8) to George Buchanan, 1826, black and white marble wall tablet with shield-of-arms; (9) to John Derbie, 1713, and Mary his wife, 1717, alabaster wall-monument carved to resemble drapery gathered up with tasselled cords, with lamps and cartouche-of-arms; (10) to Dr. John Bartlett, 1703, slate wall-tablet with incised decoration, stone cornice and cartouche-of-arms; (11) to John Eastmont of Somerset, 1722–3, large grey and white marble wall-monument with Ionic side-pilasters, broken scroll-pediment, urns and cartouche-of-arms; (12) to Mary, Wife of Rev. John King, 1741, marble and stone wall-monument with Roman Doric side-columns, full entablature with segmental pediment and urn; (13) to John Cooke of Sherborne, 1766, Penelope his wife, 1767, and Mary their daughter, 1762, marble wall-monument with pediment, urn against obeliskshaped backing and cartouche-of-arms; (14) to Jeremiah Cuffe, 1673, and Jeremiah his father, 1684–5, slate tablet with two arched panels; (15) to Walter Cowth, 1675, freestone tablet with two panels and enriched borders. On W. wall, (16) to Samuel Whitty, 1833, and others, wall-tablet by T. Tyley, Bristol; (17) to Pemberton Methuen, 1835, wall-tablet by G. Crawford; (18) to Alfred and John Walter Butterworth, 1835, wall-tablet by G. Crawford. In Wykeham Chapel—against N. wall, (19) to Sir John Horsey, 1546, and his son Sir John Horsey, 1564–5, freestone monument (Plate 167) consisting of altar-tomb, effigies and canopy, altar-tomb with enriched plinth and angle-pilasters and moulded top, on front five shields-of-arms and at ends three shields with the initials I.H. and one with the initials E.H.; two effigies (Plate 23) of men in exotic enriched armour based on a style of c. 1470, wearing sallets, with hands crossed, heads and feet on cushions; canopy on four pilaster-shafts with carved panels and acanthus capitals supporting flat arches with pendants, an enriched entablature and cresting (Plate 9) consisting of capitals with crests at the angles and pediments with capitals, crests and scrolls; on front of entablature shield with the initials E.H. and another in the tympanum above with the dates 1546 and 1564 and the initials I.H.; enriched panelled soffit to canopy; on wall at back under canopy large diagonal panel (Plate 9) with achievement-of-arms, putti supporters and two shields with the initials I.H., monument formerly in N. transept. In S. transept—against S. wall, (20) to Robert, second son, and Mary, eldest daughter of William, Lord Digby, 1726 and 1729, black and white marble wall-monument with segmental pediment and side-scrolls on panelled pedestal-base, with an epitaph by Pope; against W. wall, (21) to John Digby, 3rd Earl of Bristol, 1698, Alice (Bourn) his first wife, 1658, and Rachel (Windham) his second wife, 1708–9, large white and grey marble monument (Plates 169, 170, 171, 172) signed by John Nost, three pedestals with standing figures of the earl and his two wives, Corinthian side-columns supporting entablatures and arched cornice, urns and achievement-of-arms, two shields-of-arms and two putti (Plate 171) at sides. In St. Katherine's chapel—(22) to John Leweston, 1584, and Joan (Culpepper) his wife, 1579, freestone monument (Plate 166) consisting of altar-tomb, effigies and canopy, altar-tomb of two bays with moulded plinth and capping and pedestals, on sides and end ten cartouches-of-arms; effigies (Plate 87) of man in armour and wife with helmet and book respectively at their feet; canopy supported on six fluted Corinthian columns (Plate 9) and round arches, enriched entablature and cresting with putti and dolphins; on E. wall, under canopy, modern inscription-tablet and old cartouche-of-arms (Plate 9); flanking monument, on E. wall, four enriched panels, three with modern inscriptions; in S.W. angle, (23) to Johan (Winston), wife of John Walcot, 1630, freestone tablet with Corinthian side-columns and entablature. Floor-slabs: In Ambulatory—(1) to George Brown, 1709, Izor his wife, 1711, Dorcas, wife of James Brown, 1691, Dorcas, 1689–90, and Unity, 1701, their daughters, and George Brown, 1692; (2) to Eliza, wife of James Pidle, 1710, to Simon Aish, 1714, and others later; (3) to Sarah, daughter of Charles King, 1710. In St. Sepulchre Chapel—(4) to Emorbus Johnson, 1614–5. Painting: In Lady Chapel—remains of colour and gilding on capitals and shafts and remains of red band on W. wall, probably 13th-century. On blocking of pre-Conquest doorway in W. front, masonry-lines and simple curved lines, also remains of decoration on S. jamb, 12th or 13th-century. Paving: In Lady Chapel, Chapel of St. Mary le Bow and Ambulatory—slip tiles, 14th and 15th-century. Piscinae: In Lady Chapel—in S. wall, modern but incorporating semi-octagonal drain with rosette, 15th-century. In Bishop Roger's Chapel—in S. wall, recess with moulded jambs and pointed head, quatre-foiled drain, 13th-century. In St. Sepulchre Chapel—in S. wall, recess with moulded jambs and ogee head, shelf, late 14th-century, drain modern. In St. Katherine's Chapel—in S. wall, with moulded jambs, trefoiled head and round drain, 13th-century reset. Plate: includes a cup of 1636, given by Francis Scarlett, vicar, another cup of 1824, a stand-paten of 1699, given by George Conington, a flagon of 1708, given by Rachel, Countess Dowager of Bristol, with shield-of-arms, an alms-dish of 1712 and a second alms-dish of 1786. Pulpit: In S. aisle of presbytery—semi-octagonal sounding-board of former pulpit, with arabesque enrichment and inlay, early 17th-century, now converted as a table. Recess: In external wall of N. aisle of nave—in fourth bay, recess with four-centred head, perhaps lamp-niche in room over cloister. Royal Badge (Plate 25): In muniment room—framed painting of Prince of Wales' feathers with initials and date H.P. 1611., by Charles Rawlings. Screen: In W. arch of chapel of St. Mary le Bow—of stone and of five bays including central doorway, divided by attached shafts with moulded bases, lower parts of side-bays solid and each with two cinquefoil-headed panels, late 15th-century, upper part modern. Sedilia: In Lady Chapel—in N. wall, modern but with range of 15th-century quatre-foiled panels, with central paterae, below seat. Stalls: In presbytery—on N. and S. sides, of five bays with moulded, shafted and shaped divisions and curved arm-rests supporting quatrefoil shafts with foliated capitals and cinque-foiled sub-cusped arches to the canopies, with foliated spandrels and cornice with carved vine-enrichment, all made up with modern work; on elbow-rests are carvings as follows— N. side, woman with scroll, man reading book, woman with dog, man with basket, monk reading book, leaf; S. side, man with short sword, bearded man with rosary, woman with pot and dog, angel with shield bearing two crosses, leaf, angel; misericordes (Plates 174, 175) carved as follows—N. side, (a) man's bust with hood and foliage, (b) large man's bust with hands drawing open mouth, (c) Last Judgement, Resurrection of the Dead at sides, (d) man's face with foliage, (e) foliage; S. side, (a) woman praying, perhaps St. Margaret, winged monster below, leaves at sides, (b) chained monkey and oak-leaves with acorns, (c) man beating boy, boys at sides, (d) archer shooting a man on horseback, Samson and lion at other side, (e) woman beating man, leaves at sides; 15th-century, stalls made up with much modern work. Tapestry: In St. Sepulchre chapel—on W. wall, a panel with woodland scene and border, 17th-century. Miscellanea: Incorporated in upper walling of St. Sepulchre chapel, 12th-century material with cheveron and billet-ornament. In N. aisle of presbytery—seven fragments of draped figures with remains of painting, probably from reredos, 15th-century, and various architectural fragments including tabernacle work, 12th to 15th-century. In Lady Chapel—head of woman-saint, mutilated, mediæval. In S. aisle of presbytery—case containing small stone fragments with colour probably from reredos, several metal stars and a number of slip-tiles of late 13th and 14th-century date (see figs. pages 275 and 276).
For the remains of the abbey-buildings see Monuments (8), (9), (10).
a(4) Parish Church of St. Mary Magdalene, Castleton, stands 910 yards E.N.E. of the abbey-church. The walls are of local rubble ashlar-faced with dressings of the same material; the roofs are covered with stone slates. The church, having become ruinous, was rebuilt and was consecrated in 1715. According to Pope, it was designed by William, 5th Lord Digby.
Architectural Description—The Chancel and Nave (53¾ ft. by 18¼ ft.) have an E. gable finished with a pinnacle; the E. window, now blocked, is of two pointed lights in a two-centred head; above it is a stone tablet with the date 1601 at the top and on a slate slab the inscription "This Church being very ruinous was rebuilt with the addition of two side isles and together with the churchyard then first enclosed was consecrated Anno Dom. 1715. Soli Deo Gloria". The N. and S. arcades are both of four bays with two-centred and chamfered arches; the octagonal columns and semi-octagonal responds have moulded capitals and bases; W. of the arcades are doorways with four-centred heads. The arched plastered ceiling springs from moulded cornices. In the W. wall is a window of four four-centred lights in a square head with a label, perhaps of the 17th century reset; the W. doorway has moulded jambs and four-centred arch in a square head. On the W. gable is a square stone bell-turret with a round-headed opening in each face, with imposts and key-stone; it is finished with a cornice and ogee capping.
The North Aisle (11 ft. wide) is gabled at each end, the gables being finished with pinnacles. The E. wall has a window similar to the E. window but not blocked. In the N. wall are three similar windows and a fourth window in the E. bay, blocked when the modern vestry was built. In the W. wall is a round window with moulded reveals and a doorway similar to but smaller than the main W. doorway.
The South Aisle (11 ft. wide) is uniform with the N. aisle before the modern vestry was added.
The Churchyard has stone enclosure-walls with simple copings and gate-piers with ball-tops all of early 18th-century date.
Fittings—of early 18th-century date, unless otherwise stated. Benefactors' Tables: In nave, at W. end, charity of John, Earl of Bristol, 1698, and of Jonathan Beaton, 1717, gold lettering on black boards with painted scroll border by Blake. Books: Bible printed by John Hayes, 1674, later binding; prayer-book, cover stamped with arms of Charles II, title-page missing Candelabrum (Plate 11): of brass with a dove at the top and two tiers of branches and inscription on ball recording gift by Jonathan Beaton, 1714. Chair: In chancel—one with turned front legs, shaped arms and carved back, 17th-century, made up with modern work. Doors: In W. doorways—three with fielded panels. Font: circular moulded bowl with gadrooned ornament and baluster stem; also part of octagonal stem of 15th-century font with trefoil-headed panels. Gallery: At W. end of nave—panelled front with pilasters and moulded capping, front supported on two oak posts; staircase (Plate 52) from N. aisle with turned balusters, partly turned newels with acorn-finials and enriched handrails; under gallery, lobby-framing with panelled doors, 18th-century, staircase early 17th-century reset. Monuments and Floor-slabs. Monuments: In nave, on N. wall, (1) to John Longman, 1840, marble wall-monument by H. A. Walters of Sherborne. In N. aisle—on N. wall, (2) to Thomas Prankerd, 1737, black, white and green marble wall-monument with pediment and urns; (3) to Elizabeth (Prankerd), wife of Benjamin Bastard, 1732–3; and Benjamin their son, marble wall-monument with side-scrolls, pediment, urn and cherub's head; (4) to Samuel Noake, 1775, marble wall-monument with urns and shield-of-arms. In S. aisle—(5) to Rev. William Owen, 1830, and Sarah his widow, 1844, marble wall-monument by C. Thomas; (6) to Jonathan Beaton, 1717, and his daughter Elizabeth Tucker, 1736, white marble wall-monument with urn, cherubs' heads, foliage and winged skull. Exterior—on N. wall, (7) to [Benjamin and Thomas Bastard, 1772], wall-monument with pediment, inscription weathered away; on W. wall of S. aisle, (8) to Margaret Barnard, 1716, servant to the Earls of Bristol for over seventy years, who gave twenty pounds towards the building of the church. Floor-slabs: In nave, (1) to Robert Hail . . ., 1731, and others, 1716. In N. aisle—(2) to Richard Banson, 1702; (3) to William Burnett, 178., Sarah his wife, 1814, and others. In S. aisle—(4) to Jonathan B[eaton] (?), early 18th-century; (5) to Joseph Foot, M.D., Hester his wife, Elizabeth their daughter and two grandchildren, 1779. Plate: includes a flagon, cup, paten and alms-dish all of 1714. Pulpit: hexagonal with two ranges of fielded panels and moulded cornice. Reredos (Plate 66): of oak with side-pilasters, scrolled supports and caps, cornice and pediment, in middle two panels with shaped heads for the Commandments, Holy Dove and palms above, flanking reredos two moulded panels with shaped heads for Creed and Lord's Prayer. Royal Arms: On gallery—of Charles II with the date 1671. Seating: In nave—17th-century coffin-stool. Sundial: on S. wall of S. aisle, stone panel with beaded arris and moulded cornice, painted Roman numerals, dated 1819 (?). Miscellanea: on W. wall of N. aisle, framed notice of "Degrees of Affinity" printed by Rider and Weed, Little Britain, 1817.
a(5) Union Chapel, Congregational, on N. side of Long Street, 220 yards N.E. of the abbey, has cementrendered and rough-cast walls with ashlar dressings. It was built in 1803 and enlarged in 1821. The main S. front in revived-Gothic style is designed partly as a duality with panelled strip-buttresses at either end, two doorways with two-centred heads in panelled surrounds and two four-light windows over with geometric tracery in two-centred heads; there is a low-pitched gable with parapet wall, and in the apex a roundel in quatre-foiled frame inscribed with the name and date of the chapel. The E. front contains windows with two-centred heads and round quatre-foiled windows above. On the N. gable is a small rectangular open bell-cote with flared roof and weather-vane. Inside there is a gallery with panelled front supported on iron posts; other fittings include, on the E. wall, a marble tablet by King of Bath to Samuel Scott and Grace his wife, 1836, and on the W. wall a tablet to Rev. James Weston, 1823, with side-pilasters, cornice and urn. At the entrance to the churchyard is a wrought-iron gateway and overthrow dated 1816.
a(6) Gospel Hall, Brethren, on the S. side of Finger Lane, 70 yards W. of the abbey, has walls of rubble with the N. front rough-cast and roofs covered with slates. A stone panel in the apex of the N. gable is inscribed "Providence Chapel 1838". The building is rectangular on plan, gabled N. and S. with moulded stone copings and kneelers; the main N. front has a central doorway with two-centred head and two two-light windows with two-centred openings enclosed in two-centred heads.
a(7) Almshouse of SS. John the Baptist and John the Evangelist (Plates 180, 181) stands 60 yards S.W. of the abbey church. The walls are of rubble and the roofs are covered with stone slates. The almshouse was refounded and enlarged in 1438, the chapel was finished in 1442 and the building completed in 1448. At this time the building consisted of a chapel with a two-storeyed hall to the W.; the hall may have been divided so as to leave a dining-room at the W. end; a kitchen of uncertain date was pulled down when the 19th-century additions were made to the N. of the building.
The building is an unusually complete example of a 15th-century almshouse on a normal plan following that of the monastic infirmary; the chancel forms the chapel and the nave the hall of the establishment, the latter commonly containing the cubicles of the inmates. The triptych and glass are noteworthy.
The Chapel (12½ ft. by 14 ft.) has in the E. and S. walls a partly restored 15th-century window of three cinque-foiled lights with vertical tracery in a two-centred head with moulded reveals and label; the S. window has stops carved as half-angels. In the W. wall is a 15th-century arch, moulded and two-centred and springing from moulded responds each with an attached shaft with moulded base and capital carved with paterae. The roof is of boarded barrel form and of two main and four subsidiary bays sub-divided into panels by moulded ribs with foliated and shield-bosses at the intersections; the shields are modern. Under the W. arch is an oak screen (Plate 181) of three tiers of cinquefoil-headed panels with foliated spandrels, moulded posts and rails and a cornice with running foliage; the lowest range of panels is closed but the two upper are open; the doorway is similarly treated but with narrower panels, two in each fold of the doors themselves and four above. In the head of the E. window are crowns, roses and suns in 15th-century glass and some fragments. The S. window is mostly filled with original glass (Plate 17); the three main figures are of the Virgin and Child, St. John the Baptist and St. John the Evangelist; in the tracery is the Agnus Dei, the initials Ihe and the symbols of the Evangelists; in the heads of the lights are crowns and roses; below the figures are fragments and a shield with the emblems of the Passion. The triptych behind the altar was no doubt purchased for the hospital soon after it was painted; it is probably a work of the Cologne school and dates from the last quarter of the 15th-century; the middle panel (Plate 179) has a large group of the Raising of Lazarus with a city in the background; the right wing (Plate 178) has the Casting out of the devil from the dumb man with a small scene in the top right-hand corner of the Giving of sight to the blind man; the left wing (Plate 178) has the Raising of the widow's son and in the top left-hand corner is the Raising of Jairus' daughter; the backs (Plate 177) of the wings are painted with pairs of figures of St. Paul and St. James the Greater and St. Thomas and St. Peter. The 17th-century communion-table has turned legs and moulded rails.
The Main Block (60 ft, by 20½ ft.) has, at the E. end of the S. wall, a doorway with moulded jambs and two-centred arch in a square head with a label and shields and foliage in the spandrels; the door is old and nail-studded with strap-hinges; flanking the door-head are partly restored niches with cinque-foiled ogee and crocketed heads and flanking shafts with pinnacles; the brackets have carved paterae. Further W. are seven ground-floor windows; the first five are of a single pointed light in a square head with a label; the heads were probably cinque-foiled but the points have been cut away; the sixth window is of four square-headed lights with a label and the westernmost window is of two pointed lights in a square head with a label. The upper floor has also seven windows; the five eastern are single lights and the two western are of two lights and all are similar to the one and two-light windows below. In the N. wall the ground-floor has three single-light windows similar to those in the S. wall; towards the E. and W. ends of the wall are doorways with moulded jambs and two-centred heads and both are hung with old doors. On the first floor there are two single-light windows with cinque-foiled cusping set against the pointed head of the light; there are also two doorways with four-centred heads. The ground-floor has moulded ceiling-beams forming seven bays in the length and two in the width; between the third and fourth bays is a 16th-century screen or partition with chamfered posts, sill and top-rail; the central doorway, not in situ, has a segmental-pointed head with foliage-spandrels and is flanked by small buttresses; the upper part of the screen is modern. The room W. of the screen is now used as the dining-room. The upper floor is now cut up into cubicles by modern partitions; at the E. end is a gallery looking into the chapel, with a modern balustrade; the two western bays formed the old Board-room. The roof is of seven bays with collar-beam trusses, curved braces forming two-centred arches and curved wind-braces. The staircase outside the N. wall is of 17th-century origin and has turned balusters and turned newels with ballterminals; it has been made up with modern work. The fittings include some 17th-century chairs and tables.
a(8) Sherborne School, and remains of Sherborne Abbey, stands to the N. and N.E. of the church. The remains consist of the W. range of the cloister, a block of buildings to the N. of it, the School House and the Abbey gateway. The Cloister stood on the N. side of the nave of the church and seems to have been rebuilt by Abbot Frithe (1349–71); the remains of the S. alley have already been described under the N. aisle of the church. The E. range has been destroyed except for one bay of building at the S. end adjoining the N. transept of the church under which it has been described; this was the dormitory-range with the chapter-house and other buildings below it. The N. range included the frater which has been destroyed; on this side of the cloister was the lavatory which projected into the garth near the frater doorway; it was taken down at the Dissolution and re-erected in the town (see Monument 9). The W. Range (Plate 36), now used as a library, is of two storeys; the walls are of rubble and the roof is covered with stone slates. The range was built probably in the 13th century and was the Cellarer's range with a hall above, perhaps the Guest Hall. On the E. face of the ground floor the wall is divided up into eight bays by the triple wallshafts of Abbot Frithe's late 14th-century cloister; adjoining the N. and S. bays of the former cloister there are pairs of these shafts to support former cross-arches; above the shafts are remains of moulded two-centred wall-ribs with weathered bosses at the top; there are some remains of the core of the former vault and above run the corbels and weathering of the former roof; in the S. bay is a 14th-century doorway with moulded jambs and two-centred head, but the remaining openings at this level are modern as are the flying buttresses. In the upper storey of the E. wall are five much restored 15th-century windows, each of two cinque-foiled lights with vertical tracery in a two-centred head with shafted splays and a label with returned stops; further S. is a blocked doorway with chamfered jambs and segmental-pointed head and a pointed 13th-century loop lighting the staircase. The openings on the ground floor of the W. wall are all modern; on the first floor are five very much restored windows similar to those in the E. wall; N. of the second window is a sloping weather-course, said to be that of a former external staircase. At the S. end, at the upper floor level, is a window of four cinque-foiled lights with vertical tracery in a two-centred head; it has been entirely restored externally; level with the base of the gable and near its W. end is the springer of an arch of one chamfered order; if in situ it must have been connected with the N. wall of the former All Hallows church. The interior of the ground floor has been entirely modernised. The upper floor has a 15th-century roof (Plate 201) of nine bays with collar-beam trusses, curved braces forming two-centred arches and curved wind-braces; in the three northern bays the timbers are chamfered but in the six southern bays they are moulded, the wind-braces are cusped and the upper wall-plates are embattled. The 15th-century doorway from the stair-turret has moulded jambs and two-centred head.
Across the N. end of the W. range is a second range in continuation of the former Frater-range. It is of two storeys and the upper floor is said to have formed the hall of the abbot's lodging. The ground floor has been largely rebuilt but seems to have been of late 12th or early 13th-century origin. It is now of five bays with a quadripartite stone vault and a row of cylindrical columns down the centre; the columns have moulded capitals and moulded corbels support the vault against the walls; in the N. wall is a reset doorway with chamfered jambs and segmental head, but the rest of the work seems to be largely modern. The upper floor has been incorporated in the modern Chapel. It has no old features except perhaps part of the roof which is of 15th-century character and similar to that over the library. Adjoining this range on the N.E. is a further range of buildings (Plate 36), much restored and rebuilt but of 15th-century origin. The building now forms the School House Studies and the S. wall is entirely modern. The building is of two storeys and of L-shaped plan with the wings extending to the N. and W. The N. wing contains a former kitchen with an old chimney-projection on the N. side; built into it are four cusped panels, much defaced but enclosing carvings which appear to have been the symbols of the Evangelists. In the E. wall are four windows, completely restored but perhaps representing 15th-century features. The W. part of the W. wing is gabled towards the N. and seems to have formed a porch; in the N. or outer wall is a completely restored doorway with moulded jambs, two-centred arch, crocketed label and finial; the doorway is flanked by small buttresses and on either side of the head is a niche; the doorway is now blocked and above it is a restored window, perhaps of 16th-century origin; it is of four transomed and four-centred lights in a square head with a label. The staircase-bay has a moulded cornice and gargoyles. The windows in the staircase-bay and in the wall to the E. of it are generally of one or two cinque-foiled lights with labels; those of the lower range are transomed; some of the work is of the 15th century including one head-stop, but much of it is restored or modern.
The Old School house (Plate 36), immediately N.E. of the church, is a one-storey building of local rubble with a roof of stone slates. The School was re-founded by charter of Edward VI in 1550 and housed partly in the E. cloister-range. The schoolhouse was built or rebuilt in 1608, restored in 1670 and again extensively in 1886 when the S. wall and the roof were reconstructed. The S. wall has a balustraded parapet, two restored 17th-century windows of four transomed lights and a modern bay-window; the doorway has a four-centred arch in a square head and is flanked by Ionic side-pilasters supporting an entablature and a panel with the arms of Edward VI made by Roger Moore in 1608, all very much restored; below the arms is the chronogram "tecta Draco custos Leo vinDeX fLos Decus auctor reX pius haec servat protegit ornat aLit"; the capitals when added singly give the date 1670 and when added in pairs the date 1550. There are three ornamental lead rain-water heads, one of which bears the date 1660. In the W. wall is a restored four-light window similar to those in the S. wall; the N. wall has a similar window with a blocked doorway to the W. of it. Inside, the hall has much late 17th-century panelling with a central feature on the E. wall at the back of the dais, with an enriched frieze, cornice and brackets; there are numerous names, dates and devices cut by former scholars; in the E. wall is a recess containing a painted figure of Edward VI, made by Godfrey Arnold in 1614. At the W. end of the N. wall is a late 17th-century doorway with a four-centred arch in a square head and a door of the same period. The Wing running N. from the hall was built in 1670 and is of two storeys; a tablet on the W. wall is inscribed "John Whetcombe ye elder Warden 1670". The wing retains a number of more or less restored 17th-century windows with square heads and labels. The upper room, formerly the library, is lined with 18th-century and later panelling and has a plaster barrel-ceiling. The N. end of the wing was altered and extended in the 19th century.
The Gateway in the passage between Cheap Street and the Churchyard was no doubt the Cemetery Gate of the abbey; it adjoins the house (see Monument 14) now the Senior Common Room of the school. The gateway was built in the 15th century and has moulded jambs and high four-centred head; it is rebated on the W. face; above it on the E. face is a string-course and three niches. The middle niche has side-shafts but the canopy is missing except for part of the vaulted soffit; the N. niche is filled in but the S. niche retains its side-shafts and segmental head under an ogee crocketed and finialed canopy. S. of the archway is a three-stage buttress.
a(9) The Conduit (Plate 36) is on the W. side of Cheap Street, opposite Long Street. It is a partly restored stone structure built as a lavatory in the cloister of the abbey by Albert Mere (1504–35). It is a hexagonal structure with buttresses at the angles and a plain parapet. The present W. face has an archway with moulded jambs and two-centred head; it formed the original entrance from the N. alley of the cloister. The other faces have each a window with the mullions removed and the sill cut away to form an open arch in four faces; in the fifth the mullions have been replaced and the sill restored as a modern fountain; the windows are each of four elliptical-headed lights with vertical tracery in a two-centred-head. The interior of the conduit has a ribbed lierne vault springing from angle-shafts with foliated capitals and moulded bases; at the intersections are foliage-bosses but the large middle boss is carved with a shield-of-arms of the abbey with angelsupporters.
a(10) Abbey Grange, house 210 yards N. of the church, incorporates part of the great barn of the abbey. It was built in the 14th or 15th century and the surviving part includes part of the body of the barn with N. and S. porches; it has been divided up into two storeys with attics, probably early in the 19th century, as the complete barn is shown standing in a map of 1802. The S. porch has two-stage side-buttresses and a large entrance with chamfered jambs, segmental-pointed head and label; in the E. wall is a doorway with chamfered jambs and segmental-pointed head. Adjoining the porch on the W. is a gabled staircase projection. The body of the barn has been curtailed at each end and now consists of about one and a half bays with modern E. and W. walls. The N. porch has a modern addition against its N. side, but it has an entrance similar to that in the S. porch but with no label. All the windows are modern. Inside the building, the S. porch has rough collar-beam roof-trusses and the oak post of one of the main roof-trusses is exposed.
a(11) Range (Plate 44) of tenements and shops on the N. side of Half-Moon Street, 25 yards S.E. of the church, is of two storeys; the walls are of rubble ashlar-faced in front and the roofs are covered with slates, stone slates and tiles. It was built probably early in the 16th century and part of the upper storey was long used as a parish room. The S. front has modern shop-fronts and the first floor has a range of twelve original windows, all of four elliptical-headed lights; between the two easternmost windows is a stone with the initials and date W.S. 1701, no doubt that of a repair; near it is a reversed and reused stone with the date 1570–1. The doorway of the westernmost tenement has chamfered jambs and segmental head. Inside the building are some exposed ceiling-beams and the remains of an original fireplace with moulded jambs.
The following monuments, unless otherwise described, are of the 17th century and of two storeys or two with attics; the walls are of rubble and the roofs are covered with slates, stone slates or tiles. Many of the buildings have exposed ceiling-beams and original fireplaces.
a(12) Cottage, on the S. side of Church Lane, 20 yards E. of the church, was built in the 16th century. The back room has an original window of eight lights with rounded heads and carried round the angle of the building; the same room has an original moulded ceiling-beam.
a(13) House, now the Conservative Club, 10 yards E. of (12), is of three storeys and partly timber-framed. The top storey projects on the N. front and has two four-light transomed windows of oak; the floor below has two bay-windows with oak frames of three lights on the face and one on each return. Inside the modern S. wing is a reset overmantel brought from elsewhere; it is of three bays with fluted pilasters and enriched entablature; the bays have arched panels with conventional foliage, a shield carved with St. George and the dragon and the date and initials 1658 R.L.
a(14) House, now the Senior Common Room of the school, immediately N. of (13), has been much altered and restored. The upper storey on the E. front has exposed timber-framing.
a(15) Cross Keys Inn, immediately N. of (14), has been rebuilt except for a portion at the back.
Cheap Street, W. side
a(16) House, now café, 110 yards S. of Abbey Road, has been much altered and rebuilt. Reset on the W. wall are two stones with the dates 1566 and 1698. At the back is a small separate structure of the 17th century.
a(17) House, now hotel and shops, 20 yards N. of (16), is of two dates, the northern part being probably the later; this part has a doorway with a four-centred head and a window of four lights with a label. Inside the building is a fireplace with moulded jambs and four-centred head.
a(18) House with shops, at the S. corner of Abbey Road, was built early in the 16th century. The upper storey and gable of the E. front has exposed timber-framing of that date which projects at the first-floor level; the stone side-walls project at this point on moulded corbelling.
a(19) Abbeylands, house 5 yards N. of Abbey Road, was built probably late in the 16th century and has an addition of 1649 on the S.W. The E. front has a projecting upper storey and three gables all with exposed timber-framing; the first floor has three bay-windows of oak with curved supports, moulded sills and heads and chamfered mullions and transoms; the gablewindows have moulded oak frames. The gabled S. return of the main block has partly restored stonemullioned windows; adjoining it is a gabled porchwing; the entrance has a half-round head with imposts, key-block and square label with the date 1649 in the spandrels; the first floor has a two-light window in the E. and S. walls. The W. wall of the 17th-century wing has two semi-circular recesses with shell-heads. Inside this wing is a staircase with turned balusters and turned newels with acorn-terminals.
a(20) House with shops, immediately N. of (19), was built early in the 16th century and has 17th and early 18th-century wings at the back. The timber-framed front retains two original shafted posts with brackets supporting the projecting upper storey; one post has the jamb of an original doorway; at the S. end of the overhang is a moulded stone corbel. Inside the building is an original moulded ceiling-beam.
a(21) House with shops, immediately N. of (20), was built probably at the same time as (20), but the front has been entirely rebuilt except for the N. wall, which has moulded corbelling as in (18).
a(22) House with shops, 70 yards N. of Abbey Road, was built c. 1500 and has a 17th-century addition at the back. The front is timber-framed and the projecting upper storey rests on carved brackets springing from original shafted posts. Inside the building is a 17th-century cupboard with a carved frieze above.
a(23) House, 30 yards N. of (22), has a late 18th-century addition on the street-front with bow-window two storeys in height and wood door-frame with pedimented cornice and fluted frieze. Inside the building is an original staircase with moulded string, turned balusters and square newels.
a(24) House with shop, 15 yards N. of (23), has been refronted.
a(25) House with shop, 15 yards N. of (24), was built probably in the 16th century and has an 18th-century wing at the back; it has been refronted. Inside the building the N. shop has moulded ceiling-beams.
a(26) House with shop, immediately N. of (25), has been refronted and much altered.
a(27) Greyhound Inn, 15 yards N. of (26), has been largely rebuilt. Inside the building, three late 16th-century framed and enriched oak panels are set over a fireplace and over a second fireplace is a smaller reset panel with conventional foliage under an arch.
a(28) House with shops, just N. of Long Street, is divided into three tenements, the N. is ashlar-faced and the two S. are brick. Originally all of early 18th-century date, the S. portion was refronted later in the century; the shop-front is a late 19th-century insertion. The N. tenement has a moulded cornice and on the first floor an early 19th-century bow-window with stone apron-wall on coved stone corbelling (fig. p. 216); the brick front has a dentil-cornice and windows with moulded architraves, key-blocks and shaped aprons.
a(29) House with shops, 100 yards N. of Hound Street, has been refronted.
a(30) House with shops, immediately N. of (29), has been refronted. It contains a little 17th-century panelling and a fireplace with a moulded surround of c. 1700.
a(31) House with shop, 60 yards N. of (30), has been refronted in the 18th century.
a(32) House with offices, at the S. corner of Newland, has a late 18th-century or early 19th-century stuccofaced block on the W., and the back wing has been much altered. The W. front is symmetrically designed; it has on the ground floor a central doorway with panelled side-pilasters and a plain frieze and cornice continued over flanking bow-windows which have small pilasters dividing the bowed sashes (Plate 49); on the first floor the windows are tripartite and set in shallow round-headed recesses with plain imposts continued across the front as a flat string. The third-floor windows are plain. There is a bracket eaves-cornice and parapet. Inside the building is an original 17th-century stone fireplace with moulded jambs and square head.
a(33) House (Plate 44) with shop, at the N. corner of Newland, has been altered and refronted in the 18th century. The S. and W. fronts contain early 19th-century bow shop-windows of considerable width with moulded styles, thin glazing-bars, plain fascias and simple cornices (Plate 49). At the back are two original windows with solid oak frames and mullions.
a(34) House (Plate 44) with shop, immediately N.W. of (33), has a timber-framed upper storey projecting on curved brackets.
a(35) Becket's Chapel, house, immediately N. of (34), consists of a gabled cross-wing and part of the range running N. from it. It was built early in the 16th century. The W. end of the cross-wing has a projecting bay-window of three storeys, the front of which has been cut back on the two lower storeys; on the first floor it is flanked by two original single-light windows with four-centred heads and square labels; in the gable is a 17th-century two-light window; at the W. angles of the wing are broken ends probably of former buttresses, now removed. In the N. return of the cross-wing are two original square-headed windows. In the N. wing is a passage-way with an original doorway towards the street; it has moulded jambs and four-centred head. Inside the building, the ground-floor W. room has original moulded ceiling-beams and plates with bosses at the intersections carved with foliage and the arms of the abbey; in the N. wall are two recesses. On the first floor there is a 17th-century fireplace with moulded jambs and square head. The roof is of king-post type with curved wind-braces. The room over the passage-way has a timber partition with a four-centred head to the doorway; a curved wall on the N.W. may indicate a former staircase to the attics.
a(36) George Inn, immediately N. of (35), is of the same date but has been much altered and modernised. Inside the building, the S. room has original moulded ceiling-beams and plates; the fireplace has a four-centred head and to the W. of it is a small spice-cupboard with ventilation-holes.
a(37) House with shop, on the N. side of the Green, 5 yards W. of Upper Cheap Street, has been much altered.
a(38) Greenhill House (Plate 44), on the S. side of the Green, 25 yards S.W. of (37), has a later 17th-century extension on the E.; a modern addition, at the back of the main block, connects it with a 16th-century wing, formerly a separate building. The N. front of the main block has a restored doorway with moulded jambs, triangular head and an old door; flanking it are three-storeyed bay-windows; the windows on the ground and first floor are of four lights on the face and one on each canted side; the canted angles are corbelled out to take the gable of the third floor which has a three-light window with a label; above the doorway is a three-light window and a gabled dormer and at the E. end of the front are two three-light windows. The E. room on the ground floor has a mid 17th-century overmantel (Plate 47) of three bays, divided and flanked by coupled columns supporting an enriched and bracketed entablature; the side bays have enriched arched panels; the walls are lined with panclling of the same date with an enriched frieze; on the W. wall is strap-work and a shield with the date 1665; in the S. wall is a wide bay or recess with an elliptical head and flanked by fluted pilasters. On the first floor is a fireplace with a panelled overmantel of c. 1700 painted with a christening-scene. The late 17th-century extension to the E. retains some original two-light windows on the first floor. The 16th-century wing at the back has been much altered but retains some original moulded ceiling-beams.
Green Hill, S. side
a(39) Cottage, two tenements 75 yards W. of (38), retains a stone with the initials and date W. and F.R. 1664.
a(40) Cottage, 25 yards W. of (39), has been much altered.
a(41) The Priory, house, 30 yards W. of Upper Cheap Street, has a modern addition on the N. and a modern embattled parapet. The front has some four and five-light windows with labels and probably of 17th-century date. Inside the building, the W. room has an original fireplace with moulded jambs and four-centred head; both the E. and W. rooms have enriched 18th-century plaster ceilings. A room on the first floor is lined with original panelling made up with modern work; the fireplace is flanked by fluted pilasters and the overmantel is of three bays divided and flanked by fluted pilasters supporting an enriched entablature; the bays have each an enriched arched panel.
a(42) Seyco and Belmont, houses opposite Upper Cheap Street, are of three storeys with ashlar walls. They were built late in the 18th century. Each has a doorway with attached side-columns and pediment; the windows have moulded architraves with key-blocks.
a(43) Antelope Hotel, adjoining (42) on the W., of two storeys with attics, was built probably in the 18th century but has been refronted in brick. It has an open porch with free-standing Roman Doric columns.
a(44) Outbuilding, at back of houses and 40 yards N.W. of (41), is a building of no great age but incorporates five 15th or 16th-century windows and various fragments of old stonework brought from elsewhere. More stonework of similar character is incorporated in a summer-house some distance to the N.
a(45) Terrace of four houses, opposite the Green, is of three storeys with walls of rubble and ashlar. It was built early in the 19th century. On the S. front there are attenuated panelled pilasters between the houses and a moulded eaves-cornice; the windows have architraves of shallow projection and the doorways to two houses have side-columns and pediments.
a(46) House, 60 yards W.S.W. of (41), has an 18th-century extension in front.
a(47) House, 20 yards W. of (46), has been much altered. In the S. front is a bow-window with fluted uprights dividing the sashes and a doorway with wood frame and cornice, c. 1800.
a(48) Newell Grange, on the N. side of Newell, 550 yards N.N.W. of the church, has a thatched roof.
a(49) Nethercombe Farm, house 140 yards N.W. of (48), is perhaps of mediæval origin. In the W. gable is a window of two foiled lights in a two-centred head and now blocked. The Barn, to the N. of the house, incorporates a 15th-century doorway with a two-centred head. In the gardens are various fragments of windows etc., mostly of the 15th century.
a(50) Newell House, 100 yards S.W. of (48), has an extensive modern addition on the E. Inside the building is an original fireplace with moulded jambs and four-centred arch in a square head. The Barn, S. of the house, is of early to mid 16th-century date and of six bays with a N. porch. The roof (Plate 50) is of collar-beam type with curved braces forming two-centred arches.
a(51) Barton Farm, house 100 yards W. of (50), was built late in the 18th century. The cottage adjoining it on the W. retains on the S. front a number of buttresses in weathered stages and was built probably in the 16th century. The modern house W. of the farm road has a reset 18th-century wrought-iron porch. A measured drawing of it by J. Seymour Lindsay, F.S.A., is in the Antiquaries' Journal, xxviii, pl. xv.
a(52) Horsecastles Farm, house 80 yards S. of (50), has a reset late 17th-century window with moulded jambs and key-block and an attic window with round moulded head.
Newland, N. side
a(53) House, 20 yards E. of Cheap Street, retains two original three-light windows and a doorway with a flat four-centred head.
a(54) Range of three tenements, adjoining (53) on the E., has been refronted. The E. tenement is faced with stucco and has an 18th-century doorway with broken scroll-pediment on shaped brackets.
a(55) Cottage, 90 yards E. of Cheap Street, has an 18th-century addition on the N. The doorway has a four-centred head.
a(56) Lord Digby's School, 450 yards N.N.E. of the church, has a 16th-century N.W. wing which was altered and modernised in the 18th century. The main block was built c. 1720, by one of the Bastards according to Hutchins, and is a good example of its period with paintings attributed to Thornhill. The main block has a symmetrically designed ashlar-faced front (Plate 182) of three bays with rusticated angles, balustraded parapet and a central pediment. The ground and first floor have windows with moulded architraves, square heads and key-blocks; the second-floor windows are shorter and have segmental heads; the middle window on the first floor has no key-block but is surmounted by a cornice and pediment on brackets; the central doorway has rusticated jambs and round head; it is flanked by Doric pilasters supporting entablatures and a curved pediment. The E. and W. ends are of generally similar character to the front; the E. doorway has a bolection-moulded architrave. Inside the building, the hall is lined with early 18th-century panelling with dado-rail and cornice; the N., E. and W. walls have central features with Doric pilasters; the other rooms have similar panelling but without the features. The staircase has turned balusters, fluted newels with the hand-rails ramped over them and cut strings with carved brackets; the walls are painted in chiaroscuro with female figures, urns, drapery, trophies of arms and putti attacking a boar; at the first-floor level the N. and S. walls and the ceiling are painted with figure-subjects (a) Diana with attendants (Plate 183), (b) Atalanta and the Calydonian boar (Plate 183), (c) Atalanta receiving the boar's head from Meleager. The first floor landing has an archway on the W. side with imposts and key-block; the smaller rooms on this floor are similar to those below but with simpler detail. The second floor also retains some original panelling and fireplace surrounds. The N.W. wing retains some original stone-mullioned windows and on the ground floor are some moulded ceiling-beams with bosses at the intersections, carved with roses and ribbon-work. The roof has heavy tie-beams. The early 18th-century brick garden-walls have stone plinths and copings on the street-front; the rusticated gate-piers have moulded cappings.
a(57) Manor House, 50 yards S.E. of (56), is perhaps of late 15th or early 16th-century origin; to this date may belong the two front wings formerly separated by a courtyard where the hall now stands. The N. wing is of the 17th century and it was joined to the main block in the 18th century. The house was remodelled in the 19th century and again recently. The S. front has two gables and between them a horizontal quatre-foiled parapet with flowers in the panels; it is partly restored and probably not in situ. The oriel window was formerly in the eastern gable as shown by a print of 1816; it has a single cinque-foiled light in each of the three faces and a similar panel below the sill; the window rests on corbelling with trefoil-headed panels and springing from a partly restored angel holding a shield with the arms probably of Chaldecot. The N. block retains a doorway with a four-centred head and now blocked. Inside the building, the main passage on the first floor has a mediæval basin and drain set in a recess with a two-centred head.
a(58) House, two tenements, 20 yards E. of (57), has a later addition on the N.W.
a(59) House, 15 yards W. of North Road, has been much altered.
a(60) House, on the E. corner of North Road, was built c. 1700 and retains a fireplace with a bolection-moulded surround and an overmantel with side-pilasters and a panel painted with a landscape.
a(61) House, 70 yards E. of Tinney's Lane, retains two original stone-mullioned windows and a doorway with moulded jambs and square head.
a(62) Cottage, 40 yards E. of (61), retains a stone panel with the date 1650–1.
a(63) Newland House, 100 yards E. of St. Swithin's Road, is of L-shaped plan with the wings extending towards the W. and S. It has been much altered but retains two small oval windows, now blocked.
a(64) Cottage, immediately W. of (63), has been much altered.
a(65) Monks' Barn, house 25 yards W. of Hound Street, has been much altered. The front door has an early 18th-century hood on shaped brackets. Inside the building, the early 18th-century staircase (Plate 52) has turned balusters, close strings and square newels; at the top of the staircase are some 17th-century flat-shaped balusters. The dining-room is lined with early 18th-century panelling with a dado-rail; the 17th-century fireplace is set within a bolection-moulded surround. On the upper floor are one 17th-century and two early 18th-century fireplaces.
a(66) House, 120 yards W. of (65), retains an original four-light window and a doorway with a triangular head to the frame. Inside the building, the W. room is lined with early 18th-century panelling with a cornice and a large panel over the fireplace.
a(67) Cottage, two tenements, immediately S. of (66), retains three original two-light windows.
a(68) House, on the W. side of Hound Street 90 yards S. of Newlands, has 18th-century extensions on the W. and S. The Drawing Room has 18th-century panelling and the staircase, of the same date, has a dog-gate.
a(69) House, on the S. side of Hound Street, 50 yards E. of Cheap Street.
Long Street, N. side
a(70) House with shop, at the corner of Cheap Street, has an early 18th-century block with an eaves-cornice on the angle of the streets; the E. part is of the 17th century and retains two stone-mullioned windows.
a(71) House with shop, 50 yards E. of Cheap Street, was built in the 15th or early 16th century but the back wing is probably later. The front has a five-light window with a label and on the first floor are two four-light windows. The back wing has a five-light window. Inside the building, the front part of the shop has original moulded ceiling-beams forming four main and sixteen subsidiary panels; the main intersections have bosses carved with a rose and leaves; the back part of the shop has differently moulded beams forming six panels; the fireplace has moulded jambs and square head. In the W. room is a fireplace with a four-centred head.
a(72) Wistaria House and Belmont House, 175 yards E. of Cheap Street, are terrace houses with ashlar walls. They were built in the first half of the 19th century. The doorways have side-pilasters and entablatures and the windows have flat arches with key-blocks. The house adjoining on the W. was probably of similar design but the front has been remodelled later in the 19th century and faced with stucco. All have wide eaves with flat soffits.
a(73) Thorn Bank, house E. of (72), has walls faced with modern pebble-dash. It was built probably in the 18th century and refronted in the first half of the 19th century. There is a central doorway with stone side-pilasters and entablature.
a(74) The Red House, 260 yards E. of Cheap Street, is set back from the street. The S. front is of brick with Ham stone dressings much weathered and refaced in cement. The house was built towards the end of the 17th century and refronted in brick c. 1730; the lay-out of the small forecourt was an improvement made at the same time or soon after. Early in the 19th century a three-storey block was added on the N.
The brick front (Plate 159) is symmetrically designed, and has a plinth, rusticated pilasters towards each end, cornice and frieze, all of stone, and a brick parapet-wall; the roof is hipped and has two dormers and a central chimney-stack. The entrance doorway in the middle has a rusticated semi-circular arch with a key-block, moulded imposts and rusticated jambs flanked by pilasters carrying a deep frieze and cornice; the windows have flat architraves, much restored, and key-blocks. On either side of this front are low curving screen walls of brick, continued S. at a lower level at a later date; the brick boundary wall to the street has a stone base and moulded capping, stone gate-piers and 19th-century wrought-iron railings. E. and W. of this front and against the E. screen-wall are rubble-built extensions. Inside, the W. room is lined with late 17th-century bolection-moulded panelling with moulded dado and cornice; the panel over the fireplace with square return corners is flanked by carved scallops and foliage pendants contemporary with the panelling, the fireplace surround has side-scrolls carved with foliage and flowers, c. 1730, and the marble mantel-piece is mid-Victorian. Part of the entrance-hall and the E. room are lined with 18th-century fielded panelling with dado; the staircase has turned balusters, moulded handrail and cut string. On the first floor is a large cupboard with semi-circular head and moulded architrave.
a(75) House, at the W. corner of St. Swithin's Road, was built c. 1700. The front doorway has an early 18th-century hood on shaped brackets.
a(76) Burton House, 360 yards from Cheap Street, is of rubble with rendered and white-washed S. front and ashlar dressings. It was built late in the 17th or early in the 18th century and refronted late in the 18th century; there are modern N.W. and W. extensions. The S. front is symmetrically designed; it has a stone plinth and rusticated quoins, plain windows and a central doorway with round head flanked by Roman Doric half-columns supporting an entablature with widely projecting cornice. In the E. elevation is an original window with moulded wood frame and mullion. Inside there is a reset 17th-century stone fireplace with four-centred opening in square moulded head with sunk spandrels and stop-moulded jambs, said to have come from the Lady chapel of the abbey.
a(77) House, 90 yards E. of (75), was built early in the 18th century.
a(78) House, immediately E. of (77), has a small fireplace-cupboard with a carved 17th-century door.
a(79) The Cedars, house 55 yards E.N.E. of (78), is stucco-fronted. It was built probably in the 18th century and refronted towards the middle of the 19th century. The street front (Plate 102) has a chamfered stone plinth, continuous flat string enriched with key ornament at first-floor level, breaking round the door heads and forming the frieze of their entablatures, widely projecting eaves-cornice enriched with mutules and paterae and a stone parapet; the two doorways have flanking Ionic pilasters and enriched entablatures with wide cornices; there is linear panel decoration over the first-floor windows. The detail throughout is of considerable refinement. The stucco on the ground floor has been replaced with pebble-dash.
Incorporated in the garden-wall and in the garden are a number of architectural fragments probably from the abbey; they include a 12th-century colonette, 13th-century capital, window-heads, etc.
a(80) Cottage, two tenements, 40 yards W. of East Mill Lane, has been refronted.
a(81) Eastbury Hotel, adjoining (80) on the W., with walls of brick, was built during the second half of the 18th century. The street front is symmetrically designed; it has continuous flat strings at sill level on ground and first floors and a dentil eaves-cornice; the central doorway has a moulded architrave and widely projecting cornice supported on console brackets; between it and the middle first-floor window is a short length of balustrading, the window has moulded architrave, rusticated flat arch and key-block, the other windows have key-blocks only.
a(82) Cottage, 30 yards W. of (80), retains two original muntin and plank partitions.
a(83) House, 40 yards W. of (82), was built towards the middle of the 19th century. The stucco street front contains a central doorway with stone side-pilasters and cornice.
a(84) Abbot's Litten, house 100 yards E. of Cheap Street, has walls of rubble and coarse ashlar. It was built early in the 18th century, with a wing added on the S.W. shortly after; it has been extensively reconditioned recently. The N. street front has a chamfered plinth and restored modillion-cornice; of the two doorways, the main entrance is flanked by engaged columns carrying an entablature with pedimented cornice and triglyphs in the frieze, the secondary entrance to the E. with light pedimented cornice on shaped brackets retains the original oak door with four panels and moulded framing. The sash-frames of the windows are set flush with the wall-face. Two moulded rain-water heads are decorated with cherubs' heads. Inside, the W. room on the first floor is lined with 18th-century fielded panelling with moulded dado, the fireplace has a wood surround with enriched cornice and frieze with composition ornament; the E. attic room contains a fireplace surround of carved wood with flanking scrolls and flowers, foliated frieze and friezepanel, c. 1730.
a(85) Bank House, 90 yards E. of Cheap Street, was built early in the 16th century and has a late 17th-century addition on the S.W. The house was much recon-structed in the last century. The S.W. wing retains some 17th-century windows. Inside the building the N.E. room has original moulded ceiling-beams forming twelve panels. The 17th-century staircase between the first and the second floors has turned balusters and moulded rails.
a(86) House, 15 yards E. of Cheap Street, was demolished in 1926 except for the lower part of the timber front. This is of late 15th or early 16th-century date and has moulded posts with bases and capitals supporting curved brackets for the projecting upper storey; on the posts is a moulded head-beam carrying the joists of the floor above.
a(87) House, on the E. side of South Street 165 yards S. of Long Street, is of squared and coursed rubble and ashlar. It was built c. 1850. The main front faces S. and is symmetrically designed; it is divided into three bays by strip-pilasters and has a flat string at first-floor sill-level. The central doorway has a fan-light in a round head and the flanking ground-floor windows have three lights of Venetian-window form set in shallow round-headed recesses with panelled infilling. There is a broad eaves-cornice with pairs of shaped brackets over the four pilasters.
a(88) Garage, on the E. side of South Street, 200 yards S.S.E. of Long Street, has been much altered. Adjoining it are the jambs of a high gateway said to have been that of the Bridewell.
a(89) Plume of Feathers Inn, on the S. side of Half Moon Street, 70 yards W.S.W. of South Street, is of three storeys. The front has some original windows of three and four lights with labels.
Westbury, E. side
a(90) House with shop, at the corner of Half Moon Street, has, in the W. wall, a doorway with a two-centred head, probably mediæval and incorporated in the later building.
a(91) Cottage, three tenements, 20 yards S. of (90).
a(92) Digby Hotel Tap, 50 yards S.S.E. of (91), retains an original moulded ceiling-beam and a reset window of three lights.
a(93) House with shop, 35 yards W. of (92).
a(94) Westbury Cottage, house, 20 yards S.W. of (93), retains the original jambs and heads of the ground-floor windows, with a string-course above them.
a(95) Range of four tenements, 55 yards S. of (94), is divided into two pairs by a party-wall with coped parapet. The N.W. front is cement-rendered. It was built early in the 19th century. The N. pair have their entrance doorways together in a common surround composed of a central and side-pilasters with plain frieze and cornice.
a(96) Range of tenements, 80 yards S.S.E. of (94).
a(97) Range of two tenements and Inn, 50 yards S.W. of (96).
a(98) House, 230 yards N.E. of Factory Lane, was built probably early in the 18th century.
a(99) House, two tenements on the corner of Trendle Street, was built in the 16th century but has been much altered. The S.E. room retains a ceiling divided into nine panels by original moulded beams and a fireplace with square moulded head.
a(100) Britannia Inn, 50 yards S. of (99), has a tablet on the S.E. front inscribed "School for the education and clothing of poor girls of Sherborne, founded by the Right Honourable William Lord Digby 1743". There is a later extension on the N.
a(101) Building, between Horsecastles and Westbury, 190 yards S.S.W. of the church, is of late 17th or early 18th-century date; modern doorways have been inserted. It retains original one and two-light stonemullioned windows with labels. The N.W. and S.E. ends are gabled, with flat stone copings. It is now disused and most of the windows are blocked.
a(102) House at the corner of Lower Acreman Street, was built early in the 16th century. It retains some original moulded ceiling-beams but has been largely rebuilt.
a(103) Cottage, on the N. side, 25 yards E. of Acreman Street, retains and original window of three lights with a label.
a(104) House with shop, at the corner of Acreman Street, has two small quatre-foiled panels built into the S. front.
a(105) House, Nos. 151 and 152 Lower Acreman Street, was built early in the 17th century but has been extensively altered. In the W. front is an original window with three remaining lights, chamfered mullions and moulded label. The interior retains a staircase of the same period with flat-shaped balusters and moulded hand-rail.
a(106) House, 205 Acreman Street, has the W. front rough-cast. It was built in the 18th century. The central entrance doorway has a moulded architrave and stepped key-block framed in a pediment with short horizontal returns supported on shaped brackets, all of stone.
a(107) House, now two tenements, on the E. side of Acreman Street, 50 yards N.W. of (104), retains an original front doorway with moulded jambs and four-centred arch in a square head. The back doorway has a four-centred head and a panelled door. Inside the building, the S. room is lined with 18th-century panelling. On the first floor is an original muntin and plank partition and an early 18th-century fireplace with a moulded surround and a panel above.
a(108) House, now offices on the W. side of Abbey Close, 45 yards S.W. of the church, is partly of the 17th century with 18th-century and modern additions. The front doorway has a four-centred arch in a square head and a cornice above it.
a(109) House, towards the N.W. corner of the Close, with dormers and stone-slates. The windows have been modernised.
a(110) Abbey House, on N. side of Abbey Road, 160 yards N. of the abbey, is of three storeys with attics. The walls are of ashlar. It was built in the first half of the 19th century. The S. front is symmetrical and has a plinth, flat strings at first and second-floor levels and an eaves-cornice and ornamented frieze. The central doorway is under an open porch with free-standing fluted Roman Doric columns supporting an entablature with enriched frieze; the middle window on the first floor has side-scrolls and a semi-circular panel over containing a carving of an urn cut in outline. The interior retains good original plasterwork. The hall is divided into two unequal bays by guilloche-enriched pilasters; the ceiling of the longer bay has pendentives and a large oval panel with wave-pattern ornament in a wide border, the shorter bay has a plaster quadripartite vault with slender ribs. The ceilings of several rooms have bands and cornices with honeysuckle ornament of some elaboration. Door-frames are reeded and have roundels in the corners.
a(111) Castleton House, 140 yards W.S.W. of Castleton church, is mainly of the 18th century, but the N. wall has stone-mullioned windows of the 17th century with labels.
a(112) Lattice House (Plate 44), 120 yards E. of (111), has later additions on the S. The front doorway has a four-centred head and the windows are original and are mullioned and transomed. The 18th-century Gothic porch has clustered columns, four-centred openings and plain parapet.
a(113) Middle House (Plate 44), immediately E. of (112), has some original stone-mullioned windows, those of the first floor with transoms. The doorway has an 18th-century curved pediment on brackets. Inside the building, a fireplace on the first floor has an 18th-century moulded surround and panelled overmantel.
a(114) Rayleigh Lodge, immediately E. of (113), has windows similar to those of (113); some of them are of five lights. The doorway on the E. has a stone hood which may be of the 17th century reused.